Unlimited

19Jun10

Hi, lovepies! I’ve been gone a bit longer than I’d planned. Lo siento!

Now that I’ve graduated, I have discovered that my days, my plans, my life– they are unlimited.

If you have pinpointed that my inspiration for this post has come from belting to Wicked for hours in my car, then you know me too well.

With these unlimited days, I decided to take a road trip back to Athens. I wanted to see Dirty Martini!

Before hitting the road, I noshed on a little breakfast:

Fage, bloobs, corn bran (like a corny Puffin), PureVia, cinnamon and peanut butter.

Gasmazing.

I spent a couple hours getting my shiz together, and then I drove the three hours to Athens. Always worth it.

It was wonderful to see the man again! We caught up on life over a fabulous feast:

Jackie O's hummus and cheese plate. Ridiculously good.

Feta-overdosed Greek salad with the oddly paired raspberry vinaigrette. It almost worked.

Spent wheat pizza with green peppers and mushrooms. Spent wheat is from the leftover grains used in the beer-brewing process. At least, that's how DM explained it.

DM had to work that night, so I basically just watched him. Perhaps I can be a tad creepy sometimes. Actually, we also played some pool. Heh. I’m hideously horrible at pool, but I enjoy it.

I forgot to take pictures of more food; I was too busy living, you know? Last night, though, DM and I had a bag of lettuce each for dinner. Topped with sprouts, feta and Italian dressing, I’d say it was fine dining.

I certainly enjoyed my fair share of delicious adult beverages over the past couple days, too. The prettiest:

Pomegranate mojito! Feisty.

I also had an arty moment and attempted to take gorgeous shots of the sky:

I have no idea.

Also thought I’d take a picture of the haunted Ridges:

Maybe I was waiting in the car for someone while I snapped these.

Now I’m back at home in Cinci, soaking in as much as I can…

Because…

On Wednesday, I am flying out to New York City. A one-way ticket. I have a job interview on Thursday, and we’ll see how it goes. All I know is that I want this. Working in NYC has been a dream of mine for about 10 years now. It’s time I try.

Because, as the musical says, my future is unlimited. I have to try to make this work.

The fears of leaving behind people I love are present, but I know I have to follow my dreams.

And hell, I have all my lovely New York blog friends to party with while I’m there! Oh, and that special someone named Muffin…

I can’t wait.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

P.S. Following our newfound unlimited-ness, my friend and fellow OU alum, Ryan Lytle, is trying to be the first ever MTV TJ. Part of me is envious of the fact that if he gets this job, he will be making $100K. But the bigger part of me merely wants him to win this thang! Ryan is super-smart, funny and friendly. Please help him out by following him on Twitter!Β Thank you, loves!

60 Responses to “Unlimited”

  1. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!! i know youll get it. and then i’ll see you when i come to visit nyc!!!!!!!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE

  2. 2 maren

    so exciting about nyc!!! good luck with the interview! maybe ill actually get to meet you now πŸ˜‰

    • 3 snackface

      maren- This is going to sound crazy, but were you in Nylon this month? I could have SWORN it was you! We’re totally meeting up anyway!

  3. Good luck girl! How exciting! You’re such an inspiration πŸ™‚

  4. Holy crap! That’s fantastic! πŸ™‚ You live that dream, girl. That “lizzie mcguire moment of your life” (that’s what I call it for some reason? Whatevz) is bound to happen πŸ™‚ I hope the same for me once I graduate, except I’m Chi-town-bound πŸ˜‰

  5. 6 squigglefloey

    Amazeballs! πŸ™‚ Congrats on the interview!!! That’s super exciting. Let us know how everything turns out!

  6. Do it big girly!!!!!!!!!! So excited for you πŸ™‚ Snackface vs NYC is gonna be awesome

  7. 8 squigglefloey

    Ps. YAY for journalism majors! I hope I turn out to be as successful in the job market as you’ve been!

  8. Good luck with the interview lady! I know you will rock it! Sounds like you had a great time with DM!

  9. Amazing. You’re gonna love it here. Congratulations!

  10. GAH congrats and GOOD LUCK on the interview girl! I’m sure you’ll rock it :0) SO excited for you!!

  11. Good luck with the job interview, although I’m sure you don’t even need it. You’re amazing! Thank you again for the shout-out. It means a lot!

  12. I am sending lots of good karma your way girl!!!!!!!!!!!! I will be saying a prayer!! Good luck!! Do your best!!!!

    Love that you got to see DM and that drink looks fab!!!

    Have a great weekend! xoxo

  13. That is so exciting! I don’t comment much, but this obviously deserves a huge CONGRATS! I know you’re going to do great at this interview and go on and do ridiculously wonderful things with your life. Good luck with everything!

    P.S. I’m totally trying to keep my jealousy at bay cause NYC is my all-time favorite place in the whole world πŸ™‚

  14. Ahhhh good luck good luck good luck!!! New York becomes more and more appealing to me as the days go on– especially after recently watching endless episodes of SATC and Felicity. Enjoy it boo!

    That mojito sounds delish and I’m loving on that pizza and yogurt mess! Had pizza last night actually πŸ™‚

    Hope to finally catch up soon! xoxoxo

  15. 17 Lyss

    YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

  16. omg omg omg!!!! congrats girl on the interview! your going to do wonderful i know it! i can’t wait to hear all about it! xoxoxo

  17. Good luck Kailey!! πŸ™‚

  18. i ADORE MOJITOS

  19. Good luck with your interview!! You’ll kill it. I know. Say hi to NYC for me, too. πŸ™‚

  20. ahhhh that is SO awesome!!!! NYC is on my bucket list and i found out today that i’m going july 15th. it’s meant to be! πŸ™‚
    you’ll beast that interview!

  21. Good luck! Remember that you are an amazing lady!!! Just think of what you have to offer if you have the balls to buy a one-way ticket!

  22. 24 Stacie

    OMFrigginG!! How exciting is that! I know you will do well. Do ya thang girl :0)

  23. 25 dmcgirl37

    ahhh I am so excited for you girl! NYC has my heart ❀ I hope you get the job. I know you will though, you have a awesome personality and that always gets you somewhere in NYC! Dream big gorgeous!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  24. 26 Anna

    This is so exciting! Your one way ticket is a big step in the right direction, and I’m sure that something amazing will come from putting yourself out there. Have a wonderful time with Muffin in the City that never sleeps!

  25. 27 Michelle

    Good luck! I love that you are following your dreams πŸ™‚ You are such an inspiring person!

    • 28 snackface

      Michelle- Ugh, are you the sweetest person ever? Thank you, love!

  26. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH i just texted youuuuuuuuuuuuu!

  27. That is such exciting news!!! CONGRATS! πŸ˜€

    I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little bit jealous πŸ˜‰ I’ve definitely been in a rut lately (i.e. what am I going to do with my life? blahblahblah), so seeing you follow your dreams is actually a huge encouragement for me. So, *thank you!* And girl, if anyone can make it in NYC – it’s you!

  28. 32 maxinthegym

    Yay you got to see DM again πŸ˜€ and I wish you the best of luck in NYC!! I’m sure you’ll nail the interview πŸ˜‰

  29. 33 Liza

    OH MY GOD!! Good luck Kailey, and kick ass πŸ™‚ They’d be crazy not to hire you. And I’m so glad you got to see your DM again πŸ˜‰

  30. Good luck with the interview! I was just in NYC and loved it, so I’m super jealous! Enjoy πŸ™‚ I love the way you’re going after your dreams, very inspiring.

  31. Oh my gosh, GOOD LUCK GIRL!!! Not that you need it, of course- I’m sure you’ll do absolutely fabulous!! I really hope you get it and make the permanent move to NYC…you’d be my neighbor, give or take a few miles!! Have a wonderful weekend love! xoxo

  32. I recently stumbled across your blog and I love it! I graduated from journo school last year and found my dream job soon after. Good luck with the job interview! I know you’ll do great!

    • 37 snackface

      Kristin- Hollaaaa to my fellow j-schooler! And major props to landing your dream job!

  33. 38 Patrice

    WHOA you’re coming to NYC? Shiii. That’s where I am. I’m gonna go ahead and count this as an introduction and say that as a reader and part-time commenter, we should meet up and go explore the city or something. They’re not joking when they say it’s the greatest in the world.

    • 39 snackface

      Patrice- I’ll definitely need some guidance if I move there, so any help is welcome! Thanks so much for the offer πŸ™‚

  34. hey! have you tried any other flavors of the ThinkThin bars? I’ve had the peanut butter and the brownie crunch ones and i think they pass the test πŸ™‚

    • 41 snackface

      livelaughloveyourself- Actually, I have had the peanut butter-chocolate one and it wasn’t bad at all! Perhaps chocolate-covered strawberry wasn’t the best of the bunch!

  35. 42 Little Bookworm

    Good luck with the interview, I am sure you will do great! πŸ˜€

  36. Pomegranate mojito! I’ve never seen one of those before, yumm

  37. good luck on your interview! NYC is fab – seems like your kinda place. you’d rock this town.

  38. 45 Christina

    You are going to ROCK the interview! Best of luck, I’m so excited for you!

  39. I’ll live my fantasies and courage through you! I’ve always wanted to just drop everything and buy a one way ticket somewhere but alas, I’m too type A. I still might move to NYC next year though but for now I’ll watch and live through YOUR adventures!

  40. That is super exciting! I love that you aren’t afraid to take a chance and put yourself out there. Good luck!! πŸ™‚

  41. GOOD LuCK!!! I wish I could get a one way ticket to Australia and see what happens…too bad they have these things called visas. boohiss.

    i can’t wait to hear about the adventures you’re going to embark on!!! so exciting!

  42. Good luck in NYC! I know that’s what you really want to do, so go for it!

  43. Kailey – GOOD LUCK, friend! Oh wow so exciting. You are destined for great thangs, girl. BELIEVE IT.

    • 51 snackface

      Cassie- Aww, thank you so very much. I truly appreciate that.

  44. Ooh the pom mojito looks tasty! As does that pizza. That’s so amazing about NYC and good luck with the interview!! You’ll blow them away!

  45. 53 Hannah

    Congrats Kailey! But you’re going to own this interview, obviously πŸ™‚ You probably don’t remember, but I emailed you asking for interview advice a while ago. Thanks for the help! I’m interning at a magazine this summer… maybe we can have a NYC blogger/reader/magazine journalists get-together one day πŸ™‚

    -Hannah

    • 54 snackface

      Hannah- Ahhh I do remember. Congrats, chiquita! If I’m there all summer, then we are definitely meeting up!

  46. Oh man, oh man. That pom mojito looks and sounds amaze! I had a pineapple mojito a few months ago and it was good but that one is pink so it makes it 10x better πŸ˜‰

    GOOD LUCK WITH NYC BUGABOO!!!! I have to be honest, since I’ve gotten to “know” you, you seem like such a city girl – You + NYC = Meant To Be!

  47. 56 Gina G

    goodluck sweet girl! all the best wishes for you! πŸ™‚

  48. 57 laurmeliss

    What happened to the SF dream/ thought?

  49. 59 Lola

    Good luck girl!!!! :D:D

  50. 60 Jil @ Peace, Love & Munchies

    Good luck!!!! Sending good vibes your way!! Not that you need ’em! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

