Eat, Write, Eat

06Apr10

Yo babies! I am in such a happy, spastic mood! I hope your Monday went ridonkulously well. Mine was very patterned, as the title suggests.

I got a late start to my Monday, but it was all good in the hood. (What? Nineties phrases? Gag.) Rushing around like a loony tune, I slapped breakfast together:

PB+J bagel thin with half a banana and strawbizlettes.

I’m not even going to front. These bagel thins are just sandwich thins with holes cut in them. I’m annoyed. Ladies and gents, if you want a bagel, go buy a damn bagel. Because these just aren’t worth your time or money. Alas, I will be eating them until they are gone. Boh.

Semi-digested, I ran off to Theater History. Got there on time! Woopwoop! Class was class.

Then I worked it out for 90 minutes. I did 60 minutes on the elliptical, mostly so I could finish my Media Ethics reading. Sweat dripping between errthang! Followed that with abbage and armage and called it a success.

Twenty minutes of walking to mi casa later, I needed to dine:

So I let her lick the wrapper.

In the La Tortilla rosemary wrap: Laughing Cow wedge (Sarah, I’m still drooling over the blue cheese Laughing Cow you got to sample!), light chipotle ranch dressing, three smashed balls and spinach. Uh-mazing:

Yums.

Finally, I showered. I’m trying my best to stay on top of tasks like, oh, homework, so I hopped right to it after I applied self-tanner. (Yea, MamaJ totally called me out for stopping using it. Evidence is in yesterday’s comments.)

The task at hand was creating extremely detailed pitches for Southeast Ohio Magazine. Oh! By the way, I’ll be an associate editor for this lovely little magazine this quarter! I’m thrilled to take on an editor position.

Anyway, this is how the afternoon went:

Eat:

'Sicle for my sore throat. Silly allergies!

Write a story pitch.

Eat:

TJ's lite, single-serve kettle corn. And DayQuil.

Write another story pitch.

Eat:

Apple with peanut butter.

Write a third story pitch.

And…yes…

Eat:

Oh my yum.

Betty Lou herself hooked me up when I was at Expo West. This spirulina patty was delicious!

It may seem like a lot of SnackFacing, but I was seriously super hungry all day. I didn’t eat much yesterday, which may have something to do with it. Who knows! I rolled with it.

When I wrapped up my fourth story pitch, I celebrated with a few G-chats and phone calls. And then dinner:

Zupa, cuke, tempeh and hummus.

Pacific’s cashew carrot ginger soup is outrageous. Please buy a carton if you see it.

I ended the pattern with this little beaut:

Half a bagel thin slathered with Dark Chocolate Dreams.

And now, I should start reading those 50 pages for tomorrow’s English class! Woops.

Tuesday’s agenda (I’m writing this probably more for my sake than yours–unless, of course, you’re stalking me):
-American Writers: 10am-12pm
-SEOH: 1-3pm
-Media Ethics: 3-4:30
-Break: 4:30-7:30
-A capella practice: 7:30-9:30

OK, game time.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Are you tardy for the party? In other words, do you run late or are you super punctual? AND Do you find that when you’re home all day, your appetite is off the chain?
For classes and meetings, I try to be at least five minutes early. If going to an interview or audition, I normally show up a half-hour early and hide out somewhere for a bit. Paranoia, anyone?

61 Responses to “Eat, Write, Eat”

  1. ahhaha LOVE THE QUESTION!!!
    hmmmm for classes i am early, but def for important things i show up atleast 30 min early!!!
    LOVE YO EATS! esp the dark chocolate dreams lovin!
    I LOVE YOU K BABY!!

  2. We aren’t super impressed with the bagel things either. I want to try the everything ones, but they are only made with white bread which I don’t even life. 😦 If I am home all day, I just want to eat the WHOLE time – I’m a boredom eater.

    And yes, super punctual. It comes from my childhood – my mom ran insanely late ALL the time. I used to stand on the street waiting for her to pick me up from dance class. I am habitually early now!

  3. 3 Anna

    I HATE how late I am to my first classes of the day. I seem to take 3 minutes too long to do basically anything, no matter how much time I give myself. I hate to be that girl who always rushes in once things have already started, and I am really working on being the 2 minutes early girl. No one gets annoyed by her!

    When I’m home I definitely seem to eat all day. Maybe because it’s there, but probably because I’m more aware of my hunger when I’m not off doing a million things. I say embrace it and eat all the damn chocolate peanut butter you want!

  4. 4 Jenny

    I am a super-nerd, and always on time! My app’s off the chain when i don’t exercise- weird, right!?!

  5. 5 april

    Haha, I love it!! I always get snacky studying.. I think working our brain burns calories! πŸ˜‰

  6. I’m definitely an early bird. I’m everywhere early…I need to work on being more patient to people who are late!! I’m always paranoid I’m gonna walk in late and embarass myself.

    Need to try the plain tempeh + hummus. Two of my favorites, but I’ve never had them together. Love the afternoon SnackFacing…when you’re hungry, just roll with it!! Hope you have an amazing Tuesday love πŸ™‚

  7. babygirl, you KNOW i get my eat on all day, errrday. seriously, i work from home. so every day is a maximized snackface dia. i dont hate it.

    you NEED that LC flavah flav in your life. like i NEED YOU in mine. i dont care if i need to run the san fran half/break a hip to see you… we’re gonna make this reunion happen.

    ooh and im almost ALWAYS on time–but lately i always feel like im running late and it irks me. k back to gchizzle.

  8. Haha I do the same thing! Get there super early, just to be safe, and then hang out awkwardly for a while. For class, I’m occasionally a bit late, but usually not too badly.

  9. 9 Lisa

    PB&CO!!<3

    visited the ACTUAL sandwich place today in NYC. DELISH.
    i got ants on a log (celery sticks, raisins and PB) and the Dark Chocolate Dreams Sandwich- dk choc pb, cherry jam, shredded coconut. oh my WOW
    im totally mocking that sammie at home πŸ™‚
    hope you had a good easter =)

    • 10 snackface

      Lisa- Somehow, in the six weeks I lived in NYC, I never made it to PB+Co heaven! What’s wrong with me? Oh well, next time!

  10. I always find that the elliptical makes me sweat like crazy! More than the bike and the treadmill sometimes! What’s up with that? I’m an early bird too, dear. Have a great night! Good luck with all your work!

  11. What a day, what a day, what a day! Kinda like mine πŸ™‚

    I am unfortunately less than punctual. There is a clause, however, for one-of-a-kind events, like a show, or only-chance ones, like an interview when I’m always at least 15 minutes early so that I can mentally prepare myself for what is to come. Otherwise, I’m usually rushing, a little frazzled, and manage to be within a 5-minute late time span. Unless, it’s a frequent thing that I’m tired of being the only one on time to, like my Spanish class, for which I’ve gotten into the habit of only leaving my house 2 minutes before I’m supposed to set foot in the room. Trial and error πŸ˜‰ and next time there’s a D+K thang, I promise not to keep you waiting, even if you do have the Union Square Whole Foods to keep you company.

    As for the hunger, if I’m busy, I’m not, if I’m bored, I am. Eat those (poor-excuses-for) bagels up soon lovely!

  12. 13 Nicole G

    I used to be known for always being late – I’m my mother’s daughter no doubt. In the past couple of years I have become more punctual and do my best to be on time. It’s one of the positive developments of ED πŸ˜‰

    This morning, however, I woke up late. I hate being rushed but luckily my job is understanding and pretty laid back so I didn’t have to rush too much.

    Good luck with your reading!
    Nicole G

  13. I’m so glad I’m not the only one disappointed with bagel thins! What a let down! Even the everything flava does not make up for the fact that it’s just a darn sandwich thin. Even toasted it’s nothing special at all. That apple with peanut butter looks drool worthy though!

    • 15 snackface

      Jessie- I knew it’d taste just like a sandwich thin; I’m sure you did, too! We are just so foodie we had to try em! Oh well!

  14. Wow…all these comments from punctual girls are making me feel bad. I am always late. I NEED to work on that.

    Looking at all your food makes me hungry!!!

  15. 17 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    haha i like to be early but sometimes i’m late- it is bad!! & love your comment about the bagel thins, i just purchased them (not sure why) and i really don’t see the point..but i like sandwich thins so whatevvs.

    xoxo
    shelley

  16. 18 Kate G.

    It’s been forever since i’ve commented so i feel super random just popping in right now but i was totally let down by the bagel things too!!!! ugh no bagel flavor at all 😦

    i am always SO aware of my appetite when i am at home/ not busy enough. But on days when my schedule is full i never do!

    timing wise i can’t remember where i heard this but it goes something like “if you’re not running 5 minutes early you’re running 15 minutes late”. Or something like that haha! but that’s basically what i follow, i HATE being late.

    • 19 snackface

      Kate, dahhling- Never feel random commenting! I love it no matter how regular/irregular it is! Ya know, the bagel thins just make me crave real bagels. That’s all. Get me back to NYC for the real deal! And I love that saying–it’s so true!

      • 20 kateroseg

        bah you are awesome for always responding to my sporadic comments, much appreciated girl πŸ™‚ !

  17. First thought when i saw the photo of your breakie… “damn, she hopped on the damn bagel wannabe train and is gonna pretend they’re even slightly reminisent of doughy NYC gloriousness.” So proud of my snackfizzle for keeping it real and honest (par usual), telling it like it is… these things are imposters. Although I have celiac and couldnt eat em anyway, my pops bought them from costco two weeks ago and needless to say, one of them has been eaten while we’ve managed to buy a couple dozen of the real deals from a local bagel bakery that have been completely dominated… interesting. I gave my brother the idea to pretend that they were meant to be halves of bagels and use two of them to create a slightly more appealing sammie (still lacking the necessary doughyness, but one must choose his/her battles in the name of avoiding waste). Other option… bagel chips. Like big toasty bagel chips browned in oven with evoo, gawwwlic salt perhaps, onion pep, parm? Dipped into sabra? just thoughts, worth experimenting.

    you. kick. arse. period.
    peace out kid.

    ps: “patty” is a word that always reminds me of cow poo (obviously im a vermonter) and those spirulina beauts are uncomfortably similar in appearance and description to the fecal matter which nauseates me every day I drive by local farms. The worst part about all of this is that I still REALLY want to try one. I worry about myself sometimes/most times.
    MA

  18. whatta busy Tuesday ya got tomorrow!!

  19. ummm is it wrong that i automatically assumed you named this post after liz gilbert and eat, pray, love? i think not.

    love the snackage, the verbage, the eatage and the youage.

    hells to the yah for spastic, happy monday moods! i happen to be in one of those myself…love you girl. CHAT TOMORROW…its a MUST!!!!!!!

  20. Hey hey! i love ur blogg! =) ive been meaning to start one for a while but i keep procrastinating….
    yes i am tardy for the party lol, as in fashionably late but when it comes time for clizzass im 10 min early because i dont like to walk in late at my college, you get the death stare from teachers haha. & yes maam, when im chillaxin at home i eat like a hungrary hungray lil hippo! haha

  21. 25 Amanda

    Love the blog, but don’t comment often! I tried the bagel thins, too – I like them for sandwiches and burgers, etc. when you want a large filling to bread ratio, but for a morning carb, they’re pretty weak!! I randomly thought of you today (creepy? sorry!) when I was reading Runner’s World at the gym and there was a grammar mistake that I got giddy over finding (“forget to BREATH” .. not the same as breathe.) Anyways, just wanted to make sure that you’re aware that the Glee cast will be on Oprah this Wednesday! I know I’m taping it πŸ™‚ Have a good week!

    • 26 snackface

      Amanda- Hahaha thanks for thinking of me when spotting a grammar mistake! That cracks me up! And I just missed today’s Oprah 😦 I’ll make sure MamaJ saves it for me!

  22. I totally do the arrive way too early that it’s almost awkward and have to hide out somewhere! All your food today looks SO good…I love that soup too, one of my favs.

  23. 28 jessica

    Bagel thins were totally disappointing. …. eat, write, eat not a shabby way to spend the day.

    What kind of self tanner have you had success with? ? Always looking for a good suggestion of one for my ever so fair skin πŸ™‚

    Jessica C.

    • 29 snackface

      jessica- Eating + writing really are my two favorite things! The self-tanner I’m using (the only one I’ve ever used) is Jergen’s Natural Glow. It hasn’t gotten streaky on me, but I have forgotten to apply it to my feet. It’s rather humorous.

  24. That Lil’Wayne reference cracked me up. I don’t think he was talking about a wrapper, but maybe a rapper. πŸ˜‰

    I always arrive mega early, at least 15 min no matyter what it is.

    • 31 snackface

      Crystal- Muffin and I have had a legitimate 30-minute debate on whether he means “wrapper” or “rapper.” You’re probably right!

  25. i am just hearing the same noise about these bagel thins and i have a bag of them ive yet to crack open. i wonder if they will take em back so i can get my two dollas. ha! yay for being assoc editor! you are so baller. love you lots! have a great tuesday!

  26. I love that you wrote “boh”! LOL. Did you study Italian? Italians are masters at using that word :-).

    • 34 snackface

      Marika- As a matter of fact, I studied Italian for a year! I LOVE it and have always wanted to use “boh” in a post. It may be a regular thang now.

  27. 35 Little Bookworm

    Congrats on being associate editor! πŸ˜€

  28. Sadly, I’m running late most of the time. For super important things (interviews and the like) I’m usually WAY early, but for everything else, I’m scrambling out the door at the last minute.

    Congrats on the mag posish!

    Love that you rolled with SnackFacery. Not impressed with the bagel things either…boo.

  29. I try to be on time always but sometimes stuff happens (or I procrastinate…. ahah) so yeah, sometimes I’m tardy to the party. :p

  30. 38 Kate

    Definitely on time to everything!! Usually 30 minutes as well, however there were some classes back in college that I was sprinting to just to make it on time (think: trying to finish a paper last minute cause I forgot about it). But I hate being late and I used to hate waiting for people but use it now to catch up on phone convos with my family or exploring where we’re meeting at. πŸ™‚

  31. I am always on time for class and business, but a little more lax socially. Friends get it.

    As for appetite…usually the only thing to make me hungrier is exercise.

  32. 40 Jil

    Wait, they have (or are making??) a blue cheese Laughing Cow?!! I just did a little happy dance!! When I’m home all day, my hunger is off the charts…mostly I think because of boreeeeedom and because it’s like “Oh, hey fridge – stop staring at me!” alll day long. And…I’m always early to things …without fail. Usually if I’m panicked about being late…it’s actually about being late for being early…haha

  33. sunshine makes EVERYTHING better, no? i recently started my self tanner regiment again and dang, that stuff works. i’m so glad i’m not offensively pale anymore!

    i’m always on time, and get anxious if i think i’m going to be late. SUCH a mom move.

  34. OMG – such delicious eats!
    I need to try crunchy PB ASAP!
    Looks oh-so-good!
    πŸ˜€
    Have a wonderful week, girl!
    Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
    Gabriela

  35. “Don’t be tardy for the party. Ohhh Ohhhhh”

    haha, nice RH reference. Go Kim, Go Kim! Can’t wait til Hot-lanta stsrts up again πŸ˜‰

    To supa important stuff I’m always early, but for class, work, etc. I’m usually exactly on time or running about 2 mins behind..whoops!

    Have a FAB day love! Can’t wait til you get my package!! πŸ˜‰

    -Lauren

  36. 44 Natalie

    im usually on time wherever i go, unless of course i am going with my grandmother, in which case we are 3 hours early. i love old people. they know how to do it. πŸ™‚

  37. 45 elise

    thanks for the schedule…its good to know…now that its posted, make sure you bring mace seen in yesterdays post, haha

    lick the wrapper, heyooo

  38. haha i’ll be late to my own wedding!! promise!

  39. Love your blog!

    I’m definitely super early for EVERYTHING. I have a phobia of being late, because everyone looks at you when you walk in. And of course, I’m clumsy and usually end up making as much noise as possible! haha

    Have a great day!

  40. I try to get places just a bit early so I don’t stress about being late. What exactly is a spirulina patty, it looks almost like a brownie?

    • 49 snackface

      runnerforever- I am awful. I don’t really know what it is, but it reminded me of the Amazing Grass chocolate-covered bars. It’s almost like a chocolate-covered Larabar that has some green in it! It was delicious, I swear.

  41. I always FEEL like I’m always running behind. But I always pull it off and arrive to (important things/meetings/appointments/sessions) about 5-10 minutes early.
    Good luck with the busy schedule today!

  42. Im usually right on time for all of my stuff. I like to get where ever im going a few minutes early so i have time to prep myself. Add a little extra gloss action… you know πŸ™‚

  43. I am always ridiculously early, it’s quite pathetic.
    LOOOVE Dark Chocolate Dreams!

  44. 53 KC

    I like to think that I’m always on top of things… but sometimes I’m not:)
    Definitelyyyy agree. Busy= forgetting about my appetite, not busy= hmmm what’s in the kitchen????
    I love the Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter! Have you tried White Chocolate Wonderful?? So good

    • 54 snackface

      KC- White Chocolate Wonderful is gasms in a jar. I may like it more than DCD. Gasp!

  45. I’m always too early. I guess I stress sooo much about getting things done that I start on them right when I wake up…ending in too much time to handle!

    Love your lunch snacks!
    xoxo
    Maggie

  46. i’ve tried those bagel thins and thought they were good (not like a bagel good) because they didn’t get soggy like my arnold’s thins to with my veggie sandwiches out in the field.

    and i always try to be 5 minutes early. which means i leave for everything with a full 1/2hr to spare.

  47. Okay.. I am obsessed with your plates, where did you get them? They are too cute. I always get the Trader Joe’s kettle corn too.
    In response to your questions…. I am always 5 minutes early, usually too early to be honest. Also when I am at home all day I always snack my face off, I can always find an excuse to keep on eating.

    • 58 snackface

      Candace- Thanks for the plate love! They are from Target!

  48. You’re a mad working woman. I wish I had your productivity skills! It must be all your crazy delicious snacks that help plow you through. I always get extra “hungry” when doing the school work thang. It’s the procrastination talking, it’s such a persuader.

    I’m tardy for the party but timely for life. I almost always show up a little early to classes and anything semi “important”, and I’m usually pretty timely/slightly early if meeting people places etc. When it comes to stuff like the actual partay, going out etc, my poor closest friends suffer a little waiting for me. I might be a little (lot) tardy getting ready… I can’t help it though, I always have to have my own solo dance party while prep and primping!

  49. for impt things I am always early, I take after my dad in that way, hes crazy we would always leave for the airport with HOURS to spare…I guess it just calms his nerves, so DR appointments or things like that I am always early, but if it is just a ho-hum errand or smoething I tend to run a tad late, but not overly late…i try to be punctual…ahh ssummer is SO in the air, love the corona in one hand πŸ™‚ orange is a stellar color on you!

  50. Haha! I am always early….even when I am running behind!

    I love apples and peanut butter, I swear I could eat them all day long everyday! But I don’t…..pb isn’t that good for me 😦 Boooooooo!!!

    XXOO


Leave a Reply

