Off

25Feb10

Hi petunias! I must say that I was tempted to delete my last post. It felt uncomfortably braggy, but thank you for still supporting me and for all the kind words.

I’ve felt a little off today– headachey, run-down, moody. I suppose the body can only handle so much. It’s finally rebelling!

After a solid eight hours of sleep (SHOCKING), I awoke wanting nothing more than to…sleep. I’m on fire after five, but after eight? Snoozefest. In a groggy state, I headed to the kitchen to put dishes away and get the coffee flowing.

Breakfast was already waiting for me in the fridge. It just needed accessories:

Overnights with almond-milky Koffee.

Base: 1/3 C oats, 1/3 C water, 1/3 C Oikos, 1/3 C pumpkin and pinch of cinnamon. Accessories: bloobs and peanut butter. Absolutely amazing:

I was almost too full after this.

As I let this bowl of greatness digest, I G-chatted, sipped and learned which cancer-fighting foods I should be eating. Thanks, Dr. Oz. Looks like all I’ll need to eliminate are weekend cocktails. Will not be happening anytime soon.

At 10:10am, I set off into the dissolving snow and embarked upon the gym. Basically, I walked to the gym. I love how I can make any sentence 10 times longer than necessary.

I ellipticalled for 50 minutes with my Media Law text and hand weights. Multi-tasking at its finest. And in a sad attempt to explain the rest of my workout, I did:
-2 sets of 30 weighted sit-ups on stability ball
-2 sets of 30 weighted twisted sit-ups on stability ball
-2 sets of this ab routine that’s really4 ab workouts. I can’t even explain that one.
-30 weighted squats
-40 weighted lunges
-20 weighted side lunges (I felt too ridiculous to continue with those beezies)
-30-second planks on all sides

If I don’t have a high, tight rump, cinched abs and fierce guns after all this, I’ll be pissed.

OK, not really.

I bopped my way to the local health store for grains. Can you believe I was out of cereal? Atrocity! Fixed that right quick:

Carb essentials and what I'll need after consumption.

The goods: Seventh Generation t.p., rolled oats, kamut puffs, Nature’s Path Oaty Bites (love that name!) and So Delicious Coconut Milk. I foresee many a cereal-filled late night.

Post photo-session, I showered, dressed and assembled a fresh-to-death lunch:

Wrap with bell pepper and pear. Exactly what I wanted.

In the Flatout: 1 Laughing Cow wedge, 1 scoop Sabra, mustard, slices of cucumber and spinach. Kept it simple:

Felt clean, but would have been cleaner sans dairy. My torn emotions!

Lately, I have been feeling that veganism is calling me back. I don’t know why. We’ll see where this goes. Veganism is like a sexy boyfriend I loved deeply, but am not sure I’d want to have a serious relationship with again. What can I say? I’m a commitment phobe.

I relaxed with my one-and-only, AKA my laptop, until it was time for class. Media Law was fabulous, mostly because my professor cracks me up. It’s his adorable Chicago/borderline Wisconsin accent that I find endlessly amusing. I also sit next to someone who allows me to bounce jokes off him. Solid 90 minutes of entertainment.

Afterward, I ran into Banana and Muffin on the street. It totally made my day! They were en route to fetch food for the night, so I waited with them and we got our girl talk on.

By the time I walked my sweet buns home, the stomach was talking. I wanted two things for dinner:

Corn + chickpea + Sabra salad. Because nothing goes better with chickpeas than chickpeas.

And:

Blurry cereal!

Sometimes a salad and sweet potato will not cut it! Told you it was an off day.

Also, if you thought that I only had one bowl, you thought wrong, sistah.

For dessert, I had this deliciousness:

A juicy orange with Dark Chocolate Dreams. OH MY GASM.

Just do that. GO GIT IT.

Well kittens, I have homework to tend to. It misses me. I’m also contemplating taking off my janky nail polish. But that is neither here nor there. LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!

Also, fave Weezy Baby tweet so far: “If love is everywhere, I’ll never end up in the middle of nowhere.”

Genius.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What song is cheering you up right now? AND What’s one pantry/produce item that you have to restock immediately?

My songs are X-rated: Wife Beater and New Sh!t (the intro of this song is ridiculous! Love). Big Young Money phase right now.

40 Responses to “Off”

  1. Hey!
    We use the same TP. haha okay not that cool. but i realllllly want to try the corn chickies sabra combo- looks easy espesh since i have a can of corn, a can of chickpeas, and a sh!tload of hummus in the fridge (and am also running low on the groceries.)
    Lets see…I never run outta yoghurt. ever. That must always be fully stocked. Same thing with Cacao nibs. I always have chocolate covered SOMETHING somewhere in my desk drawer. Best snackaroo nibbler ever.

  2. veganism has been calling me back as well! for now i’m tinkering with cutting out yogurt, we’ll see how that goes. sorry you were feeling iffy today, hope sleep cures all! at least your breakfast was an awesome way to start off your morning!

  3. 3 homegirlcaneat

    The new CHICK MAFIA nail polish color is called “California Coral”… it’s a sign. GET BACK TO ME!!!!!

  4. bah yes weekend drinks is not something I will be letting go of in the near future either though I figure I have a very healthy diet most of the time so a few (or many drinks) on the weekend is ok!

  5. We all have those off days!!

  6. 6 Tamara

    I’ve never craved oranges as strongly as I do right now. Oh my.

    I actually was planning on trying overnight oats for the first time tonight and was about to scout around for the measurements, but here they are! Wish me luck!

    • 7 snackface

      Tamara- Yeeee! Let me know how they turn out!

      • 8 Tamara

        Update: those were a major and vomit inducing fail. I am very confused and appalled. They were still tangy like yogurt and tasted like rotten milk o.o

      • 9 snackface

        Tamara- What!? I have no idea what went wrong? Did you use any sweeteners?

  7. 10 elleneatsbeats

    Sleepyhead by Passion Pit. Dooooo it. Can’t get it out of my head. We all have off days, but you had a great one yesterday so just focus on that pieceeee!

  8. Fav song–Bed Rock by weezy baby

    Pantry priory: Salted Almonds!! They taste so good if you eat them with raisins yummmmmmmmmmmm

    I know what u mean……..I ate so much today that my stomach was in pain, and even that did not stop me from eating more. Yikes, but pain and pleasure is connected in the brain…ummm…I will blame my over-eating to physiological functions. Hehe

    • 12 snackface

      asianwarrior- Bedrock is amazing…call me MRS. Flinstone, ya dig? Hmm and about the overeating, I don’t think I overate today. Actually, I never define it anyway! But that’s fascinating that pain and pleasure is connected in the brain. I had no idea! I hope the tum feels better tomorrow πŸ™‚

  9. i just downloaded Drake’s Best I Ever Had and proceeded to listen to it 6 times in a row. I don’t think I’m sick of it yet.

    I’m pretty sure that the massive amounts of produce that I eat with basically every meal cancel out my beloved rum and cokes that dominate my weekends. Dr. Oz can stick it.

  10. i am LOVING the glee soundtrack!
    yay for 8 hrs of sleep!
    yay for fresh lunches!
    yay for baller combos like HUMMUS AND CORN?!?! that looks amazing!
    today was an off day for me too chicka
    thank God the weekend is soon!
    LOVE YOU

  11. Laughing Cow is SO good though, it can definitely make going back to being Vegan difficult. I gotta stock up on some soup! The weather is getting chilly and I got nothing to warm me up!

  12. 16 The Brunette

    Veganism as an ex-boyfriend, I love it! Also, this may be creepy, but I read your blog so often that I have come to recognize that blue, printed tablecloth.

    Question (Office reference right there): what wraps do you use?

    Another question: do you have any idea what you’re doing after graduation?

    • 17 snackface

      Brunette- Hello beauty! I’ve been using Flatout wraps, but prefer La Tortilla, honestly. Better flavor! And AHHH that’s a big question. I don’t graduate until themiddle of June, and maybe that’s not an excuse, but I don’t know what I’m doing after graduation yet. :/ I’m scared, which I think is why I haven’t really started the process yet. I’m not sure my little heart is ready for all the rejection!

  13. You think your day was off? Chickpea, corn, and Sabra salad sounds pretty normal to me… My dinner consisted of an almond butter/sprout/banana sandwich on cinnamon raisin ezek? My only excuse was i was in a time crunch and need groceries/greens.,, I love that Weezy quote, i had no clue he had twitter! My song choice right now would have to be Manhattan-Kings of Leon!

  14. AHHH I am so sorry. CONGRATULATIONS on the KILLER day at school! Why would you ever want to delete that post? I JUST read it (i’m 2 days behind) and I am SO proud of you! You totally are inspiring me to get some client work done, and not go sleep/procrastinate! Muffin looked gorgeous in that picture with the glammed up look, with the sun shining behind her!
    Kailey, never apologize for your accomplishments! You worked your ass off, and you earned it! You aren’t arrogant, and you weren’t bragging. You kicked ass and you reaped the rewards!!!
    Your friend,
    Barbara

    • 20 snackface

      ProteinGirl- Honey!! Thank you so much for your amazing support! Thank you!

  15. 21 Mind Body and School

    I’m convinced chickpeas work with anything, and that hummus, corn, chickpea combo looks goooood. Right now the song that always put me in a good mood no matter what is Your Love is My Drug by Ke$ha. Not even kidding, I’m kind of in love with some of her songs and I have this I want to make fun of you yet love you kind of relationship with her. As for restocking- Nature’s Path pumpkin granola and TJ’s trail mix. Just have to point out too, that your wraps always look so good!

  16. 22 Kate G.

    i think im going to go out and buy some corn and chickpeas tomorrow… im not joking that combo with hummus is brilliant!

    And i want oaty bites!! Ahh some serious food envy going on right now haha.

    AND congrats on your accomplishments! Don’t even think about deleting those kinds of posts. I would so much rather read something uplifting like that than… well some of the other stuff out there i see in blogland!

    Song cheering me up: Tie Me Down (feat Ray J.) by New Boyz. hahahaha im laughing at myself even typing that but it’s a catchy song!!!

  17. Don’t delete the last post, girlie!
    If I liked chickpeas I’d totally do the double chickpea thang, too!

    xox Vera

  18. No way, holmes! That post didn’t sound braggy at all – you did a great job and why shouldn’t you share it and be proud of yourself? The song that is really getting me going right now is Cascada’s “Evacuate the Dancefloor”. It’s so fun and upbeat! I play it every single morning to get me going…plus it’s in my Zumba class so I can do all the dance moves while getting ready πŸ˜‰ Have a fab rest of the week, sweetie!

  19. Song: Carry Out – Justin Timberlake and Timberland…HILARIOUSLY entertaining
    or…Sexy Bitch – by…I forget. Has a great tempo when you are running/walking on the treadmill and your booty is a shakin’. I had to switch songs on my ipod I was laughing too much. =P

    Pantry item: CEREAL ALL THE WAY! I love, love, love cereal. I can’t go without like 3 different boxes in my kitchen. What can I say? I like variety. πŸ™‚

  20. I am loving the Ke$ah CD – it is amazing to do cardio to!

  21. You were out of cereal?!??! The horror!!! Glad you got that taken care of. I can’t imagine a Snackface Post without a cereal mess! πŸ™‚

  22. We have the same toilet paper. I guess all health food store lurkers pick up the same eco-friendly stuff instead of Charmin. Why make the trek all the way to the regular grocery store just for softer TP?

    I feel the same way about veganism, though I’ve never actually committed to it. I love it in theory and I don’t have a problem giving up yogurt and cheese and eggs, but when a delicious buttercream cupcake is staring me in the face, I just can’t say no.

    Thought of you on bowl #3 of peanut butter panda bites last night. Glad to see you’ve restocked, since you’re the one who inspired me to change my chocolate addiction to cereal until Easter!

    Have a great day love!

  23. Pantry item? Definitely Naturally More Peanut Butter–it’s just peerless.

    The song that never fails to cheer me up is “Best I Ever Had” by Drake, only because he was Jimmy Brooks once upon a pre-sexed-up-rap-career.

    • 30 snackface

      rustique- I lovvvved Jimmy Brooks. And I’m very much in love with Drake. I’m hoping to meet him soon and win him over. I have no idea how this will happen, but I still believe it.

  24. Nice job on getting in your 8 hours! Sadly, it’s been a while since I’ve seen that number, too 😦
    Totally know whatcha mean about Overnight Oats sometimes making you too full. Sometimes I have to choke the last couple bites down! Have a great day, chica!

  25. mamacita. i didnt go anywhere. i am reading yo posts religiously (is that sac-relig during Lent?) anyweeze, i love U, and if u wanna visit, aim for the weekend of march 19-21 πŸ™‚ im moving into a 1 bedroom!!!! ahhhh πŸ™‚ i mean im giving up an awesome view of the Lake, but still….this apt. is HUGE like TWSS πŸ˜‰ keep posting gurl and ill recap my week tomorrow….tonight is dirty dancing thursday at the bars…u going out too? i gotta get my swag on b4 finals.

    xoxox
    lolomon

  26. Heyooo,

    I’m gonna go with “Teeth” by Gaga and “Paper Planes” by M.I.A. If you haven’t downloaded Teeth, dooooo ittttt. πŸ˜‰ ;)It’s legit the best workout song everrrr. It gets me movin every time.

    Have a faaaaabulous day ma dear πŸ™‚

    xoxoxox, Lauren

  27. i always want to eat your wraps through the computer screen. is that weird?

    we all have off days… they just make the next on day that much better!

  28. So glad it’s you and not me , taking Media Law. Never ever again .
    I love media and am now studying law but I do not like them all meshed together.
    Oh and mucho thanks for saying ” fresh to death” πŸ™‚

  29. I’m loving “Meet Me Halfway” by the Black Eyed Peas.

    I cannot go one day without apples, Greek yogurt or almond butter.

  30. 37 Rachel

    Ok I’ve decided to stop creepin ’round your blog and comment for once, basically anything by Queen or the Zombies has been in major rotation for me. And I’m always restocking on my spinach and baby carrots (aka cutest vegetable ever). I understand what you mean about wanting to be vegan again -I’m not a huge fan of eggs or dairy but I love honey-flavored foods and I occasionally eat Greek yogurt for the calcium and protein (and cause it’s good, dammit). I’m vegetarian but I eat vegan whenever possible, I try not to think about it too much because even a little effort counts!

    PS I love your style of writing, it brings the funny. I saw Dark Chocolate Dreams at Stop n Shop today but my cheap self wouldn’t buy it.

    • 38 snackface

      Rachel- You are amazing! Thank you for commenting and being so fabulously kind. I agree with the honey thing. It’s tough! And Greek yogurt, I’m sorry, but there is NO vegan equivalent for that!

  31. Congrats on your 8 hours of sleep…even though it made you groggy the next day! I can do around 6 and I feel good, but recently been getting around 4-5…and that sux!!!

    My music…I’ve been listening to Second Chance by Shinedown, and Paralyzer by Finger Eleven…I can work out to almost any music, depends on what I’m in the mood for!

  32. Hello lovely! I wasn’t here yesterday but CONGRATS on all your grades! You deserve to be super proud of yourself for all the hard work you put in. Awesome job.

    I need to restock the banana supply asap and Florence and the Machine “Dog Days” is keeping me happy as can be.


Leave a Reply

