She Get It from Her Grandma

04Dec09

Happy Friday gorgeous people! I can already sense that this post is going to be all ova the place. Get ready.

I’ve already had my Friday morning workout, and I promise I’m working on the cell phone pics of the Jerz Guids. The first one I tried to capture actually caught on to what I was doing! Not willing to succumb to defeat, I tried again with another unsuspecting victim:

Clearly, I need to work on this. I'm sure he loved that mirror, though.

You can’t even tell how Guido he was. You just have to trust me.

Back to Thursday, though. I could barely pull myself out of bed. Having woken up Wednesday at 5am and then going to bed Thursday at 1am, my body was completely exhausted. I womanned up, got ready for work and was at my desk by 8:35am for a little breakfast:

Festive.

With my daily coffee, I tried the gingerbread Clif. Although delicious, soft, chewy and cookie-like, it’s not as good at the pumpkin pie flavor. However, I recommend both. And they’re much better than the cranberry orange nut bread flavor. If you were wondering.

I was chugging along with my day and then at 10am, WHAM. I felt nauseated, dizzy when walking, headachey and generally disgusting. For the rest of the work day I tried to convince myself it was all in my head. Such a lie.

At one point I snacked on a banana:

With a magazine, naturally.

I’m of the belief that food is the cure for all. I’m not sure why I think that, but I find that most times it helps.

Lunch was a packed hummus, tempeh, romaine salad:

Bizarre lighting.

And a very arty apple:

Love the plates here.

After lunch (which wasn’t eaten until 1:40-ish), the health went downhill. I felt worse and worse. Despite my boss’s encouragement to go home, I remained ornery and pushed through the last couple hours.

The walk to the train was not fun. I thought I was going to fall over and throw up on someone. I found relief while sitting, waiting for the train:

Me and my boot, waiting.

Keeping myself amused, obviously:

Still waiting.

The treacherous trek home included a CVS trip and a market perusal.

Again, I turned to food for a solution:

A snack plate.

This is a mere representation of all the Newman’s Own Organics protein pretzels, carrots, peanut butter and hummus consumed. I staged that especially for you. πŸ˜‰

Not particularly wanting it, but feeling that something dinnery was necessary, I warmed up some Amy’s:

Unrelated, but I removed the hot pink polish last night.

It didn’t make for a pretty picture:

This was later doused with Cholula.

Feeling better already, I figured, why stop?! Up next:

Weetabix with almond butter, raspberry preserves and almond milk.

When mashed together, this created a dough that was ridiculously good. The Weetabix flavor is reminiscent of a cake cone, so once mashed with everything above and allowed to soak for a few minutes, this was absolutely to live for. Do it.

An hour or so later, I really wanted popcorn. The closest thing I had to that was Kashi Go Lean. How sad! I’m normally irked when people show little palmfuls of food, but this is exactly how I ate it:

Sarah, this one's for you.

Multiply that by 127 and that’s how much I ate.

During all the snacking and lounging, I watched Vh1’s 100 Greatest Hip Hop Songs. Amazing. Also, MamaJ and I were texting the whole time.

Her mom, Nannykins, is staying in Cinci with the fam for a month or two. Nannykins hails from Canada and after the pic messages I received, I now fully understand why I am the way I am. I get it from my grandma.

At the age of 83, Nannykins is still bossy and working it:

Killin' it in Forever21.

MamaJ even texted: ” You should have seen her in the wedged pink shoes.” I’m bummed I’m missing out on this!

As I’ve said before, I also get it from my mama:

MamaJ's new hat. SO. FIERCE.

It all comes together:

Feeling like poo, but still doin' work.

That’s three generations right thurr.

This weekend is going to be spectacular! There are so many blogettes and dimey men to meet that I can hardly contain myself! You bet I’ma listen to Nannykins when she tells me I’m not having fun unless I’m getting into trouble.

Have fabulous weekends, everyone! Love you!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Who are you most like in your family/ after whom do you take? (Or, asked non-properly, who do you take after?) Also, out of curiosity: Do you wear hats? I don’t, but think I should get into that!

77 Responses to “She Get It from Her Grandma”

  1. Looove your boots!

    I am seriously JUST like my dad – not only do we look a lot alike, but we think alike too. It’s crazy, haha.

  2. 2 Lizzy

    Girl i hope your feeling better! i need to join a gym asap so i can drool over men while working out!!!

    Your grandma, mommaJ and you are soooo adorable. i love the fact that gma is wearing that sparkly hat, she is soo freakin adorable! πŸ™‚

    i take after my dads side of the family, which consists of loudly obnoxious laughs and jokes being cracked every 5 minutes! hehehe

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. Hahah food was my cure yesterday, as well. Shocker, I know.

    I looove the currreal pic–though, I think I should advise you that 3/4 cup is recommended portion size for Kashi Go Lean. Yea, made that up. But it could be. I think that at the time you were Kashi-ing, I was popcorning. So if you can bring yourself back to that moment of popcorn craving, you can live vicariously through my taste buds. Sounds good, no?

    What needs to REALLY be addressed: NANNY. I think our bossy nannies need to meet and play!!! Maybe we can invite them to happy hour sometime. LOVEYOU

  4. Hahah food was my cure yesterday, as well. Shocker, I know.

    I looove the currreal pic–though, I think I should advise you that 3/4 cup is recommended portion size for Kashi Go Lean. Yea, made that up. But it could be. I think that at the time you were Kashi-ing, I was popcorning. So if you can bring yourself back to that moment of popcorn craving, you can live vicariously through my taste buds. Sounds good, no?

    What needs to REALLY be addressed: NANNY. I think our bossy nannies need to meet and play!!! Maybe we can invite them to happy hour some time. LOVEYOU

  5. Haha MY B. Didn’t mean to comment twice. But I last minute caught my “sometime” and inserted a space–but WordPress called me out.

  6. 6 jessica

    Woo CANADA!!!! YEA! I actually just got so excited to post a reply that I launched my phone across the room.. whoops. There are only a few Forever 21’s in Canada so we get pretty excited when we see one!

    Answer: If I cut my hair short and wore brown contacts I would be my momsie’s twin. However, she has quite the pancake bum whereas mine is of the ghetto variety.

    πŸ™‚

    • 7 snackface

      jessica- Hahahaha I’m dyin. Shoo isn’t Le Chateau the Forev21 equivalent? Or maybe it used to be back in the day. But I know what you mean!

      • 8 Sara

        Le Chateau is 100x more expensive for no reason whatsoev

  7. 9 Katie

    I read your blog ALL.THE TIME. and adore it and you! The three generations amaze.ing! Hope you feel better and have a great weekend!
    Katie

    • 10 snackface

      Katie- Ah! Thanks for being amazing and so sweet! Hope you have a fab weekend as well!

  8. boo boo, i feel terrible u are feeling nasty and sick! I always turn to hot sauce and soup to cure me up, so I have no doubts you will feel better. I am kinda obsessed with your stalker pic taking because I do it at work too (with my food, tho, not guidos–i wish) I am so excited for our MOnday togeths! Do u work on Tuesdays? If thats a no, then perfection!!!! Your gma is so bossy, just like mine. I am like my grandma a ton, but also my dad in some ways, and my hippe aunt who lives in connecticut on a beach– ugh want her life. when we are going out to dinski, I vote on mediterranean or anything with hummus….or sushi. veggie sushi? yummmmm.

    gotta go chica,

    love ya lots!

    lolomon

  9. I LOOK just like my pops, but I act nothing like anyone in my family. Such a black sheep. Of course Mama D. and I share similar tastes in books and such, but she is much to reserved to be my madre. Love the woman, even though she has no clue how she gave birth to me.

  10. Your grandma is so cute!!! I totally though of you yesterday while we were watching True Life – Jersey Shore. Those guys are for real!

  11. 14 Nicole G

    HEY! New commenter, long-time reader lol. Soo, lookswise, I’m just like my momma. In terms of my temperament and personality its funny because I’m JUST like my stepdad, just goes to show how much environment can effect a person.

    And hats? Not so much. Except of course for drunkenly demanding that any caps worn by guys be modeled by me for the night.

    • 15 snackface

      Nicole G- Thank you for coming out of the commenting closet! Woopwoop! Uhh, about the hats, I don’t know anyone else who does that… Haha

  12. Love the outfit!

    And I want to try that clif bar!

    I’d love for you to check outmy blog – giveaway coming and workout songs!

    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

    Katie

  13. So cute you and your family are!:) Hats are the best! Especially for bad hair days. I take most after my Mom. I never thought I did until I moved out and got married. I’m just a mini me version:)

  14. I think I’m more like my dad but with a twist of mum, if that makes sense!

    I love to wear hats I think your grandma would appreciate this one!

    http://www.saladandsequins.com/2009/11/yougurt-frenzy.html

    x x

    • 19 snackface

      Tamzin- So, just checked out your link. A) You are adorable. B) That hat is adorable. C) Your blog is adorable.

  15. Your family looks so cute! Glad you are feeling better…

    I definitely take after my Mom in looks but my Dad in personality. Although my mom is a STICK right now because she has gone through her mid life ” i want to be hot and skinny” phase… but I have to give it to her.. she really looks amazing.

    Anywho, I went to a place in NY I think you’d like today.. Cafe Orlin in the East Village. AMAZING HUMMUS AND PITA!! you should try it out!!

    Let me know if you ever want an eating buddy πŸ™‚

    Jamie

  16. 22 Natalie

    i am so much like my mom & grandma, which is a great thing because they are fabulous woman and have raised great families and lived happy full lives, i have alot to look forward to! have a fun weekend girlfriend!

  17. 23 Natalie

    women****

  18. 24 Little Bookworm

    Hope you feel better soon!

  19. 25 tangerinesandmarmalade

    I loved this post for many reasons:
    a) covert cell phone picture taking is always an excellent idea when you want to embaress yourself, but it has hilar results
    b) your g-ma has got it goin’ on
    c) bossy boots were pictured

    have a stellah weekend!
    ps- try heating the gingerbread clif in the micro. it makes it 10000x better!

  20. 26 megzzwinsatlife

    I just found your blog from Ashley because of the meet up tom.. I also go to NYSC in hoboken and I recognized it from your pic of the guido. I am excited to meet you tom πŸ™‚

    • 27 snackface

      megzzwinsatlife- Ahhh!!! I’m so pumped! That’s hilarious you could recognize NYSC from that pic! See you tomorrow!

  21. Oh the fierceness! Now I have a very realistic glimpse of your future, between Mama J and Nannykins. I wonder if Nannykins has any idea that that image is being sent out across the world.

    I sincerely hope you feel better, honey. Hopefully you will get some rest this weekend!

  22. i hope you feel better girl!

    I love your posts, they always make me smile, filled with postivity and supaaaah cute photo’s I love that plate that your aplpe was on too! I love plates taht aren’t the typical round shape, just georgeous πŸ™‚

    loved the guido pic haha…did you catch jershy shore last night? I didnt but watched half on my comp today, oh boy its too entertaining for worrrdssss

    happy friday my dear!

  23. oh goodness all those generations!! ow owwww!

    your posts are so energetic..we would be such great friends fo real. i DEF like the pumpkin pie clif way better than gingerbread!

    HAPPY FRIDAY- feel BETTER beautiful

    im like you-take after my momma & gma!

  24. 31 claire

    so thanks for perpetuating the new jersey “guido” stereotype-i hope you know that not everyone from jersey is a guido. being from new jersey (obviously) myself, i really hate it when people stereotype all guys/people from new jersey that way. its actually pretty offensive, considering most of the people that are actually “guido” (if you want to use that term) are not even from new jersey. thats greatly shown in mtv’s AWESOME new tv show “the REAL jersey shore”-only one person is actually from new jersey, but they still stereotype new jersey as “guido”. …so thanks! way to stereotype!

    • 32 snackface

      claire- Hey girl, thanks for the input. I don’t intend to perpetuate a stereotype at all, but I see what you’re saying. I apologize for offending you. Trust me, I know not everyone from Jersey is a guido, and even more importantly, anyone I’ve talked to from Jerz has been fab, no matter his or her appearance. This is just how I keep myself amused at the gym. Also, I find most of the males I deem “Jerz Guids” to be rather attractive. But why don’t I just play the dumb blonde card and apologize now for my stupidity. Stereotypes for all!

      • i’m a jersey girl, born and raised, and i think the jerz guid sh!t is funny as hell. πŸ™‚

    • 34 Kate G.

      oh goodness i think someone is taking snackface a liiiiiitle bit too seriously….

  25. hahaha nannykins is a STAR. so fierce. i love it. i wonder if she knows that she is on the internet, now. and that everytime someone googles nannykins her gorgeous, glowing fact will appear?

  26. 36 Nadia

    Hope you feel better!
    Can you possibly tell me what your elliptical routine is as far as the levels you adjust the machine to? I always hear people saying they are worn out after an elliptical session but even if I go for 45 minutes, I never feel like I’ve gotten as good a workout as I would on the treadmill. Thanks!

  27. 37 Zaineb

    Awww, poor snackface. Good to know u still work it even when ur insides ain’t working (too far?) anyway, just wonderin’, have u tried GOLEAN crunch? in my personal opinion(said in a serious voice), it kicks regular goleans healthy behind πŸ™‚ Oh by the way, i lurrvve those boots ur wearing, so serena van der woodsen, no? OMG, i just thought of something, doesn’t GOSSIP GIRL shoot in NYC? u should totally go track down a shooting of an epidsode, that would make for quite an epic post!
    excuse my randomness thus far, now to answer ur question, i am apparently a lot like my dad, according to SOME PEOPLE (that would be everyone i know) but i just think its a bunch of malarky.

  28. Good to know those two are better than cranberry orange because I can’t find cranberry orange ANYWHERE.

    I love your fierce family! I hope you’re feeling MUCHO better – a sick SnackFace is no fun. Last night when I watched 5 minutes of Jersey Shore it made me think of you and how you’re living that life (sort of). I’m so sorry! πŸ˜‰

  29. Love the boldness lady style passed down though the generations. Hope you’re feeling much better today! May food heal all πŸ˜‰

  30. 40 shell625

    that clif bar is good πŸ™‚ & i looove your snacky eats! soo cute w/ your grandma… i think i’m a mix of my mom and dad for suuure .

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  31. hope you are feelin better kailey! i have never tried weetabix but they looks great!
    have a fun weekend πŸ™‚
    jenna

  32. Your Grandma is the cutest thing ever!

  33. No hats, not my style.

    I too, have been told that I’m similar to both my mom and grandma. My grandma died in September and at her funeral many, many people decribed her as “stoic” and “introverted”. 100% me. All 5 of her children also said they had never seen her cry. Not me at all. I’m a sap. But so is my mom.

    I’m all about stuffing my gap when sick too, I seem to lose about 10 lbs per day when I get really ill so I try to keep the small amount of rear that I have….

    Hope you feel better and I’m looking forward to the Guido pics. How embarrassing that one caught you!

  34. i’m like my dad: All Sass. hahahaha.

    and i’d like to wear hats, but don’t think they look that great on me. πŸ˜›

  35. I take after my mamacita! πŸ˜€

    I need to try weetabix…I bet it’s awesome when it turns into that “doughy” goodness with milk!

  36. 46 homegirlcaneat

    UGH. I am not trying to say STFU to Nanny, but she needs to STFU because she’s AMAZING and ROCKING THAT HAT X10010131391831190! UGH. Same with MamaJ. I AM SO HAPPY I got to meet that woman over wine and gay men in San Fran. Amazing.

    FEEL BETTER! I’m STILL feeling icky and have been getting terrible headaches! I don’t know why! But OMG gossip with TBell and formal… can’t wait to post about this shiz. LoVe It. And it is all thanks to you and our chat in WF and making me realize that you SHOULDN’T have to wait around for guys. Thank you. Love you.

  37. So sorry to hear you felt like poo all day. Sometimes a ton of food is exactly what your body needs to get back to your fabulous self.

    I’ve started rocking hats once I got to college. I realized that they actually do make an incredible difference in overall temperature and I just needed to find the style that works for me. Right now, I’m rocking a cream beanie pretty much every day.

  38. just yesterday I bought the pumpk pie, the cran orange and the gbread Clif’s b/c they were on sale for a buck each. Thanks for your commentary!

    Hope you have an awesome weeekend my sweet Snacky Face!!!!

    xoxo

  39. i got it from my mama…i got it from my mama…

    me too! my grandma was jazzy too…my mom actually just got a tattoo of my grandma’s intials to honor the 1 year anniversary of her passing. hope you are feeling better today mama – alright, heading off to go gchat you up!

    LOVE YOU

  40. Love the sneaky Jerz Guid pic, SO something I would do πŸ™‚

    3 generation of fierceness! I love!! Looks-wise, I’m like my dad, but personality wise, my mom and I mesh pretty well. I’m a pretty neat mix of my parents I’d say.

  41. Shooot!! I hope you get better and that whatever you have isn’t serious. I’ve DEFINITELY had spells like yours, and I attribute most of them to lack of sleep! Once I lie down in bed and have a GREAT 12 hour slumber, I wake up the next day without the dizziness and desire to hurl. 😦 I hope you feel better Kailey!!! It SUCKS to be sick, and i’m sure wet drizzly weather doesn’t help either.

    How do you manage to take such great pictures when you’re sick? gahhh

  42. Of course food cures all, K πŸ™‚ hope you’re feeling much better.
    Hmm, as for after whom I take (haha), I look a lot more like my little sis than my mum or dad, but you can see elements of both – I’m a pretty even balance in the looks depo, I think. As for personality-wise… I think I’m more like my mum by a fraction. But again, I have her animal loving, kid loving, open mindedness, alternativeness, aversion to growing up, girlie girlness mixed with a T. of adventure… but I have my dad’s ability to make light of any situation, love of the ocean, carefree attitude, consumerist streak and love of awful music. I like good music too, it’s just awful music is so fun!
    Anyway, on to the hat Q. Strictly speaking I don’t really wear them, but in summer I tend to swipe my stepmother’s cowgirl hat and wear it down the beach. And I do have two super fly hats that I bought in Forever21 on my US trip early this year! I just hardly wear them. Sigh.
    Love you girl!
    x

  43. Bahaha, I love the guido mission. Can’t wait to see more stunnahhhs.

    I’m weird in that I think that eating will make me feel better every single time I’m sick. Umm, never a good idea!

    I love your sexy little boot shot πŸ˜‰

    Mmm, whetabix is my fav! Mushy is the only way to eat it!

    I’m a lot like my mom. Sometimes I hate it, sometimes I love it. And no I don’t wear hats but I’ve been wanting to start!

  44. Oh dear I apologize for all my handfuls of food piccies! And I love your g-ma pic. She’s ragin πŸ˜‰ I deff most take after my mom. In good and bad ways. I think its why we clash so much.

    Feel better pookins!! (not sure if that’s a word, but felt like saying it).

    • 55 snackface

      Tay- Nononono! I wasn’t referring to you at all! Oh I’m so sorry! I’m twitter messaging you about this.

  45. sexy! those boots were made for stunnah-ing! I want I want!

    p.s. while we’re on the topic of guidz, you have got to watch Jersey Shore on MTV… it’s ridiculously awful and you will die at least 10 times.

    you come from a long line of glam and fab woman, snookums. I can not wait to see all the little mini snackface-ettes that you pop out of your vajeen (oh that was totes inapprop, sorry!) they will be such little divas!

    I have definitely inherited my dads sense of humor (or lack thereof) and my mama’s anal retentiveness.. Thanks mom!

    love you more than you knowwwwwwww.

  46. Where can you find the seasonal Clif bars? I’m dying to try them but I don’t want to order a box on Amazon…

  47. hey cute girl! Your grandma is hilarious and adorable πŸ˜€ She doesn’t look her age at all!
    I definitely behave like my mom (live in the moment, life’s too short,etc) and resemble her features as well!

  48. Cute boots πŸ™‚ Im most like my mom for sure! We honestly think the same thoughts and we even looked similar when I was younger. She is my best friend so im glad we can be silly and random together.

    As for hats I dont really wear em, I like em a lot but i just dont look good in them 😦

    Have a fab weekend girl!

  49. 60 dorothy

    hahaha i love that the first guy knew what you were doing

    i ate weetabix aaaall da time when i was vacationing in europa but i cant find it anywhere here at home 😦 do you find it at reg supermarkets?

    and daaaang girl your grandmama is workin’ it πŸ˜‰
    oh and you too.. i guess. haha

  50. I take after my mom for sure. I got the good AND the bad πŸ˜‰

  51. Love the three generations of snackface! Personality wise, I definitely get it from my mama.

    In Hawaii I’m lucky to find clif bars period. No seasonal flavors that I’ve come across. Maybe once I’m back on the east coast in December!

  52. hope you feel better, Sunshine!

  53. Aw, what sweet pictures of your granny/mama…

    I love hats. Love, love, love. Mostly because I’m always cold (and hats help), and I hate my hair a lot…so hats are a perfect thing in my world. πŸ™‚

    Hope you feel better!

  54. So I totally just had a snackface lunch–you’d love it. The spread included sorority-house hummus (hahaha), raw veggies, leftover sorority house stir-fry edamame, a BAG of tj’s pita chips (chillin’, you knoww), and the biggest, juiciest pink lady apple!! LOVE.

    But anyways, sooooo incredibly sorry that you felt so icky yesterday! I had no idea when talking with you, poor thing! 😦

    And now i’m just more in love with your fam! Granny snackface looks adorable! And mamaj is totally working that hat. I never work ’em, but maybe i should try! she fierce!

    I’ve never tried wheetbix cereal, but maybe i should get on that! i’ll look for it at the store since i’m walking over to that place like your “farmacy” in just a few!

    I def take after my mama and papa. I’m stubborn, determined, sociable like my pop’s, while also somewhat timid (at times), kind (or so i’d hope!) and goofy like my mama!

    LOVE YOU!

  55. I love the ginegerbread clif bar! I haven’t tried the pumpkin pie or the cranberry orange flavors yet.

  56. 67 Lian

    hello kailey!!
    been a huge fan for a long time πŸ™‚ [when i only have a few moments to look at food blogs, youre my #1. :D]
    anyway, i know youre in nyc now, i’m not sure for how long, but i am performing at Radio City in February and it would be so lovely if you could come.
    http://www.shenyunperformingarts.org/ny
    here is a site for more info, let me know if you would be interested ! it would be awesome to meet you =)

    -Lian

    • 68 snackface

      Lian- Oh my gosh! I would LOVE to come see you! Unfortunately, I’ll be leaving January 2. I’d be thrilled to meet up before I leave, though!

      • 69 Lian

        awww =( unfortunately my dance academy is not in the city … but ! not to sound pushy and kinda creepy for knowing where you sorta live, (:D) but there’s also a show in Cincinnati ! http://www.shenyunperformingarts.org/cincinnati the thing is, i am not sure if i am in the group going to Cincinnati. but anyway, here it is if you would be interested ! it’s a beautiful show =)

  57. 70 MattyRich

    AJ and I stayed up until 3 am watching Jersey Shore on friday night and like 3 people are actually from Staten Island and 2 people are from Brooklyn but its epic, its like watching a social train wreck. The egos are priceless.

  58. So cool your close to your grandma and mom–so am I! πŸ™‚ And being stylish def never hurts a thing!

  59. 73 Lisa

    Hi I just found your blog and I really like it a lot! I loved your phrase “to live for” when you described your snack plate. I’ve heard “to die for” so many times of course, but “to live for” has so much more meaning! Love it! Thanks for having a fun, healthy, & inspiring blog πŸ™‚

    • 74 snackface

      Lisa- Awww thank you for the heartwarming comment! I have a problem where in speech, I say “I’m dying” if I’m laughing or something is good or whatever, but in writing, I catch myself. I’d rather live to eat something amazing than die for it, ya dig? Haha anyway, I’m so glad you found that interesting!

  60. ok lovey, tues is a date. where to? peacefood?

    ps i love how we are setting plans on each others bloggies. losers? supercool kids?

    hope you are feeling better.

  61. ahahahah OMG i want to marry your whole family. i love it.


  1. 1 A Foodie Groundhog’s Day « THE FOODIE DIARIES

Leave a Reply

