SnackFace in Wonderland

08Mar10

Hi, pies! I am having a spectacular time at home, and I hope your weekends have been lovely, too.

On Friday I fueled my ride home with Beyonce, Modest Mouse, Rilo Kiley, OK Go and Young Money, and made it home in one tired piece. MamaJ and I skipped to Kroger and we all settled down for dinner afterward:

Boca, taters, salad and sauteed veg.

After-dinner entertainment was supplied by The September Issue. If you’ve seen this, all I can say is that I’m thankful that I’ve worked for food magazines and not fashion. I’m not hatin’, I’m merely hinting toward the fact that I may be extremely intimidated in fashion situations. I guess I’m no longer hinting toward it…

Slumber came soon and then 10 hours later, MamaJ woke me up to inform me I had a hair appointment at 2:30pm. These long locks hadn’t seen scissors since November 2007. Overdue doesn’t begin to explain how badly I needed a cut.

Before the chop session, I chowed down on a fabulous breakfast:

Bloob Chobe with banana, granola and peanut butter. Amaze.

Then MamaJ styled me with a dose of fabulous:

The look was almost there.

I was going for the baggy jeans rolled-up look, but it didn’t quite work with wide-bottomed jeans. A tapered ankle or straight leg is needed. Oh well!

The hair cut–from wash to finish– took about 15 minutes. I wanted nothing different, just the unhealthy bits taken off. Was I a thoughtful blogger who took before and after pictures? No. You’ll see in a bit, though!

With snipfest out of the way, I was hungry for lunch. Though I lost a few inches of hair, I gained a few ounces/pounds/whatevers of happiness with a perfect lunch:

Panera amazingness. Greek salads, veggie soup and whole grain baguette for both!

If there were a Panera on the Athens campus, I would be completely broke. But I still think they should look into this.

MamaJ and I shopped around all afternoon, and then returned home for movie-watching and dinner-making. I’m working on a film paper about Donnie Darko, which means I get to watch it many times over. I cannot complain one bit. Is Jake Gyllenhaal my dream man? Yes, yes indeed.

Dinner was very VegNews-esque:

Potato-spinach soup, bread, greens, taters, beans. Multiply that bread a few times, actually.

When dining in the H-Unit household, one must always be aware of the dogs. The little one tends to do this all the time:

Hops up to the table and grabs at whatever is nearby.

We could train her now, but at age 14, I don’t think she’ll change. Grab away, little Peanut.

Whenever I go home, I’m always thankful that everything and everyone is pretty much the same. And duties that I had since I was wee still must be tended to:

Yup, still got that dish duty.

And MattyRich still holes up in the basement with man stuff:

Posters, computers, rims, TV, Xbox, sick style and whatthehelliswithmyface.

And at the end of the night, we all watch a little tube, laugh a lot and love what we’ve got. I’d say my home–filled with the people I love the most– is my wonderland.

It doesn’t hurt that MamaJ makes bossy breakfasts for me, either:

Poached eggs on fresh whole-grain bread. GAH!

Ridiculous.

Shortly after breakfast, MamaJ, Popsicle, Marshallow and I headed out for a walk in our backyard:

OK, kinda.

I’ve grown up with the luxury of having a park directly behind our house. As MamaJ pointed out to me, though, I probably only went there for a week’s time, total, in my lifetime. What can I say? I’m not the outdoorsy type.

I am outdoorsy enough to enjoy a gorgeous walk with my family, though:

The 'rents, being their lovely selves.

Some parts are still frozen. Winter refuses to leave.

An exhausted pup.

The Phoebe run!

I found a stage...

...and abused it.

After our initial loop, I went back out solo for a 10-minute run. That’s good enough for me. I’ll leave the marathons for the experts. (I thought I was going to see some eggs again.)

Showered and dressed, Mumsy and I went to see Alice in Wonderland. Exquisite. Absolutely exquisite. While I was enchanted by the technology, plot and fashions, I couldn’t help but think how scary the film could be for a 5-year-old. Anyway, I walked away wishing my mind were a bit more full of wonderment and questions, and that my imagination were a tad richer.

I’m off to spend more time with the family and revel in my H-Unit wonderland.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Do you have a rich imagination? AND How was your weekend? I miss everyone!

50 Responses to “SnackFace in Wonderland”

  1. 1 Alice

    Woot first comment! I think I have a very active imagination, but it ain’t rich. I.E., I think and daydream a lot, but it’s not in technicolour or anything. It’s real, and usually boring.

  2. you are so amazing because you have a family that LOVES you and encourages you and supports you and i know that feeds into your loving and caring heart! it makes me soooo happy to see you so blessed because YOU DESERVE IT!! i โค YOUUUU! goodness gracious, we need to meet, no? ugh!
    LOVE that bossy outfit! only YOU could pull that off!
    i FREAKING LOVE PANERA!!!!! so GOOD! their paninis are amazeee!
    LOVE YOU BOO!

  3. hahah love the Pheobe run! Friends is the best everrrrrrr! and Panera break totally rocks. I swear they put some drugs in it or something.

    Have an awesome day tmrw! Glad you got to hang with the fam this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. panera bread*** i need to go back to 3rd grade apparently lol

  5. We saw Alice on Friday night in 3D – LOVED it! But it could’ve been scary for youngin’s!

  6. Amazing pics!
    Loved your eats…
    That bowl of yogurt mess with PB on the top was mouth-watering… Holy MOLY!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Have a terrfic week, girl!
    Brazilian XOXOยดs,
    Gabriela

  7. So glad to hear you loved ‘Alice in Wonderland!’ I’m going to see it in 3D on Wednesday and am so excited! I am an only child, so growing up I developed quite the imagination to keep me entertained. Sometimes I think I’ve lost it a bit, but perhaps it just needs coaxing out :p .. oh, and I always have my mom make me poached eggs when I go home too.. somehow I can never make them as good as she can ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Sounds like you’re having an AMAZING time home! I was home this weekend as well, doing absolutely nothing, and it was fantabulous. As much as I love school, it just doesn’t compare to being at home with la familia. I’m not one for frequent haircuts, either…I get paranoid I’m going to end up with a bob. Glad you had no hair disasters ๐Ÿ™‚ Kepp enjoying your break love!

  9. 9 Rachel

    I saw Alice today…in 3D. Head exploded. I’ve been waiting 2 years for this movie since i’m an Alice/Tim Burton/Johnny Depp fangirl. The hookah-smoking caterpillar is badass as always.

    And I’m with you on Panera, I’ll probably kidnap one of their cooks and have them make me all of my meals.

  10. Gah, I love families so much. Mine is the best – and yours looks like it is too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Have the best rest of your weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. What a great post, girlie! It’s good to know that Alice in Wonderland looks to be as awesome as I think it will be! I kinda wanna go in costume! It’s really great that you get along so well with your family, too! After I got over my teenage angst, I realized that my daddy is one of the best people in the world! Hope your week gets off to a good start! And one more thing, what’s bloob chobe?

    • 12 snackface

      Maggie- Haha so sorry, Bloob Chobe= blueberry Chobani (the Greek yogurt). Sorry about that!

  12. 13 Nicole G

    I have a pretty lacking imagination. I prefer logical and straight rational thinking. I DO enjoy the imaginative workings of other people (esp YOU – can you say SnackFace the Mag? =) )

    My weekend was nice and relaxing but I wish I was on spring break – damn state university =(

    Enjoy your time home with the fam!
    Nicole G

  13. 14 lindsey

    lolz at the Phoebe run!!!

  14. Yummy, poached eggs. I haven’t had a poached egg in ages! I will be eating them tomorrow for breaky ;). I love that you love to be around your family. That’s really fantastic in this day and age ๐Ÿ˜€ Have a great rest of the weekend.

  15. Glad you had a great weekend at home ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. 17 Bec

    sounds like some fun times with your family! I have to try the salsa on poached eggs they are pretty much the best egg ever ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy the rest of your time with your family girl!

  17. I agree about Alice in Wonderland – awesome movie, but could definitely frighten small children!

    Somewhat random question…do you thin your peanut butter, or warm it up first? It looks so nice and drizzley, while mine is always just a big glob!

    • 19 snackface

      Katie- That peanut butter was drizzly just because of the brand, I think! It was Kroger Natural peanut butter, and it wasn’t refrigerated. I LOVED it!

  18. Your weekend sounds great! I’m jealous of the poached eggs- they’re my favorite way to eat eggs! And you just made me wanna sneak to Panera for some soup!

  19. so glad you are having a wonderful time at home!!! Mama J always makes me smile! and yay for a haircut!! i need one asap!! and i am still amazed at how long you went- it has looked soo beautiful for so long!! i would never have guessed nov 2007- even though i remember you mentioning it once before!

  20. So great that you had a fantastic weekend girl! Nothing like some time with the family…
    I used to have a CRAZY imagination when I was younger!

  21. 23 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    sounds like you are having such a great time at home.. i can’t believe oyu didnt ut your ahir at all since 2007?!?!?! not even a trim? oMG my hair would be so freakin long- that is insane haha- how does your hair still look so beautiful!! i’d have split ends like wHOA. anywho, your mom’s breakfast sounds delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ and im jealous of your fam time… oh well, my spring break is soon!!! have a great week.

    xoxoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  22. 24 Katy

    I’m like you in the fact that I NEVER cut my hair. Maybe once every year or two. LOL the Phoebe run is HI-LARIOUS! Yaw mama does it well ๐Ÿ˜‰

  23. 25 Adam

    I am going to see Alice friday! I feel kind of ashamed to say that i am probably going to be one of those people who have unusually frightening dreams after the movie based on the previews, but i am being dragged! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love walks with the fam, and sometimes 10 min runs are all that is needed! By the way, your tweet the other day has inspired me to refrain from using the word kill in that context ever again… Unfortunately i was guilty and the phrase really makes no sense! Thanks for making me think! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • 26 snackface

      Adam- When I tweeted that, I had just said in my head “I would kill for a Kombucha.” And then I was like, no I wouldn’t! I wouldn’t kill anything! Haha I’m glad it started a word change for you, too!

  24. mmmm! potato and spinach soup? recipe please!
    have a wonderful week,

    xox vera

    • 28 snackface

      balancingfoodandlife- Hey shoog! I wish there were a recipe, but MamaJ literally threw leftovers into a pot and made something delish. I have no idea how she does it!

  25. Hi Sweetie, I love that you said you spent 1 week at the park. In your whole life. LOL

    Have a lovely week, sweets!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  26. Awww! This post makes me miss home so much – I love what you said about when you go home, everything and everyone is the same. Can’t wait to be at home with my family in two months!!! Paris is wonderful, but there is nothing like home.

    Can’t wait to catch up on the movie scene too – Alice in Wonderland doesn’t come out in theaters here for another few weeks. So weird!

    Have a great week!

  27. Mmmm I love poached eggs!

    I had a wonderful weekend, thanks! One of the best yet here in T.O.! And I have a CRAZY imagination… especially with my friends! We’re a crazy bunch ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xo
    K

  28. Aww, what a fun and relaxing weekend. Family time is seriously underrated.

    I love my imagination–I don’t mind saying I’m pretty creative and quick on my toes. My weekend was spent family-side, too, and I had a great and soul-nourishing visit.

  29. OMG…mamaj doing the phoebe run just made my morning. you have no idea.

    anndddd…you better start huffing and running girl because we have 13.1 of them to run in july. just reminding you.

    your mamaj styled outfit = fabulous. seriously. and i can’t wait to see that gorgeous mane of yours trimmed right up. do you highlight/dye your hair, or are you naturally blond like that? just wondering.

    rilo kiley = love.

    jake gyllenhaal = polygamist relationship with you + me.

    i heart you. we need a full catch-up soon. the next couple days shall be awful however as i finish a freelance writing project. gah…i need more coffee.

    love you lady…xoxo!

  30. 34 Susan

    I TOTES know what you mean about spending time with the fam. Some things never change, but in a way that’s one of the best things about it. I spend my weekend with my mama, doin what ladies do best, uh….talking and eating of course!

    And yup, P-dizz is the jank.

  31. Omg! Mama j’s poached eggs + baguette breakfast…..that looks so divine! And my mama and I always gotta hit up panera for matching lunches too, except we usually do the MED VEG SANDO! Love the greek salad and veggie or black bean soups though just the same!!!! Always gotta go for those.

    And I adore your lil’ fam dinners! So cute and well rounded with the roasted potatoes, sauteed veggies, side salads and some fun, main course! Matty Rich’s room’s got swagga. That’s fo sho! And gahh that little walk area is gorgy!! As does the chobs yog mess!

    You fierce. And i’m excited to see the new trim!!!!!!!!!! Glad you liked alice in wonderland (i’ve heard mixed reviews–but half my friends who saw it were uhhh, a bit “out of it?” !
    I’m still pumped to see it.

    And my weekend was fun!! Except I totally ATE it walking back from this one house party Friday night (luckily no one was around besides my girlzzz), but I totally saved myself at first, and then took an even harder fall right after…whoops! Those damn heels. HAHAHAHAHA

    LOVE YOU BOO!!!!

  32. I totally understand what you mean about loving nothing changing at the home front. It’s just the comfortable familiarity that’s the best thing ever.
    And omg, the Phoebe run. LOL Totally cracked me up ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. Ah, you hair cut copy cat! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    What a fantastic weekend you had! All the family bonding and love make me so happy. Oh and the food, the food, the food… girl, Mama J’s breakfast is perfection on a plate. I’m sure you’re looking fiercer than ever with your new ‘do and new fashion inspiration and imagination wonder from the Alice for adults movie. I loved it. Have a great week sweetheart! xo

  34. when i was a kid, my imagination used to be so out of control that when i had to be punished, my mom made me sit in the middle of an empty floor because i would have fun anywhere else. it definitely translated into my adulthood… what can i say! i’m a kid at heart!

  35. 39 TokiLoveVal

    I really loved Alice too!! Frankly, Tim can do no wrong by me ๐Ÿ™‚ Although I don’t think i would run to take a 7-year-old to see it.
    Whenever I go home I find it a billion times harder to work out. I blame it on the awesomeness that is our couch and the wonders of DVR so I can catch up on the newest episodes of The Real Housewives and Project Runway. That always makes tredmill time much more enjoyable.

    • 40 snackface

      TokiLoveVal- EXACTLY!!! The DRV and couch own me when I’m at home, and I completely love it.

  36. Man, what is it with parents and assigning our childhood chores to us when we visit? I’m always unloading the dishwasher for them!

    I’m not outdoorsy at all either, except in the summertime. But I’d rather drink a beer than exercise…just sayin.

    When I was little I watched Alice in Wonderland on repeat for about 5 months straight. Funny thing is, I don’t remember it at all…

  37. 42 Kristine

    Is that doggy part australian shepherd?!!! Soo cute!

    • 43 snackface

      Kristine- We think she is, but we have no proof. She’s the sweetest goob ever.

  38. glad you had a great weekend at home with the fam ๐Ÿ™‚
    my weekend was great at home with the fam as well!
    Jenna

  39. Your family seem so lovely!! Can’t wait to see Alice in wonderland, it looks so exciting, remember my mum reading the book to us when we were little.
    I live right next to one of the best parks in London and I barely go in it, but it always amazes me how beautiful it is when I do. Thats definitely on my list of things to do more often – walk in park! Have a good week ๐Ÿ™‚
    xx

  40. Hubba hubba to the Panera – love that place far too much! In fact the people I work with buy me Panera giftcards for Christmas, hah! I like how you’re replicating the KISS poster in your basement in the picture of you and your broski ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Gah! Glad you liked Alice!! My fam and I are supposed to go on a fam date to see it whenever we can get our schedules in synch!

  41. Alice was seriously an awesome movie no? Love your eats!!

    xoxo
    Maggie

  42. I saw “Alice in Wonderland” this weekend too! I think it was the first full-length 3D movie I’ve ever seen. So much fun! My man and I both liked it. Since we’re abroad, most screenings of the film were dubbed, but luckily they still had a few screenings in the original language with no subtitles. I was so happy about that… it would’ve been way too weird to hear Johnny Depp speaking Estonian!

  43. hooray for a weekend with the fam. phoebe run!!! haha, every once in a while im tempted to do it in central park just to see what people think. even better, if i were to bust out some serious marathoner garb and tear through the trails with a water bottle belt and sweat band, haha.

  44. I love donnie darko. I wish I had that as a project when i was in college!


Leave a Reply

