Eating in Circles

03Jul10

‘Ello, loves! My computer is driving me bonkers (I just typed boners…whoops!) right now, so this post may be short and sweet. Whenever I say that, though, I end up rambling on and on. We shall see.

Anyweezy, I spent most of my day eating in circles:

Corn bran with banana, almond milk and cinnamon.

I awoke this morning at 10,trotted downstairs, made coffee, chatted with Nannykins and resorted to my favorite summertime breakfast for, uh, breakfast. Redundancy? Yes, please.

Simple and lovely.

After breakfast, I made my g-ma watch Drake: Better Than Good Enough and the first episode of Real World: New Orleans with me. It was enlightening for both of us.

By noon I was in the gym doin’ ma thang. I spent 65 minutes on the elliptical with the July Glamour. I didn’t even notice the time pass by! I followed that with arm, ab and a$$ units. Classic ol’ AAA. Felt so good. My exercise routine was almost non-existent in June, and I’m really hoping to kick it up a few notches this month.

I drove home, showered and almost passed out before I was able to eat. Apparently, cereal does not have the longevity I thought it had. Fixed the sitch with a circular lunch:

Super circular.

I love, love, love the everything bagel thins:

Bagel thin topped with whipped cream cheese, huge Fuji and cucumber spears.

This was accompanied by a favorite chemical potion:

Diet DP.

One teeny aspect of being home that is fabulous is that MamaJ will buy boxes of nasty soda for me. πŸ™‚ Thank you for supporting my bad habit, Mumsy. (Is it really all that bad, though? Nah.)

Once satiated, I got my face to look presentable and headed to the mall. I packed the most exquisite afternoon snack:

Peanut butter chocolate chip Larabar. Does one need much else in her foodie life?

I am so proud of my local Kroghetto for carrying the new Lara’s that I skipped throughout the store when I found them yesterday.

I ate one-third while driving, one-third while walking into the mall (where I bought some Proactiv, a tank, a pair of pajama shorts and a lil’ striped dress) and one-third while driving back to mi casa. Pleasure for hours.

Packed with chocolate chips, the new bars do have some added sugar. But honestly, I don’t care about that. It is delicious. That is what matters here on SnackFace.

Speaking of delicious, dinner was delectable (alliteration, what up?):

Potatoes, tomato slices, corn on the cob and leftover vegetables provençal.

MamaJ makes to-live-for potatoes. She chops them into cubes, throws them on an aluminum-covered baking sheet, douses them in EVOO and spices and roasts them at a high heat until they look like this:

Best part of the meal. Multiply by three.

I also had a whole-wheat hamburger bun with Earth Balance with this! Let’s call it dessert.

Dang! I almost ate all-vegan today! If it weren’t for that cream cheese… Oh well. I consider myself to be on a high-vegan diet. Much like a high-raw diet, which allows for some cooked foods, my high-vegan diet allows for dashes of dairy.

And here I am, talking in circles around something I should write about: my New York trip. A lot happened. Interviews went well. Epiphanies were epiphanized. But mostly, things are up in the air.

So for now, I will talk–and eat– in circles.

I’m heading to Athens Saturday morning to visit my man! I’m extremely excited to see him! I wish you all the happiest of weekends and Fourths!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

39 Responses to “Eating in Circles”

  1. 1 dmcgirl37

    hey Kailey!

    Why do you cut out dairy? i’m just starting to and am curious how others feel about it?

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE the larabar action. do want!
    do you like the peanut butter cookie bar?

  3. 3 Jenna

    I must try my new laras!!!

  4. Sounds like a good day! Dang…the new season of real world has started all ready! I just finished watching the DC season πŸ˜›

    I am so jealous that you can purchase the new larabars! I tried ordering online but they won’t ship to Canada 😦 It took us FOREVER to get the pb and j..so I’m expecting to wait awhile for the new ones πŸ˜›

    Hope you have a fantastic time with the man!

    and p.s don’t sweat about not eating all vegan today…your eats have been awesome lately πŸ™‚

  5. 5 kbwood

    kind of upset you didnt eat the turkey burgers..

    ahah you know i am TOTALLY KIDDING GIRL! yo do YO THANG!!!!!!!

    what a good day! I MUST FIND LARAS ASAP!!

    lets make my dream come true soon, k ? LOVE YOU MAMACITA!

  6. I need to find that Larabar flavor! It sounds so good!

  7. 7 Angela

    mmmm patatoes. I mean, potatoes.

  8. 8 cdean

    Your posts give me such good ideas for new foods to try!

  9. 9 squigglefloey

    MMmmm that cereal looks delicious. Looks like mamaJ is really down with the soda crack huh haha. My mom was super annoyed about my diet soda habits, but has now since relaxed with them a bit. I just need not drink them 24/7.
    I love how you use ketchup and tomatoes excessively, I could have tomato sauce with everyyything ❀

  10. mmm that flavor of larabar looks so good!

    i love me some good corn on the cob! what a great summery food. i love that yours has so many shades of yellow.. yellow is my favorite color so yellow foods are AWESOME in my book… bananas, pineapples, corn, you name it!

  11. must. catch. up. soon.

    seriously.

    perhaps a monday night sesh? maybe tuesday? i’m leaving for chitown in the morning – perhaps meet up with lo? i’ll text youuuuu!

    loves,
    holly

  12. Ooh, I cannot wait to try that new Lara bar flavor! I am hoping to find it at my local grocery store this weekend. Looks delish!

  13. If I don’t get one of those new Laras soon, I will die. And you will miss me.

    I’m cracking up about you watching TRW with your nanny. I thought I was too old to watch that show, but I’m glad she’s keeping me young.

    Have a lovely weekend, Kale Chips!

  14. 14 Michelle

    Your breakfast looks soo yummy. You may have inspired me for breakfast for tomorrow. And I must try that kind of Larabar!

  15. I eat a high vegan diet too but cannot give up yogurt and eggs! Those new Lara bar looks amazing – PB&chocolate? Delish!

  16. 16 Katie

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhh I love all the eats!!!

    Diet Dr Pepper is seriously the best ever, I need to have some of that in my life : )

    Love the larabar, I got the choco chip cookie dough! so good!!

    Happy Fourth and have a great weekend with your man!!!

  17. 17 Megan

    Diet Dr Pep is the best can of chemicals out there. I always stick mine in the freezer for a hot minute so it gets icy! Also I like that I’m not the only one whose cereal gets doused in copious amounts of cinnamon. Love ittt!

  18. WHAT WHAT WHAT?! a Larabar that beautiful actually exists?!!?!
    There IS a Santa Claus. Must find such a beautiful creation. and ASAP.

    Hope everythang with New Yaawk went fine! Can’t wait to hear any big news from you (as I’m sure you will soon have oodles of it!), girl!
    Have fun wit cho DM!
    And anyways, it’s better to eat in circles than be a SQUARE.
    Yeah, I’m corny. Whatevz.

  19. 19 Jil @ Peace, Love & Munchies

    Those hashbrowns look so amazing!

  20. Diet Soda = so bad, and so good. Mmmm delicious sweet, sweet chemicals.

    I want to hear about the interviews.
    I want to hear about the epiphanies.
    I want to read more “pleasure for hours”-like lines about inanimate objects such as Larabars, ’cause that’s funny…and I’m immature.

    Hope all is well, Snacky! Your life will be straightened out (and less circular) soon enough!

    Have fun with yo man!

    ❀

  21. I too like to think of myself as following a high vegan diet. I don’t want to deny myself the yogurt and such when I want it, but I’m going to try and be smart about which brands I buy. Soy yogurt is just not the same! I can’t wait to hear more about your future plans!

  22. 22 Tay

    I have no problem staying away from soda at school. I don’t buy it, so only occasionally get it if I’m at Costco or REALLY craving it. Or with alcoholic beverages πŸ˜‰ But at home – my parents keep a FULL stock!! And I’m so tempted all the time! It definitely takes some adjusting to foods when living at home. The full pantry also aways calls my name πŸ˜‰

    Have a WONDERFUL weekend love!

  23. 23 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    love all your eats πŸ™‚ especially dinner- looks delicious!! I eat in circles too alot πŸ™‚ esp for breakfasttt! also, laughed out loud about your kro-ghetto comment because 1) kroghetto is amazing and 2) I DID THE SAME THING when i saw thsoe larabars at kroger!! haha

    xoxoxo

  24. 24 Sara

    Wow. I am so jealous of that larabar- I still don’t think I have even found the PB&J one!!! ahhhh. Just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I just started a blog of my own and wanted to say thanks for inspiring me to start my own blog- yours is one of my all time fav’s!

    have an amazing weekend girl! πŸ™‚

    • 25 snackface

      Sara- WELCOME!!! Having a blog will make your life 124948957389467 times happier. I’m just sayin….

  25. I hope you are having a wonderful weekend:)

    still jealous that we don’t have LaraBars here in the UK! I MUST order some from online! i must get a job to fund my curious eating habits though..hmm!xx

  26. Lucky you that your mom supports your diet pop habit! My mom swears she’d buy me drugs before ever buying me a diet pop! πŸ˜›

  27. 28 actorsdiet

    i want the new larabar flavors! haven’t seen them anywhere.

  28. omg I need to try that new Lara bar! I’m drooling.

  29. 30 Anna

    things that I love that I shouldn’t:
    – diet soda of ANY kind
    – cool whip free
    – crystal lite
    – low quality light beer

    hey, somethings are worse than others, but if it makes you happy, then I don’t think there is ANY need to apologize!

    • 31 snackface

      Anna- OK, I would like ALL of that now, please and thank you.

  30. 32 Faith

    I’m a high-vegan eater too! I just know that the second I declare myself a “full-on” vegan I’d get an unquenchable craving for ice cream or feta.

  31. I haven’t seen that larabar before!! interesting- I can’t even imagine what it tastes like!
    Those potatoes do look like heaven!!
    Come by my blog to enter my giveaway! πŸ™‚

  32. High-vegan…I love!! Because sometimes you can’t resist the ice cream cake/cookies and cream italian ice/grilled shrimp/Goldfish I partook in this weekend. What is life without junk food?

    I love diet soda, and my parents usually have it on hand too. Coke Zero or Fresca? Yes please. At least I don’t basically IV it to myself anymore…a few years ago I was probably popping 4-5 cans a day, which is definitely kind of gross.

    MUST FIND THOSE LARAS!! Ahhhh I’m so jealous you did! I need to go on a full-on hunt today. Hope you had a wonderful weekend with the man my dear!

    • 35 snackface

      Gabriela- Let me know how your search goes! If you don’t find them soon, I’ll send some to you!

  33. Cant wait to hear how it all plays out

  34. Whoa, have not tried that Lara flavor yet – putting it on my to do list asap! I love those bagel thins, they’re like the perfect amount of bagel sometimes. Glad everything went well in New York, I hope that everything turns out great! πŸ™‚

  35. I am SO excited to try the new Lara Bars. Can’t waiiit πŸ™‚
    How do ya like the new real world? A little intense for a first epi eh??

    • 39 snackface

      Paige- Oh my gosh, the first time I read that, I thought you meant the real real world, and I was like, “Shoooo girl, I am NOT ready for that!” Hahaha.


Leave a Reply

