Beauty, Fashion, Food

10May10

What up, Snack Pack! Photographs from my lovely weekend are already organized in a manner that reminds me of departments of a magazine: Beauty, Fashion and Food. So let’s indulge my SnackFace Magazine fantasies and pretend this post is like pages of a periodical. Hello, alliteration!

SnackFace: How To Get the Night Look

There is a distinct difference between what looks good at night versus during the day. Actually, it’s about what you can get away within the dimly lit hours versus the harsh sunlight. Why not vamp it up when you can?

Gold, light brown and black shadows created this look.

Oh mascara, how I love thee.

How To:

-Dust MAC eye shadow in Goldmine Frost on eyelid and in corner of eye.

-Use a small, round brush dipped into a dark brown shadow (I used the second to darkest shade in the L’Oreal Studio Secrets Professional Eyeshadow Quads Earthscape palette). Starting from the outer corner of eye’s crease, draw the brush to the inner corner, following the lid’s arch and your brow bone. Swipe back and forth. Feel free to use your fingers to blend– I find that works best when things get out of whack.

-Using a flat angle brush, dip into black eyeshadow. Use this as a liner from the outer, top lashline to above your pupil. Gently line bottom lashline, too. The angled brush + shadow combo creates a less-harsh line that lasts longer.

-Coat lashes with your fave mascara. I used Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express in Glam Brown.

Results:

Yes, if I had my own mag, we would definitely use photos like this.

FashionFace: Cheetah Girls

As stated before, a night out means you can vamp it up. As long as your wobbly bits are properly covered, you’re set. I may have risked it with this look:

Your spots are showing.

I’d like to blame my watching The Real Housewives of New Jersey while getting ready for Friday night for this look. But really, I just like a little animal print in my life:

Gold accessories, Essie California Coral nails and Forever21 dress.

Snack Your Face Off: Ultimate SnackFacing

Over a long, leisurely weekend, meal times get thrown off, some are forgotten and some are over-the-top. The only thing you need to make sure of when it comes to weekend–hell, anytime– food is this: That on a scale of 1 to 10 of deliciousness, it is off the charts.

When a gentleman offers to buy you Chipotle, let the cheese and sour cream slide. You probably wanted it anyway.

Apple pie for breakfast? Absolutely.

Whole bag of greens topped with sprouts, pepperjack cheese and Italian dressing.

Chipotle salsa from the farmers' market. Eaten with many tortilla chips. Man-hand background is a plus.

Someone cooked for me. I was in awe.

The most luscious, delicious portobellos I've ever had.

ReciPlease: Back on Track

Chips, pie and brews (and enchiladas and burritos and margs and…) are fun, but sometimes it feels incredible to get back to “normal” eats. (What is “normal,” anyway?) Here’s how I get to feeling more balanced come Sunday morning:

Yoatgurt and black coffee.

In the bowl: one container Chobani vanilla Greek yogurt mixed with 1/3 C oats. Oats were made stovetop with 1 C water, 1 packet PureVia, cinnamon and a pinch of chia seeds. A crunchy peanut butter drizz is essential:

Stirred together, this tastes like peanut butter blondies. Not that I've ever had peanut butter blondies, but I imagine that's what they taste like.

More often than not, I have no idea what I really want to eat. That’s when I call on snack plates:

Bell pepper, cucumber slices and Morningstar Chick'n patty topped with light mayo and mustard.

Maybe I was reading Gliding Calm before I made that plate. Maybe.

Following snack plates with snacks is entirely acceptable, if not expected:

Kettle corn and Glee. Perfection.

CiaoChow: Midnight Snack(s)

No matter what you’ve eaten in a day, be sure to end it with a fabulous midnight (or bedtime or 10pm) snack(s). You should know I’m working on my third mug of Honey Bunches of Oats. Definitely feeling 100 percent SnackFacey.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTIONS: Are your weekend eats different from your weekday eats? AND Is leopard a Do or a Don’t? AND Has a man (or boy—they’re all boys) ever cooked for you? If so, what?

76 Responses to “Beauty, Fashion, Food”

  1. 1 Sana

    The boy who is a friend makes me eggs, tofu, mac&chess and other yummies because he loves me and knows that I will burn his apartment down if I try and boil water :)!

  2. lovin the eye shadow! my weekend eats > weekday eats. they’re always way fried, but way tasty πŸ˜‰ this guy I was seeing cooked pasta with chicken, cream sauce, and about 3 sticks of butter. Paula Dean would be proud.. my tum tum, not so much lol

  3. 3 Liza

    I’ve been dying to try Portobellos for the longest time! Weekend eats > Weekday eats. Usually because I get to eat at my favorite restaurant of all time, Cyma. It’s a Greek/Mediterranena place. πŸ˜‰

    I love the make-up!

  4. 4 Jenny

    UGH, how good was the last scene of Glee?!?!? You’re right, they are all boys – but I’ve been cooked for – and well! I usually eat the same but today (Mother’s Day) was a bit different as we had ginormous cake slices… Finally, I’d say leopard is a do in small amounts at the right time, as you fabulously displayed!

  5. 5 Amy D

    The suspense & your nonchalant hint-dropage are killing me! Who is this mystery man & when will the blogosphere meet him?

    • 6 snackface

      Amy D- Well, there was a pic of the two of us in the post before this one. But I’m not sure how much detail I can go into! Ahh!!!

  6. 7 Jin

    As much as I like weekends, I secretly ‘fear’ for them because my eats go out the window! haha jk.
    But they do become sizeably larger. much larger.

    • 8 snackface

      Jin- I feel you on that! And then, come weekdays, it can be hard to scale back!

  7. 9 kbwood

    i LOVE KETTLE POPCORN!! esp with PB! i have like a yogurt, PB, popcorn, and pro shake every night before bed!
    UMM hello could you be ANY more flawless? perfect skin, face, body, personality.. etc etc! LOVE THAT DRESS! I LOVE ANIMAL PRINTS!
    ummm who cooked for you missy? you need to fill me in on your life..like..now!
    LOVE YOU

    • 10 snackface

      kbwood- I love you so much. But we all know there is no such this as perfect anything—you are way too kind, my love! Although, I would say my music taste is pretty impeccable… Kidding πŸ˜€

  8. 11 Gretchen

    I think this is my first time commenting on your blog, even though I love it and you’re kind of amazing. Can I just say that this sentence made me laugh so much and is SO TRUE- and definitely not just for the weekends: “The only thing you need to make sure of when it comes to weekend–hell, anytime– food is this: That on a scale of 1 to 10 of deliciousness, it is off the charts.”

    But I eat pretty much the same on the weekends as I do during the week because I’m old (by which I mean 24) and work all the time.

    And one time when I lived in France a really cute French boy cooked me a dinner consisting of an “omelette” (which really just means scrambled eggs), spinach, and potatoes. And wine. I felt so wooed.

    • 12 snackface

      Gretchen- Thanks bunches for reading and commenting!! If a French boy cooked for me, I’d be done for. That would be it. Good luck to any guy after that.

  9. Oooh those portabellas look delish! May have to add that to the grocery list this week. How sweet of Mr. Mystery man to cook for you. My hubby made one of those (bagged, frozen) skillet meals for me once before we were married. But that’s it. Ooh and some random grilling thrown in there too, he’s good at that. Cooking isn’t his strong suit though so I handle all of that in our house. Don’t worry, he’s good at plenty of other things πŸ˜‰

    I don’t think I could pull off cheetah but you look fab in it! I do love zebra though although I’m afraid I’m getting too old for it. 😦 (Is almost 25 too old? I always feel like its a high school-age thing.)

    • 14 snackface

      Katie- Oh hush! You are a BABY! You are only two years older than I am, and that is NOTHING! Wear animal print! DO IT. Ok, that was a bit demanding. Sorry πŸ™‚

  10. 15 Jenna

    Kailey your skin is gorgeous!!!!

  11. 16 Michelle

    I had a friend cook for me. He made some burritos that we ate while we watched football. It was seriously a great day πŸ™‚

  12. 17 elise

    i would buy your mag ONLY if photos like that were included. they are the best. obvs. kyle cooks for me on random surprise days. he also cooks himself food and wants me to teach him things in the kitch all the time. and he def knows his way around a grill. holler. i have no weekends/weekdays. my job is so sporadic. but for the most part i eat cleaner on days i work because i have to eat my prepared/pre-packed lunches. but then i also have wayyyy bigger desserts on work days because i feel i “deserve it” – so i guess its a wash…

  13. my weekend eats are definitely better than my weekday eats! i just have more time over the weekend (when i’m not rushing in between classes!) to prepare my food… i can get a lot more creative!! Leopard is a DO!!! love it… love leopard shoes! i have a faux fur coat that is faux fur on the outside and leopard print on the inside… so warm during the winter!

  14. I love your last quote on this post. let the snacking begin!!!

    my weekend eats are basically the same as my weekday…cause i’m usually working all the time anyhow! no difference between my days!

    and leopard prints are a no no for me. i just can’t do animal furs.

    btw, i’m in a wedding on the 23rd, the makeup theme is gold w/ wine colored lipstick. suggestions of what makeup to buy for this (since i currently own ZERO of any of these products…i’m a loser like that; i don’t wear makeup!)

    • 20 snackface

      Melissa- I’d definitely never wear animal furs, but I don’t mind a cheapo print! Hmmm let me think about your makeup Q! You have a totally different skin tone than I do, but I think I can help!

  15. 21 Ilana

    that is the exact same nail polish i have on my toes rightt now. love essie. on the weekend, i tend to be a little lazier with what i eat, snacking throughout the day on saturday instead of eating three meals with in between snacks, and on sunday i have a 10am pilates class which throws off my wholeee eating schedule so i usually eat two larger meals and snacks on sunday instead of three medium meals and snacks.
    animal prints are good…sometimes. i especially like them in small doses on my underwear, but every now and then you want to wear something like a whole leopard dress or a dress covered in sequins, and you totes should just go for it. everyone else will be jealous you had the balls to.
    thus far i happen to do all the cooking for my manfriend, but my gay best friend has proclaimed the title of my wife. in the past two weeks i’ve come home from babysitting to find pastries (he made me vegan cupcakes when i was having a fight with my boyfriend to cheer me up) and another time to dinner already on the table. love. it. giving him the key to my house was a really smart choice.

    • 22 snackface

      Ilana- So sorry for the boyfriend troubles, boo! Why are guys so exhausting? However, I want a gay best friend so badly.

  16. Chocolate ice cream was on the menu for me today with the latest episode of Glee! I say the leapord dress is definitely a DO at night time. What other time or place can you be that FIERCE?! I don’t see that dress going over so well while sitting in class! πŸ˜‰

  17. 24 Alice

    My weekday/weekend eats are absolute polar opposites. Well, the meals are pretty much the same, but the snacks – my LORD, the snacks. I am a chocolate monster on the weekends. In theory, this sort of schedule (healthy during the week, let loose on weekends) is good to an extent – but yeah, it can be easy to OD on chocolate come Friday evening. Whatevs!

  18. My hubs cooks quite often for me, thankfully! I love your eye makeup tutorial – the gold and black look is one of my favourite night time looks. I love animal print on others but it doesn’t suit me!

  19. I don’t really have weekends like most people being we work at home and set our own hours, so my weekends might be Monday and Wednesday sometimes, lol. My husband has made me microwaved hot dogs before. He’s on kitchen probation after a cheese incident 5+ years ago, though. lol

    Jenn

  20. 27 Lola

    Rawwwr! you look hot in that dress girl πŸ˜€
    I’d definetely buy the SnackFace magazine, yeah! πŸ˜€

  21. A peanut butter blondie-tasting breakfast?! I’m sold.

  22. I love leopard. I will wear it forever. No matter what.

  23. Love the eyes! You look stunning! πŸ™‚

  24. 31 Magdelene

    i’ve probably said this before but : YOUR MAKEUP SKILLS ARE AMAZINGGG.
    lucky girl, having someone cook lunch for you!

    Leopard prints? Totally BOOMZ. that means great πŸ™‚ You have the confidence and style to pull it off too!

  25. ahhh you are SO beautiful! i wish i could do my makeup like that :] and your eats look fantastic! especially those portobello rooms ❀ they look absolutely amazinnggg

    • 33 snackface

      beccaandspice- YOU are so beautiful and you can totally do your makeup like that, too! It’s taken me hours of practice for it to be relatively effortless.

  26. My weekend eats are never like my weekday. I always wake up on Monday thinking, “okay, back to veggies, back to sanity.” Today was no diff.
    Leopard is a do — just not in the Long Island geriatric bridge group kind of way.
    And a boy cooks for me regularly — but I’m married, so he has no other choice. Happy wife, happy life. πŸ™‚

  27. Love that nighttime look! You are rockin’ it- and with that dress? Ow ow! πŸ˜‰

    I eat a lot worse on the weekends- I make Saturday my “free” day and chow down on whatever I please, within moderation, and Sundays I am a bit healthier but I’m still not my usual M-F heath freak!

    Leapord is a DO. All the way.

    And my boy cooks for me every so often- I love it!

    xo
    K

  28. Thanks for the makeup how to. You makeup always looks flawless and I need all of the help I can get!

    • 37 snackface

      Jessie- Thank you so much, honey! I hope the mini-tutorials help a bit!

  29. holy yummm those ‘bellos look SO good!! πŸ™‚ just about as good as your eye lashes– i thought you had fake eyelashes on for a second they are that fierce!

    glad you had a good weekend! πŸ™‚

  30. I love that dress. You look amazing!

  31. 40 Faith

    Love the leopard dress. If not now, for a crazy night out, when? πŸ˜‰

    I’m usually the one cooking for the boys, unfortunately, although my puppy love that I was convinced I was going to marry back in ninth grade wanted to be a cook and gave Emeril a run for his money.

  32. 41 Jamie in Arkansas

    I’m dying to know what foundation and powder you use!! Your skin is FLAAAAW-LESS girlie!!! πŸ™‚

    • 42 snackface

      Jamie- Thank you! I use MAC foundation under my eyes, around my nose and on blemishes, and then I use Physician’s Formula pressed mineral powder (forgetting the shades of both of these) on my T-zone. I highly recommend these products!

  33. This magazine needs to be made real.

    1. Every so often. Gotta balance.
    2. Leopard is wonderful. I DO feel you kind of need to be a blonde bombshell like yourself to properly do it up; but anyone with enough confidence and schooling in accessories can turn it out.
    3. Yes. It was very good. Cooking will never really be something I mind because I unwind with it, but it’s always cute to see them in the kitchen. Boys are so proud of their chef abilities.

    Also, I will never have the grill gene that seems to lie exclusively on the Y chromosome, so there are some things that will inevitably fall onto the man’s side of division of labor.

  34. Mmm yes – my weekend eats have a tendency to be quite different than my weekday eats. Loveee that dress, girl! and Chipotle.

  35. 45 jqlee

    whoever made those portebellas…good work!!

    your eye makeup is awesome!

  36. I think you rock the leopard look—you still make it look classy, and I love the gold on your eyelashes! It’s perfect!

  37. 47 emmerlees

    Hmmm…Usually I have more sweets and eat out on the weekends.
    Leopard print is a no for me – you pull it off way better than I can!
    Me and my ex used to cook a lot. We made pasta dishes, stuffed zuchini, and went on a lot of picnics (cheese, crackers, fruit, veggies, etc. πŸ™‚

  38. Dang girl, sounds like you had a fabulous weekend! And you are freaking gorgeous!
    How sweet that your man cooked for you!! πŸ™‚ My ex cooked for me a couple times.. if you can consider heating things up “cooking” haha

    • 49 snackface

      theprocessofhealing- You are so kind–thank you! And I consider “heating up” almost cooking. Although, I consider my chopping veggies and calling it a “salad” to be cooking…

  39. 50 Amanda

    HA my boyfriend in college once made me a huuuge bowl of spaghetti, served with a slice of buttered, untoasted white bread and a HUGE plastic cup of milk. We ate it sitting side-by-side on their ratty couch, and then he served brownies for dessert. Hilarious, but heartfelt!

    • that image literally brings tears to my eyes. I hope you marry that gem and tell that story at your wedding. Did he bring out dixie plates and ‘kins too?

    • 52 snackface

      Amanda- That is the cutest thing ever. I think the slice of buttered, untoasted bread really won me over. Oh wait. Nope. The brownies did it.

  40. 1-weekend eats VERY closely resemble weekday eats. Creature of habit ya know πŸ˜‰
    2-leopard prints are oh-kay……I guess it depends on how subtle/bold it is and how much attention you want for your clothes.
    3-hubby cooks for me whenever he has the chance. He’s a good one like that πŸ˜€

  41. My weekend eats are definitely different mainly because I have free reign to hit up restaurants at the weekend, and that rarely happens during the week. Case in point: this weekend I ate thai take out, cupcakes from the bakery, brunch at the pub and dinner at a fancy restaurant. During the week I think I had some lentils and sandwiches and things.

    And leopard print? Oh HELL yeah. I have leopard print leggings. I wear them to the office.

    • 55 snackface

      Angharad- You are so bossy for wearing those leopard leggings to the office. Love that!

  42. Im so waiting for a nasty comment about the ethics of your dress pattern choice… blog drama entertainment-where you att?? Anywho… that dime is a must-pack for San Fran shenanigans regardless. If I looked like you, I’d threaten to wear that piece 24/7, into the shower and to church like I threatened my mom with my teenage mutant ninja turtle footie pjs when i was little. In fact, maybe I should bust those out in SF while you rock the print…. AT BAY BREAKERS. God, im genius. Anywho… I think you have to find yourself a legit pb blondie if youre really aiming to make May your month. You cant truly have lived until youve eaten one, warm, a la mode-probs my fave dessert/food EVVVVERRR. Just sayin.
    Never had a boy-that-is-a-friend, but if the opportunity presented itself, I might just fall to my knees and propose.
    Keep workin May, K… but be prepared to make June, July and August to be FRAN friggin tasticilicious too. Don’t mind the need for me to add -licious to any/all adjectives, im trying to cut back on the usage.
    MA
    lilpauladean.wordpress.com

  43. I’m obsessed with your new man friend. Anyone who brings you Chipotle and cooks you veggies is a keeper πŸ™‚ My man has grilled for me, and has enlisted his mom’s help in making me some pretty delicious vegan baked goods, which I love him for.

    Leopard is awesome if the situation is right. Getting your drank on? Perfection. Everyday school/work activities? Not so much. Some people definitely lack the moxie to pull it off, but you look fabulous, my dear!

    Weekend eats are different when I go out, but if I’m making my meals, it’s the same. I figure the healthier I eat at home, the more room I have for champagne and pizza later πŸ™‚

  44. 58 Jayne

    Ever since I slipped my feet into a pair of leopard print shoes for a photo shoot in 1980,. . .Omg,. This print has been a part of my wardrobe. Sweaters, jackets, jeans, handbags, boots, shoes, leggings, skirts and scarves I have had it all. At my age now, it would be hard to put that print on my bottom half. I was watching Oprah last week and one of her fashion stylists called leopard print a neutral… Just as long as no animal died to make the garnment, what is wrong with admiring this animals beautiful pattern?

    • 59 snackface

      Mama- I totally get my affinity for the print from you πŸ™‚ You know I’d never wear real fur anyway! LOVE YOU MISS YOU!!!

  45. 60 Morgan McStravick

    Gah! You are my favorite blogger Kailey! Way to look fierce in the leopard print! =)

  46. My weekend and weekday eats are the same…unless I drink that weekend. Then I eat GOD KNOWS WHAT.

    Leopard is a DO.

    An ex-boyfriend cooked for me once – an AMAZING cook, a so-not-amazing boyfriend. Is this man friend of yours a vegetarian, too?!

    • 63 snackface

      Cassie- Blech to the not-so-amazing boyfriend. My man friend was actually raised vegetarian, but is no longer strictly veg. However, he knows how to make a mean veg meal!

  47. the weekends are one big piece of lemme eat what i want! i never wake up early enough/am home enough for regular meals, so it’s a lot of snacking, but i definitely always eat dinner.

    i love the weekends. i want to marry them. and dogs.

  48. 65 lo

    1. i have a dress just like that.
    2. i have eaten dessert for breakie on numerous occasions.
    3. did “boy” make you both chipotle AND mushrooms? if so, wow.
    4. i miss our talks and i want you to come to chicago, when holly does.
    5. i too ate a ton of chips and salsa this weekend…
    6. what foundation do you use, if any? i need some ASAP.

    xoxo as always

    lo

    • 66 snackface

      Lolove- I use MAC concealer and Physician’s Formula pressed mineral powder to mute shininess!

  49. Gah! I looooved this post. Let’s see if we can keep this comment sweet & simple rather than obnoxious and wordy πŸ™‚

    So the cheetah dress….hmmm YOU definitely pull it off, but i’m not sure if everyone else could rock it the same! You make it hot & classy, but others may just look like someone off the JOIZEY SHORE, ya know?!

    Your eye makeup is divine–wish you could just be my make-up artist already!
    And umm how amazing are your weekend eats?! Mine were also off the charts: chips + salsa, margs, rice, beans one night and ethiopian the next! Getting back into the routine of comforting oatmeal and yummy snack plates is always fun though, too.

    Proud of you for sporting the pepperjack! It’s my fave kind of cheeeeeeese!
    And proud of you for getting a man to cook up some amazing portabellos! Drool.

    Well, I guess this was just anotha wordy comment! whoops πŸ™‚ Love you!!

  50. Leopard = hottness. Did you even have to ask?! I did semi-grow-up in Jersey, though, so maybe I’m not the person to ask…

    I’ve had a manboy cook for me before…many times, actually (same manboy). He was a good cook, but none of that matters anymore because we are no longer special friends!

    • 69 snackface

      Gracie- Oh. My. Gaga. Can I steal this phrase, Manboy? This is genius. How have I not heard/thought of this before? Brillz!

  51. 70 maren

    my weekday/end eats probably vary a bit, but i feel like it’s always different and levels out in the end..
    my bf went to culinary school and is a chef at a great restaurant. so he cooks delicious food for me all the time! im a lucky girl πŸ™‚ i still consider myself the baker of house tho

    • 71 snackface

      maren- Ahh! I’m sups jealous! Chef boyfriend? I’m not sure it gets any better.

  52. 72 healthnuttxo

    apple pie for breakfast? absolutely yes- i had STRAWBERRY pie for breakfast this morning! (with strawberry chobs + a big scoop of peanut butter. yum)

    i do change it up weekends/weekdays. weekdays, im always having greek yogurt with something else for breakfast, but for weekends its always lighter as i work out after breakfast. i do tend to eat more sweets on the weekends (what, I’m HOME, they just STARE at me!!) and WAY WAY WAY more bites, licks and nibbles on weekdays.
    whateves- at least my house is stocked with healthy eats πŸ™‚
    xoxoLisa

  53. 73 Kristina

    Leopard print is most definitely a do! Plus you pull it off really nicely :]
    Love the gold eye look!

  54. 74 dmcgirl37

    Leopard, eh I think its a do and a dont. Depends really. you rocked it though so no worries πŸ™‚

    Does the man cook for me? Not really but im sure he would if I want him too πŸ™‚ One day..

    I eat the same on weekend and week day! I need to find some dang new foods to eat. My eats have been SO boring lately…..What the snackface solution!?!

    ❀ Dana
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  55. LEOPARD IS A DO! Forevsssssss…half my closet sports the print, there’s nothing sexier than a little animalista chic for those weekend nights πŸ™‚
    And yes I definitely eat differently on weekends- brunch is in, 2 or 3am french fry/junk food satisfaction is in, delicious cocktails and other beverages are in and classy ass out dinners are in…weekdays are…very uniform :).
    Cheese, sour cream, and dressing make ‘errythang better.
    Lots of love

  56. i always eat different on the weekends! and you are one fierce, sassy woman.


Leave a Reply

