Back in Athens, But…

09Mar10

Not for long! I’ll save that for the end of the post. ๐Ÿ˜€

How were your Mondays, puddings? Mine was all over the place!

It started in my little wonderland of a home in Cincinnati. With all the strength in me, I fought every urge I had to stay home and drove off to Athens at 9:30am. After breakfast, of course:

Delovely.

In the bowl: Cheerios, Honey Bunches of Oats and almond milk. This wondrous mix made me wonder why I stopped eating plain bowls of cereal for breakfast. Oh, right. It’s been colder than a well digger’s hiney for the past several months. (MamaJ-ism right there!)

The car ride to Athens was, to say the least, painful. While it was strikingly gorgeous, I did not have the energy. Enter my belting to Ella Fitzgerald Sings the Jerome Kern Songbook. My favorite album of all time…Love.

At 11-ish, I looked to another natural remedy to perk me up:

Spillage. Superfood fail!

I finally grew a pair and horked over (made up phrase– it happens) the $1.29 for a packet of Amazing Grass. Not only do I not recommend trying to pour it into a water bottle whilst driving, but I also don’t recommend mixing it with solely water. That is, unless you enjoy gritty grass-flavored sludge. I mean, if that’s your thing, I support you, for you are stronger than I am. This would have been fabulous in a green smoothie, but with water? Gag central.

Instead, I drove under the arches for something I knew wouldn’t disappoint:

McD's, save me.

There is one thing and one thing only I order at the Golden Arches: Diet Coke. Sweet, cancerrific Diet Coke.

I made it safely to my shack in Athens by 12:30pm, and by 12:45, I was eating (duhz):

Leftover lentil soup. Still delish.

Can we talk about the word leftover for a sec? So, leftover as a noun is one word. However, you could say “That unopened peanut butter was left over a period of time.” Or something. Basically, I’m pretty sure leftover(s) as a noun is one word. OK, sorry. I just had that conversation with MamaJ over the weekend. Donezo.

With the soup, I noshed on a bit of zeese:

Grapes and a Laughing-Cowed piece of bread.

Then I chit-chatted online for a bit, caught up with my ladies and gents. Eventually, I got my bootay into high gear and trotted to the gym.

After the 20-minute walk there, I ellipticalled for 50 minutes of intervals. Then, like the loon I can sometimes be, I hit up the treadmill. Curious to see how long it would take me to run one mile, I did tha damn thang. What is a good running speed? I have no idea! I ran at a 2 incline and 6.0-6.2 pace for a 10:13 mile. How do you marathoners and half marathoners do it? Y’all’s crazy.

Extremely, stankily sweaty, I then bopped to Media Law for my second to last class. Can I get an amen?

When I left the Scripps building at 5:15, I was borderline hangry. Nay, there was no borderline. (And where did nay come from?)

I attacked the kitchen in search of what I really wanted: huge spinach salad with loads of veggies, faux meat and hummus. Wouldn’t that have been fab? Unfortunately, I have no produce and won’t be buying any this week (you’ll see why in a bit). This meant I had to actually cook:

Spinach, black beans and quinoa, covered in hot sauce and nooch.

Beans and quinoa? Great. Once-frozen, then thawed and boiled spinach? Disgusting. I guess I wasn’t meant to get my greens! It was so reminiscent of snot that I had to throw it out.

Unsatisfied from beans and quinoa (should that be filling?), I moved on:

Amazing Fuji with crunchy peanut butter.

For dessert, I had the last of the Kashi Go Lean Crisp. Finally, satisfaction was met.

The rest of the night consisted of choir practice and some more cereal. I can’t help this addiction! Now, though, I’m feeling some stress about what I have to accomplish this week. Let’s take a gander:

Tuesday: Short essay due, short novel read; interview on-camera for journalism school about SnackFizzy Productions
Wednesday: Huge film paper due; last Media Law class; drive home to Cincinnati
Thursday: HOP ON A PLANE TO CALIFORNIA TO JOIN THE VEGNEWS CREW!!!!!!
Friday: Expo West 2010
Saturday: Expo West 2010
Sunday: Expo West; take red eye home to Cinci
Monday: Drive back to Athens for FINALS WEEK

As you can see, there’s a lot of insanity and amazingness going on this week! I am so thankful and so blessed to be joining VegNews this weekend. For newer readers, I interned with VegNews over the summer and absolutely fell in love with the people, the magazine, the writing and editing, San Francisco, the veg lifestyle— VN holds a huge place in my heart.

While I’m with them this weekend, we’ll be reporting about all the fabulous new veg products we find at the Natural Products Expo on VegNews.com. This also means I’ll be in SnackFace heaven, and that I’ll be blogging all about it. I CANNOT WAIT!!!

Alas, I must return to my schoolwork! I’m not even sure I’ll be sleeping until the plane ride to Cali! I don’t mind one bit.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: For runners and treadmillers: How fast is your mile? What pace and incline do you run on a ‘mill? AND Do you feel off if you don’t get any greens in a day? AND Was I super spastic in this post? (You don’t have to answer that…)

50 Responses to “Back in Athens, But…”

  1. 1 Brooke

    YAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Susan

    That sounds like an awesome trip! Basically a dream come true for a snackface like yourself. And I cannot wait to hear your commentary on the travelling and the eats : )

  3. 3 Alice

    My fastest pace is about 8.2 (in a 5k race last year). Won’t be winning any marathons with that, but I’m cool with it!

    For some reason I’ve never been able to go that fast during a regular treadmill run, unless I am full on SPRINTING ( and I think I’ve lasted about 1 minute at that, too!) Weird..I thought treadmills were supposed to be easier?

    Boiled spinach like that makes me shudder, too..uggggh.

  4. 4 MattyRich

    You better have cleaned up your spillage or ill make you clean the whole car when you get back missy!

  5. 6 Jenna

    Omg Congrats girl!!
    That’s awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sounds like a fun day! Not at all spastic (at least I hope not, because it’s about on par with my trains of thought most days!)

    I’m a slowpoke runner, I can do a 10 minute mile but I’m much better at dawdling along at 5.5 mph when I do a longer (3 miles or more) run. Alas, some of us aren’t built for speed.

    • 8 snackface

      Faith- I’d be right there with you, dawdling along, taking our time, chillin and chattin!

  7. 9 lindsayruns

    crazy week! I haven’t clocked my mile run in a long time. I should try and see what it is…

  8. I like to run at a .5-1.0 incline at around 6.5. Sometimes if I’m feel really energized I can go at a 7.0 pace but my head’s gotta be in the game. Sad about the spinach… I hate not getting my greens in.

  9. 11 Adam

    That is so amazing! Can’t wait to read all about it, and treadmills suck (PERIOD)>. Running outside not only builds different muscles but i have this theory that fresh air running and actually getting somewhere produces better results in the “long run”. Okay that wasn’t too funny… but i find that when i am training a client, i never tell them to use the incline on a mill while running, rather work on their speed. Incline is meant for a slower pace training method (in my opinion), but that is pretty impressive if you ran a mile at that pace after 50 mins on the eliptical! We had a hilarious contest last year at the club that i work at to see who could run the fastest treadmill mile… Needless to say, anyone going faster than 11 mph looks like a huge idiot! I usually find that i stick around the 8.5-9 range on my outdoor runs. I get so bored inside.

  10. My fastest mile is under 5:30, but I’m a college cross country and track runner, so it’s supposed to be that way haha.
    On treadmill, I usually go between 7 & 8, depending on mileage and time.

    • 13 snackface

      Molly- YOU ARE A BEAST!!! Wow, that mile is frighteningly fast! Do you run long distances at that pace, too?

  11. 14 Cel

    On the treadmill I usually toggle between 6.5-8.0 mph at a 1-2% incline. I find running on a 0% incline a bit uncomfortable (like you are running downhill). I run at a similar pace outside, but find I get a better workout. I haven’t done a mile test run since junior high though, I need > mile to warm up and get out the kinks!

    I find your ellipticalling pretty impressive! I am terrible at getting in my crosstraining.

  12. your finals come so much earlier than mine! i have to wait all the way until the end of april.. ugh.
    anywho, i only wish i could go thru mcD’s and just get a drink, ha!

    xoxxox
    Vera

  13. 16 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i used to be so fast on the treadmill.. i would do liek 6.9 or 7 but now i’m back to 6.2ish.. not bad, but just not as good ๐Ÿ™‚ and yayyy for going to vegnews! that’ll be so funn. love your dinner too ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxoo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  14. Sounds sooo exciting about VegNews…and your on camera thing ๐Ÿ™‚
    Sweeeeeeet.
    Definitely laughed at your little leftovers rant ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. 18 elizabeth

    woooo enjoy! sounds like an amazing experience!

  16. Oooo Enjoy!! I’m so with you on all the study this week!! I have three papers due and an exam. I am not peaking, I am not peaking, I am not peaking. Okay, maybe a little.

  17. That is so exciting! Always makes the week go quicker when you have something to look forward to. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. SOOOO exciting about VegNews!

    I have no idea what my pace would be if I tried to run my fastest for a full mile, but most of my runs are around a 9:30/pace.

  19. What an amazing adventure!

    I used to be a speed demon, running 7.0-8.5 the whole run… now I chill between 6.5 and 7.0, usually. Incline 1-3%, however I’m feelin’ it.

    xo
    K

  20. Oh my gosh, you’re going to have so much fun! Can’t wait to see all the pics ๐Ÿ™‚ My running consists of anywhere between a 9 and 10 minute mile for around 5-6 miles. I’m comfortable with that and burn lots of calories ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not a racer by any means.

  21. 24 Jamie in Arkansas

    I’m a runner, but I can’t hack the DREADMILL. I have to run outside!! We have braved the 15 degree, 20mph winds, sleet and freezing eyelashes this winter just to get our mileage in and avoid the DREADMILL!! Our pace for marathon/half marathon is about an 8:50 pace. If were training for a 5K or 10K, our pace is sub-8 minute. Depends on the race. But, yeah, the DREADMILL is the pits and I only do it when I’m forced (which is not often). I can run 15 outside, but 3 miles is about all I can handle on the DREADMILL.

  22. Yayyy what an exciting trip!! I can’t wait to hear all about it!! Cereal for breakfast is something I’ll never get tired of. As much as I love oats, they just don’t compare ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think the mill is easier than running outside for some reason, even though I like running outdoors better. My fastest time on the treadmill is an 8:23 mile- about 7.2 mph. It helps to put on a fast song and run to the beat of it! Have a great day girly, don’t stress too much!

  23. i do the treadmill btwn 6.2-8.0 (thats my sprint!) for longer runs I keep it more around 6.8 and if I do interval running I switch up the speed constantly. I try to always keep an incline on to mimick outdoor running because that makes it somewhat equivalant to running outside! The ice coffee from micky D’s is not so bad either ๐Ÿ™‚ but cancerific diet coke (fountain, especially) is gasmic once in a while!

  24. 27 Jil

    Yayyy for being a jetsetter!! It sounds amazing!!! I also have to admit Diet Coke finds its way into my life once and a while, too…as does Barq’s Rootbeer…oooopsies. ๐Ÿ˜€

  25. That’s amazing about VegNews! Truth be told, I’ve always dreamed of an internship there because of the nonpreachy approach of the magazine–in addition to great recipes and articles. It seems like the perfect place for you especially.

    I always eat greens; I just feel weird if I don’t. That’s obviously a mental thing, but it’s enough of a motivator.

  26. Wooo VegNews crew reunion! I bet you are soooo excited for that, can’t wait to read about it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I hate road trips, they totally screw with my eating schedule…I always plan them around my meals if possible haha (obsessive? maybe.)

    On the treadmill, I average around a 9:15 minute mile I think, and always keep the incline on at least 1. I prefer the treadmill when working on speed, and when I aim for endurance, outdoors is much nicer ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. thanks for clarifying about the word leftover…i always wondered about it ๐Ÿ™‚

    yayyyyyyyy for expo! i am so pumped for you, and can’t wait to see you blog about it – i can’t even imagine all the fabulous food samples you are going to get to try. gah, amazing. you totally deserve a california break. but if you see jake, hands off. he’s mine. i mean…ours?

    treadmill…i hate it. but when i do run on it, i usually run between 5.5 and 7.5 (the upper being more like sprints). i try to keep the incline between 1.0 and 2.0 for a lil’ extra calorie torching.

    and, for the record, i think amazing grass is disgusting. i also bought a packet once, and thought i was going to hurl. have not drank it since nor have entered ANY amazing grass giveaway. i’m sure its good for you, but a girl has GOT to draw a line somewhere.

    happy tuesday my lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Ella is (was?) no def “is” my idol. looves it
    MA
    answer to Q: I don’t exercise, haha

  29. I love this post!!! And congrats about the trip girl, sounds FUN!!
    As for the running… (when I was able to run) I hated the treadmill. No, DETESTED it. Bah. I thought that I could never run until I tried running outside. For some reason, outside is much easier. On the treadmill, you are lucky if you can get me to run 3 miles… and that’s pushing it. Outside, I can run 10 miles and ENJOY it. Thank GOD for living in a state that has great weather most of the time.

  30. Ms Snackface, when you say finals are next week do you mean end of semester finals or midterms?? There’s no way your semester can be over yet.. but if it is, I wish I was going to your school! ๐Ÿ˜› Good luck getting all your work done. The best motivation is working hard so that you can get to something really fun on the weekend, and you’re california trip would classify as really-freakin’-fun ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • 34 snackface

      mlreed- Ello! We are actually on a quarter system, so I have Fall, Winter and Spring quarter (sets of 10 weeks+ 1 week finals). I will have my Winter finals next week, then one week of spring break and then it’s Spring Quarter! It makes time FLY!

  31. cannot WAIT to hear about your trip! what an experience! enjoy every second ๐Ÿ˜‰

  32. What an amazing weekend, girlfriend!! How exciting ๐Ÿ˜€ San Fran – watch out nah!! Good luck with your deadlines beforehand – I’m sure you’ll nail ’em!

  33. San Francisco!!! I so want to live there at some point. Living there will mean I will be friends with Danny Tanner, right? Right?

    The treadmill is the worst thing EVER. i typically run 9:50 miles on a 1.0 incline and hate every second of it, GAH. Running outside is way better.

  34. Aww baby boo I can’t believe we’re BOTH gonna be in the So Cali region at the very same time and will not get to see each other (i’m now going up to LA later that week + you’re gonna be a busy, working woman!)….

    This hurts my heart, since we NEED to do a meetup! NEED.
    Totally lurvedd the spastic-ness (not a word, i’m aware) of this post! All the “nays” and “dunzoes” made me super happy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love the looks of that lentil soup! And the crisp bowl of cereal. It really is such a refreshing thang, just doesn’t fill ya UP! Love you beautiful! Props for having the energy to run a mile after 20 mins of walking + 50 mins of cardio (YOU A MAD WOMAN hahahah)….i’d probably be runnin’ a 10 min mile too! And that’s just FAB, mmmmkay?!

    XOXOXO

  35. I will also be at Expo West! I will come and say hi! ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. I’m guessing my max mile would be a little under 7 min. I usually run much longer distances though, so my pace is anywhere from 8:30-9:30. As long as you’re getting out there (or in your case on the t-mill) it doesn’t matter how fast you go.

  37. Your news is so bossy! I bet you’ll get such awesome swag at the expo!

    Don’t worry about anyone’s pace or incline, as long as it feels challenging, that’s the point! When you’re ready to go faster or at a higher incline you’ll definitely know (same as when you’re ready to move on to heavier weights). If you do want to get into running. Sounds like you know how to work it on the elliptical!

  38. 42 CaitlinRose

    I just ran a marathon on Sunday with an average pace of 8:03/mile

    BUT treadmills are WRONGGG!!!! I can run what feels like the exact same speed on a treadmill, and it says something way different – like 8:45/mile. I think treadmills don’t take into account your stride and height or something. Either way, I really believe treadmill pace tracking is wrong.

  39. 43 lindsey

    I’m more of a 5.0 speed for about a min and a half, then I jack up the treadmill incline to a 5 and slow it down to 3.8. i don’t want to run hardcore as fast as possible, ever. no need ๐Ÿ˜€ but I don’t train for anything or NEED to be superfast.

  40. Eww I tried Amazing Grass with just water once…never again. But hey I was THAT hungover…I was willing to try anything ๐Ÿ™‚

    What an amazing weekend you have coming up! You are such a baller. And a jetsetter apparently.

    If I am running at one speed for a long time (like 30 minutes) I will use 0 incline and go between 6.0 and 6.5. I prefer intervals though (much more entertaining) and will alternate between 6.0 and 8.0 or 9.0 for a minute each.

  41. 45 Hatty

    Yay! I can’t wait to read about your VegNews reunion!
    Have a fabuloso time ๐Ÿ™‚

    I run anywhere between an 8:00 and 9:30ish minute mile but i NEVER run on the treadmill. I had a bad experience involving falling off one and scars galore, bad times gah.
    Running outside is much less boring/hella scary.

  42. I love love your plates! Each time I see one I literally go “Ooo I love that!” haha

  43. what? you mean you don’t like green boogery spinach? *insert sarcasm here* sounds, less than ‘gasmic, to say the least.

    I am not a tread-miller by any means so can’t help you out with that one sister. But, as a fellow lover-o’-grammar, I can tell you that “nay” is an adverb meaning: and not only so but; not only that but also; indeed: many good, nay, noble qualities. OR Archaic. no (used in dissent, denial, or refusal).

    thank you dict.com

    so much excitement ahead of you kitten! Can’t wait to hear the veggalicious deets ๐Ÿ™‚ *muah mauh I love you I love you*

  44. How fast is your mile? I can run a sub 7 mile if i’m trying really hard.
    What pace and incline do you run on a โ€˜mill? i don’t run on a ‘mill. they freak’n SUCK.
    AND Do you feel off if you donโ€™t get any greens in a day? yes. makes me sluggish. all.day.long.
    AND Was I super spastic in this post? even if you were, i still love you for it. it’s all about you baby!

  45. Wow!
    Amazing pics, eats, and plans ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Have an amazing week, girl!
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    Brazilian XOXOยดs,
    Gabriela

  46. HI MUFFIN PUDDING PIE! love mixing cereal and agree with you on the amazing grass with just water. dang you are goin goin back back to cali cali! have fun!


Leave a Reply

