“I Got a Bank Full ‘uh Pride”

16Dec09

Buongiorno petunias! Thanks to your well wishes, getting back into the flow of things and a fab workout this morning, I am feeling 100 percent myself again. Finally.

Tuesday morning, however, was rough. I got ready for work and as soon as I was in the city, walking around, doin’ ma thang, I felt groggy, depressed and generally poopy (figuratively and literally speaking).

I attempted to brighten my mood with some food:

Oatsizzles with Mighty Maple sizzurp.

Post-consumption, I wrote a blog post, did some work and eventually fell into a slump. For no apparent reason, I was sad and frustrated, mostly with myself. I get pissed when I’m feeling gross for too long. Love Muffin and the incredible Holly were there to listen to me vent. Thank you, my darlings!

What made me feel even better, though, was getting a manicure with my supa sweet boss, Caroline. Prior to Tuesday’s mani, I’d only had one. In 8th grade. The results:

Got my nails did. Felt like a woman!

That doesn’t do the color justice. It’s actually a hot fuchsia. When it comes to nails, I go bright or go home.

Lunch was hysterical:

Slapdash mix of Duane Reade offerings and a joke of a soygurt.

I’d made the mistake of trying the plain soygurt before, but I thought the strawberry flavor would be better:

I thought wrong, grasshopper.

Put down the soygurt when you open it and it is gray:

Threw that out after three huge bites. Gag.

The Milton’s crackers, however, were excellent:

I love crackas. GC, thanks for bringing these to my attention!

What little was left of the afternoon was spent researching chefs, calling chefs, examining menus and other fun little bits. I adore the food world.

My stomach had been killing me ever since lunch, and although I wanted to go home and relax immediately after work, shopping on Fifth Avenue needed to happen. Yes, that’s right, it was a need.

After dropping more money than I should have, I headed back to Hoboken and picked up a more natural source of goodness to top my dinner salad:

You can guess what these are.

Sunshine Breakfast patties!

Though dry and crumbly, these were devastatingly good. Devastating because I will now want these permanently in my freezer and I’m not sure I have the budget for that. Damn.

Crumbled atop a bed of Italian greens, grated carrot, pickle slices and ginger-soy dressing, the Cholula-topped breakfast patty made the salad:

Spicy, sweet, crunchy perfection.

Part two of dinner was predictable:

Roasted acorn squash. Obvs.

I let this one roast for a hair longer than 30 minutes and it turned out extra roasty and sweet:

Almost candied top. And that's a garbage can in the background. Class.

I cozied up with So You Think You Can Dance and a dairy delicacy after dinner. I had to do it right after getting it so wrong in the afternoon:

The focus was clearly on the television. Woops.

As a wee one, I had terrible bouts of sinus infections. For years I took antibiotics that stripped my immune and digestive systems. Because of this, it’s imperative I get the good bacteria flowing after such a traumatic experience as the flu. Oikos was the pinch hitter on my road to recovery. (Sometimes I like to see how many cliches I can fit into one sentence, even if they’re used incorrectly.)

___________________________________________________________

Lately, (as in, when I was sick with nothing better to do) I’ve been thinking a lot about blogging. I love it to death. I love writing, other bloggers, readers, the discussions we have and sharing. What I’ve noticed, though, is that sometimes blog posts come across as: “Look what I can do!” or “Look how many miles I can run!” or “Look how creative I am!” or “Look at my self-proclaimed bossy outfit!” Obviously, I’m including myself in this.

Naturally, this reminds me of a Weezy quote in “Lala” in which he says: “I’m richer than all ‘uh y’all, I got a bank full ‘uh pride.” That’s what we love to do on blogs. We love to share things we’re proud of. I’m proud of vegetarian/vegan eats, my family, my friends, my accomplishments. The issue is, though, at what point does sharing what you’re proud of become bragging?

There are certain things that I’m extremely proud of that I refrain from writing or telling others for fear of it sounding like bragging. Or because that’s exactly what it is. Sharing my GPA does you no good. It only serves me.

So here are my questions that I hope spark an interesting discussion:
What’s the difference between sharing something you’re proud of and bragging?
-What are you most proud of? Feel free to share that thing that may come across as “bragging.” Whatever that is…

The difference between being proud and being prideful is a whole ‘notha story.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

65 Responses to ““I Got a Bank Full ‘uh Pride””

  1. 1 megzzwinsatlife

    You bring up a really interesting point and I never looked at it that way..

    When I started my blog it was to hold myself accountable and possibly inspire people along the way..

    hmm I have to think ab this one a little more.

  2. 2 Cassie in Madrid

    Wow I don’t think I’ve ever been a first comment but that is what you get for behind on the other side of the world! I’m glad you’re feeling good again, I hate when days can just be blah but I’m glad you got reintroduced to manicures- you reminded me that I need one myself!

    I think that bragging comes into play when you are just sharing something to get reactions from people, rather than just letting people know something you are TRULY proud of accomplishing. There are definitely certain things that are interesting and intriguing for other people to hear about and others that should just be kept on the low-down. It’s hard to draw the line though and sometimes I worry that something I am proud of may come across as bragging, so just keep it to myself. But I think it’s important to get some gratification in your accomplishments every now and then! I think that it’s easy to notice when it gets to be too much because that’s when people will stop reacting.

    http://www.cassieinmadrid.wordpress.com

  3. I’m always really insecure when it comes to sharing info, because I usually feel like I’m bragging. I’m probably not the best one to ask! I would like to see your shopping purchases, tho. πŸ™‚

  4. 4 Elise

    I love that you wrote about this! As a former blogger turned reader, I do notice that a lot… maybe especially because I’m not blogging myself. I think a huge reason some blogs are successful is because the blogger manages to expose some of their vulnerability while remaining generally positive. All humans (especially women. especially young adult women.) deal with vulnerability, self confidence issues, pride, joy, fear, etc. Some blogs are only outlets for the blogger’s self confidence, which is totally fine… but I know I enjoy reading blogs where the blogger exposes a little bit of themselves from each category. Not only does exposing your fears/vulnerability make you more likable, but it makes a blog such a more interesting experience.

    Anyway, moral of the story/Elise’s opinion: “bragging” is great– we are all excited for you… if we didn’t somehow feel invested in your life, no one would be reading your blog. But I think the most successful/best blogs pair that bragging with opening up to their readers about their faults or problems. Just my two cents.

    Rock on chica. You are awesome.

  5. Things that I think sound bragg-y I only share with close friends and family. General good fortune-type stuff I’ll share with the world, but if it’s about my accomplishments, I keep it to a select group.

    That said, there’s lots of evidence that women get passed up for promotions and such because we’re more likely to be concerned about seeming bitchy or conceited if we talk ourselves up than men are. It’s a fine line between good self-promotion and annoying-ness. For the record I think you’re walking it just fine.

  6. 6 Nicole G

    I just want to start by saying that you NEVER come across as if you’re bragging or overly full of pride. You are one of the sweetest people I’ve ever “met” LOL. I understand how you feel about sending the impression that you are bragging, but trust me you are not. Yes, you like to admit when your outfit is “bossy” or when your meal ideas are delish, but you also admit when things DON’T go so great. I personally am inspired by all that you share and think you have TONS to be proud of and love that you share it all with us.

    As for myself, I have alot of trouble sharing information, particularly good news. Compliments make me very uncomfortable and I’m sure that my lowish self esteem plays into that alot. I do however find it encouraging to read all the blogs of you wonderful ladies as you present the various sides of yourselves and cheer eachother on. Even though I don’t have a blog, just reading the all the different entries really reminds me that there are wonderful people out there who aren’t judgemental.

  7. 7 homegirlcaneat

    Def feel you on this. You already know that though. But I only blog about things or post pictures of ridiculous things I do that I know people will find amusing or get a laugh out from. I sometimes find myself being like hmmm do people actually care about this/why am I posting this picture of myself? So the I always ask, will people find this funny or annoying? If it da latter, then I don’t post it. I feel like blogging is ALL about community and inspiring others with encouragement and helping each other’s confidence… so bragging about oneself in a post only sparks people to compare themselves … which is the WORST! And it is basically apparent in cough most cough bloggers.

    Good thang we just post about boxes of crackers and Irish party buses… LOVE YOU SO MUCH AND JUST DREAMING ABOUT RUNNING WITH YOU ALONG OCEAN BEACH!!!

  8. Specific to blogs…just write about whatever you want to write about and if people don’t like it, they can choose not to read it. The internet is a beautiful thang.

  9. Great point!

    I think if you remind yourself of the difference before/while writing you’ll never stray..

    Thanks for posting that!

  10. I tend to be a modest person, so I don’t share a ton about personal accomplishments (or maybe I just don’t have any…), but I remind myself (and you) that we really are a sisterhood, and I consider a lot of you sisters my friends. I want to share in my friends’ successes and I want them to be excited about mine, so BRAG AWAY! I also think it does serve your readers to know that you are not just gorgeous, but brilliant as well and that your readers that are in school CAN have it all.

    Just love you, sweetie!

  11. ya know, i thought about this exact thing when i was posting about being on tv for operation beautiful. was i bragging? seeming conceited that i was on tv?

    My intention was to show off that I was proud of what I was doing, ie spreading the word about Operation Beautiful and how it can be such a great thing…

    and today I already got emails about something opposite of the sort. ah.

  12. I completely agree with Elise–it only comes across as bragging if you never seem to say anything you’re not proud of, either. For the record I’ve been a longtime Snackface reader and I’ve never considered you to be a bragger πŸ™‚ You work hard for what you achieve and that’s nothing to be ashamed of!

    PS-I feel you on the soy yogurt. I can’t make myself like it.

  13. Good point, I think I just write about whatever interesting/not so interesting things happened in my daily routine. No expectations. But then when people give me compliments on something I wrote about I rethink it. Did I come off as too full of myself? Should I have re-phrased that? What if I just offended 20 people and lost some of my precious readers??

    Too much thinking. I’d rather just pretend the only people reading are my parents and all I’m showing them is that their daughter is living a healthy life and having a good time.

    I’m with you on the antibiotics, I got so sick from taking them when I was little that now yogurt (or probiotics) is something I refuse to live without.

  14. 15 savoringsarah

    I agree with Mama Pea. I love bloggies & reading their blogs because it is so cool to hear about some of the amazing things all of you/us are doing/accomplishing/eating/wearing! I mean….if I thought someone was constantly blogbragging, I would just stop reading- ya know?

    I say if it makes you feel good, then there is a chance it could make someone else feel good so blogbrag away! It’s for a good cause πŸ˜‰

  15. 16 Ashley/Muffin

    The blogs I like the best are the ones where people are honest about their lives, shortcomings and all. I like to know what they did instead of how they’re feeling. Sometimes, blogs just feel like a resume-booster because people just say “my boss said good job to me today” or “my story got published.” Those things are nice sometimes, particularly if the blog/readers helped you get there and you’re thanking them too. But too much and I find myself rolling my eyes and not looking at that blog anymore.

    I’ve never had a personal blog because whenever I start to write a post, I feel like I sound like a huge tool. I’m also worried about putting my personal life on display and including family/friends who didn’t ask to have their lives broadcast online. So I am proud of Kailey (and other bloggers) who manage to do this artfully and gracefully enough to hold readers’ attention.

  16. I say, be proud and LOUD! πŸ™‚

  17. 18 amanda

    just a note about soy yogurts — i hate wildwood, too! but have you tried whole soy and co? their plain is sweetened, so it’s not really plain at all, but it’s not bad. and the fruit flavors are awesome. i usually buy the big container of vanilla. soy yogurt does not need to taste like feet! πŸ™‚

    • 19 snackface

      amanda- Whole Soy & Co’s are so much better, you’re right! I just felt like getting the probiotic-endorsed Wildwood for some peculiar, $.99 reason. Never again.

  18. oh my gaga i agree on the whole “blogs can be a bit braggy”. But blogs are all “me me me” anyways, so I think it is fine to an extent. I think as long as there is personality and creativity in posts, then I will continue reading.

    Girl, 5th ave. is amazing. I seriously cannot wait til I live here. cant wait til we meet and eat! peace out lil mama, time to shower and go see some museums!

  19. 21 Lindsay

    uhmm…. Grey strawberry??? No thanks. And I love the fushia nails, so hot.
    I agree with Mama Pea (she always gets it right, doesn’t she) so brag (inspire!) away πŸ˜‰

  20. snackface…how can i love thee more? i love that you brought this up, because i think sometimes its easy for people to brag/come off as bragging. ya know, everyone wants to feel good about themselves and it’s only natural. i think we are all guilty of it. however, i think it is up to people to have a sense of personal responsibility about what they blog. just taking a good look now and then, keeping yourself in check and being aware of your actions can only come from YOU.

    on a lighter note, i am soooooo glad you love the sunshine burger. although i agree a little too crumbly, they taste so friggin’ amaze that i don’t even care. i haven’t topped one over my salad and now i am tempted to do that.

    xoxoxoxo love youuuuuuu

    and i am glad i could help ya feel better πŸ™‚

  21. p.s. i have nothing cool to brag about. i got to bed at 8pm last night?

  22. How is it that you always manage to impress me with every new post you write. You have the uncanny ability to take one of those pressing thoughts/issues we’re all thinking, but overlook to actually bring to the table. The brag issue being a prime example of your talent. Coming from a position where I not only don’t have style, athletic strength/stamina/motivation, completely healthy/balanced diet-but mostly I don’t have a penny to my name in order to make the former list a priority. Not gonna lie… Envy/jealousy-whatever you call it has certainly snuck up in my thoughts while reading a lot of my favorite food blogs (yours included), and while I am ashamed and tell myself that I really have to let it go and accept that others are better off than me and can lead a bit more luxurious a lifestyle. I find myself getting a little peeved when I hear a blogger complain about budgets and then go buy a swanky new outfit or spend more on a specialty food item than I do on a weeks worth of groceries. Now don’t get me wrong… I actually LOVE hearing about those new goodies, and while I might initially feel offended and inadequate (which often intimidates me from even persuing my own blog, as I have nothing to show off that could compare), in the end, I like to live vicariously through these blogs (your blog) and maybe get a glimpse at what I could have or achieve as long as I keep working hard. So what I’m really trying to say, in the most long-winded manner, is that I love what you do and always see the humor in any/everything you write. While I think you have every right to brag… you never come across that way. Lame as I am… I am always inspired by your display of confidence (even if theres a load o’ insecurity hiding underneath) but mostly, your honesty. Rock on sister-friend. Flash those sassy fushia nails and continue to update us on your glorious fashion statements and snacky concoctions. LOOOves it!
    Mary Ann
    lilpauladean.wordpress.com

    • 26 snackface

      mary ann- Ah!! You are always way too kind to me! This is one of my top five favorite comments ever. Thank you, thank you, thank you. And awesome input for the convo!

  23. alrightiiiiiiiiie well I’m going to go delete my last post where I boasted about my spanish grades πŸ˜‰ I kid I kid.. totes get your point girl! Though blogworld is absolutely phenom, I do think that it encourages comparing ourselves to others, and consequently — perhaps feeling insufficient if we can’t “run a full marathon” or “eat a 100% vegan diet”. I’ll be honest, I used to be hesitant ever showing any meat that I eat on the blog because I thought i’d get shunned! Not okay.

    When it gets down to it — I think the major difference between being proud of yourself and bragging lies in the effort you put in to something… though I sound slightly hypocritical, because I didn’t put too much work in to my spanish grade that I boasted yesterday. I’m so vain.

    very thought provoking post, Snackie! and I love reading the other bloggerella’s comments.

    p.s. so many hugs and kisses to you for your comment on my “indulgence” post the other day, baby. I love that you are able to live your life with no regrets and you are SUCH an inspiration to me! You’ve really encourage me to just LIVE without allowing food and cals and yada yada yada to consume my every thought. Life is just way too short.

    I love you so effin’ much, beautiful! xo

  24. 28 ari

    amen.

  25. 29 Susan

    Wow, what an interesting point!
    I always read blogs and think “Wow, I wish I could do that/look like that/wear that” and I’m not so sure that’s a good thing. But I think that’s more my prob than the bloggers’. I wish I had your same confidence girlie (and I’ve never thought of you as a “bragger”!).

    • 30 snackface

      Susan- I so should have named the post Blogger vs. Bragger! Haha. Anyway, I think your point is very important. A lot of times bragging and blogging breed this need to compare one to that blogger. I do it sometimes, too. But then I realize, they’re not me and I actually like me. This probably happens to most of us from time to time. And you can totally have fab confidence, too, boo. I fake it until I make it everyday. πŸ™‚

  26. You mean blogs aren’t for bragging?? LOL I thought that’s what the B stood for! I kid! Hey, I feel like it’s your blog and you write what you like. If someone feels as if you are bragging, then they would most likely move on. I personally love reading about all your accomplishments (note, I called them accomplishments, not brag-lishments!) Write what you like, you are good at it!

  27. Daaaamn girl!!! Those nails are fierce! I’m in dire need of a manicure myself!!!

    As for the bragging issue, I say… if ya got, flaunt it! If people are upset, it’s only because they’re jealous! Be proud of what you’ve accomplished!! You go girl!

  28. 33 shell625

    im sorry you’ve been feeling a little off- i assure you, you are gorgeous and amazing!! i love those milton’s crackers..they are really good. hahah gray soygurt :-\ donno how i feel about that

    and i completely agree with you at the end. things in the blogging world do seem to get a bit competitive. it is oso easy to compare your eats to others and feel inferior to other people when they tlak about how far they ran or how healthy they ate. on the other hand, it encourages others to be healthier, and it promotes great ideas that ineve would have thought of (i-e– oatmeal combos, yogurt messes, etc.) i’m not sure where hte line is drawn.. i think it is important to be aware of what you are posting & how it may affect others.

    i’m proud of my grades this semester!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  29. Ooh deep thoughts miss snackyface. I have also thought a lot about this in terms of my workouts. When I ran a race a few months ago, I put my time on my blog and then thought…why did I do that? No one cares except me (and maybe my mom and dad). Anywho, I’m not sure what the line of distinction is – sometimes I feel that I am holding myself accountable when I put things like “running” in my blog posts, and other times I just feel like I’m bragging…interesting thoughts. πŸ™‚

  30. YAY!! Glad you’re back in prime snack-a-lackin’ action! I have yet to try those Sunshine burgers because I’m afraid my wallet and I may get into a screaming match. You know I get on food obsessions!

    Here are my thoughts: I think you should share the good news no matter what it is! This is your blog about YOU. I feel like any friend (bloggers = friends in my world) would be happy for their friend’s success. For example, I share what grades I get on tests because I work my ASS off to study for them. Plus if I bring up a big exam on the blog I feel like people may want to know how I did on it.

    Loves πŸ™‚

    • 36 snackface

      ksgoodeats- Ya know, I ALWAYS want to know how you do on your exams because I know how much you study for them. I love it. And you. πŸ™‚

  31. I think what Daria said is VERY IMPORTANT about women in the workforce earning significantly lower salaries than men of the exact same job and getting fewer promotions. There’s also a huge disparity in academia…there are now in many cases MORE women in college/grad school than men, but the number of women in tenure-track faculty positions is WAY lower. Same wage issues too. Women need to be more assertive and self-promoting!! If you’ve got it, flaunt it. (Note: I feel this works best for things you have worked hard for, not material bragging….i.e. bragging about your race times = TOTALLY JUSTIFIED, you worked hard for that!)

    As for blogs, I feel like it’s your personal life, your personal webpage. If people don’t like what they’re reading, they shouldn’t be reading! There is no reason to ever write a negative comment. If no one is reading your blog, then perhaps you have issues, but gaining readers/positive responses is only one part of blogging. Some people don’t care and just write as an outlet.

    ohhh goodness I just wrote an essay.

    • 38 snackface

      Anna- I like this essay. It’s so important to recognize what you’ve pointed out about women in the workforce. It’s infuriating. I’m all about flaunting things for which you’ve worked hard. Oh that sounded disastrous, but i was trying to avoid ending with “for.”

  32. try the soy vanilla yogurt from Silk..its amazing!!

    i totally understand that! i love my healthier eating style and when i try to tell other people i dont want to feel like im bragging or anything like that! such an interesting issue!

    -Lena

  33. great topic!
    i think everyone should just be who they really are on their own blog πŸ™‚
    it is your blog and you should do what you want and be honest and people will accept the way you are!
    jenna

  34. I guess the difference between being proud and bragging is in the presentation. When I share an accomplishment with you all, I do try to add some sort of way I did it, or lesson I learned through the act of accomplishing, rather than just sharing the basic facts. I think that’s what blogging is about. The EXPERIENCES rather than the bottom lines. I want what I post about to be meaningful and useful to anyone who might be reading it, however I would blog whether people read it or not. It’s a great oulet!

    Sorry for that monster comment, I hope it makes sense! Right now, I’m proud of the rockin’ risotto I made for me and my friend last night (FIRST timer!!) It was not only a cooking achievement, but I overcame some “fears of the kitchen” as well.

  35. Sunshine Breakfast patties–IVe never tried them but have heard that the Sunshine brand in general is an awesome non-soy vegan option. I just don’t crave burger thingeys that much to pop forthem but maybe I should πŸ™‚

    Pride, sharing, bragging. Girl I didnt even wanna tell anyone I was going on vacay. I am hesitant to post trip pics. 50% of the comments start out with…I’m so jealous. It’s a fine line. It’s fun to share but I never wanna piss anyone off or make anyone feel bad. People even feel bad sometimes if I post a half dozen powerbars that were swag. They write in saying I’m so lucky. So yeah, it’s hard. I never know how much to share. I’ve learned less is more. For me. For others who knows but for me, I am cautious. I still share, just not the full on wild version πŸ™‚

    • 43 snackface

      Averie- It is a very fine line between sharing and pissing people off, you’re right. And I feel like some bloggers have such great accomplishments/recipes/gadgets/swag that they can’t even help it. It’s just their lives. But that’s part of why we read. Oh! And about the Sunshine patties–they’re really nothing like other faux-burgers. You can see the rice, beans, corn, etc. I think you’d like them!

  36. ohhh. good Q. i agree with the 34 comments prior. and you are right, some blog posts can come off braggy. but yours~i mean.. all you do is brag about purchases of gaggy faux yogurt and how you would win in a puking contest. so.. yeah. πŸ˜‰

    cholula makes the world go round! so does oikos, i am glad you are embracing your inner greek yogurt loving self as of late.

    i think you have a lot to be proud of~especially with your career/internship accomplishments so i am so glad you share them with us ❀

    GLAD YOU ARE FEELING BACK TO NORMAL HONEY BUNCHES OF KAILEY!

    PS i didnt want to point out a grammar typo on here because i really don't care but i am going to because i know those kinda things drive you batty. not being a biotch~just making you squirm. cause i love ya. and you know it. and now you can go try to find it! haha!

  37. I think I read somewhere that bloggers are not so secretly a little self-obsessed, a little narcissistic, and more than a little braggy. I mean, a post is basically just about you – your interests, your day, your food, your thoughts…basically, everything about you (and I mean the very general blog you, as in all of us, not you specifically). However, other people want to read your posts because we care about you and think what you have to say is interesting and valid. It’s OK for you to either brag or share something that you are proud of – we support you and want to see you succeed. And if you aren’t doing so well and want to complain, we’re willing to listen to it and try to cheer you up. So share whatever you want, girl, because we want to read it. That’s what keeps us coming back for more Snackface!

  38. 48 Renee

    Okay, I recently found this blog and absolutely love it. I hate to cook, so I eat the same things all the time and you are providing lots ‘o good ideas and inspiration. I would be most appreciative if you would tell me at what temperature your roast your acorn squash and if you put anything on it before putting it in the oven. I want to try this at home! I have never roasted a vegetable in my life and I have been vegetarian (actually, closer to vegan) for over 30 years.

    Thanks so much for what you do, it’s a godsend for me.

    • 49 snackface

      Renee- Awww thank you for finding SnackFace and enjoying! The acorn squash is super simple. I crank the oven to 475*, wash the acorn squash, slice it in half and plop it on a baking sheet in the oven for 30-35 minutes. I don’t season it at all, but it would be lovely with a dash of cinnamon. Once it’s finished, I eat most pieces plain and some with raspberry fruit spread. Divine! Let me know if this works for you! πŸ™‚

      • 50 Renee

        Oh you are a goddess, thanks for the detailed instructions. I’ll give it a whirl this week! Thanks again so much for this blog, I find it really entertaining and informative, you are a natural.

  39. 51 SΓΌnne

    Great post! It’s really notable how honest you are about your thoughts. Personally, I think the difference between being proud of sth. and bragging means you’re like “I’m so happy to have a family like this!” as opposed to “Well, I don’t believe there’s any other family out there that’s nearly as great as mine”. It’s totally okay and understandable you want to share what makes you happy (do it, girl!) as long as you don’t degrade others (which, BTW, I don’t think anyone as nice as you would ever do).

    Oh, and your salad makes me hungry (and I’m not usually a salad fan)!

  40. Loving your blog lately. πŸ™‚

  41. hope you feel better ASAP lover!! lol gray yogurt? nastay. i would throw it away too

  42. I think of bragging as more of a continuous talk about oneself and your accomplishment. When someone just has to keep bringing it up that’s bragging.
    Most proud of myself right now for paying for my graduate school while teaching full-time and about to graduate next semester! Only took me two years…phew!

  43. Hey gorgie–the end of this post scared me for a sec when you said “lately i’ve been thinking a lot about blogging. i love it to death”…i was worried this was a goodbye or something!!!!!! hahaha, NEVER! You will never leave us! πŸ˜€

    Brown soy yogurt is a given when it’s fruity (i’ve discovered this long ago, since my pop’s only stocks his fridge with da soy!), but can still taste good–try a diff brand maybe! Those crackers are great though! That brand’s restaurant is actually near my home-town, it’s a cute deli!

    LOVE the nail color!! That looks very similar to the color i got for my bro’s wedding!! And i’m with ya, go big or go home. hahaha

    Feel ya on this topic, completely! I hate to admit this, but sometimes i’ll be reading a blog and just confused as to why they must brag about something to SUCH an extent…and make all of us who haven’t accomplished such feel so inferior! However, sharing information about something you’re proud/excited/nervous about is always welcomed and is what makes blogs so personal and great!! You just gotta know the fine line, i think! But hey, i’m sure i’ve bragged before….or maybe i don’t share my pride enough!! That is for me to learn, i guess! but keep doin’ whatcha doin’! LOVE YOU! Gettin’ ma hands on some sunshine lovin’ over break, foooo sho! They’re amaze!

  44. I think most blog readers are fairly savvy when it comes to figuring out who is blogging to brag versus those who are just sharing their lives. There is definitely a stilted quality to the writing style of the former. I sometimes read certain blogs and get the feeling that the posts are made in order to keep up with the Jones’ rather than express what is really going on in that persons life. I don’t get that feeling with your blog at all. You seem like someone who is very dedicated and determined. I admire the way that you take advantage of all opportunities that come your way. My husband and I own a business and I can tell you from sifting through hundreds of resumes that rarely do people in your age group demonstrate a similar work ethic. Keep it up Kailey!!

  45. Kaileyyyyy, you rock. Have you ever gotten that before? All the time? Oh, gee, figures πŸ˜‰

    I love your conversation starters, sometimes fun, sometimes serious, but always necessary πŸ™‚ A blog is an outlet for what matters to YOU, what’s on YOUR mind, and ultimately is all about everything that is YOU. I think that the entire premise is to share your life: ups and downs, faults and strengths, accomplishments and set-backs. If you (this could be anyone) weren’t looking for some type of feedback, conversation, interaction, etc. than you’d just write a private diary but a blog is public because the readers make up half of the equation. It’s a funny little game of give or take where hopefully both sides are benefiting. So if I’m interested in you then of course I care to hear/read about the amazing things you think and do… otherwise I wouldn’t read (or I’d write you nasty comments but let’s not even go there, those people are pathetic, haha). You have every reason to be proud of yourself, and I’m sure that all of your readers are proud of you too!

    Ooh so much wisdom for one day, love it.

  46. 58 Kristina

    Yay you’re feeling better! I get where you’re coming from with the ”bragging issue”, however I think you all bloggers have nothing to worry about πŸ˜€ I would love to see your grocery purchases!

  47. Great day of eats….except that strawberry yogurt. You’re right, if it is a sickly grey color – toss it out!

    Hmmm…bragging vs. sharing. I think you can say ANYTHING, if you are doing it from a point of genuine happiness and a desire to share then it will come across that way. False modesty is a waste of time, we deserve to crow about ourselves as much as we want.

    But when it sounds self-centered, a bit ‘this makes me better than you’, then it can be a bit off putting.

    But honestly, I’ve rarely seen that in the blogging world. I don’t know if I just see the best in people, or what, but I’ve really not come across a blog or a post where I thought ‘ughghg this person is bragging.’

  48. I am SO loving roasted acorn squash right now, yours looks so good! That soy yogurt also sounds great, I’ll have to look for it.

    I think that sharing an accomplishment is something you do very sparsely and with modesty. bragging is sharing compliments/awards you’ve received ALLthe time.

    Something I’m proud of: the fact that I decided to go back to therapy because I’m ready to work really hard.

  49. great postttt, gal sorry about that gray yog, i would have tossed that! but the acorn squash HELLOOOOO deliciousness!!!!

    I think that no matter what happens in your life, it is somethign you are proud of SHARE IT!! this is your blog and your life and I don’t think it is bragging at all if you have accomplished something that you are proud of! whether its making a new recipe, getting a good grade, getting a good compliment at work-all great things!

    Something I am proud of-I have been working way more on intuative eating, not following a ‘plan’ i eat what I want, when I want and so much happier πŸ™‚

  50. THOSE CRACKAS ARE BOMB! I JUST FINISHED A BOX YESTERDAY!!!!!!!!!

  51. 63 Sara

    I agree your blog is only for those who want to read it, BUT i still think that as a writer, you should appeal to everyone in that interest group – as you said in your post today. However, you don’t brag. That’s all!

    Seriously, I like your day-by-day plays because it’s so cool to see what you’re upto in THE big city, how your day compares to mine (we’re doing totally different things in different cities), and to live vicariously through you!

    You talk about things that matter to you – and that’s why we’re reading this blog. Things that matter, like school, modelling, are part of your everyday scene and so I wouldn’t consider it bragging… omg I just had the biggest christmas party lunch and am totally running out of fuel on this comment!

    I’ma end it here, in the middle. How rude. My point: You don’t brag, it’s interesting and fun to see what you, as someone else with an interesting and busy life, wore/felt/saw/did every day, and it’s very great (seriously, for lack of a better word) that you have these inhibitions about coming off as a big bragger while being a blogger! But please do continue to educate and expose your readers to things you’re part of and things that matter to you, that other people are interested in but not involved in – like the Food, Magazine, and Modelling industries!! Those capitals were to call attention, but sure they can be proper nouns… what the heck! πŸ˜›

  52. I almost forgot, I wanted to share a recipe with as you seem to love greek yogurt as much as I do πŸ™‚

    I make a taco salad dressing by mixing some chipolte salsa into the yogurt and adding cumin and red chili pepper…it’s an amazing protein filled dip for veggies, chips, or on top of a taco salad….if you ever try it out, let me know…The roomies and I are obsessed!

    -Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

    • 65 snackface

      Biochemista- Shoooo that sounds delicious! I’ma have to remember this next time I have everything on-hand!


Leave a Reply

