NYE in NYC

03Jan10

What up, lovepies! Once again, I had no intentions of disappearing, but something distracted me in NYC:

Muffin flew to NYC for NYE!

For those of you who are newer readers (wassup!), Muffin is my best friend fo’ life. We are inseparable when we’re at school. You’ll notice this starting…Monday, when we make our return to Athens, Ohio.

The ferosh turn of the year began Wednesday night, though, when I met gorgeous Danielle for dinner. We dined at the delicious and affordable Republic in Union Square. I haven’t had much experience with Asian-influenced dishes, so I followed Danielle in ordering Vietnamese vegetable noodles, sans egg:

An endless bowl of fresh, clean, veggie gasms.

Not wanting the night to end there, Danielle and I headed next door to Heartland Brewery for a pint or two of Old Red Nose seasonal brew. Between spicy sips, we chatted with new friends who were kind enough to snap pictures of us:

Boo, I miss you already!

Not only did I get to meet Danielle’s boy’s dimey med student friends at the brewery, I also got to meet some people with whom she traveled the globe. Like any good Stage Five Clinger, I ventured with Danielle to Son Cubano to meet the crew and drink a $12 mojito. I also ate devastatingly good goat cheese balls that were mixed with walnuts, honey and lime. My camera despises dark atmospheres and took gross pictures of the balls, but you can see them over at Danielle’s blog. Just balls of the cheese variety, I promise.

I did manage to capture the moody, sexy atmosphere of Son Cubano:

That's still bad, isn't it? Lo siento!

By the end of the night, I was ready to get crunk and do what I do best (AKA dance like an insane person who thinks she’s a phenomenal dancer), but I knew I needed to rest my bod for what was to come.

I awoke Thursday morning feeling tired and hungry. The metabolism got a kick in the pants with a little mess:

Yogurt is hiding under half a chopped apple and Cheerios.

My stomach was still rumbling post-consumption and a lil’ something else was needed:

Apple and the last of my Mighty Mapes.

After breakfast, I received a call from Muffin, sharing her arrival and that I should meet her in Chelsea. I dashed about the apartment to get ready in a snappy fashion. Gaga and Lil’ Wayne supplied the musical background. This is partly why it took me 90 minutes to get ready instead of 60. I had to just dance to Mrs. Officer. You understand.

When we finally reunited, it just so happened to be meal time again. I’m always down for eating. Having selected a random little diner in Chelsea, I noshed on falafel and fries while catching up with my girl:

Dominated those fries.

I picked the falafel patties out of the pita bread and avoided the bread because there was some disgusting excuse for hummus ruining the mojo. It was almost like gravy:

You can't see it, but it was gray.

We had one major goal after lunch: visit Bloomberg! In June, Muffin will begin an intense, amazing internship at Bloomberg, ’cause she’s a boss. When we found the building, we walked from the front to the back and examined an art installation:

I wish I could understand what that's supposed to be/mean.

I forced Muff to pose because I was feeling like a proud mommy:

Ah! Can't even read the "Bloomberg" on the building.

Bloomberg’s Christmas tree was majestic and acted as a stand-in for the Rockefeller tree I never saw:

Gorgeous.

Just across the street there happened to be Bloomingdale’s, complete with window displays that needed to be admired:

Shoes! A Christmas tree of shoes! Perfection.

The partiers. My people.

Flawless Obamas.

Creepy bear display! You can't tell me that bear looks friendly.

After perusing departments of clothing and bags that were beyond too expensive for my budget, Muffin and I headed back to the apartment to rest up and, more importantly, glam up.

Muffin looked fierce in her Limited dress and lavender heels:

Beauty.

I did tha damn thang in a Norma Kamali for Walmart dress and a ruby Forever21 bolero:

Doin' work.

Together:

Missed you, Muffin!

Fashioned and ready to go, Muffin and I taxied over to our spot for the night, The Groove. We went to the groove the first time we were NYC together, so we knew it would be a hopping place for the night. Well, that and we knew where it was. Always key.

I made the mistake of eating a small, unpictured dinner of a few cheese cubes, apple slices and grapes. My friends, this was not enough to support a night of endless Amstel lights and Jerz Guid-inspired Red Bulls and vod. I buzzed around the bar dancing and singing and rendezvousing with Polish and Spanish men for hours, though. Muffin and I couldn’t have been happier to be together in NYC on NYE:

Happiness.

I was most fascinated, though, with the guitarist of the band. He had unbelievable skills, which included playing the guitar with his teeth and tongue:

He insisted this is how he keeps his wife happy. I get it.

The guitar eventually moved to an even naughtier place, and when I tried to photograph that, the lead singer blocked me:

Leonard, I can still see that white guitar peeking out!

Post ball-dropping (how awful/hilarious is that expression?), I forgot about taking pictures and got to know a very charming Spaniard. The rest of that story will be saved for my tell-all novel, movie or reality show.

Friday morning came and I felt like death. Not even a whole-grain everything bagel from Murray’s could pull me out of my sad state. Muffin was kind and let me rest for a few more hours before forcing me to shower and get ready. What truly motivated me to move my bootylicious hiney from the couch? It was my last day in NYC. That and Muffin and I had some scoping to do for potential apartment locations.

Food is always a great motivator, too. We were hungry again and hit up a different diner in Chelsea for matching roasted veggie wraps:

The fries were the highlight.

This wrap made me realize, once and for all, that I prefer raw vegetables over roasted. I do not enjoy roasted eggplant, zucchini or gigantic chunks of onion. Therefore, I mostly ate the wrap itself, some of the mozzarella inside and all of the fries.

I felt better after eating, though! This helped power our trip to Williamsburg, Brooklyn. The place grew on us as we walked through its hipster-drenched main street. Either it was the food shops filled with vegan goodies or the sexy arty men who won us over. Or both.

Actually, what won me over was the celebrity sighting. We were sitting in New York Muffins when I noticed a teeny dog fighting and scaring a much larger dog outside. I noticed the little dog had been picked up and was heading inside. Then I gasped. Model Agyness Deyn was holding the dog. At first, I wasn’t sure it was her because she’s now sporting a black bowl cut, but I recognized that face and porcelain skin. I’d never seen skin like it. I stood up, walked to the garbage can to “throw away my bottle cap” and realized that I was nearly three inches taller than Agyness. The entire experience made my New York story complete.

Seriously buzzing after the sighting, Muffin and I headed back to my place in Hoboken to unwind and pack my belongings. By 9:45pm we were hungry and walked the streets of Hoboken in search of:

Homemade hummus!

We immediately ordered:

Hummus with tons of warm pita bread.

And to get something clean in my system:

Greek salad, the best kind of salad there is.

And to ruin the cleanliness all over again:

The most incredible baklava ever.

I slept for a whole two hours that night before heading to the airport. It was a beezy!

Just like how I felt when I left San Francisco over the summer, sadness wasn’t what washed over me as I was taxied to the airport. I felt a sense of peace. For some reason, I know I’ll be back. I don’t know when, but I will.

Until then, I’ll be completing my last two quarters at Ohio University and becoming the first grandchild in my family to graduate college. I’m off to go pack and enjoy the last few hours home! See you in Athens. πŸ™‚

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: At the stroke of midnight, were you Snacking on someone’s Face? OK, you don’t have to answer that. To what are you looking most forward in 2010?
I’m pumped to graduate and find a job!

48 Responses to “NYE in NYC”

  1. you said we don’t have to answer, but can we? and can i answer yes? πŸ˜‰

    love your dress. you and muff are GORGEOUS beyond words. welcome home love!

  2. Yay! You caught me! I’m running out the door for the day and was hoping you’d post this before I left πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you had such a “bossy” NYE! What a glorious way to wrap up your six weeks in the city, and I’m glad that I was able to experience the beginning and end. I’m sure every other NY-area blogger would agree that we are more than ready to entertain you on your return πŸ˜‰

    2010 is such a big year for both of us… I’m looking forward to it all!

  3. I’m looking forward to graduating and moving out to Cali!!!

    Love the NYE recap. You and muffin are STUNNAHS!!! Your outfits are absolutely gorgeous.

  4. 4 Lizzy

    WHat a bittersweet ending! Your time in NYC looked like such a fun time! so happy that Muffin was able to spend NYE with you! Your girls are sooo adore! Hope your time at home has been fab, and you have a safe trip back to school! love you girl! xoxoox

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  5. This post… is simple perfection. I am immensely sad that you had to leave, obvi, but we’ll continue our love fest via g-chat until you are BACK and BETTER THAN EVAH. So so so glad we got to play a few times, though, and you know where to stay when you’re in the mood for some club-hopping, Glee-singing, French Fry-eating, good times!

    Why does this sound like a yearbook entry/like I’ll never see you again? Going with it. LOVE YOU.

  6. KAILEY…this post makes me miss you so, and totally wish i had been in NYC with you and muffin for the ball dropping. gah, damn me.

    ummm i am going to forget the fact you said you didn’t like roasted veggies. moving on.

    you two look ADORABLE! and i am jealous of your spanish men. i could use one of those in my life right now. as well as that killer hummus + pita. anddddd more mighty maple. can’t find it for the life of me round these parts.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR! 2010 is going to be a fabulous year for you AND muffin. i have no doubt you are going to find a fantastic job, because quite frankly, they are going to be the lucky ones to have you. you are bossy. work it out.

    LOVE YOUUUUUUUUU

    unfortunately, i wasn’t snacking on anyone’s face at midnight…unless you call kissing the movie screen (ahem…kissing daniel day lewis) snacking. and OMG…AGYNESS DEYN! LOVE HER! and you are taller than her. that makes me happy.

    thing i am most looking forward to? TRAVELING SOMEWHERE!!!!

  7. P.S. I look, rather, what’s the word, tipsy, in that picture of us πŸ˜›

  8. Kailey! Looks like you had a stellar new years eve with muffin! All your eats look great and enjoy your day with the familia:)
    jenna

  9. I’m so glad you got to see your best friend! That’s very exciting!!!

    Sounds like an awesome NYE! Those fries look really good!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  10. heck yes i was!! bahaha
    girl i LOVE your dress-you are sucha hottie! ow owww! so is muffin!!
    looks like a GREAT time girl! so glad you had so much fun!

  11. Aw Muffin! I’ve missed reading about the two of you workin’ it out on the town! And yes, I completely understand your need to dance to Gaga and Lil Wayne whilst getting ready. Totally necessary.

    I’m most looking forward to graduating AND hopefully going to grad school and moving somewhere rad in 2010!

  12. I love that outfit!!! So cute!

  13. 13 *Andrea*

    aww you and muffin are adorable! love your outfits. so seski πŸ™‚ i love getting dressed to some lil wayne and drake (my lovah)… my midnight kiss was a quick peck from my bestie because no hot guys were accessible/worthy haha 😦 i looooove greek salads and baklava too – mediterranean food is the shit.

  14. So glad you are muffin were able to be reunited! You two looked fab!

    I am ready for challenge myself in this new year. Not exactly sure yet what that will entail, but thats what makes it all the more exciting!

  15. I read all these blogs set in NYC, and I’ve still never been. I must remedy that.

    I kissed my love at midnight. That’s the way it should always be. πŸ™‚

  16. 16 Gina G

    im not sure what i am looking forward to yet this year, i think overall just trying to keep positive knowing that college will be great and I can handle whats to come (i want to be a baby nurse) hah
    goal: travel to new york!

    you and muffin look gorgeous, i’m so happy you both got to spend NYE together =)

    have a safe trip home!

  17. Looks like you had a GREAT time in NY on New Years. Unfortunately there was no snacking on anyones face for me seeing as i was with my family doing umm nothing in Colorado! Glad you got to be with your best best friend on New Years, how special.

    And the Bloomberg building is so cool, Did you see all the free snacks they have there? I had a training there once and was pretty amazed.

    I have a feeling you will be back in NY too! πŸ™‚

  18. What an awesome NYE!!

    And you saw Agyness Deyn! Wow!!!

  19. Glad you guys had a killa time in NYC on NYE! Digging the Gaga love too… no point doing anything if it doesn’t include a soundtrack of Gaga.

    • also its always amazing how small celebs are in real life… Jon Stewart for instance is not taller than 5’7 I swear

  20. 21 homegirlcaneat

    OMG amazing celeb sighting! AND YOU’RE TALLER! The time has come… for you to be a VS ANGEL! You really do need to go on more model searches and follow yo dreams! …even if they are just for a mass ice business

    Next flight will have to be to SF so WE can apartment hunt togetha! I was talking last night to my madre and we came up with the idea for me to make the most money/have a super fun time while working I should… work for a catering company!! OMG there are SO MANY amazing ones in the city! I was dyin! And then had flashes of me hooking up with a 25-or something year old waiter who was working his way up to be a chef. Right?!!??!?!?!

    And we can also have our usual bar/pub and be regulars. And we could make fake personas at other bar/pubs because we are divas/gonna be the talk of the town.

    KK OODLES OF LOVE
    xoxoxoxoxoxo

  21. baklava and agyness ?!!!!?? so jeal.

  22. 23 Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    i cant believe you spotted agyness deyn, i am so jealous! you and muffin are quite a duo, looks like you had such a fun time! lol the obamas look kinda scary in that window display!! yum baklava πŸ™‚

  23. 24 Susan

    Haha your New Years was more exciting than mine fosho! I was working and nursing a nasty cold.
    Yay for you and Muffin getting to ring in the New Year togetha though!
    Okay, so if Mickey D’s offered falafel and fries as a meal, I might eat at Mickey D’s more often.
    And damn lead singers always tryna steal the limelight, and its always the bassist and guitarists who are the “dimiest”!

    I feel like my comments on your posts are always super rando and make no sense but it is whatevaz.

  24. 25 lo

    I so know what you mean when u say u “got to know a spaniard at midnight” get it girl….. FYI I got it at midnight with a co worker in a coat room. Uh oh. Midnight kisses are bomb like falaffals, fries, drinking vodka red bulls, and eating cheese balls. Glad u n muffin had a blast!

    Xoxo
    lolo

  25. you and muffin look beautiful as always! sounds like you girls were workin’ it and had a fantastic NYE…so jealous you got to spend it in NY!
    i think i’m most looking forward to getting more of my own art done – i’ve been so busy working and setting up my life over the past year and a half that i’ve hardly had time to do my own stuff. time to change that!

  26. You and your girl looks gorgeous.. your outfits sure beat the pajamas I was rockin at midnight..lol

    Love the “fresh clean veggie” plate.. right up my alley!

    Happy N.Y., Dear! πŸ™‚

  27. 28 Peggy

    What an adventure! This is now officially my favorite blog to read. Not only are your foodstuffs great but the travelings as well. Are you planning to move to NYC ?

  28. You should consider writing a book on your life. I feel like I am reading the most fascinating novel when I read about your life. πŸ˜‰

    Glad you had an amazing ending in the city. Now here is to the next one! πŸ™‚

  29. baklava ruins nothing. period. I say it is hands down the most foodgasmic treat there is. and I don’t typically “do” superlatives. I know youre veganish… but there is rarely actual sugar in these babies (just glorious golden honey) paired with walnuts and (ahem, maybe a wee bit o beurre) and these babies could be considered healthy by some. I just call them holy. they’re like holy greek gods, in food form. I kind of like baklava… haha
    MA
    lilpauladean.wordpress.com

  30. 31 Hattie

    I’m looking forward to finishing my A Levels and travelling Asia! 2010 will be a good year. πŸ™‚

  31. You girls look gorgeoussss! And thats so exciting Muffin came to visit you for NYE! I’m going back to school this week as well- kinda excited to see everyone again, but its always a little sad to leave! And all your food looks amazing, especially the Enormous bowl of hummus… and agreed, Greek salad is the best kind there is πŸ™‚
    Hope your having a great New Year, girl!

  32. 33 Natalie

    Why yes I was snacking on someones face, or at least that’s what myfriends have been telling me… I had a rough night! 😦 starting The new year witha hangover is never good!

  33. 34 elise

    im so sad that youre no longer in nyc…im heading back to the big apple tonight, and im not exactly excited about it…lets both relocate to the bay stat.

    thanks for the bossy nye recap. glad you and muffin got to roll together. shes a stud. bloomberg?? hollerrrrr.

  34. When hummus goes wrong, it REALLY goes wrong. I’m lovin’ the falafel action! WHY must Bloomies be so pretty?! The decorations are gorg.

    The only thing more guid than Red Bull/vod is Jager Bombs (well, at least with the guidette I know haha). You and Muffin are lookin’ stunning! Glad you got a celeb sighting in before you made your return to land of meat and taters πŸ™‚

    Love you, girl!

  35. i want to see nyc so badly now! glad to see you had so much fun there πŸ™‚ all the food looks soooo good too. i can’t wait until i can go there and eat my way through the city…that sounded a little dirty actually. maybe it’s just me? i guess i have a dirty mind, sorry πŸ˜‰ you know what i mean!

  36. Your outfit was pretty derrrnnnnn cute. Especially after I saw the word Walmart =P

    I love the bolero. It really completed the outfit.

    You’re adorabblleee.

  37. You girls are such stunnas! You totally rocked those hot damn dresses for NYE. I’m glad you had an awesome ending to NYC and did so in your crazy fun style, just like you do best. I can’t wait to see what’s coming next for Miss Snackface in 2010. Bring on the new adventures girlie! I can’t wait to hear all about em.

  38. 39 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    you are so lucky to have spent NYE in NYC!!! looks like such a blast..you and muffin are gorgeous πŸ˜€ i love all your eats, the fries are makin me hunnngry. i actually love roasted veggies thoughh. cant wait to hear what 2010 has in store for youu.. i’m sure it will bea fantastic year! hope your second semester goes well πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  39. Yeah girl! Such a fun looking time you had!! I”m so happy you got to spend it with your dearest Muffin πŸ™‚ At midnight, no sadly, I was not snacking. I was hungry though πŸ˜‰ ahhhh just kidding that sounded bad. For 2010 I’m most excited to live up the last of my college days with my favorite roommies yet!

  40. You and Muffin look fantastic! It sounds like you had a lot of fun πŸ™‚ NYC is an awesome place. At midnight, I had a little snack, LOL! πŸ˜‰ For 2010 I’m looking forward to getting certified in personal training and nutrition…and finally get my business going. 2010 is going to be an awesome year!!! πŸ™‚

  41. Oh the:The most incredible baklava ever. -Does indeeed look incredibllleee!

    And you and Muff look smokin hot. Smokin. Sizzle. Hot!

    Was I sucking face, or snacking face. No my husband was snoring, my child was sleeping, and i was reading cookbooks snacking on vegan choc chips. It was pretty much perfect!! LOL

    2010 = A big year. I am going to finish my 500 hr yoga teacher credential, it’s been a decade in the making. And I am going to get my child potty-learned. Those are big things πŸ™‚

  42. Ohh…safe travels home, honey. Maybe you can get a veggie wrap on the plane πŸ˜‰

    I know you will have no trouble snagging your dream job, and your dream man. Anyone would be lucky to have you!

  43. hahahahaha…snacking on someones face. you’re too funny. and freak’n flip’n hot! wow hot mama!

    what a great NYE for you and muffin though! def jealous since i just stayed at home lazy and not wanting to get dressed because i’m lazy like that…my own fault!

  44. Hahahah i’d love to read that “tell all….” NOVEL !!! Do tha damn thang!!

    You and muffin are sooooo adorb and fierce and flyy!! I adore those NYE heels, Kailey!! Where are they fromm?!

    Oh, and that whole tongue thang with the guitar player–HILARIOUS. I get the joke, too.

    The Viet. veggie noodle dish looks ‘gasmic! And the bloomberg tree is AMAZINGG!!!! I’ll have to see that or the rockefeller one in person, someday.

    I still can’t believe (well, i believe you…but am still so envious!!!) that you saw Agyness Deyn!

    You know i’m also drooling over the sound of warm pita bread and home-made hummus!!!!! Hope you’re enjoying home, darling…and can’t wait for more snackface tales!! PS….who were YOU snackfacing on when the “ball dropped”?!?!!? hahahah

    LOVE YOU! XOXOXO

    • 46 snackface

      Jesspants- Aw thanks, sugarbuns! I got the shoes on clearance at Dillard’s in August. I forget what brand they are. I’ll let you know in the near future/gchat sesh! xoxoxox

  45. one thing is for sure, you better have your wallet ready at every turn. i know it can very exspensive but worth every penny.


  1. 1 Brrrr! « This Winding Road

Leave a Reply

