Food City

28Jun10

Hello, gorgeous people!

As much as I’d like to believe that people come to New York City for opportunity, to find fame or to be with the most brilliant and talented people in the universe, I’m starting to think the main reason people come here is for food. A food city, NYC has already offered me raw fare and vegan pizza. In the past few days, though, it’s opened me up to even more exquisite sensory delights.

Let the splendiferous food show begin…

Sidewalk, al fresco brunch of a caramelized apple and goat cheese omelet, eight-grain toast and spicy hash browns.

My first authentic Indian-cuisine experience.

Chickplease.

Cheese and tomato-stuffed naan. The Indian version of Pizza Hut's stuffed crust, perhaps?

Breaks from food can be taken. Gorgeously green parks are recommended.

Beauty. Who needs a gym or a workout routine when you can take a sweaty stroll through this?

Return to eating as soon as possible, though.

$10 tiny-ass salad at Community. Perhaps it's the Midwest in me, but if I'm paying $10 for a salad, I want a huge plate of greens.

But with chewy sourdough, hoppy honey ale and organic greens, can I really complain? Nah.

Finished the meal with blackberry-rhubarb cobbler and a scoop of vanilla. Beyond.

Most mornings it's nice to return to a simple, familiar breakfast.

I adore the colors and textures here: hot raspberry pink, peachy orange, stark white, granola that matches the wooden stool, white ledge that complements the yogurt.

Local raspberries and peach sit atop pillowy plain Greek yogurt, sprinkled with peanut butter granola.

Those divine raspberries were a gift from a friend you may recognize. Perhaps you read her blog:

The whip-smart, hysterical, incredible Gena!

Some people you meet are undoubtedly sweet. Some are ditzy. Some have a wall that you can’t break through. And some people are down-to-earth real, and that’s exactly how Gena is (and that’s all I ever want in people!). We spent almost two hours chatting it up. I have a feeling that if I ever moved to NYC, we’d become great friends.

I’m telling you, this is a food–and foodie–city.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTIONS: What is YOUR ultimate food city? AND Which blogger would you love, love, love to meet?

I’m thinking Roma, Toscana and New York City are my food cities. As far as bloggers go, I would love to meet Holly. Although we talk on the phone frequently, constantly G-chat and text, we haven’t met in-person yet! I almost can’t believe that!

Restaurants in this post (excluding the brunch spot): Indian Cafe, Community Food & Juice, Muffin’s apartment.

75 Responses to “Food City”

  1. Tomato and cheese stuffed naan?! I need some of that. My favorite food city would have to be NYC or Vegas!!!

  2. oh maaaan all those eats look fan-freaking tastic!! so far, my favorite food city is vancouver, BC… but in a few weeks it’s gonna be NYC for sure ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. I’d love to meet YOU to do some crazy shenanigans ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I haven’t travelled much so Montreal would be my ultimate city food, since you can find any sort of food you want and (almost) no 10$ salad. Wait. Forget it. 10$ is nothing sometimes ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Nomnomnomnom, I could eat in the city all day, every day. I might even be able to pull that off in most other major cities as well. That’s why I travel, gotta eat my way around the world ;).

    P.S. I cannot believe that you’re first Indian experience. Wasn’t it fantastic?! I love it, there’s so many distinctly spicy flavors and tons of vegetarian options. See ya later alligator.

  5. If you have the opportunity to head down to Chelsea for breakfast you MUST go to La Bergamote Patisserie. It is home to the BEST French breakfast I have ever consumed and I still think about it daily! When I last visited, the only thing we spent money on was food and cabs! NYC has all the best! Enjoy!!!

  6. 6 Megan

    I went to NYC for the first time this spring and was blown away by all the yummy food options! Have you ever been to a restaurant called Josie’s? It is insanely good. I also ate my weight in Pinkberry and Magnola cupcakes. I guess NY is my ultimate foodie city!!

  7. i need some indian food in my life. and that caramelized apple omelet? drool. i do love nyc, and hope to live there sometime (in the future! i moved away because i didnt want to be there right now).

  8. 8 Meg

    That dessert…wow. Just wow. And Gena! What a beautiful person to meet ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so happy for you!

    I would love to meet SO many bloggers, I couldn’t just name one or two ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. I didn’t read her site before, but I do now! That stuffed naan looks incredible, by the way. I’ll add it to my ever growing list of things to try.

    I subscribe to roughly 600 bloggers currently (yes, I checked, and yes, I rounded down, heh) and probably 200 of those are food bloggers of some sort, so there are lots and lots of bloggers I want to meet, hehe. I’ve been reading most for a couple years already, but they don’t even know I exist, so if you start seeing my name around here more often, that’s why….I’m commenting more so I don’t seem so stalkerish later.

  10. Oh. My. Gosh. Holy yum! I want that omelette and the bread and the cobbler… And the beer to wash it down with!

  11. I’d love to meet ANY blogger! i don’t mind who!! that dessert looks absolutely A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!! xx

  12. 12 maxinthegym

    Yum! I’m glad you had your first authentic Indian meal ๐Ÿ™‚ Indian food is tres lovely and more of it should be eaten! Hope you enjoyed it!

    I’m going to NYC next week and with all these great, amazing eats I’m so excited!

  13. I WANT TO MEET YOUUUUUUU! i KNOW that we would be fantastic, fun, foodie friends forever. how’s that for alliteration? and if you can get online, i have breaking news that is going to BLOW YO MIND.

    love, love, love you!

    • I can’t wait to meet you! Maybe I can pop Kailey in the trunk and we can be a trio. By the way, I’m nosy… I want deets :).

  14. I have yet to taste authentic Indian food so I’m pretty jeal. That naan sounds amaze! I’d love to go to NYC to taste all the fabulous restaurants they have but Chicago is a pretty tasty location ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I would love to meet Holly to, she is one blogger that I love and know would be awesome to hang out with! She is super sweet and funny!

    Love indian food!!!!!!!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhhhhh stuffed Naan!!! Never had that before! Got to try next time! Seriously NYC is foodie heaven!!!!!

    Have a great day love!!

    Chicago rocks too! Amazing city and eats as well, DC is baller as well!!!!

  16. I want that naan! Now please…Well, I only live in Europe so that’s not too far from NYC:P

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  17. 18 Gena

    You were to my day as AC is to this heat wave.

    OK, that analogy sucked.

    <3!!!!!!!!!

  18. Though I’ve been to NYC on a number of occaisions I can’t say that I’ve actually really explored the food scene! Sadness! Paris is my foodie city. YUMMM!

  19. 20 Gina G

    im just an 18 year old michigan girl, but i would love to meet….YOU! You see like all those words you said about Gena, and Im sure you are! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Jealous of your glorious NYC eats! I hope you stay there longer .. it’s only a 45 minute train ride away :0) Obvs I would LOVEEEE to meet you!

    Florence is definitely my ideal foodie city – it was amazing and I am absolutely dying to go back.

    • 22 snackface

      Brynne- Darn it! I’m leaving for Cinci on Thursday morning ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ll be back some time, though, I’m sure!

  21. splediferous! I LOVE THAT WORD! i can’t believe you said it.. i had no idea other people outside of my bubble of friends used it. HA! love you mama!

  22. and i spelled it wrong. don’t mind me. spleNdiferous .

  23. MI AMOR. who would i love to meet? perhaps you. and by meet, i mean gloriously reunite.

    the nanny and poppy are visiting right now, and i’ve been all over the city/long island doing familia/foodie biznass–but SERIOUSLY can i see you? you need to come ovah so we can bathe in sabra and feast on kettlecorn. love you!! let me know deets on how long you’ll be here!

  24. NYC definitely ranks up there on my list of best foodies cities… have you been to Candle Cafรฉ, Angelica Kitchen or Peacefood Cafรฉ yet? Oh my goodness, best food of my life.

    • 27 snackface

      banandrea- Oooh, I need to hit up Candle Cafe and Peacefood! I have been to Angelica and wasn’t all that impressed. I think it was an off night or something!

  25. 28 Rachel

    I’m with you on the salad thing, I went to Applebees in times square a few months ago and got an asian chicken salad sans-chicken, $17 and it was the measliest thing ever, I was hungrier AFTER i ate it.

    although I am blog-less (one day i might make an art blog, one day), I would most definitely love to meet YOU, and Gena as well! Everyone in the foodie bloggie universe seems so incredibly nice though.

    • 29 snackface

      Rachel- Boo to Crapplebees. I mean… Everyone I’ve met thus far has been lovely! Seriously, I’ve had the best times! JOIN!

  26. So jealous! I wish when I left Ohio I got to go somewhere like NYC!

    • 31 snackface

      Samantha- My fellow Ohioan! I’m going to sound like an oddball when I say this, but interestingly enough, I’m missing Ohio right now! I miss the affordability! Haha, well that and my family and friends!

  27. I’ve gotten to meet Holly – LOVE her! ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Gah everything looks amazing! New York is such a great food city. I’m just drooling over the indian food, and that apple + goat cheese omelet! Your breakfast shot is lovely, too ๐Ÿ™‚

    LA is another one of my favorite food cities! I just returned from one of the most enjoyable weekends away, with the sibs who live there! My brothers, sister-in-laws and I dined on vegan salads filled with tempeh, tofu, avocado, fresh vegetables and almonds alongside the most amazing veggie burgers, as well as fresh sweet potato wedges, falafel platter lunches, pinkberry (yay!!) and samplings from the farmers market.

    Did I mention tequila shots were thrown into the mix as well?? Only complemented another fun, vegetarian mexican meal out!

    Miss you boo! Hope the weather is treating you well in NY….it’s gloomy and overcast in So Cal! What theeee.

    • 34 snackface

      Jesspants- We need a MAYJ catch-up, don’t we? I’m so sorry! Anyway, I hear LA has some of the most ballin’ vegan fare. I’m a bit jealous! Did you get to try Veggie Grill? SO amazing. It’s healthy, vegan fast-food. Ridiculous.

  29. 35 Little Bookworm

    NYC sounds fantastic – and all that food looks amazing, especially the indian food. What was the chickpea one? Amazing you got to meet Gena!

  30. 36 Kate

    My favorite food city would be Paris, France! There is nothing better than starting a meal with a couple glasses of vino and the warmest bread with melted butter while sitting outside watching the daily grind of the French peeps. ๐Ÿ™‚ And ending every meal with TIRAMISU!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. wow!! ALL of that food looks insane โค
    I do read your blog quite often.. i just never comment… tres sorry mah dear<3
    xox
    haha. I would love to meet Gena. she is awesome at her Raw foods!! and Katie ๐Ÿ˜€ from Healthy Diva Eats.. she is pretty fantastic.
    I also love Katie from Food Faith and Fitness.. she is so positive!
    Hmm. favorite food city.? well i have not traveled that much.. I would DIE to go to NYC to taste the raw/vegan foods and restaurants

    • 38 snackface

      devan- I haven’t been commenting on anyone’s blog lately, either. I totally understand! No need to apologize, beauty!

  32. looks like your having a ballin’ time here in NYC ๐Ÿ™‚ and that indian food looks really good. there are some other really great indian places on lexington ave. in the 20’s
    streets. NYC does have alot of great food but food places for me are France, Israel and Canada. Paris has some of the most exquisite markets and restaurants. Israel has this great Middle Eastern vibe and dairy produce and Canada has awesome bagels, cheese curds and POUTINE! (fries + gravy + cheese, mm mm). i’d love to meet these wonderful people behind
    these great blogs:

    miss snack face a.k.a. you!

    allie @ http://www.livelaugheat.com/

    tyler @ http://healthyandfun.wordpress.com

    joshua @ http://www.thediscerningbrute.com/

    jessica @ http://www.howsweeteats.com/

    • 40 snackface

      Sharon- Oh how I LOVE the Discerning Brute! Joshua seems like he’d be uber fab in person. I’m honored to be nominated, too! Hahaha.

  33. ahhh all your food looks so good!!! NYC is DEF one of my favorite eating cities! i spent last summer there working and man, it was awesome having SO many options and having access to huge farmers’ markets + lots of healthy restaurants! i miss it so much. so happy that you have been able to see + do so much there!!!! its really awesome that you got to meet up with gena.. i just had a blogger meet up with meg of sunshine n’ spice on saturday, and i would have to say we definitely had a similar experience, of being able to talk for hours like we knew each other for a long time! yay for the blogging community =)

  34. GIRL those eats are basically- incredibly. ive never had indian food! crazy, right? ID LOVE TO GO UP THERE AND MEET YOU!

  35. 43 Anna

    As exciting as NYC is, I’m realizing that every city has amazing pockets of culinary miracles. At home in Vermont, I eat a maple creemee (soft serve) at least 3 times a week. Here in Pittsburgh, I’ve done the famous vegan brunch buffet (7.50!!!) at Zenith, done damage on a bag of the O’s famous fries, slurped down a huge ass margarita and inhaled a vegan quesadilla at Mad Mex. and had so many wonderful dining experiences that I really can’t complain about this yinzer filled city. As long as you stick to where the locals eat and are willing to try just about anything, you WILL eat well anywhere in the world!

    • 44 snackface

      Anna- I love that! What an excellent point! Although, if you’re chillin’ in the suburbs of Cincinnati, the locals are eating fast food and chain-restaurant food. That’s all there is around me, I swear! Le ick.

  36. 45 Ada

    Ughh I am not a fan of Community, I go to college right across the street from it and frequent it quite often, but their salads are way too small and not very good. Their blueberry pancakes, however, are quite the treat:)

  37. I haven’t been to NY since I was 14….everything about it looks amaaaazing! I’ll have one of everything, please! ๐Ÿ™‚

  38. Yep – the food in NYC would definitely be one of my biggest incentives to move there! Actually, it’d fall right after the possibility of having a run-in with Chace Crawford…

    • 48 snackface

      Gracie- Well, I had a run-in with Adam Levine, and let me tell you…WORTH IT.

  39. 49 ari

    oh my gosh, please go to slice while you’re in ny. it’s in the west village and they have the best vegan pizza i’ve ever had. get the skilled eggplant. please. for me.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  40. oh kailey, you never cease to inspire me with your will to pursue dreams/gain the greatest experiences along the way. your blog seriously continues to change my life for the better…sorry to be cheesy, just thought you should know :).

    -emilie (i emailed you a while back) (i’m attempting this blogging thing!) (largely thanks to your inspiration) (am i creepy?)

    • 51 snackface

      Emilie- First off, you are not creepy. I adore you for being to kind and sharing that you have found an ounce of inspiration from this blog/my life (cray cray). Thank YOU so much.

  41. 52 lisa

    oh. my. that tomato/cheese stuffed naan looks absolutely amazingg!! I never had naan, but i hear it’s quite good =)
    as for bloggers to meet,
    I know a certain SnackFace that seems pretty cool! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • 53 snackface

      lisa- All I’m saying is that I think I could be an entertaining hostess… PARTAYYY!

  42. Oh. Wow. So I think I need to move to NYC….

  43. OMG, I just hit up NYC for the first time and was blown away by the food! It was such a shame I was only there for one meal, which incidentally was the best Chinese food I’ve ever had. I think I need to fly back up to stuff my face and my closet.

  44. Oh my stars, that Indian food looks so fabulous! I’m having crazy pains of jealousy right now.

    Best food city? Well, it’s a toss up between Hilo, Hawaii and here in DC. Both are super vegan-friendly, in totally different ways. Here we have Sticky Fingers bakery, but Hawaii has the advantage of having a veritable ton of fresh produce everywhere. I’m thinking I should go back to Hawaii in order to make a more valid assessment.

  45. 57 Michelle

    NYC would be so great to hit up! I love Vancouver, BC! I hope to go back this summer.

  46. omg so happy you got to meet Gena! isn’t she wonderful!!! i love her!!!

  47. 59 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    awww i love how you & holly are so close!! I got to meet her because she lives in Madison- you should visit her & then we can meet ๐Ÿ˜€ so fun! Your first Indian food experience looks delicious. I haven’t had indian in a reallly long time and the last time I ate it I was like 10 and thought it was gross. Your meet up with Gena sounds like fun!

    xoxox

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  48. London is my ultimate food city. Everytime I go there I eat so much amazing stuff.

  49. 61 Becca

    I have a feeling Muffin lives right near me… There’s a ton of good food in this neighborhood! NYC is definitely the best foodie city. If you liked the Indian food, you should invest in a lunch buffet– most Indian restaurants have them.

  50. 62 Mamaj

    The best food that I have ever eaten soooo far in my life has been at a hotel in Maui. Freshness was their secret. The veg in my salad at noon was in their garden in the a.m.
    But…. last summer in San Fran, visiting my Snackface, I discovered taste buds I didn’t even know existed. Combinations as simple as potato pesto pizza. There wasn’t enough time or money to explore all that the city has to offer a foodie.
    By the way Holly and Danielle, I am not ready for the rest home yet……count me in on those travelling plans.
    See you thursday. OXOX

    • 63 snackface

      Mama! I just tried to call you and no one answered! Bi-notch! MISS YOU LOVE YOU!!!

  51. 1) For a second I thought your omelet was the fluffiest cornbread ever. Mmm.
    2) Your yogurt-granola-fruit mix is making my mouth water.
    3) I haven’t had Indian food since I was 6, but that also looks incredible…then again, I’ve never met a chickpea I didn’t like, so…

    Anyway, I want to say that I absolutely love your blog, and I hope you will check out mine because it’s brand-spanking-new and needs some lovin’.
    Have a wonderful day full of more delicious eats!

  52. You have to go to Candle Cafe before you leave! It’s on the Upper East Side. Their vegan food is just sooooooo good….and it’s not THAT expensive.

    Ok, it’s expensive. But oh so worth it.

  53. i do believe almost every town and every city has some really down right awesome food- but nyc is great! i am loving my city trips every other weekend. always something to eat. eat. eat. eat. and eat. there are so many good places i want to go to- i could prob go to every restaurant, street vendor cart, and hole in the wall once and there would still be something to find. gah i love food. there aren’t enough meal opportunities in a day!

  54. I think it goes without saying that my favorite food city is NYC. How can it not be? Last night I went to yet another delicious health food place. Food twins in one day is so worth it. And YOU were on my list of bloggers to meet, so I’m glad I can finally say I crossed that off ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your last few days in the city love, I do hope you’ll come back soon!!

  55. LOVE NYC! I was just there but did not have enough time to really enjoy all the eats! That’s alright because we plan to move there and I can take time to really enjoy the city!

  56. NYC is so so good for food! My ultimate to date is Buenos Aires. Can we talk about steak for justasecond? If you eat meat then this is your city of dreams. The end.

    And zomg, that indian food looks LEGIT.

  57. Hahaha glad to see someone lives by the same philosophy as me: Order the salad, but get the Hugh Jass ice cream fo’ dessert. Works like a charm!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And oh man, I wish I could live on a Rice Island with a Chickpea Sea and I could float atop it on a cheesy naan raft.

    A girl can dream, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  58. FOOD PORN IN NEW YORK CITY!!!!

    omg Gena is looking GORGEOUS! that girl gets more beautiful each day, i swear!

    i wish i could meet all my bloggie friends, there needs to be an annual all blogger meetup, that would be the best! โค

  59. AH NYC food is SOOOOO good!!! When I lived in NY I wasnยดt a foodie and now I am retroactively kicking myself for being an idiot. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Los Angeles is pretty awesome too, and SF. I can definitely speak for those. And I was just really impressed by Cape Town, South Africa! And then I guess you cannot forget Paris… or Rome… okay, I give up.

  60. 73 Katharina

    New York is definitely a foodie city!! I LOVE IT! ๐Ÿ˜€ I choose that one as mine hehehe. I’d love to go to San Fran too. Looks like you frequent both of those places ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Ohh man do I have to choose one? I’ve met some bloggers, but I want to meet all of my blogger friends!!!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  61. om gawwwdd that omelet sounds fantastic!!!! NYC does have amazing food and so many choices but then again, so does boston ๐Ÿ™‚

  62. I’m with you – New York City is the place to go. I remember long before finding gluten free foods all over, I’d meet a friend of mine (who has Celiac) in NYC for meals, and we’d find all kinds of places that served gluten free breads, pizza crust, and desserts, for example. I love that a person could go out to eat every week, or even every day, and find a new restaurant for years.


Leave a Reply

