I Love My Family

16Nov09

Hi honeys! How were your weekends! I am sorry I went kind of MIA! I was busy all day Thursday and then went home to Cinci to spend my last weekend in Ohio with my family. It was spectacular. I took a bit of a technology detox because I was, well, spending quality time with the people I love. Anyway, grab a family-sized bag of pita chips and a tub of hummus. We have a lot of catching up to do!

Thursday I awoke after five hours of sleep and was ravenous for a warm, voluminous breakfast:

banana maple ab oat bran

Oats with a skidmark.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1+2/3 C water, 1/2 banana, cinnamon, sugar-free maple syrup and almond butter. I dressed myself in an equally brown get-up for del dia:

brownie

Brown Free People top with skinny jeans and olive boots, accessorized with sass, as always.

I love the details at the neckline:

brownie boobs

Tig ol' bitties. WHOOPS. I promise I only meant to show the bling.

I dashed off to class in which I sat in the back. My professor noted this uncharacteristic placement by asking, “You hiding today?” Alright, maybe I thought I could get away with reading while people presented. I ended up feeling guilty and half-read, half-watched the presentations. Need to grow a pair.

After class I rushed home and packed the only produce I had with some random food and called it “lunch”:

thurs lunch

Hey brightness! Veg, hummus+salsa dip, half a Clif and water of the gods.

I did what I could in the fresh fruit and vegetable department:

thurs lunch veg

Razburries, cuke, cherry toms and broccoli. Broccoli gets no fun name because I can't think of anything that isn't perverted.

The afternoon was full of class from noon to 5pm. You bet your sweet, toned behind I was starving after this little lunch. Enter a fast and easy dinner, full of what I craved:

tan dinner

Butternut squash soup, balls and pretzel crisps. Tan foods...to compensate for my pasty complexion.

The night did not end here, though, as I had class from 7pm to 8, then was singing in the music building from 8 to 10. Thursdays are a doozy, which I suppose is why I went out with Muffin as soon as I finished being a responsible student and singer:

muffin me

Sorry, Love Muffin, for capturing you mid-blink. I think...

My gorgeous a capella friend, Banana, came with me to meet Muff, who had been out with her newspaper staff. One of her staff members was having a grand time and gave a new meaning to the late-90’s trend of bucket hats:

bucket hat

Gittin' it, and Banana, I love you in this pic.

I was thrilled to have my first Christmas ale ever:

christmas ale n me

Made my spirits bright.

I’ll spare you details of how Italio-Bro followed me home, trying to convince me that he “really likes” me and how I should give him another chance. I refused to let him into my house and talked to him through the screen door. Am I ridiculous? Yes. Am I OK with this? Hell yes.

Friday morn, I scrambled to pack a suitcase in time for Popsicle’s arrival. A cup of butternut squash soup was had with half a banana. I’m telling you, minimal groceries will make a girl do crazy things.

Popsicle and I had a lovely ride home. I always feel bad for napping whenever someone is driving, but Popsicle always tries to convince me to rest while he’s driving. I listened.

When I got home, I immediately attacked my babies:

pnut

Peanut!

And:

sheeb 3

Marshmallow! What a poser. Wonder where she gets it.

I swear they were more excited to see me than what’s pictured.

Popsicle drove to Kentucky to fetch Matty Rich from school. While they were gone, I snacked and then worked with some weights in the basement. When Matty Rich finally arrived, I made him go on a two-hour run/walk with me. He’s such a good sport. We gabbed about 99 problems, and trust me when I say a b!tch ain’t one.

For dinner, the H-Unit went to Friday’s. My delicious salad went unpictured, as there were better moments to be captured:

matt n me brew

Blue Moon, baby! Matty Rich be killin' us.

I wanted to take a frame-worthy picture of my parents. Got it:

lick

She's insane and we all love it. Favorite picture of ALL TIME.

The rest of Friday night was spent on the couch, snacking on popcorn and watching I Love You, Beth Cooper, The Ugly Truth and this week’s Grey’s. Movies, family, snacks– a perfect Friday night, in my eyes.

Saturday morning, I heard the click-clack of MamaJ’s mules downstairs. I hopped out of bed and downstairs to find that she had been running around town all morning, stocking up on groceries and baking supplies. She’s amazing.

I was too busy watching some hilarious movie whose name I can’t remember to take a picture of breakfast! It had to do with weddings, a capella and a big group of friends. And breakfast had something to do with bananas, raspberries, cinnamon and almond butter. And… something else. I caved. I had a vanilla Chobani. Oh. My. Gawd. Greek yogurt, you are one of the world’s great wonders and I missed you. It was the most satisfying breakfast I’d had in a long time. I’m only human, my friends.

That afternoon, MamaJ, Matty Rich and I Costco-ed and Target-ed. I had major homework to do when we got home, but before I started on that, I had an apple and some rosemary potato bread with Earth Balance. All I need in life is good bread.

For the next two hours, I wrote a story about college-aged men’s thoughts on veganism. If you’d like to check it out (and scope out my more formal writing), head over to College Green Tooth!

The dinner that followed my hard work was fabulous:

home spread

Potatoes, whole grain bread, spinach salad.

MamaJ made her killer butternut-squash stew, which is completely vegan and filled with corn, beans, red pepper, onion and magic:

fabby stew

Mama, thanks for making this! And for giving me the leftovers πŸ™‚

My whole dinner:

fabby stew dinner

I gave up on the vino after two sips, but devoured the rest of what's pictured!

We rounded out dinner with some honorary birthday pumpcakes:

bday pumpcakes

Pumpkin cupcakes. Perfectly delicious.

I met up with gorgeous friends after dinner. We caught up on one another’s lives and hugged as much as possible before I left. I loved seeing my ladies, but I really wanted to be home with my family, too. Gotta squeeze in as much loving before I leave for NYC this Saturday!

Sunday morning, I decided to return to my good-blogger mode and snapped pics of breakfast:

mmmango

Mmmango.

MamaJ made pumpkin-buttered toast for me as well:

toast w butters

How is it that moms always make the best toast?

We got ready, I packed and then we hit the road for Athens. Well, we made a few pit stops, including this important one:

starbucks cup

I love this message, but I believe in it year-round, not just for the holidays. Sorry about the gross cuticles.

We also stopped at Best Buy to get an external hard drive so I can avoid a Carrie situation and secure my work.

To keep my tummy happy during the three-hour drive back to Athens, I noshed on these beauts:

car snacks

Honeycrispay and a Mojination.

After finally reaching Athens, stocking up on enough produce for the week and then dropping off everything at mi casa, MamaJ headed home and I headed to the kitchen:

carrots for the reindeer

Veggies with Sabra on a "Carrots for the reindeer plate." MamaJ indulged my inner child/freak by buying the Christmas plate from Target!

I unpacked my suitcase and tackled adding the Foodbuzz tags and ads to SnackFace (I feel like a real blogger now!), and then continued on my technological journey by transferring files to the new external hard drive. Naturally, I was famished by the time I was finished. Thank my sweet Mumsy for bossy leftovers:

stew n crackas

Stew and Trisqeutas. Or Triscuits.

It’s taken me so long to recap this that I had to grab a mug of plain shredded wheat with cinnamon and So Delicious coco milk. Marvelous!

This week is going to be insane! Not only is it finals week, but it’s also my birthday week AND I have to get my sh!t togetha for NYC! I leave on Saturday! AHHH!!!!! I’m incredibly thankful I got to have a relaxing, glorious, wonderful weekend with my family before I leave for six weeks. Love them.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: How was your weekend!? Seriously, I wanna know! Foodie and life highlights are welcome!

 

60 Responses to “I Love My Family”

  1. “grab a family-sized bag of pita chips and a tub of hummus” .. love it!

  2. Aw, I love weekends at home too! That stew looks bossayyyyy. Can you post the recipe sometime? Good luck on finals and get excited for NYC, lucky girl!

  3. Looks like a fun weekend!! Your mom needs to ship me some butternut squash stew.. that looks super delish! πŸ˜‰

  4. Cute dogs!!

    Ahh, have fun in NYC this Saturday!!

    My weekend was filled with schoolwork. Whoo hoo.

  5. Weekends with the fam are the best!!!!

    Your going to NY this weekend!???? I am going there on Friday until Sunday!!! We should totally meet up for a blogger good lunch or coffee or something. Hell yes. We should totally plan if your not too busy.

    My weekend was good. I stayed in Friday night and vegged out infront of the TV, but I didn’t see a very good movie. It was meh and I don’t even remember the name. Saturday was fun, but today I’m a bit hungover and can’t stop stuffing my face haha.

    • 7 snackface

      Coco- Haha OMG your response to how today has been is hilarious. Been there! Anyway, I’ll actually be in NYC fro Sat., November 21 through January 2. We should totally meet up! I have no plans yet! I also have no sense of direction in the city, but I can try!

  6. Weekend was great and you can read all about it on my blog! Can’t wait to get my e-recipes! Random question that popped up this weekend and contemplating (sorry if personal): What are your feelings about hooking back up with an ex?

  7. looks like a wonderful weekend of family, fun and good eats!!

  8. i had a great weekend in austin – yee haw! i recently finished reading “i love you beth cooper” and am curious about the movie….

    • 11 snackface

      Lynn- Matty Rich actually read the book first, and he said the movie is almost dead-on! I was pleasantly surprised by the movie, which I thought was going to be really disgusting. I thought the main character’s/actor’s comedic timing MADE it, though!

  9. My weekend was great – I didn’t do a second of work (and will be paying dearly for it tomorrow) but spent a lot of time relaxing and hanging out with my friends. Sometimes you forget how great people are when you are crazy with homework/work/life. It looks like you had a really great time catching up with your family and friends back home. Good luck with your crazy week prepping for your birthday and your amazing trip!

  10. 13 shelby

    Food Food Food! Love it all.

    Oh my gawd, your hair looks so gorgeous in that mirror shot! LOVE IT.

    I eat some crazy things when I’m low on groceries too, you are not alone haha.

  11. 14 shell625

    aww i was with my family too so i had a really fun weekend takin the family out on campus πŸ™‚ and a lottt of that food looks freakin good!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  12. 15 Lizzy

    Gosh i missed you! so happy you spent this weekend with the unit! your parents are the cutest thing ever! i love the picture of them from dinner at Friday’s!

    I can’t believe you’ll be jet setting it off to NYC this saturday! I’m so excited for you! is it ok if i live vicariously through you?!?! You are going to be amazing!

    My weekend was sort of boring, but i got to spend alot of time with my sissy, and that i LOVE! Family is the best isnt it?!

    Have a wonderful rest of the evening! xoxo girl!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  13. 16 Hannah

    Hi, Snackface! I’ve been lurking around your blog for a while now but was too shy to comment. Just want to say I really enjoy reading your witty bantering more than drooling over your food pictures. I tend to focus more on the latter with most food blogs. (Not that your food doesn’t always look mouthwatering!) Anyways, I’m a fellow aspiring magazine journalist and I think your writing is awesome. Any advice for someone whose looking for internships and experience?

    Oh and just to be curious and random, do you usually sweeten your oats with anything or just eat them plain?

    -Hannah

    • 17 snackface

      Hannah- Awww thank you so much for reading and for the touching comment. As a writer, your words mean the world to me. As far as looking for internship opportunities, I’ve found all mine through Ed2010.com. If you go to their job/internship listing, you’ll find a ton of huge magazines that are looking for interns! Additionally, if there is a magazine/publication you have in mind, snoop around on its website under jobs. More often than not, you’ll find an opening or application for an intern position. If that doesn’t work, don’t hesitate to email someone from that publication to see whether they hire/are looking for interns! Magazines are all about solid students who will intern for free.

      And for my oats, I usually rely on half a banana to sweeten the base. If I’m not using a banana and am using pumpkin only, I rarely sweeten it. Adding cinnamon is usually plenty for me! If I’m in the mood, though, I’ll add a baby squirt of agave or a spoon of Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter. So delicious! Thanks for the questions, and if you have any more, feel free to ask!

  14. my weekend was no where near as exciting as yours, just lots of skating and homework πŸ™‚

    love the pic of your parents… you should use it as a xmas card pic? lol jk

  15. what a great weekend with the family! what did you think of the ugly truth? i wanna see it!

    and this weekend i finished work, visited san antonio and ran my first 1/2 marathon!! yay!!!

  16. kailey,

    congrats on your internship again, that is so awesome!! also congrats on foodbuzz publsiher, i also just got my tag for http://www.soleil2009.blogspot.com and i can’t wait to go to next year’s festival!! I AM SO GOING!!

    my weekend was great, very relaxing. last night i had some amazing mexicuisine and i had sauteed seabass with pomegranate sauce and seeds. it was nothing but amazing!!

  17. The MamaJs tew sounds sooo good!

  18. Gahh I wanna try mamaj’s soup right now!! And a bite at that hummus platter. Your hummus always look so divineeeeee! You always find the best sabra flavors!

    But aww Kailey, I am SO happy that you had another fab weekend at home! Your family is absolutely adorable (including those puppieeeeees!!), and i’m so happy you got some may-juh relaxation time in! You are so right, nothing’s better than family-time, movies & snacking!! Love it.

    And looove the starbuck’s holiday cup!
    PS oat-y skidmarks are the best. AH! Only kidding. Almond-buttery oats melted all ovaa are though!

    My weekend was fun! I shall explain my Thursday (Bday night) happenings to ya lata (let’s just say i was in bed by 10:30 pm….oops), so the rest of the weekend was naturally filled with lots of movies and snacking with all my sorority sistassss as well! LOVE YOU!! GOOD LUCK WITH FINALS! YOU’RE GONNA ROCK ITTTTTTT, XOXO!

  19. girl! your parents are sooo cute πŸ™‚ how is that season clif bar flava?

    my weekend was def so chill.. i went home as well! spent the whole weekend re-grouping because i never get enough “me” time at school.. and i was so excited bc i found ALL the seasonal cliff bars yesterday and i cant WAIT to try em! i also went shopping- and literally got high in target looking at all the christmas stuff!

    • 24 snackface

      kbwood- OK, that seasonal Clif is really delicious. It has a great balance of cranberry and orange, but would benefit from larger chunks of nuts. Still delicious, nonetheless. I still can’t find the other seasonals!! Grrr. And I am all about the “me” time. Glad you got to enjoy some!

  20. i am glad you had a nice weekend at home with the fam before your busy weekend approaches! fab eats as always chica πŸ™‚
    jenna

  21. 26 Sara

    Woah Kailey you look sooooo much like MamaJ in that pic of her with her tongue out! frameable and hilarious indeed!

    I’m so glad you’re continuing to post pics of your outfits. It gives us sooo much more insight into your day! Making up pictures and scenes in our minds as the reader is great but seeing the real thing is solid!

    keep it up (ha…)!

    • 27 snackface

      Sara- Haha omg yea, I definitely look like MamaJ judging by that pic! And thank you so much for the positive reinforcement! I’m loving the addition, too, as it makes me feel as though I can share even more about myself. Thanks again!

  22. So much exciting stuff is going on right now! I’m so jealous about you going to NY I’ve always wanted to go there! it will be an amazing 6 weeks I’m sure:)

  23. pooh bear, popsicle, homie, love bug, twinster from another mister? dont rhyme too well…i jsut wanted to say, that being home with family is fab and i love the comfort of it too….. but your NYC life will be so effin GRAND!!! get excited!!! every time i read ur “going home” posts i miss my momma 😦 tear….1/5 weeks til Killer City, aka Kanas City πŸ™‚ so yay for seeing mom and gangstermother (grandma)…. and then its only a month til NYC! gah. excitement.

    love u to reeses pieces! and props to fighting the italian stallion off.

    xoxo
    lolomon

    • 30 snackface

      lora- I hope you’re OK with me texting you erryday till we meet. WAIT. I don’t have your number!!?!?!

  24. I’ve never seen a picture of your Dad…I LOVE HIM!!! And of course the rest of your crazy family too! Do you guys have plans for Thanksgiving? I’ll make room πŸ˜‰

    My weekend was BIZ-E. Ugh. Glad it’s over.

  25. heyhey! looks like you had an amazeeee weekend. so jeal! mine was rather boring. love all of your eats esp. mama’s stew! looks to die for. have a great monday!

  26. 33 crazylittlethingneela

    i had my first carrot cake ever this weekend. being the boring German lady i had never even heard that something that good existed! obviously my weekend was a blast after that πŸ˜‰
    maybe almost as good as yours!
    xoxo
    loads of love from me to you sweetie

  27. The highlights of my weekend were two excellent jogs (I always think that running in the cold will be a downer, but then the fresh air gives me sooo much energy) and watching last week’s “Glee” online. Kurt is so adorable!!

  28. Oh my gosh -Marshmallow and my dog are like the same dog! Is she (he?) a mix? My gal pup Blue is an Aussie Shepherd mutt and we can’t figure out her other genes. Does ‘Mallow have a full tail or little stumpy one?

    • 36 snackface

      Laura- OMG!!! So we have no idea what Marshmallow is! She’s definitely a mix of something! She has a long tail!

  29. 37 SΓΌnne

    Wow, your weekend seems to have been really great. I love being with my family as well!

    My foodie highlight of the weekend was chocolate fondue + a good movie (Girl with a pearl earring starring Scarlett Johansson) on friday. Saturday evening was made up by major gossiping + dinner with other friends. It was such an awesome weekend because I got to meet lots of my friends, even several who hardly have any time.

  30. yay to NYC! my friend in NYC just started a blog. http://www.thindulge.wordpress.com
    go there, meet her, meet her in person, shes my bestie! you’ll love her!!! πŸ™‚ xo

    • 39 snackface

      dailygoods- Honeybun!! Thank you so much for sending me over there because, as it turns out, I’ll be staying in the area where your dear friend lives!!!

  31. ahhhhh yesssss fab weekend if i do say so myself! friends, food, family and fun – that is a winner. the pic of you and matty rich is adorbs as well as the pic of mama j and popsicle. too. dang. cute.

    my weekend was good, chatting witchoo, relaxing, reading while in the bathtub, working (extra dolla dolla bills) enjoying glorious bowls of oatmeal – twas’ a good weekend πŸ™‚

  32. Oh fun stuff! I LOVE your fam. Almost as much as mine. For realz.

    As for me? I ran 18 miles, danced my butt off and watched boys ride dirt bikes. It was fun. Fun indeed. Now if I can only get Mama D to lick the Pops face.

    PS: Good work with Italio-creepster. He needed to go. When you have to talk through the door, that’s when you know it’s not gonna work.

    • 42 snackface

      Whit- Hahahaha “When you have to talk through the door, that’s when you know it’s not gonna work.” You are amazing. Thank you. You’re also amazing for those 18 miles! CRAZY LADY! (Yes, I just read your post and saw that you called yourself a crazy lady.)

  33. I’ve NEVER experienced any sort of Christmas ale – isn’t that cray cray? I gotta get on that! You look so excited in your ale picture πŸ™‚

    I love the shenanies you and your family get into! It sounds like there’s never a dull moment in your household. That Christmas plate is so festive and fun! Adores!!

    Ahh so much excitement coming up for you! Hope you have a rockin’ Monday!

  34. Mom’s seriously DO know how to make the best toast! My mom can make be a PB&J and it amazingly tastes better than any other sandwich I could make.

    That soup looks redic!

    Well on Thursday I go into a car accident (not my fault and everyone is fine) but my poor car is now in the shop til the end of time! Other than that, pretty darn uneventful πŸ™‚

    • 45 snackface

      Therese- Ya know what I think it is with moms making sandwiches and toast? At least for me, I think it’s because my mom uses more butter/jam/whatever than I would use for myself. But no, Mom knows best fa sho. Gahhh car accident. I am so sorry about that, but happy you’re in one piece! πŸ™‚

  35. 46 Zaineb

    My weekend wuz pretty fun actually.
    we went to the mall for my sister’s 18th b-day, so naturally i bought myself something very cute from, where else, FOREVER21 baby!
    weekend wuz also spent catching up with friends and family, per usual, and SLEEPING which i definetly need more of in my life
    UGHH i don’t wanna think about finals! the stupid thing is our school administrators made our second trimester finals the week after we take the ACT! 2 much stress! if i do fail, i can just “blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol” even though i don’t drink, and never plan on it, that excuse never fails, at least according to jaime foxx

  36. Gosh… I just love it all! I would have been happy eating one of everything in this post! πŸ˜‰ Not to mention, the Christmas plate from Target! I need to go check those out!

  37. you gotta stop tempting me with those pics of matty rich πŸ˜‰

    I love the way your eyes light up at the sight of christmas ale — similar to the way my eyes light up at the sight of YOU!

    and I can not even handle that pic of mamabear a.) for her obvious hilar pose and b.) for that cheetah print jacket.. now I know why your so fab! the apple def. doesnt fall far from the tree.

    so I have to ask: how many times did you ‘gasm while eating those cupcakes. Oh my gawdddddd!!

    Love you bunny! *muahz!*

  38. I definitely started a blog this weekend!! http://loveinacafe.wordpress.com/
    It may not be food specific, but I definitely prefaced the blog before anyone got the wrong idea πŸ™‚

    I am going to live vicariously through you on your Christmas trip up to NYC! I’d kill to be in the cold city with the amazing Christmas tree and shopping! I am just like you, Christmas music the day November begins. Every. Single. Year!

    • 51 snackface

      li08622- Oh awesome! Welcome to the blog world! I’m on my way to check it out πŸ™‚ And just to clarify, I’ll actually be working for a mag during this holiday season in NYC! Gah! It’ll be thrilling and I certainly hope you’ll join the ride by reading! xoxo

  39. So glad you had a good time with your fam! Looks like a great time. I especially love the tongue pic of your mom, so funny!! Totally something my mom would do. Gotta love crazy family members, eh?

    Good luck with your week!! I have finals last week…today brought on a whole new slew of classes. Meh. πŸ˜‰

  40. We both have crazy mamas–looove it! No wonder we’re possibly a bit crazy ourselves πŸ˜› How do you like that cran Clif bar? I saw it, but didn’t buy because I wasn’t sure!

    • 54 snackface

      CaSaundra- Haha I love our joint craziness. That Clif flavor is delicious, although really, really sweet. I can handle sweet stuff, though. It would also be bossier with bigger chunks of nuts. But I’d give it a try if you’ve ever liked a cranberry+orange scone or muffin!

  41. 55 Kristin

    Hey, just out of curiousity… what’s the starbucks drink? Do you have a holiday favorite??

    • 56 snackface

      Kristen- I actually tried coffee with one pump of the pumpkin spice earlier in October, but found that it had condensed milk in it, which is no good for me! So I returned to a fave: medium coffee with 2 pumps sugar-free cinnamon dolce syrup and an inch of steamed soymilk. Amazing! I know people hate on the sugar-free stuff, but I don’t get it often…but it’s already the holidays in my head, so I obviously went for it!

      • 57 Kristin

        That’s funny cause that’s my fave holiday drink – only I get an americano with pumpkin. I didn’t know about the milk but I’m not vegan. What was it that made you decide to be vegan? I totally understand becoming a vegetarian – have you seen “Food Inc.”?Ridiculously insane movie. They should add a disclaimer “Avoid’ consuming food while viewing” Excuse my endless questions? Always love the blog!

      • 58 snackface

        Kristen- Ay boo. I don’t mind the Qs at all! I was already vegetarian when I went to work at VegNews Magazine in June. Everyone who worked there was vegan, so I just decided to give it a go! I stuck with it for several months, but right now I’m contemplating where I stand. I’ve always believed in “eating what you want, when you want” and sometimes this means eating some froyo or Greek yogurt for me. So I’m currently thinking things through. The turmoil within!

      • 59 Kristin

        I hear you on that. I’ve come back to my vegetarian ways these past few months. Recently I watched “Food inc.” and I am sticking to my guns when I’m ratted out for not eating meat and being picky. Why is it being a vegan sounds good… I tried it for a while. But I missed greek yogurt and cheese too much. All in moderation.

  42. It looks like you had an amazing weekend. I need to spend a weekend with my family…I miss them!


Leave a Reply

