Breaking Fasts

19May10

Buongiorno bellas! Are you annoyed with the constant posting yet? Don’t answer that. What a horrible lead!

I feel as though I’ll be doing frequent posts until I feel that I’ve caught up. This fine morning, I have two glorious breakfasts to share.

If there’s something I don’t do well (among countless other things, like basketball and cleaning and calculus and remembering birthdays), it’s fasting or trying to tell myself not to eat something. So the only fast I participate in is the one that happens between my late-night snacks and breakfast.

Most times I wake up starving, and even when I don’t, I eat as though I am. Monday’s breakfast was a traditional creamy delight:

Boats (banana oats). Love.

All it takes: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, 1/2 banana, cinnamon and peanut butter.

Black coffee is a constant in the morning hours for moi. I don’t foresee myself ever giving that up. That’d be cray!

This lovely gray morning, I’ve already spilled coffee on the couch and set off the fire alarm. It was all for a good reason, though:

The oatmeal pancake.

Kath has a fab recipe for an oatmeal pancake. I’ve told myself for two years that I’d make it. Finally, I did tha damn thang.

Also taking notes from Jenna, I combined 1/3 C oats, 2 egg whites, cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 mashed banana and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Come morning, I plopped it in a pan over high heat:

See that space I'm intentionally avoiding on the pan?

Yeah, I accidentally sprayed ant-killer chemicals on my pan a few days ago. I let the pan sit in a bath of dish soap and water for days. Have I shared that I’m a klutz? You probably already knew.

And the reason I cooked it over high heat is because patience is something I don’t have in the morning. Or when I’m waiting for semi-boyfriends to call/text me back. But that is neither here nor there. (He’s getting better…I think.)

Though I can’t control a dude, I can control a pancake. I can control it to the point of burning it:

But burnt is beautifully crunchy and delicious.

I topped the pancake with crunchy peanut butter and sizzurp. Amazing. The cross-section is also surprisingly fluffy:

Gasm.

The best part? It was super filling. And it didn’t taste like Hot Shot.

If you’re a little confused as to what you’ve missed since I’ve been posting like a freak, here’s what’s been poppin’ on SnackFizzy:

A Call for Fashion

Swagger of a College Kid

Treats and Tricks of Home

Onto classes and a fab gym session!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTIONS: How do you like your coffee? Or are you loony (or health-conscious unlike me) and don’t like coffee? AND Are you adventurous when it comes to testing out new breakfasts?

44 Responses to “Breaking Fasts”

  1. I don’t like coffee either! Well, I love it when its loaded with cream and sugar and whipped cream and chocolate and…

    Anyway, I wish I loved it, but I hate it. It tastes like dirty water. As does tea.

  2. 2 Jenny

    I love coffee! Especially iced starbucks coffee:) and I’m loving all your posts!

  3. I love my coffee black too…and never have sipped it another way really. I have been thinking about buying some coconut creamer though to mix things up a bit. The oatmeal pancake looks and sounds amazing lady! I really need to make a vegan version (somehow…). Don’t worry about the new man…they usually get better!

    • 4 snackface

      clairedille- You know, the pancake may be even better vegan! Do you think a flax egg would work? I think it would, especially combined with the banana, which will hold it all together. You probably know better than I do, though!

  4. I love my morning coffee! I make it in a french press with coconut milk creamer. So good. πŸ™‚

  5. 6 kbwood

    Hey beautiful!!!
    im a COFFEE GIRL!! I am on my 2nd cup right now as we speak πŸ™‚ its addicted, not gona lie! but there are worse things i could be addicted too!!
    LOVIN THE plethora of posting!!
    i love your posts because i feel like i can always hear you talking. and i LIKE IT A LOTTTTT! love you K baby!

  6. 7 Michelle

    Hahah I was cracking up reading this thing the entire time! I love the semi-boyfriends. I have about, eh 3? going on right now. Well “flirtations” πŸ˜‰ Love the pancake by the way!

    • 8 snackface

      Michelle- Hahaha you are my idol. Three? Playa play on. Oh wait, you’re not a playa, you just crush a lot. Is one the smartie, one the hottie and one the comedian? I hope so.

  7. I don’t like coffee! That oatmeal pancake looks great!

  8. 10 Liza

    I am so tempted to lick the screen despite the burnt edges of that oatmeal pancake! I really, really need to try to make that at least once in my life. πŸ˜›

    Semi-boyfriends.. I don’t know what’s funnier, the “semi” or the fact that the entire term is actually plural. Haha. You’re a funny one, Kailey!

    Keep up the constant posting! πŸ™‚

    • 11 snackface

      Liza- Haha in my defense, I only used the plural as to generalize so all my chica readers can relate. Or am I the only one in that situation? LOL

  9. 12 Little Bookworm

    Love the contast posts. πŸ™‚ I don’t like coffee personally. Love the boats as well (my current method of cooking banana porridge!).

  10. 13 Jenny

    so I woke up this morning with 4 Snackface posts on my google reader. I had to do a double take and make sure it wasn’t Christmas. LOVE THIS!

    oh, by the way.. we’re basically the same person. I’m eating Jenna’s pancake right this instant, though mine is adorned with pumpkin. Can we just get married already?

    so in love with you baybay!!

  11. lol you are a posting fiend! but i loveeeeeeee

  12. 15 mamaj

    A day without coffee is like a day without sunshine. It has to be Starbucks house blend though….

  13. DUDE. Just looking through my overflowing Reader and realized you’ve busted out 3 posts since I’ve been to SnackTown. Nice work, my friend.

    That pancake looks amaze…I like burnt food.

    Other things I like:

    – “creamy delight” (I’m so immature)
    – “semi-boyfriend” (great term)
    – you blogging a lot (I kinda like this blog ;))

  14. wow that pancake looks soooo good! now i really want one. i’m pretty adventurous with trying out new breakfasts if i find a recipe i like… then again, if there is a food i really like i can have it everyday for 2 weeks and not even think about it. i’m pretty flexible in general though!

    i take my coffee straight black… no cream, no sugar, nada… i just love the taste of black coffee! am i crazy? haha, so good.

  15. 18 Sarah

    I like a big mug of Green Mountain fair trade French Toast coffee in the morning. (I am THAT specific.) I usually drink it black.

    I’ve been wanting to make a breakfast pancake (as encouraged by Jenna). I thought today was the day, but it turns out I was craving a “yogurt mess” this morning.

    • 19 snackface

      Sarah- Ahhh, it’s always best to go with the cravings! But when you get the pancake desire, go for it! So delish.

  16. I’d like to test out new breakfasts but I love oatmeal and shakes so much it’s hard to part from either of them! And I just fell in love with coffee this past year! It started with pumpkin spice and then it just snowballed and now I’m a caffeine drinking machine ;)… I usually like it with milk, sometimes sugar, depending if I want something sweet… That breakfast pancake looks amazing and I really do need to try one ASAP!

  17. Yummm!!! I tried the oatmeal pancake for the first time a while back and loved it and now, I’m pretty much addicted!! I love my usual bowl of oats buuuut the pancakes are pretty amazing.
    Oh boys.. I’m in the same situation, I have a guy who’s kinda/sorta my bf and am still trying to figure out the whole when’s he going to text me back thing…

  18. I heart coffee. In fact, I just downed a cup, with milk and sugar, just the way I like it.

    Breakfast is all about shaking it up. I like having savoury dinner-esque things for breakfast. And I like that anything goes because I can’t have already had anything yet. You know – there’s no “can’t have eggs, already had them at XX”, or “can’t have toast again”. Everything is new. Love. Also, I think the coffee affected by ability to write coherently so sorry bout that!

  19. I like coffee, but I’m far more of a tea girl myself. Whenever I’m in the mood for it though, I get an plain coffee and then dump about fifty sugars into it. No cream, just sugar.

    I’m not adventurous at all with breakfast. Cereal and fruit, that’s my jam. The love has been going strong since I was old enough to chew solid foods, so I’m not changing it up any time soon.

    Hate that gray area biznazz. I wish relationships made them better at responding to texts in a timely manner; sadly, it does not. I was so excited when the BF texted me “What’s up” an hour ago, and he has still yet to reply to my instantaneous response. Moments like these make me wish I’d grown up in the 50s, when there was only one way to communicate!

  20. I can only drink about half a cup of coffee at a time but I add a splash of half and half. There is just no substitute for the original. I’ve tried…

    I’m thinking an oatmeal pancake is in my near future. Minus the ant spray of course. Eep!

  21. Can’t live without my 2-4 cups of black coffee per morning. Oh man oh man. And boy am I picky about the roast and all!! As for breakfasts, I usually like something on the sweet side- variations of pancakes, yogurty concoctions, cakey things, etc. And I wake up a starvin marvin every morning too…honestly that’s what keeps me from going out to breakfast a lot of the time, the fact that I feel TOO FAMISHED to actually get dressed/get ready to go out to eat. food and coffee first. always.

  22. I like my coffee with just a splash of almond milk. Perfection!

    I used to have pretty much the same breakfast everyday (Kashi + yogurt + fruit) but I’ve become a little more adventurous since joining the blogworld. I still don’t like savory breakfasts though. I gotta satisfy my sweet tooth in the mornings! πŸ˜€

  23. I adore coffee! I usually drink black, with some milk, but I enjoy all coffee-spin-offs, pretty rarely though, ’cause the sugar in them freaks me out. But give me anything warm, creamy and with taste of coffee, I’ll be happy as a child

  24. 28 Clare

    I’m not fond of black coffee/home made coffee, I only really get cappucino when I’m at a coffee shop and they make them properly. My breakfast 99% of the time is oats. I hate the mornings, and am normally still have asleep when I have breakfast so I don’t have the inclination or time to get creative.

  25. 29 Meg

    I love black coffee…I used to have to have my coffee SUPER sweet, but now super sweet just tastes…icky. I cannot go a day without ma brew. Oatmeal in some form is also a must – I agree, Kath’s pancake is perfect. Even when burnt!

    Happy Hump daaay gorgeous!
    Meg

  26. Favourite way to take coffee?? In a Star*bizzle Grande Soymilk Cappuccino. Perfected through trial and error. Or coffee cake works too. For the days when the wallet is feeling a little light, some black Nescafe Red Mug does the trick πŸ™‚ When it comes to trying new breakfasts? I have my limits. I’m all up for trying new combos of things I like and eating foods that aren’t typically ‘breakfast foods’ but if it’s something I don’t like, like pumpkin, then I’m skeptical.

  27. 31 Susan

    Gah I love coffee. I usually drink it black, but lately I’ve been adding vanilla almond milk and it rocks! I will never give it up and I do believe that just a cup (or two or three) is perfectly healthy. What would be unhealthy is if I killed someone because I hadn’t had my java!

    I like trying out new breakfasts but I’d say I go through phases. Right now its over 30 minute oats. Loves.

  28. 32 Karen

    Your blog is one of my favorites to read.. so I’m into this thing of you posting alot these days πŸ™‚

    I eat banana oats everyday!! I dont think I’ll ever get tired of them. The only thing I’m missing out on is the coffee part, I dont drink it at all.. I tried to like it but it just wasnt pleasant to drink no matter how hard I tried to change it up. It reminds me of how I see beer, I just dont like it & I wonder why so many people do. I’m more of a tea kind of girl.

  29. coffee, yes please. pancakes, yes please. breakfast, YES PLEASE.

    thank you for posting – it is a nice glimmer of hope in a day where i want to leave work and never come back.

    xoxo
    holly girl

  30. 34 dmcgirl37

    Eh, coffee tends to hurt my stomach a lot so I try to stay away. When I do have it, it’s always decaf. I try to limit my caffeine. Not very adventurous with food in general, Im a creature of habit!

    Dana ❀
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  31. I saw that on Jenna’s blog, too and I’ve been wanting to make it!

  32. 36 angel

    I prefer chai tea to coffee, and make chai lattes with So Delicious coconut milk creamer, French Vanilla flavorβ€”yum! I love trying out new breakfast recipes. I don’t know if you can call this adventurous, but it sure is dumb: I once accidentally broiled a pound cake. Ruined the pan and the cake both in one shot.

    • 37 snackface

      angel- I love that creamer! Tastes like ice cream! And broiled pound cake sounds delicious in theory. Now we just need to hone in on the method!

  33. 38 Jenna

    I should really try that pancake recipe! Looks great!

  34. I describe my perfect coffee as the colour of dark chocolate… plus its nice to imagine it as a cup of dark chocolate, liquified. I like the look of the oatmeal pancake, yum! I’ve recently been very adventurous in the breakfast department, and my creations range from great successes to epic fails, but its all in the name of “science”. Haha. Loving the frequent posting! I’d join in the “call for fashion” but I haven’t shown my face on the blog world so I’m not sure how I feel about sharing my ‘fits with the world quite yet πŸ™‚ But I think its a wonderful idea!

  35. 40 Hayley

    Please post this much all the time. I am loving it, and it gives me something to do while I wait for my own semi-boyfriend to call (how hard can it be? but we probably wouldn’t like them as much if they called all day errrrryday.)

  36. 41 Kerry

    I have my coffee quite milky & i cant have it black! love your constant postings! xx

  37. I like my coffee with cream+little sprinkle of coco… or cream+drizzle of honey πŸ™‚


  1. 1 Hayley: Better Together « Breath of Fire
  2. 2 Mango alert! « WannaBe Chef

Leave a Reply

