Empire State of Mind

21Nov09

What up! So I have to admit that I’m super tired as I write this, but I need to give a little recap before I head to NYC Saturday afternoon. I have no idea when I’ll be able to update next. Ahhh!

I barely slept Thursday night (I’m talking not even four hours) and awoke nervous and ready to get back to studying. Oats helped motivate me:

Bad banana brownie oats.

I’m being harsh. They weren’t bad, per se, but they didn’t have the rich chocolate flavor I was expecting. In the bowl: 1/3 C oat bran, 1+2/3 C water, 1/2 banana, cinnamon, 1 T unsweetened cocoa, squirt sugar-free maple and a spoon of crunchy almond butter. I’m thinking two scoops of cocoa next time.

I studied from 7am until 9:30am, when I figured I should shower, as it had been 48 hours since my last. It should be noted that I still felt a coating of nastiness throughout my body, and my skin had taken on a deathly pallor. Nothing a heavy hand of bronzer can’t fix. Anyway, I was high and shaking off coffee and DayQuil until noon when I ate a Clif bar. I was too busy having a heart attack to take a picture.

12:20 pm. Time for the Film 201 final exam. Twenty-something fill-in-the-blanks. Five true/false. Seven essays. DOMINATED. All this information kept flowing from my brain. I had no idea I’d stored that much!

I left beaming, but achy and hungry. I had time to eat only an apple before it was time for my next final at 2:30. All we had to do was talk about the blogs we created for class, so I talked about my class blog as well as SnackFace. Couldn’t help it πŸ˜‰

At 4:30 I sprinted home (a good mile away), picked up half a final case study I’d left in the wrong notebook, and sprinted back to the Scripps building just before the 5 pm deadline. Then I really thought I was going to have a heart attack.

While walking back, stress finally lifted and I had a moment of clarity. I leave for New York tomorrow.

Happy as a clam, I checked my email and then fed my rumbling stomach:

This was ridiculously gigantic.

In the mix: greens, cucumber, green beans, cherry toms, carrots, roasted nip (turnip, kids), balls, Frankie and dressing of mustard, maple and more Frank. However delicious and filling it may have been, you know your Snackie needed more:

Milk and cookies. So classic.

I ate the last of Holly’s vegan pumpkin molasses cookies dipped into So Delicious coco milk. Out of this world. I did snack on other things throughout the night, but they went unpictured. I really was too distracted. First with Glee, then with this monstrosity:

Packing hell.

I am the world’s worst packer. I want to bring everything with me so my clothes don’t feel lonely or left out. I swear, the above picture was of what I thought was choosiness. Not so. The shoes presented a similar dilemma:

Yes, those are boots with the fur. Faux, of course.

It took two hours and having to sit on my suitcase to zip it up, but I managed. That makes it sound as though I fit everything into one suitcase. Hell naw. A huge duffel bag is housing the shoes, gym clothes and toiletries, and a carry-on is holding more sweats, makeup and everything else that didn’t fit in the other two bags. I will be a sight.

And now, my loves, I bid adieu as I fly to that crazy city known as New York. With classes fully out of the way, I’m certainly in an empire state of mind. See you in the city!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

P.S. No question, but sorry if this is a bit rushed. I’m complete toast after that Film 201 final!

40 Responses to “Empire State of Mind”

  1. ummm not lame at all. oatbran? i want it. salad? i want that too. hells, i love those cookies and want one of those too!

    congrats on finishing finals, packing up and becoming a NYC gal for awhile! i am sooo excited, and can’t wait to hear all about it.

    and good call on glee…i am still trying to hit the high note on defying gravity. not happening. LOVE YOU!

  2. This:
    they didn’t have the rich chocolate flavor I was expecting.

    I would say to use 2 Tbsp, not 1 Tbsp, of cocoa powder. You have alot of what I’d call wet sloppy ingredients, the banana, the water, that’s diluting it down wayyy more than 1 measely tbsp of cocoa powder can override. If it were me, I’d use closer to 3 Tbsp and up my agave a smidge. But that’s me, I like it rich, dark, smooth. And sweet.

    Ok have a freakin ball in NY too. My gawd girl, live it up and enjoy!!!!

    xoxo

  3. 3 HannahBanana

    agreed with averie, if you use similar mush ingredients, you end up with mush. try nutmeg sometime for fun, and use ingredients with different textures.

    have fun in the big city k, ill miss you.

  4. 4 runningmind

    I suggest trying dark chocolate cocoa powder. I use it in smoothies and will never ever go back to using plain old cocoa ever again!

  5. 5 runningmind

    Oh and good luck in NYC. You were born for the city!!!

  6. Congrats on finishing your final! Ughghgh…packing, after all these years and all these countries I still hate to do it. Have fun in NYC!

  7. Great eats and have an amazing time in the city!!! I am so jealous! Enjoy every minute of it!!!

  8. 8 SΓΌnne

    New York … I’m yealous! Have a great time in the city – and obviously tell us all about it!!!

  9. So bummed that we won’t be there at the same time 😦

  10. I’m sure you’ll have an awesome time in NYC!

  11. yay! Have a great time in NYC! You are going to have the best adventure πŸ™‚ xoxo

  12. ahhh soon we will be reunited!!! i know xactly how big that salad is bc i have the same ginormous bowl that i use for baking hahah. nice work!

    have a safe flight lover!

    xoxo
    lo

  13. Have a great time here in NYC and travel safely!!!

  14. Girl you are going to have such an amazing time!

    Be careful with carrying on your make-up. Some of the bottles may be bigger than the alloted 3 ounces (like eye make-up remover) and you don’t want them to toss anything important!

  15. I hope you have an safe flight and an absolutely amazing trip! You packed enough so that you won’t have to stress out once you’re there, and you can focus on just having an incredible time in the city! I hope you get to eat a lot of amaaaaazing food (and I’m sure you will, since this is New York, after all) and get to share a little bit with us.

  16. Whohoo! Glad you got your final out of the way and are on to bigger and better things!

    I’m also the worst packer, I feel your pain. Also, I have that red bowl that you ate your salad out of – so I know how giant it actually is πŸ™‚ You’re my kind of girl…

  17. so happy for you! good luck in NYC! can’t wait to hear all about it!
    jenna

  18. YAY for finishing finals…and ROCKING them!! If you need a friend, tour guide, or food eating buddy here in NYC, please don’t hesitate to call/email me (I think you still have my phone number from your last trip here).

    Have a safe flight and welcome to the city that never sleeps (sounds like you’ll fit right in with that sleep schedule, lol).

  19. those brownie oats look aweeesome!! and that salad!! GIRL have a BLAST in NYC!! you are going to own it!! let us know how it goes beautiful!

  20. I’m such a horrible packer! Everything is last minute and I basically try to fit my whole closet in my suitcase! A girl’s got to have options right?! haha

  21. Aw girlieeeeee, have a safe flight, I cannot wait to meet you :).

    I’m sorry your last day @ school was bit stressful but I hope it was worth it! As for packing, bah, I have become quite the expert following my global galavanting (the discounted airlines I was using to get from country to country have very strict carry-on rules and they charge extra to check it) but I still fall into the cramming end of things. On the bright side, you will know never experience a “oh my gosh, this outfit would have looked so cute with the _______ that I left at school.”

    P.S. Did I tell you that I will be interning 3-days a week as well? We should do lunch.

    P.P.S. You have Thanksgiving plans right? Not to be creepy just offering you a warm home and a yummy meal πŸ˜‰

    P.P.P.S. I’m pretty sure my friends and I are going out the night before Thanksgiving so I’ll keep you posted if you’re up for it!

  22. 22 Lizzy

    NYC bound! girl i’m so excited for you! i’m sure by now your on the way to the airport or something! i’m sooooo excited to hear about all your stories! were going to miss you sooo much! πŸ™‚ be careful babe and love u mucho! πŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  23. 23 Little Bookworm

    Good luck in New York. Hope you have a great time! πŸ™‚

  24. congrats on rocking those finals my girls, have a great time in NYC! I can’t wait to read about all your adventures πŸ™‚

  25. You’re going to have a blast n NY! It’s such an amazing city!

    Good Luck!

    xoxxoxooxo

  26. Wow that sounds like a stressful day. Welcome to NYC!!! If you have any questions at all about NY, let me know. I love it here πŸ™‚

  27. 27 Zaineb

    comment part 1: Kailey, i think the reason your tummy is always a rumblin’ is cuz u really don’t eat quite enough! Your young and tall, so u should be taking in at least 2000 calories, you take in below 1200, on top of that you excersize! that is dangerous territory. sorry if this is annoying you, i just hate it when ppl barely eat to stay thin, i mean u have this one life, and you should enjoy everything it has to offer, including delicious foods.

    comment part 2: ok, now that my rant is done, i hope you really enjoy NEW YORK, the city is yours for the taking! just realized how odd this comment is, but hey this is just the words pouring out of my brain, so there you have it.

  28. 28 shell625

    have an absoltuely amazing time in nyc!! i’m jealouss..i was there for tahnksgiving 2 years ago & loved it!!

    your eats look great as always, but do you think you are gettin enough, hun? It prob isn’t my place but i’m worried about ya that’s all! you are so great and supportive to me πŸ™‚ hope you have a great weekendd

    lovee you!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  29. sweetpea you best of left room in that suitcase for muahhhh — I’m coming, ‘member?! πŸ˜‰ oh how I wish.

    watch out NYC — here comes snackie πŸ™‚ can’t wait to hear all about your shenanigans in the big apple, baby. Again, I am so so so proud of you my beautiful jet-setter. Safe travels!

    love you with all my heart and soul!! xo

  30. 30 Chris D'Amico

    snackface! you vegan! hah remember me? got new phone.. no numbers

  31. Ahh i am so excited for you!!
    I always overpack too!

    Looking forward to hearing about your adventures, bebe! HUGS! πŸ™‚

  32. Yay, New York! I live in the city and am always up for a coffee or snack, so give me a holla if you’re so inclined. Safe travels! Love all the veggies in the giant salad.

  33. 33 elise

    welcome!!!!! hey HEY heyyy.

    your messy room looks ridic, and JUST like mine when i used to live with my fave girlfie. come to think of it, thats probz why kyle and i moved to a 2 bedroom apt. many people speculated that it was for a baby, but lets be real, im not even mature enough to babysit for my cousin’s child, let alone have my own. yeah, it was for my clothes (which are like children anyways…)

  34. You better be having just the best time in NY right now!!! Exploring the city. Meeting hot, new neighbors. Indulging in some Starbucks drink w/ zee holiday cups. Exploring WHOLE FOOD’s (there’s’ got to be one nearby!). Shopping! Walking through Central Park!??

    I’m so excited for you love! And even though this post only had three pictures…it was still fab! Just got me excited for your upcoming NY adventures!

    And those oats look delicious, and chocolate-y….sorry for the sub-par outcome. LOVE YOU THOUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Text me LADY! xoxoxoox

  35. hope you are having a blasty in nyc– i’m so jealous over here!
    glee = my obsession
    brings back the mega choir nerd in me πŸ˜€
    hope you’re having a great day; please eat some pure food and wine ice cream for me
    xoxo

  36. You are so destined to be a NYC girl Kailey. You’re gonna have so much fun as usual!!! I read “bad oats” thinking they were Kailey’s bad ass oats because they DEFINITELY look that way. YUM…I bet you’ve just gotten to a higher level of culinary skills when it comes to oats so you have high expectations. hehehe Have a safe trip!!

    Hope you’ve got a chance to stop by to enter my birthday giveaway!!! πŸ™‚

  37. Seriously, I am a terrible packer. I bring way too much, and clothes for every single possible weather…ever since I was in Idaho and it snowed…in June.

  38. Congrats on getting all the finals outta the way lady and for downing a monster bowl to sooth your grumbling belly.
    So excited for you!!!!! And a teeny bit jealous. NYC is just my favourite. Hands down. LOVE that city. Eeeeeeek xx

  39. ahhhh i hate packing! and you have so many cute clothes it must be sooo hard to decide what to take. the more i see holly’s cookies the more i must make them! i have never been to the NYC but i think i must go. your tweets have been making me jealous!

  40. Heyyy,

    What kind of coconut milk to you buy?? I think I asked this question elsewhere (sorry for that!) but I can’t find where I typed it! Anywho, what type to you buy? Original? Unsweetnened?

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

