#nowplaying

20Apr10

Buongiorno, beautiful people! Often times, if I could, I would Tweet each song I listen to in a day. Sometimes, they are just so poignant. Or ironic. Or flat-out hysterical.

For instance, this morning, as I scarfed down breakfast and read comments further inquiring what’s up with the male mentions, a song summing up my fears played on Vh1. #nowplaying Taio Cruz- Break Your Heart

To counteract that thought, I reassured myself that (#nowplaying)Β you ain’t gon tie me down. Much better. I could then focus on the eats:

Yoats, yo.

In the container: remainder of Greek yogurt, 1/4 C oats made with cinnamon and PureVia, topped with crunchy peanut butter. Wondrous:

Messy perfection.

Then, to fully reassure myself that I have control (control freak? As if you didn’t already know), I needed to sing Rihanna’s Rude Boy. (#nowplaying as I type this.)

I skipped to Theatre 272 knowing I was running a bit late. Two minutes past start time, I ran into the auditorium to find that we were having a pop quiz. Not to fret, it was about a play I read a year or two ago. Dominated.

Musicless, I walked to my favorite book store to pick up magazines. While I have a hard time spending $10 on, say, shampoo and conditioner, I have no qualms spending it on magazines. New York and Bon AppΓ©tit are more than worth it.

As I glided into the gym, the slinky rhythm of (#nowplaying) Don’t Cha infiltrated the sweat-soaked interiors. Of the gym. Not my mind.

I worked it out on the elliptical for 50 minutes. Afterward, I did 100 weighted sit-ups on the stability ball, two sets of side planks, 50 squats (30 of which were weighted), three sets of 15 chest and shoulder presses (each and on stability ball) and three various ab workouts I can’t begin to describe. In a word: beast.

As I made my way back to the abode, I visited with Muffin and hit up CVS. I am addicted. What of it?

Naturally, I was ready to eat a shoe by the time I got home. Instead, I went for food:

Triple green.

I must have been cracked out when I thought that was going to fill me up. After 40 minutes of walking, a solid 90-minutes of working out and millions (? sure) of raging endorphins, this bod needed more. Hello, loves:

Wheat Thins and hommus. That box lasted two days.

Maybe (#nowplaying)Β Usher’s OMG was running through my mind as I loved that box down. Wouldn’t put it past me. (It did make me wanna say oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh my gosh. Seventeen oh’s. I counted.)

Finally full, I hopped in the shower, did my thang, hopped out, tanned the body and sat down with my laptop. I took care of some magazine biznass, and then wandered over to mediabistro.com. I’ve been terrified to put myself out there, so I bit down and applied to one job. I suppose I’m not so much afraid of putting myself out there as I am afraid of being rejected. Who knew job hunting and dating had so much in common?

I returned to something I know well after finishing the application: editing. A writer of mine (I sound so tooly saying that, but it’s true) sent me an early draft of her story. I read it and emailed her my thoughts.

By 6pm, I didn’t want to work on homework, so I took myself to the kitchen. No music was playing, but Paula Deen was on in the background. Love that woman.

I also have a love for all things bread-ish. Thus, I whipped up this super simple biscuit recipe:

I swear that's the name of the recipe.

VegNews Associate Editor (Savvy) Abby makes the best biscuits in the whole world. I know from experience. I was stoked to see that she now has her own blog, which also has her fabulous biscuit recipe. Yums:

I can't help but think of biscuit's other meaning.

Before feasting on flour (I used whole-wheat, by the way), I got in some greens and protein:

I tried five times to get a non-blurry pic. Darn my hormonal camera.

In the tup: romaine, cucumber, balls and light chipotle ranch. And then it was time:

Biscuit with pumpkin butter. Times a lot.

OK, I messed up the recipe. I used olive oil, so now my biscuits taste like a giant olive. It’s nothing pumpkin butter can’t cover, but I know that these biscuits are much better than that. I’d actually like to try using apple sauce or pumpkin instead of oil next time!

For a while after dinner, I faced the ever-present battle of Homework v. Blogging. How Low (one last time– #nowplaying) popped on my Pandora and I knew what to do. I started this ridiculous post. And here we are.

What I learned most about the music I tend to listen to is that it revolves around a few major themes: clubs, sex, love (ish) and dancing. This probably explains why I haven’t done my homework yet.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What do your music tastes say about you? Are you into commercialized, saturated music (like moi), or do you lean toward other genres?
I like to believe I have a mix, but my music diet is heavy on the processed beats. They make me want to dance, be with my friends and forget about real life. That said, Ella Fitzgerald is my homegirl and The Eagles know what’s up. Oh gawd, it’s so bad that I can’t even give Ella and the Eagles the language they deserve.

Edited to add: Just as I clicked “publish,” one of my favorite songs of all time blinged onto Pandora. Yea, songs can bling. #nowplaying Weezy F. Baby’s Talkin’ About It. Made my night complete! (Listen to it whenever you need a confidence boost.)

64 Responses to “#nowplaying”

  1. 1 Lisa

    hahha, im a victim of radio music, i admit. it’s just GOOD! my dad brought up a good (yet annoying) point when i made fun of his pink flyod music. he was like, “how come if MY music is so bad, pink flyod is on the radio YEARS after his album came out and your music wont be on the radio 6 months from now?”
    touche, daddy-o.
    whateves- you cant dance to pink flyod now can you!?!?
    hahha πŸ™‚

  2. I’m a top 40s girl through and through, though I like to throw in some stoner and emo music as well (Dave, Jack Johnson, Shwayze, Dashboard Confessional, Augustana, etc), which is funny because I’m neither of the two. I love your jamzz today though, I’d have been dancing through the day!!

    Just bookmarked these biscuits by the way. Cannot wait for the carby goodness! Hope you have a great Tuesday love!!

  3. Oh, I am victim to the Top 40 and I always get shizz for it from people…pshh…they don’t know what they’re missing. Okay, I know it completely lacks any sort of true lyrical artistry…but I like being able to forget about my day and listen to jams that make me bop around my apartment or procrastinate by spinning around like a loser in my computer chair.

    Not to say I don’t listen to a healthy mix of stuff…but I turn to Top 40 more often than I’d like to admit πŸ™‚ …

  4. I have a mix of things, but let’s get serious- when you’re working out you need some pop/rap jams!

  5. 6 taleoftwovegans

    Nosy parker here wants to know more about the male situation as well! πŸ˜‰
    I have to admit, I am a complete lame-o and basically don’t listen to music (I know! basically anytime I tell someone this they look at me like I have four heads) but I like to pretend I make up for it around christmas time when I listen to holiday music basically nonstop!
    Love the vegnews staff, I am definitely taking a gander over at the new blog!
    -K

  6. I’m a big fan of all types of music. For dancing I LOVE rap/hip-hop – the club, sex, dancing, love type. For driving in the car or listening at work I tend to lean towards indie type of music. I also like to go to Indie/alternative live shows. some of my favorite bands at the moment are Yeasayer and Vampire Weekend.

    • 8 snackface

      eatingbirdfood- Oooh I love Vampire Weekend and Phoenix, music like that, too. For road trips, I absolutely MUST have musicals on hand. I need to pretend the dashboard is my stage, you know? Haha, sad and true.

  7. I am so not a “music person.” I love listening to it, dancing to it, living to it but I know absolutely nothing about it. I mean that in the sense of by genre, or artist, or song title. Maybe the fact that I can read music and play it (hopefully still) makes up for my lack of general musical knowledge? Who knows, but as much as I can jam to the mainstream there is also a place in my heart for every other kind of tune. Except for heavy medal… gah, I hate heavy metal πŸ™‚

  8. 10 Francesca

    “my biscuits taste like a giant olive” just cracked me up. I’ve definitely done that before! you can always make them savory and eat them topped with tofutti & chives!

    • 11 snackface

      Francesca- Haha glad you had a chuckle! Thanks for the savory idea. I also think I’m not used to salty bread-things, so I need to cut back on that next time, too.

  9. My music tastes are all over the place! I love top 40, indie, classic (like Ella Fitzgerald), french music, Spanish music, music in languages I don’t even understand, etc. Pressing shuffle on my itunes is always entertaining.

  10. Michael Buble is my homeboy, but I cheat on him with everything from country drawls to Usher and Jason DeRulo.

    • 14 snackface

      Whit- Don’t you love how Jason DeRulo announces himself at the beginning of each of his songs. “Jaysunn DeRuuuloooo.” Cracks me up.

      • ha! I thought that was just me, I can’t stop laughing every time one of his songs come on.

  11. Gotta say we have the same music taste- even when it’s not a Friday night…even 8am walking to class you can bet I have Weezy or Luda or Rihanna poppin my earbuds…I think I’m subconsciously always in a party/dance-y strut and shake it mood.
    I’m also a huge fan of dance/electronica/trance etc…just anything with a beat really!

  12. 17 Ellie

    Great question! I’ve been in a several year long hip hop phase but I also like a lot of 90’s and older rock–the Pixies, My Bloody Valentine etc. I also REALLY like jazz, Motown and baroque music (diverse enough?)

    ANYWAY if you want some less currently-on-the-radio-y yet totally kickass and get-down-to-able hip hop recs I could def hook you up, because you seem to share my love of the genre. I could probably (slightly techno challenged) even make you a CD (that you are in no way obligated to like) as a thank-you for providing so much blog entertainment πŸ™‚

  13. Lately I have been in a serious Ben Harper funk. Its getting to be annoyingly calm though, so I am jazzing up my playlist with Justin Beiber. Yes he is 15. And yes I adore him.

  14. I’m pretty sure we have the exact same taste in music…

    Except since moving more “South” I’ve been obsesssssed with Country! Looooove me some Lady Antebellum πŸ™‚

  15. i’m totally going to try that biscuit recipe (i’ve been absolutely SEARCHING for a good vegan one without margarine) and i love the plate you put it on. seriously, eating on that plate would make it all the more fun. good job with your “first date” with getting a job. i know you’ll do wonderfully!

    have a lovely day!
    xox

  16. I like a little bit of everything, when it comes to music, but lean toward more mellow tunes like Jack Johnson and Ben Harper.

  17. I posted about Pandora today too… it’s the best ever right now on my Pandora Peter, Bjorn and John is playing : ). I’m definitely not very into commercialized music, every once in awhile though there will be a catchy song that I like. Usually the music I like is mostly alternative with some house & rock thrown in there. Those biscuits look delicious!

  18. 23 Tay

    Oh hon, I used olive oil once in cookies. BIG mistake! Whoopsie! I’m glad your biscuits turned out ok though! They sound delicious.

  19. I’m a huge fan of rap (love those beats! Jay-Z is definitely my fave!) but I also love country music (including old-school tunes) and alternative rock (some of it…I love Dave Matthews, hate emo). I also like pop- that said, some Top 40 songs I absolutely hate.
    Like I don’t like Taylor Swift, don’t like that Firefly song on the radio all the time lately, hate Nickelback, etc.

  20. i truly love so much about this post…but i will just say this, that table cloth is pretty incredible.

  21. I just like listening to music in general – I am open to anything! I have used olive oil in baking before and kinda like it! Those biscuits sound great, I love the simple ingreds list.

  22. HEY MY SUGA PIE LOVE BUNNY ❀
    YES we need each othas NuMBAS ASAP!! i text jess and megan and i need to text you are well-because i am in love with each of you.
    SONGS-i love dave matthews and rascal flatts.. i know, weird, right? IM ALL FO SOME WEEEZY WHEN IM WORKING OUT! give me some good song suggestions!
    LOVE YOU ❀

  23. I like to think that every kind of music (except twangy COUNTRY) has a very appropriate place in my life. Right now I’m doing a philosophy reading, so Au Revoir Simone has been playing non stop. For the gym I have a wonderful Ke$ha Pandora station, and I listened to a Sweet Home Alabama station non stop while I drank outside all weekend. Wolfmother, Justin Bieber, Frank Sinatra…my iPod is more than a little varied.

    So those biscuits: I’m thinking about subbing pumpkin in for the oil and slathering some Dark Chocolate Dreams all over them. Yummm.

  24. Lovin the music!

  25. My new baking goal is to remake those biscuits. I’m gonna do it. And then I’m going to buy you a pan to make oatmeal squares in. You would love.

  26. I think I might be the odd girl out here! A lot of people are surprised that I’m such a big fan of punk (Black Flag, The Germs, and my favorite, Fugazi) and I also like really off the wall, unknown bands. I pretty much avoid the recent indie music except for maybe the band Girls (I think that’s who it is?). I used to listen to a lot of Christian music when I was little and I challenge you all to listen to some Toby Mac without dancing! Plus he is fiiiiiine. So I almost never listen to the radio but my friend is a big top 40s gal so I know about a lot bands even though give me Sonic Youth over Ke$ha any day!

    • 32 snackface

      grace b- I LOVE that you love different music. You and my broskie would get along well. And sometimes, or most times, Ke$ha makes me want to pluck out my eyelashes. Why can’t we all make it in the music industry, ya know?!

  27. I laughed at the “that box lasted two days” comment. Seriously, do they put crack in wheat thins? I stayed at my friend’s place in Colorado over spring break and her family didn’t know what to feed a vegetarian soooo I basically ate boxes of wheat thins and pb…quite willingly I might add. I love so many kinds of music but it depends on my mood or if something infuences me. Lately i’ve been pretending i’m a child of the 60’s and listening to jimi hendrix.

    • 34 snackface

      Anna- Honestly, I would not be mad if all I had on hand were Wheat Thins and peanut butter. Holla to pretending to be a child of the 60s. Too fun.

  28. I love a TON of music – all kinds. I love top 40 anything, especially to work out. But other than that, I really like old people music. You can find me listening to Steve Tyrell or James Taylor most of the time. I’m a huge dork.

  29. 36 traynharder23

    my life is one big musical. my friend loves how i always integrate songs into daily life. hahah.

    ahhh wheat thins. crack in a box. oh wait, that’s shredded oats/quaker squares.

    i love the same music you love. hellooo the minute you put taio cruz in this post? i was like HELL YEAH! let me make you my boo (cobra starship)

    i don’t use pandora- i use grooveshark. never tried pandora.

    love your plates and biscuits. now i want me some crunchy peanut butter after that first pic! LOL!

  30. My music taste is ALLLL over the place – I like everything from Marilyn Manson and Frank Sinatra, to Beethoven and Pachabel.

  31. I love magazines. I always spend the big $$$ on them as well, over a lot of other things!!

    I love aallll different kinds of music. It depends on my mood, really. I love punk rock from the 70’s and 80’s- that is my Dad’s influence and I can’t go a day without some Ramones, Social D or Sex Pistols. Then again, I love Dispatch and Bright Eyes. I also love a good alt rock song. Oh, and throw in some Britney every once in a while. I love good hip hop beat, even though I lean more toward the hardcore rap when I’m looking for some ghetto love…
    The only thing I can’t stand is classical and country!

    Toldya I was all over the place!

    xo
    K

  32. i looove pop music and dance as well. cascada? LOVE anything upbeat that I can work out to. loving OMG by urshhherrrr. I listened to it this morning on the tread and fueled me. Also lady gaga, space cowboy huge fannn

    i also do love my fair share of 80’s tunes, including pat benetar, toto and eddie money!

    yummm those biscuits look great, too bad about the olive oil!!

    • 40 snackface

      Naomi- How could I forget to mention Gaga!?! She’s exquisite. I can’t wait for that Glee episode!

  33. randomly found your blog, I absolutely love it!!1

  34. Absolutely, positively LOVE music. I like all kinds, but my favorites are hip hop, rap, alternative rock, pop, hard rock, jam band (like DMB, OAR, etc.)…maybe more that I’m forgetting???

    A good song can totally turn my mood around. (It can also reverse a decision to “just stay in tonight.”)

    Gah! Music = one of my passions in life.

    • 44 snackface

      Cassie- On weekends, if I’m debating whether to go out, I turn on Pandora. It’s very likely the first song determines whether I’ll go out. As we can see, the song usually is something I love.

  35. I’m the same way with music–I love the super cheesy pop, the nerve-grating techno, the overplayed rap…just as much as I love the more methodical, artistic, moody crooner songs. Like anything: balance.

    Those biscuits looks amazing, but I love the taste of olives so I suppose the olive oil wouldn’t bother me at all. In fact–might be the draw.

  36. 46 Rachel

    My music taste is thoroughly confused with itself, just a tidbit of the stuff I jam to:

    The Smiths
    Dusty Springfield
    My new favorite; Lupe Fiasco
    The Kinks
    Jeff Buckley
    Dirty Projectors

    Clearly my taste doesn’t know if it’s hip hop/60’s pop/”hipster” music/alternative. I think it’s because I get bored easily

    • 47 snackface

      Rachel- What a lovely mix you have. I’m embarrassed to admit that I only know Lupe. Looks like I have some research to do!

      • 48 Rachel

        i’ve only recently started listening to his stuff but I hiiiighly enjoy it -especially his song “Daydreamin'” with Jill Scott, he’s been helping me get my swagger on πŸ˜‰

  37. I am a music lover and I listen to all sorts of things–

    I love to listen to rap when I am working out because I feel like the beat makes me work a little harder. I think you would like Girltalk (http://www.myspace.com/girltalk) a lot–this guy remixes about 20 songs in each track and it is amazing to listen to when you need a little pep in your step!

    • 50 snackface

      Jennifer- Oooh I adore Girltalk! We have some DJ’s here who try to replicate him, but it’s just not possible.

  38. “Who knew job hunting and dating had so much in common?”

    i could not have said that better myself. for. real.

    ahhh biscuits! it’s been so long since ive had you in my life. growing up, when my family would go to KFC, i would order a 6-pack of biscuits. thats it. to this day, those are still the best biscuits ever – despite whatever horrible ingredients list is in them.

    music is so a part of life – i love that music can set the tone, change your attitude, give you energy, mellow you out. i think i would be a much sadder without constant beats bangin’ in my head.

    yes to yoatgurt. yes to salads. yes to wheat thins + hummus.

    love you girl – chat soon πŸ™‚

  39. on my way to work this morning, two things made me think of you –

    a) i saw a zexy woman carrying a vegnews tote
    b) you know the people who listen to their ipods so loudly that everyone within a ten foot radius can hear every word? a man doing that sat next to me on the metro this morning — what was he listening to? WEEZY, baby.

    mmm biscuits. i’m really into the music scene and tend toward indie stuf (think coachella) but LOVE love bopping to the current tunes when i’m out at night. if you don’t like break my heart at a bar, then i can’t be your friend.

    • 53 snackface

      samantha- Ahhh! Haha I love that you thought of me. Did you talk to the guy listening to Weezy? I would have tried my hardest. Or, I would have rapped along with whatever song he was listening to.

  40. Ha, I love the name of that biscuit recipe! And yoats are such a fantastic way to start a day.

    BTW, the # sign used when you say now playing….I don’t get it. Why a number sign?

    • 55 snackface

      Graze With Me- Oh I’m so sorry! I forget not everyone is a Twitter freak like moi. It’s just what people use in front of a Twitter trending topic. I have no idea what the science behind it is, though!

      • Ahhh, gotcha. I figured it was something like that but I’m much too curious in life so I had to ask. Thx!

  41. I definitely listen to too much radio music – Im embarassed! I used to listen to more on my computer or ipod but now I have little background noise going on.

  42. Haha for a second I thought that recipe said Abby’s Cheap-Ass Ass Biscuits. Whoa.

    The bf introduces me to some less mainstream music every now and then, so I have a good mix of radio music and other stuff. Some of my faves right now:

    Twerk- Three Six Mafia
    Shake This- Royce da 5’9
    Let it Loose- Wale

    Hot!

  43. 59 Brittany

    giiirrrll you *NEED* to listen to “Drop it Low Remix” by Ester Dean ft. Lil’ Wayne & Chris Brown ASAP!

  44. Whenever I’m in my car I crank up the radio jams.. but my grooveshark playlist is currently filled with DMB, Sublime, The Expendables, Grateful Dead, and Rascal Flatts. Summertime jams fo sho

  45. Haha, I totally go for radio music and itunes top songs…so not original, but I swear the stuff is good!

  46. oil muffins, eh? sounds to me like those are on the brink of brilliance. Perhaps pairing them with a savory topping (**cough** hummus **cough**) would be more appealing to your t-buds?!

    my music tastes say to me that I’m a lady on the streets but a freak in the sheeeeets.

    p.s. just caught up on your epic weekend with mamaJ… oh hot damn I just fall more and more in love with that woman. She is dimey and fab and I want her to be miiiiiine ❀

    so in love withchu pooks!!

  47. 63 eliza

    I just made those biscuits.. I basically had the perfect Americanized-Healthified dinner of baked beans, hot dog, and biscuist = vegetarian baked beans, soy hot dog, and that biscuit made with wheat flour and olive oil. Perfecto!!

  48. I LOVE Greek yogurt! The. Flipping. Best. Making it into your own little dessert is the greatest! I do organic cocoa powder, some dark chocolate bits, chopped almonds, and drizzled with either raw honey or almond butter…sooo good. Love your blog! xoxo


Leave a Reply

