Holiday Cheer

17Nov09

Hello darlings! This morning, I awoke after a solid 7.5 hours of sleep. The whole “getting the recommended amount of sleep” thing is new to me. For some peculiar reason, I didn’t feel like staying up until 2 or 3 am Sunday night. Imagine that.

I attribute Monday’s cheery disposition to the ample sleep, and I was out like a light the whole night. So unlike me. Anyway, I hopped out of bed at 8:15 am and immediately started on breakfast. It needed a side of holiday:

Gorgeous sunlight! Perfect for the snowman mug and divine oats.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oat bran, 1+2/3 C water, 1/2 banana, 1 scoop protein powder, cinnamon, sugar-free maple syrup and crunchy almond butter. No matter how much volume oat bran has, my stomach still growls exactly three hours after consumption. Nevertheless, it was an exceptionally wondrous bowl:

Sugar-free maple, I love your chemicals.

I watched two episodes of Sex and the City as I ate and digested breakfast. I’m not sure there is a better way to start the day.

At 9:45 I walked my hiney to the gym. While there, I hammered out 50 minutes of intervals on the elliptical and followed it with these well described ab moves:
2 sets of 30: lie on back, hands behind head, legs in a 90* angle, with shins parallel to the floor; lower left and extend, switch and do right
2 sets of 30: bicycles
2 sets of 30: lie on back, hands under bum, legs straight up in the air; lower left, keeping leg straight, bring back up, repeat on right
2 sets of 30: lie on back, hands by sides on the ground, legs up in the air, crossed; lift bum/legs in the air, keeping lower abs tucked in; pump up and down (couldn’t help that) 30 times
2 sets of 50: crunches, really focusing on keeping your lower back pinned to the ground
2 sets of 20 per side: lie on left side; prop self up of left arm, body in a straight line off the ground; dip 20 times; repeat on right side
1:06 minutes: plank, lifting right and left legs for 10 seconds each, alternating with straight plank

How confusing was that? Sorry! Just thought I’d give more insight to what I mean by “then I did some abbage/ab work/abstraculars.”

I hit up CVS on my way home for gum and stamps, a truly fascinating part of my day.

When I arrived home, I spied a super sweet card from Aunty Snooze in my mailbox. Thank you so much!!! I dealt with some email biznass for half an hour, then showered and made lunch:

Brown, but full of veggies and fruit. And "bread." Again, would have given a toe for fresh baguette.

The recipe for MamaJ’s stew can be found on Food+Wine’s website. Mumsy omits all the oil and uses vegetable broth instead of water. A pear and an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin buttered with Smart Balance went along for the ride. What I really want you to notice about this lunch, however, is another holiday plate from heaven:

I cannot help my affection for red, green, snowmen and Christmas.

I got glam for my last class of the quarter after lunchoni. I took these pictures later in the day, but here’s Monday’s “Sometimes I Pretend To Be Trendy” ‘fit:

I admit, it's not the most flattering tank top, but I was aiming for a drape-y look.

And sans jaqueta:

That's a pear necklace. Love for food tranfers to jewelry, gaudy jewelry at that.

Part of being 21, almost 22, means playing with fashion. Will I combine sandals, leggings, drape-y tanks, leopard print and a faux-gold pear necklace when I’m 30? Probably not. Then again, MamaJ has some pretty crazy, bossy style, so who knows.

Class was breezy, as the other half of the students presented (I presented last week). Afterward, I did some work in the library for an hour or so. This included researching where I’ll be working over break. Ladies and gents, I think I’m going to fall in love.

To tide me over till dinner, I enjoyed my first scrumptious Odwalla bar (I’ve had one other before and it tasted like a dirt-covered raisin):

Choco-Walla, you are a gem.

I normally like bars to have some solid protein. This one had only 4 grams, but after tasting this delicacy, I didn’t mind. It was like eating a hearty chocolate brownie (albeit a bit earthy tasting) speckled with uber chocolatey chips. Absolutely satisfying. I loved the light chew from the oats, too.

I stopped at a bookstore and CVS again on my way home, as well as called Muffin. Poor thing is sick and can’t move! We’re hoping it’s a 24-hour bug.

Once home, I dilly-dallied on the computadora (can you tell I’ve been missing my foodie?) for a bit and then wanted dinner. What a dinner it was! First up, there was the obligatory serving of greens:

Christmas colors on yet another Christmas plate. You all are going to get so sick of me.

On the plate: greens, cucumber, green beans (raw, the only way), cherry tomatoes, Spinach+ Artichoke Sabra (might be the best flavor) and balsamic vinaigrette. The balsamic vinaigrette had turned chunky and was making me gag, so I couldn’t finish this salad. Shame!

Dinner’s main course was nothing short of phenomenal. Back in my Olive Garden days, I sometimes had guests earnestly ask for “sketti with meatballs.” I served myself summa dat tonight:

Fan-freaking-tastic.

What you see here is 3/4 a small microwaved spaghetti squash topped with pasta sauce, TJ’s meatless balls and Frankie baby. When I eat real pasta, I prefer enormous portions, which never fill me up. Therefore, eating this large pile of fibrous squash in lieu of the real thing was perfect. I could even take gigantic bites without feeling like a complete pig. Who am I kidding? I always take gigantic bites. A closer look at the sketti:

Naturally, the balls made the dish.

For a little dessert I had butter and biscuits:

I meant Triscuits. I wish they were biscuits, though, because pumpkin and sunbutter would be ridic on top!

Let’s pretend that’s not a coffee filter I used as a plate/napkin, OK? Also, if you’ve ever wondered, coffee filters make a great substitute for toilet paper (attending many a house party has taught me that).

I had another handful of crackers a bit later, when I started to write this. Then I went to a capella practice, and now, three hours since dinner, I”m still experiencing a mondo fiber baby. This I can handle.

Well my little petunias, I have a major list of things to accomplish this week. In order to fully enjoy Wednesday’s birthday-night-out, I’m trying to finish most of my work prior to that day. For my birthday week, I’d like you all to click over to this gorgeous girl’s site as well as my soul sista’s site! Love these ladies–aren’t they phenomenal?!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Today’s ‘fit a DO or DON’T? AND What’s your favorite pasta dish?
I
always enjoy wearing this outfit. Sure, I have no waist in it, but it’s fun. And as far as pasta, I’ll take a penne vodka or capellini al pesto anytime.

72 Responses to “Holiday Cheer”

  1. i want summa dat sketti & balls too… time for the first sketti squash of the season? yes!

    i’d say the outfit is a DO, with a belt. i know you were going for drapey, but i like fitted drapey. i do love the navy blue jacket, though. where’s dat from?

    • 2 snackface

      legalstyle- Love the belt idea. I it kind of competed with the jacket, so I let it be. The jacked is from H+M, got it a few years ago!

  2. Spaghetti squash is a totally ‘gasmic and worthy replacement for the real stuff. Topped with the meatless balls and some quality sauce, you’d never even miss the carb bomb that it’s replacing.

    And you’re 100% right: there is no better way to start the day than with a big bowl of oats and some SATC loving.

  3. 4 Brooke

    I HAD THE SAME ODWALLA AS A SNACK TODAY TOO!!!!!! And… can we PLEASE make the sketti and meatballs together along with the hugh jass and cheetah dinner? FEAST, I TELL YOU!

    LOVE YOU

  4. In our days of dining at Olive Garden weekly, Mallard and I would always order Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo and split it. Fetuccine Alfredo is still my favorite pasta dish…now if I could just healthify that recipe!

  5. She flossay.

  6. 7 Ali

    your outfit is craazy! a pear necklace & cheetah print–not gonna lie, i’m insanely jealous.

    oh & weirdest thing ever–i had the SAME exact odwalla bar as you today! twilight zoneeee

    • 8 snackface

      Ali- Ahh! You, Brooke and I all had that bar today. The Odwalla company is so fortunate 🙂

  7. I had sghetti squash tonight too, but mine had a tofurky sausage instead. LOVED IT.

    You could pull of a shower curtain, my dear, so every outfit is a “DO.” Now if you were say 30 or something…maybe not 😉

  8. I meant pull “off.” Proofread, damn it!

  9. First, before I realized that I couldnt process gluten, the entire diet of my early 20s consisted of triscuits, PB, and vodka. And fruits were maraschino cherries in my vodka. Needless to say, I am a HUGE fan of triscuits and nutbutter but I cannot eat them anymore. Sigh. It is one gluten containing food I simply cannot recreate.

    As for all my other stuff, yep, I just wake up and say, I would like a Reese’s Cup…so I will make one today. That’s kinda how I do it 🙂

    Fashion. Girl, I am 33. I know, probably that sounds ancient to you. But once you have a child, you will just be glad to be able to shave your legs, let alone try to coordinate your wardrobe. Your priorities will shift. That, and you;ll just be happy to wear something that doesn’t have a baby’s bodiliy fluids on it. So enjoy your fashion play now my love 🙂

    xoxo

  10. I am so with you on the morning “Sex and the City’ viewing. Best was to start and/or end any day! Your dinner looks so good! Happy early birthday! You are going to have such an amazing birthday and I wish you all the joy, health, laughter, love and ofcourse, amazing tasting food in the world!
    Barbara

  11. okay first of all..i will never get sick of your lovely Christmas dishes!! keep em coming..they make me giddy!!

    and i love all of your outfits (and im not just saying that to be nice!) you totally rock anything girl..i love how you look classy/trendy without trying to hard!

    my tummy growls exacty 3 hours after oatmeal/oatbran cosumption too!! no joke!

    pasta dishes-mi madre makes pasta salad with TONS of veggies, bowtie pasta, and dressing w. balsamic, EVOO, honey, and other junk..its freaking awesome

  12. ps-totally had sweet tater fries today and def thought about you!

  13. 15 shell625

    def a do- you look gorgeous! & hmmm idk thats sucha tough one, i don’t really ever eat pasta but i lOVE noodles & co’s bangkok curry

    i’m also a 3 hour person– every 3 hours i am prettty hungry haha idk what it is

    xo
    shell
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  14. I love all your food, as usual! And what cute plates! When I was living in the US during uni and grad school Target was my all time favorite place to shop. Such cute things, and so cheap I could always buy a ton! And I always adored there holiday items, those were the best.

    I think it is so funny that you say you wouldn’t wear something like that when you are 30….just you wait till you get there, hopefully you will learn that you can rock whatever you want no matter how ‘old’ you are! It’s all about the confidence and not taking yourself so seriously.

  15. 17 anaeatswell

    guuuurl, the outfit is a total do, haters to the left. I’d rock it with boots, but that’s just a personal pref.
    Favourite pasta dish?Hmmm something creamy like alfredo. But I generally don’t even eat pasta.

  16. p.s. finally got you on my blogroll. i needed to do some housekeeping, yay!

  17. 19 grace

    what kind of maple syrup do you use? i noticed that it was sugar-free…just curious ‘cuz i ❤ deep maple flavor 🙂

    • 20 snackface

      grace- OK, I just grabbed the bottle from the fridge: Maple Grove Farms, Sugar Free Maple Flavor Low Calorie Syrup. Made in Vermont. I bought it a year ago at Wal-Mart and I’m still enjoying it!

  18. love all of your holiday cheer!!!
    spaghetti squash is my fave. im addicted.

  19. 22 crazylittlethingneela

    after seeing your snowman mug and christmas platter i am in full christmas spirit here 🙂
    my favorite pasta dish is just tomato sauce with eggplants in it. but the eggplants have to be really well cooked through so that it kinds melts on your mouth! soooo good!

  20. I love the outfit today! I think the tank is cute. My favorite pasta is gnocchis – specifically butternut squash ones.

  21. Your ‘fit is a do; and I love pesto pasta 🙂

  22. My favorite pasta dish would probably be a pasta bake with alfredo sauce and chicken. If you haven’t yet, give the Mocha-Walla Odwalla bar a try, it’s amazing.

    • 26 snackface

      StartingHealthy- Thanks for the recommendation! I’ma have to hunt it down!

  23. 27 fruitsveggieslife

    I have to admit I’m a fan of ‘waistless’ outfits – they provide the mind some inspiration for imagination! I think you look smashin! I’m not a hure fan of leggins as pants – but you pull it off!

    Pasta: Primavera with a white wine sauce! Tons of veggies are mandatory.

  24. re: your vegan comment on the bloggie

    well, for me, i think it’s important not to approach vegetarianism or veganism with an all-or-nothing attitude, if such an attitude doesn’t work for you. the important thing (to me) is that you are living this lifestyle 99.999% of the time. if you “cave” and have meat or dairy once every 6 months or something, i don’t think that makes you a “bad” vegetarian. i’m sure there will be a point where i eat fish again, likely on a vacation. does that mean i’m going to have completely off the wagon? no! it’s not booze and i’m not an alcoholic. i think vegetarian and veganism is just a series of choices, and every meal is another opportunity to choose a more humane style or eating.

    • 29 snackface

      caitlin- Awesome, awesome response. Thank you! I think I am with you exactly on this. I mean, if I “cave” one day, it doesn’t mean I (or anyone) has to throw in the vegan/vegetarian towel. You just go right back to eating the way you were. Just like picking back up with any good eating habits!

  25. Your ‘fit is definitely a do. The tank is cute and I’m loving the print tank underneath!

    My favorite pasta has always been cheese ravioli with fresh red sauce. Simple. Perfect!

  26. I actually really like the style of the tank top. It’s different and grabs attention. I would totally wear that outfit.

    • 32 snackface

      Yasmin! I totally forgot to answer your Q the other day. My thoughts on hooking up with an ex: DON’T DO IT! I’ve tried, it led nowhere good! It makes you even more confused. Please trust me on this. As soon as you fully eliminate negative forces/sources of pain from your life, you’ll be able to move ahead freely. This is what I had to tell myself for, oh, say, a year. But it worked! It frees up more space for positive things!

  27. Not gonna lie.. can polish off a box of triscuits in a day.. no prob!

    Your meals look fab, especially that spaghet squash! 😉

    • 34 snackface

      Abby- Yeah, there may be only two or so servings left in the box…whoops. Crackers and cereal get me every single time! And I don’t even mind.

  28. 35 shelby

    The outfit is adorable! I like switching it up and going from cinched to drapey. You look fabulous dahling 😉

    I don’t like pasta, but I do love the Pasta Della California from V’Con. It’s got avocado, greens, and lots of spices. Yummy.

  29. Hellooo Snackface, Long time no see, my fault, due to my week long b-day bash. I just adore your blog and the way your words flow , almost reminds me of poetry, your able to grasp the reader’s attention w/ only a few words and I think it’s fab. I’m not getting all stalkerish, I just wanted to say happy early b-day and I hope your b-day turns out as great as mine. I went to southgate house and seen why, hit up melt and shakers the next day and woke up to mimosas w/ my g-unit. I can say turning 22 has been awesome and life changing in a good way, I feel much older then I really am, which I’m ok with, I grew up fast as a kid, so I’m trying to take my time in my 20″s but I feel clarity on life and I wish you the best on your newyork gig and in life in general. I love my pasta bake, it’s like lasagna but it’s my mom’s lighter version, and I love alfredo. The outfit is cute, and works, rock it. Take care xoxo Britt

    • 37 snackface

      earthybrit- Why you gotta be so sweet and nice to me? That was a phenomenal comment. Thank you both for the compliments (as a writer, what you said means the world to me) AND for the updates on your b-day festivities! I love knowing what’s going on in everyone’s lives, and it sounds like you had a faaab b-day!

  30. def a do. you are so right…young peeps should play around more with fashion. us 24 almost 25 year olds need to start transitioning out of that 🙂

    THANK YOU FOR THE LINKBACK! you are amazing, generous and fabulous…i am so grateful i have met you!

    i want that spinach artichoke humhum…now! yay for birthday – one day closer, and perhaps keep your eye out for something in the mail 🙂

    love you – have a wondrous day!

  31. I get to go to TJ’s this weekend–which is super exciting because it’s fouuuur hours away. I need to look for the meatless balls 🙂

  32. LOVE that jacket!!

    Toilet seat liners make rather poor toilet paper substitutes. In case you were wondering. ‘Cuz I know you were. :p

    ❤ ❤

  33. I love love your Christmas spirit! I can’t wait to break out the red and green decorations, but I’m saving them until Thanksgiving has come and gone. 🙂

    I loved your outfit, you looked like a hot little mama – as always. And, I shock myself every time I say this (or type this),I don’t really love pasta. I DO love spaghetti squash – it’s much more buttery tasting than the other stuff to me. I do like a good pesto and penne now and again – but it’s not something I crave.

  34. 42 julie

    I had pretty much the sameee dinner the other night! “spaghetti” and homemade sauce. mmm mm.

    i think the outfits a do! but def don’t forget to pack your boots when you come to ny because it’s a faaaaahreeezin hurr.

  35. I LOVEEE that stew. After seeing it on your blog last year, I made it for my family. They absolutely loved it, and the leftovers were even better. I can’t wait to make it again!!

    And the outfit is a DO. I love the animal print underneath.

    • 44 snackface

      Tina- Oh I love that you’ve made the stew! It’s the perfect combination of textures and flavors!

  36. I’m boring. My favorite pasta dish is plain old red sauce pasta.

    And you are so stinkin pretty! I know I’ve said it before, but it needed to be said again 🙂

  37. 47 Hannah

    Thanks for the great response and insight! Ed2010 is such a great website it gets me so excited (and antsy) that so many great opportunities are out there. I actually tried one of your oatmeal concoctions and it turned out fabulous. And I totally agree that oat bran doesn’t keep you full for very long. I do enjoy the texture and the everlasting bowl though. Anyways, i’m excited to read about your internship! The ‘fit is definitely a do. Fall is all about layering and you definitely pull that off. The hint of leopard is subtle but adds a nice twist (Vogue had a feature on leopard prints in a recent issue so you’re spot on). As for pasta, anything combined with butternut squash will do! Or anything Giada makes 🙂 PS- Is spaghetti squash filling?

    -Hannah

  38. Sounds like a great day! I’ve had that flavor of Odwalla sitting in my cabinet for a while now. Guess I’ll break it open soon! You never know with Odwalla.
    I need me some TJ Meatless balls in my life!!

  39. I like everything but the leopard print. Not a fan. But I love the shoes & the drapey shirt is super cute!

    I want some of those meatless meatballs!! I wonder if Whole Foods carries them…?

    I’m not much for pasta, I know! Crazy. But I think some ravioli w/pesto would make me happy.

    • 50 snackface

      Graze With Me- Thanks for the ‘fit input! As for the balls, they are labeled under Trader Joe’s, but I know TJ’s outsources from actual companies. As in, they might be Morningstar meat balls or some other brand. These are 100% vegan, so I’d check out the freezer section of WF to see!

  40. it’s our BIRFDAY TOMORROW!!!!!

    • 52 snackface

      mary ann- WOOPWOOP!!! I know!! Are you doing anything special for it?

      • I’m like SO not a birthday kinda girl… it gets me embarassingly anxious and has since i was little. my fam always wants to do it up a lil, but Im just not feelin it. in fact a friend of mine logged into my f-book account sans my knowledge to let the world know, and im completely mortified. Weird much? yes, i know-but i guess we all have our quorks (sp?), just some of us have more than others, haha. But I do hope to attack some good eats/drinks to celebrate!
        MA

  41. 54 eatolive

    i agree. penne is my go to pasta. always delish. never messy (thats why i dont like linguine. too hard to eat!!) and pesto is by far the best sauce! altho i do love me some vodka sauce. YUM!

    cute outfit too! you can totes pull it off! itd be supah cute with your boots toooooo

  42. I think your outfit is cute plus it looks very comfy 🙂
    I also had some spaghetti squash instead of pasta the other day. yum!

  43. I think the outfit would be fab without the leopard tank. I love me some animal print (I have killer leopard pencil skirt from Express) but all together it was a bit Fran Dresher for my taste. Don’t hate me! Of course as Momma Pea said you could rock a shower curtain 🙂

    • 57 snackface

      Therese- Hahaha I LOVE your input. Good think I adored Fran Drescher growing up, so I don’t mind looking like her for a day. Next time I’ll just wear a black lacy bra underneath, a la Carrie. SCANDAL.

  44. you are hot, i love the outfit! 🙂

  45. I love the outfit! Girl, when I was your age it was 2003 and most of my party clothes involved rock t-shirts that never covered my navel. Worn with tight denim jeans and studded belts, obviously.
    Upon packing / moving last weekend, I discovered a great number of these shirts that I looked at and laughed at. The moral of my story? Rock the “fun” clothes while you’re still not taking yourself too seriously! It’s a different ball game when you’re dressing for the office / day job.
    Unless you work for concert venues like I do… 😀 I have some leopard and cheetah prints in my wardrobe! But everything covers my navel.

    • 60 snackface

      Laura- Haha I love your story! And I used to abhor prints of any type, but I’m trying to loosen up while I can. And yes, I try to always cover my navel.

  46. i absolutely love the outfit today! especially the cheetah tank underneath 🙂
    jenna

  47. I was so in the mood for a Sex in the City today, and your post means I gotta watch that sh!t

    And today’s fit was a do. Carrie pushed the boundaries so many times and I definitely raised an eyebrow several times at her outfits, but she’s young, stylish, and running around the city, so it works! Even if the city for you is Athens, Ohio.

  48. I like your outfit!! Supa cute!

  49. 64 Zaineb

    This outfit from me gets an 9 out of 10 cuz girl u know if r confident it makes an outfit look good, and u totally work it girl!(Note: i dont actually talk like this, but it seemed appropriate for the sitiation)
    As for pasta, my heart lies with the one and only classic MAC N CHEESE! Oh, i cud eat that stuff by the truckful.

    P.S. Thank you very very very much for responding to my LITTLE HINT about ab workouts, this definetly helps, since i wuz doing 100 crunches a day and there was still that little annoying fat on the bottom part of my stomach (sorry if thats tmi, but thats just how i roll, or in this case how my stomach fat rolls 🙂

  50. 65 Zaineb

    READ THE COMMENT ABOVE:)

  51. 66 Aunty Snooze

    My favourite pasta dish is black pasta made from sqid ink with white wine cream sauce with calamari and copious amounts of wine and something chocolate for dessert. 22 years ago tommorrow I took a long drive to East Lansing in the middle of the afternoon. Guess why?
    I croosssed the border so much the following year I should have had a Nexus pass.
    Stay away from those frilly girly drinks with umbrellas tonight and tommorrow.
    a big glass of water .a big swig of pepto bismal and two tylenol before you go to bed and your as good as new in the morning
    Love ya 🙂

  52. Your outfit looks GREAT on you. I would never have the balls to wear that combination but I am not much of a risk taker when it comes to fashion anymore. When Iwas 21 I rocked pink hair and the strangest outfits imaginable. I even wore angel wings for an entire week. I am not really sure what happened but somewhere along the way, I became sort of conservative. I think I am getting old. Rock that outfit as long as possible…do it for me! : )

  53. This post makes me miss:
    1) sunflower seed butter
    2) BALLS
    3) home-made soup
    4) pears! (my house supplies us with apples, grapes, bananas, oranges, strawberries…but never a pear!)
    5) pumpkin butta

    All the food looks absolutely phemon. What a good day in eats! If I do say so myself 🙂
    We need to catch up and chat-a-lat soon!! I just know that you’re such a busy girl rounding out the semester and all! Good luck with everything!

    And the outfit’s an absolute DO! I loooove wearing drape-y shirts over leggings, with a dangly necklace and some sandals!! I also adore that cheetah flair and jacket !

    Okay, enough obsessing over this fab post and youuuu!! Making that spaghetti squash dish ASAP. xoxoxo!!

  54. Hey Girl!

    Just found your blog and have been REALLY enjoying following ya! Keep it up! I’ll be back as often as you post! I have you linked on my blog to make you even mo’ famous! 🙂 Have a great night!

    • 70 snackface

      Liz- Aw thanks for finding me and for linking to me! I appreciate it!! 🙂

  55. Happy 21part two!! I turned 22 this year and i KNOW how you feel!!

    I LOVE TURNIPS too! SOme people hate them, and I just dont get it!!

    Enjoy your happy day:)

    <3, D

  56. 72 Lizzy

    i seriously LOVEEE this outfit you put together! 🙂 you are so gosh darn beautiful!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

