Swagger of a College Kid

18May10

What up, boos! This is so fun, stopping in for the afternoon!

Part of what keeps me from posting as often as I’d like is this whole “college kid” thing. I didn’t get the hang of it until the end of my junior year into my senior year. Now, as you can and are about to see, I’ve got that college-kid swagger down pat:

The ladies and I doin' our thang.

Loving on that lil' Banana (in her Michael Kors top).

True swagger means being able to bounce out of bed the next morning and fill your body with solid nourishment:

Chobani with banana and Kroger natural crunchy peanut butter.

While I ate that, I approved a comment saying I’d need to halve my portions if I wanted to be a model. Seeing that I want to be a magazine editor and not a model, I won’t be doing so. And even if I were to model, I’d want to do it at exactly the size I am now. Healthy is beautiful, and that comes in every shape and size, my loves.

I dashed off to Theatahhh for a viewing of Julie Taymor’s Oedipus Rex. Fascinating. I am in awe of her imagination.

Next, I galloped over to the gym for elliptical intervals, abs and push-ups. I do the girly version and I am not ashamed.

Surprisingly, I wasn’t ravenous by the time I got home and showered. I went with my protein cravings:

Hard-boiled egg with Frank's and pepper, tempeh with hummus, Fuji with Laughing Cow.

Oh, the beauty of a snack plate…how you are never lost on me.

True swagger, collegiate-style, also means being able to do it all over again the following night. I helped Muffin prep for an alumni party at her casa. More accurately, I lounged on her bed while she organized. It’s the moral support that counts, right?

Before anymore partying could ensue, Muffin, Banana and I went to a new Mexican restaurant for sustenance. I’ll take my sustenance fried and smothered in cheese, please:

Taco salad with refried beans.

This new restaurant just so happens to be next to a pet store. Never mind the pet-store scent that seeps into the lobby of the restaurant. Just pretend it’s not there, and instead, visit the pet store post-dinner like we did:

BABY!!!

We were thisclose to adopting this little baby:

I still want you.

Hearts slightly broken, we went back to our abodes, puppy-less. The night helped us forget any emptiness we felt for not taking that fur baby:

We'll be fur-baby mommies some day.

Looking gorge on the porch.

Takes my breath away.

Looking like a man in my plastic chair. Where's my Bud?

And that, dovelies, is how to have the swagger of a college kid. Just live your life (eh, eh, eh). No telling where it’ll take ya.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTIONS: For graduates, do you miss your college days? For recent graduates of high school, what are you looking forward to most about college? For the college graduating class of 2010, what do you think you’ll miss most about college?

58 Responses to “Swagger of a College Kid”

  1. 1 Little Bookworm

    Love the post title – and that puppy – so cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Obsessed with that black dress! Tres chic. Is this the innapropriately short one? If so, ‘atta girl ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve had a bizzare college experience thus far, which has not yet given me that swagger. Transferring = 2 freshman years. I do love living in New York though, even if NYU isn’t the typical college experience!!

    When I went clubbing a lot my first semester, a promoter told me I “could model if I were a few inches taller and didn’t carry my weight in my stomach.” Gee, thanks. A$$holes. You’re beautiful, girl!!

  3. 3 Christina

    Cute puppy!!! I just love the big ears.

    You look fab as always!!!

  4. 4 Clare

    I think the person who left that comment had something wrong with their eyes (as well as being inusufferably rude, tsk tsk), as you are a) super slim and model-esque b) you eat super healthily. Either that or they have horribly low self esteem and can only feel better about themselves by being unkind to others – which I find terribly sad.

    Thing I am looking forward to most about uni = Experiencing new things – new people, new city, new classes.

    P.S. Where did you purchase your black dress, if you don’t mind be asking?’ ‘Tis gorgeous

    • 5 snackface

      Clare- Glad you like the super short dress! It’s from none other than Forever21. I bought it two or three years ago! Haha!

  5. I loved university with all my heart but I don’t miss it per se, I think because I am really happy where I am now and don’t miss the emotional roller coaster of being me aged 19! I mean, I definitely miss the freedom and lack of real world responsibility and living with friends/going out constantly but life as a twenty-something, gainfully employed and doing what I want is pretty awesome too!

    Glad to see you living it up!! Andwhoeversaidthatthingaboutyoubeingamodelandneedingtoeatlessisonmyhitlistbecausethatisinsanelydouchey.

    Love you! xx

  6. I graduated in 2007 and I have to say that I do miss college life. I love my husband and I love being married but there’s just something about having a girl roommates. And not being tied to a desk all day too.

    Congrats to you on your graduation. When is the ceremony?

    • 8 snackface

      Katie- I still have a little while, but the ceremony is June 12!!

  7. The only thing I really miss about college is learning new things. Sure, you’re always learning, ideally every day, but there’s something different about cramming massive amounts of diverse information into your brain all at once. That, and I weirdly miss the satisfaction of being graded!

  8. It’s been less than a month and I miss it so much I’m going straight back for grad school =)

  9. 11 Jenny

    You are so freaking beautiful!!!

  10. Hmmmm….college days I miss a bit-only b/c of the social aspect though.
    The stress associated w/ working,studying,and keeping good grades—-not so much.

  11. 14 Yana

    half the portions-SERIOUSLY??? Somebody with HALF a brain must have said that – you are beautiful, fabulous and inspiring and very much loved!

  12. 15 lindsey

    I miss college!! I don’t think I fully lived it up but being a commuter student, it’s pretty difficult to do that. Plus my life at home was already crazy with a boyfriend, fam and job.

    I think once I find a job I’m crazy about, I’ll be in less of a funk over missing it.

    what’s with the snarky comments on blogs these days? you and Jenna at ELR, and surely more who may or may not be mentioning them.

    • 16 snackface

      lindsey- I just caught up on the ELR shiz last night. How crazy! I don’t know, someone peed in their Wheaties.

  13. um when I think about my college days I want to cry I miss it so badly. I need to keep college thoughts at the back of my mind b/c it was seriously the most fun ever! And I’m not unhappy with my life now, just…college…omg…please keep living it up and savoring every single minute! you WILL miss it more than you know!!!

  14. “While I ate that, I approved a comment saying Iโ€™d need to halve my portions if I wanted to be a model. Seeing that I want to be a magazine editor and not a model, I wonโ€™t be doing so. And even if I were to model, Iโ€™d want to do it at exactly the size I am now. Healthy is beautiful, and that comes in every shape and size, my loves.”

    PERFECT. i loved that.. thank you

  15. 19 lo

    do i miss my college days? well, i have actually gotten more wild since graduating! my senior year was WILD and now my graduate style of going out, is almost more wild than my college days….However, when i have to become a real adult, i will be sooo sad if 6pm happy hours replace leaving bars at 5AM and getting breakfasts when the sun is rising…

    love ur love for mexi food….i too want mine fried and smothered in cheese.

    xoxo

    lolo

  16. 20 emilee

    PFFFFT!!!!!!! is what i say to the person who wrote you that comment. as someone who has had a class with you/seen you in real life, you already are a model. you look super healthy – and, as someone who is told i am too thin by some, and have too much stomach fat by others (i am a size 2-4), i appreciate the fact that if i think i am good looking, I AM.
    but, why do we focus on what people look like so much? it bothers me. what i really have to say about you is that you are very SMART, and would definitely make an awesome editor ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. I would totally have come super close to adopting that puppy too!

  18. 22 Jenna

    Awww the pup is so cuteee ๐Ÿ˜‰

  19. you HAVE to go back and get that baby!

  20. 24 alyssa

    i’m graduating saturday and will miss having the roomies constantly there. as much as i like to be alone, there is something to be said about having a constant support system that will accept anything you tell them. oh, and the freedom. im am going to miss that..FOR SURE!

  21. 25 Sarah

    This is the first time I have ever commented, although I have been an avid reading for quite some time ๐Ÿ™‚ I just wanted to say that you are such a gorgeous person on the inside and out. I LOVE reading your blog… your hilarious, stylish, and seem like such a bright, upbeat person. Anywho, enough gushing haha, I just graduated this month and although I am super stoked to be “grown-up” and entering the “real world” I will miss my good ol’ college days. Freshman and sophomore year I was completely focussed on class and getting good grades and I NEVER partied. (I was also super scared to gain any weight and liquor scared me just a tad). So since I wasn’t very social I didn’t make many friends and I just went home basically every weekend. Which was fine but I realize now I missed out on a lot. Luckily, junior year I realized that it’s okay to let loose (drink a bit) and party it up. I made great friends, made tons of memories, and also became a lot more comfortable with me and being in my own skin. So I will miss being able to party Thursday-Saturday with all my pals. And, I actually really enjoy classes and learning and even writing papers so part of me will miss that as well ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh and I’ll also miss getting dressed for class because some of my favorite outfits don’t really seem work-appropriate but you can basically wear anything you want to class – which for me is usually waaaaay dressier then everyone else. But hey, a girl can work it if she wants!

    Congrats on graduating by the way!! Doesn’t it feel awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 26 snackface

      Sarah- Oh I was so the same way! I didn’t live it up until later! Thank you so much for reading and commenting, dahhling!

    • 27 snackface

      Sarah- I haven’t graduated quite yet, but I can’t believe it’s about to happen!

  22. Halve your portions? Whaaa? You look DAMN good girl, and even if you did want to be a model, you would make it fo sho at the rockin’ shape you are now!

    I do NOT miss college… but I still haven’t finished my degree yet! So I guess I have to go back… I’m just not the crazy partying type, so I didn’t really love being a college student. I love living on my own!!

    xo
    K

  23. 29 Ilana

    I miss my college days like woah but I like who I am now a lot better than I did back then. It was fun and all – it just felt a little not like myself.

    Can you PLEASE go back and adopt that puppy so I can live vicariously through you??!!

  24. 30 Katherine: What About Summer?

    you definitely have the swagger down!!!
    I wish I did. but I have one more year of college to get there…
    Katherine

  25. 31 Katie

    Oh my word, I want that puppy so badly! I’m really impressed with your self-restraint. Once I see a cute animal, it’s pretty hopeless. That’s why I have 3 pets…the fur is currently taking over my life.

    Also, I never ever miss college. I may miss sleeping in, but I still get to do that on the weekends. ๐Ÿ™‚ The college lifestyle was never my ‘cup of tea’ …haha, spoken like an old soul.

  26. I just graduated in December, and I go back and forth from missing my college days to thinking, “been there, done that.” I definitely had some of the best times of my life, but I kind of got it all out of my system, you know? And I DEFINITELY don’t miss writing papers (senior thesis just about nearly killed me). I DO wish that I prepared more for the “real world” while I was in college because now, here I am, working for my dad’s company knowing that I can do so much more. I know that I still have time, but this lull-period isn’t exactly my cup of tea. But you shouldn’t have that problem because I can tell you’re a girl on a mission! ๐Ÿ˜€

  27. 33 dee

    yummy eats! I wish I could put make up on as nicely as you ladies. I guess it just takes practice, which I have noooone of. I am in desperate need of a make over haha

    • 34 snackface

      dee- Aww! You are so sweet! And the only reason I’m semi-decent at makeup is years of dance and cheer! It started very young!

  28. 35 Caroline

    Your attitude is the best (I’m a devoted reader)! but are you serious with your twittering on proactiv? because your skin is gorgeous!

    • 36 snackface

      Caroline- Thank you! Unfortunately, yes, I am totally serious about Proactiv! I’ve had some breakouts on my chin that are uncharacteristic of my skin, so I’m going back on the Proactiv. I used it for almost eight years, then was happy with the skin care system I shared, but these breakouts I’m having are not working. Thank goodness for serious makeup that’s covered it up thus far!

  29. 37 Katie

    Girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Im loving the pics of you and your beauty girls!!!!!!!!!!!

    I never went to college so Im living through you girl!!!!!!!!! lol!!!

    Love that you live it up and have fun!!!!!
    I LOVE the pink skirt!!!! So hot!!!

    And that puppy, oh my gosh adorable, I would of wanted to adopt it so bad too!!!!!!

    Have a great night beautiful girl!!!!!!!!!!!

  30. That puppy is seriously adorbs.

    and you don’t need to halve *anything* about your food, bod, etc…I love your attitude about modeling and I think you are gorg inside and out.

    I seriously miss college. I graduated in Dec and I feel like my life has lost the luster since grad…I miss being an undergrad. I miss having the excuse of being in college for not working full time or being responsible and drinking a lot. I miss the fun long nights with friends and the memories and shenanigans…I keep wondering what will replace that? I feel empty.

    Hopefully grad school or an awesome job in writing/editing will fill that void soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. I want to adopt that puppy too!!

    I actually don’t miss college at all. My senior year, I was desvestated to be graduating. I thought the real world could never compare to college life. But really, I think it does! There’s just less partying and drinking involved. ๐Ÿ™‚

  32. Loving that pink skirt!! I have a hot pink one that looks just like it.

    The girl who made that comment is deranged. You look bangin and don’t need to change a thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  33. KAILEY, I MISS MISS MISS COLLEGE LIKE NONE OTHER! I’ve only been home 24 hours and I swear that I am freaking out :(. It’s not that I’m not ready for/excited for the future but I don’t want to lose the incredible past. I already miss being surrounded by my best friends all the time, having the balance of little responsibility with mucho freedom, sitting in on the classes with the professors that invigorate my academic passions, and every other thing about senior year. Enjoy it while you still can, mama, because before you know it you’ll be accepting your diploma! I don’t understand why everyone says congratulations at the end… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  34. 42 dmcgirl37

    Whoa, I cannot believe someone wrote you a comment about what you eat. First of all, I personally think your incredibly thin and could model the way you are. You look PERFECT to me. pshh, some people are just nut balls!

    College? Well im in college right now but dont really live the typical college life. I’m looking forward to graduating so I can get on with my career!

    Hope your having a good tuesday โค

    Dana
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  35. 43 Rika

    oh my gah, can’t believe the commenter ๐Ÿ˜ฎ you’re the epitome of health and beauty!

  36. love that dress you have on in the chair!!

    first of all you must go back and get that puppy! he/she needs a home with you!!!

    do I miss college?! I miss parts of college, but not the whole experiece…I learned a whole lot and had some amazing, memorable times, but when I graduated I was definately ready to move on!!

  37. most looking forward for college in the fall
    -meeting new people from all types of background
    -learning more about nutrition
    -the foods. haha not going to lie – its great! (they have veggie nuggets!!!)
    -parties!
    -warmer weather :]

  38. 46 Susan

    Okay the fact that you ate a lunch of tempeh, hummus, egg, and apple makes you my favorite person for the day.

    Do you think TI went to college? I’m gonna wikipedia that asap.

    • 47 snackface

      Susan- I recorded his Behind the Music over the weekend, but failed to watch it. I’m thinking no…

  39. 48 Amy

    Oh dolll I see those lavender nails and I’m in love. And those puppies–too cute. Keep that swagger strong. As for college, PEACE OUT! So glad to be done with that bullsh!t (I didn’t exactly have the best experience, can you tell?)…I value the education I received, my degree, and the best friend I made, but that’s about it.

    โค

  40. 49 Michelle

    Aw your friends are so gorgeous. I love how you go out and have a good time, but still fill your body with nourishment. Many college kids need to learn the 2nd part of how you live.

  41. no comment about the lowball portion comment… makes me ill.
    still haven’t finished my last year at Skidmore, but like many commenters, i didnt take full adventage of the fun that could have been had were i to embrace my youth, friends, men, food, life… instead i literally locked myself in my dorm room withonly the company and conversation withmy own selfcritcal voice and maybe some homework. With your inspiration, im hoping to make up for all of the fun i didnt have, when i finally get around to my senior year.
    ps: happy half bday!
    MA

  42. 51 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i would love to hunt down the person who made that comment on yoyur post- if you were to cut your portions in ahlf, you’d literally be starving.. that is so freakin dumb. you look like you have been having the time of your life and i am SO happy for you!!! you are amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

  43. sadly i hated college…it was a very sad and depressing time for me, but life after that? so much better than i could have ever asked for!

  44. Cutest puppy ever! I sure wish I had as much fun in college as you are. My whole experience was pretty boring.
    I cannot believe someone left you that comment about needing to eat less to be a model. You already have a beautiful figure and to suggest anything otherwise is absolutely absurd. This is exactly why women everywhere have low body image and self esteem. Geez, it makes me mad!

  45. 54 Di

    I graduated from college 6 years ago and I miss it SO MUCH. Every year around this time, or anytime after I see my group of friends from college, I wish we’d never left.

  46. Graduated in 2008, and MISS IT LIKE CRAZY! I would give anything to go back – live it up while you still can, girl!

    Oh, and say whaaaa about that halving your portions comment!!! Are you effing kidding me? Who writes something like that? Not to mention you have a freakin model figure already!

    Insecure people, I tell ya…

  47. 56 Jane

    First off, you don’t need to lose on stinking ounce. Your body is perfect. If I could choose a body for myself out of a catalog I would want one just like yours. Unfortunately I hate excise. Eh, its a trade off. Seems to me that person was probably just jealous and bitter. Good for you for having a healthy body image. Second, if you do adopt a puppy may I suggest getting one from the human society instead of a pet store. You’ll save a life, and you won’t be promoting breeders. I just have a problem with people breeding animals when there is already such an over population.

    • 57 snackface

      Jane- GAH You are so darn sweet! Thank you so much. And when I do adopt a puppy, she will most certainly be from the humane society. No puppy mill hootenanies for me.

  48. 58 kirsten

    I graduated in 07 and I miss college SOO much. The only good thing about being out is that everyone has a little more money than we used to so we can go on vacations now ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

