The Opposite

30Jan10

Ay baybays! Happy weekend!!! Yesterday, after all the studying stress and paper pressure, I was the opposite of hard on myself.

Before all that, though, I awoke at 7am and ate a Janetha-inspired breakfast:

Warm oats with Greek yogurt!

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats made with water, cinnamon and stevia, and 3/4 C Oikos with cinnamon, stevia and peanut butter drizz. Janetha, not only are you fabulous, generous, kind and loving, but you are also a genius. This is so simple, ridiculously delicious and super filling:

I want more.

I had solid class from 9am to 1pm. It entailed workshopping five essays, presenting an evaluation of Wine Spectator, line editing and having a grand time.

Ready for eats, I skipped home and made a bright lunch:

Spinach and hummus wrap with carrots and snap peas.

Lunch closed up shop after I ate two Sun Flour peanut butter shortbread cookies. No picture, but they were exquisite.

In the afternoon and evening, I had Film (capitalized because I’m treating it as a proper noun representing film class) from 3 to 5pm, Film discussion 6 to 7, dinner with Muffin 7 to 8:30 (unpictured mediocre falafel wrap with a chocolate brew!) and a capella practice 8:30 to 10. Then, it was finally time!

My dear health nuts, planners, GPA-obsessers, this is how you can be the opposite of hard on yourself:

-Let loose with your friends and a bar owner:

Banana and bar owner getting down. I was obviously rollin' with laughter.

Bar owner attacking Banana. I'm in my own world in the background.

-Spy fiercely dressed friends and ask them to pose “for the blog”:

Aimz is so ferosh I can't stand it.

-Dance with anyone and everyone:

Don't know them, but I loved their energy.

-Reunite with people from your freshman-year learning community:

Those two on the left may be the two most successful kids from Scripps.

-Observe the backs of tees:

I told him he had either gum or vomit on his jacket. He didn't care at all. Eww!

-Agree with positive messages:

"Buy her a DRANK." Word.

Honeybunnies, I hope you all allow some time this weekend to do whatever your huge heart desires. YOU deserve it!

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life? -Mary Oliver

Do it big, boos! Love you so much and am grateful for all of you!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

50 Responses to “The Opposite”

  1. Happy Weekend to you too!!!
    🙂

  2. as i already tweeted..same breakfast! isnt is so filling?! i loveddd it! it was fun mixing the oats and yogurt! anyway..you are a studette and have class forever all at once, i couldnt do it without going crazy, you are my inspiration! OH and you have the PRETTIEST SKIN EVER! seriously, you are so incredibly beautiful. which im sure you get that all the time girl, cause you really are!! okay im rambling.. LOVE YOU

    • 3 snackface

      kbwood- How are you the sweetest person in this gigantic world? How is that? YOU are incredibly beautiful, through and through. Love you, darling!

  3. 4 lauren

    i don’t often comment, but love reading; your energy invokes some in me on these dreary rainy days!
    keep at it

    • 5 snackface

      lauren- Aww thank you! That comment certainly brightened my day.

  4. Whatever is on that jacket is groooossss. lol. Have a great weekend!

  5. This blog always makes me regret that the last thing I ate wasn’t a hummus wrap. Will remedy tonight.

    You’re gorgeous. Please be in magazines.

  6. Small, small world –I know Aimee! I lived across the hall from her in Jeff my freshman year 🙂 she’s a doll.
    Love your eats and your hilarious photos.
    Have a great rest of your weekend!

  7. Loveee seeing pictures of bloggers going OUT and getting crazy! Makes me feel like I’m not the only one 😛

  8. 10 elise

    woop woop!!! love you so much. way to dance off a hard week…get back to nyc please.

  9. AH! Seriously that bar owner looks exactly like the bar owner of my campus’s most-frequented dance floor. Perhaps they all just look the same?

  10. Haha so fun! I love the “drank” tee 🙂

  11. Nothin’ like bar owners to make a night complete! Seriously…imagine being a bar owner in a college town. We were bff with the woman who owned our favorite bar…Le sigh I miss her!

    And ewwww at the vomit jacket guy! That is just nasty.

  12. I made those exact Janetha inspired oats this morning too! Although I threw the warm oats in the freezer while I showered to cool them off. It was like eating oatmeal cookie dough for breakfast. Crap now I’m hungry again.

    Gurl I used to work in a bar so those shirts are what mine looked like every night when I came home. Gross.

  13. I need to try that janetha inspired breaky soon!
    Glad you had a fun night out 🙂
    Jenna

  14. 16 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    yay for going out!!! haha looks fun 🙂 and i def had that breakfats today too- looks like a lot of us are thinking alike? weiiird.
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  15. damn Kailey!!.. you make me miss university REAL bad! 😦 I miss those nights of going out with the girls and just getting wild in the bars. doesn’t happen much anymore.. we’re too old and tired!

  16. Girl your pictures look like you had SO MUCH FUN….must be a blast to party with you girls!! And how is it that you always manage to look so gorgeous?!

  17. Your blog was one of my recommended feeds on Google reader- I’ve been following you for a few days and I have to tell you, I love your blog! You’re so positive! Reading always puts a smile on my face. 🙂

    • 20 snackface

      Sara- Ahh!!! I’m so happy you’ve found me and you’re hooked! Thanks so much!!!

  18. Dance paawtay at Homegirls blogger sleepover in San Fran this summ… ya hear?!!! Just figured I ought to state the obv. PS: two glorious concoctions to try:
    1. whip up a warm batch of oats (whatev combo of flaves, im diggin almondextract+vaniglia and chopped almonds) combine with favorite ice cream (so coconut obvi as of late) So you get this crazy contrast of cold sweetness and warm gooey oatiness. For extra mouth gasms crumble a few amaretti cookies or granola and a baby drizzle of AB with a smidge of sea salt. Heaven. on . earth.
    2. am I the only blogger who just barely made the ballsy move to combine the best condom-mints: sabra and ketchup? Cheetahs nevah new what hit em. STUNNA!
    MA
    lilpauladean.wordpress.com

  19. OMG I AM MAKING THAT OATMEAL YOGURT COMBO TOMORROW MORNING. HELLS YES!

  20. the back of that guys shirt is disgusting– f his life- ha!

    love the party pics- I need some bar time in my life

  21. i’m assuredly going to feel the effects of my dancing tonight tomorrow morning… and i’m SO gonna be making that breakfast to cure me. happy weekend!!

  22. I remember the days of going out with home made shirts with messages encouraging randoms to buy me drinks (usually accompanied by a hot pink boa and tiara)..lol. Man, I miss college!

    Happy weekend 🙂

  23. Hope you have a nice weekend 🙂

  24. ahh, I was soo ready to bail on tonight because I just wasn’t feeling confident enough, and a bit stressed out, but this post completely changed my mind.

    Love your random pictures.

    Thanks for the party inspiration girlie.

    Have a great weekend! 🙂

    -Katrina ❤

  25. You tried the oats n yog combo! I still have yet to do this, but I really wanna try it out soon.
    That guys jacket is nasto!! Blech!

  26. Hah…that so vomit. Nast. So much fun! haha Have a great weekend!!

  27. love love love the oats and greek yog combo, the hot and cold, sweet and nutty flavors, gasm completely. Love the pics of night out on the town…you must get down with the bar owners if you are a frequent flyer there, it just must be done!

    happy friday, girlll

  28. Do you sweeten your coffee with anything? stevia?

    • 32 snackface

      ilovecoffee- It depends on the day. Sometimes it’s black, sometimes it’s with a little bit of almond milk and vanilla stevia! So good!

  29. 33 Lauralee

    Sooo this is the FIRST TIME EVER I have ever posted on a foodie blog and I def. think it’s way overdue! I love love your blog and I think your eats are DELISH! Tried bananas in oats for the first time ever thanks to you and I actually wake up craving it ha!
    I’ve been flirting with the idea of starting my own food blog but between school, work and social time, not sure how to fit it all in (it’s amazing you do so much honestly!).

    Anyways, just saying hi!

    • 34 snackface

      Lauralee- Hey sweet thang! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment! I say give blogging a whirl when you’re ready–it’s been amazing for my life!

  30. 35 Gina G

    Kailey never a day goes by when your blog has not brightened my day! you are gorgeous inside and out girl! =)

  31. howwwww do you get your pb to drizzleeeee!? i want mine to do that 🙂

  32. peanut butter drizz.peanut butter drizz. LOVE THAT LOVE THAT!

    The bar owner…OMG girl. What a perv. Hopefully you escaped that scene, stat.

    xoxo

  33. BALLER STATUS! glad you tried, glad you liked. glad you can have oikos in your life. suuper filling. fo sho. your cutesy mustard design caught my eye. mustard is marshall’s fave food. he would adore that squiggle. digging all the dance partay photos out. LOVE the buy her a DRANK shirt. and your cheeks always have the nicest hue. by the way.

    i love. love. LOVE your freaking face. i hope we can play sometime in the future.

  34. Ok, I adore your blog!!! Found it through Divalicious, and this blog boy is in LOVE! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your life!

    • 40 snackface

      tramey- OMG!!! I’m so pumped to have a blog boy reading! THANK YOU!

  35. 41 Susan

    I freakin’ love your photos! Candids on a night out are one of the best tings about owning a camera (besides taking saweet pics of food). My weekend’s gonna be 75% studying, 25% friends and fam. I’m hopin to switch those ratios up next weekend though. Ah, the life of a college student. I know you know what I mean girlie. This weekend live it up for the both of us!!!!

  36. After a ridiculously fun night and getting back at 5 am, I thoroughly took advantage of my right to have a good time this weekend. As long as you balance it all with enough vegetables and time with homework, I think you should always have an insane night once or twice a week!

  37. Thank you for such a positive post! Love it, and YOU! Mwahhh

  38. I love this! I need to read this like 30 times to remind myself to lighten up! Thanks for the reminder that it’s my life and I can do whatever I want with it. 🙂

  39. beautiful words from a beautiful girl – thank you for this reminder, sweetie.. I am my worst critic and I gotsta gotsta cut myself some slack right quick. Love you so much you don’t even knowwww.

  40. Loved the pics. It looked like you were having such a GREAT TIME!!! PS. Stay away from bar owners and guys that look like they have puke on the backs of their shirts. Nothing good ever comes out of either of those scenarios! Have a GREAT weekend girly!

  41. Oats lookin amazinggggggggg! Yup looks like we both got down n crunk this weekend :)…yayyyy- work hard, play hard baby 😉

  42. 48 runeatride

    I’ve never commented before but have been reading your blog forever, decided to lose my comment virginity 😉 Your weekends always sounds so much more fun than mine! Love your blog 🙂
    -Jenn

    • 49 snackface

      runeatride- Thanks for taking the leap and commenting!! And HUGE thanks for the blog love!

  43. Um, that shirt in the last picture? Genius. Totally recreating it and forcing the bestie to wear it for her upcoming bachelorette party.

    Looks like a fun night 🙂


Leave a Reply

