SupercalifragiSnackFace

08Apr10

What up, pups! I am sincerely sorry for being a cray cray sporadic blogger as of late! I probably shouldn’t take it so seriously, but I really do feel guilty when I skimp out on a day I usually post.

The past four years of journalism classes have ingrained certain journalistic qualities into my brain that I try to maintain with my blog. One of these qualities is reliability. Newspapers come out every day, and magazines every month. Therefore, readers can rely on them. As for the blog, I try my best to post four to five days a week in order to build trust within the reader (although, I think of you all as friends, not just readers).

Perhaps it’s narcissistic to think, “Darnit, I let them down because I didn’t post when I normally do.” Because the truth probably is (I know, it is), “Who cares?”

And yet, no matter how many times I try to convince myself it’s OK, I still feel a twinge of guilt when I miss a post. It’s the same bit of guilt– or even embarrassment– I feel when I’ve misspelled/quoted/linked something in a post. I’m even so anal that I try to keep my style consistent, such as what I capitalize, whether I leave a space in MamaJ and MattyRich (I don’t) or if I should call them balls or meatless balls (balls, duh). Yes, my brain goes there.

Maybe all these ridiculous thoughts make me anal, but they make me truly yours: SupercalafragaSnackFace.

So you see, my panties get in a bit of a bunch when I want to be reliable, yet I want to give in to spontaneity. Last night, I chose the latter (not ladder).

The truth is, I’ve been spending time with people who take me away from long nights alone chillin’ on the computer. Good for life, bad for blog life.

Guilt aside, I’ve been characteristically supercalafragaSnackFace-y.

Breakfasts have been oat-filled:

Pumpkin-peanut butter oats with Koffee. Tuesday.

Pumpkin-peanut butter oats and shadow. Wednesday.

Lunch on Tuesday was almost non-existent. Maybe it’s because I didn’t go to my morning class, ate breakfast at noon and dinner at five. The almost non-existent lunch:

Books and fruition.

This Fruition bar tasted like a date-y blueberry muffin. Although the sugars are all from natural sources, I think 21 grams is too much for such a small bar.

Wednesday’s lunch was post-workout fuel. I downed this:

Greenery.

In the pond scum: 1/2 banana, 4 strawberries, lots of spinach, 1-1/2 C water, apple pie spice, stevia and a small scoop of brown rice Jay Robb. Because no meal is complete without chewing (in my book), I took Mary Ann‘s suggestion and toasted a bagel thin to the point of bagel chippery:

Bagel thin toasted with Pam and salt.

Dipped into hummus and Laughing Cow, this was snacktastic.

Tuesday afternoon was filled with class and followed by dinner:

Tup salad. Big and green.

Everything has been doused in my current dressing obsession:

You da best.

Tuesday’s dinner was rounded out with:

Hmm, who is that?

Oh, ya know, Holly being bossy. My cereal approved of the “um.” I desserted it up after:

Chocolate chip brownie Lara.

The chocolate chip Lara line doesn’t hit stores until July, but kidlettes, it’s worth the wait.

Wednesday afternoon, I read and wrote. This obviously had to include my other favorite activity:

Snack. (On a snapple.)

Half this bag of Mary's Gone Crackers.

I’ve also been snacking on peanut butter pretzels all week, but those always escape the camera. Oops.

I finally supped on something lunchy:

Spinach wrap, bell pepper and cashew carrot ginger soup.

And, as always, I’ve been trying to keep the fashions supercalafragasexy:

Wore this out to meet Banana for her birthday!

I feel ten times better now that I’ve caught you (and myself) up on the latest snackings. Now I have to read all night. Or meet up with someone who’s been stealing my free time as of late. We shall see what or who reigns supreme.

Thank you for listening to my spaz-fest! Love you!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: How do you deal with guilt? Think it’s silly? (It is, in my opinion, but it happens!)

Edited to say: I’m debating: supercalafraga- or supercalifragi-?

65 Responses to “SupercalifragiSnackFace”

  1. oh you know i’m all for the catalyst behind your disappearing act. it’s not only acceptable–but encouraged, in my book. vida > blog-vida. always. especially when vida is involving the things it has been as of late. by the beezy, you owe me details.

    fun fact: i won a camp contest when i was 7 because i was the only camper to spell supercalifragilisticexpialidocious correctly. clearly nerdom began early. and im pretty sure my prize was a box of fruit roll-ups.

    in regards to ze outfit pic, can i have your legs? pretty por favor?

  2. 2 savoringsarah

    Sporadic appearances just make your blog more exciting! “Ooooo will TODAY be the day she is back!?” No pressure, fo real πŸ™‚

    LOVE the shoes..!!!

  3. 3 Jil

    I hear you – I feel the same guilt …and sometimes even the fear of “Oh my God…will they come back?!?” – but sometimes life is just worth the missed post…plus, a full life is a heck of a lot more fun to blog about. πŸ™‚

  4. 4 *Andrea*

    love the shoes!!! and you are so toned in your quadssss girl πŸ™‚

    i love laughing cow and snack plates and drake lyrics haha. and apparently saying love.

  5. 5 jenna

    that new larabar looks delish!
    love love love your outfit- supahh cute πŸ˜‰
    jenna

  6. 6 Jenny

    I feel ya on the journalistic vibes- I need to work on my reliability to my readers;)

  7. 7 Andrea

    “Reigns supreme”… someone has been watching too much Iron Chef!! haha

  8. Love your outfit, especially your SHOES! πŸ™‚

  9. 9 Anna

    Seriously, no pressure! You obviously have your reasons to want to post on a regular consistent basis, but don’t be afraid to give yourself a little wiggle room. You’re finishing up with school, the weather is amazing, and there are drinks to be had and dancing to do. So go live it up, and we’ll take updates when it’s best for you!

    I’m super jealous of the fact that you get a sneak peak at the new Larabars. Just saying.

  10. 10 Kathryn

    Where is your sexysnacky skirt from?! i LOVEE!

    • 11 snackface

      Kathryn- Thank you! It’s from American Eagle, but I got it when I was either a sophomore or freshman in high school! Haha I keep things forever.

  11. Hmmmm…I can’t wait to hear about the new person in your life!! I have an idea of course, but I don’t want to jump to conclusions πŸ™‚

    I kind of hate you for getting to try that new Larabar already. The name of the flavor alone is making me drool. Lucky girl!!

    I feel guilty when I don’t post/comment/whatnot too, but I figure I need to have more of a life than my computer. As much as I love my bloggettes, sometimes real life is just more important!

    Hope you have a great Thursday chica πŸ™‚

  12. 14 Lisa

    omg, im SO the same! i felt guilty for not posting on mon or tuesday- all day i was like, “i HAVE to do a post tonight! I have to !!!”
    and then the guilt goes away…for now.
    speaking of PB pretzels, Have you tried the ones by PB&CO? i bought them in the city a few days ago- girl…HALF the jar is GONE.
    they are GOOD! I like sucking on them (1. they last longer, 2. the pb gets all warm and gooey. may sound gross, but i Love it!)

    cant wait to try the new larabar! i tried new marys gone crackers cookies-eh. not so good. ill be reviewing them on my page soon πŸ™‚
    -Lisa

    • 15 snackface

      Lisa- I’d be in serious trouble if I had PB+Co peanut butter pretzels. I tried to be decent this time and split them into individual baggies. Unfortunately, my desire is stronger than plastic bags. Four baggies in one day? Yep.

      • 16 Lisa

        haha i feel ya- a serving for the pb&co ones is 10! WHO EATS TEN!
        i eat ten in a handful! portion sizes these days SUCKKKKK.
        those mary gone cracker cookies are SUPER tiny tooo. LET- DOWN. seriously- about the size of a snapple cap- and about 70 calories each! whats up with THAT!!

  13. ohhh the big guilt question… I am really bad about being to harsh on myself for overeating, under-posting, or what have you…bah! I need to cut myself some slack, but when I’m not strict enough with myself I get too lazy. I’m still working on finding some sort of happy balance in my life… any ideas?? I would love to hear what you think! You are so busy with school/choir/etc and find time to entertain us aaand stay in shape. You are a wonder woman!

    • 18 snackface

      Sonia- You, my dear, are too kind. I don’t know how I keep it all in line! As far as workouts go, they’ve just been a habit for five years now. Three days a week, that’s it. And without business, I go insane. Or I turn into a lump on the couch. (That’s also fun occasionally, though.)

  14. Spontaneity is the key, Kailey!
    πŸ˜€
    Delicious eats and pics, as always.
    Have a wondeful night!
    Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
    Gabriela

  15. You are so gorgeous girl, for real!!
    That Larabar…YUM!! Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better than PB & J… there you go.

  16. ahh that lara sounds amazing. can’t wait :]
    you look so beautiful!! ❀

  17. 22 Dana

    I definitely check in everyday to read you and get sad when you don’t post, but you shouldn’t feel bad – absence makes the heart grow fonder πŸ˜‰ and its always worth the wait because you have more to talk about i think and crazy stories to tell…. πŸ˜€ so don’t feel guilty and the people that love to read your stories aren’t going to be worried if you didn’t post a day or two you were supposed to πŸ˜‰ we’re still here!
    Cuz you thhhaa best!
    xo

    • 23 snackface

      Dana- Aww sugarbuns, thanks bunches for being so darn sweet! And for reading, obvs πŸ™‚

  18. look at those LEGS!! hot momma! but NO surprise there!!
    CHOCO CHIP LARA?!?! shut the front door! that sounds AWESOME
    ancho RANCH? is that like spicy ranch? that was prob a dumb question.
    okay guilt-uggh i HATE it! satan loves it tho. its always worse when you are exhausted or sick or something too..when you are even weaker
    LOVE YOU!! we need each othas number so you can text me your amazingly awesome and funny thoughts during the day.

    • 25 snackface

      kbw- It IS like spicy ranch. It’s beyond delicious. OK, seriously, I was just thinking that I need yo numba!! Let’s fix this!

  19. Kailey, as someone with a journalism degree, I want to thank you for taking the time to use proper grammar and be consistent. I appreciate it and I am sure your other readers do, too!

    • 27 snackface

      chasingthenow- Oh wow, thank you so much! Proper grammar is hard to stop, even if just for a blog post. I always hope that when I’m joking around with words that it’s obvious (abbreviations, rap slang, etc.). Thank you for the kind words!

  20. i heart you. and your cashew carrot ginger soup. and your bossy outfits. and the fact you lived VERY well last night. in fact, i am a little jealous of the blue moon + stars, no lie ’bout that. however, i did get a free dinner at taco tuesday with the lawyer. almost as cool πŸ™‚

    i feel ya on the guilt thang – even though i try to promote not feeling guilty + livin’ life, its inevitable. as long as we don’t dwell on it, its completely natural. at the end of the day, a girl has got to have her priorities.

    ummm…do we have to wait for san fran to meet-up? seriously. let’s get on that.

  21. hi girly!
    i know how you feel about pressures and guilt associated with blogging, i was actually JUST talking about that earlier today with someone.

    hope you’re taking care ❀

  22. 30 Kate

    you look like hot dayummm…I want warm weather in MN so I can wear itty bitties!

    and I miss you when u don’t post. just to tell ya πŸ˜‰

  23. 31 Gina G

    hey girl! don’t even for a second feel guilty for not posting! yes i am alwaysss so happy and thrilled to see a new post from you, but you come first! You do whats best for Kailey and we will be here for you no matter what =) I adore ya chica, don’t ever change your outlook or who you are for anyone!

    p.s. i was jw are you ever friends with your readers on facebook? (if you aren’t that is totally fine i understand) I always feel so bad that we know who you are but you haven’t ever seen me cause I have no blog! but that is totally up to you! =)

  24. 32 Patrice

    Kailey and ?? sittin in a tree…! S’allright gurl, I know what you mean about the consistency thing. This is coming from someone who painstakingly makes sure everything, including my Facebook statuses, are correctly capitalized and punctuated. It’s the cross I (we) bear.

  25. Chica, I always feel guilty about the stupidest things. And I know (really, I do) that I shouldn’t…but it happens! The only way I know to deal is to keep super busy!

    I think it’s supercalafragi…but I honestly don’t know! Google? πŸ™‚

  26. Gah! I want that Larabar! I can’t wait until July. I hope stores near me get them! They better or I will be one unhappy camper. Gah.

    Hey, I am thinking about adding some animal products back into my diet (yogurt, kefir, egg whites, and select cheeses). I know that you used to be vegan and now you dapple into some animal products daily. Do you feel a major difference? Do you feel better? I am making this change because a.) I have been craving these foods b.) I want/need more protein c.) I don’t feel like I have to be a 100% vegan to prove something to people/blog readers d.) I want to LISTEN to my body and find peace within myself.

    I am sort of struggling with this..it’s going to take some time because it’s a big step, but I think it will be for the best. If you have any advice, experience, wisdom, support, or ideas it would be helpful! Thanks, Kailey. πŸ™‚

    You can shoot me an email…it would be mucho easier.
    lemonhead10@hotmail.com

    Peace always.

  27. legs for days! i need to try that ranch. and shadows are delicious when they are cast in bowls like the one above. yum. shadows. or should i say nom nom nom? bwahah. LOVE YOU!

  28. seriously loving that you called that pond scum. hot shoes!

  29. I’m cracking up that you changed the title between when I first read this and first had the chance to comment. I’m the same way with the grammar/spelling/punctuation game and it is MORTIFYING to me when I make a mistake.

    I hope you went with the fun choice for tonight!

  30. 38 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i of course LOVE when you blog- but i am totally the same way and understand that sometimes, life just gets in the way!! seriously- it is no big deal love. you look BOSSY in that pic- you are too gorgeous for wordsss. hope you have an amazing thursday & get to go out and party πŸ™‚

    xoxoox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  31. 39 justjac

    Oooh, cannot wait to try those laras!
    My vote–supercalifragi πŸ˜‰

  32. 40 Katherine

    superKAILEYfragi πŸ™‚

    LOVE those shoes

  33. Oh I get the guilt, too. It’s dumb. And I deal with it the same way you do – I blog to relieve said guilt. Ha.

    Totally feel you on the anal thing (ahahahaha say that out loud). Seriously, though, spaces, capitalizations, consistency, punctuation, spelling, accuracy…it’s all UBER important to me…and the reason it takes me SO LONG to write a single post. (I was a Communication major.)

    Didn’t even think to toast the bagel thins (since that’s so far-fetched. Geez, Cassie). Will do.

    That outfit = sexy mama! Life >> BlogLife fo sho.

  34. I don’t deal very well with guilt, either, but it’s totally cool to cut yourself and your busy life a break. If you didn’t go out there and enjoy your life, we’d have much less fabulosity to read about. πŸ™‚

  35. 43 elise

    hey HEY heyyyy…guilt schmilt – im over it. do yo thang and own it snackamafrack. the only blogger on par with your bossy-ness is holly, so its very fitting to have her vlog in the background. love that girl.

    i soooo need some of the new larabar in my life right now.

  36. Hi love!!!

    Don’t feel guilty at allll πŸ™‚ We all know you have a life outside of bloggerville. Anyone that is a *friend* would much prefer you to spend quality time wit yo familia and close friends πŸ˜‰

    Random ques, have you tried Mary’s Crack in the herb flavor. I swear it tastes like sausage, lol. Think I’ll try the pepper one next time! ha

    Second random ques, where are those BOMB shoes from??? I lurrrrrrrve them!

    Have a super-kalla-fraja-listic-expee-alla-docious day! πŸ˜‰

    xx,

    Lauren

    • 45 snackface

      Lauren- The truth is, I’m not a huge fan of the Mary’s Crackers. I don’t need gluten-free crackers. I’d rather spend less money and buy Triscuits or Wheat Thins! And I found the shoes at DSW!

  37. Life outside blogging should always win over life within blogging in my humble opinion. Try not to feel guilty about that — noone would begrudge you living your fabulous life!

    Oh and no worries on the commentings and such…glad you liked the hob nobs…I cannot believe you said “hob on your nob”. I hope you know what nob means in England. If not, go look it up you cheeky devil.

    • 47 snackface

      Angharad- I’m pretty sure I know what nob means. So…cheeky devil? Yes.

  38. 48 Jennifer

    Don’t worry about blogging guilt–I am sure all bloggers (myself included) feel it. You seem to effortlessly have balance in your life, while maintaining a lightheartedness through it all. Give yourself a little cred. for all you do and all the balls you keep in the air.

    Oh, and if you’re ever in the ATL GA, stop by for a cereal buffet…it seems like you enjoy it almost as much as I do!

    • 49 snackface

      Jennifer- Cereal buffet!!! Lez do it. I’m sure I’ll be in the ATL at some point!

  39. 50 marcie

    always choose life, fun and friends before your blog. When you are an old lady in your rocking chair, you will never remember all the things you wrote or ate, but you will always remember good times w/ good friends.

  40. 51 Nicole

    where did you get your shoes!?! love love them!

    • 52 snackface

      Nicole- Thank you! They are Tommy Hilfiger and I found them at DSW!

  41. bagel chips! genius idea, my friend. also, i want to marry laughing cow wedges.

  42. No worries, you should have a life outside of blogging. Besides, it gives you more scandalous material to write about so we can live vicariously through you, ha ha ha!

  43. No wonder why your blog posts are always so perfect πŸ™‚
    Ahhh, I’m sure you have some of the loyalest readers out there! Guilt is a wack thing…I hate it because I have a tendency to feel guilty about A LOT of things- I usually have to talk it out with one of my friends to justify that I actually shouldn’t feel guilty- it’s definitely something I’ve had to work on that came from my eating disorder days, the forgetting to put myself and my needs forward and instead neglecting them to prevent the cycle of feeling guilty.

  44. Oooh can’t wait to try the new Larabars.

    I admire your dedication to your blog. And I definitely appreciate your blog! But I think your readers understand that you have to live your live too!

  45. chocolate chip lara bar?!! ummm fair to say i am extremely jealous ofyou…also your shoes in that pic of your outfit are SO cute!! they look awesome on your long legs..im a shawwwty and the heels with straps around my ankl;es just make me look shorter ahhh well

    guilt? like you said it happens, if I over indulge with food and feel guilty I just make up for the next day by eating healthyyyy

  46. Supercalifragi-

  47. 59 Adam

    Your consistency as a blogger still amazes me regardless if you post every day, every other day, or every other week! It’s always nice to see someone living life to the outright fullest and enjoying every minute of it (or most), no one is perfect πŸ™‚ Your handwriting is so neat! I am a big believer in clear and concise notes and i also think you can tell a ton about a person through the way they write! Enjoy the windy weather we seem to be getting, i can’t imagine you guys are too much different that us across the lake…

  48. You go and you do and you be, girl! πŸ˜€ Living life>bloggin!
    I am way too excited to try the Lara Bar!!

  49. 61 Rika

    don’t feel guilt and don’t worry! it’s your blog, and its your life! Live how YOU want! πŸ˜€

    [ ] supercalafraga-
    [x]supercalifragi-

  50. You could post once a year and we would still read! Honestly though I understand where your guilt/stress comes from, but just remember that weve all been there & understand & most importantly we all have real lives, responsibilities, and things ta do!
    Am I the only person who hasnt had a Fruition bar yet?!

  51. Not to sound completely cheesy, but magazines come out monthly- and they’re worth the wait! Don’t ever feel guilty for not posting! IT just gives us something to look forward to!
    Love,
    Barbara

  52. With a newish 40+ hour-a-week job, trying to workout daily, spend time with the hubs, AND buy a house I am constanly trying to figure out when I’m gonna have time to blog in my day! I hate only getting one post in a day, I would rather have 2 short ones instead of 1 2-mile long post, but right now my life doesn’t allow for that too frequently. Moral of that story…..I feel your stressess and pains! Loved reading your bloggers-mind recount, it was refreshing!! πŸ™‚

    -emily

    • 65 snackface

      Emily- Oh sister, I have no idea how you do it! I give you mad props for being able to post once a day in the midst of that mayhem!


Leave a Reply

