The End of an Era

10Jun10

Hi babies!

Wednesday afternoon, I sent off my best friend. Car filled to the brim, she drove away. Left Athens. This moment marked the end of an era. The end of four exquisitely hilarious years in Athens, Ohio, with a beautiful person who has made me who I am today.

I took very few photographs yesterday because I believe there are some things that should never be photographed, let alone shared on a blog. Things of which you will never see pictures on my blog:
-Intimate moments (of any sort, unless sarcastic)
-Funerals
-Crotch shots
-Me in a bikini, doing yoga on the beach
-Meat/animals roasting

MaybeI’mjustgettingsomethingsoffmychest.

Anyway, we had a wonderful afternoon before sending off my Muff. Hours before meeting the girlies for lunch, I snacked on this cup o’ chemicals:

I can't help that I think you're delicious.

Not only was my lunch company perfection, but my meal was also pure divinity:

Huge Chipotle salad with chips and Diet Coke! YUMS.

Spicy, crunchy, guac-y gasms. (Ew, sounds gross.)

And then the time came. My love had to leave. Ugh.

I just keep telling myself, “Kailey, it’s OK. You’ll have to go to NYC in a couple weeks to visit her!” I like.

Banana and I walked around uptown for hours, distracting ourselves from feeling sad. Retail therapy is the only way to go. Oh, that and magazine purchases. (Nylon mag, may I please work for you?)

We also faced some ethical issues:

Welp, that face sums up how I felt.

Something tells me that tofu loses that battle more than it wins.

Around five-ish, Banana and I had dinner. At Cold Stone. Peanut butter-chocolate ice cream with brownie and cookie dough. Extravagant. (And unpictured because my phone died and my camera was at home!)

While debating what to do that evening, we ran into this sign:

Allow me to explain.

One of the bars has “Pitcher Night”, a night in which one can purchase a pitcher of liquor for $5. Stick a straw in it, and you are set.

We skipped the pitchers for fear it would make us miss Muffin too much. However, we went out and celebrated life, fa sho. If you follow me on Twitter, you got to see a small video of that. (Hint, hint, hint. I swear my tweets are semi-entertaining.)

This morning, I woke up with a cracked toenail and a stamp on my wrist. It reads: “Be the change you want to see in the world.” Funny bar people!

To fully mark the end of an era, I thought I’d share some pictures of this gorgeous campus. I’ve been blessed to be surrounded by this for four years:

College Green in the spring.

Court Street! Where it all goes down. I walk this street a billion times a day.

Pawpurrs and The Pub, where most of my weekend pictures are taken.

Red Brick, the only bar I've ever been kicked out of. SHHHHH!!!!! It was for a ridiculous reason.

Crossed this intersection a trillion times. (More than the above mentioned billion. Obvs.)

Scripps is hiding in that greenery!

E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. I've spent countless hours there.

Actually, I may have spent more time in Ellis, the English building.

I love yOU.

Though this era has been magnificent, I find that life continues to get better and better every year. Hell, every day. So here’s to the next era. Shall it be a glorious one!

Love you all!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

65 Responses to “The End of an Era”

  1. Cheers to you and your lovely friends! Cheers to your next era 🙂

  2. 2 Whit

    haha to the first part. andthatisalliamgoingtosay.

    Sad that Muff left, but cheers to a new beginning. What is life, if not a succession of new beginnings?

  3. You’ve had an amazing journey and now you’re onto the next chapter! I know you’ve got big things ahead girl. It’s happening 🙂

  4. You’ve been kicked out of a bar?! Kailey! I’m in shock here!!! 😉
    What a beautiful campus!!!
    So sad… but you are right, it’s a NEW era and it’s going to be even MORE fabulous than the last!

    • 5 peanutbutterfingers

      agreed! i think we all need to hear that story! oh & your comment about yoga poses in a bikini made me laugh out loud. too funny! i would never do that either!

      • 6 snackface

        peanutbutterfingers- Hi love! Ehhh, I’m not sure I’m ready to share that story….hahaha. It was really absurd anyway. And yes, me+yoga poses+bikini= some rolls and cellulite that no one needs to see. Hell, I wouldn’t even want to see the photographic evidence.

  5. this post just gave me majorr creeps. i’m graduating high school, about to leave for NCSU in August, and now i feel like it’s going to come and go before i know it.

    good luck in your new era, babe. it’s going to be a great one 🙂

    ♥ lindsey

  6. Aw love, the end of something can always be so hard, but you’re going to start a wonderful new life soon. The people that really matter will always find a way to stay in your life, no matter how far the physical distance between you. Every day has the potential to be better than the day before it- I like the way you think girl!! Hope you have a wonderful day loving life 🙂

  7. 9 Liza

    I cannot believe you’ve been kicked out of a bar!! Kailey you are a crazy girl! Haha. OU looks gorgeous – especially the Scripps building.

    GOOD LUCK WITH NYLON!! ❤

  8. It has been a little over a year since I graduated and have to agree with Gabriela when she says “the people that that really matter will always find a way to stay in your life.” My friends and I have scattered so much and yes, sometimes it is hard (really hard), I still know that I can email them and sometimes call them to vent or hear them vent. It sounds like you had a wonderful 4 years at OU (my gpa went there way back…) and made some best friends for life lady!

  9. 11 Rebecca

    Ha. The first part. You’ve got class. And we all know, you can pay for school, but you can’t buy class.

  10. welcome to the next era! it will be better than you ever thought it could be – i swear.

  11. 14 Michelle

    Your campus is absolutely stunning! It looks like such a quaint college 🙂

    Good luck with your next era. Perhaps try setting a goal to let the time go by faster.

  12. 15 lo

    just reading this made me feel emotional…chipotle and ice cream are great at helping u cope with anything 🙂 please dont be sad, but rather, happy because ur life is truly beginning now. Good luck on Saturday. I love you!

    lolo

  13. YOU DID IT! YOU DID IT! YOU DID IT! I am oh so proud of you, my darling. I know it’s bittersweet, (aw, trust me, I know) but you have so much to look forward to… I just hope the world, (publishing world, that is) is ready for you and I ;).

    P.S. Your campus is absolutely beautiful!

  14. It’s always so sad to part with a bff. 😦 Thank goodness for texting and email, even though they’re not the same as hanging out in person.

    Your campus is gorgeous!

  15. 18 Sana

    Eeeek! This is exciting! Do you graduate in a few days?

  16. aww congrats on a great year, and I agree, every day gets better and better. Life is what you make it- 🙂 Welcome to REAL life!!!!!

  17. I’ve never been to OU even though its so close. Its beautiful! I was thinking the same things today as I was walking across campus. These sights I’ve seen day after day are going to be gone! Although I’m sure they will be replaced by more wonderful sights and events! Its bittersweet.

    The girls I spent the past wonderful 5 years with are all moving to different states – how will I love without them!

  18. 21 Lola

    I’m sure it won’t be a goodbye to Muffin, more like a see you later!!
    Cheers to the next era!!!! I love reading your blog it’s so exciting to read about whats next for you. Im sure the next era will be filled with good friends, fun nights, delicious food and a wonderful job, because you deserve all that and more 🙂

  19. Oh, it’s just gonna get better and better!!! 🙂

    I love how they really made the tofu as the “bad guy” 🙂

  20. I cannot WAIT to see what you do next!!!!

  21. 25 Angela

    Love this post-thank you, thank you, thank you!! Why anyone thinks those types of pics are appropriate is beyond me! Your twenties free of college responsibilities will rock-no worries!

  22. 26 anonymous

    Was that a jab @ graduatemeghann? Just wondering…

    • 27 snackface

      anonymous- My list was made after observing countless blogs for years. What I listed are things I’ve seen several times before and been like, “Whaaa?” The meat thing is obviously me being a prissy pants veg. (I mean, I just cried watching Finding Nemo because “fish are friends, not food.”) All innocent and in fun!

      • 28 Theresa

        Aww I thought this too…I think she’s posted three of the things you mentioned in just the last week. I think you two are friends so I’m sure it wasn’t meant to be hurtful, but I definitely thought of her old posts right away!

      • 29 snackface

        Theresa + Co. – Ladies, ladies, ladies… Love you. Why would I ever say something like that about someone who obviously has more fans/followers than I do? That’s just crazy! I seriously wish we could all get together and have a fab time! I say all the power to someone who is willing to post some of the things I mentioned— I don’t have the confidence! (Lol— do you want to see this cellulite? Didn’t think so.) I’ll erase it all if you think it’s too negative. Guess my sarcastic sense of humor doesn’t read…sorry, loves!

      • 30 anonymous2

        yeah definitely a jab, come on!

      • 31 Jerilynne

        I’ve never commented before and I’m sorry that this has to be my first – but what’s with all the negativity? Normally I love your blog because it’s positive and fun and inspirational for me, but that comment being a jab was my first thought too. Maybe it’s something you’ve been seeing on other blogs for years but to write something like that 2 days after a fellow blogger posted pictures like that… kind of seems like a jab. It’s disappointing to me because, like I said, your posts are usually positive and I don’t need any more sources of unnecessary negativity in my life…

      • 32 snackface

        Jerilynne- Aww I’m so sorry, lovepie! These truly are some things I’ve seen on blogs over the years! I mean, I love all bloggers, and I think it’s awesome to have enough confidence to post some things (I don’t…hello cellulite…lol), but I promise you… I think everyone is amazing for doing their own thang, and I wish we could all hang together. And I wish I weren’t an outsider to the “cool” bloggers….that’s all! Loooooove you for reading it all!!

      • 33 Laura @ Backstage Pass to Health & Happiness

        Ha! It’s all in good fun. The tone of this blog is tounge-in-cheek and sassy, and I would expect nothing less than your honest opinion!
        Not that anyone reads my blog (I am seriously lacking juicy content, besides photos of nachos), I am with you on the no bikini yoga poses or crotch shots photos. For those bloggers who have the confidence to do it, great! I just wouldn’t do it myself.

      • 34 Jerilynne

        For what’s it worth – the thought that you weren’t one of the “cool” bloggers never even crossed my mind until you mentioned it. For me, there aren’t “cool” and “ucnool,” there’s just the blogs I read and the blogs I don’t read!

      • I didn’t think this at all. Some people (ahem) are just trying to start drama, and it’s not Snackface!

    • 36 anonymous

      Hey Kailey. I was the first “anonymous” commenter. I have been a long time reader of yours. I didn’t mean to start any drama or anything. I read Meghann’s blog too and it ran through my mind that she had a couple of those things that you listed on her blog. If you were being sarcastic, I’m sorry that I didn’t get it, but it did sound mean. Just my opinion…I will continue to read your blog and I still think you’re fabulous. Oh, and I never thought of you as an “outsider” from the “cool” blogs like Jerilynne. Blogs are just blogs.

      • 37 Whit

        Well, it looks like we can all agree that our beloved Snackie is not mean or petty and has one of the coolest blogs out there! Long live Snackface!

      • 38 Theresa

        I’m the Theresa from before too =) And I second everything ‘anonymous’ said…I’ve always loved your blog and, from what I can tell from that, you are in no way a mean spirited person. If you say it was all in good fun, who am I not to believe it?! Certainly not trying to start any drama, just expressing an opinion, even though I turned out wrong. But now I feel like I’m just keeping the whole thing going, ahhh also not my intention! Just wanted to let you know, I think you’re great!

  23. I can’t imagine having to say goodbye to my best friend but like you said, it gives you an excuse to visit New York and I’m sure that trip will be here in no time! Your campus is gorgeous. This post made me all nostalgic and I still have two years left! Thanks for the reminder to live it up and “go out with a bang” 🙂

  24. congrats to y ou and your friends!! what a great post…you will look back at this one for a long time!!

    you will surley be reunited with muff soon enough 🙂

  25. Congrats to you and the ladies! I know that bittersweet feeling mixed with pride, accomplishment, longing and disbelief that college flew by so fast…I just graduated in Dec and I am still convinced that I just finished the best part of my life 😦

    I also agree that bikini shots of people doing yoga on the beach, private moments like funerals and roasted animals on blogs really appall me and I can’t believe that some of my fav bloggers have that stuff! Love them, but they have more balls than I do to post it 🙂 to each their own, no judgment here!

  26. I love you love you love you and your list 😉 You know my feelings on the whole thing too! Good luck with all your new grown-up stuff…you’ll rock it!

  27. Congrats on starting this new chapter of your life 🙂

  28. yay for new beginnings!! :] such a beautiful post girlie.
    and i love that toy bacon vs. tofu thing haha so adorable.

  29. What a pretty lookin campus!

  30. Beautiful post, beautiful campus! Tofu vs Bacon… Tofu wins in my book, though lately I’ve been on a tempeh bacon kick, where does that fit in? Heehee.

  31. What a beautiful campus, I love it. I’m sure you have lots of great things to look forward too. New chapters are always exciting : )

  32. What a gorge campus! Lucky lucky girl.

    I feel like there’s a story behind the bar-kicking-out of that needs to be shared!!!

    • 49 snackface

      Faith! Thank you, it is a gorge campus! So the bar thing… I’ll share! I tried to prevent this girl from talking to a guy who I knew was no good, and I said that, and then the above-mentioned guy’s friend kicked me out! It was cray!!!

  33. 50 justjac

    I know you must be torn up about the end of the era. Think about all of the fun, exciting, life-changes that are coming your way though! All the new friends, boys, jobs, fashion, food… you have waiting for you! I hope you have a great summer girl, congrats on the graduation, you did it!!!!

  34. 51 Anna

    While it’s the end of an era, it’s the start of a brand new and super exciting one. While your campus is really nice and beautiful, there’s a whole big world out there to explore. Best of luck, and let us know if you get kicked out of any more bars!

  35. 52 emilie

    way to handle the little “controversy”/comment conversation up there with class, poise, and openness–you made-to-be-a-journalist, you!

  36. 53 Sara

    yo Snackie, I get your humour and I appreciate it. I also thought of the jab but knew you didn’t mean it directly at her! However I gotta say there are certain blogs I have stopped reading for the same reason… this is YOUR space. In this blog space, you aren’t writing for anyone but you (that will come when you’re employed!). So say what you feel, when you want, and don’t forget it! Most of us follow you cuz you’re truly upbeat and make reading a pleasure…. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – your blog is so much MORE than the other mainstream food blogs! I come on here never knowing what to expect and I quite frankly DON’T care to see/know exactly what you ate for breakfast every.single.day! Thanks for being beyond that! This is getting long and rambly. Email me if you ever want to vent to an anonymous person who doesn’t blog, but loves yours and reads some others out of habit 😛

  37. Reading your posts is getting me all emotional! I’m not even one of those people who calls college “the best time of my life”… but I still do miss it sometimes!

  38. 55 jmichelle

    Congratulations! You have the best blog on the internet and my heart is breaking for you for having to say all those goodbyes.

  39. 56 maxinthegym

    Well you know what they say…
    It’s not the end
    It’s just the beginning

    Or something cheesy like that 😀

    I’m planning on applying to Ohio University and from the pictures you’ve posted I’m really hoping I get accepted!

  40. 57 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    whoa- people are getting on you kind of about that comment- i thought it was hilarious! And soooo true. & yes, there are blogs who do that- which is fine but i mean, it is kinda odd, soo. I think you’re amazing 🙂
    Great way to leave OU! love hte pics- i’ve never actually been to campus before

    xoxoo

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  41. 58 lilpauladeen

    I adore this post (what’s new) in all of its humor, honesty, brilliance and beauty. I miss muffin now too ;.( . Definitely going to refrain from gittin ‘volved with the drama and negativity… because darlin, all you deserve is POS. I. TIV. I. TY. for all you’ve accomplished and the genuine person you are. Rock on (and ROCK that friggin leopard ‘fit tonight, y’hear?
    MA

  42. haha lovvinn the tofu and bacon, so cute.
    the vanilla of that yogurt is alsooo really good!

  43. 60 Katherine: What About Summer?

    I like you list of things not to put on a blog (croch shot- no thanks!)
    Katherine

  44. Cheers to the end of the college era! I have AMAZING memories from undergrad and I thought I’d DIE when I had to leave but honestly post-grad live is AMAZING. Aaaand you can always go to graduate school like me and be a student foreverrrrrrr 🙂

  45. It’s so sad to leave college isn’t it? I too had an amazing four years at my university and was heartbroken to leave. I’ll cherish the memories and friends made there forever. Just know that new and exciting changes are coming your way.

  46. I love the happy and uplifting attitude. You rock girl!

  47. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    you know what i am laughing at.

    i love youuuuuu….mayj catch-up soon!!!!!


Leave a Reply

