Ridin’ Dirty

21Dec09

Hello gorgeous people! I hope everyone had a marvelous weekend.

Mine started early on Friday after a workout, traveling to work and then farting around on the computer a bit. By 1pm I was sipping wine with my co-workers at Blue Smoke for the holiday gathering. The M. Shanken Communications crew knows how to party.

Between chatting it up and sipping wine and a good brew, I snacked on these killer BBQ potato chips:

Served in a bucket. Appropriate.

Before long, it was buffet time. This was the most non-vegan meal I’ve had in months, and it was gasmic:

My priorities were obviously with the cornbread.

On the plate: salad, cornbread, few bites of mac n’ cheese, brussels and quinoa with mushrooms and goat cheese. Phenom.

I chatted with work crush for an hour or two, but it went nowhere. It’s fine. I guess not everyone can like me.

I had to go back to work to send a few emails. Challenging after a few drinks. I was thankful, though, because it led to a Gchat session, which led to a meet-up with the lovely Lauryn.

En route to meeting her, I received a call from Muffin. Due to the impending snow storm, Muffin couldn’t leave Ohio. Not to fret– she’ll be here for New Year’s instead!

I met Lauryn at a fine establishment of which I forget the name. We caught up on each other’s lives, flirted with men and posed for pictures:

Don't ask me what face I was making.

And then, my friends, we were caught ridin’ dirty. Exhibit A:

Thoroughly enjoying myself.

Because I am a lady, I thought it best to give the mechanical bull a whirl. I was determined not to fall off:

Class.

I also was determined to get points for showmanship:

One arm, baby.

MamaJ and Popsicle, aren’t you so proud? πŸ˜€

Lauryn, who went before me, was my inspiration:

Look at that foot!

She one-upped me with that hat:

Best. Picture. Ever.

Just as stripper poles were the workout rage of 2008, I predict mechanical bulls will be seen in gyms in 2010. I’m not kidding– it’s a great workout. You have to keep your core centered and tight and your thighs squeezed to the bull, and whichever arm you have holding on for dear life has never worked harder. Throw in not knowing which direction you’re headed next and you have a significant workout. My inner thighs are still sore.

Shortly after bull-riding, Lauryn and I trotted to Better Burger for a nosh:

Veggie burger with fries. Amazing.

Friday was such a good food day! The burger may have been the best veggie burger I’ve ever had. And the air-baked fries were so good that I ordered a second serving. Treatin’ that bod right, ya dig?

After a solid eight hours of slumber at Lauryn’s adorable apartment, we got ready for our Saturdays and listened to Glee. When I say we listened, what I really mean is that Lauryn had to suffer from my singing along. And vice versa.

I met up with a darling friend for lunch. We trekked across the city to find a delicious lunch spot. Unfortunately, I cannot remember the name of the restaurant! It was super veg-friendly and healthy. I started with sweet potato soup:

Yum.

For an entree, I ordered this beast:

Roughage.

Full of enough fiber for three days, my friend and I parted ways. The intense gabbing and laughter must have completely worn me out, though, because when I returned to Hoboken, I showered and then took a two-hour nap. I never nap!

The rest of Saturday’s food was not interesting (popcorn, orange, pita with hummus, lawd knows what else) and I was too mesmerized by Meet the Parents and Enchanted to snap photos. With snow falling all night, I was thrilled to be able to stay cozy inside. I attempted to watch Slumdog Millionaire at midnight, but succumbed to my closing eyes. I curled up in bed at 1am.

My body must have been exhausted because I slept for 10.5 hours. So unlike me! Once coherent, I pulled myself out of bed and made breakfast:

Fluffy.

TJ’s oat packet with half a banana and a spoon of Mighty Mapes. These oat packets are neither as flavorful nor chewy as the Nature’s Path packets, but they’ll do. Nothing a banana or Splenda can’t fix. Don’t hate.

I lounged in bed, ate breakfast and watched two episodes of Degrassi. They’ll always remind me of my childhood and high school best friend with whom I no longer speak. That kind of breaks my heart.

To feel like an actual person, I got ready for the gym. I had a fabulous time reading the Lady Gaga-covered Elle on the elliptical. So fabulous that I stayed on the darn thing for an hour. Oh well, it gave me a good enough excuse not to move at all for the rest of the day, save for trips to the loo.

Showered and back in my pajamas, I watched Elizabeth: The Golden Age and ate lunch:

Aesthetically pleasing, I know.

Carrots and a hummus-filled pita accompanied TJ’s black bean soup. That has to be my favorite canned soup. The textures and flavors are on-point. Also, buy the TJ’s jalapeno-cilantro hummus. Do it.

Snack time coincided with movie two of my mini-marathon. Did you know that Taylor Momson of Gossip Girl fame was little Cindy Lou Who in The Grinch? She was so cute I wanted to squeeze her. Instead, I ate a snack:

Snapple.

I chopped an apple and topped it with the best granola I’ve ever had:

Sweet, salty, both soft and crunchy...Must hunt this down again.

My meals and snacks were timed perfectly with the movies I was watching. As soon as The Grinch finished, I was ravenous for dinner:

Incredible.

In the mix: greens, cucumber, ginger-soy vinaigrette, slightly burnt Sunshine breakfast patty, a dollop of jalapeno-cilantro hummus and a drizzle of Cholula. It’s unfortunate that I’ve run out of these Sunshine patties. I could eat this salad every night.

For dessert, I had a cereal dream:

Glory.

In the bowl: Nature’s Path Optimum Slim, Early Bird granola, Weetabix biscuit and a few crumbled TJ’s Righteous Rounds cookies.

The appetite was raging all night as I watched The Devil Wears Prada (AKA kinda my life!) and I ended up eating more cereal and some carrots with hummus. Taking care of biznass.

This week is going to be amazing! I get to fly home on Wednesday to see my family!!!!!!!!!! I miss the H-Unit so much. It hasn’t felt like the Christmas season at all to me, and I know it’s because I’m missing Popsicle, MamaJ, Matty Rich, Nannykins, Peanut and Marshmallow. Counting down, fa sho. Until then, I’ll be ridin’ dirty in the Jerz.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Have you ever ridden a mechanical bull? If not, would you? Why or why not? I hope EVERYONE answers this and answers honestly.

61 Responses to “Ridin’ Dirty”

  1. im so jealous. i wanna hang with you both!!!! ah, i need to come back asap and we can get silly πŸ™‚

  2. I have. We have a bar called Saddle Ridge and oh my…many rides have been taken. πŸ™‚

  3. 3 megzzwinsatlife

    mechanical bull in NY?? where?? I think they should get a mechanical bull in Hoboken!!!

  4. I don’t think I would! I doubt my core would be strong enough (just yet)…I would flop off in under a few seconds for sure…but props to you lol

  5. Yes, I’ve rode a mechanical bull. I flew right off…it was awesome!

    The salad looks delicious!

  6. yay for going home!!! hope you dont have any delays!!!

    mechanical bull! i was always too chicken! plus, THE LAST TIME, i was at a raunchy bar full of sketchballs, so I wasn’t feeling it.

    loveeeeeesie you.

    send me some sweater pics for the next GC special edition, will ya? πŸ™‚

  7. So jealous of the bull-riding yo! For Halloween we went to a bar with a bull and I sooo wanted to get on. Unfortunately, the line was hella long and it was unbearably hot. I was practically cooking in my football player costume, so it was a no go. Next time!

  8. 8 Nicole G

    I have not had the chance (YET!). I totally would do it and am tempted to gather my friends over winter break and make it happen! You seem like the legit best person to go out for a night on the town with!

    Safe trip home if you don’t post sooner!

    • 9 snackface

      Nicole G- You just gave me one of the best compliments ever! Yes, come out on the town with me and we’d have a crazy time. It’s all about going wherever the wind (or drank) takes you.

  9. I have. Twice.

    Once sober and once wasted off my a$$ wherein I had no clue which way was up, so I climbed aboard, much to the delight of everyone around me. I don’t think I lasted long.

  10. 11 Kristen

    Quite a few times…at Johnny Utah’s in NYC! It looks like that’s where you did too. That place has a great Monday night party…haven’t been there in about a year though 😦 Sooo much fun though-used to love Johnny’s!

    Looks like you had a great weekend! Happy Monday!

    • 12 snackface

      Kristen- THANK YOU!!! That’s the name of the place! Yes, I was at Johnny Utah’s doin’ ma thang. Monday parties sound fabulous. I’m not ready for that, though! At least not this week…

  11. 13 savoringsarah

    Umm besides the reeeedic lookin food, how AWESOME are your bull riding pics. Bahahahaha! I have never braved a mechanical bull but am totally inspired to now πŸ™‚

  12. ah so the mechanical bull is the secret to your hot bod!! Good to know! you are so damn flii, ma!

    p.s. I totes thought Lauryn was muffin! is it just me or do they look alike? a little? no? do I need to get my eyes checked?

    I LOVE your lineup of trash tv/movies this weekend. Why can’t be just be together and cuddle all dayyyy?!?! meh. Life would be so perfie!

    Going to catch up on your old posts now — I feel so damn lost withoutchu!

    LUFF YOU BABYBOO!
    xoxoxoxoo

  13. As soon as I’m of the legal age (4.5 months!) to be in an establishment with a ridable bull, you bet your sweet potato fries that I’ll be on one. You and Lauryn look like you had one of the best nights I’ve read about in a while!

  14. Mechanical bulls are surprisingly common in our bars! Several of my friends have taken the plunge. Can’t say I’ve been brave enough to try. I’m not overly coordinated, so combine that with a few drinks and, well, it would be a disaster waiting to happen.

  15. I’ve never ridden one but there wasa place near my grad school that had one and I wish I’d had the courage to try it!

  16. Your non-vegan meal looks MIIIIIIIIIIIGHTY fine! Sorry about the work crush going no where, maybe he’ll come around though. Who wouldn’t love Snackface?!?! Boy’s crazy!

    HAHAHHA I am dying over the mechanical bull pictures! I have not done the bull but that’s probably a good thing. I’d probably hurt myself somehow!! YAY for flying home and reuniting with the fam soon πŸ™‚

  17. HA!! Too fun, especially with dear Lauryn!!

    I “rode” a mechanical bull once… “rode” meaning I fell off right away, haha πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy your exciting week, my friend!

  18. Had you declined either the mac or the cornbread due to the confines of the “vegan” label, my heart would have been broken. Sweet potato soup>? Yes please. and those fries, I LOVE me some steakhouse frites-nothin like thick cut spuds to spoon ketchup into my pie hole. GLOOOORRRIIIOUS! Bravo, I say, Bravo.

    PS: can you marry one of my brothers (I swear theyre cute and funny-although, dont tell them i said that) so you can be my sister… is that weird?
    peace
    (one of them is a singer, lowellthompson.com. Kinda fun, right?

    MA

  19. 21 Kate

    Augh, looooved this post…pretty much died through the bull riding! I believe ya when ya tell me it’s a workout! I have never ridden a bull but I think I would give it a chance if I could do it and keep my dignity (aka not fall on my face).

    • 22 snackface

      Kate- You could definitely do it with dignity. I fell (of course) but it wasn’t that bad at all! As long as you don’t have your g-string hanging out, you’re fine!

  20. oh bull riding! it’s been a life-long dream πŸ™‚ the only time i had the opportunity to try it, i was wearing a skirt! obviously, i was thoroughly upset. hmph. maybe next time…

    ♥ lindsey

  21. SNACKYFACE! I LOVE YOU!

    the fact that you and lauryn rode bulls makes me so happy, you have no idea. with every passing post, it makes me more convinced we need to meet up in real life. looks like good times and good movie watching was had – gah, i cannot wait to go home and RELAX!

    i love you. that’s all there really is too say. i am sad i have no sunshine burgers left either.

    yay for Oh-HI-oooooo!

    meet-up in Chicago?

    think about it.

    xoxox

  22. 25 MattyRich

    Thats frikin priceless bah I wish I was there.

  23. haha I have never been on a mechanical bull but I would ride one in a heartbeat! ~Gina

  24. 27 Lindsay

    Craziness!!! Looks like too much fun. I love those bull pics lol.

  25. Have you tried TJ’s Better N’ Peanut butter? I LOVE it!!! πŸ™‚

    • 29 snackface

      Biochemista- OMG YES!!! I bought it over the summer and ate the jar almost as fast as I go through tubs of hummus. Good for the taste buds, not so good for the digestion. Eh, I’d do it again!

  26. Oohhh. Bullriding is dangerous bizniz. In Boston there’s a bar with a mechanical bull and stripper poles… it can get nasty.

    I had to choose Karate Kid 2 over Devil Wears Prada… ugh. I couldn’t stop laughing at the fake fight scenes!

  27. Obviously you and I have similar priorities, considering that cornbread is what my eyes zoomed (and stayed stuck on) first. Deevine.
    “I guess not everyone can like me.”… Psh, someone would have to be a major Mr. Scrooge to not love your crazy bull riding self! Speaking of which I unfortunately have yet to experience the wonders of a mechanical bull. But I’d be totally down, probably both literally (after a few seconds on the thing) and figuratively.

    Rachael*

    • 32 snackface

      Rachael- Hahaha I’d totally make you do it if you were with me. Bull ride, that is. I mean, mechanical bull ride. And about the guy, I guess I never imagine that guys may have significant others already. Maybe that was an issue??

  28. 33 Sam

    Haha honestly no I haven’t. I have never been somewhere where there was one though. Not sure if I could pull it off….

  29. looks like an awesome weekend!
    Glad you are going to see your fam soon:)
    Jenna

  30. 35 Susan

    Haha I’m glad you weren’t ridin’ dirty from the po-po!
    Riding bulls is tricky – I’ve done it twice. Once in Arizona after too many Blue Moons and once in Pburgh completely sober. Can you guess which time I stayed on longer?
    Stay cool chica!

  31. never ridden one I think that has to do with the fact I once went to a bar where there was one and a girl tried to get one and COULDN”T! it was super embarrassing for her, I felt terrible it was hard to watch, 2 of her friends came over and had to help her on the thing! since that day, I have never tried to get on one πŸ™‚ it does look fun though!

    love your roughage plateee

  32. Ive ridden dirty plenty o times my friend. Not lately but yeah. Plenty. Can you say 4 am in San Diego the bars are closed? Where do all self respecting girls go who wanna continue to party? Well we go across the border to Tijuana and ride mech bulls. Classy I know.

    The eats are epic. The chickpeas, the most unvegan meal in awhile, the b sprouts on the plate, the oats, the nut butter dollop, it just all looks amazing! rock it out girl!

  33. What a fun date! And you are still classy in my book, even if you did ride a bull. I agree, the hat made it.

    I’ve never even been anywhere that they have a mechanical bull (I guess the NW just doesn’t do that kind of thing?), but if I had, I’m sure I’d try it!

    I’m so excited for you to be going home to see your family!!!!

  34. 39 Emily

    Hi! this is lo’s friend y-lime . . . I just have to say that your first picture of those bbq chips is one of my fave food pics you have ever taken . . .something about the colors, it’s just so pretty! I love bull riding, we need to find one in Chi citay, one time my friend in college got thrown off a bull so hard she had to get stiches in her chin . . . that was a nice story for all the professional finance people at her internship. anyways I just wanted to say hi since I’ve been reading your blog for months. . .loved hearing about you and Lo’s reun!

    • 40 snackface

      Y-Lime!!! I am so pumped to see that you’ve commented and that you read my little baby blog! Thanks so much for the foodie photo props! I’ll have to remember when I compile my portfolio–I kid. I don’t have one of those. So, let’s plot a Chi-town trip complete with bull-riding!!!

  35. oh honey, i grew up in Idaho… i have definitely taken a turn or two on the mechanical beast!

    the last and best time was in an awesomely inappropriate bar in boise called “dirty little roddy’s” the sign for which has a pink bra hanging off a bull’s horns. GO IDAHO!!! i believe i displayed mad skill that night holding my beer in my balance hand, and manging to crash hard, butt roll backwards and NOT SPILL THE BEER!!

    SKILLZ

  36. I’m glad you had such a fun weekend! Have a great holiday and when you get back we should definitely meet up:)

  37. Funny story about the bull.
    My best friend rode the bull (very drunk, might I add)… fell off broke his finger. Couldn’t do his job anymore due to the severity of the break (not funny) BUT he ended up getting ALL his school after that paid for because he was no longer able to do his current job!!

    I’m not sure he ever told them how he broke it…

    • 44 snackface

      Jessica- Hahahaha I’m so sorry for your friend’s finger, but that is hilarious. I have no idea what I’d tell people!

  38. I’m so lame… I want to ride a mechanical bull, but I want to lose at least 40 lbs first. It’s on my list of things to do before I die, so better get crackin on the weight loss!

    Oh, and TJ’s Cilantro Jalepeno Hummus is soooooooo good! I’ve only had it in the layered hummus, so I’ll be on the lookout for the jumbo tub of it all by it’s lonesome!

  39. LOL oh my gosh kailey i love you!! YES ive ridden a mech bull..its hard as crap! but you look like a hottie doing it! i, however, looked ridic. what a great weekend!! you are so cute

  40. OMG you were at Johnny Utah’s near 30 Rock in NYC! Last time I visited the city, I literally booked a hotel that was NEXT DOOR and found out about J.U.’s and its mechanical bull shortly thereafter. I did not muster the courage to ride the beast, but kudos to you!

  41. ridin dirty is the ultimate in rap songs. nuff said.

    and seriously, please add, bull rider to your resume. it is a maj talent to possess lmao

  42. 49 MamaJ

    I don’t have to remind you of the time dad dressed up in his doo rag and I in my chapps……. Dressed up for the bikers ball…. Oh yah baby girl ,there was a mechanical bull there. I was so thrilled and ready for the challenge….. Up until the girl infront of me. She was a fraction of my age and she flew off that thing so fast….She was a blurr… Needless to say under that demin shirt was a thong…. She landed hard and folded in two…..I thought of the hip I did not need to break and declined my turn.TWO MORE DAYS. OXOX

  43. Wow! I just found your blog and I have to say, I LOVE YOU!!!! πŸ™‚

    You are so freaking cute and I adore reading your posts. I can’t wait to read more! πŸ™‚

    Take care hun and hope to keep in touch with you.

    ❀ Lauren

    • 51 snackface

      Lauren! You are so sweet you’re giving me a cavity! Awww welcome to SF and I hope you enjoy it! And now I’m clicking on your blog, too!

  44. HI Kailey!
    I’m Erin and I found you through Jenny! Just wanted to say hi! And yes, I’ve totally ridden a mechanical bull. There’s a famous bar on Sunset called Saddle Ranch and my first year living in L.A. we used to go there on occasion and once I had just enough to drink to get on it. It didn’t last long.
    I am also so surprised that Taylor Momsen was Cindy Lou-hoo! That’s a great bit of trivia I’ll be sure to pass on!
    Hope to see you around!
    XO,
    Erin

    • 53 snackface

      Erin! I’m so pumped you found SnackFace! Isn’t the Taylor Momson thing crazy? I was shocked. I’m on my way to check out your blog!

  45. I found your blog from Jenny’s — happy to have found ya!

    I have ridden a mechanical bull, but I only have pictures to remind me of the experience. It was not graceful, ladylike, or anything I’d attempt three sheets to the wind ever again!

    • 55 snackface

      Nicole- Welcome! Hahaha thank you for sharing your three-sheets-to-the-wind experience. Is it sad that I wasn’t in that state when I rode? I just wanted to try!

  46. 56 Gina G

    i have never rode one, but i have honestly always wanted to try! i will hopefully be able to some day and do it good (that isn’t what she said, haha)
    looks like a blast kailey! =)

  47. 57 Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i am so jealous of hte better burger meal!! those fries sound amazing- yay for getting seconds πŸ™‚ & that salad and sweet potato soup look/sound amazing. looks like fun πŸ™‚ you are gorgeous!!

    xoxo
    shelley

    • 58 snackface

      Shelley- You little ray of sunshine, thank you!!! Wish I could have shared the burger meal with you! Who am I kidding? I’m not a good sharer- I’d buy you a delicious plate of your own.

  48. I would SO ride the bull.

    Definitely on my to-do list– next time i’m in a big citay, and at least 21 with a few dranks in me!! πŸ™‚

    I love that you worked it out in the morn and spent a glorious day watching movies and snacking…taylor momsen is presh in the grinch (watched it last week too!), but needs to lose that wannabe-rocker look on GG/in real life…not a fan.

    LOVE YOU!! Get ready for anotha comment comin’ yo way later today….on post numero DOS! XOXO

  49. AHHHH you and Lauryn ridin’ dirtayyyy! Yes! I rode a mechanical bull at my friend’s little brother’s bar mitzvah, so let’s just say it was not as “legit” as your experience. It’s one hell of a time though!

  50. hahaha marshall and i have a guilty pleasure for degrassi. and these bull photos were WELL worth the wait. you are one feisty cowgirl πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

