Sun+Floury Day

14Jan10

Hello, petunias! How amazingly kind and wonderful are you? There is no measurement for it. All I can say is thank you for making me feel less lonely and freakish. I suppose I’ll keep doin’ what I’m doin’.

It must have been all that venting that led to a solid night of sleep. Mind you, I slept for only five hours, but I didn’t wake up each hour in a fluttered panic that someone had broken into my house.

Not only did I awake to rays of banana sunshine, but I also awoke to sun from another source:

Sun Flour Baking Company spoiled me!

During my summer at VegNews, I met the founder of Sun Flour Baking (SFB) and his lovely team. Jennifer from SFB started reading SnackFace and offered to send me samples. I was expecting a taste of a few flavors, not six boxes:

And I ain't hatin'. THANK YOU!!!

It took all the willpower within me not to eat boxes of vegan, gluten-free cookies for breakfast. Instead, I had a delightful, proteiny cereal breakfast (that’s me trying to sell this breakfast to myself):

Not cookies, but still good.

In the bowl: 1/2 scoop 365 vanilla whey protein powda, Kashi Go Lean, 1 banana and pour of soymilk. Surprisingly, this breakfast held me from 9am to 1:10pm, when the rumbles started.

Between those hours, I walked 20 minutes to the gym, ellipticaled for 47 minutes, abbed for 100 crunches on stability ball and with weights, did various arm exercises, walked to choir, rode to choir in friend’s car who found me en route, sang, walked home, gabfested with Muffin and showered.

I was so hungry before my shower that I needed a bite of something to tide me over:

A bite turned into half the cookie.

Sun Flour knows what’s up! Oh my Gaga. The perfectly soft, crumbly texture combined with the slightly salty dough and sweet chips made this hard to put down. By the very end of the day, I ate the whole thing. Five hundred calories of phenomenal cookie is definitely worth it. Whoever says that cookie is two servings is nutty.

I did, however, manage to eat real food, too:

I spy... a recycling bin in the background. Class.

On the lunch plate: Ezekiel half covered with peanut butter+stevia+cinnamon, Ezekiel half covered with Smart Balance Light+stevia+cinnamon, snap peas and an orange. Delicious and satisfying.

I classed it up from 4pm to 5:30, then chatted with my Media Law professor and advisor. I love that in my fourth year at the Scripps school, I can casually talk to professors. I’ll never forget my very first class my freshman year. My entire being was nervous. So much so that my notes were a mess from my shaking hands and I was covered in sweat. Oh, how much we grow!

Muffin and I caught up on each other’s lives from 6ish to 8ish. If I said cheese fries were involved, would you believe me? πŸ˜€

Hungry when I returned home, I went for a quick fix:

Health Valley zupa.

After two-and-a-half minutes, dinner was served:

Soup n' peppa.

This made me feel full for five minutes. I dove into pretzels and hummus soon after:

Ha. Three pretzel twigs were thrown into the hummus tub when I remembered I should have taken a pic.

Honesty time. I’ve been feeling a little down and I think it’s weather related. Happens every winter quarter. I wore a pop of color to help my spirit:

Blurry, but gets the point across.

Another random honesty splooge: I’m afraid I won’t be able to read some of my favorite blogs as much as I’d like. I love when people do things that are going to make them happier and healthier, but sometimes, reading about workout and weight loss plans, body measurements, befores and afters gets to me. It starts to make me think I have to do that, too. And then I remember: I am me. I am 22. I am a student. I love my brews. I love my unmeasured snacks. I love my life. I don’t want to workout more than three times a week. I don’t want to keep track of it all. It’s not for moi. And it doesn’t have to be for everyone. I just want to remind people of that (although, you’re all smarties who recognize that already). The only challenge I propose: Love and Live Yo’ Life Challenge! Isn’t that enough?

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Are you easily influenced by others’ fitness plans? Do you feel pressured to do the same? Why? Why not?

I’m comfortable admitting that yes, I am easily influenced. It’s because I’m a competitive perfectionist. I’ll keep that perfectionism focused on school and getting a job, though. And I’ll keep eating cookies and drinking brews all the livelong day. (And OMG I’m watching Real World as I type this and it’s all about female body image. Crazy!)

89 Responses to “Sun+Floury Day”

  1. Totally get it! Do what works for you!
    I only log my stuff for me- I am surprised that people read what I blab about- crazyness!

    Loveee the pop of color!!!

  2. 2 Paige

    I absolutely know what you mean….I feel the same way too. About the measurements and PRs and challenges and races and all that. I’m absolutely happy and supportive that it works for them, but when I read too much of that kinda stuff I get a bit craaazy in the head.

    And it’s super brave of you to say that on your blog. Amen, sister!

  3. amen girl!! im the same way. i used to read EVERYBODY AND THEIR MOMS blog, and comment..but i noticed it started affecting the way i work out. im sorry if my blog has EVER triggered you or made you feel bad, i try my best to make it positive as possible!!
    im so in love with all of your outfits btw!
    gotta catch up on the real world!! who do you like on there? i love the dark skinned/dark hair girl!

  4. Way to go, on knowing exactly what’s going to make you happy! It’s so easy for the “sharing” in the blogiverse to turn into “comparing”, and it’s totally your prerogative to take some time off.
    Just do you – that’s what we’re all reading for!
    Much love!

  5. God. i am so happy someone said thiiiis finally.
    I’ve had to stop reading some of my favorite blogs recently because of this … Not only because it makes me want to follow these plans but when these fit chicks (who don’t need to lose ANY weight..or shape up any more then they are) are trying to LOSE more weight..and shape up MORE ) well it just makes me feel like an incredibly hefty fat arse. lol. Anyways…you know what i mean.

  6. I always get down in winter…I think I am allergic to the cold. Or I could be making that up. Anyway…I think it helps to stay active, which you already do.

    And other’s fitness plans? hmmm well if you mean people ask if I want to run races and stuff with them, then yes. I am always down for things of that nature. But reading about people doing certain work outs does not really influence me. Does that make sense? thought not.

  7. I can be a bit of a perfectionist sometimes but I think everyones bodies are SO different as well as their lifestyles. I’ll probably never bust out a 7 mile run at 6 AM, drink tea instead of coffee or lift weights regularly, but I’m happy with that! Love your outfit, pink in the winter makes me happy.

  8. I completely agree! It makes me so sad to see women post negative things about their (already gorg and beautiful!) bodies, when it could have a profound effect on readers. Not sayin’ they should stop at all – it IS motivating for a lot of people! But like you, I’m very eassssily influenced and tend to shy away from people/comments like that.

  9. I’m proud of you making the best decision for yourself regarding other people’s blogs. It’s funny, I don’t even read some of my favorites from when I first started blogging/reading because I realized the negative impact they were having on my mindset. Now I’m to the point where I have the attitude, “Bleh. I’ve done that. I wasn’t happy. I’ve progressed. I love where I am!” Yay for you for realizing the same. Now I’m off to stroll on my treadmill and watch The Real World πŸ™‚

  10. 10 jennifer

    Kailey!
    So glad you got the package. Hope you enjoy! Im going to link your blog to our facebook page. Keep smiling!

    Jen from SFB

  11. Dude, I hear you. I’ve cut waaaay back on blog reading for precisely that reason. I’ve also decided to write more about food policy on my own blog and less about routines and such. I love that when I read your blog it’s about how awesome your food is. Rock on!

  12. OMG I WANT THOSE COOKIES NOW. Absolutely worth it πŸ™‚

    I kind of like reading others’ blogs when I need a motivator after eating half a gallon of ice cream, but there are also those days when I want to eat my ice cream and be okay with it! It depends on the situation, and while others’ blogs can definitely be inspirational, I have to remind myself that it’s MY body!

  13. Don’t worry about it! You have such a healthy attitude towards exercise and eating. Most of what you eat is ridiculously healthy but I love that you can enjoy a cookie and cheese fries too and it’s A-ok! It makes you normal and either way, you’re stunning, intelligent and seem like you’d be crazy fun to hang out with!
    I also hate reading certain blogs (though still do it compulsively sometimes :X) for the same reason. I feel like I eat 3 x as much as some people then feel bad reading about their intense workout hours, spin classes, marathon training, strength workouts, etc. Geez, even your elliptical workouts impress me/ make me feel really out of shape! Plus you get to walk all over the place. I’m lucky if I can get myself on the elliptical once a month and then I last about 20 minutes before falling off into a wheezing mess lol. I do my yoga about twice a week, ride a bike to run my errands if it’s nice out, but really, you kind of use a car for everything in Houston, not very pedestrian friendly. And I still fuel it with all the foods I love. But all the pressure from blogland is the reason I chose to keep my blog mostly about traveling and not food, as nice as some cookies in the mail would be!

  14. I used to be influenced by others’ stuff…but not anymore. Especially NOT their workout stuff b/c my path is yoga. You could put the Dali Lama of the Weight Room in front of me or an Olympic bicyclist, whatever, and it wouldnt change me. I am a yogi. So that doesnt effect me. The food…well, the only thing that irks me is when people take a high and mighty approach. I am so whateverrrrrrr worrrrks for you kind of girl so when people are fanatical (or fake!) I dont read them anymore or read but rarely comment πŸ™‚ It’s an old age thing. I am comfy in my skin more so now than ever.
    xoxo

  15. 15 traynharder23

    i hope you don’t think my blog is like that! =( i usually just put my stuff on there as a log for myself to compare my performance on baselines after a few weeks. but i totally understand how some people are now putting on things like body challenges and shit like that. makes one feel kinda competitive! the before and after pictures make me feel sometimes like i’m not as great as them, but i remember that we’re all dif, yes? i think it’s great you have a great attitude about life, exercise and fitness and ENJOYING your eats! that’s the best!
    and btw. so jealous of the cookies. i want some intention cookies by bountiful vegan. those things are to die for.

    • 16 snackface

      Awww hell naw, girl! I don’t think your blog is like that. You keep thangs real! You relay the information of your life, not create challenges, as you’ve stated.

  16. 17 crazylittlethingneela

    i do feel pressured to exericse when i read some blogs and see people execising everyday. i can’t do any cardio at the moement because i have so much issues with my stomach and all the bumping up and down while doing things like running is a big no no for me. so yeah what works for me is what i need to stick too!
    so jealous of your cookie galore! yummy!

  17. I think I used to be easily influenced by other people’s fitness plans or food plans (granted I’ve adopted some amaaazing eats since entering the blogosphere…but those are purely based on BOMB recipes and not nutritional value haha…the important things, right??) I think I’ve come to the realization that everybody is different and everyone’s bods are different and process food differently — some peeps can eat anything they want and look like freakin Giselle…some people can’t…some people can afford tons of organic stuff…I don’t feel bad that I can’t always buy organic (though I so wish I could buy everying in Whole Foods…when I win the lotto, that’ll happen haha– Trader Joe’s make my organic dreams come true). Either way — I think influence can be both good and bad…but you should never measure yourself by anyone else’s standards.

  18. It’s wonderful that you realize the effect of these influences on you and that you are choosing to focus your attention elsewhere. I love reading your blog because you are so non-obsessive, don’t berate yourself for eating what you want, and are just very relatable- and that’s why I have continued to read πŸ™‚ (btw, your comment about the 500 cal cookie…loved it, so refreshing!)
    I know I am also easily influenced and have stopped reading blogs which make me feel inadequate or like I “should” be exercising more and this way and that way, and that I “shouldn’t” eat certain foods or whatever. Plus, even though I’m very far from the eating disorder that plagued me for so long, I still realize that I need to tread cautiously and reading those kinds of posts are unhelpful to me.
    Stay strong, lady!

  19. I’ll admit that I went through and edited my Blog Roll for the same reason. I realized that I didn’t want to think about food and exercise that much, and by reading all of these blogs that were so focused on amounts of food, total time spent on various machines, calories burned, blah, blah, blah, it wasn’t helping me to have a healthy view about food. I want to read blogs that are written by people that I like and want to support, but I also need to make sure that I’m not brainwashing myself into a certain ‘healthy’ mindset. I DON’T want to drink vegetable juice, I DON’T like cooking my oats on the stove (too messy), and I DON’T like lifting weights (sweaty men can enjoy their barbells and I’ll stick to yoga). I do sometimes miss those who write about this kind of stuff, but I know that hanging on to their every teaspoon of this and 20 minutes of that is not doing me any good.

  20. pooh bear! i agree. i cut out reading almost 80 percent of the blogs, except, yours obvi. I agree that seeing people, and their workouts/dimensions/etc can make me feel under-accomplished. But then again, ive already, gone through the whole “perfectionist and strict lifestyle” that i dont want it ever again. I love drinking 5 beers on a monday night. I love not workint out so I can veg in front of trashy tv with pizza or chinese food. It is what makes life..LIFE πŸ™‚ continue being you. continue being free. continue only working out 3 times a week for health and fun, not competition. And continue on being snackey. I will do the same.

    loooooveee u!

    xoxo
    lolo

  21. 22 Kate

    “And then I remember: I am me. I am 22. I am a student. I love my brews. I love my unmeasured snacks. I love my life.”

    I know i pretty much only comment on days like these but seriously kailey your blog is such a relief/blessing/perspective/wonderful read. i love it because you are always such a good example of balance. and i need to put more of that in my life and stop comparing myself to bloggers and others in general.

    i think maybe i will do some deleting of blogs off my bookmarks (yea im ghetto and still bookmark haha i don’t have a blog/ google reader etc…) for sanity’s sake.

    thank you thank you thank you for your blog, i hope you know how much you really do touch your readers!

    • 23 snackface

      Kate- Honaaayy! This was ANOTHER comment that totally made me teary. I’m not sure what it is within us that always feels this need to compare. I’m doing what I can to help others (and myself!) recognize that we’re all so individual that it’s impossible to measure up/compare to anyone else. Thank YOU for letting me know I can help at all!

  22. amen for doing what’s right for you and cutting out sources of negativity/competitiveness/jealousy/etcetc!! i’ve been really focusing on eating intuitively and doing what works for ME recently, and i totally hear you on this one. i have to be mindful and make sure i dont try and “compete” with people who work out everyday/eat a certain way when i’m really trying to go slow and steady so i dont overdo it or get burnt out.
    thanks for another beautiful post – and those vegan cookies look amaze!

  23. 25 SarahG

    “(…) am me. I am 22. I am a student. I love my brews. I love my unmeasured snacks. I love my life. I don’t want to workout more than three times a week. I don’t want to keep track of it all. It’s not for moi. And it doesn’t have to be for everyone. I just want to remind people of that (although, you’re all smarties who recognize that already). The only challenge I propose: Love and Live Yo’ Life Challenge! Isn’t that enough?”
    – You couldn’t have said it better!! Sereously Kaley, you have THE best attitude towards life and food- and I adore you for that.. Please never change or anything, because you look great, healthy and totally happy with what you are and that is something not many girls our age could say about themselves.

    And YES I’m easy influenced, but only when it’s about good stuff:-) your blog influenced my attitude towards life a lot. And I thank you for that.

    Greetings from Germany,

    SarahG

    • 26 snackface

      SarahG- AWW!!! HUGE thank you. This comment seriously made me teary. You have no idea how touched I am that I could help you in some way. Thank you!

  24. I love this post. I’m a long-time reader and first-time commenter, and I have to say that this post was one of my favorites so far! It’s really refreshing to hear that you acknowledge how much you love your life and how happy you are with everything you already do. You are definitely an inspiration in all aspects of health- both body and mind.

    • 28 snackface

      jabbeyeats- Awww thanks for thinking this was a good post! I merely hope to spread positivity and help in any way possible. Thank you!

  25. : Are you easily influenced by others’ fitness plans? Do you feel pressured to do the same? Why? Why not?

    For sure…sometimes I have to take a break, take a few days to get my head back on straight by focusing on myself and my needs and what is realistic for myself. its not easy though.

  26. Great eats, by the way!

    Yes, I can be easily influenced by diets and workout plans, but I do my best to say what you say: I am me. I am doing what I need to be doing. I do not need to change.

    It helps to affirm that I do not need to change.

  27. Not really easily influenced…but I train people and am use to seeing a bunch of different styles. I’ve seen many women and even men affected by it. I think it’s really important to do what is best for you, so you do that girl!! πŸ™‚

  28. Oh my darling, I totally undestand and support! Its hard because I know that in NO WAY are others trying to influence anyone in a negative way by talking about their own workout and need to be thin or only eat certain things, but it’s hard because it really makes you feel that what you are doing is not enough. You know what though, if you compare yourself to every other person it will NEVER EVER be enough. Someone will always work out an hour longer than you, eat a little less than you, or look better than you.

    I just need to tell you how inspiration you are! Love reading you and I love following your strength and honesty. πŸ˜‰

  29. I am not influenced by what others write about, but as someone noted earlier, it’s an age thing. It took a long time for me to not feel like I needed (should) do what those around me were doing food/exercise wise. Now, I do what works for me and don’t even really think about what other people are getting into. I can be a cheerleader for them without being a participant in the program or plan. I found exercise that I love (tennis!) and a way of eating that keeps me sane and healthy and that’s what I follow–very freeing!

    It’s great that you know what works for you and what doesn’t. A first step in figuring things out is self-awareness. You’ve got that going on for sure!

  30. 34 Aunty Snooze

    not influenced by other people at all. I started doing hot yoga jus before Christmas and am still a beleiver.A hundred and five degrees and ninety minutes of sweat. I haven’t felt the cold outside all winter. I wald the new puppy every morning for a bit and five more times during the day. When it warms up I’ll break out into a run Happy snacking those cookies look fantastic

  31. 35 Hattie

    Mate, your breakfasts don’t involve leftover takeaway or beer… you’re the healthiest student I know! In other news… you got a touch of SAD? You should totally get a sunrise clock! They probably don’t work but it gives you an excuse to buy a gaudy, overpriced novelty.

    • 36 snackface

      Hattie- Hahaha what good points! But maybe this is why I don’t photograph all my food on the weekends…I kid. Somewhat.

  32. 37 rediscoveringlauren

    hey hun,
    i think its great you can admit that you can be influenced by other blogs and that your gonna read ones you feel you wont be influenced by. even though i stopped blogging myself, ive continuted to read certain blogs and yours is one thats so positive, hilarious and always puts a smile on my face πŸ™‚ I think youve got a really great attitude towards food/excerisise etc and the balance you have is one im aiming for..i look up to you girlie!

    • 38 snackface

      lauren- Ah!!! It’s so good to hear from you again! I hope everything is going well, sweetcheeks!

  33. I get the same way in the winter. Coffee, long talks, and doing what I love (yoga!) seems to help a little.
    I have been easily influenced about body image in the past. Now, I *think* I’ve learned to love my body and appreciate it for all kinds of things, including being unique. However, as I back away from the mindset of constantly thinking my body isn’t good enough, I find myself reading fewer and fewer health and fitness magazines and the like.

  34. Woot! Go Sunflower products! Theys waz very nice to you πŸ˜€
    That cookie looks amazing – and totally worth the 500 cals.

    Kailey, you have such a great attitude about yourself. I totally get what you mean by reading other people’s fitness goals, plans, challenges etc. It can be completely self-doubt inducing. Ridding yourself of the content is one great way not to get sucked in. I think you’re fabulous, and your eats are mostly healthy, and your workouts are always rockin’! Keep doing whatcha doin πŸ˜€

    • Oh, and one more thing – while the obsession about losing pounds and pudge can get me down, I stop reading blogs when it’s clear that the content is only written to gain more traffic. Hate that!

  35. Get outta here for two reasons: 1. That package?!?! I’m jeal! Eat and enjoy, buttercup! 2. Cereal held you over that long?! What a killer combo!

    Sorry about the blues…I think they’re going around. Sucky weather breeds sucky moods 😦

    I try not to talk about weight/working out on my blog because it’s SUCH a touchy subject. To be completely honest, I don’t work out at all! I take that back, if you count power walking through grocery stores to buy hummus, carob chips, and carbs then I work out. You do you!! Love you mucho, K-bay-bay πŸ™‚

  36. I understand on how you feel reading other blogs who talk about diet and weight loss, it can be hard!
    Jenna

  37. Snackie, I feel ya. Honestly tho, when me and my skeezahs came across this entire bloggie world of taking pics of your food, tracking your exercise, etc. it seemed pretty nutso to us. I can def understand how it helps, but the whole thing can make anyone feel like they aren’t doing enough.

    We are 3 confident girlies and we blog because we enjoy it, as I’m sure you do too. Speaking for myself, I tend to skip over the very detailed workouts/food diary portion of anyone’s site. I know what I’m about, I do what I can to stay healthy and that’s all that matters.

  38. 45 Sara

    thank you for this post….
    i am me, and that needs to be enough.

    Your posts are always so refreshing! πŸ™‚

  39. 46 Susan

    I hear you on the selective blog reading, sista. Even just buying groceries is enough to send you into a guilt trip these days – almost every product has a freakin’ diet version next door! We should enjoy ourselves and our lives, ‘specially being so young and with all the fun things to do at la escuela, I don’t want to be bogged down by rules/dieting/pressure to workout erryday.
    Rant over. Those cookies look fantabulous! I think you just may have to incorporate one into breakie at some point. Cookies and coffee are soulmate IMO.
    And I love ezek english muffies too! That nutty flavor beats any other bread I’ve tried.
    Diggin’ your popped collar too haha! Go on and brush yo’ shouldas off.

  40. 47 julie

    i feel the sameee way! i feel like reading other peoples goals and stuff when i lack significant ones make me think that i need to step it up a notch. if i stepped it up a notch i think i would fall over. i just try and continue to just do me and know that that’s good enough πŸ™‚

    now i’m hankerin for a bowl of some cereaaaaaaal

  41. i can’t read those weight-y/healthy blogs either…they make me think too much. i find that as soon as i start thinking (even a little) about what i eat and how much i exercise, i get obsessive. i just have to let go and listen to my intuition 100% of the time. life is meant to be enjoyed, not worried over πŸ™‚

  42. 49 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i know EXACTLY how you feel- there are certain blogs that i have a really hard time reading because the amoutn they eat seems small or they work out a lot & it triggers me so i just try to avoid them- do whats best for you πŸ™‚ and that cookie sounds so good!!

    xoxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  43. Hey girl πŸ™‚

    I find myself super competitive when I’m in the act of exercising. When I’m out for a jog I have a hard time letting people pass me, spin faster than me in spinning class, etc. Think it must be the years of sports through college πŸ™‚ haha

    If you want a break from bruski, I posted a recipe for low-calorie margaritas I make. I swear, they’re to die for! πŸ™‚

    http://www.biochemista.com/2010/01/skinny-margaritas.html

    -Lauren

  44. Woo hoo! Glad you racked up on some snackies, those sound good πŸ™‚

    I love you! thank you for your honesty splurge. So true. Because I do love fitness, I am SO easily influenced by others out there. And lately, I’ve tried to be more considerate about talking about my own routine on my blog, because that’s not what I want the focus to be on. I have to do the same thing as you: remind myself that I am ME, just JENNY, and someone else’s plan is NOT mine.

  45. 52 Sarah

    Totally know how feel about the “pressure” from other bloggers. I also tend to be a perfectionist and when I read other blogs I think…should I be doing that to?? But like you said..you are happy with what you do. I finally realized that everyone is different. Some people enjoy working out everyday while others don’t. Do what makes you happy πŸ™‚ I think you have a perfectly healthy and balanced lifestyle. Keep it up girl!

    And I feel you on the winter blues. I have been longing to run outside with the warm sun shining down on me! I hate the cold!

    -Sarah-

  46. The thing about reading so many blogs is that everyone is in a different place in their lives. For example, I’m 31 years old and about to get married. I graduated from college ten years ago. But, I still enjoy reading blogs like yours and homegirl’s even though I can’t relate to that much. Basically, what I’m trying to say is that each blogger is different and while you might be able to relate to some aspects, there are going to be other parts of their lives that are completely different from yours. And there is no reason to try to emulate. What makes blogs unique is you are getting a little slice of each person’s individual experience. Just because a blogger that you admire feels the need to do X (insert whatever here – run a marathon, go raw, lose weight, gain weight, etc), it doesn’t mean that it’s right for you.

    At least that’s how I look at it. And The Real World, I felt like every single thing that Callie was saying could have come straight out of my mouth. It was weird!

    • I meant “you” collectively, not personally to you!! I agree with you, girly.

    • 55 snackface

      Lee- The age aspect is important to recognize! I feel as though a ton of bloggers and blog readers are in their late teens/early 20s, yet often feel they need to crack down on their diets and workouts when they see mid to late 20s-30s bloggers’ food and workouts. Sometimes it’s easy to forget that we are only 20something and our bodies can pretty much handle anything. I know I read certain blogs because I’m fascinated by married life, running expeditions, careers, etc., but I have to remind myself that I’m not there yet and that when they were in college, lawd knows what they were up to! And Callie OMG. I was nodding the whole time.

  47. honest to god, thank you for those last few paragraphs (i’m coming out of the woodwork for ya here!).
    as much as some health blogs are a source of support and inspiration for those in recovery from eating disorders, for me personally, i often find them to be surprisingly triggering. it feeds that neurotic perfectionism that plagued me with food issues — the perfectionism that i have tried so hard to quiet and quell.

    bee tee dubs, i’m kind of in love with you and you are part of the reason i’ve dusted the…dust…off my own blog.

    • 57 snackface

      transphatt- Uh, you are kind of amazing. Being so honest is something I truly appreciate. And thank you!!

  48. I know you read my last post, and you can see how easily influenced I am by other bloggers and they exercises and things they do. so hard not to read them when at the same time i like the other content of their blogs…such a hassle!

    but i like your attitude! way to be miss independent!

  49. 59 Nicole G

    I am very influenced by others. In fact, I’ve been having a hard time with all the “New Year’s Resolutions” talk fluttering around me. I have to remind myself that my needs are different from others and that all I need to be concerned with is myself (in terms of body image – not in a selfish way).

    Props to you for being honest and being able to admit that. It takes a lot of honest and courage. You’re freaking gorgeous and amazing on your own, so don’t let any of your thoughts get you down.

    Nicole G

  50. I know exactly what you mean, but I don’t think such challenges impact me negatively. I only follow blogs that practice and preach moderate, balanced lifestyles. I only follow a challenge occasionally if I feel that it is something from which I can truly benefit–for example, Caitlin’s strength training challenge is perfect for me right now. I just ran a marathon and am totally clueless when it comes to strength training but I know I need to consider it if I want to become a stronger runner. I don’t feel pressured to incorporate strength training, nor do I feel like I have to follow her plan exactly. Rather, I want to and I’ll incorporate her tips in my own way. It’s great that you emphasize following the beat of your own drum, I think very highly of that!

  51. I totally hear you re: other people’s blogs. I’m fine right now because I’m feeling dedicated towards eating well and exercising, but when I’m struggling to keep up with it and see others who just seem to be able to do it effortlessly it can get me down. I’m trying to stop seeing it like that though. I can only do so much as I can do.

    That being said, I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks now and this is my first comment. I just wanted to say that I always look forward to reading what you have to say because it’s refreshing and different from the others, and you always manage to make me smile. Thanks for that!

    • 62 snackface

      Amanda- Welcome to the comments section! Thanks for your awesome input and letting me know I can make ya smile!

  52. Love and Live Yo’ Life Challenge…AMEN SISTA!

    everytime i read your blog, i seriously get motivated to just enjoy life more and do the dayum thang. per our discussion re: exercise, i remember how good i feel when i keep busy, active and just doin’ it. and for that, i thank you. i rocked it out at yoga last night and tonight i am hopping on the elliptical with hand weights for some fun. thanks for being such a fab friend πŸ™‚

    just live yo life…eh eh eh ehhhhhhh! it makes me think of rhianna song every time.

    LOVING the cardy, and i think a pop of bright color is perfect. i remind myself that this time of year, i can tend to get in weird moods. but they will pass, we will drink some brews, we will eat some cookies and life will go on!

    mwah…you are FABULOUS!

  53. 64 Kate

    Love that fabulous message about being your own person! Lately, the blogs I usually read have been filled with new plans for how these incredible women are going to change their bodies and lives with weight lifting, running new races, getting in new fitness routines and I have been overwhelmed and beating myself up. Thank you for reminding me that I am different, unique and not everyone’s plan will work for me or should be used by me πŸ™‚ You are amaze!

  54. I purposly try to read different blogs for that reason. If I only read “healthy food” ones I’d keep myself up at night feeling guilty about what I ate that day. If I only read “weight loss” blogs I’d keep myself up at night comparing my plans to theirs and wondering why I’m not losing weight as quickly, or whatever. And if I only read “fashion” blogs I’d end up spending all the money I don’t have on new clothes and shoes (oh wait, maybe I already do that?)

    Point is, the minute we put ourselves out here in “blogworld” we’re setting ourselves up to be judged and to judge other people. And along with that comes comparisons. It may not be right, but it’s human. I wouldn’t sweat it girl. As a busy college student, you’re an inspiration to me and that’s why I read your posts everyday.

  55. 66 Little Bookworm

    Love this post (and the honesty splooge)!

  56. 67 Mandee Lei

    Really enjoyed that last little tidbit on here. I have noticed a lot of bloggers posting their measurements, before and after pics, and “plans” for toning up or losing some lbs. While it’s all with good intentions it gets to me too. I start thinking I should workout more (I’m a 3 day a week girl myself and so happy someone else out there is too! It seems like everyone on the blogosphere is a marathoner or yoga fiend and it’s soooo comforting to hear of someone who likes to sweat.. in moderation lol.) I start thinking maybe I should eat less carbs and more protein (complete crazy talk, I live for carbs!) Maybe I should do more cardio (HAHAHA good one). Yesterday I actually weighed myself and took my measurements (and even analyzed myself in the mirror for a good waste of 30 minutes!) What the heck?! This was for no real reason other than all the posts I have seen on blog land lately. I know I’m healthy, I feel great, my clothes fit well, am active, eat good clean foods 90% of the time, my husband thinks I’m a sight for sore eyes… why the hell do I care how much I weigh or how many inches around my thighs are? So to boil it down here – I AGREE. I love some of these bloggers but at the same time the reason I read these blogs is for a healthy and refreshing mindset! Thank you for putting that out there!

  57. 68 nicolet

    Hi Snackface,

    I have never commented on anyone’s blog before (I am extremely shy, even on the internet) but I have been meaning to comment on yours for a long time. You write very beautifully and are very inspiring to me to eat better and exercise more (a carbotarian for a while-). I take away a lot of meal ideas as yours always look so balanced and colorful. You are also kind and always keep your blog light and funny, which is why I enjoy reading it every day.

    I also get bummed in the winter, all I want to do is hibernate. Wearing brightly colored clothing is a good way to offset the feeling.

    I think you and your blog are more than just fine the way they are and I hope you don’t change either.

    Sorry for the long comment. I hope you enjoy your day. πŸ™‚

    • 69 snackface

      nicolet- Thank so, so much for taking the time out of your day, breaking out of your comfort zone and commenting. Your compliments are far too kind. Also, I say nothing is wrong with a carbotarian diet. I love that! Can we coin that term? Is it copywrighted yet?

      • 70 nicolet

        You’re very welcome. My carbotarian diet consisted of all carbs all the time, so it was pretty unhealthy; for example a bagel for breakfast, pizza or a sandwich for lunch and cereal for dinner; with not many if any fruits or vegetables in between. Now I am fairly balanced but I still love my carbs. Being Greek & Italian it’s a given. πŸ™‚ My grandma always makes me pasta when I go there because she doesn’t know what I eat. I try to eat beans or broccoli with the pasta, though so slowly but surely getting better.

  58. Great point to bring up πŸ™‚ I have been noticing lately that there are these “healthy balance” blogs but then it seems like they are more concerned with what they look like/what they weigh/measure/etc. Kind of seems like a contradiction to me, especially when they are already “healthy”.

  59. 72 Elizabeth

    I don’t really comment on blogs a lot, but I wanted to say yours is one of my faves! It’s one of the few blogs I can really relate to (college life, love of snacking, easily influenced) & you’re totally insprirational. What you said about feeling obligated to do what others do is true for me too. I love that you choose to live your own life, though, as everyone should!
    and yay for cookies!! πŸ˜€

  60. Not to keep harping on about how great your blog is, but… this is WHY I love your blog! I stumbled upon the “blog world” being the college student I am, looking for another way to procrastinate. Your blog is great in that its relate-able and still motivating & a good influence. Yeah, your active, but your also involved in other things too!

  61. 74 lowandbhold

    Ummm. I love that you used the word splooge in this post. I am a 16-year-old boy obz. Sorry.

    And as for your question, yes I definitely get caught up in it. I’m at a point right now though where I’m so bored with my work life that kicking up the fitness a notch is something I enjoy – but I 1,387% agree that those things are not for everyone and you just have to do what makes you happy. Thanks for keepin it real.

    Oh, and I’m right there with you on the winter blues. It always starts for me pre-holiday and usually ends on my b-day, but I think it’s going to stick around longer this year because of this crap-tastic winter. Sure hope not though!

  62. 75 sarahdbelle

    Hi Kailey,
    Love this post! I definitely know what you mean about all the fitness challenges and before and after talk. I try to step away from it because I think it can have a really bad affect on me. Being in recovery from an ed, I know I’m more susceptible to such talk so I definitely have to be careful.
    That’s why I love your blog so much! I love seeing your awesome food and clothes. And I’m glad there’s someone out there who loves Glee as much as I do.
    Take care!
    Sarah
    http://www.sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

  63. heya kailey,
    i love how upbeat and carefree you seem to be about everything. i agree that sometimes there’s a pressure we put on ourselves when we’re exposed to what others are doing and think we have to, too. i’m a bit of a competitve perfectionist, also, but similarly, i channel it into school. anyway, i’m so happy to see that you’re blog is all about living life, enjoying the moment, and just being who you are. that’s a great message that inspires me to do the same!
    i hope you have a lovely day!
    xox

  64. oh, and p.s. those vegan cookies look better than amazing! i’m not big into sweets so i’ve yet to find a good brand. i might just have to look into these…. πŸ˜‰

  65. To answer the exercise question: I am not influenced by others’ workouts at all. I am way too lazy for that.

    I am a little bothered by of the the healthy living blogs that post their measurements, body fat, weight, etc. and then say they want to lose when they’re already in a healthy range. Thin does not necessarily equal healthy.

    BTW: I also have a case of the blahs, and I’m in Ohio, too. Must be the weather!

  66. Omg, Kailey!! I adore you so so much!!

    Let’s start with the food and then i’ll get all sentimental…
    I spy a LEMON and BROWNIE shortbread that musttt be tried, asap! Obvs peanut butter and van flavors are gonna rock…but those are more common….lemon flavors always taste amazingg in cookie/cake/muffin form! The pretzels + hummus combo are an obvious winner, esp after some CHEESY FRIES!! But you know what’s even better than cheesy fries?….GARLIC FRIES!! In my opinion, at least πŸ™‚

    I envy the relationship you now have with your professors, although i gotta remember that i’m a soph and it takes timeee!! i’m still sweaty and nervous when talking to them, hahahah kidding. Kinda!

    But lastly, I wanna applaud you for your honesty!! Hahaha, i’m such a tool. I know that i’ve told you before…and i still feel the same way! Some blogs are just too regimented for what I, personally want out of life, and look to blogs for! I admire your ability to cut bad habits when they start (like getting sucked into all the workout/diet/etc “trends” in blog land)….and for that, i love you so much! hope you’re doing better!!! no more wintertime sadness, okay?!

    XOXOXOXO

  67. 80 Sara

    Wow, could not agree with you more girl! I’ve been reading your blog for a while, but this is my first comment. What you said totally resonated with me. I’m recovering from an ED and I feel like your blog has really helped me realize that it’s OK to eat NORMALLY…and not take fitness/nutrition to the extreme…that being healthy, happy, and active is all about moderation.

    I too find myself a bit too easily influenced when I read about the fitness/workout plans on other blogs. I just have to step back and realize that each and every person is different, and to do what makes me the most comfortable and happy.

  68. 81 hemp jogger

    Omg I can relate to this like no one’s biznaz. It drives me nuts sometimes thinking how I should be doing this and that to ‘be healthy’ but sometimes life interferes…as it should! Everyone is very different and it takes sometimes to realize that, for me. Thank you for this post. You’re so insightful girly. And gorg! So whatever you do, keep it up πŸ™‚
    And winter totes puts me in the blues. Warmer weather instantly perks me.

  69. 82 D

    I totally agree that it’s easy to get influenced, and I think you’re looking at it in the right way by saying that you know yourself well enough to know when you need to stop reading, or look at things in perspective. People have different jobs, different aspirations, they study more, study less, socialise more, etc. It’s totally just part of life. BUT…I think other peoples reactions aren’t so cool! A lot of people act like bloggers SHOULDN’T be doing something because it makes other people feel bad. You have to take responsibility for yourself! Just because a blogger is perfectly healthy, they shouldn’t want to challenge themselves? Just because they are in a healthy weight range means they can’t lose 5 pounds if they want? Self-improvement isn’t a crime, and everyone knows what their own personal best is. So if someone’s personal best (for fitness reasons) is a lower body fat %, and they want to work towards that, so what?! More power to them! I don’t think bloggers are saying they think they’ll be a better person because of it…they just want to do it! And I’m pretty sure they aren’t saying that if you weigh more than them or exercise less that you should be doing it too. I think we need to remember that if someone elses actions makes us feel insecure, we need to not blame them, but instead work on making ourselves feel awesome in our own way. Each to their own!

    Love your blog, as always!

  70. No problem just being yourself. Sometimes I drive me nuts too ;)…but there is NO WAY I would ever post before and after pics of myself, or put my measurements out there! For sure!!! Honestly, after thinking about it, it’s probably popular to do that right now because people have made their “beginning of the year resolutions”. I only post what I’m eating. I do post the stats on my workouts, but nothing more then calories and fat %. Should calm down around March, just like the influx of people in the gyms πŸ™‚

  71. haaay love buns. cute outfit. and you are making me want cookies and damn it is midnight and no cookies should be consumed. mmm.. i cannot wait for jamaica~all inclusive cookies at 3 AM! yes yes. sorry if my blog is making you think you need to drink a gallon and lift like a machine and eat like a crazy person. dont worry, it is just for jamaica prep πŸ˜‰ but i think you have a healthy, smart head on your shoulders and you know that doing your thang is the RIGHT THING for you. you are wise beyond your years! i just love you!

  72. just when I thought it wasn’t possible to love you anymore…

    Kay-lay, your honesty in this post is SO inspiring and anyone who tells you that they’re not influence or affected by the constant emphasis placed on exercise or healthy food in the blogosphere is straight up lying. I have definitely done some major “google reader editing” for myself. I realized that focusing so much attention on how other people are living their lifes (espec. in terms of food/work outs) was SO toxic to me and really inhibiting me from pursuing my own goals and adopting a healthy lifestyle that suits me. Please promise me you’ll never lose yourself. I admire you SO MUCH for your ability to just live carelessly as a free-spirit, and I know how much work it’s taken for you to get to this place in your life. You give me hope that I can achieve that as well, girl, and I can not put in to words how much that means to me. I idolize you SO MUCH Kailey – you have no idea!

    So in love with you ❀

  73. 86 lindsayruns

    I was gonna say that I’m not influenced, but as I read the comments and really thought about it I realized that sometimes I do get influenced. My workout and eating habits were generally established years ago, before me+blogs. Sometimes they are better and sometimes they are worse. Sometimes I want to try a new food that’s all the rage and other times I think they’ve lost their minds. I like posting my schedules for me, so that when I look at my own blog I remember that oh yes, those are my goals, get off the couch and do something, Lindsay.
    But as far as reading goes, I hear you, I have to thin out occasionally myself. I read all kinds of blogs and I think that is key. No one is interested solely in food. People write blogs on religion, homemaking hacks, making awesome decadent food, living clean, debt reduction, fashion, all kinds of stuff. I just have to say that I found you cause of some sweet potato fries this week, but I’ma stay for the dose of reality πŸ˜‰ Do what you love, you seem to know yourself well already and that’s wonderful!

  74. 87 snackface

    WOOOHOOOO!!!!!!


  1. 1 Under Pressure | The Healthy Everythingtarian
  2. 2 Weekends are a bit like rainbows… « My Enchanted Life

Leave a Reply

