Put Your Back Into It

24Feb10

Hello gorgeous friends! Thank you for all the awesome responses to the weekend recap! I missed you in my inbox all weekend. (I guess the R-ratedness continues.)

Tuesday has been a ridiculously successful day. So successful, in fact, that I’m afraid this post is going to be borderline braggy. I’m going to share all, though, to show you that you can do it [if you] put your back into it.

The day started abnormally. I made the executive decision at 2am, as I went to bed, that I would not attend my 9 to 11am non-fiction writing class. What some students may do with this newfound free time is sleep. What I did, however, was wake up at 7:45am and work on a 2,000-word paper for said skipped class. The deadline was Tuesday at 7pm, but I had no other time to write it. I despise skipping class, but sistah needed to do work!

Because I was still sleep-starved, my breakfast was heavier in caffeine than carbs:

Multiply the blue mug by three.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, 1/2 thawed once-frozen banana, cinnamon and a spoon of Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter and Smucker’s Natural crunchy peanut butter. Those are two of my favorite nut butters of all time. Nut butter should really be considered a dirty word. I love how widely accepted it is, though.

I click-clacked away on the computadora until 10am. Then, I closed up writing shop and got ready for magazine class:

Free People sweater with Forever21 jeans and Dr. Scholl's green boots. And glasses for my tired eye balls.

I skipped off in the increasingly chilly air and sat in magazine class. When the professor announced that she’d be handing back our group presentation and huge publishing plan grades, I seriously thought I was going to hurl.

The first grade I spied was for the group presentation, for which my partner and I talked about Wine Spectator. We received a 100 percent for our work! Go team! Then it was the big one. The project that had me sleep for only three hours the night before it was due. My jaw unhinged as I stared at the grade. I got a 100 percent on it! Out-frickin-rageous. I get high off good grades, so I was buzzing for the rest of the afternoon.

I lollygagged uptown with my friend, J.Money, after class. We grabbed some tea and tried to figure out how she could get this dimey man’s number. I discovered that I give the worst man advice. I also discovered that I adore the coconut rooibos tea from:

Donkey Coffee and Espresso. Love.

Back at home for my lunch hours (from 1pm to 3), the day got even brighter. Special delivery!

Vita Coco!

Vita Coco probably didn’t have this in mind when they asked me to review their fab coconut waters, but my immediate thought was: “These are going to be perfect after long nights ofΒ  dancing and Long Islands.” Truth. THANK YOU!!!

Completely distracted by the beauty of the day, I put no thought into lunch:

TJ's Organic Black Bean soup. All-time favorite canned soup.

Lil' blurry. Topped with TJ's Chile sauce.

As soon as I finished the soup, I got back to work on my 2,000-word personal essay. It was physically and emotionally difficult to write about my subject– MamaJ. I’m just a big mushpie sometimes.

However, I felt like a boss when I finished with 2,073 words at 2:20pm. I finally rounded out lunch with:

A candy-sweet orange.

And:

A sugar-sweet Alternative Baking Co. cookie and some Hungry Yogini!

I snacked on about half of that throughout the day. With chocolate chips, coconut and macadamia nuts in one cookie, it doesn’t get much more gasmic.

I reluctantly left my house at 2:50 for Film. The only reason I didn’t want to go was because we were watching Citizen Kane, which I watched last quarter. I talked it out with, well, myself, and decided that I’m no expert on the film, so I might as well see it again. What should have been my second viewing turned into nap time. I couldn’t help it! What else is an exhausted girl to do in a warm, dark auditorium? Oops.

After “class” I went to CVS for sponges and gum. The essentials.

It was when I returned home that I received another surprise: the Media Law midterm results. My initial response? “What. The. Fuuuu?” I got my third 100 percent of the day. To my fellow students: You can do it, put your back into it! So maybe I didn’t sleep much Sunday night and was completely obsessed with studying up until exam time. To me, grades are worth it.

What helped me most on the law exam was word association. Take Wilson v. Layne, for example. Immediately, I saw that if you cross out “-son” and switch the “W” and the “L,” you get Lil’ Wayne. The case was about how journalists on police ride-alongs violates 4th Amendment rights. As soon as I see the case and remember Lil’ Wayne, I remember that the police busted into a house to arrest a woman’s son, the son came out of his room in boxers (which I envision as Lil’ Wayne), and from there, I remember what was significant about the case outcome. I may have lost you, but I basically did something like that with all cases.

Because you’ve come here for food rather than my mind games, allow me to share the delicious vegan dinner I enjoyed in scholastic bliss:

Sunshine salad!

I finished the Sunshine Garden Herb patty-topped, Sabra-adorned spinach and mushroom salad just as the cheetahs were ready to come out of the oven:

Cheetahs with ketchup. On a Christmas plate. When that last bit will stop, I don't know.

After the veggie feast, I had two mini mugs of cereal and a few sips of:

Vita Coco with pineapple.

Refreshing, fa sho! This had a wonderfully round mouthfeel with a hint of pineapple sweetness in the background. I really do think these will be perfect for Saturday mornings.

At 7pm, it was game on. I threw my laundry in the washer and spent the next 90 minutes cleaning mi casa! I dusted, Windexed, vacuumed, Swiffered, Wet Swiffered and wiped down the whole house. Then I showered my dishes. I feel very on top of things right now. I’m sure I’ll regret saying that tomorrow, or something.

At 10pm, I had an apple and then another luscious snacklette:

Bran Vitatop with Oikos, peanut butter and sugar-free syrup icing. Lick.

I was finally full after that! That Oikos tasted so good that I think I know what I’ll be putting in the fridge for the morning!

I’m off to fold laundry, sip some tea and hit the hay early! AHH!! Before 2am! I don’t remember the last time that happened.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Do any clichΓ© mottos suit you? AND If MamaJ were to do a post, what would you like to see? AND Do you have a bedtime? If so, what is it?

This is beyond clichΓ©, but I really think “Work hard, play hard” suits my lifestyle.

58 Responses to “Put Your Back Into It”

  1. When I’m racing, I always think “Dig Deep, No Pain, Dig Deep, No Pain..”
    and if I’m especially hurting, I start rhyming random words. “Track, Wack, Lack, Sack…” If that fails me, I count steps. Boring as all get out, but I need to get my head on straight!
    Congrats on your beastly grades!

  2. Girl, you rocked that test so hard I would have expected nothing less than a perfect score! You are so amazingly self-motivated that it makes me want to minimize Google Reader and finish up my Statistics homework…well, in a few minutes I will.

    Can Mama J do a post on the fierce little Snacklette that you were? Maybe some hilarious first grade fashion shots?

    My new motto is NO REGRETS. I don’t want to look back and wish I had acted differently about the good or the bad. I’m going to take what happened and roll with it. I don’t think that everything happens for a reason, but you can take lemons and make a totally killer lemonade mixed drink with them.

    • 3 snackface

      Anna- Thanks sugar! Honestly, the Goog Reader is normally always open. I only click out of it when it’s super crunch time, and I tell myself the posts will always be there to read. That rarely works, but whatevs. HELL YEEEE to no regrets! Regret is an entirely wasted emotion! We can’t go back in time!

  3. Great job on schoolwork! I’m exactly like that…loved to see myself ranked 3rd after a test in a class of 150 people.

    Mama J post – favorite memories. Would be so sweet..and funny, I’m sure!

  4. Oh, I remember the days of skipping class in order to study for tests or write papers! I also skipped a lot of classes and went running instead. What was I thinking?

  5. Did you seriously get 2000 words done in 3 hours today? I’m impressed- so impressed I may just attempt it tomorrow- I have one that’s due on Monday- needing to be started ASAP.. I’ve been far to busy eating ice cream and drowning my feelings in sugar.. hahah good times being a full time student with 6 classes- all ending next friday- ugh!

    • 7 snackface

      adrienmelaine- I should clarify– I’m not that badass. I started the essay at 12:30am and worked till 1:30. My brain was not working! So I finished it up between 8 and 10am, and 1:30 and 2:20pm. I have no idea why I thought I’d get that specific, but that’s that! Lol

  6. I believe in ‘Work Hard, Play Hard’ too! That happens to be this season’s slogan for the Milwaukee Bucks (NBA) as well, ha.
    I’d want to see a fashion or recipe post from Mama J.

  7. 9 Ariffa

    your life looks sooo perfectly balanced I’m jealous. I need to be in bed by 9 to even function the next day. GAH it’s 9:30, tomorrow’s gunna suuuuck.

    • 10 snackface

      Ariffa- Ahh! Thank you! But honestly, I normally feel like I’m sprinting to catch up with everything. :/

  8. Mama J should do her own Day In The Life post, of course!

  9. 12 homegirlcaneat

    MIND OVER MATTER. Gets me through everything… shots, receiving bad news/grades, being a poor student, etc, etc.

    MAMAJ NEEDS TO POST! About how to be confident! I feel like she rocks tha sh!t out of everywhere she goes and does it with style and grace!

    XOXO LOVE YOU

  10. 13 elleneatsbeats

    Damnnnn girl I wish I had your studying dedication. congrats on the fab grades!

    Those vitacoco’s are PERFECT after a rough night out. They’ve got me through work sooooooooooo many times I can’t even count.

  11. Congrats on kickin’ some school hiney! I wish I had the willpower to stay up for hours and study…but alas, I do not. Gotta love good days like that though. And glad HY could be a part of it πŸ™‚

    Here’s to many more fabulous days!

  12. 15 Little Bookworm

    Congrats on the grades! πŸ˜€ Love the Cheetahs!

  13. 16 Claudia

    Were you valedictorian in high school or in the top 5? Pleaseee answer? πŸ™‚

    • 17 snackface

      Claudia- Hahaha no, definitely not. I think I was 32 out of 282. Nothing big at all!

  14. Congrats K!
    Or should I call you SmartFace from now on? πŸ˜€
    This is also a little kick in the butt I need, I will be off to do some uni work now!

    Cliche motto, hmm, I can’t think of anything right now.
    MamaJ should talk about her daily life, her fierce fashion and some life tips!
    Aaaand my bedtime recently is around 10pm, such a granny but that’s usually because I get up at 6am for gym time.

  15. I am not really a fan of the coconut waters…it sounds weird but I think they taste very wet. Strange. I am a grandma. I go to bed at like 9 so I can wake up at 430 and work out!

    • 20 snackface

      Jessica- You know, I don’t really drink anything other than water, coffee and tea (and the occasional diet coke) during the day, so I could only drink a few sips. I’m still thinking I may prefer kombucha over coco water, but we’ll see!

  16. um, how about “never give up?” hahaha. so cliche.

  17. congrats on all those 100’s girl! you so deserve them from all of your studying!
    jenna

  18. Three 100s? You make me hang my head in shame when I skip class, which is probably a good thing. Congrats on the grades! Clearly they’re well deserved πŸ™‚

    Yessss please have MamaJ do a post! I loved her dating advice. My mom’s is nowhere near as good., and usually involves telling me to marry a foreign man so I don’t have to live in America. She’s all about the Euro dudes.

    Bedtime for me is 7-8 hours before I have to wake up. Because I’m old and lazy, and like to use sleep as an excuse not to do homework.

    Have a great day gorgeous!

    • Gabriela–I am the same way! Oops can’t do homework because it’s bed time! (I like to be asleep no later than 11 if I can help it).

      I would love to see some posts on your Mom’s life as a model, her fashion advice maybe? So impressed with your grades girl–you’re very motivating! Of course most of my classes are paper-related which I highly prefer. Just this morning I pretty much failed a math midterm. Le sigh.

  19. Congrats on the grade domination!

    I want to hear about Mama J’s life (I’ve been reading for a while and she seems to have led a very interesting one!), and what it’s like to have such a fantastic daughter.

    My bedtime is invariably 11 PM. It kind of sucks and I wish it was later–I just have to train myself I suppose.

  20. 27 Lizzy

    Your rock girl! When i get good grades you better believe it makes my day 10 times better! i’m so proud of you! πŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  21. 29 Jennifer

    “Because you’ve come here for food rather than my mind games, allow me to share the delicious vegan dinner I enjoyed in scholastic bliss:”

    This is why I come to your blog…reading about food is interesting, but all your other commentary makes it even better!! You definitely write one of my fave blogs!

    Congrats on the 100% x 3. You kick ass!!!

    And I agree with the others….let’s hear more about your MamaJ

  22. Nice job on the 100s! You just gave me some motivation to kick ass in school today. You can do it put your back into it!

    Ever since my days in Gymnastics, Ive always said Go Hard or Go Home.

    And it terms of bedtime—-now that Im an old lady (25–haha) I usually go to bed from 9pm-11pm.

  23. I used to skip class to do homework, too! Total nerd here. Getting good grades was my THANG. πŸ˜‰

    Word hard, play hard totally suits me as well. And when I’m working out, I sometimes say random words like “Power” and “Strong”…IDK, it helps!

  24. Congrats on the baller grades! You totally deserve it πŸ™‚

    P.S. If I had a dollar for everytime I used Weezy or a Weezy song to remember something for class…well, I’d have a lot of dollars. If only he knew that he deserved the credit for my grades πŸ™‚

  25. aww I can’t believe you napped through Citizen Kane – that film rocks. congrats on the grades and you deserve the high you get from them!

  26. Hello ma dear πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    First of all, congrats on the fantastic grades!! Such a smartie you are πŸ˜‰ Hope you are planning to celebrate those A’s this weekend (and recover with the coconut h20!). Speaking of recovery, when I was in undergrad my friends and I would stock up on Pedialite for hangovers, LOL. Works wonders let me tell you πŸ˜‰ Aaaaand they sell pedialite popsicles (!!!)

    I think a fun post for yo mama would be to write her day, but in your blog format (ex: write the post of her eats through out the day, random throughts, etc. and post at night). You know, a life in the day of MamaJ. It would be neat to see how similar your posts are despite being for obvious reasons not the same person, but also because you are so close.

    I def do not sleep enough during the week. I usually fall asleep by 12:30 and wake around 6:15 to hit da gym. Girlllll let me tell you, take advantage of being able to gym it up whenever you want through out the day. I’d kill for that again! Now it’s either before lab at 6:30am or after when I’m completely exhausted after a 10-hr day at 8:30pm….Oh ya, and take fullll advantage of naps! Miss those πŸ˜‰

    Have a great day!!!

    xoxoxox,

    Lauren

  27. MMMM THAT VITATOP! i put some “icing” on a naner nut one last night.. SO freaking good (i had it with coffee too.. double trouble)
    can i have YOUR STYLE, pretty please? i think you could make RAGS look good!
    OH and you are a BEAST at life, beasting your exam (miss 100!!!), running off of no sleep and still managing to look gorgeous while doing it and eating great.. yeah, you rock
    HAPPY HUMPIDY HUMP DAY LOVAAAA!

  28. I always love hearing that someone has had the best day! Let me be the 50th (i’m sure) person to congratulate you on the grades! That is really quite impressive… I liked to think that i rocked my mid-term yesterday, but after hearing about your 300% madness, maybe not so much. πŸ˜‰ Go and treat yourself to something nice! Whenever i feel like i have worked extremely hard during a week/day i find if i treat myself to something small i have more motivation to keep up the pace!

  29. Yesterday someone (Susan from tangerines I believe) commented my blog calling nut butter ‘nut butts’ – haha, don’t you love that term!? So haps for those grades!! Work it gurrrl!! Word association is the only way I have made it through life. No joke! Key to success!

    I want to hear about Mama J’s life – it sounds like she has QUITE the life story thus far!!

  30. i love how you said the coconut water had a “round mouthfeel.” i weirdly know EXACTLY what you are talking about.

    my motto in college was work hard play hard, in fact, i think that was the motto of the entire school (go blue!). git it, girl.

  31. i tried to comment but it went away, so if i comment twice, forgive a sister.

    i love how you said the coconut water had a “round mouthfeel,” because i know EXACTLY what you are talking about.

    also, work hard play hard is THE motto, i think. i certainly lived by it in college (sigh, i miss you). git it, girl!

  32. Congrats on the amaazing grades!! Food looks amazin, and jealous of your VitaCoco packaggge! πŸ™‚

  33. 41 Brenna

    Congrats on the fantastic grades! Isn’t it the best feeling when all that hard work pays off?!

  34. I got that same package of cocowaters (I think I won it on someones blog) and sadly, the only one I liked was the pomegranate one. The others, I didn’t really care for, I think I would stick to gatorade if I need those extra electrolytes and yes perf after a night of drinking! maybe its good mixed with some OJ??

    congrats on the grades girl, you deserve it bc you kick as* in classs!!!

    I just tried dark chocolate dreams for the first time this morning in my oats and OMG I think I am in love for real

  35. i want MamaJ’s Guide to Fashion. for reals.

    congrats on those amazing grades! they are obviously all well deserved, so you should be happy happy happy! i don’t know how you do it miss thang, but you continue to inspire me by both working hard and playing hard. and being healthy. loves it.

    in college, i probably went to bed around midnight every night. now, it is usually between 9:30 and 11pm. if i didn’t have to get up at 6:30am, things would be very different.

    ive tried the plain coconut water, and didn’t love it, but i am wondering if a flavored variety would suit my fancy more.

    have a fab day my love – mwah!

  36. “Live each day as it was your last”

    Umm, I wanna see ANYTHING by MommaJ? How about how she keeps fab-over-30??

    And no bedtime for me! Although usually no later than 11pm on a school night. Grandma, I know.

    xo
    K

  37. Dude!!!!!! We just finished another fabby gchat session (i’ve just missed you so much!), but I gotta say–we’re total soul sistas. My dad RAISED me on the saying, “work hard, play hard” !! It’s just the way of life πŸ™‚

    I obviously SPACED it when you told me you had received “Vitacoco” yesterday! I know what that is!!!! The drinks will be perfect after a night out…. gotta get yo electrolytes/antioxidants replenished, right?!

    Lovin’ on the DCD (as per usual), the black bean soup, cheetahs and dessert!!! Mmmm, true story: in high school i used to have bananas drizzled with maple syrup as an afternoon snack! That’s where its at!

    Also loving your study methods! I do the same thing–the sillier the associations, the easier it is to remember!!

    LOVE YOU BOO!!! Congrats on rocking the exams and projects–once again πŸ™‚
    XOXOXO

  38. HOOray for the perfect scores! That’s freakin’ awesome (and motivating, for sure.) And spic and span house in the same day?! Holler.
    So jealous of all that coconut water! I’ve only tried the regular kind, and it was pretty good πŸ™‚
    Have a great day, sweetie!

  39. hey! i’m a law student and def do that kind of jam to remember cases πŸ™‚ love it!

    also – i think mamaj should post about what it was like to be a model/how she got into modeling etc

  40. You can do it [if you] put your back into it! Loveeeeee it! πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on all those 100 percents. Coming from another lady who loved the high of good grades in college…I’m super PUMPED for you and am living vicariously on that emotion. Being in the working world and no longer getting that tangible “A” is tough, yo!

    I’m super proud πŸ˜‰

    I think my cliche would have to be, “Everything happens for a reason.” I know some people don’t like that one but I really believe it!

    As for MamaJ, she could write about anything and I’d be down. Seriously — she could write about grains of salt and I’d think it was cool πŸ™‚

    Bedtime? I try for 9:30-10 on worknights but my standard is 10:30-11. What can I say? There aren’t enough hours in the day!

    Have a great day, Snackface!

  41. so im pretty sure your sweet potatoes in all your posts got me permanently addicted to the things, i could live the rest of my life eating them every day!

  42. I love how much you love CVS! There is one right across from my gym that my mom just happens to work at so I go like every other day! Haha – they have everything! “work hard, play hard” is so the way I live! I work like a mad woman on the weekdays to bust loose Friday and Saturday! Your sweet Mama should post some funny little stories about you growing up πŸ™‚

    • 52 snackface

      naturalnonsense- Haha I suppose I do go to CVS a lot. It’s the only drug store on campus! And I just love it, you’re right.

  43. I’ve been lurking for awhile, so I figured it was high time I left a comment. I’m a 2001 grad of Scripps in newspaper journalism (yes, I’m sort of an old lady — that was back when newspapers still existed…!) and I LOVE reading about you hanging out at my old haunts! It seems like Athens has changed quite a bit since I went to OU. The only two coffee shops we had were Perk’s and Brennan’s. And I’m so sad that you’re missing out on Zachary’s — the “fancy” bar that I went to for my 21st birthday. I think it closed a few years after I graduated. I loved Casa so much! And I’m not sure if the Junction still exists, but we used to go there for “quad night.” Ahh, memories!

    • 54 snackface

      Alison- OH MY GAWD!!! I love hearing about what was/wasn’t there a few years ago! I wish Zachary’s were still around! I don’t think a “fancy” bar exists here anymore. Junction is definitely still here, but I don’t frequent it. The men there are too young now. Ahh! Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

  44. mama j needs to post on how she dropped such fabulous kidlets from her loins.

    my motto: get on that dick.

  45. your cheetahs, LOOK AMAZING’
    what are they/how do you cook them?
    you prob answered this many times, so sorry if you did.
    im just curious!! πŸ™‚

    • 57 snackface

      Hey Lisa! I actually have a page for the recipe! It’s right at the top, next to Home. πŸ™‚

  46. I am like a proud mama hearing about all of your 100 percents!! Good for you! πŸ™‚

    I say “just do it” for many things, yesterday’s post for example.

    Also, I visit the Wine Spectator website daily, it’s so exciting to see their “Daily Picks”


Leave a Reply

