Blogettes in the City

07Dec09

Buongiorno bellas! Wow, I feel as though I’ve been away for so long! It’s been one hell of a weekend, and I hope yours has been spectacular as well.

Weekend anticipation began early Friday morning as I ellipticaled away the dark morning hours. You saw the evidence of that workout. Muhaha.

Once dressed and ready for work, I noshed on this gem of a bar:

Clif Peanut Butter Builder. Candy in the morning. Holla!

I ate half at home, half at the office. I really love the layers in this:

Like a peanut butter-topped, chocolate-coated Luna.

Work was work–busy and full of phone calls to strangers. At some point I ate an apple and dove into a little snack pack:

Pretzels, banana with almond butter and plain tempeh. Satisfying. For an hour.

I had a major energy crash and headache around 3pm. Managing to find the perfect solution, my head was back to normal and energy was kickin. Thank you, sugar-free Red Bull. You did give me wings.

However, all good buzzes come to an end. When I got home at 7pm, I wanted nothing but to watch T.V. and sleep. So that’s what I did. The only dinner picture I managed to take was of the salad:

Greens, tomato, cuke, tempeh, salsa and ginger-soy dressing.

What I didn’t picture were the carrots and 12 cups of almond butter that I snacked on later. Haven’t had a drop of almond butter since.

Saturday morning brought a thorough workout (including arm workouts that have me suffering still) and barrels of excitement. Why? Oh, only because I got to meet these amazing ladies for lunch:

Naturally, I'm the only goon with a pink umbrella.

Class of 2009: Lauryn, Moi, Missy, Kim, Megan, Brittany and Ashley. What a crew!

We dined at the quaint and cozy Curly’s, a very veg-friendly establishment. Having so many vegan options was completely overwhelming! I’m used to being able to choose a salad and order it sans chicken. Not here. As daunting as the menu was, as soon as mine eye stumbled upon the word “hush puppy,” I knew:

The barbecue 'fu platter.

The barbecue ‘fu was outrageous. It reminded me of my chicken-eating days. Alongside you see zucchini, brown rice, chili, hush puppies and–my absolute favorite part–maple soy butter. I ate one block of ‘fu, most of the veg, a few bites of chili and all of the hush puppies.

As if that wasn’t enough, a few of us decided to share this vegan masterpiece:

Peanut butter bomb. GASM.

You know that insane rule with desserts that goes something like, “Take only three bites because those are the best.” Well, I don’t abide by that. This cake was absolutely nuts. I think I had 20 bites. So there.

After lunch, Lauryn, Ashley, Brittany and I headed to Herald Square for a little shopping. I tried on the new Bombshell bra from Victoria’s Secret. Wondering whether it actually adds two cup sizes, I headed to the fitting room for a look-see. Whoah. Not natural at all. Also, with two thick inches of padding, no wonder it increases cup size. It was bullet-proof. I’m sticking with what I’ve got.

We browsed other stores for a bit and then decided to head back to Hoboken. I got to meet Ashley and Brittany’s dimey boyfriends at a bar. Turns out, dimey boyfriends also make great photographers:

They are gorge AND amazing.

I had a wonderful time with all the blogettes in the city (sung to the tune of “Hot Child in the City” in my head) and hope to meet up with the local gals soon!

There are no more foodie pics from Saturday, but an interesting incident did occur. I was at a bar and noticed a beautiful bartender looking at/creeping on me. For some peculiar reason, I was feeling bold and stared back. Twenty minutes later, a server dropped by the table at which I was sitting and delivered this note from the bartender:

Uhhh...

His number is at the bottom of the check. I have no idea what to do with this.

Sunday was an alarmingly perfect day in the city. I awoke at noon, showered and got ready, and then headed to Manhattan for the afternoon. The first essential stop was for food:

A Cosi lunch.

I picked the cheese off this salad (had no idea it was going to be on there):

Used a teeny bit of dressing atop the greens, pistachios, pear, grapes and cranberries.

And devoured this half of a hummus and veggie sandwich on whole grain flatbread:

Yum.

I saved the chunk of bread for an afternoon snacklette.

For the next five hours, I perused the shops on Fifth Avenue. This quickly turned from fun to torturous. From Anthro to Free People to Diesel to Intermix, I wanted it all. Why I’m not a millionaire is beyond me.

Thankfully, I was able to buy a couple goodies at the only place I ever shop, Forever21. Even that spending gave me a mini heart-attack. This week’s mission: Don’t spend money. OK, that would be impossible, but I’m going to try to keep track this week.

Anyway, by the time I got home I was exhausted and not even that hungry. I had three distinct cravings and went for them:

Apple, orange and Greek yogurt. Succumbed to the craving and not apologizing for it.

If I’m going to buy dairy, however, I’m going to make sure it’s organic:

Oikos, you are so delicious.

I spent the night watching many episodes of Curb, later eating a piece of bread and eventually hitting the hay.

After such a glorious weekend, I’m not ready for this work week! I wish you all fabulous starts to the week.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: To call hot bartender or not to call? That is the question.

76 Responses to “Blogettes in the City”

  1. ah girl πŸ™‚ So happy we finally got to meet and of course I love you even more than I thought possible! haha. had so much fun with you! Totally should have bought the BOMBSHELL bra… DD’s here we come!

  2. 3 megzzwinsatlife

    So nice meeting you girl!! I am going to aim for those 5:30 am workout so hopefully I will see you at the gym soon. If not we should def head out for a night as I mentioned I go out a lot! haha

  3. Love the blogger meet up photo!!

    CALL HIM!!! πŸ˜‰

  4. what is curb? ahaha kailey-you are a male magnet! that note from the bartender is hilarious! whoooop get it gurl! I love CLIF bars too- i had the PB this am! I am dying to come to NYC-so jelous of the bloggie meet up for real! sounds like a great weekend love!!

    • 7 snackface

      kbwood- Hey shoog! Sorry, Curb is short for Curb Your Enthusiasm! I linked it just in case πŸ˜‰

  5. 8 a

    CALL!
    A phone call is very escapable if hes horrid. A phonecall is also a small step away from something else if hes awesome.

  6. 1.) I devoured a jar of AB in a matter of 17 hours this weekend, no shame.
    2.) also spent too many hours than Im willing to admit watching Curb, The Office, Old Top Chef re-runs, Entourage and Paula’s Party. Mind you, I’m not a TV watcher or rather, wasn’t one before this weekend.
    2.) I say take the flattery for all its worth, as you are indeed GORGEOUS, but to avoid potential harassment charges or plain old shade-ball stalkerness-I vote NAY to returning a phone call. I worry that vain attraction to your beauty over your personality (as he clearly doesnt know you yet) is a sign that he aint for you. Now if you caught a glimpse of this guy and he resembles nothing less than a Brad Pitt in his prime- feel free to ignore all previous mention of vanity and call the dude!
    Good luck,
    MA

  7. You go girl! If he was cute and you’re interested. If not, save it!

  8. Ehh… he sounds sorta creepy, sistah. But if he was dimey and such, then hellz yea give him a call! I would call from a different number tho, ya know, just in case.

  9. The beautiful bartender needs to grow a pair and talk to you, don’t do his work for him. I’d go back to the bar and let him approach you and see if he’s worth your time.

  10. 13 Katie

    Totally call him. What’s the worst that can happen? You go out with him and end up having to use the mace in your pocket (that you should most def have because you are a single girl in NY) and get a workout in by running away from him. Poifect. πŸ™‚

  11. That is so awesome you had a bloggy meetup! I’d love to do it. Was the guy cute? I’d call him. πŸ™‚

  12. I think it’s a little strange that he was willing to provoke intense eye contact with you but was unable to give you his number himself, although most boys/men are a little strange so this could just be his one little quirk. You may have just found a shy but studly man in your urban jungle who could probably hook you up with free drinks – I say call him!

    • 16 snackface

      Anna- See, most men stare and then don’t do anything. I think even a mere note is bolder than what normally happens (AKA nada). But who knows!

  13. 17 Natalie

    hey girl hey! text him, duh. if anything you could at least get a free dinner and a few drinks outta the deal! πŸ™‚ get it girl.

  14. 18 tangerinesandmarmalade

    Umm CALL hot bartender! And that peanut butter cake is torturing me through the computer screen.

  15. CALL HOT BARTENDER!!!

  16. I would say..do NOT call this guy. Cmon..he gave you a note on a serving pad.
    He can try harder πŸ™‚

    • 21 snackface

      jocelyn- Hahaha I like this. I failed to mention that I ran into him en route to the bathroom. I asked him if the note was from him and what his name was. Damien not only looks fiiine, he also has a sexy accent. Decisions, decisions.

  17. 22 traynharder23

    hahhaah i’m torn between calling or not calling.

    call. =D

  18. CALL. ain’t got nothing to lose. just make sure you meet up at a very public place, and have a friend call you with an emergency (very charlotte from SATC) in case you want to skedaddle.

    mama…i miss you. is that weird? its only been a couple days since we chatted. ummm, i am loving that veg-friendly restaurant and all those beautiful bloggers. glad you had a wondrous weekend and i laughed out loud at the bulletproof bra comment. love it.

    have a wonderful day lady…love youuuuuuu!

    xxxxx holly

  19. For a headache when out and about I take a small bottle of pediolyte found in the baby aisle of any pharmacy. What it does is retores your electolytes and re-hydrates you quickly and it is commonly used for babies with a cold and flu. ( also good for a hangover and before a work out)
    Two years ago the New York times did an articele on rehydrating NFL players through a football game using pediolyte instead of gatoraid.
    It works like a gem, but mix it with something as it needs some extra juice as they all taste yucky
    It’s snowing here finally, last year we were skiing at this time
    Go see the tree at Rocefeller Centre AND HAVE A HOT CHOCOLATE ooo and there is a godiva chocolate store right there too πŸ™‚

    • 25 Aunty Snooze

      When I was your age I would go out with your mother the blonde bombshell model. We called her our blonde bait as the guys would just swarm around her and we would get the leftovers. Da call the guy

  20. Glad to see you had your snacks with you! πŸ™‚ SO important. And about the guy, if you thought he was hot, give him a call! If not, then I wouldn’t bother. Glad to see you blogging! I kept checking in but to no avail, LOL! πŸ™‚

    • 27 snackface

      Jessica- Ah! Sorry for the absence! I plan on blogging during the weekdays and taking the weekends off, I suppose. I hope that’s OK witchoo!

      • Sounds good my friend. I am new to blogging, and it’s kind of under construction still, but you can check it out. Any advice would be appreciated! I’m learning as I go πŸ˜‰

  21. Uhh you definitely need to call him– what do you have to lose? Life is short, live it up!!

    Oh, and you better let us know how it goes πŸ˜‰

    bec xo

    • 30 snackface

      rebecca- A part of me is always looking for a story, which means, a part of me REALLY wants to call! Haha. Of course, I’ll report back with deets.

  22. 31 homegirlcaneat

    OMG that meet up makes me sad that I was not there to DEVOUR THAT PB CHOCO CAKE WITHCHUUUUU! Gorgeous ladays in the city!!! All wearing black and then some goon with the pink umbrella, ‘ella, ay, ay. πŸ˜€

    OMG I am peeing my pants at the bartender’s little note to you. I LOVE when these things happen to you because they happen pretty frequently and I DIE every time. PLEASE call him and just be like, oh hai. It would make a great post. DIFLB = DO IT FOR THE BLOG.

    LOVE YOU

  23. Text him!! Do it!! πŸ˜‰

  24. I agree, I’m a little creeped out by the note. I mean, why didn’t he just come over and talk to you? He could have actually said something to you besides, “Your hot, call me” which kind of rubs me the wrong way, and then he could have asked for your number which wouldn’t put you in this awkward spot. Like somehow you are just supposed to be falling all over yourself to call HIM.

    What do I know, though? I haven’t been single in about 8 years. πŸ™‚

    That ‘fu platter looks EXTRAORDINARY!

  25. call call call!!!

  26. woohoo! sounds like one awesome weekend! Love the eats. That peanut butter bomb looks out of this world! wow. Have a great day!

  27. 36 MamaJ

    As a former bartender I have an opinion of my male co workers… 50% were womanizing pigs and 50% were great guys. The great guys were not that good looking. Bartenders see a fresh crop of faces daily so you be the judge. Fantasy is always better than reality. Luv you.

    • 37 snackface

      MamaJ- Thanks for the words of wisdom, Mumsy. I’ll probably end up listening to your advice.

  28. It was great meeting you on Saturday!

  29. I so agree with your MamaJ (probably because I am the mother of a stunning 16 year old girl)! How many times do you think this guy has had a server deliver a note like this for him? That’s not to say that you aren’t worthy of his attention, because you are, but you are also worthy of someone making an effort to speak to you in person.

    That cake looks unbelievable!!!! I have been reading your blog for awhile–first time commenting though!

    • 40 snackface

      JenniferfromLaJolla- Thank you so much for commenting and reading! Hahaha I love that you’re siding with MamaJ. I should probably listen to you two. I still haven’t decided!

  30. don’t feel guilty for the greek yogurt girlie, it’s delish. we all need to give ourselves a break now and then. oh, btw, the note thing’s a little creepy, but at least he knew how to spell gorgeous πŸ˜‰ i like me a boy who can spell! lol

  31. hhahah you crack me up Kailey – thank you for pointing out that the naturals are what we should stick to…jeez 2 layers of padding might even make one bomb proof.

    Jeepers creepers…bartender huh? If he’s beautiful…no harm in getting to know someone, but who knows how many notes this man has tried passing. Just watch out for yourself dear!! Play safe. πŸ™‚

  32. Looks like you had lots of fun, that vegan chocolate bomb looks divine x

  33. 44 julie

    call!!! do it girl πŸ™‚ do it up while you’re in manhatt. carrie would..

    haha

  34. Call call call!! haha OR just go back to that same bar again sometime and chat it up, assuming that he is working though. πŸ™‚

    ~Gina

  35. 46 Jennifer

    I always say “what do you have to lose?” Plus, I just want to read about it on your blog!!! πŸ™‚

    P.S. Just catching up … your grandma is ADORABLE!!! I love her.

  36. Man was classified as ‘hot’. Call away chica!

  37. 48 shell625

    i adore cosi πŸ™‚ it is the bomb.com! & that pic is adorable..love your pink umbrella!! i also want to try that clif bar- ive seen it in the stores but never bought it

    xo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  38. Woah woah woah hot stuff!!! Well…I’d say go with your gut. Maybe text the bartender a bit first? And then if things are going well, head out in a group? What are you feelin?

    PS: no worries about your pink umbrella. Mine is white with bright pink, orange, & green polka dots πŸ˜€

  39. 50 Sara

    MamaJ and the mama underneath her gave the best advice!!! he does see new faces everyday but perhaps he is in the better 50% of his crew and does NOT have the balls to deliver a note every time, but this time he truly thought you were special so he manned up and delivered!
    I say go back to that bar on a night you think he might be working and see if he eye contacts you again, and how it goes from there! “go to the bathroom” so you can try to bump into him just to see what he says…. you could end up calling him and he may not even remember you! i have been in that situation… the morning after an interesting dance floor night, i bumped into a guy from who was all up on my roommate, in the grocery store i had no clue he worked in (STOCKBOY!) and… no recollection. AWKWARD, so i turned around, which would have been equivalent to a hangup on the phone (less awkward). if you call him, do it from a different ph#. at least you didn’t give him your business card so no awkward phone calls at work this time!

  40. Call him! It could be interesting. Just make sure he isn’t a creepster and be with friends if you go out with him!

    Oh, and my mom bought that bra from VS and I saw her wearing it the other day. Oh. My. God. Wayyy too unnatural. I told her that they [her tatas] were going to come up and whack her in the face if she wasn’t careful. Ha!

  41. Great meeting you on Saturday! Let me know when you and Megan go out for drinks! I am there!

  42. glad you had a great weekend! i dunno what you should do, depends on whether he was cute or not πŸ˜‰ hah.
    jenna

  43. 54 Rachel

    He definitely should have asked for your number. I hate it when guys put the ball in your court…they should be chasing you!! If anything you should just text him or go back to the bar he works at and “bump into him” there. That way you could see and talk to him without it being TOO ackward.

  44. 55 dorothy

    id say call just to see what comes of it!!! if hes a creep, what can ya do. but itll be interesting anyway plus youre in the citaay anything can happen! πŸ˜‰

  45. How beautiful was this bartender? That is the REAL question? : )

  46. now that bartender knows whats up! sounds totes superior to the last “homeboy” … get it girl! he could score you free draaaaaanks.

    bah you are killing me with these bloggie meetups .. I am about ready to walk my buttski to NYC right now. Better grab one of those power bars to fuel me through the trip. Nommmmmie!!

    you so fine πŸ™‚ <3! xo

  47. Looks like you had an amazing weekend! And now I must get my hands on a Clif Builder’s bar…

  48. Love the photo, so cute! And your pink unbrella is so adorbs.

    Don’t you just love going to veg-friendly restaurants? The first one I went to was funny because I didn’t understand that I could order whatever I wanted!

  49. The cross section of that Clif Builder’s bar looks to die for. Mmmm PB! Way to rep the pink with your umbrella (ella, ella, ey, ey)! SO JEAL of your meet ups!!

    Hot damn THAT is a veggie meal and dessert you enjoyed. I wonder if they ship their meals to MI!? Bullet proof bras remind me of Austin Powers πŸ™‚ Yay for Cosi!

    As for the bartender – call but be careful! Some bartenders can be total creeps/skeezeballs but then again, what guy can’t?! Keep me posted, mamacita!

  50. 61 bananasun

    call! call! call! call!!

    xx

  51. 62 Cassie in Madrid

    I’m so jealous of all your fabulous NYC meet-ups. That cake looks absolutely amazzzzing. And bartenders are NEVER bad contacts to have… just sayin’.

  52. Well, you SAY he’s gorgeous, and he is a bartender which means free drinks (obvi)…haha I wasn’t there to analyze the “creep factor” though, so let us know what you decide!!

    Jealous of your awesome bloggie group looks like a blast!

  53. 64 foodcents

    Was that the bartenders idea of an “Operation Beautiful” note???? πŸ™‚

    Go with your instinct, but remember that it is kind of douchey of him to send over a note, vs. finding a way to chat with you for a bit. Whatever you do, be safe!!!

  54. Me thinks NO on the bartender front. NYC has SOOOOO MUCHO MORE to offer in the dimey boyzzzz. Plus bartender salary does not allow for the wining and dining and Fifth Avenue-ing you deserve. Is that materialistic? My b.

    That said, I do like his handwriting.

    Um my sister bought that bra hahaha. It is the MOST UNNATURAL thing ever; the intense cleave it creates actually looks painful. And it seriously is the stiffest thing ever. Her boy calls it her cement bra.

    Need to see you in all your natural beauty, like, NOW.

    LOVEYOUUUUU

  55. So I *just* posted this on K’s site in response to her eating a big Pro Protein 20g bar.

    “Those bars are actually fake tasting in a good fake way if that makes sense. I admit to liking most fake bars, that one included! And yes, closer to candy than anything. That Clif White Choc mac nut…bought that last week with high hopes. I just reviewd 2 clif’s today on the bloggie (informally) and I swear, years ago they tasted better to me. GAve up all bars for like 3-4 yrs and recently have gone back to them but am hopelessly disappointed usually.”

    So you eating the Clif builder makes me wonder if I am just eating the wrong Clif’s. they all seem bland and meh to me.

    The bartender. If he was normal or classy, he would have sent over a glass of wine or nice coffee or anything! with the note. The fact that he didnt actually even introduce himself and sent someone else to hand u the note…well, I like BOLD men. But honey, do as you see fit!

    Anthro & Free People are 2 of my fave labels.

    And way to work what you’ve got. I wish I was an A cup. I hate what I’ve got. Hate it. Another topic but good for you!

  56. 67 Rebecca

    Here’s what I would do: (over)analyze the note from a grammar standpoint (cuz I’m all up on the English language like that). “I’d love to know you please.” What kind of a sentence is that? I’ll tell you: no sentence at all. I did read above that he had an accent, so maybe the awkward please is a result of second-language–still. Weird. Also, I’m not all about the word “love” here. It’s a wee bit too…creepy for a random note.

    However, he did spell gorgeous correctly, which is key.

    I wouldn’t call him–he seems a little…skeezy. Then again, I am in an interminable single funk, so what do I know? πŸ™‚

  57. Now that I have broken the ice and commented once, might as well jump in a second time-right? I agree with Rebecca (above) I thought the “I’d love to know you please” line was really too much. English might not be his native language, but puh-lease–“I’d love to know you”?! Sounds like he means in the biblical sense if you ask me. Okay, this West Coast mom will go back to advising her own children now… πŸ™‚

  58. CALL HIM! but make sure he isn’t out to date-rape you or something horrid πŸ˜‰

  59. 70 evan

    This has actually happened to me at Trader Joe’s in Union Square – 3 times in the past 4 years of college!!! I actually called one of the guys once, and he was really sweet…but I kind of just did it for the story, it never turned into a meet n’ greet or anything. I’d just trust your instinct…you can always meet up with him in a very public place and have an escape route, or call him and not even meet up…or not call him at all! You’re a beautiful girl in NYC and trust me, this is probably going to happen to you many, many times.

  60. So he was hot?? CALL!! I just wonder how awkward that phone convo’s gonna be….you’ll make it work though!! hahaha however, it seems like blog land is giving him a big fat NO, so maybe wait for a better, more handsome, (richer??), fellow to come along! πŸ˜‰

    Sounds like you had a gloriousss weekend and kept yo’self plenty busy! I agree–shopping is always so much fun but can honestly get exhausting after several hours! Shopping is cardio, ya diggg?! I think the exhausting part has more to do with trying clothes on!! That gets tiring, for some reason.

    Okay…and all this vegan food (well, including the non-vegan YOG…which is one of my fave brands) looks delish!!!! i want BBQ TOFU. and you girls are gorgeous!!

    LOVE YOU!

  61. CALL!

  62. LOVE blog meet-ups & so cool you got to meet with so many!!

    I’d say call him–although it’s a bit of a shady move on his part(why didn’t he just come talk to you!), you never know, he could be your long lost lover πŸ˜›

  63. Calling a stranger can be super-awkward, so I agree with the people who suggested you go back to the bar to see if he’s working. If he remembers you, maybe chat with him a bit there before making any further commitment. Hot + accent deserves a chance ;-).

  64. OOOO the tempeh looks so good! Do you buy it flavored or do it yourself?

  65. i agree about the kind words on miss ashley. she is a DOLL~i was lucky enough to hang with her in san fran. but i still need to get to the east siiide to see YOU and what seems like every other blogger on the planet.. nobody comes to utah…


Leave a Reply

