Midday Snack

22Jan10

Ay bay bays! I am so pumped to see that some people would actually be interested in SnackFace: The Mag! A monthly department feature would definitely be a blogger spotlight, so we could spread the blog love to paper.

As I’ve said before, Thursdays are cray cray! I have class and meetings until 10pm, thus the midday snack!

I’m proud to say I got 6.5 hours of sleep last night. This may not sound like much, but it’s an improvement.

I awoke ready for nourishment:

Oh, this was ridiculous.

Camera’s back in biznass! It was just moody yesterday. Almost as good as a functioning camera was this breakfast. In the bowl: 1/2 C cottage cheese sweetened with vanilla stevia and cinnamon, 1/2 C Kashi Go Lean, 1/2 banana, sprinkle of TJ’s pumpkin spice granola and a drizz of TJ’s organic crunchy unsalted peanut butter. Chewy, crunchy, mushy, sweet delight:

Mixed all this together after photo session. Love.

As I bolted to class, I caught up with Muffin on the cellular. Despite the fact it was only 9am, we were already discussing plans to go out at 10pm. Can’t help it.

Creative Non-Fiction was fabulous. I’ve already come to enjoy all my classmates. Sharing intimate essays tend lends itself to bonding. Also, I’m always amazed with some students’ talent. Envious might be the word for it.

Magazine Editing and Production brought 90 minutes of analyzing magazine covers and TOC’s (Table of Content). I brought a VegNews to analyze, and anytime someone said something negative about the mag, I felt my defensiveness build. What can I say? I’ve got mad love for the mag (and the people behind the mag)!

By 1pm, I was ravenous. Mama needed more grains in the morning. I attacked this fresh-to-death plate:

Colors to illuminate my day.

In the wrap: 1 Laughing Cow Garlic+Herb wedge, Frankie, dijonnaise, three mashed balls and spinach. Simple and scrumptious:

Fab.

I was feeling t-shirty today, so I threw on my absolute favorite Herbivore tee:She ain't nothin' but a cow hugger.She ain’t nothin’ but a cow hugger. Makes me feel guilty about eating dairy again, though!

I must run off to class now. I wish everyone a happy, fabby, dance-filled weekend! I’ll be back with what’s sure to be a bossy report of the Thursday- Saturday happs. I send love, huge hugs and Blue Moons.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What is the correct balance between work and play on weekends? Or should there be any work? Nah.

63 Responses to “Midday Snack”

  1. I am SOOOO bad with doing work on weekends. I rarely do any. I am pretty lazy. I drink, eat, and lay around. Fun!

  2. LOVEEEE YOUR T SHIRT! that color looks hawt on you i bet!!
    cottage cheese mess for breakie? is this a usual snackface meal? i feel like ive never seen it before!!
    I WOULD SOO READ YOUR MAGAZINE if you had one! i would be a def subscriber!
    im so bored in class im about to cry!
    def no work on weekends..haha…jk im a nerd.. i do hmwk on sunday!

    • 3 snackface

      Kb- Ay boo! The cottage cheese breakfast used to be a fave of mine before I went vegan. If you go back to April/May posts, you’ll see I made many of them. Now that I’m back to vegetarianism, I’m thrilled to concoct these CC bowls again! Oh, and I totes do work on Sunday. xoxox

  3. No, no. Definitely no work. Many hours of sleep and doing a whole lot of nothing.

  4. dude you look mad flii in that shirt!!!!! and you can totes still hug cows and drink milk. speaking of your dairy consumption – that CC mess is ballin’.

    happy day to you seksii thing! Love you tons and tons xoxo

  5. you make me miss journalism. i majored in it in 2008, then went on to get my master’s/certification in elementary ed because i didn’t have much faith left in the magazine world. i was suchhh a little journa-monster. but i also had some busted internships in the j-world that turned me off, and being the managing editor of the school paper made me pee my pants in horror.
    so now i deal with kids peeing their pants, instead. good trade, good trade.

  6. Hey mama! =]

    I love the shirt & omggg the table cloth is GORGE! It looks almost like my shower curtain I just got. Woohoo.

  7. holy shit i want your breakfast.

    i am a fan of that Tshirt. partly because it is my favorite color, partly because of the message, but mainly because of the angle it shows off your left boob.

    no work on weekends para mi.

    LOVE YOU!

  8. Your snacks look so good. You need to teach me how to come up with such great snack food. Its probably common sense to you but to me – not so much. πŸ˜‰

  9. i’m having a hard enough time getting work done now, let alone on weekends! hehh

    hope youre having a terrific day lovely lady

  10. Ah creative nonfiction. I adored my writing classes in college. So much so, that I transferred from my biology major into professional writing πŸ˜‰ I think one of my favorite classes in all 4 years was a small class of 8 students called Personal Essay. Talk about the fast track to intimate friendships!

    Also, whoever “Brooke” is (#6 commenter), BACK OF MISS SNACKFACE!!!

  11. Work? On weekends? That shouldn’t be allowed or even thought about! Weekends are for fun. πŸ˜€ Unfortunately I shouldn’t be talking since I work on Saturdays… all.freaking.day.

    PS. Brooke’s comment made me giggle. I know, I know, she was trying to be insulting but I think her plans have backfired. Or maybe I’m just finding humor in an inappropriate place.

    • 15 snackface

      daintyvegan- Well Brooke is now being spammed. I can’t handle the negative energy!

  12. 16 Alina

    hey Kailey!!!!!! love your t-shirt – very cute and the color is gorge!
    as for the work on weekends i prefer to totally forget about it on friday night/saturdays but to mix in A LITTLE BIT of work on sundays so that my weekdays are not that busy with homework, however it’s difficult with all the distractions that come with weekends.
    Have a great night out today!!!!!!!!!! Dance, dance 8) so you now have fridays off school? jealzzzz πŸ™‚
    p.s. your snowman mug is ssssooooooo cute! everytime i see a pic with it i smile and think that he’s giving a wink to me LOL

  13. Weekends are all play & no work when you work a 9-5, but in college I was all work & no play… *dork*

    That shirt is adorable. I LOVE TJ dried mango- thank gawd the packages are so tiny, it gets demolished.

  14. I am trying to have more structured weekends. So far I’ve been slacking since the start of school. I feel like I want to enjoy my time. But at little productivity never hurt anyone either.

  15. Loving the tshirt!! So cute, pretty color too!!!!

    Oh you having your own magazine would rock, dont ever question that love!!!

    Hmmm I say work on Sunday and Friday night and Saturday play!!!!! Good Balance!!!!!

    Have a great night ! xoxo

  16. I LOVE that t-shit, where is it from? So adorable. I usually plan to do work during the day on weekends and go out at night, but somehow it always all ends up getting done Sunday evening 😦

    • 21 snackface

      Gabriela- The “t-shit” (haha I love that misspelling, furreal) is from Herbivore clothing, which I linked in the post. You can buy their clothes online!

  17. bfast looks so good!

  18. 23 Nicole

    hey girl! I lovee wraps and I have just been eating flat-outs lately…I was wondering what brand of wraps you used in the one you had today! or ones you like in general. I reaaaally hope none of the wraps you tell me are from Trader Joes cause the closest one to me is around Cincinatti and thats like..an hour away. :(( thanks!

  19. 24 Nicole

    P.s. I just wanted to seriously seriously tell you that your blog is my FAVORITE to read. I love how far youve come and how confident you are. it’s amazing to read what you say and how smart you are about things regarding body image and all of that. you really are an inspiration to me, and I really hope one day Ill be as free and have that TRUE inner happiness you do. πŸ™‚

    • 25 snackface

      Nicole- Awww honey, thank you so much! You completely made my day. As for the wraps, they are NOT from TJ’s! Woopwoop! They are La Tortilla Factory soft wraps, and I bought them at Walmart. They are delicious! I hope you can find them πŸ˜€

  20. Can I just express how happy I am that you are on the CC wagon?!? LOVE IT!

    VegNews is like your baby – it’s understandable to get defensive! I get the same way with my job (pretty ironic to given what I do). Drink a Large Marge B Moonie for me πŸ™‚

  21. Your t-shirt = BRILLIANT

  22. Yummy lookin wrap! I was wondering what kind of balls you use in your wraps?! Are they from TJs?

    • 29 snackface

      Jenna- Hey boo! They are TJ’s balls. He has the best kind πŸ˜‰

  23. 30 Susan

    I had that same breakfast yesterday! CC + cereal + cinn = divinity. Have a superfab weekend!

  24. i have the same T shirt in baby blue ❀

  25. 32 erin jones

    im delllayeddd on responding.. i want to eat your oatmeal. ship that shtuff to ELON.

    and i want a snackface mag. ASAP. woman

    i feel like weekends are a black hole for me..i just get sucked in to the relaxation mode or party mode. oopss.. but when i’m at my HOME i feel like they’re times for getting errands and what not done..

    i guess college does that to ya. dayum

    la de da. i loveee ya ❀

  26. 33 Andrea

    So I read your blog all the time btw.. love it!
    But I’ve always wondered… what in god’s name are “balls”? And can I can these magic makers in Canada???

    • 34 snackface

      Andrea- Hahaha I forget that not everyone knows what those are! Shame on me! They are meatless meatballs that I buy at Trader Joe’s. They are absolutely delicious and 100 percent vegan. Not that I’m vegan, but I like knowing that. I’m not sure what equivalents they have in Canada (AKA MamaJ’s homeland!).

  27. gurl. I know ur mid-day snack posting because ur gonna be wastey tonight and drunk blogging is so 2009….jk. i love drunk blogging. i dare u to do it. anywoo. expect a Honey Nut post tommorrow…..ill catch yall up on life in the chicago….meaning i cant wait til we are united. again. loveeeeee u and muff.

    xoxo
    lolo

  28. 36 jilianmarie

    agreed — sharing writing with peeps brings about a sort of bond. you’re eats looks awesome! that wrap sounds so good — aka i must make soon.

  29. 37 Natalie

    No work till Sunday night when you start panicking about Monday am!!

    • 38 Natalie

      Oh and ps what’s up with all the hatred lately?? Do these peeps have no manners? If you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say anything!!! Ugh some people! Have a good weeken girlfriend!

  30. I am TOTALLY feelin’ you on the dairy thing. But being dairy free was not for me, so I just make sure that my source for all things deliciously cheesy and yogurty is a good source, doing the right things. IE: local milk from SUPAH happy cows who spend their days in a giant field. I’ve even visited them a few times!

  31. LOVE the shirt!! I had one from urban outfitters with a piggy on it that said “please don’t eat me, I love you” it was so freakin cute!! I am not a vegetarian but I love that shirt oh so much!

    the wrap looks good, almost as good as your bowl of breakfast…to die 4 right thurrr

    no work on weekends, neverrr

  32. adorable tshirt!!!!!! i cant keep up with everyone and if they are vegan, veggie, none of the above, but whatever you are, honey, you look good doin’ it πŸ™‚

  33. I love, love, love that t-shirt!!
    Have a great night tonight, snackface!

  34. ha! i love that t πŸ™‚ i’m not a vegitarian but one of my fav t’s i own is from wildwood and it says “eat tofu not us” coming out of a pigs mouth. i like to watch people read the back of my t at the gym. and secretly wish they were admiring my not so there booty which i know they’re not haha.

    i say work hard play hard πŸ™‚

  35. hi kailey,

    I’ve been a blog lurker for quite some time and now that I’ve started my own, yours was the first I wanted to comment on! I love reading your blog and getting ideas for new ways to spruce up my eats. But the best part has got to be your love for my main squeeze weezy f baby. πŸ˜‰
    Hope you have a great weekend, all play is the way to do it fer sure.

    -Liz

    • 45 snackface

      Liz- Awwww sugarbuns!! Thank you so much for wanting to comment on mine first! That’s too sweet! Also, I LOVE our mutual love for Weezy. I am heartbroken that he’s going to jail in February. 😦

  36. I used to be a crazy girl who did nothing but work during the week (read: I didn’t even see my roommates) so that I could go nuts and be drunk all weekend. Well, this really wasn’t the healthiest, safest, or best way to bring about a high GPA, especially when you have an exam on a Monday. So I’ve reshaped my learning habits and now average going out (but not TOO far out) once a weekend. It’s amazing how productive you can be when you’re not hungover and craving gallons of diet Coke.

  37. I adore that shirt.

    PS: I would SO read Snackface: The Mag. Don’t know why I did not convey those feelings on your last post.

  38. 48 Hattie

    Your Herbivore link links to Frank’s Hot Sauce… obsessed?! No fear… I shall Google Herbivore instead.

  39. 50 elise

    btw ive totes been lovin the posts lately…your ‘tude is so easy breezy beautiful, i dont give a bleep…thats the way i like it πŸ™‚

    just been meaning to drop you a comment and say hey since i usually enjoy your posts on my bberry on the subway commute (hence the lack of comments).

    you rock my world lovey!

  40. Love the shirt! I always feel guilty about eating dairy too, then I remember frozen yogurt is too good to be bad πŸ™‚

  41. Wow, you are so busy, I’m amazed that you find the time to blog! Loved the breaky. All of your eats look fantastic! πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend! I’m sure we’ll hear all about your exploits on Monday πŸ˜‰

  42. ahhh that breakfast for sure made me drool. and that wrap ohmygod. that shirt is really cute & i love it! ehhh im sorry about the work on weekends- you’ll make it fun πŸ˜‰ have an awesome weekend! xoxo soph

  43. I actually just posted about how I love the weekends so much more now that I’m graduated because when I was in school, I couldn’t help but take a few hours of the weekend to write a paper or study (yeah, I was THAT student). But now that I work a Mon-Fri job, the weekends are all free for FUN =) And I’ve definitely been taking advantage of that. If I could go back in time, I’d have a NO WORK ON THE WEEKENDS policy, fa’sho.

  44. 55 healthnuttxo

    yum your breakfast looks absolutely delishhhh. Jackin that recipe STAT! :o)

  45. Hey doll!

    I added you to my blogroll…Is that cool? I don’t know the etiquette as I’m new to the blogging world πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    xx

    Lauren

  46. 57 Nicole

    I have that cow hugger shirt, I ❀ it!

  47. 58 MamaJ

    Have you ever tried to hug a cow. I do not recommend it. Their heads are like coming in contact with a cement building block. Unless you have raised a calf to its maturity, you will find that they are spooked quite easily. It is hard to resist their big doughie eyes and that huge wet nose that they can manage to stick their tongue in. One of these days I must go to a farm and get up close and personal with the critters.

  48. 59 MamaJ

    I ment we. .I was raised on a farm.

  49. wow, when i was in college, there was way too much hungover work done on the weekends. now that i am in a 9-5 job, i do much lazing about on the weekends unless i HAVE to work. weekends are important. i always vote for weekend rest!

  50. THAT COTTAGE CHEESE MESS LOOKS TO DIE……ER, (as you like to say) TO LIVE FOR!!!! πŸ™‚

    Do you recommend that tj’s pumpkin granolaaaa??? I’ve been wanting to try it but always forget! I did just buy some van pro powder at the store–made me think of you. ready to add it to some oats and get to bizznessss!

    But uh, was that shirt pic meant to show off the clothing or your boobs?! HAHAHHAHA

    I love you and would have to say that weekends should be filled with plenty of dancing, fun, and dranks…but typically i can only lend my nights to that and my days must be filled with homework (food, and tv). So yes, as a student ya gotta throw a little work into the mix, UNFORTUNATELY!

    XOXOXO

  51. planning nights out 12 hours ahead of time is totally necessary πŸ˜‰

    Love that shirt, don’t let it make ya feel guilty sweets! You can still be a cow hugger and eat dairy, it’s okay.

    My work/play ratio is really weekend-dependent. I don’t like waking up Monday morning having a sh*t-load to do, so if I know I should do a little sumthin sumthin over the weekend, I will. If I don’t have much to worry about…school is on the back burner!

  52. Cute tablecloth :o)

    – The Nutrition Nut


Leave a Reply

