“A Little Less Lonely and Freakish”

13Jan10

What up, boos! As I approach a major SnackFace birthday, I’ve been thinking a lot about my writing and its intent.

OK, I have to admit that I’ve been forced to think about it in Creative Non-Fiction, but it’s pertinent to the blog. We’ve discussed the issue of egotism within self essays, and I realized I basically write self essays five days a week on this little blog. And then I thought, “Oh sweet Lord. How does my ego play into it?”

In a class reading, I read a quote that struck me:

The trick is to realize that one is not important, except insofar as one’s example can serve to elucidate a more widespread human trait and make readers feel a little less lonely and freakish.” – Phillip Lopate

That, my lovely, kind, generous readers, is why I write. We’re all a little odd in that we could probably spend days reading about food and be perfectly content. We’re inclined to want to know intricacies of relative strangers’ lives, yet they no longer feel like strangers after a certain period of time. We want to relate.

As the author of this ridiculous blog about me, me, me, I sometimes worry that I’m too self-involved. I use the words “I,” “me,” “my” and “mine” constantly, perhaps nauseatingly. But to clarify (and maybe I’m just writing this whole schpiel for me), I write in hopes that someone, anyone, will read and think, “Hey, I’ve felt/ thought/ experienced/ wanted/ feared/ loved that, too!” I merely want to sprinkle sunlight and inappropriateness into a small chunk of your day. I also fully admit that I write to keep my soul happy, too.

Now that I’ve cleared my conscience, how about we dive into Tuesday!

It all started at dusty 7am. A deflated stomach and weary mind led me to this:

Banana pump oats with coffee. The snowman is relevant as long as there's snow on the ground.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, 1/2 naner, 1/3 C pumpkin, 1 scoop Veggie Protein, apple pie spice, stevia and peanut butter.

With the help of Beyonce’s “Ego,” which isn’t ironic at all, and a bossy outfit, I felt energized for the day:

Purp dress, blue and white button down, gray leggings, argyle socks and eventually boots wit' da fur.

Actually, I lied. I could have easily gone right back to bed at this moment. I pushed through. Trooper.

I had two classes: Creative Non-Fiction from 9am to 11 and Magazine Editing and Production 11 to 1pm. What’s frustrating are trips to the library your senior year. I’m not sure I need to be taught how to use “Ask a Librarian!” for the fourth or fifth time.

Busting through the revolving library door at 1pm sharp, I sped down Court Street and took no prisoners. I can out-walk anyone. Even Giselle. Damn. No, probably not Giselle.

I did, however, stop to talk to the barbershop boys! Everyone is doing well and they offered to cut my hair. I may take them up on that.

Starving when I walked in the door, I swiped off my boots, unbuttoned my coat and skipped into the kitchen. A simple and fabulous lunch was in order:

Red, orange, yellow.

On the plate: Ezekiel half smothered with hummus and Frankie, Ezekiel half slathered in Smart Balance light+ stevia+ cinnamon, one giant carrot sliced into sticks and an apple with a Laughing Cow wedge. This was wondrous:

Cinnamon sugar toast of my childhood!

Because there is no rest for the exhausted college student, I foraged on with my day and braved the numbing temperatures again.

Film class was pretty phenom, though. We watched Lost In Translation, whichΒ  I first watched years ago. Having grown up a bit and experienced much more, I ended up thoroughly enjoying the film this time (I was bored to sleep, not tears, back in ’04). And ScarJo should consider returning to movies like this. She may also want to return Ryan to me. Although, return implies I once had him. Sadly, that’s not the case.

My metabolism must have been off the chain all day because I was famished when I got home at 5:15. I started with an appetizer:

Hummus, broccoli, pretzels. Let's not kid ourselves. I had many more pretzels than this.

For dinner, I returned to the one official recipe you’ll find on SnackFace:

Cheetahs! And tofu that was baked alongside, using same method.

I ate about 1/4 C ketchup with this. Just an estimate.

Dessert was had as soon as I finished washing the past three days’ dishes. Washing dishes by hand + singing = new therapeutic ritual. We already knew dessert is a therapeutic ritual (even if it’s pita chips and hummus for dessert):

Greek topped with strawberry preserves and carob chips. Ridiculous.

Then sistah got hopping on Media Law! I was fed up with feeling behind, so I hunkered down and chilled on LexisNexis for a few hours. Thankful that focus found me, I celebrated at 11pm (when examining federal cases was finished) with carob chips and a handful or two or tortilla chips.

Well here I am again, about to call it a night. I’m hoping for a solid five hours of sleep. I have to be honest here. I have no idea how other bloggers who attend school, workout, have extracurricular meetings, study, read, see friends/run errands for even 30 minutes and post daily sleep for seven to eight hours. Is there really time for it? How do they do it? Dare I say it’s slightly…freakish?

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Are you a good sleeper?
I’m awful at it. I can’t fall asleep. I wake up throughout the night. I love to stay up late. I love to wake up early. I can’t nap. This all changes in one location, though: the house in which I grew up. At home in Cinci, I sleep like my baby puppies–soundly, frequently and with ease.

83 Responses to ““A Little Less Lonely and Freakish””

  1. 1 Sasha

    idiot

    • 2 snackface

      Sasha- Thanks, that’s so sweet!

      • hahahahahahahahaha. maybe it’s SASHA FIERCE and she’s JEAL OF YOU!

      • 4 Lo

        kale- i laughed for 5 min at ur reply. gah. i heart u. and omg more music/ late night dates, please? oh i am slightly freakish too…bed was at 3 am. total freak.

    • Dang, that’s harsh, Sasha!

    • 6 Jesslikesithot

      You’re just jealous. Loveee, anon aka jesslikesithot

    • Yeah, Kailey. You just wrote a perfectly wise and articulate thought-provoking post. You are SUCH an idiot. Clearly Sasha is much more intelligent.. and mature.

  2. As I am up wayyyy past my bedtime, 6 hrs is max for me. I wish it were more, but off to dreamland for now….. Now you do the same my dear!

  3. Cinnamon sugar toast = YUM.

    πŸ˜€

    I might just come and steal it from you.

    That definitely is one bossy outfit.

  4. I’m a great sleeper, fortunately.

    Are you a creative writing major? When I went to OU, I was, and I loved it! Unfortunately, OSU doesn’t offer anything but a creative writing minor, which I’m looking in to. I love the quote you posted. And I love your reason for writing. Beautiful!

  5. “But to clarify (and maybe I’m just writing this whole schpiel for me), I write in hopes that someone, anyone, will read and think, β€œHey, I’ve felt/ thought/ experienced/ wanted/ feared/ loved that, too!” I merely want to sprinkle sunlight and inappropriateness into a small chunk of your day. I also fully admit that I write to keep my soul happy, too.”
    ^^This is WHY I read your blog! I love all the other bloggettes I read as well, but yours is almost like a looking-glass! Sometimes the other food-bloggers seem too-perfect (not that your not!!) but with their 3 square meals a day and hardly ever a snack! The first time I saw a link to “SnackFace,” I knew this was the blog for me. Your addiction to hummus and cheetahs only sealed the deal!
    So anyway, thanks for blogging and letting me know i’m “normal!” =D

    • 12 snackface

      Morgan – Awww thank you! I am elated I can offer that sense of “me too!”

  6. 13 Lia

    Hey Kailey!

    I thought it was about time I made myself a little visible.
    I stumbled across your blog by total accident when I was googling cereals in a mug or something and clicked on a picture on google image.
    (Do you do that too? google food to just stare at it on google? No? ok that’s just me then)
    And since then (that was around 4-5 months ago eek!) I was reading your entries.
    Usually, blogs don’t interest me too much as they are too boring or too self-righteous etc. BUT your blog was FUN and your food looked amazing!

    A few months down the line, I have turned veggie! This was a massive thing for me since I thought I’d never ditch my meat!
    Now I’ve been veggie for around 2-3 months and I have to be honest, your blog inspired me to do this! I saw your food and how happy you are (and you GLOW like J.Lo!) which led me to overthink my diet. I didn’t eat tons of cows and chickens before so I thought I’ll give it a shot and from a few weeks, it turned to months and I never felt better! πŸ˜€
    I don’t even miss meat and can’t think of going back.

    Anyway, your blog is YOUR blog, that’s why there are so many “I”s “Me”s and “Mine”s I mean you can’t write about his or hers, except if you are one of those obnoxious people who speak of themselves in the third person.
    You can only write about your own experience, hence the “I”s.
    Please don’t worry about sounding high-horsed (is that even a verb?) or up yourself. I found that the majority of food bloggers aren’t selfish and have awesome and funny blogs.
    I love your style and I am a very judgmental person (I know, NY res. for the second year running) and never did I feel like you were full of yourself but it’s just the right amount of Kailey and food!

    Keep up the good blog work! I will be reading for as long as this exists fo sho!
    (OMG why are you so obsessed with me? Because I heard you do commercials in JAPAN!)

    sheesh, long comment ahoy!
    xxx
    Lia

    • 14 snackface

      Lia- You are phenom. HUGE congrats on going veg! Wow, that made my day knowing that I maybe helped you do that! Incredible! And thanks for all the support about MY blog πŸ˜‰ ! It means a lot coming from a NY-er.

  7. your app and din din is right up my alley!! hot dress.. woo. πŸ™‚

    i sleep well.. too well. it took awhile but i think my job (teaching littles) just sucks every bit of energy outta me!

  8. I’m a bad sleeper, too. Can’t fall asleep ever. But I do like to get up early. They don’t really mesh…
    Love your outfit!

  9. Love that quote and I am glad to hear you are enjoying your creative writing class. Being an English and Writing major, I always found creative writing to be the hardest for me. I really enjoy expository or journalistic writing best, but I always forget how therapeutic creative writing can be.

    I am usually a good sleeper, but I do tend to have those nights of restlessness. Those are the worst! 😦

    Have a great week darlin’. πŸ˜‰

  10. Easy! Those bloggers who sleep that long go to bed at 8:30 or 9..loool. The horror.

    I sleep alright. Usually I’m in bed by 10:30/11 and up by 6:30

  11. 19 SΓΌnne

    I have a hard time falling asleep but once I’m in the wonderland of dreams (umm … yeah) nobody and nothing (not even a storm outside) can wake me up. I’d be rather grateful for this but my teachers aren’t that much …

    Love the idea of topping Greek yogurt with chocolate(carob chips. And those strawberry preserves seem to glow, haha.

  12. Hi, Kailey.
    I’ve been reading for a little while now, and I recently went veg, but this is my first comment!
    I can totally relate to being a bad sleeper. For me, waking up at odd hours of the night is usually related to needing to use the bathroom or being too hungry to sleep (at 4 am? really?).
    Still, today, I am surviving at work thanks only to my precious coffee.

    • 21 snackface

      Sarah- Ahhh! Thank you for reading and CONGRATULATIONS on going veg! That’s incredible! Also, I am right with you on the coffee. I’d be nowhere without it.

  13. I am a HORRIBLE sleeper! Especially last night =( It takes forever to fall asleep, and then I toss and turn!

    xo
    kris

  14. I think someday blogs are going to be an important historical resource as well. Women’s letters and journals to each other have been a primary source for historians to reveal social, political, economic, and domestic conditions throughout time. The minutiae of illnesses, buying new clothes, working, having children… all valuable.

    Also, I don’t quite agree with this Lopate dude’s claim that you, the individual, are not important. If YOU are not important, why are masses of people like you important? Why should we be concerned if they feel lonely if they are all just unimportant individuals? Sorry, elevation of the mob over the individual irritates me.

    • 24 snackface

      elizabeth- You are so damn right! I truly do believe that the individual is important, or else I wouldn’t try to tell everyone to “work it” and be bossy. Silly Lopate doesn’t even KNOW!

  15. ahh i used to be a “bad sleeper” but im better now!! By the time i go to bed, im usually exhausted..but i dont go to bed until after 12AM.. i know, its bad! but my roomies are too fun.
    LOVE your sophisticated outfit! sexayyy momma!!
    girl your tuesdays are LONG, thank goodness you find time to eat decent! good for you!! have a GREAT hump day lovely!!

  16. Love the quote πŸ™‚ I think most bloggies feel the same? I know I do! I get about 5 hours of sleep a night lately. I have no issues falling asleep, because after dealing with the kids, and working out, and having my computer attached to my hip recently, I am exhausted. It’s amazing how tired I am. I should probably go to bed earlier πŸ˜‰ Have a fantastic day! Also, I need to look up the tofu and cheetah recipe…what kind of tofu do you use? I don’t really know (gasp!) anything about it!!

    • 27 snackface

      Jessica- Thank you for making me feel a bit less lonely on the sleepless thing! So, for the tofu, I used organic extra-firm (whichever brand Walmart carries), pressed the liquid out of it and baked it with the cheetahs (for a total of 25 minutes at 475*, flipping after 15 minutes). I only sprayed them with non-stick!

  17. I love that quote!! I may link back to this post in my own later today just for it.

    I sleep like a rock. My husband is like you, can’t fall asleep and wakes up constantly. He gets *so mad* that I’m completely knocked out whenever he gets up and moves around at night.

  18. haha LOVE this line: I merely want to sprinkle sunlight and inappropriateness into a small chunk of your day.
    I’m all for sunshine and inappropriateness!
    Also, love the argyle sox!

  19. I MUST say i am an excellent sleeper, i do wake up early no matter what though so I hate staying up late, but i can be persuaded with adult beverages and sexy times πŸ˜€ Can’t nap either it totally freaks me and throws me out of whack!

  20. 31 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i love sleeping πŸ™‚ but i dont always get the best night sleep. i like the beginning of this post- sometimes i feel selfish about my blog but at the same time the blog is about you and your experiences.i twill be so great to look back on everything πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  21. Thank you so much for this post! I sometimes feel a little narcissistic when I post, or that I don’t serve my readers the way I’d like to, and this post helped assure me that other bloggers worry about the same thing. I have definitely related to your posts, that they do bring sunshine and welcomed inappropriateness to my day!

    OMG I just saw Sasha’s comment. If I saw that on my blog, especially if it was my first comment, I would have freaked out. But you just brushed that dirt off your shoulders and served Sasha up a nice bowl of sunshine and politeness instead of returning the hate, but I hope your reply still felt like a slap in her face.

  22. omg. funny you asked about the sleep thing. i have not been able to go to sleep all week…and then i can’t get up in the mornings. gah….annoying.

  23. 34 traynharder23

    my life is one big insomnia nightmare! AUGH! its like britney spears you drive me crazy i can’t sleep every night. hahha.

    and whoa, what’s with Sasha’s comment? sheesh. way to be a debbie downer and totally a ….not cool person. i’ll keep it G since i’m Lo Lo G, and i cuss wayyy too much.

    cinnamon toast. never had it. =(

  24. 35 Anna

    Hey Snackface…first time commenter here! Just wanted to finally say how awesome and lovely your blog truly is. You never fail to bring a “sprinkle of sunshine” to my morning, as well as a great deal of laughter!!! Even though my life is very different from yours on several levels (married, new baby, etc., etc.), you are so relatable. As a fellow “sometime” vegan (periodic consumption of Laughing Cow and greek yog!) and former college journalism student, I look forward to waking up to your blog post shenanigans (and appropriate inappropriateness) :-)!!
    Keep up the awesome work…you are such a talent, and continue to brush off the negativity!

    • 36 snackface

      Anna- It means the world to me that you took time out of your busy mommy day to comment. I’m overwhelmed with the incredible support and beyond thrilled I can provide a bit of sunshine. Thank YOU!

  25. Well you are certaintly NOT an idiot to me Kailey! Just brush that comment right off to shoulder girl πŸ˜‰ your too good for that jon sense!
    Love the red yellow and orange lunch!
    Dinner looks great as well, loving the cheetahs but still haven’t tried them!!
    I agree with why you said about this being your blog and you should continue to blog about what you do! I love it. I think it is great how you share your life with us and like to know when people can relate to yours!! Keep it up chica πŸ™‚
    Jenna

  26. I love staying up late too, which definitely turns into a problem at school. Friends, work, gymming, and homework do not equal 8 hours nightly. Love love love the argyle socks – I have a few pairs myself :0) Thanks for inspiring me to be a bossy diva in my everyday life!

  27. I’m a pretty dece sleeper…but I have this problem with always waking up TOO DAMN EARLY- it especially sucks on weekends in college because I am the only one in the universe up (and waking up= NEED TO EAT within like five minutes…i’m hoping its cuz my metab is off the hizz). I usually utilise that time to study/get shittttt done…but still sometimes it sucks because it means i’ll be tired by 11pm…which is SO NOT cool on weekends!

  28. Not gonna lie. I sleep like a pudgy baby. It’s pretty hard to wake me up once I’m out.

    I’ve found that a few things keep me up tho: when I work out too late or when Protein Shake wants me to watch some ninja movie (again) with him. The workout thing is easy, just gotta schedule them for the mornings. And sometimes I just have to say no to the Pro. Also, if I wear pants or socks to bed, I find that they stick to the covers and keep me up. So I have a no pants rule!

  29. 41 Susan

    Your lunch is smiling at me! And I absolutely loathe “trips to the library”, and I’m not even a senior. IMO, the kiddies who have not set foot in the libs for three years should be left to fend for themselves. It’s checking out a book people, not rocket science. Okay, maybe that’s a bit mean…

    And I feel you on the reasons for blogging! For me, it’s selfish in the sense that I do it to de-stress myself at the end of the day, which makes me feel good. But the greatest feeling is receiving a comment or email that is supportive of what you posted or asks an insightful question, etc. It’s human nature to want to “belong”, and the bloggin community allows us to that!

  30. I like your snowman mug!

  31. hey girl hey

    i know i don’t comment much but i read every post and feel the need today to comment πŸ™‚ Basically, as everyone has said, your blog is YOUR blog and you write about what you please (hence the I’s, My’s, Mine’s, etc..) no matter what it is…

    Having said that, what you do write about is fully entertaining, informative, fun, and well said! I look forward to reading your posts daily & seeing the lovely food creations you come up with on a veg diet! So, if anyone gives you crap about talking about YOURSELF on your YOUR blog, they need to get a life, stop reading, and find something better to do with their time, rather than criticize!

    Basically, keep doing what you do because we love to read about it!

    ill get off my soap box now since this comment is far too long πŸ™‚
    ❀
    Ally

  32. I miss you.

  33. mission accomplished love… I find myself lost, lonely and overwhelmed by by my “freakish” nature. I still find you WAAAY more sane than me, but you certainly make me feel less lonely. Maybe I’d have more friends if I tried, but I’m stuck in that lonely yet comforting confines of my own little world/room. “In my own little corner in my own little chair I can be whomever I want to be…” remember that old school cinderella ditty? Anywho… you rock and have inspired me more than any therapist could. Thank you.

    sleep-wise… I’m SO inconsistent. Some nights I can’t silence the chatter in my head only to wake up with covers amok, feet where my head should be and wanting to sleep for another few days. Other nights , Im a rock and wake up in the same posish I laid down. Inconsistency = story of my life.
    MA

    • 46 snackface

      mary ann- Honeybun, I am so thankful that you can find a bit of comfort in my words and days. And I’m speechless at the thought of helping you more than a therapist could. You are TOO SWEET! xoxo

  34. It is so funny that your question focused on sleep because I feel like that is all I have been talking/thinking about/wishing for lately! Out of all the Journalism students I have talked to/ heard from/ read about in OU publications one thing I feel they have in common is that they NEVER sleep. I, on the other hand, can hardly function without 8 hours. I have trouble staying up late and always wake up early (9 is sleeping in for me.) The PROBLEM is that lately I haven’t been able to sleep at ALL, I have never been able to nap and I still wake up early. I’m a zombie!!

    Good luck with everything! Life is at a hectic speed now but enjoy it while it lasts, before you know it you’ll be graduated!!! πŸ™‚

  35. sasha = idiot. for the record.

    i LOVED your opening monologue on the post – i think the same way too. like i talk about myself, why should people care – it can definitely breed narcissism after awhile, and that’s the last thing i want to be. however, sharing DOES help others, and i have always said, if i can help one person, make someone feel better, give them hope through my blog, then it will have been completely worth it. and it is. you are fabulous mama!

    ummm how you survive on five hours of sleep is beyond me! i seriously get at least 8 hours a night. maybe i should cut back a bit? hmmmm…i have been thinking about this lately because i think i have been getting too much sleep (mostly due to rampant oversleeping in the morning).

    i love your eats, your personality and your willingness to share! LOVE YOUUUUU

    p.s. i am the easiest/deepest sleeper ever. i have slept through tornado sirens. true fact.

  36. 49 SarahG

    Hi Kaley, thought it would be time to send some greetings from Germany again πŸ™‚ (G for Germany!)

    Read all yours posts (every day, first thing I wake up- as usual;-)), but been too busy to write…

    You look gorgeous as always and make me smile every day with your positive attitude and love for great foods. Good to know that you seem to be doing great every single day- love the way you always try to be positive!!

    Well, keep on going like that. You are AWESOME girl!!

    By the way, tried the Tofutti Cream Cheese today and it’s the best vegan cheese I’ve ever had (thanks to you, I tried it!)

    Wish I could get to meet you some time, but I guess unless you don’t plan an internship in Germany it won’t happen.. too bad:-(

    Bye hon

    SarahG

  37. I’ve found that college and sleep don’t really go together. Unless you play one to many games of beerpong and pass out. Then you’ll get sleep haha. It’s so weird that you asked how other bloggers manage their lives and blogging cause I’ve always wondered that about YOU! You have some crazy busy days but you always manage to stay on top of things, workout, eat healthy, go out, keep sane, etc. It’s quite inspiring, really.

    As for being “me me me”, isn’t that the point of a blog? I’m new to this world and maybe I’m just dumb, but I actually started my blog cause I needed a space to be selfish. I work for the student newspaper at my school and spend most of my days worring about other people, making sure my editors are okay, making sure my writers are turning in their stories, being objective (or at least trying, opinion sneaks in there from time to time) and keeping up with everything UTSA related. Is it so wrong that I would want a place to just talk about my day? I hope not.

    You’re a busy girl and you’re obviously going to do well in life. You really shouldn’t feel bad about writing about yourself. Plus, you have so many readers who look forward to your posts! Why deny them of what they already love?

    So this comment is so much longer than I meant for it to be. Sorry girly!

    <3Mansee

    • 51 snackface

      Mansee- I completely agree that people (I) start blogs to feed something within themselves. If I were you, I’d totally need a place to vent! Sounds like a ton of stress! I started the blog so I could write every single day and find others, so I guess the selfishness really is a part of the whole blog thing! And no need to apologize for long comments–I love them!

  38. Ahaha. I’m a speed-walker, too — I think I might scare peeps with my speed. πŸ™‚ They’re just jealous. Love the sweet taters, nommm! I think I nap better than I sleep — mid-day I can get the most awesome sleep in…but actual “normal” sleep — psh. Nope!

  39. Mmm love the greek/carob/strawberry combo. On the shopping list for sure. I’m amazed slash jealous you can make it through your day on 5 hours of sleep, I’m a cranky beeytoch without at least 7. Pathetic…

  40. 54 bananasun

    Just thought I would let you know, I love your blog for the exact reasons you mentioned.

    I love reading it and as you say, relating! Reading about nights out, stressing over studying, and just getting through the day.

    And seeing that you can get through it all with a smile, makes me feel I can do it to. So don’t feel vain or beat yourself up about it, owwwwwn it. Its a great blog πŸ™‚

    Oh yeah..and sleep? We have an on again, off again relationship. I can sleep amazingly sometimes, and then go through fazes of 3-4 hours if I’m lucky.

    As for right now…its complicated. 5 hours. In betweens.

    Keep it up girlie!
    xx

  41. I love sleep. I could sleep all day if I could. But tragically I go to bed late and wake up early-its a terrible cycle. Usually pack in 6 hours a night…8 if I don’t stay up and watch Family Guy and Robot Chicken.

  42. 56 Kellie

    I absolutely adore your blog & your enthusiasm!! I am also a college student (English major too woo woo!) and always feel like I can relate to what you talk about it your posts! It’s my favorite blog to read out of all the ones I read! (sorry if that sounds weird/creeper like haha) But I just wanted to say you are so humble, and I loved your post today about the ego issue-& i completely agree with & love that quote! If you didn’t talk about yourself and your life, you prob wouldn’t get as large an audience because people wouldn’t be able to relate to you! It is your blog where you are SUPPOSED to talk about your life and your opinions-people can take it or leave it. Keep it up girl πŸ™‚ And Sasha is ridiculous- why did she waste her time to read and comment if she didn’t like it? She sounds like the idiot to me! Just sayin’. :p

  43. Your outfit is very Rachel from Glee! I am so excited that you may actually be trying out for that show, my fave!

    I am not a big sleeper. There’s not enough hours in the day to do everything I want, so that’s where I make up some time.

    I think it’s so cute that you are worried about being self involved on YOUR blog. I do the same thing πŸ™‚

  44. 58 Emily

    aww snackface I’ve always thought that one of the best qualities a person can have is the ability to self reflect and self analyze and live their life based on what they find – it seems you do that often and I love it, it is very admirable. You have found a way to love yourself while still being able to check and balance yourself, that quality is very rare. Not only is a blog one huge self reflection (no wonder I love them), but it is also lessons you share in what you find. While it might seem like it’s all me me me, others (like me) love drawing confidence and inspiration from the things that you do, and of course what you eat . . . cheetahs? How else would I ever know ’bout those? Keep telling us about your classes, internships and dreams and the challenges you face to over come them, I have been so inspired by how hard you work and the internships you have attained, hearing about them makes me want to work a little harder at job apps and figuring out what I want to do with my life!

  45. Hey SnackFace!

    I have been reading your blog for a while now and I have a question to ask you! I was wondering what tofutti cream cheese tastes like because I saw that you have eaten it before. Weird question, I know, but I have be a vegetarian/semi-vegan for a while now and bagels toasted with cream cheese are the one food I can’t live without (besides peanut butter). So is the taste similar to the real thing?

    Btw, I love your blog!

    Thanks so much!

    • 60 snackface

      Janet- Hello doll! Thanks a billion for commenting! So, Tofutti doesn’t taste exactly like cream cheese, but it’s not far off. It also doesn’t taste fake or bizarre. The big difference, though, is that it doesn’t spread as easily as regular cream cheese. Other than that, it’s pretty darn good. I recommend buying a tub and giving it a go! It’s also really delicious warmed up in wraps.

  46. 62 Nicole G

    I am such a sleeper. My best friend gave me a princess barbie for Christmas once – Sleeping Beauty. LOL Though I must admit, I used to be a night person but I’ve become more of a morning person as of late. I guess that’s what age does to you?

    I love your blog and I definitely find comfort in reading about your life and day to day experiences – makes me feel TONS less freakish!

    Nicole G

  47. A little less lonely and freakish. HA! I love that line. That’s fabulous. You made my day.

  48. Hey girl!

    Have you tried taking a vitamin D supplement? Recent research suggests it regulates sleep/wake cycles (in addition to a ka-trillion other things). Maybe you should give er a try πŸ˜‰

    I noticed you make oatmeal a lot for bfast. Have you ever tried Fitnessista’s breakfast cookies? I make them a lot and thought you might like them.

    Here’s one I made last night: http://www.biochemista.com/2010/01/eh-ill-take-good-with-bad.html

    xx

    • 65 snackface

      Biochemista- Oooh I bet I’m not getting enough D in my life at all! Fabulous recommendation, thank you! Oh, I’ve enjoyed a few Fitnessista cookies, but I enjoy the process of eating a bowl of warm oats for breakfast more than eating a chilly cookie. It’s a freaky, obnoxious personal preference. As soon as it gets a bit warmer, I’ll test one out again, though!

  49. 66 Alina

    heeeeeeeeeeyyyy Kailey! so glad to be commenting again, i read your blog every day, just don’t comment that often, will change that πŸ™‚ you know why I read your blog? to “feel less lonely and freakish”!!!!! so thank you for your amazing writing here!
    as for the sleep i try to get 7-8 hours to be energized for the day, but i do love to stay late. i can’t nap and actually hate it, bc after nap i feel like i have a hangover, weird? LOL!

  50. cinnamon sug on toast=gasm. the plate of cheetahs is beyond beautious, esp with the tofu along side.!
    i am a pretty good sleeper, but 3x a week I have to get up at 4:15 for work at 5am so this makes me quite sleepy at night, so I hit the pillow and good to go BUT I have a thing where I need a fan on to fall asleep, not the breeze, but the noise, i NEED it or i will have major trouble, its wierd I know

    you look so cute in the purp dress!!

  51. 68 julie

    apparently i’m a good sleeper because i just woke up from a midday nap. or maybe that means i’m not a good sleeper and that’s why i have to nap…

    love the cheetahs and fu! and i think your reasons for blogging are perfect πŸ™‚ nobody here thinks anybody is full of themselves! we read because we all have a common interest and it’s like having a kind of conversation with friends everyday about the things you enjoy!

  52. Haha, I love this post. My concern when I started blogging was, “Really, am I narcissistic enough to take pictures of everything I eat and post it on the internet thinking people want to see this crap?” Yeah…But clearly that’s not what it’s about.

    I’m a terrible, terrible sleeper! I wake up every hour, I’m easily disturbed, and it takes me hours to fall asleep. Right now, since I’m still on break from school, I have the most messed up sleeping schedule every – most days I don’t fall asleep until five or six AM which means I don’t wake up until noon or after. Basically, when every other normal person in my time zone is functioning, I am deep in the throes of REM sleep. I haaaveee to fix this before school starts.

  53. 70 Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    sometimes i feel like an egomaniac for writing on my blog too, but that quote totally nails it! lovin the outfit, i’m sure the boots wit da fur were the magic touch

  54. 71 lowandbhold

    Love that quote! And I’m definitely still rocking my snowflake mug as long as there’s snow on the ground. Let’s not kid ourselves, I use it year round.

    I love “Ego” makes me giggle like a schoolgirl everything.

    I tried the original cheetah recipe this week and was amazing! Loooved them.

    I’ve struggled with insomnia since grade school. The severity comes and goes but sleep definitely does not come easy to me. Hate it. Especially now that I do the whole 8 – 5 beezy because sitting at a computer for 8 hours on 4 hours of sleep is heinous.

    Have a good day Kailey!

  55. AH! you are such an adorable purple people eater.. erm OATS eater. i love the embracing of the laughing cow. totally appreciate that. haha.. i love that you admit to being an awful sleeper. i just love you so much!

  56. Oh girl, you do such a good job of making your readers feel involved. That is the appeal of your blog for me – not only do I feel normal when I read it, but your questions bring the reader in…I think you are doing a fabulous job.

    I used to be a 5 hour a night sleeper in college, and was FINE with it, however, just 3 years later i am an old married lady with a real life job, and a sleep SCHEDULE. Now I NEEEED my sleep. I like the mornings better, so I go to bed early and wake up early. However on the weekends, I’m back to a night owl AND morning bird. If it weren’t for the 24 rugrats I work with who suck all my energy, I could do with 5-6 and be fine.

  57. I think you hit the nail right on the head- we all read and blog to feel more connected and less odd. Your lovely blog is always a welcome break in my day. You make me smile, feel less weird about my interesting eating habits, and keep me entertained. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and foods with all of us πŸ™‚ Have you every tried the Celestial Seasonings sleepy time tea? I usually have a cup about an hour before I go to bed. Not sure whether it’s the placebo affect or it actually does help me sleep better, but it’s fantastic and yummy. Perfect for the snowman mug!

  58. sleeping is definitely all or nothing for me. I either pass out the second I lay down, or I toss and turn for 2-3 hours. And (this is really weird, but…) I wake up in the middle of the night EVERY NIGHT to go to the bathroom. Sometimes I wake up even when I don’t have to go! I think it started as a kid and my body just kept up with the habit. Yeeeeerp I’m a freak! πŸ™‚

  59. 76 Michelle in Alaska

    Kailey,
    I want you to know that your blog is sprinkles of sunshine through my day:) I can always look to your blog for a laugh and get inspired by your yummy eats. I love that you really do not censor your day to us, as it feels we are close friends and I can share in on your happenings:)
    Thanks for blogging, you are one of my favorites. Michelle

  60. I LOVE your outfit and fun socks – you are such a doll πŸ™‚

    Cinnamon toast is totally one of my favorite childhood things too πŸ˜€

  61. I couldn’t agree more with that quote, and with your reasonings for writing the way that you do! Part of what is so amazing about blogs is that we do realize that our little habits and quirks are not wrong, and there’s actually no right way to live. I love reading about you because you are fun, funny, and uniquely you πŸ™‚

    You definitely need to look into Copyrighting the term “Cheetahs”. I mean, it’s a pretty big deal.

  62. Hey cutie!! This has to be quick….since I have my FIFTH class of the day in just a few minutesss!

    Okay, the baked tofu + cheetahs are making me fur real jeal! And the english muffins with the hummus!! Ahhhh. Favorite toasty, comforting thang ever! Besides eng muffins with (melty) PEANUT BUTTER, of course.

    Those argyle socks are presh, and i truly salute you for always finding time to cram everything into yo’ busy schedule! And I hope you get a GOOD nights sleep tonight! Some days i sleep like a bebeeee, whereas others i toss and turn all night. Meh! Depends on if i’m anxious/stressed or not, ya mean?! My mind just won’t quit!!!!! HAHAHA
    XOXOXOXXO, THIS TURNED OUT SEMI-LONG ACTUALLY, WOOOP– MUAH MUAH!

  63. Hey kailey – great blog! You have a beautiful writing style – love it!

  64. inappropriateness is WHY i read your blog babe.

    stay true to you my dear. πŸ™‚


  1. 1 Freakish

Leave a Reply

