Talking Food

11Feb10

Hi beautiful people! As I sit to type this, it is Thursday, February 11, 1:01 am. I’m going slightly loopy, but I must post before I got to bed.

Because of said exhaustion and possible insanity, I’m going to let the food do most of the talking. Lawd knows I love words, though, so we’ll see how this ends up.

I woke up after only five hours of sleep and I was starving. Fixed that:

What up. I'm choco-nana proats.

See, that’s the food actually talking. I swear I’m not on anything.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, 1/2 sliced banana, 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder, half packet of stevia, cinnamon and a drizzle of peanut butter. Fluffy and fabulous:

Eat me. (Name that SatC episode!)

I piddled away some time with important G-chat sessions. It’s a wonderful way to start the day.

Whilst walking to the gym an hour later, I realized that the weighted lunges I did the night prior had sufficiently murdered my thighs. From the knee to the cheek, these gams are sore. Love.

A 50-minute elliptical and Vogue session flew by and gave way to 15-20 minutes of abs. Planks are hell and will always make me want to hurl.

I made it back to mi casa by 1:25pm and was starving. I whipped up a smoothie, popped it in the freezer, hopped in the shower, dressed and then assembled lunch:

Smoothie and a salad. Because it's February and I'm pretending it's not horrendously frigid outside.

The salad was bossy thanks to this gomer:

Love me some wangz.

Best Gardein product I’ve tried yet. I love, love, love buffalo sauce and this was supah spicy! I had honey mustard dressing to balance it out:

Hey. I'm meaty.

In the tup: romaine, celery, carrot, cherry toms, honey mustard dressing and wangz.

I ate the smoothie dessert-style with a spoon. Popping that baby in the freezer for a bit made it extra-thick– just how I like it:

I'm fruity, protein-y and caffeinated.

In the smoothie: 1/2 C frozen bloobs, 1/2 C chilled black coffee, 1/2 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder and 1/2 packet stevia. Crazy full.

For about an hour I debated not going to my 4-5:30pm class. Called Muffin, who supported my not going. Called MamaJ, who told me I needed to go to class. I went to class.

Doodled SnackFace logos during class. Trotted to the library afterward and snacked on zeese:

Yo. I'm another April creation.

I tried to make April’s protein cake, but I forgot one vital ingredient: baking powder! I don’t even own any baking powder. Thus, mine was more custard than cake, but it was still delicious.

I ate as I planned out my schedule for my final quarter at Ohio University. Can’t believe I’m typing that.

An hour later, I visited Muffin at work. I squealed with delight when I saw Banana there, too. Actually, I’m not sure I’m much of a squealer. Either way, I was excited. We bounced around the student center for a bit, and then I left for CVS.

Purchased mascara, toothbrushes and a Pure Protein bar. Ran into the girls as I was exiting and stayed a little longer. Chillin’ in CVS on a Wednesday night? Why not?

When I finally returned home, it was 8pm and I was starving. Dinner went from this:

Before.

To this:

After.

I Gliding Calm-ed it up and combined bell pepper, cherry toms, refried beans (vegetarian), salsa, chile powder and hot sauce in a pan over medium-high heat. While that cooked, I baked Flatout pieces in the oven at 450* for 10 minutes. Amazing:

Mex I can.

Immediately following dinner, I had something naughty:

Hideous thumb. I'm sorry.

That Light n’ Fit was gross, but I refilled that container at least 23 times with cereal to make up for it.

It’s now 1:58am. My alarm is set for 7am. Here’s to the weekend, which starts at 10pm for moi! Love you guys!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: When do you know you’re going insane? Kidding. At what temperature to you keep your thermostat during the cold winter? AND Who’s going to keep you warm this Valentine’s Day?

I know I’m going insane when I can’t form sentences. I’m keeping my temp between 65*F and 69*, but I’m terrified to see what the gas bill will be like. And this Valentine’s Day I’ll have Muffin. ‘Tine’s Day is really just another day to me. I want to celebrate life and love all the time!

P.S. Sorry I’ve fallen behind on responding to comments! I’ll be better soon!

70 Responses to “Talking Food”

  1. Hey girl!
    My thermos had been at around 75… up to 90 some days, LOL!
    I don’t think the insulation in my apt. works the way it’s supposed to.. I swear never feels as hot as the thermostat says!

    My hunny’s gonna be keeping me warm this vday! as he has since ’08 ❀
    What about you, how have your experiences with vday been in the past?

    xox Vera

    • 2 snackface

      Vera- Well, I have no romantic Valentine’s Days in memory. None of them have been significant. And I’m not sure I’ve ever really had a Valentine! Until someone makes me realize that it can be a lovely holiday, I’m going to treat it as a normal day. I’m not cynical about it, though! I love love. πŸ˜‰

  2. “tried to make April’s protein cake, but I forgot one vital ingredient: baking powder! I don’t even own any baking powder. Thus, mine was more custard than cake, but it was still delicious.”

    Ummm that would be something I would do. Because if it’s not a raw ball, I dont know how to make it LOL
    xoxo

  3. Protein cake still looks yummy- I have to try it soon!!

  4. Ay baybay, I’ve tried that apple pie flavor, and it is lady ga-rossssssss. Why didn’t you tell me you were eating such a fab cena last night as we g-gabbed?I haven’t had refried beans in fooooooorever. Want them. Now.

    It’s 7:30 am, and I don’t know why I’m awake. But I can’t wait for you to see the text I sent you. BUENOS DIAS, AMOR!!

  5. Oh girl I love your posts always!!

    Oh those Gardein Buffalo Wings look so good!! I must try, I tried the Smart Life Buffalo Meatless Wings, they were god but those I know would be better, I had the Gardein Tuscan Chix Breast last night for dinner, it was amazing! U must try it!!

    I didnt have any baking powder either in my house until I started trying Aprils Creations, lol! I then had to buy some!!!

    Valentines Day I will be snuggling up with my fiance and a bottle of wine, lol!!! We are going to a nice dinner : )

    Have a great day girl! xo

  6. I keep mine at around 78 which is probably why my bill was almost as much as my rent last month. I’m sorry, I get cold easily! Valentine’s Day will be spent with my bestie. What better way to spend the day…

  7. girl i just woke up an hour ago and ate the earliest breakie of my life…why am i awake? who the eff knows…ill i think you know whos keeping me warmsie this sunday πŸ˜‰ wish it were you tho!

    xoxo
    lolo

    have an awesome thursday chica!!!

    love u! and cant wait for the HLS crashing bwahahaha

  8. You crack me up. There are definitely times where I feel like I’m borderline losing it πŸ™‚ Many of those times are late at night! I think you’re still pretty with it though, if ya ask me…still hilarious, still awesome!

    I’ve been trying those Gardein products, too — love ’em!!

    We switch our thermostat on and off depending on whether we’re in the apartment, so it changes all the time! This Valentine’s Day will be spent with Bobby…and my family! Haha, LAME — but we’re going to AZ for the weekend and decided we’d celebrate once we get home. No offense to Bobby, but I’ll take the sunshine and warmth on Sunday instead and we can figure something out once we’re back in the Chicago tundra. Just sayin!!!

    Have a lovely weekend, sweets!

  9. UGH. my entire comment just got deleted when I pressed submit. Damn.

    Long story short, I keep my thermostat in the 70’s because we do not pay utilities separate from our rent. I take that for granted for sure.

    And V-day is just a day to me too. It’s a fun excuse to wear pink and give cute cards though.

    Happy Thursday!

  10. 11 Emily

    satc episode – the subway sandwich! hahaha, love it…. your posts are always hilarious!

  11. Mmmm, I like the looks of that custard.

    My fireplace and my hub will (hopefully) keep me warm. πŸ™‚ If not, the thermostat set at 69* should do the trick. Happy day to you!

  12. Im cold if its below 90* (Im weird) sooo I try to keep the heat set at 70 but my husband usually turns it down to 68 (really?!). I dont know.. I just wear layers in the winter!!

    That din din looks great.. I love bell peppers!

  13. 1. As tropical as possible.
    2. This is my first V-Day under the new No-More-Boyfriends-Until-I-Figure-Out-My-Life Regime…so I plan on celebrating with the girls and getting dressed up and, of course, staying warm in a hot restaurant.

  14. I”m so proud of you for eating all that goodies and refueling after working out!! That’s essential to gain muscle! πŸ™‚

  15. Yummy lookin wing action! I just picked those up but havent tried em yet. Cant wait! Our house is at about 70 degrees? Im always wearing slippers and my robe too. πŸ™‚

  16. Ohh that meat-free buff chicken looks sooo good!! I’ve been on a salad kick…wish it was summahhh. Also — I go loopy on numerous occasions…usually I only subject my bff to my incoherent sentence and random (very) ideas and thoughts. I also have absolutely NO control over my thermostat (considering I [luckily] don’t have to pay for it) — it’s literally built into the wall and I cannot get to it! So this means it’s either as hot and dry as the Sahara up in here OR colder than it is outside…I go through lots of different layers. haha

  17. 18 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    this post made me laugh haha i get in thos emoods allll the timee… sleep deprivation does that. those buffalo wing things look really good!! and so does din πŸ™‚ have a good weekend!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  18. I’ve been meaning to tell you that I love your tablecloth! It’s so cute, colorful and cheerful. πŸ™‚ Well, even though I have a “valentine”, the holiday really has no meaning to me. My bf and I have never celebrated it in all the years we have been together, so it’s just another day for us. In my opinion, I don’t need there to be a special day to make me appreciate my loved ones, I love them everyday!

  19. I keep my thermostat around 70-75 these days. I can’t stand to be cold yet I sleep with a ceiling fan on that I must have for the noise so I need it warmer to compensate.
    My boyfriend will be keeping me warm this VDay along with my snuggie and 2 dogs lol

  20. 21 lowandbhold

    I don’t know if anyone has answered yet, but that would be the SATC episode where Miranda is harassed by the giant hot dog coercing her to “eat him”. Then she contemplates doing him. Classic-ness. That show can do no wrong.

    I have no idea what I keep my thermostat on. I turn it down in the mornings before I leave and up when I get home and can’t feel my toes. But my bills have still been sky high and it kills me.

    My faux fur blanket is gonna keep me warm for V-day.

    Ummm, I know I’m going insane when I talk to myself out loud. It happens often. πŸ™‚

    Yay for it almost being your weekend!

  21. Snackkkkkkkkkkkkalicious!
    Valentine’s Day…oh Valentine’s Day…I’m actually headed to Benihana for some cooking on the table action this V-Day with three of my best friends in celebration of two of their birthdays. Yup. Oh well.
    Hope you have a fabulous day πŸ™‚

  22. Ahh I know which episode you’re talking about! I forget what season but it’s the one where Miranda walks by the dude in the sandwich costume and is insulted because he keeps telling her to “eat me.” I watch entirely too much of that show.

    I like that your chicken wings package is doing some talking, too: “I’m meat free! Party with me!” So persuasive. The tup salad looks deeelish though.

    I still live in a dorm, so I’ve been cranking up the heat while I don’t have to pay for it. A balmy 80 degrees? Perfect.

    Have a great weekend with Muffin chica! I agree- we should celebrate the love every day!

  23. 24 Christine

    omg miranda and the sandwich on SATC lmao classic.
    i don’t like Valentine’s Day at all. My boyfriend and I stopped celebrating about 2 years ago. I don’t need a holiday to show the people I love how much they mean to me. I do that everyday! πŸ™‚

  24. i know i’ve gone insane when i really try to listen and just.can.not.

    valentines day my best friend/college roommate will be warming my bed with me as we drink too much wine and go see valentine’s day. nothing like a lil best friend love.

  25. HEY LOVELY!!
    aww i wana hold you on valentines day!! hehe. well looks like ill be spending it w. my parents..my boy is going out of town so we are grilling out on saturday night! and having wine, maybe! GETTING CRAZY!! hahahah you know me.

    we keep our thermo at like 70! i got in trouble when i turned it to 75..whooops!

    LOVE YOU!

  26. heya πŸ™‚ your salad looks so good! i’m always looking for veg products to have on hand, just in case i’m in a hurry. i’ll have to check these out now so thanks for the recommendation.
    well i hope you get some sleep, hunni! and i don’t know how you keep your temp so low! i think that would make me go insane, though i congratulate you for saving energy. wahoo for going green :)!
    have a lovely day!
    xox

  27. Awe definitely celebrate life and live all the time! I want to take my mom out for valentines day but we can’t do it on the actual day. Definitely one day next week!

  28. 29 Kelly

    That salad looks so good! I’m generally not a huge fan of fake meat products but those sure do look appetizing.

    “Eat me” is from the SATC episode where Miranda is walking on the sidewalk and sees this guy dressed in a sandwich costume who looks at her and says “eat me” creepily. I’m impressed that I remember that. I haven’t seen any SATC for a long time!

  29. 30 Michaela

    I am the thermostat nazi. If I’m home it’s at 65. I might turn it down a few degrees when I sleep and when I leave, I turn it down to 60. I’m pretty sure I’m driving my roommate crazy. Do what you gotta do when you’re a poor college student!

    I’ll be spending V-day with my new boyfriend Dan. I can’t even remember the last time I had a boyfriend on the “special” day. I do think it’s just like any other day but I have to admit I’m a little excited!

    • 31 snackface

      Michaela- Awww I’m so happy for you! I think it’s so sweet and totally appropriate to be excited for this Valentine’s Day. I love new couples! Congrats, boo!

  30. I’m new to the blogworld, but I’ve been reading yours for a while and absolutly love it! You are such a good writer and always have such killer outfits – especially on the weekends! No Valentine for me! I’m going to a huge Irish festival to most likely drink some green beer and forget about not having one πŸ™‚ Have a great day!

    • 33 snackface

      naturalnonsense- Awww thank you so much for reading and for the wonderful compliments! Um, may I please join you for the Irish festival? We’d have a ball!

  31. 35 L

    I keep my thermostat at around 70 during the day then I put it down to 60 at night when I sleep, I get SOOOOOO HOT when I sleep. My V_ day will consist of studying!!!!!!! Question how often do you workout?

    • 36 snackface

      L- Hello hot sleeper! I go to the gym three times a week. That’s it! Any more and I’d go crazy.

  32. I am thankful I do not have to set my thermostat, because my bills would be through the roof! It is a set price, luckily it is warm and cozy just how I like it =D

    And for valentines day, it will be my 2nd with my current boyf, we’ll probably just hang around the house like lazy bums πŸ˜‰

    xo
    K

  33. It’s amazing how you make even the most typical days fun to read about πŸ™‚ I know I am going insane when my body starts to twitch. Literally, twitch. My leg or my eyelid, usually, but it happens when I’ve been sitting still for too long, and it drives me nuts. Unfortunately, I do not have control of my thermostat (the landlord keeps it on a sensor outside), and the temperature of my apartment is absolutely unpredictable. Sometimes, it is so cold that I bring my stuff to the gym to shower. Other times, I can’t sleep because, even though I’m wearing underwear and covered in nothing but a sheet, I am sweating balls. Oh, winter, how you complicate things.

    I’ve never had a Valentine before (sort of pathetic, I know, but chocolate and single girls have always been company enough). This year, though, I have some major (or, in Snackface-speak, “may-juh”) plans with my man Chuck (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Shaw_wine). He and I–and probably lots of chocolate and other Valentine-less girls–are going to have a great time.

    http://brunettewalksintoabar.wordpress.com

    • 39 snackface

      Brunette- Oh the Chuck! I checked it out in Cinci and the price had gone up! It’s not $2 there! It was three something. Bummer. But still, not bad. You know what I think is interesting? I’m sure there aren’t bunches of guys sitting around talking about how they don’t have Valentine’s. This seems to be a total female thing. Am I wrong here, friends?

  34. Wow-all your eats look YUMO! How do you get your peanut butter drizzled so nicely on your oatmeal. Mine is always hard and chunky. Maybe b/c I leave mine in the fridge?

  35. Just clicked over from HTP (I read comments and then clicked on fun ones) and I’m liking it lady! Why are there so many good blogs and so little time?! Good looking food and fun posts, it’s a keeper. Plus, we have matching Target plates.

  36. 42 Lizzy

    hey girl hey!

    i just wanted to check in and say HI! any spring break plans???

    hope your having a good week! πŸ™‚ xoxo

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  37. Always love your blog, writing style is off the hook!!! I have linked back to your blog a few times. Not that anyone reads my blog! πŸ˜‰ I am thinking you should copyright the word snackface as your own!!!

    XOXO!!

    http://thislifeitsmine.wordpress.com/2010/02/06/ive-become-my-mother/

  38. Those proats look extraa delicious and so does that veggie/bbq notso-chicken combo!
    I’m not a huge fan of Dannon Light N’ Fit- I ate them all thru high school and they taste so fake and icky to me now!

    I hope you were able to get good sleep last night!!!

  39. Hey
    New blogger warning!! πŸ™‚ Sure you get this all the time, but if you would id appreciate feedback on my own blog. Ive followed yours for awhile now. All i can say is thank you for the wonder that is called the “Cheetah”. Can’t get enough. Im sure my poor attempts at making them don’t compare to your skillz but I try….Lol.

  40. 70 degrees, as mandated by my landlord.

    also…that dindin looks PHENOM.

    gah, what a crazy, stressful week, no? i went to bed at 10pm, and woke up this morning to a text message I received at like 10:05, which means i literally conked out right as i got in bed. i was a little skeeved at that flavor, and you confirmed it. howeverrrrr….the raspberry flavor of that is delish. i won’t lie.

    love you munchkin – chat soon πŸ™‚

  41. We used to set ours at the landlord required 60, which really meant like 55 in our house. But then we realized that we were walking around in our house with our coats on all of the time and I always had numb appendages and realized that if we were to act like grown ups we should be willing to spend a little money on grown up expenses, like gas bills. They haven’t been too scary, and it’s nice to know that I won’t freeze to death if I have to pee in the middle of the night.

  42. apple pie dannon?!?! I remember the days that they had about 5 flavors, blueberry, strawberry, vanilla, plain and lemon. Now look at all these crazy flavors! have you tried the toasted coconut? I hear thats amazeeeee

    when do I know I go insane…when its my 4th trip to the grocery store in 1 week. yeah I like food shopping almost more than clothes shipping, its just an addiction!!!

  43. I love those Cherubs grape tomatoes!!! They are like candy! Use baking soda instead of baking powder. Just sprinkle some on, mix, and watch it ‘foam/puff’ up! Have a fantastic Valentine’s Day weekend!
    Barbara

  44. 50 Alyson

    I just discovered Gardein recently and I love it! I’ve only tried the BBQ Shreds, but I’ll definitely have to pick up those next time! After eating natural Greek Yogurt everything else taste thin, fake and chemically to me. Hope you were able to get some rest!

  45. my house was built in 1907… which means that shit gets COLD. in fact as i type there is a space heater blasting out 67 at my toesies. gotta do what you do.
    i have my besties keeping me warm, dinner and a movie. haaay, holla for the single ladies πŸ™‚
    by the lovely, you inspired me. i was thinking of posting some of my fits on zee good ole’ bloggie… but i wanted to ask you so i didn’t seem like a lurk who jacked ya’ blog style!
    anyways m’dear, have a bangin’ weekend!

  46. 53 healthnuttxo

    gooddddneess i tried the apple cinnamon pie light n fit..i literally threw it out after gagging.
    seems like it would be delish- NOOOO.
    dont try the cinnamon bun/roll flavor either.
    equally gag-worthy…

  47. snack attack! nice postizzle…i wish food could talk but then I’d feel bad about lusting & devouring it so. i know i’m actin’ a foo’ when i feel deliriously giddy & giggly for no apparent reason. it’s kinda fun at first! you’re gonna hate me for this next one but we don’t have our heat on…it’s SUN DIEGO, ayay! Lastly, I got a little Serbian sugah to keep me sweet & satisfied this vday. XOXOXO bloggie-in-training bocalgirl

  48. I might win the prize. I keep my thermostat at 63. If I’m feeling sassy, it goes up to 65. I actually like it a bit cold. I don’t mind bundling up, and at night it feels great with lots of blankets! I can’t stand how the heat feels when it comes out of the vent. It really dries out my eyes.

  49. My parents always set it to 67 degrees…and it’s FREEZING for me. I like it in the 70s, but my dad hates the way it keeps the heater running all day. Thankfully, I’m in SoCal now, so it’s pretty warm. Kind of!

  50. HEY!…did u know I lived above CVS!??…hahahah JK’s, i literally know i say that to you in every comment..:D

    Also, you are SUCH a grandma for saying “gams”, and i love it. I hate that I have nothing in my pantry to make half of the lovely creations i see on everyone’s blogs, and when I’m at the store i’m too ADD and/or cheap to get the goods! As for the therm, it is seriously OFF most of the time and I just wear every single piece of clothing I own…mayyybe it’s just under 70 if i’m feelin’ frisky ;D
    XO love ya bebe, thanks so much for your help with my question!

  51. Ugh I just got a gas+electric bill for almost $700 for the month of January. I tend to keep the thermostat between 66-69, but sometimes I have to let it go above 70 because my house gets so freaking cold I can’t take it, and I have space heaters in my basement I *have* to keep running or else my pipes will freeze (my house has terrible insulation). I’m going broke keeping myself warm!

  52. Hello, just found your blog πŸ™‚
    I think those oats just define oatmeal perfection. Chocolate, pb, banana. What more could an oat-loving blogger ask for?
    Alas, I have no Valentine per se, but I am going to a run for singles on the big day (hopefully). Perhaps I will might someone interesting?

  53. Your way of writing “wings” amuses me because … you know… wangz. Hope you don’t end up with too many unsavory Google searches from that ;-).

    And I’ll be spending Valentine’s Day with my sweetie (because we live together), but we’re not the types to make a big deal out of it.

  54. I have no idea what my apartment is set to as there is no thermostat, just an old-fashioned crank handle thing.

    My boyfriend hates Valentines day and sees it only as a con for the flower and chocolate industry to make a load of money in the middle of the winter when people aren’t usually buying chocolate and flowers. For that reason, we have created Kendel Loving Day… a Valentines-esk day on the 26th of March. This will be our 3rd Kendel Loving Day.

  55. no one is keeping me warm for V-day because I’m SINGLE and BITTER about it. K? k =)

  56. I like the thermostat around 68 or 69. Mallard, however prefers 65. I win…sometimes. Other times, I have a Snuggie (no, really) and a space heater πŸ™‚

  57. 64 Annie

    Okay just tried the Sun Flour Baking Co. chocolate chip cookies I won on your blog giveaway, I dont think Ive ever had anything better! They are seriously uncooked cookie dough, in my mouth. Have you tried these!!

    Thanks so much for the giveaway, I never would have bought them on my own, but seriously, these are the BEST cookies I have ever had in my life!

    Thanks!

  58. Thanks for the great post. Will have to give the protein cake a try.

    My thermo is always in the 70’s and I will be spending V-day with my 2 Besties…Martini and shame πŸ™‚

  59. Oh my god. I love eating smoothies with spoons.
    Also, the way you drizzled that PB made it look so smooth and nummy. πŸ˜€

    When I’m going insane…I cook/ bake/ prepare meals….eat tons of cereal…walk around (if the weather permits)…blog…read blogs (for hours!)…read books…shower/take a bath (if I’m at home)…talk to people…exercise…draw…

    depending on the ‘type’ of insanity and when it strikes. πŸ˜‰

  60. despite my best efforts to be an independent woman, I always do what mama tells me. She knows wuddup.

    in my suite a la escuela the maintanence dudes like to keep the AC going in the dead of winter. I swear, there were many a’ nights when I considered transferring based solely on the ridonk living conditions. How can a girl study with hard nips?! yeah, I went there.

    love your face! and the rest of your bod ❀ muahhh.

  61. 68 Kati

    EAT ME – the man in the HOTDOG costume. That episode was so just on last week.
    I feel like I just won Jeopardy or something.

  62. OMG Kailey,
    I discovered these yesterday. Actually, I had seen them for awhile, but tasted them for the first time yesterday and NEARLY DIED. They are the most amazing tasting tortilla type chips I have EVER had- super healthy ingredients too! I thought of you immediately-
    http://www.falafelchips.com/

    Chips made out of chickpeas, fava and black beans!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I had the spicy.

  63. Those buffalo wings look pretty damn nice. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

