Mentally Spent

03Mar10

What up, SnackPack! After getting a total of 10 hours of sleep in the past 48 hours, I can safely say this brain is crispy. You know what this means? A loopy post, I’m sure.

At 7:15am, I begrudgingly scooted out of bed and made coffee, the only thing that would give me life. Oh, not the only thing:

Snowman mug and banchia oats.

I could lie and tell you that I used the snowman mug because I’m still loving the cold. No, the truth is that I have so many dirty dishes that I no longer have counter space or other mugs to use. That’s what doin’ mad work does to a gal!

In the banchia (banana+chia) oats: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, 2 tsp. chia seeds, 1/2 melted banana, splash coconut milk, cinnamon and a schmear of peanut butter. Again, only reason I used the tsp. measuring spoon was because the Tbsp. was dirty. Lay. Zee.

With a big presentation ahead of me, I dressed for success:

My biznass look. Pulled together with a Walmart jacket-- of all places!

Collars and some love for the day.

Finally! Loving footwear other than boots.

Nothing comes between me and my Calvins. Amazing shoe. Perfect tread.

I’m a firm believer in dressing up for presentations (duhz), exams, readings, what have you. It keeps me alert and feeling bossy, which is always a good thing on those days!

Before I could get my presentation over with, I had Non-Fiction Writing to attend. We sat in a coffee shop and workshopped an essay of mine about MamaJ. I’m debating whether to show her the essay when I go home this weekend. Meh, I probably will share anyway.

And then it was time! I patiently sat during the first lady’s presentation, thinking I was going to pee my pants the whole time. Her designs and layouts were outstanding. Mine were, well, not so fabulous. Despite this, I put my FierceFace on and did tha damn thang!

If you’d like to see my cover and layouts, head to my new page: Do Work! Please keep in mind that I’m new to design.

The class seemed to enjoy the overall concept of the magazine. Here’s the mission statement/paragraph:

Promoting living and loving life, SnackFace the magazine supplies the feel-good positivity that many women’s magazines lack when discussing food. SnackFace is for the young female foodie who balances her fabulous, busy life with her intense passion to live and eat deliciously. Offering the forward-thinking foodie tasty recipes, fashion advice, life tips and, of course, countless snacky recipes, SnackFace is fashion with an appetite. Delivered with a sense of humor, SnackFace will serve up scrumptious, healthy ways to eat and fierce frocks to rock.

I felt overjoyed when I finished! I also felt starving and puzzled by what little was in my fridge. Wanting to get grub in this bod, I threw this together at 1:15pm:

Randomocity. Boca Chick'n patty with a bell pepper and hummus.

As if that was enough! Bahaha. I grabbed more hummus and a Flatout after this picture. To round out lunchoni, I finished this bar I’ve been working on since Valentine’s Day:

Newman's Own Organics makes my favorite chocolate ever.

I love that bar because it’s richly chocolatey and speckled with crunchy espresso bits. It would get my SnackAttack award. Yes, I branded SnackFace the Mag and said I’d have a SnackAttack label for top snacks. To dream!

I should have left for Film at 2:45pm, but I saw that the movie we were going to watch in class was on Hulu. I made better use of my time and read blogs. Senioritis is going to be a beezy Spring Quarter. I can feel it already.

Four rolled around and I snacked on tortilla chips that are named Cornitos. AKA Corny toes. Mmmm, salty.

Post- snack time, I hopped in my car and drove to Kroger for some groceries. Somehow, I got four apples for $1.70. Apples were $1.49/lb. Oops! Go ahead, call me an apple stealer. (Kroger, I’m sorry. I promise I didn’t mean to. But I will gladly eat them.)

My dinner tonight was exactly what I wanted:

Cereal! Two-ish bowls, of course.

Cereal brought to you by:

Kashi Go Lean Crisp! Toasted Berry Crumble.

Milk brought to you by:

So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage.

The cereal tastes like a mix of Fruity Pebbles and blueberry granola. What I’m really saying is that it’s my new favorite Kashi cereal and will not last long in my home.

Well, my friends, I’m off to go write a little essay, read a little law and wash billions of dishes. And snack, naturally.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: I would love and appreciate any words of advice or feedback on SnackFace layouts! I’m not really sure what I’m doing. AND What’s your favorite I’m-feeling-lazy dinner?

ALSO: You must listen to my man, J. Beatz. He’s amazing. Listen away, my doves.

54 Responses to “Mentally Spent”

  1. HEY SUGA!!!!!!!!!
    that is SUCH a freaking CLASSY OUTFIT!! you look marvelous!!!
    hmm LOVE your oats-i gota find chias asap!
    you know i adore those layouts! if i could have HALF of that creativity girl! God has BIG plans in store for you in that area!! keep on doing your thang!!
    fav lazy dinner- Morningstar turkey burgers..haha ohh yeah! (obviously other snacks included) i usually have like 4 different plates of food
    LOVE YOU!

  2. Gosh that cereal sounds awesome!!! I’ve been wanting to try it as I adore all things Kashi πŸ™‚ Must get on that ASAP!
    So happy that your presentation went well! That’s the best feeling ever!

  3. 3 Jil

    Glad the presentation went well! and I agree…dress for success!! …especially for presentations!! I’m always appalled by the people who show up in ratty jeans and a t-shirt. You must…at the very least…be clean! haha

    Not gonna lie…most of my meals are pretty easy, but a good, reliable can of soup is the definition of easy.

  4. As far as layouts go, I’m design retarded, so I’m not of much help. It looks fabulous to me, though! Throw in six hundred pages of ads and you’ve got the next Vogue πŸ™‚

    I saw that coconut milk at the health food store and was super intrigued, but at seven bucks, I let it slide. Worth the splurge?

    Have a great night love!

    • 5 snackface

      Gabriela- Ello love! Oh my goodness, $7?? Mine was $3 something. Honestly, it’s delicious, but you aren’t missing much by sticking to the affordable milk de almond.

  5. i bought that same exact chocolate! haven’t tried it yet but i LOVE the orange newman’s! i get into the same mug situation all the time..but yours is cute! love it πŸ™‚

  6. 7 Kat

    awesome blog! Btw your outfit is way cute! I just started a blog as well so stop by if you can!

    • 8 snackface

      Kat- Thanks, chiquita! I’ll be sure to check it out!

  7. 9 Nicole G

    DAMN! That is an amazing presentation. I love that you retained your true SnackFace voice throughout it. It truly felt like a reincarnation of this wonderful blog. I’m also a little embarrassed to admit that I recognize some of those foodie pics from the blog =)

    You did a wonderful job and I’m sure your presentation kicked ass! Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

    Nicole G

  8. reciplease? heck yes! i would totally buy that magazine.

  9. 11 Sara

    hahahh I love that cereal! No lie, it only lasted a week in my house πŸ˜‰

    ❀
    Sara

  10. Cant wait to check the layouts out!!
    I must try kashis new cereal πŸ™‚

  11. 13 bec

    cereal is definitely my fav lazy dinner! your magazine design looks amazing πŸ™‚

  12. So glad your presentation went well! AWESOME!!! πŸ™‚ You rocked the look, too! I would dress up doing all of those things also. Nowadays, as a gym rat, I’m mostly in gym clothes all day long, LOL…I don’t mind because I plan on becoming a personal trainer in the next month or so! Most comfortable clothes EVER!!! πŸ™‚ Get some sleep!!!!

  13. did you weigh the apples? you might not have been criminal as 4 could weigh just a lil over a pound depending on their size. totz lovin the statement de mission. you. are. ferosh girl. such a breath of fresh air but more than anything, my homegirl is real as hell. you’re honest-brutally so which makes your readers believe in you and gives us all the confidence to strut down the street in our neon nikes (or in my case, high top chuck Ts) and pretend like were the hottest shit on earth-no matter how insecure we really feel. i think this is for real, kid. Youre going places and I forsee my Nylon and Esquire being suspended for a subscription to Snackface: fashion with an appetite. Killer. keep on rockin in the free world, love.
    one love
    MA
    lilpauladean.wordpress.com

  14. Ohhh man I need to get my hands on that cereal!! I have not seen it in any of my grocery stores yet! It sounds and looks delish. I guess you’ll just have to enjoy it for me for now.

  15. 18 Elizabeth

    Your layouts are super-awesome for early days with InDesign! You’re definitely on the right track!

    I’m pretty sure you were doing this already, but you should pick out a spread or two that you like and practice duplicating them 100% in InDesign. You’ll learn a lot of good tricks that way and get more confident in your sense of when things feel “done”.

    For these pages, you could try spicing things up a by adding a few callouts and tightening up some of your kerning. Also, I find it rare for images to touch – a bit of white space might give a more standard, polished look.

    There are also some groovy tutorials with easy ways to do more advanced stuff – like these http://www.layersmagazine.com/category/tutorials/indesign – that can keep the frustration at bay. InDesign seems like it will take forever to learn, but once you get over the hump of the learning curve you will for real wonder how you ever lived without it.

    • 19 snackface

      Elizabeth- Oh my goodness, thank you for your amazing advice! I don’t even know what half of it means, but I’ll be sure to look up everything and take advantage of that link! You’re amazing!

  16. 20 Anna

    New Kashi?!! That’s the best news I’ve heard all day. You look bossy in your power suit. I also had a presentation today and made the mistake of wearing new shoes that I wasn’t aware would kill my poor heels. Nothing like limping all day to get you in a good public speaking kind of mood.

    I hope you get some beauty sleep in sometime, girl. Or is that what this weekend is for (well, that and dancing/drinking away the stress)?

  17. Wow stunning outfit ma girl! I love it, and those Calvin shoes look like they fit nice a comfortably πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the heads up on that Kashi cereal, I was wondering if I needed to purchase some. And now I know that I do indeed.

    Girl, I’m obsessed with the mag! Seriously, so much talent, and it’s so fun and appealing! Great job.

  18. 22 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    omg im not just saying this- i think the concept of that magazine is AMAZING. Honestly, i would subscribe for sure! i’m really really impressed. and you look awesome in that outfit!! so professional but still cuuuute πŸ™‚

    that chocolate sounds deliciouss! and i want to try that new kashi cereal

    xoxoox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  19. Ughhh, I’ve got a sink full of dishes too. 😦 I really want to try that new Kashi cereal. Looks really good! I am glad that you gave it a good review. πŸ™‚

  20. Hahaha glad your grocery run served you well. I’ve been meaning to try that new Kashi–and now I think I will next time it stares me down in Tarjay. I ended up going with the savory oats for dinnah, and I ate them in your honor.

    Don’t tease me with that business wear. It takes me back to a far away land where you live in NYC and meet me post-work for the best pita bread I’ve ever tasted and vinoooooooooooooo.

    Love you!

    OH AND LOOOOOOOOOOOVE SNACKFACE!!! I wish it were for sale. Get on that, por favor.

  21. Wow chica!!!! I’m impressed!!! πŸ˜‰ You are muy talented! Can’t wait til it’s for sale!!! I will buy immediately, of course!

    My fav lazy night deener is a quick veggie salad-thingy: Black beans, br rice (I buy pre-cooked to feed my laziness), salsa, dallop greek yogurt, and diced avacados. All mixed up so it look perdy but it sure tastes good πŸ˜‰

    Have a good night lady and get some sleeeeep!

    xoxox,

    Lauren

  22. 26 Breaking Free

    Cute presentation girl!!! That cereal sounds really good btw. Oh and just a side note fyi, 3 tsp equals 1 TB πŸ™‚

    • 27 snackface

      Breaking Free- ooh, thanks for the tip! I had no idea! I am so bad with measurements and, well, math.

  23. 28 Little Bookworm

    I love the magazine layouts and the mission statement/paragraph! It sounds like it would be a fantastic magazine! πŸ˜€ Glad the presentation went well.

  24. 29 Aunty Sue

    spaghetti carbarnara w cream, real parmesan( big slices, pea, a little nutmeg, sea salt and lots of pepper with a bold glass of red wine that mine

    • 30 lilpauladean

      are aunty suze and mama j sistas?? i bet chy’all are quite the dynamic duo. spaghetti carbanara… my fave things in a single dish… bacon, eggs, pasta, parm, love. shaved parm is essential, agreed aunty
      MA

  25. i love the mag layout! the cover image is definitely catchy and “do you fake it?” is such a good reader-grabbing title to make them (us?) want to read your magazine. love it! good job:)

  26. ahhh…love the outfit! and the layout looks great!

    i would totally buy your mag.

    lazy dinner? soup with extra veggies or a laughing cow, hummus and veggie sandwich with fruit. takes 5 minutes to make.

  27. I would subscribe to that magazine in a second. I think a lot of what you bring to the table is what’s missing from my favorite magazines now–a bit of wry humor, an emphasis on balance rather than “good” vs. “bad”, and especially driving the point home that we’re all young and should be having fun. Workouts and healthy eating need to be offset with a little clubbing every now and again.

    I make omelettes (with ketchup because I’m trashy) for dinner when I’m feeling lazy, along with roasted brussel sprouts. It hits the spot and takes all of five minutes.

  28. 34 Michaela

    So this has nothing to do with your post but I saw this article and thought of you. Work on your sleep chica!

    http://health.msn.com/health-topics/sleep-disorders/articlepage.aspx?cp-documentid=100254787&gt1=31019

  29. I can’t see the layouts because I’m at work, but I have no doubt that they are FABULOSO!
    Love the preso outfit:)
    I saw that cereal at the store the other day and *almost* snatched it up. Next time, next time.
    Have a fab day, sweetie!

  30. I haven’t been sleeping much either, doll. I THRIVE on 8 hours, but lately it’s only been 5 or 6. Killin me! I LOVE your mission statement for the magazine! That’s exactly the kind of magazine I’d like it read. You look supa dupa classy in your business gear – so official! I haven’t tried the new Kashi yet, but it sounds like I need to. My favorite lazy dinner is cereal for sure. I had a bowl last night….after my sweet potoato fries, of course!

  31. 37 MamaJ

    You definitely look spent and have lost some of your sparkle in your photos. Time to come home and sleep in your magic bed. Crank up the music in the car so you don’t fall asleep on the way. I noticed a little something in the fashion section of your mag that made me scroll back a little. Great job . My subscription would be free, ..right! Luv ya later. OXOX

  32. 38 lilreese44

    #1 I’m wearing that Express blouse today in black. Weird!

    #2 I wish I could be “bad” at things like you are…I would be much better off.

    #3 I love the term “crsipy” for your brain. Not fried–crispy. Genius.

    #4 I’m supposed to tell you my husband has been to “the virgin vault.” I have no idea what that means lol.

    • 39 snackface

      lilreese- Hahaha I have no idea what the virgin vault is! Uhh, I’ll be thinking about this all day!

  33. that last post was from me! I don’t know why it didn’t show my info!

  34. Love it!! Love the layout and the beautifully crisp pictures. Tres chic.

    Oooh I think I have a sample of that kashi cereal winging its way to me right now! Exciting!

  35. i would not even know WHERE to begin with those layout shenanigans – they look great!

    fave lazy meal ever? either a smoothie in a bowl (woo had my first one last night) or roasted veggies that cook away while i’m showering off the gym stank.

  36. my love…you are such an inspiration! just reading snackface the mag makes me alive with passion and ideas for what i want to pursue. that along with sarah of foodie fame has really got me thinking. obvs we will need to chat about this later.

    LOVE the fierce look. for my final journalism presentation of my senior year, we did a whole website called bucky stewart – stylized living on a shoestring budget. it was kinda a rip-off of martha stewart, but i was the presenter and i wore this awesome 50’s housewife-ish get-up. loved it.

    i don’t know where i was going with that, other than i heart you! have a wondrous day πŸ™‚

  37. 44 Alina

    hey there! Great ‘fit! yay for dressing up for school! Loved your reference to the CK ad LOL πŸ™‚ is it so warm in Ohio? i’m soooooooo over boots and winter coats! gahhhhhhh
    your mag idea is really great! you did good! it’s sooo bossy! i’ll look for some fonts for the cover, ok?
    easy dinner of choice – omelette with bell pepper and tomatoes!
    p.s. wanted to ask about your bracelets/bangles, do they mean sth? where’d you got them?

  38. 45 Clare

    Your blouse is adorable – and I’m always slightly overdressed! SnackFace the magazine is amazing, there is such a gap in the market for a positive and intelligently written woman’s magazine – I really hope it goes somewhere, I would subscribe fo’ sho’. The cover is also brilliant, not too much text, I loathe it when magazine covers are just a wall of text. My favourite quick meals are basically breakfast foods oatmeal/cereal/English muffin (not all at once!) – the Kashi cereal sounds yummers.

  39. you are so insanely talented, mama! amazing. i’m ready for that magazine to launch, mmm k????
    xoxo

  40. 47 Jamie in Arkansas

    Can I just say I LOVE your blog? It makes me laugh everyday! πŸ™‚ The way you phrase things and your funny little “snackface words” crack me up! Just had to tell ya – you’re the BOMB!!

    • 48 snackface

      Jamie- YOU’RE the bomb. Thank you so much for reading and enjoying!

  41. OMG I love the Beatz! Sooo catchy… I’m dancing in my chair at work πŸ™‚

  42. love the snazzy outfit and also love thsoe flat with the treads ont eh bottom! I like flats but sometimes find like I feel im walking rigghon the ground, there is no traction and paperthin…those look saaweeeet. Love Mr. Klein and his sexy models too πŸ™‚

    LOVE snackface: the mag…its gonna be big!

  43. 51 Krystal

    I love So Delicious coconut milk beverages and Go Lean Kashi cereal! If I can look as good as you, I’m going to start eating more of them! πŸ™‚

    • 52 snackface

      Krystal- Awww you are so kind! Uh, half that box of cereal may be gone now…oops!

  44. Loved this post!
    Amazing eats, and gorgeous outfit πŸ™‚
    Have a great Thursday, girl!
    Brazilian XOXOΒ΄s,
    Gabriela

  45. Hey heyyyy,

    I gave you an award on my blog today. I think it fits you well since you’re supa honest with everything you post.

    xx,

    Lauren


Leave a Reply

