Real Food

17Apr10

G’day, honeybees! Happy weekend! I just discovered that I’m in the top 10 percent of my graduating class, so I am ready to celebrate.

On this fine Friday, I wanted to share the delicious food I’ve been eating lately. This morning, I had an extreme craving for French toast. Fixed it:

Hello, lover.

While I enjoy learning about protein pancakes, cookie dough and faux-French toast, I just want damn real food. I get a little fed up with feeling like I need to eat high-protein, low-carb, high-fiber, low-fat food. And then I remind myself that I eat because I love food and nourishing my body. Whenever I am asked what I’d like to eat or what I’m in the mood for, I will forever respond with, “Something delicious.”

For the French toast, I dunked slices of fresh, local, organic challah bread into a mix of two eggs, vanilla extract and cinnamon. Post-griddle, I slathered them in Smart Balance and drizzled syrup over the toast and egg remainder. Absolutely gasmic:

Can I eat this for every meal, please?

Another foodie delight I’ve recently enjoyed involves Greek yogurt. I’ve been trying not to buy yogurt and eggs, but sometimes I need to take care of a craving. Thus, another yearning was treated:

Greek yogurt + oats + crunchy peanut butter. Coffee in a snowman mug? Essential.

Janetha‘s yoatgurt is yet another extremely satisfying breakfast:

Done dealing.

Because I’m already on the breakfast path, I’ll go ahead and share yet another fabulous breakfast:

Blooby oats.

Oats with blueberries, chia seeds and peanut butter– lovely.

I can always rely on regularity with breakfast, but the rest of my days’ eats can go haywire. Take yesterday’s on-the-go lunch, for example:

Snap peas and a vegan protein bar.

This bar is brand-new and tastes like a mocha brownie:

22 Days. The theory is that it takes 21 days to break or start a habit. On day 22, you're solid.

Great ingredients.

Yums.

To round out my lunch, I had a few of these babies:

Once you pop, you just can't stop.

I am the epitome of health. This is even more evident in my afternoon snack:

Veggies, bagel chips, hummus and Diet Mountain Dew.

OK, so maybe I’m guilty of eating unreal food occasionally. But that in itself is just keeping it real, yo.

MamaJ is coming to town for the weekend. Sh!t’s about to get crazy:

She got that good, good; she Michael Jackson bad.

I cannot wait.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: How do you feel about the current protein-everything trend in the blog world?

89 Responses to “Real Food”

  1. Ahhh, your mom looks like so much fun!!! πŸ™‚ Have a blast!

    Love Diet Mt. Dew so much it’s not right..

    And heck yeah for having REAL FOOD once in a while! πŸ˜‰

  2. i’m not in for all that protein, but whatever floats your boat!

    If I want french toast, I want the real stuff. Good bread, eggs, milk. Syrup or fruit, depending on my mood. Nothing’s better than the real thing sometimes.

    Happy weekend!!!

  3. Congrats on being in the top 10%!! That is amazing! I don’t really follow any blog trends (obviously, since I hate veggies AND running), but I have always eaten a fair amount of protein in my diet. I think whatever works for someone is what they should do. People reading a blog and thinking ‘oh it worked for them, it will work for me’ are clueless.

  4. Your french toast looks absolutely fabulous- I agree πŸ™‚
    While I love protein-y foods and all, I also love to have the REAL damn thing and not a substitute, because to be honest the real stuff is always a million times more satisfying and doesn’t leave me craving more (or whatever was missing).
    Yay for real food πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Little Bookworm

    Congrats on being in the top ten percent! πŸ˜€ That bar sounds great! Hope you have a fantastic weekend!

  6. 6 megzzwinsatlife

    wow girl that is amazing!!!

    You can have fun and still get the grades!! hehe

    hmmm I want french toast right now!!

  7. Sometimes I take part in it..but then sometimes I get frustrated and just want some butter and bread. lol

    • 8 snackface

      Jocelyn- I do the exact same thing. I’ll try to pay attention to protein, for example, and then I get fed-up and buy challah! Hahaha.

  8. I don’t really have an opinion about the protein thing happening in the blogworld. People do what’s best for them and I’m trying to do what’s best for me. πŸ™‚
    Congrats on making it to the top 10% of your class btw. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  9. Honestly, I feel like I’ve ‘been there, done that’ with the whole protein thing. But the beauty of trying new fads and ways of eating is that it helps me find those diamond in the rough foods that really work for me. Like I know that eating fruit with grains makes me bloated and that a high protein snack (like a Luna protein bar or Perfect Foods bar) can keep me going for nearly 3-4 hours when I get desperate.

    I think we all need to try new ways of eating and new food combinations because you never know what will keep you full and satisfied. Oatmeal makes me happy and I can stay full for hours but add greek yogurt to it and I can barely finish the bowl. I love it!

    I always tell everyone that if you just eat what you crave and eat the REAL version of that food, you will die happy. Or at least covered in chocolate…

    Have a great weekend with yo mama!

    • 11 snackface

      Graze with me- You know what’s crazy? I was reading your blog as your comment popped up in my email! Crazy! But I totally agree with you. The trends can be fun to test out for a while, even for one meal or snack. I wouldn’t eat oatmeal almost every single day if it weren’t for blogs!

  10. The french toast looks to die for! Yum!

  11. 13 Azure Jaymes

    I spy…with my little eye…Post computers and Post phones!! Because what other establishment would have 2007 Mac desktops juxtaposed with circa 1983 telephones? Oh, and I’m pretty sure that’s Muffin’s purple phone there πŸ™‚ Miss you loves.

    • 14 snackface

      Azure Jaymes- YES!!! That’s where I was yesterday, visiting my woman. Speaking of visiting, will you be joining us for the upcoming fests?!

      • 15 azurejaymes

        *MIGHT* go down for Moms Weekend in a few weeks, but definitely going down for the Postie reunion in mid-May. We’ll put on some freak’um dresses and paint the town pink. (‘Cuz pink is sassier than red.)

  12. Keep workin’ it, pretty lady. Do the damn thang and don’t apologize, capisce?
    PS: Give MamaJ some love for me, k?
    PPS: First-time commenter, but it’s all good. πŸ˜€

    xx,
    Charlie @ the little yogini

  13. Amen for REALL FOOD!!!!!!!!

  14. YEAH girl. insane you are graduating so soon.

    my mom used to make us challah french toast every weekend…. i want it right now, so thanks.

  15. i love that you ate exactly what you wanted, regardless of if it wasn’t the most healthy food. that’s really keeping it real, girl!

    have a lovely day!
    xox

  16. Oh my gosh that breakfast looks sooo good. Have you ever tryed pumpkin french toast. It is the best πŸ˜›

  17. Fads can be good for introducing people to new things (i.e. Greek yogurt, canned pumpkin, whatever), but the bottom line comes down to the fact that everyone needs to figure out what works for them. I was a vegan for 7 months and recently had to stop because it was not working for my body. I had zero energy, was exhausted when I woke up, gained weight, etc. Within the first week of starting things like eggs and chicken again, I dropped four of those excess pounds, had plenty of energy and feel wonderful again. πŸ™‚ Call it high-protein fad or whatever, but for me, my body needs more lean protein and less carbohydrates, at least in different ratios, than other people do.

    Bottom line: vegan, high-protein, animal-fat loving, fad-loving, fruititarian or whatever, what we eat is a personal choice, and a choice that should be respected.

    • 23 snackface

      Lindsey- Thank you for your honest opinion. I hope it doesn’t seem like I’m attacking anyone, I merely wanted to point out that even I feel these ridiculous pressures to eat like someone else. At the end of the day—hell, at the start of the day— I have to do me. Isn’t it tricky to start eating animal products again? When will the twinge of guilt/”I know this is wrong” go away? Did you feel that at all?

      • oh honey, not at all does it seem like you’re attacking anyone! I was just trying to remind everyone that no matter what we eat, it’s a personal choice.

        It was SO hard to start eating animal products again. Honestly, I realized vegan wasn’t working for my body a couple months before I stopped, but I was so weirded out by animal products! Eventually I got over it, because like you said – I have to do me. As much as I love animals, I am the only me I have, and I am shortchanging myself if I live a life I know isn’t the healthiest for me. There’s no guilt for me anymore, but occasionally it is still weird, especially because I’m doing chicken and fish. What’s really awkward is preparing chicken and fish again…that’s where boys come in handy. πŸ˜‰

        Fortunately I’ve had a ton of support from the blog world too, short of one vegan diva comment that was more amusing than irritating. πŸ˜‰

        Sorry about the novel!!!

  18. Protein powder? I have never bought it! It is pretty expensive and typically I like to eat my protein instead of drink it–but to each her own! PB, AB, eggs and yog, yes please.

    Your french toast looks fab!

  19. Your damn right to satisfy that craving. Is it seriously going to make such a difference for once in like ever to eat something that isn’t absolutely perfect for your health? Isn’t that healthy in itself? You should splurge a little, treat yourself for your work, because sticking to healthy eating does require a certain degree of effort. So go right ahead. Buy those eggs. Butter that pan. Fry up that bread and slather it in syrup because, try and deny it as you might, it tastes goooood. I, personally, do not partake in the whole protein craze. I am not like a body builder and I’m no vegetarian so I guess I just see no reason to take extra protein when I get enough with my normal diet in my opinion. I suppose it’s a good idea for a vegetarian and especially a vegan but if you don’t need it, isn’t it a bit of a waste of money? Buy a starbucks instead! Tastes less like grass in my opinion anyway. I love your oats. With the crunchy PB, so gooood. And the diet mountain dew! I don’t think I’ve ever heard of anyone a little aspartame lurvin has ever hurt. And it tastes good and no jiggle on the bootay to show for it. I love your blog and your attitude and the way you have with food. You, in my opinion, have a healthy relationship with food and I admire that. Keep truckin soldier (don’t know what inspired that. What? It’s late…)

    x

    • 27 snackface

      Killian- You are so right. I say, as long as I want it and eat it and love it, it’s healthy.

  20. 28 maren

    First of all, congrats on being in the top 10%! That is a major accomplishment!!! I’m with you on the trends.. While I do enjoy several of them, they will never replace REAL food. The real stuff is too damn good, and sometimes, you just need it!

  21. 29 Britannie

    I’m definitly a protein freak! And I’ve just recently become a vegetarian (reading your blog made it very tempting!:]) so I wish I wasn’t so obsessed with protein. It’s kinda silly actually now that I think about it. But I gotta ask, where’d you find that protein bar? It looks super good!

    And so does your french toast. That looks insane. πŸ˜€

    • 30 snackface

      Britannie- I picked up the bar when I was at Expo West, a natural products show in Anaheim. I’m not sure when they’ll be available in stores!

  22. I do love my protein and greek yogurt, but if I want something I’m craving – I go for it! Good for you for eating real food!

  23. 32 Diane

    I’m actually trying to lose weight and have to thank blogs for showing me high protein vegetarian meals. When I first went veg, I gained weight because I was eating more carbs/nut butters/bars (they were new and exciting!) and not nearly enough vegetables. Sounds a little dumb-hello, VEGetarian means lots of VEGetables! Needless to say, nothing kept me full for very long so I gained weight until I started reading about ways other people stay healthy.

    Bottom line though, I agree with you about wanting real food. It’s tiring not eating the same meals as my family and sometimes I just decide to forget about weight and focus on a good meal with people I love.

  24. 33 Rachel

    1. Sugar snap peas are the best ever, I wish I could find a monster sized bag of them
    2. When you wrote “blooby” i read that as “booby”. Because booby oats are delicious.
    3. On days when I do some strength training lifting my huge weights (aka 4-5 pounds, what up hulk hogan) I try to add some more protein in, otherwise i just eat what my tum-tum wants, too annoying to keep track of low-this, high-that. I hate math, I count on my fingers
    4. I like lists, and I like that your mom knows how to boogie. She’s cool in my book.

  25. I can’t front, I totally fell victim to the allure of the protein powder craze, so much so that I may or may not have just ordered 35 dollars worth. Meh. In my own defense, April’s brownie batter is legit ‘gasmic, no? The most redonk part is that I do no weight training whatsoever, so basically i’m eating protein powder for zero purpose. I hate myself.

    anyhoo.

    I got your email and I just want to give you 9389430 milly hugs. Thank you for being so open and sharing that with me, ma. I think I have to have a serious talk with mama about things

    LOVE YOU SO MUCH IT HURTSSSSSS!

  26. Whatever YOU want to eat, is healthy for YOU! That is my simple approach. I believe it is extremely unhealthy not to satisfy a craving, because down the line, cravings do not go away. But if your taste buds are already fighting for you and crave healthy, nutrient rich foods, you are golden! And it seems that you make healthy choices 95% of the time, so why buy into all of this protein hype if you aren’t feeling it? That is not a question directed towards you, because i am aware that you don’t! But my personal feelings towards protein: If it is in something i love, great! It tends to make me feel better after a workout as well, but other than that, i don’t really TRY to fit it in everywhere i can…

    • 36 leangreendeane

      By the way… I forgot what my main point was in all of that mess… Congratulations on being in the top 10%! That is pretty cool πŸ™‚

  27. That french toast looks so great! Your blog is so fun πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  28. I totally agree! Challah French toast is the best! I’ve ne’er tried making a scramble out of the leftover batter, though I love that idea!

    While my protein intake doesn’t keep me up at night as a vegetarian I do try and be a bit conscious of having a few healthy protein sources in my day. However, I probably don’t go over 6 grams a day. I dont understand why meat eaters are so concerned with their protein intake unless they are hard core body builders. I have been a vegetarian for a long time, so when I see that a single serving of meat has around 30 g of protein, I’m always surprised. It seems to me that Eastern diets do not include lot of protein, and they are perfectly healthy.

  29. I’m loving the protein kick I’m on, and I’m noticing a HUGE different in my muscle tone. No offense to Muffin, but I don’t want her spilling over the top of my jeans, you know? I’m hoping to put some non-mortifying/non-humiliating pics up soon to show you what I mean, but everyone’s got to do what works for them!

  30. LOVE the French Toast, and also….

    There is diet mountain dew in the US??

    Sign me up now, I’m a flying over STAT!!
    πŸ˜‰

    I don’t really follow the current “protein” trend, I’d rather just stick to what my body wants and eat intuitively, and if that means I can’t have salt and vinegar chips every once in a while, then stuffff that.

    πŸ˜€

    Amy
    xx

  31. Well, obviously I’m biased because I love high protein! Carbs make me feel icky, bloated, and tired. Plus, I lift heavy weights and need the protein. It keeps me lean, happy, and energized! But, to each is own- everyone has different lifestyles, etc, and needs to do what works for them! I feel like people try to follow my diet but they need to understand it is not right for everyone!

    • 42 snackface

      april- See, part of why I love reading your blog so much is because you eat SO differently from me. It’s incredibly interesting! However, I know that I could not follow your diet. But you have a bossy, fierce, toned bod that clearly shows us that your diet works for you! Love it.

  32. Your French toast looks amazing! I reallllyyyy want some now 😦
    I love this post. I am now not eating a vegan diet and I feel wonderful! Eggs and dairy are a necessity in life and I am now proud that I can accept that. Labels shouldn’t be used…who cares if you are a vegan, vegetarian, fruititarian, protein freak, homosexual, heterosexual, transvestite, etc? We are people, just living, breathing mammals….doing it like they do on the discovery channel.

    Okay, I had to add that last snippet in there. Haha, couldn’t help myself! =P

  33. no joke… just made french toast for the first time in MANY years today. Girl, i freak over these coincidences like you wouldnt believe. Granted, they were of the gluten-free brioche variety, you can bet i made them with coconut creamer, topped with coconut ice cream along with homemade sweet cream butter and maple syrup from my neighbors. protein bandwagon my arse…
    MA
    lilpauladean.wordpress.com

  34. PS: your shoutout for the bagel chips made my friggin life. amen

  35. HEY GIRL!
    YOU PREACH IT SISTA!!!! AMEN TO THAT!! you GET it! I LOVE FRENCH TOAST!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE DIET MTN DEW TOO!!! That makes me crave some.. ASAP! i love the bubbly chemicals going down my throat! I basically adore you VERY much!!! I was already into protein powder and stuff BEFORE the blog world-since both of my parents are super active..and I def do NOT eat JUST protein for a meal..i think that is RIDIC! Girls gota have her carbs! im actually about to go CARB up for dinner and its going to be amazing. LOVE YOU!

  36. Congrats on being top 10! =)

  37. tehre are a few trends I have tried in teh blog world, but I try them just because I will try anything once. If I dont like it I dont force myself to eat it. For example, tempeh..>i see it everywhere so i gave it a shot and I cannot stomach the stuff! no matter how I have tried it, it doesnt mesh well with me, so why force it? protein, I like it I need plenty of it, btu all of this protein cookie dough etc…just extra calories to me! I get plenty of protein through the foods I eat, and usually have a protein shake post workout, but the extra stuff I don’t have too too much of it!

    I prefer REAL food too. there is NOTHING like challah french toast..have you ever made your own challah, now that is gasmic!

  38. 49 Tay

    OMGGGGGGGGGGG that French toast looks A-mazing. Like no other. And SO true about food thoughts. I honestly try not to pay too much attention to that. I buy and eat whole grains, and high fiber foods. But I don’t try and alter my diet to low fat, low carb, high protein, etc. I just eat what I’m craving. And if it happens to be high in protein or high in veggies, then so be it!

  39. 50 anon

    You have the most amazing body ever! I am so jealous. Are you naturally slim and incredibly toned or did you have to work hard for your figure? Also, do you eat ice-cream or donuts? I never see these on your blog.

    • 51 snackface

      anon- Haha, thank you! You are too kind. I think any toned-ness started with cheerleading and dance when I was in seventh grade. Since then, I’ve been doing three workouts a week. That’s pretty much it. Throw in walking and dancing, and that’s that. About ice cream and donuts, well, I don’t really like donuts, but I adore ice cream. Thanks for reminding me that I need to get some, pronto! I do eat my weight in tortilla chips every weekend, though!

  40. 52 Kate G.

    Bahaha that is the best picture of MamaJ!

    I really love what you talk about when it comes to food/health/eating in general. I was actually just getting really frustrated with myself because of my eating today but once i read your post i realized, crap put everything into perspective for a second. It’s eating, it should be enjoyable and not made into a chore or something to stress over.
    Blah blah blah ANYWAY, thanks for being ever-inspirational, you are a wonderful influence! Have a good weekend!

  41. 53 Hatty

    I’ve never been a big protein gal and while i accept it is necessary to have balance etcetc, lifes just too short to follow fads, trends and not do whats best for your bod and mind πŸ™‚ So no, i’m not huge on the high-protein craze!

    And top 10%!!! WOOPWOOP thats awesome!!!!

  42. I am so proud and happy to know you!! Helllll yaaa to the top 10 percentile bebe! You’re fab. And amen to eating real food! Once people realize the SECRET (that you’re aloud to eat–a lot, and nourish your bod with the best of the best), their life gets THAT much better and they find themselves loving life and their bodies that much more, non!?

    Hellllo french toast. helllllo maple syrup. hellllllo yoats. GET IN ME BELLY!

    I hope you enjoy celebrating yo’ time with mamaj!!

    OH, and I say high protein diets are fun and all as long as you’re still eating plenty of everything else!! Gotta stay balanced if you wanna THRIVE, ya dig?!
    Wow, I sound so cheesy πŸ™‚ LOVE YOU!!!!! xoxoxo

  43. 55 em

    may i just say that i absolutely love your blog! everytime i read it, i crack up! you’re hilarious!
    congrats on being in the top 10% and have so much fun with yo mama; she looks like she would be hella fun to hang with!
    on a more sserious note, i couldn’t agree more about real food! case and point: sandwich thins. i saw them all over the blog world, and i just don’t understand it. it’s over-priced, super-thin, not delicious bread!
    i’ve tried things like protein cookie dough/brownies, protein ice cream, etc. verdict? just give me a pint of haagen daaz vanilla and some REAL maple syrup (not that sugar free crap) and i’m a happy girl. πŸ™‚
    have a fantastic weekend!

  44. Yay for being in the top 10% of your class!!!! Good for you! Have a great weekend with your mom!

  45. protein, schmoteeen.
    im a carb queen and im not afraid to admit it.
    altho i do love my tofu & greek yogurt (but the dont provide protein like chicken or fish or beef do- but who needs those anyway πŸ˜› )

  46. Yum!!! that french toast looks a-mazing!! πŸ™‚ What you say is absolutely truth, everyone should do what is best for them, despite of any “trend”. Of course, trends are fun! they give me a lot of ideas for breakfast or snacks, but I wouldn’t “jump on any train” just because is a blogging world trend!
    have a nice weekend πŸ™‚

  47. 59 Jin

    Congratulations on being the top 10%! Wow, you must be proud of yourself!

    I never understood the whole high-protein thing. When everyone was drowning in all the protein shakes/bars/powders..etc, I didn’t even bother (though I admit I WAS very curious)…Because I knew it wouldn’t work for me.

    i think the key is to find what works for you and just leave whatever else works for someone else with them. Once I felt bad for eating fruit because for so many other people, it didn’t work. But now I realize that since it works for me, I treasure it.

    and I also think there is some truth behind the 21 days thing for breaking a habit because it took be 3 solid weeks to get used to the diet I am on now. I’m of Asian background and much of the food we eat is very high in sodium and I never knew that was the reason why I couldn’t feel at my best. I am so happy that I’ve now found what works for me- lots of veg+fruit, low~moderate on grains+protein, and healthy doses of fat. :D.

  48. 60 *Andrea*

    the protein movement is ok i guess. i have mixed thoughts. i prefer the ideas of michael pollan. ‘eat food. not too much. mostly plants.’ i’d rather eat food that is real like nuts and fruit and veg and nutbutters. but i don’t hate on the powder πŸ˜‰

  49. Girl–I gotta say I’ve been creepily lurking your blog for quite some time now, but am only just commenting for the first time…sorry if that’s inappropriate bloggy behavior haha πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I’m just going to put it out there, I think that the blogosphere has lately been taking more of an “i do what i want” kind of attitude, which is really a change from before. I used to have to take “blogging breaks” because I’d start to over-analyze what I ate (like: ohh to many carbs/sugar, not enough protein, etc.) and got a little crazy about it, but now I feel like the more blogs I read, the more I want to eat what feels right for me at the right time! I think another commenter called it “intuitive eating”–I call it brilliant. Not every plan that another blogger sticks to will work for me. I accept that, but like that I have lots of support from them no matter what!

    –Monica

  50. Just talked about you in my blog…. I’m sure you will enjoy it, it involves karaoke!!

    http://lepetitcarrot.blogspot.com/2010/04/spice-up-your-life.html

  51. 63 julia

    Your first point in this post: totally agree with you. I think it’s not for the best that most people in this blogging world only have “brownies” that consist of egg whites, strange powders and apple sauce…I mean: HELLO? A brownie needs chocolate, butter, flour…Well, that’s my opinion anyways!

    (And of course everyone should do what he/she wants and likes…)

    Have a great weekend girl! x Julia (Taste of Living)

  52. Congrats on being in the top 10%!
    I think I’m eating too little protein actually, but I’m not sure. Sometimes my muscles are hurting with no reason, so I thought that’s the reason. My main protein sources are actually dairy products. I would like to try protein powders, because I’ve seen so much of them over the blogsphere, but I’m not really sure if I need it, and that whole powder thing freaks me out a bit:D

  53. Sometimes, real food is just what you need! I loooove French Toast πŸ™‚

    xo
    K

  54. Hell yeah @ real food. Protein powder skeeves me to no end. With such a variety of protein-y proteins in the world, does one really need to seek it out in dried, powdered form? I submit we do not.

  55. Yay for top 10! You rule!!
    About the protein…I admit that I got drawn in to the protein trend recently!! I bought some protein powder and then realized it had 17g of sugar per serving!!! YIKES. So, I cut back on that and started eating “real” protein (lotsa lentils, Greek yog, cottage cheese) more. I have been trying to lost the “last 10 lbs” and it has been coming off with higher protein!
    BUT- I think this was because I just wasn’t eating enough protein to begin with. I’m eating about 50g of protein a day now and it’s working for me. I probably don’t need more than that. I’m glad I found out about the trend…but I’m not really into all the powders. I may try a lower sugar one though.
    SECOND BUT- real foods rock. I found that I was so focused on my protein intake this week that I missed out on a lot of the other good stuff I wanted. This led to an ice cream binge last night AFTER I had already treated myself to enchiladas and margaritas. I totally agree with you that we need to focus on eating delicious and real things that we find delish!

  56. Congrats on your academic achievements!!!

  57. Yummmmy French toast!!

  58. I totally agree with you on the real food. It can get pretty annoying hearing and reading people talk about all these substitutions and everything. There’s no way that protein pancakes taste as good as real ones! Your french toast looks amazing by the way. And all those bowls of oatmeal too…

  59. Sometimes nothing cuts it but REAL food. You just have to throw out the whole I have to have x amount of protein,fat, carbs, etc. and just go with what you are craving!

  60. 72 Jil @ Peace, Love & Munchies

    CONGRATULATIONS. SMAHHT COOKIE! πŸ™‚ I honestly…I dunno, while some blog “trends” are things that I look into -like new products, etc.- I kind of just…do my own thanng. I know that I get enough protein in my diet so I’m not really concerned about it. P.S. That French Toast looks BOMBBBBBBB.

  61. I LOVE YOU, MAMAJ AND REAL FOOD. amen sister.

  62. 74 Amy

    Giiirrrrllll… let me tell you something… I love this post. I have been going through a rough time because after reading numerous health/foodie blogs I have begun torturing myself anytime I even THINK about eating something that isn’t 100% healthy, low fat, high protein, sugar free etc. etc. etc. Isn’t sad that we feel pressure to eat a certain way? We are college students and sometimes our budget &/or lifestyle does not merit eating healthy all the time. Thank you for not being “afraid” to post your pringles and diet mt.dew!! Hey, everything in moderation, right???

  63. I’m so with you on the protein thing. I’ve been trying to up my intake recently, and this post made me realize that a big part of why I’m doing it is because I feel like I “should”. But ya know what? I’m a carb girl, always will be, and as long as I don’t start subsisting solely on cereal and oatmeal, what’s the problem with that?

    I’m sipping a Diet Sunkist as a write this. No judgment πŸ™‚

    Hope you’re having a fabulous time with MamaJ, love!

  64. 76 justjac

    I agree and sometimes feel compelled to eat high fib, low carob or lf or whatever…and then sometimes I’m just like… screw it, i want ice cream πŸ˜‰
    Love your balance. And congrats on top ten! ❀

  65. 77 Katherine: What About Summer?

    Challah bread is the best for french toast. It is fact (I know, I worked in a NY deli).
    Your mug may disappear should I ever get close enough to grab it; I still love it!
    Katherine

  66. lol omg MamaJ! she is amazing!

  67. congrats on being in the top 10% thats awesome! hard work does pay off!

  68. Pretty high Carbs on that protein bar, what a coincidence I also had french toast this morning.

  69. Ah Mama J…how we love thee.

    and I am digg’n that french toast. made with fresh challah? sign me up! can i come over and devour?

  70. Mmm I don’t have french toast enough.

    I’m a believer that different types of bodies need different amounts of protein. Some people, I’ve noticed, tend to think they need copious amounts of protein, while others think they don’t need so much.

    I fall somewhere in the middle? I’m a vegetarian who doesn’t eat much dairy, so I do utilize the protein powder every now and then. I’m a personal trainer and I like to lift my weights, so I feel it’s necessary for me to get a wee bit more than I would get from my typical diet of real food. But I typically only put it in smoothies and overnight oats. Tried it in reg oats and hated it. I did, however make the cookie dough the other night out of curiosity, and was very surprised to say that it’s amazing!

    Sorry for the book! Have a great Sunday, love!

  71. Omg I have just posted about protein powder this past week and pretty much said, no. Not for it. 1 scoop per day, max. That’s what i can handle and i even posted a quiz about rapid vs. slow oxidizers and how some of us just dont need that much protein. I am a vegan training for fitness competitions and seriously, not doing all that fake protein.

    LOVE your question!

    And the bar. Mocha Brownie. Bring it.
    xo

  72. 84 Erica

    Oh my god, CHALLAH BREAD!!! A few months ago I had the best bread pudding of my life and it was made with challah, so I’m sure that french toast was amazing. Where do you get it??

  73. too much protein and not enough carbs makes my tummy hurt. ’nuff said.

  74. OMG congrats on being in the top 10% of your class. Partay it up girl friend! πŸ™‚

    Regarding your protein powder question over last summer i was on a huge protein powder kick doing a couple scoops a day, now not so much. I ran out months ago and havent bought any. I think it can be good in moderation like everything, but once you over do it for a while you need to take a lil break.

  75. im so flipping behind on blogs.

    YOATS!

  76. oh. and i am always all about protein all the time, as you may or may not have noticed.. so as i see it sweeping blog land i welcome it with open arms bc it gives me new ideas!


  1. 1 Protein Trend « Vanilla Swirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

