Expo West, Part I

13Mar10

LOVEPIES!!! I have so much to share– I am in heaven. Not only am I with the VegNews crew, whom I love and have missed, but I’m also meeting insane new people and SNACKING my FACE off. Most of this post is going to be pics of the hottest new products that you haven’t seen in stores yet! I hope you enjoy!

To start the day, the first person I met was Heather Mills. Yeah, cray cray. I knew the rest of the day was going to follow the same blow-your-mind pattern.

Just the beginning.

VN booth!

The Artisana dudes are rad. So is this new raw cashini butter!

Mary's Gone COOKIES!

Bora Bora snacks out the ying yang.

The chocolate-covered coffee flavor is out of this world. It had 10g protein and was vegan, too!

Almond Dream Bites! VEGAN!

Dangerously amazing.

Popped tortilla chips. Snacktastic.

Delish vegan, low-sugar granola.

New PB + Co. boxed mixes! (Not vegan.)

Pure bars got a face lift.

So fun!

And now, for my favorites of the day!

Betty Lou fruit and greens bars. Met the real Betty Lou and she's the cutest woman ever.

Clif CRUNCH bars!!!

I came back three times. Oops. And this is the only vegan flavor, as the other two have honey.

HOLD THE PHONE.

Coconut. Water. Sorbet. Tried mango, raspberry and lemonade-- LOVED ALL. Say hello to what I'll be eating all summer.

Larabars, what do you have in store for me?

WHAT!?! Chocolate chip brownie, chocolate chip cookie dough and...

PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE CHIP.

Cutest line of scents ever. And I mean that ever.

Love and Toast, I love you.

Cinnamon toast pretzel crisps = going to be my new addiction.

Oh, just chillin' with Jay Robb.

I think I freaked out Jay Robb. I saw him and just walked up and started a conversation. It led to his pouring samples of brown rice protein shakes for me. It was kind of adorable. And I got mad swag!

Most of the day, I dealt with crowds like this:

Packed!

And here are some stalls I enjoyed:

Amy's. Love.

Didn't sample any, but had a good chat with the VP.

After a long, hard (tehehe) day of eating and meeting (Ani Phyo, Rory Freedman), we came back to the hotel to…eat some more:

Samplings for our Best of Show awards!

And my own personal stash:

Crazy loot. How is this going to make it back to Ohio?

I cannot believe I am here, doing this. I am incredibly thankful for being able to be in Cali, sample the hottest new products, meet exquisite people and, most importantly, be with my VegNews family again.

Now I must get ready for day two!! Love you all!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Of all the pictures, what new product are you dying to try?!

97 Responses to “Expo West, Part I”

  1. Foodgasms galore! I can’t wait to try those larabars and clif bars… And the mango sorbet… And the marys gone cookies!! And what about those vegan almond dream bites? They’re vegan dibs! What will they think of next?!

  2. 2 Nicole G

    That looks amazing! You’re so damn lucky!

    I’d really like to try the Clif crunch bars. I LOVE Clif bars! But everything looks so amazing.. I don’t think I’d turn any of it down =)

    Nicole G

  3. I’d like to get a piece of you, does that work? Haha, I’m so creepy ๐Ÿ™‚ if not, I’d go for the Coconut Water, it sounds beyond incredible. Keep having the amazing time that you deserve! So happy for you!

  4. 4 Lyss

    holy.jealousy.

    i just got love&toast GIN BLOSSOM hand lotion at urban. it’s amazing. best scent ever. although i kind of wish it smelled like actual toast.

    um, larabars. in my mouth. now please. and jay robb, you can join the party.

    omg omg omg i want everything. MANGO SORBET AND ALMOND DREAMS BITES AHHHHHHHHHHH

    i need to exit this page.

  5. omg..the new larabar flavors..the mary’s cookies…All of this stuff will take FOREVER to get to Canada..but have to be patient! It all looks soooooooooooooooooooooooo amazing :D:D

    I also spot a sunflour baking co cookie in that huge pile! YUMMMMMMMMM

  6. Almond Dream Bites look fantastic!

    All of the items pictured look fantastic and I will be looking for more than a couple of them when I go shopping in the future!

    Thanks for sharing!

  7. Oh my lord! This looks like foodie heaven!!! Those larabars are ridiculous and off the chain! I gotta try one! are they selling them in stores yet?

  8. 8 elizabeth

    oh my goodness, you’re so fortunate!
    keep snacking on my behalf!

  9. 9 Sara

    OMG. OMG. OMG.

    those new lara and cliff bars look amazing!

    Hope you have an amazing time in Cali!!

    โค
    Sara

  10. holy shiznit kailey.

    jealous.

    i have no shame in admitting that. and you met rory freedman? i heart her.

    i don’t even know what i am excited to try…coconut water sorbet? new laras? artisana butter? new almond dream bites? i can’t decide. don’t make me.

    ENJOY EVERYTHANG! love youuuuuuuu

  11. A M A Z I N G !!!!! I wish I was there!!

  12. Okay the almond bites and the new Larabars—I AM SO EXCITED!!

  13. you are SO lucky girl! i’m so jealous!! i would have tried EVERYTHING at the expo! i am most excited about the pb&co mixes!! i love anything pb&co, and i can’t see how they could go wrong with cookies, brownies, and cupcakes! oh, and the coconut water sorbet – so excited!! i love that shot of you and jay robb, just chillin. just another day in the life of snackface. yep. no big deal. ๐Ÿ˜‰ i hope you have an equally (if not more) snackalicious time today!!

  14. Holy… oh my, I cannot wait to chat with you in more detail about all of this!

  15. 15 Little Bookworm

    This post is absolutely fantastic! ๐Ÿ˜€ Chocolate chip brownie larabar sounds amazing!

  16. GIRL SHUT THE HECK UP! THIS IS AMAZING!!!!
    FIRST of all-you look totally fine
    SECOND of all- YOU LOOK SO HAPPY
    third of all- THE FOOD LOOKS AMAZING! CLIF CRUNCH BARS?! you just MADE MY FLIPPIN DAY!!
    I LOVE YOU

  17. When will this stuff hit the shelves??? And more importantly…how do you get a job like this? I would love to do something like this someday soon. How can you go to those expos or even work at them? Any helpful tips for a girl going into college and wanting to pursue a career in vegan eats at some point in her life? You can shoot me an email at lemonhead10@hotmail.com!

    Thanks Kailey ๐Ÿ™‚

    Peace always,
    Katie

  18. HOW FREAKING COOL!??! I’m so jealous!!!!

  19. GAHHHHH! why didn’t you take me with you, snack facey?? i’m so glad you got to meet ani.. she’s amazing and SO beautiful.
    i can’t wait to try out all of these new products but i am scarily excited about that coconut water sorbet.
    keep having a blasty!
    xoxo

  20. 20 maren

    wow that all looks amazinggggg!!! SOOO jealous that you are there! the new larabars sound great, as does coconut water sorbet! oh and def the raw cashini butter ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. 21 Danielle

    I’m dying to try the new Larabars!!!!!!! OH MAN. YES.

  22. 22 Katie

    My jaw was literally on the floor reading this whole post! Everything looks so amazing! I hope those new Larabar flavors are in stores soon!

  23. 23 cat

    HOLY MOLY GUACAMOLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! omg omg u r one lucky gal. its like christmas for all the healthy foodies out there! its like OVERLOAD! btw, how did you get ur job with veg news? what will you be doing for them? is it like an internship?
    xoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  24. That is absolutely amazing!! I am so envious. Please teleport me there!!!

  25. 25 sheeatssheruns

    O-M-G lkasldknfd…I can barely contain myself. Dear Clif Crunch Bars and Mary’s Gone Cookies– hurry up and make it to the shelves in the C-bus!

    -Amy

  26. Holy. Effing. Sh!t. You are the luckiest food blogger on the planet right now. Cookie Dough Laras? Almond Dream bites? Mary’s Crack cookies? PB&CO COOKIES?!?!?!? WHY AM I NOT THERE?!

    Enjoy this, girl, you’re living the bloggy dream!! Can’t wait to read more about it!!

  27. I am so flipping jealous! I want to try those new Larabar flavors for sure!

  28. 28 Gina G

    ooo my goodness! i wish i was there with you! i wanna try alll of it, but above all the larabars!!!
    im so excited for you!

  29. OMG my lady. You are one lucky little duck. Thanks for sharing all the new products with us- I’ve already got my eye on a few that I will NEED to try!!

    And, this just makes me want to work for a organic food company even more….

    Can’t wait to hear about the rest of the expo. Have a blast!

    PS You and Jay Robb look quite close in the photo. Don’t go stealing HEAB’s man. I kid, I kid!

  30. 30 Susan

    I feel like I just got the hookup getting to peek at all these new products! I have to say I squealed like a little piglet when I saw the new larabar flav. Do you know when this stuff will be in stores?

    Jay Robb and you are adorbs ; )

  31. SO COOL! totally living vicariously through you. i love veg news. even considering all your celeb encounters, the most thrilling part of this post for me was the new lara flavors, drool!!! can’t wait!

  32. Oh my gooooosh what a wonderful looking time!!! I am SO freakin’ jeal.

    Can I say I want to try EVERYTHING? It all looks fabulous. But the Mary’s Gone Crackers cookies, Almond Dream bites, Popped tortillas and peanut butter chocolate chip lara bar caught my eye!

    How cool is it that you got to chill with Jayy Robb?!?!

    Love youuu

    xo
    K

  33. omg kailey! i am super jealous, looks like you are having an amazing time!
    you must be so stoked with all that swag-can’t wait to hear all your reviews!
    enjoy the rest of your trip chica!!
    jenna

  34. Girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! U are in foodblog DisneyLand!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This post is full of amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ok The new larabar flavors, holy freakingyum, the new clif bars, the Almond Dream Bites, and you meeting Jay Robb!!!!!!!!!! How cool!!!!!!!!!!! I loved this post!!!!!

    Please post again asap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Have a blast beautiful girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  35. I’m speechless.

    Can I please come with you? Pretty pleeeeease?

    You. Are. In. Vegan. HEAVEN.

  36. Love the polka dotted larabar designs and of course the FLAVAS! I hope you are enjoying food blogger heaven to the fullest! (Which of course, you ARE!) I think Heather might be kind of jealous of you and Jay Robb, watch out!

  37. 37 sarah

    wow i am so jealous!! that looks amazing! hope you had a great time:)

  38. I’m so jealous!! Everything looks so good. Have fun!

  39. Boyyyy am I jealous! Those Larabar flavours look amazing- I just wanna try ‘errrrrrrythang! Damn VegNews really hooked you up!

  40. No you did not get a picture with Mr. Sexy Hot! Come on!! Fill a blogger in, when are the new Laras and Clifs coming out!? I’m so jeal, K-baby, you have no idea!

  41. Oh i soooooooooooo wish i could try any of these but sadly in Bulgaria there are hardly any interesting snack foods and healthy packaged snacks are out of the question:((((((((. I’ve wanted to try a larabar, lunabar or clif for the longest time but the only granola bar we have here is the German CORNY and thats pretty unimpressive(quite sugary too).

  42. 42 Tay

    OMG GIRL looks fan-freakin-tastic!!!! I can’t believe you’re there having so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚ And everything looks A-MAZING. I’m dying to try the coconut water sorbet and new Lara flavors. Holy Moly. When are all these products hittin stores lady?

    Enjoy the rest of your time in the San Fran!

  43. FUN! FUN! FUN! that is all I can think of when I read your post! I can not wait to try some of those products when they come out in the stores.

  44. OMG.
    Sorbet and larabars. Easy.

    I can’t believe my eyes!!!!

  45. Oh my peas! I would die to be there! You lucky, lucky girl. I want to take a great big bite out of that….Jay Robb ๐Ÿ™‚

    Honestly though, I would give a child for a cookie dough Larabar. They made those just for me, right?

    Love you…enjoy!!!!!!!!

  46. OH. M. GGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!

    How freaking awesome is that!! I am mad jealous over here right now..but still very happy for you at the same time. That is most definitely Heaven. Live it up girl!

  47. Ridiculously amazing!! I am SO jealous! All the products look absolutely amazing.

  48. 48 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    you are the luckiest person in the world- all this food looks amazing!!! i cant wait to try those new lara bars & the clif bars..yummm โค so good

    xoxoox
    shelley

    http:/findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  49. 49 Anna

    Wow! It all looks AMAZING! I am definitely dying to try the new LARAS!!! I CANNOT WAIT! ๐Ÿ™‚ You are awesome and i LOVE your blog!

  50. THE LARABARS WITHOUT QUESTION, followed closely by those delicious-looking sorbets! I am so happy you’re having a ball–and giving us the insider’s look. This stuff best be coming soon!

  51. HomyGOSH all o’ that looks INCRED. Wow. I am currently resisting the urge to run around my house and shove my laptop into everyone’s faces whilst squealing, “LOOK AT THIS, LOOK AT THIS! FOODIE HEAVEN!” It sure sucks to be the only one who gets excited over this stuff ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You asked a mighty tough q there Snackie. How can I possibly pick? I’m tossing up between the Almond Dream bites, the amazing looking new Laras, and the Cinnamon Toast Pretzel Chips – I gotta feeling that I’d be mega addicted to those much like yourself! Sigh. WHY does Australia get none of this foodie goodness? AUS has food bloggahs, too! Heheh.

    Looks like you had the most incredible time, girlie! Can’t BELIEVE you met Rory Freedman, jealous. Can’t wait to hear more!

    xoxox
    B

  52. 52 Erin

    Dude, if you get that much more free swag today, totally buy an extra (cheapo) duffel bag and send it back non-carry-on style. That’s what I had to do the last time I went shopping in NYC :-/

    How fun!

  53. 53 elleneatsbeats

    OMG. I went to the healthy living expo in SF last year and practically ‘gasmed as I was walking around. So much fun. Super jeal of all that swag! Looks you don’t need to buy any new bars for awhile! Enjoy the rest of it!!

  54. 54 Kate G.

    oh. my god. i don’t even know what to say that just looks like SO MUCH FUN!!! ahh keep having a good time ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  55. Okay, I’m seriously jealous of you right now! I can’t wait to see some of those exciting new products in stores. I actually got to try some Rice Dream bites the other day and I was blown away, I’m sure the Almond Dream ones are equally as awesome. Great free swag, enjoy it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  56. GET THE F OUTTA HERE!!!!!!!!
    –> Whoa, excuse the french!
    Everything looks killer and you are CLEARLY living every food blogga’s (or healthy swaggaaa’s) dream right now!
    You and Jay Robb are presh. The new larabar flavors sound out of this world. I need to try that cappuccino swirl rice cream…..and the mango sorbet!
    Plus, you’re gorg. NUFF’ SAID!! Enjoy LA! I love youuu ๐Ÿ™‚

  57. this post is INSANITY. kinda jealz, but also SO HAPS you are blogging it all for us!!!
    clif crunch bars, new lara flavors, mary’s gone cookies, MEETING JAY! ahh it is all so fab.

    love u so!

  58. I just ‘gasmed/died/contemplated running to the expo right now all within the same breath. holy taleeeeeeeeedo that is the most amazing loot i’ve ever seen. When we get married does that mean I legally have rights to half your swaggie?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    so much love to you seksii mama!

  59. Ahhhh!!! Feed me!!

    Jay Robb looks exactly like he does on the PP container in real life, hahaha. I worded that weird but I think you know what I mean ๐Ÿ˜›

  60. new lara bars!!

  61. Girl, you cleaned up! Good job! The expo looks awesome but I started to think that most of that stuff is package, processed foods. Hmmmm, I guess I’m partial to making my own stuff. But, some of that is probably good in a pinch. Nonetheless, sounds like you’re having a blast, enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  62. 62 elise

    one word: JEALOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  63. Wow…super jealous. And glad that you having a fabulous time!!

    Hmmm…of everything I think I am most excited about the Cookie Dough Larabars.

  64. 64 healthnuttxo

    I WANT TO BE YOU SO BADLY RIGHT NOW. JEALOUS x 13710238127 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    lets see. i want to try the marys gone crackers cookies, the PB&CO bake mixes (OMGOMGOMG)
    the Clif CRUNCH bars (CANNOT WAIT FOR THOSE TO COME OUT BY ME!),
    the PEANUT BUTTER CHOC CHIP lara bars,
    and ANY of the new amy’s.
    seriously. i wish i was you.!!!!!

    sorry for all the capitals. i get overly excited for food. bahahhaa ๐Ÿ˜€

  65. I want those Almond Dream bites. NOW!! And that new Larabara flavor sounds incredibleeeee! And those PB & Co. mixes! Oh just send me a little of everything ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad you are having the time of your liiiife!

  66. holy crap. heaven doesnt even begin to describe that business! FUN FUN FUN!

  67. So freaking jealous!!!! All the food looks amaze plus delicious, but I am most jealous of you chilling with Jay Robb. Not gonna lie. That’s awesome, is what that is, chickie.

  68. okay i just like died ;] CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE DOUGH LARABARS AND PB CHOCOALTE CHIP AND BROWNIE CHOCO CHIP LARA’S!!! what? am i dreaming lol.. ;P when are they coming out !! hehe yayay they sound ridic good! + love the pure bar new packaging and i just bought that lizis granola, i had it once before the chocolate flav. it was amazing.

    xx
    eliza

  69. my head is exploding from all the awesomeness!! loooks amazing! shawwweeeet pics!

  70. Kailey,

    WOW! It looks like you are having so much fun! I am so jealous…I LOVE Cali! I grew up in the Bay Area myself…in Fairfield/Dixon, Ca. Both towns are about an hour from San Fran. I swear San Fran. is my all time favorite city EVER. I hope you continue to enjoy your trip! Take lots of pics of the beautiful city!

    Kayla

  71. pb & co is coming out with box mixes?!
    and you met ani phyo?!
    and you revied all those things?!?!
    I think i’m as excited for you as you are for youself, aha!

    xoxo Vera

  72. 72 Ilene

    AHH that all looks SO AMAZING! I’m pretty sure I want to try…..ALL OF IT?!?! Those larabars look SO GOOD! All of the packaging looks adorable!!!

  73. I want to try all the new larabars! YUMMY HEAVEN.

    Looks like you had a blast, and I must say, I’m very very jealous.

  74. What an amazing experience!!!

    I’d love to try the Almond Bites – they look SO good!

    And the new Larabar flavors sound delicious, too.

  75. Omggg girl, talk about a foodie haven! What a weekend ๐Ÿ˜€ So excited for you that you got to be a part of it.
    I think if I try those Almond Dream bites I might die and go to foodie heaven.

  76. Had I been at that expo, I’m pretty sure I would have thought I had died and gone to heaven!!! I want to know when those new Larabar flavors are gonna hit the grocery store shelves?!?!!? That’s what I wanna try!!!!!

    -emily http://emilyeatsclean.wordpress.com

  77. Besides wanting EVERYTHING, I’d narrow it down to the almond dream bites, coconut water sorbet, cashini butter, and those larabars! But I’m pretty sure I’d be happy if I had any of those products in my pantry!

  78. Jeez Louise!
    Youยดve been to FOODIE HEAVEN!
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    Amazing pics, girl. Iยดm sure youยดve had a BLAST! Iยดm jealous… Haha.
    Have a terrific week!

  79. 79 Magdelene

    THAT. IS. HEAVEN.

    (what did you talk to mr oikios about? did he say anything about the dairy cows? are they well treated? hopefully the cows graze around in a large green happy pasture somewhere in europe, so i can try some of da yogurt!)

    anyway…

    LARABARSSSS.

  80. 80 Magdelene

    oh double post but,
    if i had to choose, i would cart the whole larabar booth back home ๐Ÿ˜€

  81. OMG. OMG. I’m pretty sure that is my dream to be in a place like that!! As i was going through you photos I was getting more and more excited!haha I would say i’m a Cliff Bar girl at heart : ) But EVERYTHING looks delicious!!

  82. ahh def. the larabars! but it looks like the new ones have sugar as an ingredient, boo.

  83. 83 Triple N Stephie

    OMG OMG OMG OMG!!! I am so envious!!
    I’d love to try every single thing in that place! You are so lucky!
    I can’t even get half the regular treats most bloggers have (like Fage :(, Clif Z, many Larabar flavors…and tons!) because Canada don’t have them and you would never know how jealous I am right now!

  84. 84 H

    YOU ARE SO LUCKY!!! I’m so happy for you, darling. [: You aren’t taking ONE SECOND for granted, I know, and I hope you have the best time!!!

    How on earth did you get in with the VegNews family?!

  85. 85 Christina

    I am dying to try the raw cashini and cacao butters AND the low sugar granola! Holy YUMMMMMM!

  86. 86 Jeff

    The new Larabar flavors will arrive to the marketplace late July/August. They are delicious!

  87. DANG GIRL. you are officially ahead of the pack tryin’ all these new things! glad you are having the best time…….also jay robb looks identical to sean penn, no?

  88. 88 Jamie

    maybe this is a stupid question, but how do you find out about these food expos? Do you know if they come to the East Coast, around Pittsburgh, PA?

  89. chocolate chip lara bars?!?!?!?! OMG and the coconut water sorbet ahhh I want it all and cannot express my jealousy of you!!! and that pic of you and Jay robb, I ssmiled ear to ear!

  90. Coco water mango sorbet is calling my name. Holy love. Looks like a fab time!!

  91. 91 Sara

    Wait, I’m literally dying. I had like 5 heart attacks seeing those pictures. JAY ROBB?! CHOCOLATE CHIP LARABARS? girl, i hope you snackfaced your life into oblivion you are SO lucky!!! congrats on being amazing.

  92. Holy. CRAP. You are officially the most envied person in the blog world.

  93. girl you made out like a bandit… i agree youre prolly the most envied blogger out there!!!!

  94. This is INSANE. It’s definitely the Larabars I cannot WAIT for.

  95. OH EM GEE! Yes please! ๐Ÿ™‚


  1. 1 Pretzel Crisps at Expo West 2010 « Pretzel Crisps
  2. 2 Down 2 Earth Expo Recap « Your Kind of Salad

Leave a Reply

