I Call ‘Em April Babies, Cuz They Fools

02Apr10

What up, boos! How was your April 1? Honestly, I’m not into the April Fools’ Day thang. Not only am I not a prankster, but I’m also a really bad liar. Y’all know too much about me and would catch on in a hot second. And maybe this is rude/mean/negative, but I’m rarely amused by other pranks. I’m awful, it’s fine. I blame MamaJ for the dry, sarcastic sense of humor. (My crudeness goes unaccounted for.)

Negative Nancy pants aside, I had a marvelous April 1! After yet another horrid night of sleep, I rolled out of bed for a refreshing breakfast:

Curreal and Koffee.

In the bowl: mix of TJ‘s fiber twigs, kamut puffs, Jay Robb brown rice protein, almond milk and strawbeezies. It was too heavy of the protein powder, but I stilled enjoyed the crispness:

Missed you.

I first had my English class, American Fiction Writers. We’re working on DeLillo’s Libra, and we talked about the first 30 pages for two hours. Amazingly, there is still so much to be uncovered within those few pages. It’s a bit of a challenging read, but I like that.

Having eaten cereal at 8:30am and getting out of class at noon, my hunger was right on time for my one-hour break. I packed it up before leaving my humble abode:

Taking it back to 3rd grade.

Although, I doubt the bread I ate in 3rd grade was Ezekiel. Alongside, I packed:

Cukes and a Fuji.

Oddly enough, I could finish only the sandwich and the cucumber. Saved the Fuj. What is going on with my appetite?

Then I dashed off to Magazine Practice class. In this, we actually create a magazine, Southeast Ohio, and publish it. It’s a requirement for all Scripps magazine majors, and I’m totally excited. I get HIGH off coming up with story ideas, brainstorming with writers, writing, editing, proofing, collaborating with designers…oh, everything about magazines. We had interviews for staff positions, and I think it went well. We’ll see!

Post-magazine musings, I headed to Media Ethics for 90 minutes. I could not sit still. It was far too beautiful and hot outside:

Basking in the sunshine.

Let’s pause for a moment to examine this picture. First off, I keep it real with my Roots Canada backpack ‘urrday. Secondly, I need to work on self-tanner distribution. My legs are clearly tanner than the rest of me. OOPS. Major faux-pas. Third, from the straight line in my wrists, can you tell I was a cheerleader+dancer? Moving on.

For dinner, I joined Muffin and her little broskie for some Mexican deliciousness. I have had a serious craving for tortilla chips with a margarita for months. I don’t even remember the last time I had a marg. In fact, it had been so long that I forgot how huge they are:

Almost the size of a cantaloupe.

For my entrΓ©e, I ordered vegetarian fajitas:

Le veg.

The fixins.

It was ridiculously good. I made a decent dent, but still had a lot left on the plates. The chips, though? Don’t doubt my abilities. Dominated.

I spent the rest of the night with Muffin and her bro, who rocked out my stunna shades:

He calls 'em April babies, cuz they fools.

Made me wish MattyRich were here!

I also had a capella practice for a short hour, but joined the kids afterward. Now I’m heading to bed! Must get up early to read a play in time for my 11am class. I haven’t had a Friday class in at least a year! Someone’s been very spoiled.

I wish you all the most incredible Fridays! Much love!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What’s your sense of humor like? Who do you find funny/ not funny?
As I stated above, I have a dry, sarcastic sense of humor. Oh, and I find crude things to be hilarious sometimes, too. (As if you couldn’t already tell—see every “ball” reference.) I adore British comedies (Calendar Girls, for example), mocumentaries (Drop Dead Gorgeous) and also lighter/guy comedies like The Hangover and Wedding Crashers. People who crack me up every time are Chelsea Handler, Jim Gaffigan, David Sedaris and MamaJ. And Weezy. (And re-reading this, it sounds like an eHarmony profile.)

P.S. Post title can be found in Lil’ Wayne’s Mr. Carter.

57 Responses to “I Call ‘Em April Babies, Cuz They Fools”

  1. 1 You're Pretty

    Kailey,
    First, you’re gorgeous. Your worries about your tan are misconceived. I think the lighting is what makes you think your tan is messed up. You look fine to me. Oh, I have a huge crush on you, and contrary to what you think about your readers, I’m a guy. That’s all I’ve got… For your Wayne thing, this lyric always reminds me of you…

    But I love the way your jeans suck in your hip / And you walk kinda mean how you strut with a dip / And you talk kinda clean and you lick your lips / But I can’t fall for you ‘cuz I stick to the script

    Okay, smell ya later.

    • 2 snackface

      You’re Pretty- First off, if this isn’t an April Fools’ joke on me, thank you! Thanks for all the kind words and for commenting. This video was the perfect way to kick off the day, but I’m not sure if I talk kinda clean. Heavy on the kinda, light on the clean. πŸ˜‰

  2. i hear you – i don’t do april fools. don’t like being duped, nor am i duper. yep, duper.

  3. I’m super sarcastic and dry. And also exceedingly lukewarm about April Fools shenanigans. It’s just not my kinda humor either!

  4. Yumm. Those strawberries look delicious! My kind of breakfast.

  5. 6 Fi

    Im pretty dry and sarcastic i have to stay, i dont get the crude humour, does nothing for me! maybe im a bit of a prude?? ah well, im irish, and i think the americans v irish have really diiferent senses of humour. xx

    • 7 snackface

      Fi- I hung out with a huge group of Irish boys over the summer, and I think the humors are slightly different. Actually, they were boys and I don’t even think they were that crude. CRAZY.

  6. 8 Hattie

    Your sense of humour is so British! Mine is exactly the same… dry and sarcastic. Typical Brit. πŸ™‚

  7. 9 Maria

    Don’t feel bad. I’m totally not into April Fools either. Bah!!!

  8. Love the summer outfit! πŸ™‚

    Isn’t it glorious to wear shorts in APril?!?! πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a wonderful Friday dear.

  9. I have a pretty sarcastic, dry sense of humor, too. I am bad at playing tricks on ppl tho. πŸ™‚ Loving the warm weather, too! πŸ™‚

  10. I love that beautful weather was felt ’round the world. 83 in Chicago! yessss I found this video on MSN..thought you’d enjoy it:’

    http://www.bing.com/videos/watch/video/singing-his-way-to-the-prom/20vjzlv4

    • 13 snackface

      Michaela- OMG that video took me straight back to high school honors’ choir! I loved it, thank you!

  11. Margs!! Perfect drink for a day like yesterday. My sense of humor is pretty dry as well, and my jokes are horrible. I like witty humor- the smarter and nerdier, the better. Think Seth Cohen circa The OC.

    That magazine class sounds awesome! Enjoy your class today and have a great weekend gorgeous girl!

  12. 15 Jil

    I’ve been craving tortilla chips + pineapple salsa something fierce…this weekend mayhaps…. haha Love that the weather finally turned around – it was gorgeous here! …but unfortunately not shorts weather. Love the sandalsss!

  13. Looks like a great day ya had!!

  14. I always have a hard time with April fools- with making the jokes! I fall for them easily:)

  15. 18 Lu

    I don’t like April Fool’s Day. I have a prankster for a boss and I was convinced he was going to do something to me yesterday. I have a dry sense of humor. Not goofy at all and I’m super sarcastic. Love the post, as always. “The Hangover” = Funniest Movie Ever!

  16. 19 Whit

    I am SO SARCASTIC!! [I personally don’t think April Fools jokes are too funny either] My dry humor normally soars right over everyone else’s head. 😦 I get the B-word a lot.

  17. The picture of you in the sun is so funny! 3rd grade lunches are the best πŸ™‚

  18. I don’t really have that much of a sense of humor- for stupid humor at least. I’m more of a sarcastic person, I don’t fall for tricks that often

  19. 22 Erin

    I’m usually not a commenter but I had to! My manfriend is out of town so I rented Pretty Woman, Dirty Dancing, Then Hangover & Wedding Crashers! All my faves…saw you had 2 on your comedy list πŸ™‚

    Also, if you love British humor, PLEASE tell me that you have seen Run Fatboy Run (amazing) and Death at a Funeral! They are wonderous and you must rent!!!

    • 23 snackface

      Erin- OMG I LOVE Run Fatboy Run AND Death at a Funeral. Actually, Death at a Funeral is one of MamaJ’s favorites, too! I’ve even written a short story that I titled “Run, Tall Girl, Run.” Bahaha!

  20. everytime i hear about the classes u are taking i get sooo jealous!!! so while im sitting in biochem studying about some scientific discovery i have no care for…u r jazzin it up in an awesome theater/media/journalism class!!

    I dont really find certain things funny like The Office, Superbad, Dave Chapelle (sp?) etc and i wish i did find them funny becuz a lot of my friends do and i always feel like such a prude cuz i dont lol but o wellz…however I do love Friends! Wish they would bring that show back!

    -Lena

  21. Sarcastic. To the max. And vaguely offensive and twisted. I don’t think I could be a cute, giggly girl if I tried.

    The weather looks gorgeous. Hope April 2nd is just as bright!

  22. I WOULD BE ALL OVER YO PALENESS. Clearly, you work it out. Oh, and we need to discuss the possibility of me moving to cali, cali! where we can be tan, tan! and employed, employedddd together!

  23. Boy am I envious of your sun, send it to rainy ass Portland, Oregon stattt!
    And I want a margarita the size of my face…perhaps tonight, perhaps tonight.
    My sense of humour- also pretty dry- oh and I find British humour absolutely HILARIOUS (partially because I was raised in the UK during my childhood so i was subject to a lot of it). Have you ever seen the TV show Modern Family? That’s a fairly new addition to television which actually cracks me up

  24. 28 elise

    kailzzzzz. i cant do the margs (me and tequila have a tumultuous past), but thats one sweet ass way to celebrate spring and april fools. i got totally pranked by starbucks’ latest press release. 128 ounce? how am i so dense?

    sadly, your legs are like soopah tan compared to yours-truly…haha, but yeah, i think we both need to take a bath in self tanner. oh and way to rock the backpack!! girlfriend i wear it to work errrday, and yes, did i mention i am effing 27 years old. sweet.

  25. i’m sarcastic, but the word weiner makes me laugh harder than most things in life. actually, so does the word duty, and that is an entirely different issue.

  26. Dry. Cynical. Sarcastic. Kind of politically incorrect. Very British. We would get along juuuuust fine my love.

    Oh and you have made me crave a margarita and a giant burrito. Thanks a lot.

  27. That picture of you is gorgeous! You look radiant, and your tan is fine, doll. Love the sunna shades on muffin’s brother:D
    I have a dumb sense of humor. Think Family Guy, Southpark, Always Sunny in Philidelphia? What a mix.
    I don’t like April Fool’s pranks either. I think they’re mean too!

  28. 32 jeri

    yes you would be flogged for broken wrists in cheerleading. at least if you were on my squad. I ran a tight ship. πŸ˜‰

  29. I’m not much of an April Fools person either…I could take it or leave it. I have a very sarcastic sense of humor..but I myself am not very sarcastic..not sure if that makes sense πŸ™‚ I loooove Seinfeld and Curb Your Enthusiasm, and I think Chelsea Handler is hilarious too. As far as the jokes I make…they are usually pun and nerdy science jokes that nobody gets…

  30. 34 Tina

    My sense of humor is very dry and sarcastic too. It’s just more fun that way. Although, you do have to be more mindful of your victims. Some people just don’t get it!

    How cool about the magazine. That will be excellent practice and experience.

  31. hahaha…i love muff’s bro in those glasses. balla.

    i like to think my humor spans the masses – i like me some dry british humor, dumb slapstick humor, sarcastic humor, physical comedy, un-politically correct comedy – i love it all. there is no discrimination when it comes to laughing. i don’t like lame humor though, which i totally agree with you happens on april fools day. i like me something original.

    you are too cute in your summatime outfit glory! and i hope all the dramz of the past week has been resolved. ENJOY the weekend, and we’ll chat soon my love xoxo

  32. Hilarious! My sense of humor is anything out of control and hysterical and over the top. Make any sense? Lol. This post is killing me. I love the stunna shades and the title couldn’t be any better for the 1st! We be’s fools! πŸ™‚

  33. LOVe chelsea…I am not a fan of humor that happens when people are TRYING to be funny, i get a kick out of awkward situations and when people joke abotu when something happened to them that is an everyday occurance, similar to seinfeld situations or curb your enthusiasm. i Also LOVE guy movies like the hangover, almost anything with Jim carrey and FRIENDS!!!!! love your sandals in that pic! so cute….ahh teh self tanner i have a similar problem but slather on my arms, so the arms are lookin’ golden, legs-not so much!

    xo

  34. 38 Kelly

    Seeing that picture reminds me that I should be outside right now because it is absolutely gorgeous outside today!! You look like a beaut!

    I have a very sarcastic sense of humour…but I also enjoy practical jokes…when I am playing them on others, not on me! Haha.

    Enjoy your weekend!!

  35. i hope you have a repeat of that sandwich for national PBJ day today! glad you got your mail πŸ™‚ im tricky! and i love you! happy weekend, gawjuss.

  36. Ohhhh, love me some PB&J! My sense of humor is silly when I’m in a good mood and cynical when I’m cranky. I find Bill Maher to be quite amusing. I’d marry him if I weren’t married and he wasn’t sort of a jerk.

  37. 41 Amanda

    Mmm, I could live off of PB&J. For real. I’m 21, and I still have a PB&J sandwich nearly every day. It’s definitely my favorite food, and so portable!

  38. 42 Rachel

    My sense of humor has a title called “smart ass” ;). I also like fart jokes because I’m 19 going on 10, it keeps me looking youthful.

    I was watching standup from this comedian Gabriel Iglesias, too funny, I want to hug him. Anthony Jeseknik is great as well, his jokes can be so intentionally offensive but he’s SO nonchalant you just crack up.

  39. Drop Dead Gorgeous = one of my favorite funny flicks of ALL TIME!!! It’s the best!

    My sister and I live a couple thousand miles away from each other, but that doesn’t stop us from calling each other up and sharing quotes from DDG… “Who wants shots? I’m buyin’,” “AIRPORT HoJo!!!” or any of the other hilarious one liners from the movie.

    And not to mention the star power… Kirstie, Kirsten, Ellen, Allison, Denise, Iris AND pre-starlet Amy? And Brittany (RIP)? It’s a dream. And still makes me laugh my butt off, like 12 years after its release date.

    Anyhoo I am gonna have myself a ginormous margarita tonight, as well! Cheers to the weekend!

  40. um wow. i love a woman that quotes lil wayne. i have talked about lil wayne in sevverralll of my posts. haha.

  41. Honestly– I have a dry, sarcastic…and often crude/perverted sense of humor…You asked;)

    LOVE the shoes! And margarita……duh πŸ™‚

    Have a fab weekend,
    Lauren

  42. 46 Rika

    eeek you use so much plastic!.. may i recommend using nifty sandwich tupperwares? they don’t smoosh your sandwich and they’re earth friendly πŸ˜‰

    also, happy pbj day!

    • 47 snackface

      Rika- Eeek you are so right! So right, in fact, that I bought tupperware this afternoon! I was trying to use up the plastic wrap that an old roomie of mine left here. I even thought, “yuck, this is awful,” when using it. Sorry and thank you for saying something!

  43. 49 Katherine: What About Summer?

    that kid is a trip! I love it.
    I think I deliver sarcastic comments a lot but I’m trying to be more uplifting in my jokes (not at the expense of others but at the opportunity to smile with friends)
    Katherine

  44. 50 Anna

    I like to think I’m a fan of intelligent humor – my favorite TV shows include Arrested Development and Community. That’s not saying I don’t love a good dirty joke every once in a while. I love originality and sarcastic comments that I didn’t see coming.

  45. Jim Gafiggan is hilarious!!!!! I saw him live and I about peed in my pants

  46. I’d say my humor is pretty much the same as yours. I also like the cheese-factor, such as dorky puns and quick-witted responses.

    Oh, and I wouldn’t worry about the self-tanner…I’ve seen much, much worse *ahem* on myself πŸ˜›

  47. 53 Natalie

    If you haven’t already you must and I mean must rent buy love summer heights high, it’s a mocumentary about public schools in Australia. Get on it now, you will love it! If I had your address I would loan you my copy. Omg best DVD show ever. Uhhh do it. Thank me later.

  48. holler for straight arms. i was also an ex cheerleader πŸ™‚

  49. 55 justjac

    I definitely have a dry, sarcastic sense of humor too!
    Btw, I have those sandals, love em! πŸ˜‰

  50. First off, THANK you for the awesome comment you just left! Not only for the loving comment but also just that you cruised by, I missed your sweet face so much πŸ™‚ xoxo

    Onto margs the size of cantelopes, Ill take two!

    Media ethics. No way you’d know this but my hubs has had a media co. for 30 yrs. He does radio, tv, media buying, online, pretty much anything and everything the last 30 yrs. If that could ever be helpful info to you, just throwing it out there.

    And i love the pic of you so happy to be celebrating the sun…love it!

    xoxo

  51. Hey, Kailey!
    I totally get you – I’m not a huge fan of April Fool’s Day, too…
    Hehe.
    Lovely pics, though!
    You look awesome πŸ™‚
    Have a great week!
    Brazilian XOXO’s,
    Gabriela


Leave a Reply

