Snacktime-ish

05Feb10

I apologize for end-of-the-day hair and my congested voice! Hope you all have fabulous weekends!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Why did you start your blog? If you don’t have a blog, would you consider starting one? Why or why not?

64 Responses to “Snacktime-ish”

  1. I love your persona! You would make a great television reporter 🙂
    Wouldn’t it be fabulous to have a career out of blogging, that would be a job I would not mind waking up for!
    I started blogging initially to vent and just relieve myself of the miles of internal dialogue in my head and just have an outlet available to whoever wanted to take the time to read it and get some feedback. I’m absolutely in love with blogging and the community out in the blogosphere of insightful, intelligent people with a lot of wonderful input. I maintain a degree of anonymity with my blog (well…I don’t have a full face picture) and my family/most of my friends don’t know about it which allows me to TRULY be myself on it and say what I want/think without having to worry about filtering because that would defeat the main purpose of starting my blog.
    It’s wonderful to have something creative and truly yours!
    Lots of love and have an amazing weekend!
    Sara

  2. 2 Katy

    Yay more videos!!

  3. So cute! I like how we can see Muffin moving around in the background at the end…LOL, hope she feels better!

  4. 4 C.

    F-ing adorbs!

  5. I love this video! I just restarted my blog and I have to say yours is one of the ones that inspired me to create one in the first place! It takes me awhile to whip my posts up, too 🙂

  6. 6 jilianmarie

    Aww, hope Muffin feels betterrr!! Seriously, how amazing would it be to blog for a living — my life would be complete!! haha 🙂

  7. If I may finally de-lurk…Let me just say that a. I love reading SnackFace every day. b. Your question is seriously making me consider starting a (food) blog. I have pretty much followed the same trajectory…I have been reading food blogs for almost a year now. Anywho just wanted to spread the love. Hope the Muff feels better stat! And have so much fun at home! This weekend’s project = start food blog. So to answer the aforementioned question: yes! Because blogs are a perfect way to express yourself creatively and freely and to connect with peeps who love what you love! -Maddy

    • 8 snackface

      Maddy- Hollaaaaa to starting a blog! You just gotta throw yourself into it! Welcome, my friend!

  8. Awww, poor Muffin! I hope she gets better soon!

    I started blogging about a year ago, but then I killed that blog (Run, Eat, Play, and Breathe) because I really didn’t want to keep doing the same old exercise and food posts and really felt that it was a bad approach for me to continue to spend a lot of time on. I kept reading blogs and realized that I really missed it, so this summer I started up my new one with a different angle. It’s so weird to think how many people I’ve gotten to know through this forum and really couldn’t imagine life without my blog. And who knows what I would be eating – certainly not the big bowl of butternut squash and brussels sprouts that I just doused in ketchup and inhaled.

  9. love this, kailey. and, you are gorgeous. and, let’s go out and have a drink sometime. AND, i did here hacking in the background, hahah 🙂

  10. ohmygod. **hear.

    wow.

  11. Gah, I love hearing bloggies voices and seeing mannerisms – I feel like I know you so much better after just three minutes! Haha.

  12. I’ve always been a writer/editor/reader and I used to have an online journal, but I wanted to create a blog and join the blogoverse that I loved stalking, kinda. Eventually reading blogs led to the desire to actually create a blog, but I couldn’t figure out what “direction” I wanted to take. Like I commented the other day, reading your blog was the moment that inspired me to actually just start one and go for it. True story, really not trying to kiss your ass here.

    Super cute – love the video … hope you girls feel better!

  13. Love the vid! Have fun at the h- unit!!

  14. You don’t know how happy it makes me to see your beautiful smiling face again. Have a fantastical weekend at home! I hope Muffin feels better… and you too my darling (is your throat alright?) Love you and your grammar critical ways!

    P.S. I started to blog because I thought my idea was, at the time, revolutionary “a traveling food blog.” So unique, so ingenious 😉 and then I realized what a fine community I was joining with all of it’s fuzzy dovey love (and inside jokes). What keeps me going is each and every one of these people, especially the ones I’ve had the pleasure of meeting in person. Turkey day will never be the same without you… btw, I’m delirious right now 😛 sleeping calls.

    • 16 snackface

      Danielle- Awwww no matter where I am in the world, I’m coming back to NYC to spend Non-Turkey Day with you!!! Oh, and no, my voice is NOT OK! It’s almost gone 😦

  15. I started my blog because I felt bad creeping in on other peoples’ lives when they couldn’t creep in on me. That and I needed a writing outlet for people like you to visit and be able to criticize my grammar- you’re welcome!

    Kind of like facebook, just a little less personal (some days more so, then others); and way more interesting then anything on Perez.

  16. 18 *Andrea*

    fun video! have a great weekend 🙂

  17. 19 crazylittlethingneela

    gorgeous woman!!! i thought you had a really fine voice 😉 haha! nice video my love

  18. LADY, I loved this…you are too cute.

    I mentioned you at dinner tonight, how I wished you were there. Is that creepy? Just a little.

  19. 21 AmandaK

    Yay!! I’m so glad to see the return of Snacktime!! Have a great weekend at home!

  20. 22 Kate

    yay for snacktime, but poor muffin!

    i don’t have a blog, i really would like to start one but i feel like i need something special to start… im just another girl who has once upon a time struggled with food, pretty much figured it back (and occasionally still have my issues) love food, exercise, and am in college (once a J student, now a Nutrition major)… nothing different there!
    maybe someday 🙂

  21. shitass. my laptop doesnt play vids. it has gone to shit. i can watch vids at work.. but i will not be there until the 15th! i will catch it then. LOVE YOU!

  22. Hola, girl! I am a long-time lurker, first-time commenter 🙂 I’ve only JUST started a blog so I really wanted to answer this Q!

    This year has brought about some MASSIVE changes for me – the biggest of which would be moving out of my mum’s house two states away to live with my dad & stepmum and finish my last year of high school here in Melbourne, Australia. I’m changing my mindset towards tons of things to, and I’ve decided that 2010 is my year of doing ALL the things I’ve always wanted to… one of those things is start a blog! And I hope to document all the great things I do this year in my blog, too 🙂

    And lemme just say, mayj love for your blog and for you! You’re one awesome chica and your eats are fab.

    xoxo Beth

  23. 25 Lexi

    Loved this video! I started blogging after reading Amy’s Coffee Talk, to help me with my eating disorder recovery! Now my blog has become a support network and way to share my daily eats and thoughts. I love blogging! Glad you do too!

  24. 26 Little Bookworm

    Love the video! 😀 I hope Muffin (and your voice) gets better soon. Hope you have a good time back home!

  25. You’re so interesting to watch, kailey!
    I started my blog yesterday – i think i’m already addicted, haha!

    -Vera xox
    http://balancingfoodandlife.wordpress.com/

  26. Yay! love the vid Kailey! Have you ever thought about media journalism?? You have a great persona for it!

    XOXO
    Sara
    http://www.findingbalanceandbliss.wordpress.com

    • 29 snackface

      Sara- Ahhh you are so sweet! I actually entered college thinking I wanted to be a broadcaster. That didn’t pan out because I felt I’d have to stifle my writing and my persona, but if you think I might be good at it, then maybe! I’ve always wanted to host my own show (or any show, for that matter), so if that’s what you mean, then YES.

      • haha yeah I meant “broadcast journalism”. Glad you caught my drift!

        and your own show?…umm YESSSSSSSS!

        Sara

  27. I started mine because I LOVE writing and it has become an amazing creative outlet for me!

  28. 32 Gina G

    lovin the videos Kailey! =)

    probably just like some readers, i don’t feel like i have what it takes to pull in readers, or that im creative enough to come up with stuff to talk about, plus im finishing my senior year of highschool and dont have much time do homework (or catch up on blogs haah), but maybe one day i will have the confidence to do it! =)

  29. It’s so cool to hear you live in person or kind of. I started blogging because I was reading about everyone’s lives I felt it only fair to share a little about mine so they can put a face to the comments and know a little more about me. It’s not my #1 priority like I would want it to be. If I could do it as a full-time job that would be great but life’s not cool like that 😉

  30. 34 katie.

    snackfaaaceeee! i have to finally admit i’ve been reading for awhile.. lurker, YES. i always think about starting a blog so that i don’t have to creepily post like this.. but then i realize although my life is (sort of, maybe) cool, i don’t think anyone would want to read it! tell muffin to fell better STAT and keep blogging FOREVAAAA because i love it!

  31. 35 Susan

    I hope Muffin feels better and that you have a fun weekend in Cincinnati!

  32. Too beautiful! I started blogging because I was sort of coerced and partly because it seemed like a good way to catalogue my freshman year. So far, I love it!

  33. Snackiiiee, gurl you have such a sek-say voice! So me and mah chicas started writing because we needed an outlet after being in these gray cubbies all day. Yank introduced us to your bloggie and from there we started reading others that were similar. We decided that we could do it too! Obvs, it’s still early in the game and we can’t always be as consistent as we want, but we hope to one day have a good following!

  34. My mom told me to start a blog when I went to study abroad and I was like yeah right mom, a blog okay. I did not heed her advice, unfortunately. So around January I started reading food blogs and in April I thought i could present a unique perspective as an exchange student. It’s sort of unfortunate that I did not realize this earlier as I think I could have shared a LOT about European life, but c’est la vie! I loved this post, by the way, maybe I should do a video!

  35. LOVE YOU K-BAY-BAY!!! Youz a gorgy girl! I’m so happy you started blogging because it allowed us to meet 🙂

    I started blogging just because I had read blogs for SO LONG (almost a year) that I realized I wanted to geniuenly be friends with a lot of these people. I figured if I told my story then people would make more of a connection with me. Blogging can be a total BEYOTCH sometimes but it’s the friendships that have kept me in it. PEACE!

  36. 40 marcie

    I love reading your blog. It was interesting to hear your voice and your personality come thru the video..your not what I expected at all (in a good way). Like your food, it gives me good ideas. Thx.

  37. Loved the video! I started blogging because after reading other blogs, I realized that many people are just as obsessed with food as I am. Who better to share it with? By the way, it usually takes me around an hour to post as well. I don’t know how people find time to blog three times a day!

  38. 42 Erin

    OMG you are FREAKING adorable! Loved the vid 🙂

  39. OMG. I heart you. See you in ONE WEEEEEKKKKKKKKKK!!!

  40. 44 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i blogged to get an outlet and to gain a support system! yay, and by the way- i want toe be best friendsss:)

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  41. love the video!

    -ps, I just looked on my google reader–you have like 974 suscribers! thats amazing!

  42. 46 hemp jogger

    great video! its the first episode i’ve watched of snackface, and its fun to put a voice to your words! have a fun weekend, and we are sooo glad you blog 🙂 fun, whimsical, smart…great all around!

  43. Im late commenting, but you are a doll. Im really glad I found your blog. We eat similar, my dear.

    I started my blog because as a “vegan” my diet totally confused everyone around me. I began taking pics of all my meals to kinda say “hey.. look I do eat!!!” After awhile, though my camera was filled with oatmeal and sweet potatoes SOO I though, heck why not blog myself?? (i was already a huge lurker on all the popular sites). Its been fun, I love it! 🙂

  44. you’re presh! have a fun weekend with the fam 🙂

  45. Love this! You are adorable!

  46. 50 Laura

    Love your accent! 🙂

  47. 52 Kristina

    You are glowing and fabulous! I don’t have a blog myself but I really love reading them. I always save yours for last because its my favorite! :]

  48. Great video, I think this is a great way to connect with all of us readers.

    You have a wonderful on-camera presence, I can tell that you have acting experience! Very expressive 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  49. PRECIOUS! I loved this!

    I think it’s really funny how so many of us took the same path (Eat Like Me, Kath Eats…) to getting into food blogs. Pretty cool.

    Wow, an hour per post?! I believe it, your posts are always very articulate and do seem very well thought through. Always a joy to read! 🙂

  50. I love it! You are so adorbs and I absolutely lurve your blog! YOU were actually an inspiration for me starting my own blog along with others like Kath Eats, Oh She Glows, and Fitnessista!! I actually JUST started my blog like 4 days ago…I hope someday it will be as popular as yours!
    I’m hoping that having the blog will help me keep on track with my diet and workouts, and encourage me to lose that last 10 lbs…

    • 56 snackface

      Sonia- Awwww you are incredible! That’s so bossy that you’ve started your blog to help keep track. I’ll be sure to check you–your blog, I mean– out! xoxo

  51. 57 The Brunette

    This could NOT have come at a better time!!! I just started a blog… yesterday. And, like you, I started it for many of the same reasons. I’m a creative writing major and have written for, edited, and interned at a variety of publications and publishing houses, but I’d always felt a little bit short-changed in terms of acceptable subject matter. Started reading Eat Like Me in high school–then KERF, Carrots n’ Cake, Oh She Glows, and it just kind of snowballed from there–and never really thought twice about starting a blog of my own. Now, though, I’ve finished college a semester early and have enough time on my hands to do… well, pretty much anything. I always talk about wanting to write novels for a living, but I realized that starting a blog would be a great way to get writing, get feedback, and just get the chance to be publicly creative on a daily basis.

    P.s. – I LOVE your blog. We’re both college students in the Midwest, with college budgets and college kitchens. Actually (at the risk of sounding like a stalker), while you were in San Francisco interning for VegNews, I was in NYC interning for another big publisher and doing the same kind of things. I guess I’ve just identified more with your blog than so many others, since it seems like we’re in a similar place, life-wise. Maybe that’s creepy. Sorry if it is, but to sum up: SnackFace is wonderful.

    • 58 snackface

      Brunette- Soul sistah! This is not creepy at all! It just makes me think that we absolutely must meet at some point! WELCOME to the writing side of the blog world. It’s a life-changer!

  52. 59 Sandy

    OMG!! I JUST dicovered ur blog through yesiwantcake, but i took that EXACT same blog reading path- eatlikeme, katheats, eatliverun and carrotsncake! I hope ull be posting lots cuz i’m adding u to my “list of daily reads”!! 😀

  53. After moving from college in Boston to Washington, DC I started my blog to detail my experience as a not-so-typical scientist pursuing a dream of a PhD in a male-dominated field (Biochemistry; as a research scientist).

    I also wanted to show it’s possible (or so I hope!) to balance the other important areas of my life: Fitness, health, love, and a social life. 🙂 🙂

    It’s still a new blog, but I’m having a great time doing it! ❤ If you ever have any advice I'd GREATLY appreciate it, as you were def an inspiration for me to start mine 😉

  54. 62 Aunty Sue

    I don’t know how to Blog nor Tweet but would love to know how to Blog as I would start one

  55. I started a blog because I wanted to way to share what I’ve learned and what I think about eating and running and not bugging my husband and friends about it all the time- in a blog you can read it if your interested, or not read it if you’re not!

  56. I’m glad I’m not the only one who takes forever to put up a post. Thinking of titles is so hard! Loved your video – you are so cute!


Leave a Reply

