Justin’s Girl

01Apr10

Hello beauties! I loved reading about what brings you peace. Thanks to your positive energy, today was a bit better. That means Thursday will be golden.

I had a rough night of sleep. Between alternating laying on my right and left sides, racing thoughts and inconsistent room temperature, I was also tortured by my neighbor’s alarm. At 4am, I awoke to constant triplets of beeps. I searched my house for the culprit, yet soon discovered it was out of my control. Thankfully, I had some earplugs hidden in a drawer.

My second wake-up call was at 8am. Huge pot of coffee very necessary. I caught up on emails and reading for theater, and finally made breakfast at 9. Why I’m being so time specific, I have no idea.

I was excited to finally try Justin’s Maple Almond Butter, as I’ve seen it around the blogworld forever! Immediately, I adored its drizz-ability:

Justin's bowl.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1/2 banana, 1 T ground flax, 1 C water, apple pie spice and Justin’s Maple buttah. Gorgeous:

Git. It.

Now, what I’m about to say is shocking. It didn’t taste maple-y at all! Either my taster was off, or my expectation for maple flavor was too high. The almond butter is smooth, luscious, slightly sweet, but I couldn’t detect a distinct maple flavor.

Despite the maple malfunction, I was completely satisfied with breakfast. An hour later, I made my way uptown to spend $105 on books ($250 less than last quarter–hollaaa). Then I chilled in Theater History for an hour. Hour-long classes seem so short now that I’m accustomed to two-hour classes.

The gym is conveniently located five minutes away from my class location, so I skipped over there for a solid workout. Somehow, I spent almost two hours at the gym. Creepy. Just the usual elliptical, arms and abs. Felt A-mazing.

My trip home was very social. First stopped by Muffin’s, then chatted it up with MamaJ and later conversed with a neighbor/ high school friend. He informed me that if I drive to the gym before 9am, I can escape parking tickets. I’m pumped about this. Early workouts are my fave.

I didn’t want to wait until after a shower to eat, so I snacked in my stank:

SnackFace SnackPlate.

On the plate: TJ‘s balls, broccoli, pineapple, carrots, TJ‘s spicy hummus and some sweet n’ spicy mustard. My stomach felt funky all day, and I wanted something light and scrumptious. Done and done.

The shower finally happened and I dressed in:

The lovely Justin's shirt! And I'm a goddess with no makeup--sorry, friends.

Perhaps this is a Justin-heavy post. What can I say? I’m just a Justin’s girl now.

After this, major G-chatting happened, even more major trying to not do homework happened…and two hours later, I finally decided to be studious. And snack-ious:

Don DeLillo's Libra and peanut butter-filled pretzels. Because they naturally go hand-in-hand.

I read thirty pages before I took a big snooze. I’m sure lying in bed to read did not help my attempt at getting work done. Meh.

Much like an infant, when I awoke from my nap, I was ready for dinner. Finding a satisfying dinner was almost as challenging as finding a nice boy to talk to. Wait. Nice man to talk to. (Do those exist?)

First up, I wanted to use up baked beans:

Half a baked sweet potato with half a serving of vegetarian baked beans.

But it tasted like soap! I tried to eat as much of it as I could, but some of it got tossed. Unsatisfied, I hoped this would be better:

Nooch-ified millet.

Disgusting. I cannot get behind millet. Only one bite, and this got trashed. I despise wasting food, but I also despise suffering through a meal. So finally, I turned to a grain I knew wouldn’t fail me:

Savory oats.

In the bowl: 1/4 C oats, 1 C water, 1 T nooch (nutritional yeast), pepper, hot sauce and corn. I guess that’s two grains?

Now I need to muster all the motivation within me to finish homework! Tomorrow is going to be in the 80’s. Who’s wearing booty shorts with me?

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Have you ever been slightly disappointed by some foodie item that you were stoked to try? If so, what was it? ALSO When it comes to dresses, skirts and shorts, how short is too short?

57 Responses to “Justin’s Girl”

  1. How cute is that Justin’s shirt?!? I am often disappointed by expensive foods I get at WF – thinds like veggies or yogurt. I was REALLY upset to hate the pumpkin Stoneyfield yogurt.

  2. I hate when my mind starts racing at night! I can be so tired, but so unable to fall asleep! I think it happens more when I’m stressed. But the oats look great! Hm…I didn’t like Dr. Praeger’s burgers as much as I thought, but I’ve only tried them one way, so maybe my opinion will change once I get fancy and creative with them.
    Have a great night, girl!

  3. 3 Tina

    I think anything above about mid thigh is pushing it on the short side. Although you are so gorgeous I bet you could pull any length off. That at least covers the goods. πŸ˜‰

    And I was REALLY disappointed in Amazing Grass stuff. Regular smoothies with spinach added are SO much better than the chalkiness the Grass adds. And I thought it would be a great addition to a shake. Nope.

  4. gahh i cant get into quinoa 😦 SO SAD! i wish i could tho!
    uhh you are freaking gorg w.out makeup..duh!
    hmm i think it depends on your environment if something is too short! ya know? and who you are with!
    LOVE YOU!

  5. I am so with you on all counts!

    1) I’m 5’9″. Everrrrything looks too short on me! My usual rule is that if a dress covers just as much as my running shorts, then I’m good. According to my mom, not good enough though haha.

    2) Been sleeping badly all year. Roomie has a snoring prob. Can’t wait to have my own apartment next year!

    3) Got some Naturally Nutty vanilla cinnamon sunflower butter, and unfortunately hated it. Everyone else loves it, though! It’s the only nut butter that I actively dislike!

  6. 6 Jenny

    You are drop dead gorgeous!!! Justin would be lucky to have ya;)

  7. 8 Whit

    Justin’s Girl = Jesse’s Girl in my mind. Used to love that jam. haha, I am a product of the eighties, what can I say?

    I tried a protein mixture yesterday that was not up my alley at all. I was not a fan.

    • 9 snackface

      Whit- That song was my inspiration for the title! Thanks for picking up on it πŸ˜€

  8. 10 Jil

    My mind does that all the time at night. Bah. Then I just have to write it all out and usually it gets whatever I’m thinking about – out of my brain and onto paper/laptop.

    • 11 snackface

      Jil- Have you been that way forever? I have! It started in 5th grade and haunts me regularly. But the writing has always helped.

  9. Yaaa for the warm weather πŸ™‚

  10. 13 Erica

    Bulgar does not satisfy me, nor is it tasty. I was sad!

  11. 14 *Andrea*

    oats twice in one day. LOVE IT! hope your stomach feels better. πŸ™‚

    • 15 snackface

      Andrea- Haha that’s true! It feels different when one set of oats is sweet and the other is savory. So good.

  12. Kailey, you look gorgeous without makeup! Don’t get me wrong, you are lovely with it…but without it you are just as beautiful if not more! πŸ™‚

    That Justin’s Almond Butter has some major drizzle action!

  13. 18 Tay

    Were those TJ baked beans?? I had them for the first time and thought they tasted of plastic!! Wasn’t sure if it just my can though…

    • 19 snackface

      Tay- No, they were good ol’ Busch’s baked beans. The beans of my childhood, basically.

  14. I see Sabra hummus all over the blog world and went to buy it and found out it has preservatives 😦 Booo.

    Same thing with Morningstar products!! I used to eat them all the time!!

    • 21 snackface

      Lauren- Oh no! I don’t really mind preservatives, but should I? Also, what brands don’t have preservatives?

  15. 22 Anna

    I’m not particularly leggy, so I don’t have a problem feeling obscene if I’m showing too much skin. I usually wear cute little bike shorts from American Apparel under anything that’s dangerously short, so if I flash someone it’s not a problem. And as long as you’re going for cute and not skanky, I don’t think you can go too short as long as your cheeks are safely hidden.

    I am so ready for this heat. I plan on doing any and all activities out in the sun this weekend. Enjoy it!

    • 23 snackface

      Anna- I’m thinking there’s a fine line between cute and skanky. Short shorts with a mesh bikini top? Cute, right? Haha, no I feel you. I always believe that if you’re showing a lot of one element, the rest of you should be relatively covered-up. I do the biker short thing, too!

  16. I’m not a huge fan of sunflower butter. 😦 I was so excited to try it because it was from a good brand name and it was quite cheaper than the other nut butters. Oh well!

  17. i’m so immature. i’m laughing bc you said tj’s balls. am i really 25 years old? not so sure.

    • 26 snackface

      christina- That’s why I call them balls. Because it cracks me up as I write it. Balls.

  18. haha. TWO foodie fails in a row? F that noise. i was not stoked to try the sweet CC again but i did for the hell of it, hated it, moving on with my life. justins maple AB is SO good, but you are right. mighty mapes has a much mightier maple flavor. ❀ you.

  19. heeeeeeeeellll yea, savory oats. they always save the day. slash i had a bowl at midnight tonight?

    im so sad millet has been failing you bc i desperately want to like it when i try it. ive had a bag for weeks and have yet to make it. annnnd now i dont really want to.

  20. How short is too short? I say as long as there are no cheeks or…you know front bits exposed (or that become exposed with rapid movements, then it’s legit ;)…I’m a big fan of booty shorts and mini skirts and itty dresses!
    Ahhh too bad the millet was disappointing, I’ve heard a lot about it in blogland- I think my biggest hyped up food disappointment was cottage cheese…I just can’t stand it…it’s weird and lumpy and…yes I think I will stick to yoghurt πŸ™‚

  21. 30 Little Bookworm

    The savoury oats look amazing, shame about the millet though! Hope Thursday is a good day and your stomach feels better! πŸ˜€

  22. 1) i have a packet of justin’s maple almond butter and have wanted to try it. i’ll evaluate the maple ness as well..

    2) snacking in stank. would make an awesome teacher.. i’d buy.. just saying!

    πŸ™‚ TGI THURSDAYYYYYYY

  23. 33 Jordy

    Of all the foodie things I’ve tried since entering blogland, I think my least favorite item has been quinoa. I’ve only made it once, though, so perhaps I should give it another try. I was sad that I didn’t like it, though. 😦 The texture is just…odd.

  24. Drizzly nut butter = heaven.

    I used to escape the parking ticket thang by gymming early in college, too. Thing is, I had to go at like 5:30…and I did! (I also didn’t workout at near the intensity I do now, which is probably why I was able to sleep-exercise.)

    Um, I snack in my stank, too. I’m always just effing starving when I get home from the gym – I can’t wait a shower’s length of time. Just read a tip in Cosmo last night for the post-workout munchies, though: Down a glass of milk. I usually end up shoveling my food in my face, so I think this tip may slow my roll long enough to shower.

  25. Sorry to hear you had trouble sleeping!! I’ve had rounds of insomnia every few months since I was a kid…super annoying. It usually stems from me being restless/anxious about something. Hope last night was better for ya!!

    I’ll admit, I’m a bit of a shorts slut. My tatas are rarely, if ever, on display (though really, what tatas?), but I’m damn proud of my legs and tend to wear microscopic shorts/dresses in the summertime. I should probably rethink that as I get older, haha.

    Chia pudding…not my thing. Much as I love chias in my oats, the texture of them straight up soaked in milk kind of made me gag.

    Hope you have a great Thursday, gorgeous!!

  26. If there is any chance you can see your butt… it is TOO short!! lol

    And foodie item. Hmm. What do I not like?? Not much. I don’t like low-carb protein bread. Or Vega bars. That’s about it!!

    xo
    K

  27. I agree with everyone else-if you can see your butt it’s too short! You would not believe some of the nastiness I’ve seen stumbling around with their goodz out on the weekends. But obviously you are not that type of girl, and I am DEFINITELY a fan of short shorts and dresses. I usually make sure to balance it out though- I think a short halter with tons of boob is much LESS sexy than a long sleeved, no cleavage, mini, mini, mini dress.

    I neeeed to try savory oats!! Also, I had Justin’s maple before and couldn’t taste the difference. I was bummed because no stores near me carry Mighty Maple.

  28. How cute are you in that shirt?! Love it! And I never would have thought to put corn and hot sauce in my oats.. genius! I’m a new-ish reader of your blog, it’s awesome!

  29. I have the same findings with Justin’s Maple AB, but love it anyway every now and then. The honey one, in my experience, never disappoints.

    I was actually kind of let down by nutritional yeast–sometimes it tastes like straight up Miracle Grow, others times it’s just sort of merely pleasant.

    And shorts can never too short if you live where I do (beach town). Show off them gams.

  30. 40 Yana

    you are gorgeous without make-up!

  31. 41 Andrea

    It’s too short if you’re constantly AWARE of the fact that it might be too short!
    Rule of thumb: if you have to consider, it might be too short!

    Why oh whyyyy does Canada not provide such yummy peanut butter which is so conveniently packaged in a packet!!??

  32. I’ve never tried anything by Justin’s but I’ve noticed that when I first open a jar of nut butter I can’t really taste it till after it’s been refrigerated. Is this weird? Maybe it’ll help with Justin

    • 43 snackface

      Caroline- Oooh, fab advice. I’m putting him in the fridge now.

  33. I am becoming an old woman and my tastes in what is too short is getting ever more conservative. But I am 26 and I genuinely think you have to tone it down as you progress out of your late teens/early twenties unless you want to look like a cheap hussy. There, I said it. Unless you are Kate Moss and then you can do whatever the hell you want.

    Having said that, my dress today is likely way too short. But it’s high-fronted and I’m wearing black tights so hopefully noone noticed?

    Haha. Love you! xx

  34. 45 Paige

    Oh savory oats, why are you so delicious? I just had them Tuesday, in fact. Drool. As for your questions, I was sort of disappointed the first time I tried couscous, because the jokers who wrote the directions on the box suggested it be made with WATER. Fools. Now that I know it needs a LOT more flava than that to be tolerable, I love it. For the skirts/dresses/shorts, I usually do the bend test, to see if I can bend over to pick something up without showing my goodies. Granted, I’m pretty short so almost everything passes this test! You gotta work those legs though girl!

    • 46 Paige

      PS If Libra by Don Delillo is anything like one of his other novels, White Noise, then good luck with that. Ugh.

  35. confession: almond butter is not my jam. there, i said it.

    i loovee savory oats – i’m thinking of picking up some nooch my next grocery trip, is it worth it?

  36. That shirt is adorable. I have to say, I was definitely NOT dissapointed by Justin’s Almond butters. One of my faves for sure.
    Love that you gave dinner three attempts. Just can’t have an unsatisfying meal! You know what’s up:D
    Hope today’s a good one for ya!

  37. Nice boys or men…umm… I think that’s a lie. They don’t exist. Period. Do I sound bitter? Perhaps…

    I hate it when you are disappointed in foods 😦 The last thing I was disappointed in was a Luna Bar. Everyone RAVES about them but it was just eh to me.

  38. If that’s you with no make-up, then you cannot complain! πŸ™‚ I am not that brave (or naturally beautiful, apparently). Good for you, girl.

    Anyways, I’m not that crazy about millet either. The other grains that I really can’t stand are teff and buckwheat.

    I was really disappointed in almond butter when I first started using it, but I realized it was because I was expecting it to taste like peanut butter. Now I love almond butter but I use it differently than peanut butter.

    Have a great day!

  39. 51 ari

    i can’t taste the maple either! i was so upset that i paid ten bucks for a jar and it wasn’t even mapley. but as i kept eating, it got better. i still can’t taste the maple, but i’m a little bit addicted to whatever the flavor is now. give it time πŸ™‚

  40. Oh I always get disappointed when meals go all wrong. I guess sometimes we are really just feeling one thing but cooking another and it doesnt work out. Love the shirt though πŸ™‚

    Maggie

  41. ugh, YES. i tried amazing grass and hated that shiz. tasted nasty. therefore, i swear to you i have never ever entered one amazing grass giveaway since then. i do not lie. you and your fresh face is all i needed to brighten my day – hope your week is going better as well love. heart youuuuu…chat soon xoxo

  42. 54 Hatty

    You are beautiful missy πŸ™‚

    What is too short? As long as the cheeks are covered ya good to go imo.
    And also sooo jealous of the heat! Can someone tell england to get sunny?!

    As for foodie foods, I just can’t get down with peanut butter/peanut anything; shocking right!? The smell alone just makes me gag :O

  43. I tried to make protein oats three different times- with three different powders, they all turned out gross in my opinion. I was SOOOOOOOOO disappointed!! For skirts- as long as you bend over and your crack or cheeks aren’t showing, then its long enough! lol

  44. 56 MamaJ

    The real question is how old is too old when it comes to wearing shorts and short skirts. Butt……. when it comes to wearing short apparel you must leave a little up to the amagination. Too little material is just advertising for,… well you know what I mean.

  45. 57 healthnuttxo

    yummmy eats todayy! that TJ hummus looks good- i love using Roasted Garlic Sabra hummus with egg whites instead of (icky) mayo (altho vegainaise is also delish!)
    hmm..something i was disappointed by..
    actually, a few
    1. sunflower seed butter. yuck yuck yuck. i know ppl LOVE it, but i got some to try and i HATED it.
    2. this new oatmeal from Country Choice, by Fit Kids, in cinnamon toast and chocolate chip (im doing a review on it soon). so bland. HOW CAN ANYTHING CHOCOLATE CHIP TASTE BLAND!?
    3. i was also disappointed by amys soy mac & cheeze. i love mac & cheeze, but it was bland. the first “3 star” rating i had to give to an amy’s brand 😦


Leave a Reply

