Breaking Fast in the City

24Jun10

Good morning, lovely petunias! This morning, I climbed down the ladder of Muffin’s lofted bed and thought to myself, “Self, it’s a fine time to explore.”

I put on my early-morning finest and headed out the door:

Gap hoodie, pajama shorts, Tiger kicks and Target shades. Side of sass very necessary.

I perused Broadway for breakfast goods and coffee:

Oh what a beautiful morning. Not Oklahoma-style.

Once I’d gathered the goods, I headed back to Muff’s apartment to break the fast. Someday, I swear, I will be able to stir a fresh jar of natural peanut butter sans spillage:

Smucker's Natural is scrumptious and affordable!

Soon enough, the breakfast photo shoot ensued:

Banana, peanut butter, cinnamon, tortilla and the essential Starbucks.

Kalyn is apparently my name today. I guess it's close to Kailey?

I purchased a bag of low-carb tortillas that I figured could last me a week. Of course, I had to carb them up with a banana and fat and protein it up with peanut butter:

Pretty!

I went a little photo crazy:

Circles inside a circle inside a circle.

Drippy peanut butter desperately clinging onto banana slices.

Eaten like so:

So I let her lick the wrapper. (Name that tune!)

Now I must locate somewhere to print off my resumΓ©, come back to the apartment, do my nails, shower, get ready and see how today’s interview goes!

I’ll holla atchoo later!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

48 Responses to “Breaking Fast in the City”

  1. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Good luck on the interview girl!

  3. 3 Liza

    GOOD LUCK KAILEY!! πŸ™‚

  4. 4 Little Bookworm

    Good luck on the interview!! πŸ˜€

  5. 5 Rhea

    re: PB spillage. when i buy a new jar of the natural stuff, i just turn the jar upside down and let it hang overnight. that way, the heavy PB sinks down and the oil rises and gets all blendy with everything else. the result is a freshly mixed PB party (bonus: when you unscrew the cap, it leaves a purty swirl in the top of the PB!)
    your sista in snacking,
    rhea

  6. Nice Lil Wayne reference there! My friend plays a mean version of that song on the guitar, haha.

    GOOD LUCK on the interview! You’ll knock ’em dead. πŸ˜€

  7. 7 Ilana

    I always give the baristas weird fake names like Roberta and Chrysanthemum. Not because I want to hide my real name, just because it’s funnier. Rock out your interview girlie!

    (BTW – tonight, 6pm, there’s yoga in Bryant Park, free class, if you and Muffin might want to join, please do! I know you’re probs super busy right now but I figured I would let you know)

  8. Hey cutie pie! Nice hoody hot pants. That is the best advertisement for a banana & pb wrap ever.

  9. 9 Jenny

    Nice lil wayne reference!

  10. 10 Anna

    Good luck, Kailey! With that breakfast of champions, you’ll rock that interview FO SHO!

  11. Good luck Kailey!

  12. You look great in the city!

    good luck!

  13. great luck g-friend!

  14. 14 peanutbutterfingers

    good luck, good luck!!! hopefully they’ll get your name right in the interview. πŸ™‚

  15. Good luck lady!

  16. 16 Stacey

    1. I’m moving to NYC in August and this post made me have one of those AHHH SO EXCITED moments. I love the city in the morning. Especially this time of year. Ahhh…
    2. Good luck today!

  17. 17 francesca

    Dude I had the EXACT same thing for breakfast! Seriously! Cosmic.

  18. Goooood luck! Lovin all the PB action in this post!!

  19. just wanna say that you’re gonna BEAST that interview. if they have any sense at all, they’ll hire you. and if they don’t, i will. πŸ™‚
    also… that wrap looks freakin fantastic. i had a pb&j and banana wrap yesterday. so. good.

  20. 20 Meg

    It always cracks me up what they make names out to be at coffee shops. Especially when your name is NOT that complicated, haha πŸ™‚ I’ve gotten Morgan, Feg and my favorite – Egg. WTF?!

    Anyways – ROCK IT GIRL! You’ve got this in the bag πŸ™‚

  21. Ahhh! I ALWAYS spill the peanut butter like that!

  22. 22 Sarah

    good luck!!!

  23. 23 Beth

    Good luck, I know you’ll knock ’em dead! πŸ™‚

  24. 24 Hannah

    Good Luck!!!! πŸ™‚

  25. “she lick me like a lollipop…” that song would probably evoke better memories if one of my formal dates hadn’t tried to tongue rape me to it in high school. classy.

    that peanut butter is the best! and it’s cheapo. i’m finally starting to realize that expensive nut butters usually are NOT better, they just have cooler flavors.

    whenever my bf goes to starbucks, he gives them some absurd name like fernando or shitthead (pronounced shiTHead). you get weird looks, but they usually manage to spell it right!

    good luck on your interview today lady!! you’ll rock it, i’m sure πŸ™‚ and i’ll keep you posted about next week- i really hope we can all meet up!

  26. That PB is drizzed so artistically. It looks like a Jackson Pollock painting or something! πŸ˜‰

    Good luck at your interview! You’re going to rock it!

  27. G’LUCK BOO!!! I know you’ll kill it πŸ™‚

  28. The only thing missing from that delicious wrap was some honey and like 5 minutes in a skillet…absolutely perfect!

  29. 29 Gina G

    Goodluck Kailey! πŸ™‚

  30. GOOD LUCK MAMACITA!!!

  31. 31 Stacie

    Good luck !!!

    P.S. That would be none other than Weezy F. Baby-Lollipop!

  32. 32 gina (fitnessista)

    GOOD LUCK!! ❀

  33. I can’t believe you’re wearing long sleeves in the middle of this heat wave!! haha. Good luck today!!!!!!

    btw, saw this and thought of you (well, and myself lol): http://newyork.craigslist.org/mnh/wri/1805889736.html

  34. OMG girl i am soo sooo excited for you! Plus this means that you are a mere 4 hours away from ME (holla fung wha bus LOL, it’s straight up Chinatown, Boston to NYC- $15 each way stoked) I’m so excited to catch up with your fabulous life- did i ever mention CONGRATSSSS ON graduating!!!!! I probably Liked your fb status which is equivalent so no worries πŸ˜€
    XOXO love you girl hopefully see you in the near future :D!!!!

  35. You rock that interview Kaylen (;);)) I know you will. If all else fails, show ’em a little leg.

    Kidding — you’ll kill ’em with you’re charm.

    SENDING YOU POSITIVE VIBES! LOVE YOU!!! !

  36. Good luck on your interview, Kayln!! Err, Kailey. hahah πŸ™‚

    Jenn

  37. 37 squigglefloey

    Definitely craving bananas and PB right now!
    Alas, all the bananas I had from costco have gone too squishy and I’ll have to use them for bananas bread or something rather.
    you must be SO pumped for your interview!!! Best of luck!! You totally look like you could get used to being a city girl πŸ™‚

    Floey.

  38. 38 Anna

    psh, Lollipop by Weezy F. Baby, of course!!! GOOD LUCK TODAY!! you will rock that interview

  39. LOLLIPOP! omg, is it weird that immediately when I read that line, I heard lil wayne saying it in my head in his sickly deep voice? im just mildly obsessed w him.
    i hope you’re having fun exploring NYC, there is so much to see (and eat!) here! I’ve been here almost a year and I still feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface of NYC awesomeness!
    best of luck on your interview!

  40. 40 lisa

    ah, i cant stir a jar of nut butter without spilling it either! grr! i need to invest in those nut butter stirrers sooo badlyyyy!
    smuckers natural pretty much is my fav antural peanut butter. just. so. GOOD!!
    πŸ™‚

  41. Good luck at the interview!! You’re gonna blow em away, Kaylyn (haha)!!

  42. good luck with your interview girl πŸ™‚ your going to rock their socks off no doubt!

    oh gosh I hate when I spill PB. The oil always feels like its there even days after opening the jar. oie.

  43. Goooood luckkkkk!!

  44. 44 maxinthegym

    Good luck on the interview!
    Hahaha and don’t worry I always spill my PB when I stir it πŸ˜‰

  45. 45 Sara

    Hope your interview went swimmingly and you showed off your fun AND funny side!

  46. 46 livelaughlovehopeeat

    Good luck on the interview!!!! I’m sure you will rock it!
    Lil Wayne….. I totally had forgotten that song, and will likely have it stuck in my head for the next 2 days…. thanks a lot!
    The wrap looked amazing!!! Beautiful presentation! I’d do a whole photo shoot too if I could make something look that pretty!

  47. My name is Kaley and they always, always misspell my name. I have photographic evidence: http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v191/146/24/6839635/n6839635_43061803_1992.jpg

    There’s more where that came from, too.

    Good luck in NYC!

  48. mmmm, that’s my favorite snack! I actually just posted about it last night…same wave length…? I was getting the low carb tortillas for a while until I realized that there’s a decent amount of soy in there (soy + my thyroid issues = not good). But I recently found similar soyless tortillas at Trader Joe’s. WOOP!

    I literally cannot wait to hear how your interview went. I’m so excited for you!! If you wind up staying in NYC I’m going to come stalk you, if that’s cool. My best friend is going to school up there in the fall (and I have another best friend living in Long Island) so I have an excuse πŸ˜‰ Keep us posted about the interview, will you?!


Leave a Reply

