Verbiage

12Jan10

Hi beauties! I am currently swimming in a sea of textbooks! I’d feel even more stressed if I didn’t blog, so I’ll practice some creative non-fiction and share my day via sentences that start with verbs. OK, so I’m just chopping of the “I’s” and going for a list-y feel.

Woke up at 7am after only five hours of sleep. Despised myself for a short while until the caffeine kicked in:

Pumpchia oats with Koffee.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 T chia seeds, 1/3 C pumpkin, 1 C water, drop of vanilla stevia, apple pie spice and peanut butter dollop. Moaned:

Looks a little vomity, but it was fab. Promise.

Read Media Law from 7am to 10am. Stopped only to eat, drink, shadoob. Dressed for the gym and galloped there in the cold. Lost feeling in my face. Wished those knit face masks were socially acceptable.

Ellipticalled with weights for 50 minutes of intervals. Missed VegNewsies as I read the latest, absolutely gorgeous issue. Abbed it up with a stability ball and a mat. Frollicked to choir. Sang mostly in-tune.

Felt quiet, not necessarily sad. Made myself feel better with a trip to the local health food store:

Found that perfectly sized yam and knew he was the right one for me.

Discovered I’m still inclined to buy vegan goods (see: vegan carob chips, veggie burgers, soup but needed the Greek).

Donned my favorite tee to brighten my spirit, too:

"Where Brooklyn at?" Love Biggie.

Fed a craving for tuna salad with SnackFace Funa Salad:

Funa Salad wrap with snap peas and an apple.

Started with:

Chilled.

Mixed together: 1/4 block extra firm tofu, dijonnaise (or for my veganites, use dijon + Vegenaise), cumin, fresh black pepper, celery and raisins. Rolled in a Flatout with greens:

Devoured. Gasmed.

Sipped tea and read more Media Law. Suited up and faced the treacherous cold again.

Sat in Media Law near someone whose breath smelled like moth balls and bleu cheese. Gag. Breathed through own mouth so as to avoid vomiting.

Trotted home at 5:30pm. Made it there by 5:45. Had to eat again:

Ate circles.

On the plate: Ezekiel English muffin with Smart Balance Light (I ate the other half, too), boiled yam slices with ketchup and Garden Herb Sunshine Burg with local hummus and Jack Daniel’s barbecue sauce. Realized I must have been craving warm, luscious foods. Refrained from using the word “carbs” there.

Layered up again and speed-walked to the music building. Broke the news that I won’t be able to attend our gig on Friday. Teared up because I’m a 5’10” baby.

Skipped back home in the snow. Talked to Muffin majority of the time. Called her back one minute after hanging up because I had to share the news: GLEE OPEN CASTING CALL IN FEBRUARY! Tried not to tell myself I have a snowball’s shot in hell (or a carnivore’s shot of escaping the stink eye at an animal rights conference).

Assuaged my excitement/pain of admitting I hope to be cast and know that I won’t be by eating some snacklettes:

Lick. How oxymoronic is a Fage topped with vegan carob chips? Am a joke.

Recycled the cup for more goods:

Blog-read with Holly, Kashi and soymilk.

Refilled that cup one mo’ time.

Wrote 1,500 words about my past. Cried. Felt better the moment I started blogging about my day and thinking about how much duller my days would be without all of you.

Have a crazy busy day tomorrow and I’m falling asleep on the couch. Love you long time!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What would be your dream show/musical/play/band/whatever to audition for and why?

IMPOSSIBLE question. But obviously: Glee (because it’s amazing), Wicked/ Thoroughly Modern Millie (because I’m still singing the soundtracks years after high school), a major runway show (because healthier bodies need to be brought back to fashion shows), Weezy’s, uh, assistant (because I love him) and Beyonce’s body double (because we look so much alike).

54 Responses to “Verbiage”

  1. 1 Lyss

    My best friend from school called me today to tell me about Glee! I already have all my audition material picked out!!! WHAT IF WE WERE BOTH CAST?!?!?!

  2. i forgot to mention that your upper thigh is looking pretty toned and muscular in your last post! atta girl pumpin the iron πŸ˜‰

    holly’s blog makes for good snacktime reading. so does yours. that is why i am here. i should be in bed. damnit.. why did you post this link on facebook? ah well, it was worth it. i love you πŸ™‚

    • 4 snackface

      janetha- Made my day with the thigh compliment. Thank you! Haha I stayed up way too late reading blogs, too.

  3. Hahaha I think I’d pick GLEE, too! It’s so good. And also One Tree Hill – really like that!

  4. so sorry about your hard paper boo! thoughts your way! those SUCK.
    loveeee your tofu salad wrap! yum!
    AND YOUR CUTE SHIRT! but anything looks cute on you!
    im hungry now that im reading this..i think the PB jar is calling my name

  5. “Lick. How oxymoronic is a Fage topped with vegan carob chips? Am a joke.” LOL. Vegan carobs. I am guessing the Sunspire brand? Just checking to see if you’ve found a hidden gem I have missed. They are fine but I am always ISO something “more amazing”.

    Dream audition = Cirque du Soleil. I want to be in Cirque so badly and 10 yrs ago I should have skipped college and just joined the circus.

    xoox

    • 8 snackface

      Averie- It took me a couple reads to figure out what ISO stood for! Haha. Anyway, yes, they are the Sunspire brand. They were sooo expensive (almost $6)! I didn’t even look at the price before I bought them, which I normally do. Brain fart.

  6. 9 Amanda

    I live in Chicago. I’ve been waiting for those face masks to be fashionable too. If shoulder pads came back, I feel like anything can happen.

  7. You defs got a chance at getting on the Glee cast… possible as the new head cheerleader? Loving the Tofu wrap – I need to drive across the border asap to find some of those flatouts!

  8. 11 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    omg i loove that wrap! sounds so good πŸ™‚ good luck w/ all your workk.. as far as tv goes…hmmm idk what i’d want to be in, that is tough! i love glee though

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. 12 Nicole G

    So it’s totally 3:40 am and I just got home from Johnny Utah’s in the city. I’m not sure if its the same place you went to and rode the mechanical bull, but I did ride it tonight! I was completely sober but it was freakin’ awesome! LOL

    Also, I’ve been watching hours upon hours of Glee with my bff who got it on DVD. I didn’t watch it when it was on tv – obvi because I’m an idiot! LOL

    Good luck with all the studying,
    Nicole G

  10. 13 julia

    No Glee here yet…now I’m curious!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  11. I try to live by my favorite quote, “Impossible is Nothing!” but maybe me hosting a TV show on the travel channel or having a cameo in Bear Grylls shows is just a bit impossible.

    However, I will be auditioning for Glee… Move over Rachel and Quinn! =)

  12. Love the oats, wrap and sweet tater! Fage 2 for 3 dollars?! Dayum that’s good stuff! I’ve always wanted to be in a musical… my dream would be: either lion king or beauty and the beast. I’ve seen both shows and they are amazing. I would love to be a part of something like that!

    Have a great day love!
    -Lexi

  13. Loving the wrap combos, especially the tofu one!!!

    Ewwwww moth ball breath, lol!!! Yikes!!!

    Glee, you would rock in that!!!!

    I would love to have a role in the show LOST, I love everything about that show!!!

    xoxo

  14. 17 Aunty Snooze

    Come back to the Five and idme Jimmie Dean would be my favourite play to audtion for

  15. Chocolate chips in my yogurt is one of my favorite snacks! I also add some banana soft serve in there and it is just fantastic. Definitely Wicked for me!!

  16. Oh my Glee! A friend of mine who moved out to LA to pursue acting is also trying out… keepin’ my fingers crossed for the both of you. FYI: With my blog melt down I probably won’t officially be “around” until the end of the month (tears, sob, tears)… but I’ll be pure reading until then :).

    • 20 snackface

      Danielle- Baby! I saw that! What happened to your blog? I’ll miss you!

  17. Remember back in the day when you were on the hunt for that black bean dip that I lost my mind over? Well it’s made by that company that produces the hummus you bought so keep an eye out πŸ˜‰ They have lentil dip too which is just as tasty!

    OMG GLEE! DO IT! If you don’t go to the open casting call, I’ll march my booty down to Athens and kick your ass – and then party πŸ˜‰

  18. i got basically those same things at the store last night…i finally broke down and bought sweet potatoes to make fries because i can make them spicy enough. πŸ™‚

  19. i think they should cast you as quinn’s bitter crosstown rival who moves to mckinley high and completely takes over her popularity. then quinn can’t handle it, so she moves away to a polygamist compound to raise her child and you become MCKINLEY’S NEW QUEEN!!!!! it would be epic. and then i would make you invite me to the emmy awards (or any awards show after you bring 1. mamaj + family, 2. muffin, 3. brooke and 4. ME!!!!!!)

    your verbiage is still so much more grammatically correct than some people.

    LOVE your oxymoronic yog bowl.

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE that shirt. that is bossy, baller, amazing and fabulous. all of them. don’t mess with biggie.

    i think my new fave word is shadoob.

    GOOD LUCK WITH ALL YO SCHOOL WORK!

    lovelovelovelove you!!!!!

  20. and i want to be rachel berry, so that would be the answer to my question. then we could fake fight onscreen and be BFF offscreen.

  21. 25 lilpauladean

    holla biggie!!! Let’s meet in Brooklyn. Cheaper than manhattan but with all the perks, no? Right on…
    MA

  22. 26 eatolive

    loving the sentences beginning with verbs. totes something i would also do.

    any musical? even if it doesn’t really exist anymore? Rent. all the way. love it.

  23. 27 megzzwinsatlife

    There are very few things I miss about college but swimming in a sea of textbooks is def one of them..

    Glee open casting.. If only I could sing.. hehe

    My dream audition would be to be a model.. I think it would be so much fun!

  24. Grocery shopping always cheers me up too :0) And I’m incredibly jealous of that monstrous sweet potato! If I had any talent, I would definitely want to be in Rent – my first and favorite musical.

  25. You would be so awesome on Glee. Is it weird that I am crossing my fingers for you?

  26. 30 Lizzy

    Glee is totally your calling! i’ve never seen the show, but with your voice i know you would rock it!!! love u girl!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  27. I would love to do theatre at Steppenwolf. That would be a dream come true. You should audition for Glee. That sounds like such a blast. If I could sing well, I’d definitely do it.

  28. 32 Susan

    I wish pumpkin oats looked as appetizing as they tasted. However, a lot of my favorite foods looks like baby food/gaggy. I guess we don’t always “eat with our eyes”!
    Your grocery swag looks much like mine. Vegan with a dash of dairy! Except my store doesn’t sell yams of the gods.
    I too have found blogging helps with the stress. I think it’s the people more than anything, but its also cathartic to get it all out, no?

    ❀ Suz

  29. i could totally see you on Glee! it’s one of my fave shows. you should definitely go for it!!! πŸ™‚

  30. Random question: What’s the difference between chia seeds and flax seeds? Are they the same benefits or should I combine the two?

    • 35 snackface

      Yasmin- OK, I have to be honest and say that I bought chia seeds because I wanted to check out the cool “gel” they form after they’ve sat in liquid for a while. It also won me over that you can get the nutritional benefits from the seeds without having to grind them, unlike flax seeds that pass through your body sans nutrient absorption if consumed whole. Here are some things that the bag say about chia seeds: high fiber content (5g per T), richest known vegetable source of Omega-3 fatty acids, 3X the antioxidants of blueberries, more calcium than milk, more iron than spinach…It goes on! They are flavorless, so you can add these babies to anything!

  31. That wrap looks Amazing! RENT in a heart beat. That always makes me cry though

  32. 37 MamaJ

    I have been through the audition process one too many times in my life to know I am done and it is your turn. The more auditions you have the better you become at it. If you keep doing the same thing at each audition and do not have any positive results or zero feedback then you weren’t memorable. If you make it through the process of elimination several times or are put on hold for a role but released, then you know that you have something that directors and producers like. Nothing is personal…. A snowballs chance in hell…..Just keep positive. Anything is possible just put it out to the universe. Have fun with it. Share the experience. Isn’t that what you do?
    I’ve been thinking ! Maybe I can become the creative director of a sitcom, about a couple that are empty nesters,…..”Or are they?” I could cast you as the journalism student.

  33. curb your enthusiasm, def. curb. i feel i am awkward/funny enough for it.

    ummm if i werent scared of tofu, id make me some Funa salad. b/c urs looks sooooo tasty.

    i legit bought that soup last week…have not had it yet. soup always get purchased by me, but then sits around until i legit have nothing else to eat…why do i always buy cans of soup? i know they won’t be consumed for at least a month later…bah, idiot grocer I am.

    id flip shit if u got on glee…..cross yo fingers!

    xoxo
    lolo

  34. Awww lovely eats and that tofu looks delicious!!

    xoxo
    Maggie

  35. i love love love this post.

  36. 41 sarahdbelle

    Oh! Glee’s my favorite!!! I’d love to audition but apparently 28 is too old. Boo!
    I wish you all the luck in the world though.
    Sarah

    http://www.sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

  37. Glad your it’s were good despite how they looked!
    Wrap looks amazing and so does your fage with carob chips…yumm!
    JennA

  38. 43 julie

    girrrl do it up with that glee! and wicked? will get you back in new yawk.

    i secretly or not so secretly want to be the next bachelorette. does that count? haha

  39. uhhhh this totally doesn’t fit into the category of a musical/band but my lifelong dream is absolutely to be a high class hussy on THE REAL HOUSEWIVES. i don’t care what county. i will do whatever they ask me – as long as i can be put into the same category as NeNe, Teresa, and Tamra…..my life would be complete. Forreeeeeal.

  40. Mmm thanks for the Funa recipe, you’re so clever! I can’t wait to make/try that. Good luck with GLEEEEEE!

    -Meghan

    http://www.bellabroccoli.wordpress.com

  41. I love it when you call me big pa-paaaa. Biggie soothes my soul.

    dudeee I would give my first born child to be cast as Bella on Twilight.. for obvious reasons. I love me some vampz. And I could TOTES see you as Galinda in Wiked. Oh my god girl DO IT. Auditon. on the realz!!!! If that fails we’ll just have to have our own reality show.

    <3!

  42. 47 monica

    Hiya Kailey:) I’m a daily reader (okay, total lurker) but when are you going to make a video and sing something dammit? I know your awesome so do it babe-this is your public calling you:)

  43. Cute shirt!
    My dream role would be Christine in Phantom of the Opera (the stage production not the movie). I can definitely sing the part, but getting into the LA musical scene is impossible!!!

  44. love the carob chips and fage combo…oxymoron, oxyshmoron, its fabuous!!!

    love the circles meal those potatoes look PERFECTLY fantastic

    will you be auditioning for GLEE?!?! you better let us know so we can see you in actionnn, its the best.show. and you will be phemon on it fa shoooo

    xxoo

  45. Nice picks at the local health food store! That yam is a crazy shape!!
    Love that t-shirt. I can def. see how it’d put you in a good mood – haha

  46. Ahh, I’m such a huge musical theatre fan. After years of church and community theatre, I would LOVE to be cast in any major musical, my faves being Les Mis and Wicked. πŸ™‚

  47. Good luck with GLEE!!!! I genuinely hope you feel better soon! More inner strength and diva-ism needed! I get run down a lot of the time too!!!
    Sending you Biggie sized love and self confidence!
    Barbara

  48. Ooooo..I am SO making that wrap tommarrow for lunch! How do you come up with such great combos?

    I would def. audition for a role in Gossip Girl. NYC+hot outfits+Ed Westwick=dream come true

  49. My dream role to audition for has long been Sally Bowles in Cabaret. I could never pull it off, so I have to settle for belting out “Cabaret” or “Maybe This Time” while alone in the car.
    The other thing I’d love to do is actually a reality for you– I’d love to sing in an a cappella group. I think they’re amazing. I was too intimidated by the clique-y groups at my college, and now I live in a country where such groups don’t seem to exist, so for now that dream is on the back burner… but maybe someday!


Leave a Reply

