Not Another Holiday Post

06Jul10

What up, loves! As I approached writing this post, I realized that I’m a little funny when it comes to posting about holidays. I’m fairly poor at documenting them. Instead, I partake in them. Then comes the thought: “Jeeze Louise, how can I make this different from every other blogger’s holiday post?” What happens is one of two things:

1. I don’t post.
2. I cave and write one anyway, despite the fear of readers’ yawns.

My holiday weekend kicked off Saturday morning with a drive to Athens. It feels funny saying “holiday weekend” because every day since graduation has felt like vacation.

To keep my tum and mind busy, I grabbed these snacks for the road:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Larabar with a Diet DP.

The Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Larabar boggles my mind. I have no idea how they get dates, nuts and chocolate chips to taste like scrumptious cookie dough, but they do.

Two and a half hours later, I was in the company of the ever-studly:

Dirty Martini. This is what he looks like when he's not pleased with my taking photographs of him.

The first order of business was to grab a late lunch with DM’s friend Seth. (Seth, I don’t have a nickname for you yet!) We dined at a favorite of mine, Casa Nueva:

Chips, salsas and guac. Seth's quesadilla in the background.

Open-faced pita sandwich with corn, olives, peppers, tomatoes and cheese.

Once satiated, we went back to DM’s house to catch up and soak in some sun. That is such a lie. We were sitting on the back deck with the awning out. Soaking in the sun just sounded better.

DM had to work that night, so Seth and I kept him company:

Kailey in a Manwich.

Men folk.

I like the bartenderrrr.

‘Twas a lovely night that ended with three pieces of pizza in ma belly. Slept like a babe.

Sunday was filled with pure relaxation. Read: napping all afternoon. I wish I were kidding. In the evening, DM and I decided a cookout would be best.

The man can grill:

Wieners. Morningstar Farms Italian sausage, actually. So delish.

Grilled corn and onion.

Grilled peppers.

While he grilled, I baked a cake, ate appetizers of Triscuits and shrimp and assembled salads:

Romaine, banana peppers, feta and Italian dressing.

All together:

Feast.

My plate. I was full when I started to eat this. It happens.

Our yellow cake with chocolate icing made for both an excellent late-night snack and a fab amuse bouche Β to Monday’s brunch:

Hodgson Mill multi-grain buttermilk pancakes and eggs.

Get in my mouth.

I cannot have eggs without ketchup. Call me American, I don't mind.

I feel a bit spoiled, to be honest. I just spent the past week with my best friend in an amazing city. Then, upon returning to Cincy, I got to spend time with my family. And this past glorious holiday weekend, I ate ridiculously well with ridiculously good-looking, super sweet, frickin’ adorable company (see second picture in this post). Am I gushing?

Oops.

All I’m saying is that I am extremely thankful. Thankful to have the most incredible people in my life, thankful to be able to eat deliciously, thankful to be happy and thankful that I can share the love with y’all. Because I’m suddenly Southern. But seriously, I am thankful.

May every day be a holiday. (Is that part of a Christmas tune?)

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTIONS: What is the most delicious thing you ate this weekend? AND What are you going to celebrate this week and how are you going to celebrate? I believe holidays bring out the fun (and thankfulness) in people, and I’d like to think we can do that on a regular basis. I know, daily may be pushing it.
Most delicious thing I ate: DM’s grilled veggies and sausage. I mean, the food that DM grilled for us. This week, I am going to celebrate the people in my life by spending time with them. Simple as that. And I’m already excited for next weekend, which is going to be amaze. Can’t wait!

53 Responses to “Not Another Holiday Post”

  1. Best thing I ate this week was alfredo, garlic bread, and a spinach salad. It was sooo good.

    We’re celebrating J finishing his Japanese test by going out for karaoke this weekend with friends. I can’t wait!

  2. 2 kbwood

    AHHH what a FUN WEEKEND girl!!!!! This looks like such a blast!! DM sure can grill! hollaaa! LOVE your dress in those pics too πŸ™‚ I MUST FIND THE NEW LARAS ASAP!
    best thang i ate? the 10oz steak i had on sunday after church!
    LOVE YOU

  3. 3 Maya

    Ooo best thing I ate this weekend was a peanut butter and jelly ice cream sandwich. Da bomb. I wish I weren’t so awkward about taking pictures o meals with other people there. Do you tell dining mates about le Snack Face?

    • 4 snackface

      Maya- Oh yes, I tell people. Mostly everyone in my life knows about SnackFace, anyway, so they already know what’s up!

  4. Okay…it wasn’t so much ate – but drank. Homemade mojitossssss. BOMB. That Lara sounds delish, and such cute pics of you and DM!

  5. This looks like such a fun weekend!! Long distance can suck, but the one nice thing about it is that you’re always super excited to see each other. Glad his sausages are good, teeheeheehee πŸ™‚

    Best thing I ate this weekend = ICE CREAM CAKE. It’s been far, far too long since I partook, and it was a million times better than the last time I ate it.

    Hope you have a marvelous week darling!!

  6. 8 Molly

    that pita sandwhich might hold the spot for second yummiest thing on your post. The first being the bartender of course πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a fabulous weekend gorgeous girly!

    xo-Molly
    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  7. 9 Fi

    Great post as always!! I haven’t had many delish things lately except fit an eggplant burger which was pretty amaze allright!! I got to celebrate 4th July in USA, so that was pretty cool being from Ireland and all. Americans know how to party!!

  8. 10 lisa

    most delicious thing this weekend.. hmm. can today count? because went to whole foods and got this cinnamon sugar kettle corn. SO. DELICIOUS!!
    andd
    still havent tried eggs with ketchup. butttttt i do love scrambled eggs with a little butter and maple syrup. yum.

    • 11 snackface

      lisa- Oh my gah. That cinnamon sugar popcorn is ridiculous. I sampled it back at an expo, and they also were testing a French Toast and I was URGING them to move forward with the ridiculously good product. (And by “them” I mean the poor girls who were merely handing out the samples.)

  9. I NEED to try these amazing Larabar flavors that you are getting! Yum!

  10. 13 Nicole G

    I ate a TON of delish things the two best new things I had this weekend were Stacy’s Pita Chips – damn I’ve been missing out! – and I had the Asian Crunch Salad (minus the chicken) at Applebees today. The dressing on the salad was amazing and the flavors just worked so well together – I HIGHLY recommend it!

    Iam so thankful for my family this week – particularly my parents. A good friend of mine just lost his father completely unexpectedly and events like that really remind you of what is important in life and the necessity of truly embracing life.

    But on a happier note, you look like you had a fab weekend and are certainly living life to its fullest!

    Keep enjoying your summer,
    Nicole G

  11. DM looks like he can fire up the grill real good! You should hang out with Seth more .. he’s nice to look at :0)

    Come back to the tri-state area ASAP chica!

    • 15 snackface

      Brynne- I told Seth about your comment. SnackFace the new Match.com?

  12. 16 Maren

    Best thing I ate this weekend was the chef’s tasting menu and wine pairing at the fine dining restaurant in NYC that my boyfriend works at! Most amazing dining experience I’ve ever had in my life! So delicious
    I hope to celebrate being able to live and work in a great city, and spend time with the people i love the most!!!
    Great post πŸ™‚ Looks like you’ve been having a blast!

  13. Blahahaha! Lovin’ the blue steel/le tigre/magnum face in that picture of yo’ boy! πŸ™‚
    Too presh πŸ™‚

    And oh man, I feel like if you had a tub of Sabra’s hummus behind that Diet DP and Lara bar you might have the holy trinity of food blogger foods.

    I treated myself to a Diet DP for the 4th o’ July and OHMAN it tasted like freedom πŸ™‚
    Oh,and some patriotic overnight oats with red and blue burries were quite nice, indeed!!!

  14. 18 Jenna

    Glad ya had a great weekend!

  15. 19 Jordan

    Best thing I ate? Cookout food at the g-units’ last night! Grilled chicken, grilled squash, grilled corn, baked beans. I LOVED GRILLED VEGGIES!
    That Lara looks so yummy. Must find it soooon!

  16. 20 Ilana

    first of all you look HOT!! and i love the morningstar sausage bbq. ya’ll are adorable.

    best thing I ate? not gonna lie, an entire jar of dark chocolate dreams peanut butter over the course of two days. it was good.

    Fifteen minutes from now it’ll be midnight and my 23rd birthday officially…I’ve been celebrating since Saturday night!! What whattt.

  17. 21 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i can tell how happy you are by simply reading this post. First of all, your boy is sooo cuteeee- you two make a GORGEOUS couple.

    second, you look great!!! love your dress. & taht food sounds/looks delicious (the restaurant, your grilling, the breakfast, everything =] )

    so glad you had a great holiday!!
    best thing i ate this weekend was probs these awesome chicken sausages we grilled out for a cookout friday night!

    xoxooxox

    • 22 snackface

      Shelley- Thanks for all the compliments, darling! You are so sweet! Glad you had a delicious 4th as well!

  18. 23 Aunty \snooze

    The best thing I ate this weekend was lobster and steak in GRAND BEND

  19. 24 Anna

    I’m so jealous of your amazing larabars!!! My local Whole Foods isn’t carrying them yet (infact, the manager didn’t even know there were new ones out and what I was talking about!!! He said he’d look into it. Humpf) You weekend looks amazing! You and DM are so adorable!! As for the best thing I ate, I’d have to choose the cookies n’ cream frozen yogurt that I shared with my poor friend who just had her tonsils taken out a few days ago. Her miserable post-surgical state resulted in an excuse to eat froyo. Win!

  20. ahh you look so cute in that dress, and yes yall are an attractive bunch i must say. the most delicious thing i ate this weekend was probably a waffle sandwich i had on saturday morning – an almond butter bluberry mint jam waffle sandwich… it was a very quick eat but absolutely scrumppppdidlyumptious

    • 26 snackface

      Natalie- Thanks, doll! Scrumppppdidlyumptious is now my most fave word ever.

  21. Best thing I ate was white bean guac. Even better than raw cheesecake, I swear. Although that crust was danged good. Okay, raw cheesecake crust wins.

    I am going to try to celebrate my life this week by eating and living intuitively. It’s too short, you know?! Love you and miss you!

    • 28 snackface

      Mama Pea- I almost bought a cookie dough Balance Bar because you’ve made me so curious about their deliciousness.

  22. I had real salsa with homemade chips! Living in the Moz I do not get salsa OR chips so this was probably the most exciting thing. Oh wait!!! My friend made apple pie. It had definitely been two years since I had apple pie, so that was to die for.

  23. 30 Little Bookworm

    Looks like a fantastic weekend, and that chocolate chip cookie dough larabar sounds amazing!

    Most delicious thing I ate: vanilla ice cream sundae with chocolate butter (from chocolate-covered katie) as a topping.

    I love your dress by the way in those photos! πŸ™‚

  24. uh wow.
    I cant contribute anything to your fantastical smattering of photos and eats.

    and am now GLAD I didnt post a yawner on the 4th πŸ™‚

    i need to git out more.

    • 32 snackface

      MizFit- Ah! I hope my ranty thing didn’t come out wrong! I just meant I hoped not to bore folks with a holiday wrap-up much after everyone else!

  25. open faced pita sandwich looks awesome!
    Best thing I ate?
    Well, it’s a tie between fresh sweet figs and mom’s roasted veal.
    I haven’t had red meat in a few years, and this was such a discovery to my palates!

  26. Yum, that looks like a very tasty Dirty Martini πŸ˜‰ You lucky girl!

    And those eats look great too!

    This weekend I ate some pretty delicious meat, I must admit. I have been a veg for three months now, and I finally caved with the red meat- and it was so. darn. good. A big, juicy steak and a spinach beef burger. Yum. No shame.

    This week, I am celebrating the fact that my birthday is in 24 days, and my wedding is in 32… two days to see my family and friends!!

    xo
    Kris

    • 35 snackface

      Kristen- BAHHHH WEDDING!!!! Goodness, can you even believe it’s 32 days away? That is insane and awesome!

  27. sounds like a super fabulous weekend to me! The best thing I ate was german potato salad (it had bacon fat in it like woah) and bratwurst. I also ate a lot of cheetos which happens about once a year and makes me happy.

    This weekend it’s my man’s birthday so I’ll be celebrating up a storm with him πŸ™‚

  28. Delicious choices, in men and food:)

    I had a crepe, homemade in Montreal. It was filled with Nutella and fresh bananas and strawberries. UNreal good. Nom nom, bon bon.

    Your little fourth feast looks marvelous!!

    • 38 snackface

      LiveForeTheRun- Bahahaha thanks, I like to think I have good taste…

  29. Dang girl, what a weekend! I’m so happy that you are so happy!! πŸ˜€ Life is good!

  30. Woo the boy sure can grill. Looks like an awesome feast! πŸ˜€ Glad you had so much fun this weekend!

    The best thing I ate this weekend was fro yo with nectarines. So simple but so good!

  31. 42 Michelle

    I had a wonderful (guilty) Fourth of July meal with sundried tomato and goat cheese pasta, grandma’s macaroni salad, watermelon, corn on the cob and homemade spicy chicken burgers! With birthday cake for dessert πŸ˜‰

  32. You are absolutely gorgeous! Seriously, would kill to have your pretty face and amazing body! (wow, this sounds weird, but i’m being serious:))

    I’m not sure what my favourite thing was i ate this weekend……maybe MY OWN fried eggs…normally my mum makes them for me, but i gave them ago this weekend….yes, they weren’t as good as my mums, and did seem to be a bit burnt HOWEVER……….. it was a proud moment for me! *wells up*. lol!

    hope you are having a happy tuesday xx

    • 45 snackface

      mapledreams- Oh hush, you are too kind! You, my dear, are absolutely gorge, so please rock watchoo got!

  33. 46 Sara

    glad you were having the time of your life! it all looks so perfect! And that larabar-ohhhh mannn, I’m so jealous. πŸ™‚

  34. 47 dmcgirl37

    I’d love to try that Lara bar, im usually not a fan of Lara Bars but I think this one is going to work for me πŸ™‚

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  35. 48 ari

    i’m sorry, i missed something i think. is dirty martini your boyfriend?!
    and my whole foods is always so behind on new larabar flavors 😦

    • 49 snackface

      ari- Yes, DM and I are in a relationship. And about the new Lara’s, I found them at Kroger!

  36. 50 Lola

    May every day be a holiday yeeei πŸ™‚

  37. Without a doubt the best thing was the amazing oranges I had. I don’t care how boring it is, I could gorge myself on sweet navel oranges for probably weeks on end and still be craving more.

  38. 52 Jenny

    first of all — I shottie marrying you and the Manfriend’s children because they are going to be HAWT!! Love knows no age difference, right?

    Secondly – I vote you talk to Obama about making every day a holiday. Oh, and making models under a size 4 illegal, k? thanks.

    anddddddddd finally, I MISS YOU LIKE CRAY CRAY BUT IT MAKES ME SO DAMN HAPPY THAT YOU’RE LIVING YOUR OWN DAMN LIFE, so i’ll learn to deal πŸ™‚

    LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!

  39. 53 Katherine: What About Summer?

    ah I am so jealous of your larabar. I am going to celebrate my unbirthday all week long!


Leave a Reply

