Honey-Roasted Snack Nuts

18Dec09

Ay bay bays! What a fantastic conversation we had going yesterday! To sum up what everyone said: If you have a blog, feel free to brag. If people don’t like it, they don’t have to read it. Very interesting, and I can’t say I necessarily agree.

When you’re writing a blog, you choose to publish your words for a particular audience (and the whole world). Not only should the writing appeal to them, but it also should make them feel good. Reading others say things that come across as bragging does not appeal to me, but I suppose I consider more things to be bragging than most people would. Also, this is all my crazy opinion. Obviously.

But let’s get to the good stuff!

Wednesday was a spectacular 24 hours. It started with a 5am wake-up call, a 5:30 to 6:30 workout, a long shower and an eventual oaty breakfast:

Oats and Mighty Mapes.

An oat packet, water and maple peanut butter make for the most satisfying breakfast. I don’t know what it is about it. Too bad it was the last packet. Mourning the loss already.

I was supa busy at work all day, which is awesome when it makes the day fly by, but it cramps my dining style:

Sad and cold. Still tasty, though.

Sure, I could have torn myself away from the computer for an hour to nosh on cold, leftover squash, two apples and crackers:

Had 10 handfuls throughout the day. And I have huge hands.

But I’d rather not face the questions ofย  “Kailey, what the hell are you eating?” Or maybe I’m just lazy.

I spent the afternoon meeting Caroline’s (my boss) dimey older brother, working on advertising biznass and admiring my nails:

Look at those ET fingers. So elegant.

I’ve come to the conclusion that manicures are not worth it. My nails are chipping already, I find flaws that I would also make and I can paint my nails on my own. Only half the fingertip gets covered in addition to the nail, but that’s fine!

After work, I grabbed the B train and went the correct direction the first time! This was huge for me. Every time I’ve tried to get on the subway, I’ve gone the wrong direction, had to exit the station, ask a stranger where to go and then spend another 20 minutes waiting for a subway going the right way. Snackie’s getting street savvy. Psh, who am I kidding?

My venture on the subway eventually led me to Blossom Uptown for a sweet-as-honey date. We hit it off immediately. Why can’t all bloggers live in the same city, eat together, drank together and love life together? Lo and I could have talked and gallivanted all night:

Honey-Roasted Snack Nuts! (Photo courtesy of Lo's awesome camera.)

I have such a large head. That may be taken literally, figuratively or both. Whatever you wish.

Dinner itself was exquisite. I started with butternut squash soup, topped with cinnamon croutons and roasted poblano oil:

Lo's camera again.

Look how disgusting my picture was:

Ick!

I’m convinced my camera is dying. It refuses to take flash pictures in dimly lit rooms.

Anyway, the soup was perfectly balanced between sweet and savory. It was thick, as though it had just been Vita-Mixed a few minutes prior to serving. Although the cinnamon croutons were heaven atop the soup, it could have gone without the oil. Why anyone would want to eat spoonfuls of oil is beyond me.

My second course was something I’ve missed since being vegan/vegetarian:

Caesar salad, sans dairy or 'chovies.

The menu says that the sprinkling on top is “herbed goshamio.” If herbed goshamio is supposed to remind one of bacon, this was spot on. Can I get a jug of it? Great, thanks. The plate was clean after I’d had my way with it.

With perfectly attentive service, truly delicious dishes and amazing company, it would have been a shame not to order dessert:

Vegan carrot cake with Tofutti cream cheese icing.

And:

A scoop of vegan strawberry and two scoops of vegan cookie dough ice cream.

GASMS out the ying-yang. I could have eaten that wonderfully spiced, exquisitely iced carrot cake all day. The scoop of cookie dough ice cream I moaned over tasted like icing and cookie dough of my youth. By youth I mean non-vegan days.

Unfortunately, we had to leave Blossom and part ways. I am amazed when I meet bloggers. Somehow, they’re always even better in person than they are on their blogs. I knew Lo and I would get along amazingly, and she’s definitely someone I’d want as a friend for life. We are all so blessed to have this community!

As if the day couldn’t have gotten better, I met someone on the train ride home. A tall, cute gentleman sat next to me on the train and struck up conversation. We chatted the whole way to Hoboken and exchanged numbers. Of course, I will keep you all posted should anything develop. Knowing my record, though, nothing will happen. At least I know his number isn’t a landline.

It’s only Thursday and my brain has already shut down. It’s evident in this post, no? To save you from suffering, I’m signing off. Love you boos!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: If you had only two weeks in NYC, what would you absolutely have to see before leaving?
I have to make these last two weeks phenomenal! I’m taking suggestions and orders!

52 Responses to “Honey-Roasted Snack Nuts”

  1. 1 Nicole

    I love Blossom- their carrot cake is so so so so good!

  2. I’m not very familiar with NYC, but I love it there. Have to go shopping and maybe see Wicked if it was playing?

  3. HOORAY FOR MEETING LO!!

    I’d go skating at Rockefeller center.

  4. 4 Lindsay

    haha I have no sense of direction and can totally identify with getting on the wrong train going the wrong way. Oops. Sounds like a fun night!

  5. Your nails match the cracker box perfectly, though! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Ha, I’m the same way with manicures… I haven’t gotten one in years. I just do them myself. That way I can touch up the inevitable chips, which drive me nuts!

    I would see Wicked. Though since I haven’t yet, I guess it would take more than two weeks. :p

    โค โค

  6. What a fun + delicious looking dinner with Lo! Jealous over here, fo sho.

    xo
    K

  7. 7 Nicole G

    As someone who grew up in NYC, there’s SO many amazing things to do here. Though I must say one place I love to visit (and I’m totally embracing my inner-nerd) is the Lower East Side Tenement Museum. I’ve gone on the tour at least three times and its always more interesting and enjoyable than the last!

  8. 8 savoringsarah

    You gals are too supa cute. Classic NYC girl date! Everything you had at that place sounds amazinnnnnn. Congrats on going the right way AND meeting a cute dude!!!

  9. Yay for blog meet-ups! Blossom always looks amazing…

    I’d hit up Babycakes if I was back in NY, for sure! I also had Atlas on my list of places to eat at but ran out of time (Babycakes is a MUST for the best vegan baked goods!)

  10. omg, i have ET fingers too!! i think it’s a tall-girl thang ๐Ÿ™‚ my family thinks i’m still growing into my fingers. they’ve always been ridiculously long and skinny. we should start a club ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. ahhhh i heart that honey nut! i am so glad you ladies got some kick ass food – gah, carrot cake is my weakness. i dont even like cake, but carrot cake is a whole ‘nother game. i don’t even know what to tell you all to do your last two weeks in NYC – bum around Brooklyn, stalk Jake Gyllenhaal in the Village, count how many celebrities you run into, take a walk around Central Park, go to the Guggenheim (amaze), eat a soft pretzel from a vendor, go to a Broadway show, see the Statue of Liberty, walk across the Brooklyn Bridge…

    LOVE YOU

    chat soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. oh my gosh-enjoy and LIVE UP your last 2 weeks in NYC!!
    your meal looks aweesome! esp. that cake!
    and SO true about breakast-all you need is 1 packet of oats, MM, and water .. and BAM breakfast of champs.

  13. Yesssss that song just makes me want to get up and dance. JUST DANCE! Okay, I’m done ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh girl, how exciting how about the cute gentleman!! Definitely keep us updated about him. Hope it turns out well!

    Hmm last 2 weeks – I’d see all the tourist stuff of course! Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Broadway, Times Square…and more! Live it up for the rest of us!!

  14. 14 findinghappinessandhealth

    so jealous of your blogger meet up ๐Ÿ™‚ you and lo seem like two awesome girls!! and that is exciting about the boy ! i hope something happenss.

    & the vegan deserts= delicious !

    enjoy your lats couple weeks in nyc- i’d wanna see a Broadway show and shops..obviously!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  15. 15 Susan

    What an awesome din! That salad looks gorg (only in the food blog world do we say things like ‘that salad looks gorg’). Anyhoooo I don’t know if you’re into art, but my absolute fave thing to do in the city is go to the MOMA – Monet, Pollock, Matisse, and Bacon all in one building! Also, my dad and I always hit up Atlas Cafe for Vegan Treats cake. Dad’s a full on carnivore, but we both think their cakes are the bombitty-bomb.

  16. vegan carrot cake with tofffuttiiiiii frosting…ummm that’s just not fair b/c it looks tooo freaking good!

    I totally agree w/ your opening line. I dont like to be a bragger either. And I am constantly worried about this. Not worried, but mindful. I think of how my words come across to others and if something is on the edge of hmmmm. Then I delete it. And try again. I never want to ailenate, only make people feel good. My blog is a happy place, that’s my goal. Some ppl’s is more of a “Deep Thoughts” place. Not mine so I try to keep it light and keep the bragging to a min. As in never ๐Ÿ™‚

    Who’s your boss. I should look out for him. Half of NYC seriously is on Palm Beach (here in ARuba) every year. We come every year and it’s like manhatten emptied out into aruba. Ha!

    xoxo

  17. 17 Natalie

    i would go be in the today show audience! i love matt!! but with your job and morning schedule, that really doesnt sound do-able!

  18. Tall cute gentleman sounds fantastic. Maybe he can show you around your last two weeks in town? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  19. Candle cafe!!!!! and every other vegetarian place Erica used to go to…she doesn’t have a blog anymore though!

  20. If I were in New York right now, I’d go to the MOMA to see the Tim Burton show–I heard it is great. I’d also spend time in SOHO which I think has some of the BEST shopping anywhere. If you’ve never been to Ellis Island, I think that is a must as well. My husband and I lived in the West Village for 11 months just prior to our getting married and I always loved walking around down there, great food, great shops, great people watching!

  21. I’m sure that I’ll regret admitting this to the blog community… but the fact that you not only read my comment yesterday but RESPONDED made me feel like the time when I sent Lauryn Hill a lame bit of fan mail expressing how I wish I was as cool as her (or at least wished that I could sing/rap like her) in my youth and she responded with “just be cool with who you are and you’ll get by alright. Keep it real. Peace -LH) (pardon the run-on… I’m well aware of my HORRID english when blog writing or commenting and should be more embarassed to post on such a scholarly blog as yours-I blame my 2 year college hiatus. Clearly I must return to academia stat).
    As I was saying… I cried last night at your response to my comment. Let it be known that I’ve always prided myself on not being a sap (I blame growing up in my testosterone saturated household of two older brothers and my Pops). The old man came in my room mid-tears and got a little nervous from myatypical emotional response, haha. You’re truly legit, m’dear.
    Gomasio -(i think thats whats on your salad) is my staple seasoning. Tons of trace minerals, sesame, omegas, and glorious sea-green goodness. Not that I could really give two f’s about the nutrition when it tastes sooooo good. Often I question whether or not I should promote this as an alternative for crack addicts. But then I realize that while it may not cost as much as crack at the moment (it’s still rather pricey) I don’t want the demand to inflate the price even more than it is, or even worse, bring too much attention to it to make the FEDS illegalize the goodness that is my gomasio. Selfish? Perhaps. Worth it? Most def.
    NYC tourism: I HATE skating. Sure, Im a born and raised VTer and my father is embarassed to have raised me as his little mountain girl… I suck at skating and have never understood how the bumps, bruises, frost bite, twisted ankles and cuts could be worth the experience. That being said… I LOVE to watch people skate in Rockefeller Center. The romance, the grace, the not-so-graceful that makes me feel a little better about my own lack of coordination on the ice, the lil’ ones, the jolliness of the whole thing is an experience you have to have when in NYC during the holidays. Also, see as many broadway/off broadway (perhaps ballet, if youre into that) shows as possible. I suggest flaunting your looks and charm in the greediest way possible to score some dates with a boy or two who are willing to spring for the tickets. Subway man perhaps? Go get em’ Tiger, haha
    MA

  22. eww… I am so sorry for writing such a long comment. Thats kind of embarassing. Best english lesson learned was to cut the fluff, keep it short and to the point. I’m failing english and I’m not even in school. Sad.
    My Apologies.

  23. You two are gorgeous!! I’m glad you had fun meeting up! If I only had 2 weeks, I guess I’d check out all of the famous stores and uh…stalk the GG set for Chace Crawford? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  24. Nothing like meeting a fine fella when you least expect it! But you def. have better luck than me when it comes to meeting cuties in public places…I must have a sign on my head that says “if you are scary, 3 ft shorter than me, and resemble a serial killer, please hit on me!” Ahh good times.

    Well as for the sites of NYC…uhhh gotta make sure you hit up Rockafeller Center and see all the christmas-y goodness (which I’m sure you have already hit up) and all the fun window displays on 5th Ave. Love NYC during the holidays!!!!!!

  25. 26 eatolive

    hmm

    -a broadway show
    -rockefeller center christmas tree.
    -go ice skating in the park.
    -run/walk/jog/whatever through central park on a pretty sunny day.
    -go to the sex museum (okay, this ive actually done and while crazy/graphic/strange … its a must when in the city. haha
    -go to serendipidity (ive never been, but i love the movie :))
    -fao schwartz at christmas time.

    that’s all i got ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. So fun that you met Lo!! I want to try Blossom so bad! Those desserts look amazing! Hmm I can’t answer that question since I live here lol.

  27. 28 Renee

    If you are in NYC, it is such a treat to see a Broadway play. Plus, you can get half price tickets the day of the show and it makes it a little more affordable. I have only ever been to NYC once, and we saw “Once Upon a Mattress” with Sarah Jessica Parker (this was pre-SATC). It was FABULOUS and I don’t generally like plays or musical theater. Not sure if Broadway is dark during the holidays, but you simply must see a play if you have the opportunity.

  28. i like your crazy opinion. agreed. um. i had oats and might to the mapes today. just sayin. we shoulda had them together. as one. ohhh shit now that stupid spice girls song “when two become one” song is going to be stuck in my head ALL DAY. funnn~i think we shoudl ALL live on an island with a nice warm beach and then mountains with snow for snowboarding and lots of baller eats. ok? ok. it is settled. that vegan carrot cake made me drool on my keyboard. hope it doesnt short circuit…

    love you!

    p.s. never been to NYC, no advice from janetha b.

  29. just saying we are kinda two peas in a little pod ๐Ÿ™‚

    ps I am coming to ohio just so we can play, eat chips n salsa, and drink free brewskis.

    xoxo to infinity

    lolo

  30. 31 Stephanie

    Do some touristy stuff! You might feel silly, but everybody should do it once ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. your nails are totaly beauts – but I agree. Manis are a waste. Especially for an avid nail biter like me (nervous habit, must work on that)

    aw you and Lo-bee! I want to give you both a hugh jass bear hug!!!! and girl, your head is the perfie size. Not to big, not too small – just right (basically, you’re a hotter version of Goldilocks)

    If I had two weeks in NYC I would hit up PB&Co and meet hot men. Sounds like you’ve got half of that covered. I want deets on the dude on the train. Aw.! you guys should get married – what a sweet story to tell your grand-kidlets!

    lurve youuuu to the max!

  32. 33 Sam

    Did you tell subway-guy about your blog?!
    What happened with dimey work guy who you wanted to tell all ’bout your blog?! I hope you did!!

    • 34 snackface

      Sam- You know, I didn’t tell him. I mean, if he’s a freak I want to be able to share that with y’all and have him not know. Dimey work guy…yeah it’s embarrassing, but I haven’t talked to him much…yet!

      • 35 Sam

        totally signed on with the wrong name somehow… it’s Sara… hope you remember me lol anyways! I’m actually glad you didn’t tell him. Good thinking on your part about your safety and blog security! Hope he calls and then you can decide! For some reason I’m imagining him being a lot older but I doubt (ie hope not) that’s the case!

  33. fun blogger meet up! two georgeous gals ๐Ÿ™‚

    vegan carrot cake!? amazeeeee!!

    NYC i would for sure see a show and also stand to see goodmorning america! it always looks so fun out there ๐Ÿ™‚ gah, I am such a tourist!! also visit seredibity because the frozen hot chocolate is OUT OF THIS WORLD!
    xox

  34. I haven’t been to NYC since I was 21 (NOT going to tell you how long ago that was, LOL!) I really want to see the Christmas Tree. And go to a play, and there’s some pubs there that my hubby used to get really good wings at when he was traveling there. I would also like to see the Statue of Liberty. ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you get to workout today or was it too long of a day?

    • 38 snackface

      Jessica- What I need is a good pub! I love ’em! About the workouts, I worked out Wednesday and did not work out Friday. I normally do M, W, F and Saturday. Obviously, I skipped Monday because I was sick!

  35. manicures aren’t worth it, but pedicures totally are! They feel great and last forever… especially in the winter (not that people are seeing your toes, but you know). Get one while your still in NYC ’cause from what I hear, mani-pedis are one thing that is much cheaper in NYC than anywhere else.

    Anyway, let’s see, my NYC essentials:
    -Rush or Lotto a Broadway show! See the policies here: http://www.playbill.com/celebritybuzz/article/82428-Broadway-Rush-and-Standing-Room-Only-Policies
    (or actually buy tickets/go to tkts to guarantee you’ll see one… but I think the rush/suspense/quest to get tickets is part of the experience if you have the time)
    -See an improv show at UCBT – http://newyork.ucbtheatre.com/schedule/
    -get dim sum at the vegetarian dim sum house! – http://www.yelp.com/biz/vegetarian-dim-sum-house-new-york (though I suppose I wouldn’t be able to guarantee their vegan-ness)
    -Go to chinatown ice cream factory (right near the dim sum place)- my favorite is the almond cookie ice cream but they have awesome sorbets like lychee too – http://chinatownicecreamfactory.com/
    -go to a museum or two – MoMa, the Met, the Natural History Museum, the Guggenheim, the Whitney… even the museum of sex! (ok I’ve never been to the last one but I really want too, haha)
    -since you’re here during the holidays- go to the union square holiday market (or grand central or bryant park but union square is the best one)
    -also- go ice skating! At bryant park or wollman rink or rockerfellar center

    hm… I’m sure I can think of more but I’ll cut it off there since that’s already a lot ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha

    • 40 snackface

      Freddie- These are amazing suggestions! Thanks so much for the links, too!

  36. I was at Blossom today too!! Thats so funny!

  37. Ooooh what a fun foodie date! I am oh so jealous of all the options in NYC…not the same in Colorado suburbs. ๐Ÿ™‚ I went to nyc a couple years ago and did all the touristy stuff…statue of liberty, empire state building, museums, etc…but my FAVORITE was ellis island. I would go back there if I went again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  38. Go on the SEX AND THE CITY SCENE TOUR!!!! It’s a must! Totally with the $35 or whatever it cost last year when I checked it out. Tip: go on a late afternoon tour, I was one of the few who drank a cosmo before Noon at ‘Scout’.
    Also – check out the huuuuge Macy’s at 42 & Broadway, do a double decker bus tour and go to Santos Party House in the Village. Andrew WK runs it ad allegedly P. Diddy and other celebs go there all the time.

  39. 44 rubyconverseandcurls

    Even though my blog is just a baby I’ve been reading your blog for a while now… and I say that in the least creepy way possible ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I agree, pretty much everyone in the blogging community is pretty snazzy. Y’all are so fab, I just had to get in on the party!
    Hmm… I’ve only been to NYC once and it was like six years ago. I’d say do something epic that will land you on the cover of the New York Times. Dress up as King Kong and dance around the Empire State Building? I don’t know, but I’m sure you’ll come up with something amazing.

    Rachael*

    • The link above is from my pathetic failed attempt to make a wordpress account.. SO not savvy enough with technology to handle that! Here’s my blogger blog!
      rubyconverseandcurls.blogspot.com

  40. 46 Aunty Snooze

    i would go to MOMA on Friday night cause it’s free and I would go see the Xmas tree and skate at Rockeffeller Cntre and I would go to the New York Library on 5th and then off to Lord and Taylor cause it’s down the street

  41. yay for meeting lo!!

  42. Broadway shows, if you haven’t. Definitely recommend Billy Elliot, or if you’re looking for a classic Broadway experience, The Lion King (even after all these years, still a favorite) or Chicago. TKTS, the booth under the stairs in Times Square, does half-priced tickets the day of the show, and it’s pretty worth it, just ask the guy for the best seats available. Lucky Chang’s or Lips drag queen restaurants are so much fun for a girls night out!! Spend a few hours in Sephora trying on makeup and annoying the shit out of the salespeople. The Guggenheim, The Museum of Natural History, go shopping in The Village (Union Sq, Cooper-Union, St Mark’s), chelsea piers for like indoor sports/arcade fun, Rockafeller Center and all the big department stores (Macy’s, Saks, Bergdorf…) for Christmas wonder, maybe the Radio City Christmas Spectacular if you’re into that kind of thing… Oh go to M2/Mansion nightclub it’s amazing my favorite (just be prepared to pay out the ears for admission and drinks unless you can find someone with a guestlist/find guys to buy you drinks…usually not such a problem though). Grand Central Holiday Market for once-a-year unique shopping (I like it because it’s INDOORS and I love the bustle of Grand Central). chinatown, in manhattan and in queens. bronx botanical gardens. brooklyn botanical gardens, for that matter. skip new years eve in times square that just sucks, especially if you dont like the cold, party with your friends somewhere warm and indoors, preferably with cheap liquor you purchased yourself. i guess go for frrrozen hot chocolate at serendipity 3 for the tourist thrill (haven’t been there in years but i liked their nachos). i don’t know, are they still filming for sex and the city 2? if so try to find out where and stop by the set… take in an opera at the met/nyco), grab drinks at the top of the rock (very upscale, go for happy hour and soak in the amazing view of the city). ride the subway, get off whenever you hear a salvation army bell ringer and hand them some change… ice skating at bryant park or central park… you can do it all. i’m sure.

  43. other foodie things… kitchenette on the upper west side for brunch all day, anywhere on curry hill for indian food, carmine’s in times square or tony di napoli’s for awesome family-style italian food that are new york icons, french fries from the frites shop around the corner from st marks (if it’s still open…this economy kills businessesss), the shake shack for the hell of it…

    • 50 snackface

      ilanalala- Honey!!!! Thank you so much for the incredible, incredible suggestions! Lemme see what I can conquer!

      • what can I say?? I love my city! I hope you have an amazing adventure in the rest of your days here, and if you don’t get to everything you want, well, that just means you have to come back!
        Happy holidays!

    • OMG I SWEAR THIS IS MY LAST POST WITH SUGGESTIONS! I just was reminded of some fun casual bars and pubs you might want to check out… Blockheads, Brother Jimmy’s, Down the Hatch, Wicked Willy’s (Has beer pong!).


Leave a Reply

