Texts From Last Night

12Nov09

Hello gorgeous people! Last night, as I was laying in bed, feeling my heartbeat in the swollen glands in my throat, I had a sweet text exchange with a gentleman I met last Thursday. We’ve only had contact a few times since then, as I’ve been busy and school and blogging have been my top priorities.

To preface this, let me say that I was in class when he called. I then was trapped in the library, then talked to both MamaJ and Muffin on the phone, then made dinner, ate dinner and eventually forgot that I hadn’t called him back. Also, the use of “homie” you’re about to see is all because of one little text I sent him last weekend. I don’t think he gets my humor. Here are the texts from last night:

Italio-Bro: Hey homie, got an after hours party 5 doors down from you. You should at least text me so we can hang out.
Me: Sh!t I’m sorry! I was in class, then the lib, then on the phone for an hour. I’m actually coming down with something, so I’ll be sleeping tonight. Lame, I know.
Italio-Bro: …I want to call you out so badly right now, but I’ll save you the embarrassment. Have a good night homie!

Alright, I can see how it sounds as though I was blowing him off. I could have explained that I was being honest, but I didn’t. Know why? Because I don’t have the patience, time or desire for men who like to play the game “I’ll Blame Everything on You.” Nope. No thanks. You’re done. And don’t mock my use of homie.

This fine Wednesday morning, however, I awoke chipper and eager to get cracking on a full day’s work. To put things in motion, I made a killer breakfast:

pumpkin bran

Pumpkin oat bran and snowman coffee.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oat bran, 1+2/3 C water, 1/3 C pumpkin, cinnamon, maple syrup and crunchy almond butter. I forgot about my almond butter! It was feeling neglected prior to my giving it proper attention this morning. Guess it knew how Italio-Bro was feeling. Except, I actually like almond butter:

pumpkin bran close

Oh! There were, like, eight hidden raspberries in there, too!

I lay on my bed, watching Bonnie and Clyde for an hour or so after breakfast. This was for the paper I have yet to write. It’s due at 7pm Thursday. Yes, I’ll be up till 4am after I write this post.

When the film was finished, I changed into my gym gear and hopped out the door. I actually timed my walk to the gym. Twenty minutes exactly! I followed those 20 minutes of walking with 50 minutes on the elliptical, 40 pages of reading and 30 minutes of arms and abs on weight machines. I’m so intense it scares me sometimes. Kidding. Oh! And I kid you not, my shirt was on inside out the whole time! Didn’t even realize until I was in the middle of the elliptical session.

I took the long twenty-plus minute walk home, showered and was starving as I assembled this:

bnut soup lunch 2

Comforting and scrumptious.

To accompany a cinnamon-topped bowl of TJ’s butternut squash soup, I sliced an apple and toasted an Arnold’s Thin. Smart Balance Light and TJ’s cranberry apple butter helped jazz up the thins.

I took care of some bills and then started to research for my paper soon after eating. For some reason, lunch was not filling at all and I needed snack one at 3:30pm:

tea time

Tea time.

I didn’t think it was possible, but Hermits can be exponentially more delicious. Just dunk ’em into Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea. Gasm.

I read about Bonnie and Clyde and Jules et Jim for another hour before breaking for snack two:

pretz snack

Pretzels with trio of dips and a naughty, delicious drank.

I plated pretzel thins with hummus, pumpkin butter and sunbutter. Not bad at all when combined:

pretz snack close

Very brown, but very tasty.

I went back to reading and by 6pm I was hungry again. I went ahead and made dinner:

christmas fu

Christmas 'Fu!

I had vegetables that were going to create their own organisms soon, so this was a thrown-together ‘fu dish. In a medium pot over medium heat, I combined 1/3 block tofu, 2-3 C spinach, 1 C-ish broccoli, 6 cherry tomatoes, 1 C-ish pasta sauce and seasoned with crushed red pepper, Frank and fresh ground pepper. I would have given my left big toe for fresh French baguette to dip into this:

christmas fu close

Pasta sauce-soaked brocolli is the best.

Though dinner was delicious, my tum needed something more:

tendons and carob curreal

Creep ass tendons and wrinkly hand with desert.

In the mug: puffed wheat, So Delicious coconut milk, carob chips and a raz on top. More snacking has since happened, such as the end of a bag of trail mix. And I’m still hungry. Metabolism, what is going on?

So sorry to rush through this, but homie has a paper to write! I send my love and many snacks πŸ™‚

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What’s the last ridiculous/hilarious/obnoxious text exchange you had? Feel free to be as open as you wish! Because clearly, I was.

 

56 Responses to “Texts From Last Night”

  1. I love the Christmas ‘Fu. YUM!

    As for obnoxious texts, I hate when people text me with “K.” So annoying!!!

  2. I get annoyed with too many acronyms and symbols in texts, since I’m a “grammar Nazi,” haha πŸ˜€

  3. I’m not a big texter. I’d much rather email or talk to someone. But I hate men who play games!! Good for you for getting out now. He’s not worth your time if he’s playing the blame game.

    Love the AB topped oat bran & I too, have been outta control snacky today.

  4. 4 Lindsey

    PLEASE tell me you have heard this before! It’s kinda long and at the end you really want to punch this guy, but it’s amazing what douches some guys can be! http://melodymaker.posterous.com/the-reason-some-girls-stay-single-very-funny
    Enjoy =)

  5. great eats! you gotta fuel your body and if it is hungry then feed it!
    jenna

  6. Ew that guy sounds like a pain! I recently had a very awkward text exchange with an ex, where he tried to tell me all the great stuff about him. Um, seriously, did he think that was going to impress??

  7. 7 shell625

    looks like some deliiicous eats.. esp the oats. and i love diet sunkist / pretzel crisps

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. 8 Lyss

    ex-boyfriend: “how much do you miss me?”
    alyssa: “slim to none.”
    ex-boyfriend: “ouch.”

    girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do πŸ™‚

  9. dude…i want that last snack of yours…i drool on your page.

    and all my texts are always out there…i’m odd like that. but that makes me special, right?

    oh yeah, love all the dips for your pretzels..are those the TJ pretzels?

    • 10 snackface

      Melissa- Hey boo! The pretzels were actually pretzel crisps, a brand of which I forget the name. I know, shocking that they weren’t TJ’s!

  10. Homie’s got no game! Not you, HIM.

    So i’ve got answers for your probs hypothetical (?) questions! Lunch wasn’t that filling since you were lacking in the protein…and your metab is going craze since you walked 20 mins to the gym then hit up a sweaty 50 mins of cardio and walked on back home! Das WASSUP! Am I right, or am I right?? πŸ™‚

    Droolin’ over that broc/pasta sauce/tofu din!! Mmm, pasta sauce goes PERFECTLY with broc. Agreed! That pretz & dip trio snack platter and breakfast also look amazing!! Ps, we’re twins! I def had some amy’s b-nut squash soup with dinner monday night and topped it with cinnamon!!

    Love youuu! Good luck with the paper, i’d harass you on g-chat but know that you’re busy! xoxo

  11. 12 traynharder23

    i think i win for weirdest text exchange ever?

    texting a boy about meeting someone that looked like him (twin).
    T: i met your twin.
    J (the boy): no way, i’m one off
    T: i know! but the resemblance is uncanny!
    J: he must be one good lookin’ fela
    T: yeah i guess so…but one of y’all is better and better lookin
    J: thanks for the vote of confidence. always stick with the original.
    T: well i’ll compare next time i see him. but apparently i should stick with the original aka hotter version
    J: yeah. I got a bigger d*ck too.

    …….

    • 13 snackface

      traynharder23- AHH!!!!!! Hahahaha omg J needs to get over himself. I LOVE this.

  12. Haha, boys are so dumb sometimes. Last time someone hit on me, I was stuffing my face with a messy veggie wrap, and I told him – with my mouth FULL – that I was happily married, showed him my ring – and he still wouldn’t leave me alone. It was ridiculous, so I turned my back to him, continued eating – and then he told me “Well, I hate you” – Wha??! I just said “okay..thanks for letting me know.”

    Also, I’ve had a bottomless-pit-like hunger today, too. In fact, I need to go get another snack right now.

  13. haha I am just like that with boys– they say one thing that rubs me the wrong way and I am “done”.. sometimes I wonder if I am too judgemental but I like to think its just because I have good instincts and keep my standards high. I like your attitude!

    • 16 snackface

      Jaime- We are definitely in the right. Men need to learn not to be such needy boobs.

  14. Hahaha oh I hate it when guys try and make you feel guilty! Especially when you don’t know them!
    I’ve had some pretty ridiculous exchanges with my sister who lives on the other side of the country… She was bragging to me today about some free Chipotle promotion going on in Colorado Springs and I got really jealous. Ha!

  15. hoooomie! haha.. i like your analysis of this text exchange. i like where your head’s at. and i really don’t recall a specific ridic exchange as of late, but it is always fun to be ten sheets to the wind and wake up and read what you were texting the night before, no? maybe that is just me..

    LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEE YOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOU KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKAILEYYYYYY

  16. diet sunkist is AMAZING..so..sinfully..delicious..
    and hah ive def had weirdo text exchanges..like when you say something like “(insert name here) is getting on my nerves” to one of your friends and you send it to THAT friend who you are talking about.. yeah.. awkward

  17. 20 Julia

    There is a distinct possibility that this only funny to me but I’ll share anyway. My boyfriend asked me to go get his running clothes from his apartment for him before I met him to run because he forgot to get them before he left. I went and couldn’t find them, so this conversation happened:
    J: Where did you say you’re running clothes are?
    D: On the shelf. In the closet. Under the pillow. (he actually punctuated it like that)
    At first I was confused, but then I found them on a shelf in the closet under a pillow. I still don’t know what the hell they were doing there.

  18. um your texts from last night = my entire 5 relationships….if you shall call them that. boys suck. period. if they had balls, then they’d speak with words, and not with horrible puns or witicisms or blame us for not wanting to hang…just saying πŸ™‚

    ps. NYC dec 18 is happening…i best be seeing you “homie” in my fav citay for life.

    xoxooxxox, your twinie,

    Lo Lo

    p.s. hermits effin rock my socks–well i dont wear socks, but if I did, hermit would rock them.

    p.s.s. totally had 2.5 bottles of wine with the gals, and may regret this comment soon…its okay. im steezy.

    • 23 snackface

      lore- AHHHHH YESSSS!!! It is going DOWN! We are going to have an amazing, sure to be infamous, time!

  19. 24 fruitsveggieslife

    I haven’t had a good text exchange, due to the whole “I’m in Ireland thing”. Over here, the most ridiculous things are strange Irish … texting dialects?

    Me: “Do you know were Bettie Higgs’ office is? Thanks!”
    Anne (an Irish friends): “Its across d road in d red brick building dats furtherst down d hill. Shes on either d first r second floor. Ul c it as u wander up d stairs. D buildin is called antil r sumtin like dat nd d sign says sociology. It liez. Have fun wit d stairs. Der ridiculously steep.”

    • 25 snackface

      fruitsveggieslife- Ahh! Those texts remind me of my summer! We hung out with Irish guys who texted like that! But once you talk to them, it all makes sense. Then you pick up the habit yourself and have a hard time dropping it once the summer’s over and your Ohio friends don’t know what the hell you mean. oops, talking about myself, obvs.

  20. 26 Cassie

    Ah looking at all your fall-y food is making me crave the US. I’m in Madrid right now and finding pumpkin anything is impossible! On that note, texts here in Spanish are so strange some like “x” means “por” they use “k” for “que” and bs means “besos” Half the time I can’t understand one thing people are trying to say!

  21. oh my gosh, all of your food looks so good! esp that pumpkin oatbran!!!
    i hope you feel better asap.
    -lexi

  22. 28 crazylittlethingneela

    i feel you on the text. there is this guy here and even though i never ever have texted him back or called him back he keeps on calling and smsing. i don’t know why he doesn;t stop for once. weird!!
    haha the gym shirt dilemma made me laugh! i have had that happen to me to. but in my case people came up to me and actually made me aware of it πŸ˜‰
    hope you don’t have too much work with that paper hun
    xoxo

  23. I’m a huge texter! All day everyday. I just really hate talking on the phone.

    Last funny text I got was from this sophomore guy that I spoke to like once in class and now he thinks we’re bffs. Creeeeper.

  24. Your eats look super fabulous especially that tofu din din. YUM. Im boring.. so no super weird texts.. I think my contact list shrunk BIG time when I got out of school and got a job etc. lol My mom text approx 10 times a day?! Does that count? lol

    • 31 snackface

      Abby- Most of my texts are with my mom. I understand this. Last night, we had at least six texts strictly about Glee.

  25. GIRL! when you move to NYC you HAVE to meet up with my best friend in the world Brittany. She will definitely show you a fun time! πŸ™‚ I actually just talked to her into starting a blog, and told her i’d introduce you two bc shes the shit, and so are you πŸ™‚ i’ll let you know the url to it when its up!!!! xoxo

    • 33 snackface

      dailygoods- Lovepie!! I want to meet her. And you’re coming to NYC, right? YES.

  26. Texts are tricky things b/c so much gets lost in translation. The last weird exchange was my ex thinking I was sending him a wedding invitation when clearly I’m stiill hung up on him and not dating anybody.

  27. haha, you crack me up!! I’m glad you stayed true to yourself and didn’t let the text exchange bring you down or ruin your day! Boys are silly and dumb sometimes– but I’m sure you’ve figured that out by now πŸ™‚

    I find it incredibly inspiring to read how you follow the signs your body tells you. If you’re hungry, you’ll eat– even though you may thought you ate enough. I’m going to try harder to listen to my body and take care of it. Thanks for the motivation πŸ™‚

    I hope you have a fantastic day, sweetie!
    with tons of love,
    rebecca

    • 36 snackface

      rebecca- Awww you are such a sweetpea! I know it can be tough to go with your body’s desires even if your head is screaming at you “You’ve had enough.” Tell it to shut the hell up and go get another snack. Or, in my case, 12 snacks.

  28. Hmmm… pumpkin oat bran looks so much more visually interesting than pumpkin oatmeal! Must try.

    What about your RIGHT big toe? πŸ˜‰

    Good luck on your paper!

    ❀ ❀

    • 38 snackface

      blueyedheart- Oat bran is kind of Cream of Wheat-y/ babyfoodier than oats. So good. And I care more about my right big toe than my left, so I’m not parting with it.

  29. 39 eatolive

    i am in desperate need of that sleigh ride tea.

  30. Haha I love ridiculous text messages. Yesterday morning after a night out I get a text from my friend at 6am telling me that I shouldn’t be sleeping because he hadn’t gone to bed yet. Then he goes on to ask if I could come and help him clean his house. At 6AM!!! not ok. hahah.
    It’s not too ridiculous, but it’s the most recent one I could remember.

    Yummy eats and I love wrapping up my day with some cereal goodness!

  31. Last night, betwixt my sis and I:

    Sis: Are you watching Glee?
    Me: No, the CMAS, and TJ is supposed to come over, but he hasn’t. I even washed my feet.
    Sis: lol!

    The killer part? When TJ eventually came over, and somehow ended up reading this little exchange. I die.

  32. ew. homie needs to get over himself. boo. love the snackage. condiment central!

    xmas ‘fu gets 2 thumbs up from me.

    im all about the coco leche right now. YUMZZZ

  33. Um, Italio-bro has got to go! I would have sass-a-frassed his ass back to….wherever he comes from, ya know what I mean?! πŸ˜‰

    Oh Hermits! I adore those a little too much! Your dip trifecta intrigues me! All three sub parts are delicious on their own so it has to be some amazing combination when they all get together!

    YAY your dinner is so festive, I loves!! Wrist tendons creep me out as well – they’re so weird!

  34. 45 lowandbhold

    Good luck with the paper! That was my exact approach to paper-writing when in school.

    Also, I don’t play that “Poor pitiful me, you won’t call or text me back and I’m so sad” game either. I’ll text you when I want, see you when I want, and you should be grateful. Haha, maybe this is why I’m single!

    Love the Christmas ‘fu!

    • 46 snackface

      lowandbehold- Yeah, sometimes I think maybe I’m too picky and am mostly concerned with my own schedule/wants. Then I think, hell no. Haven’t we all lost our true selves and desires in a relationship before and put the guy first? Not doing that again.

  35. Good for you and rejecting that guy! Texting is definitely tricky sometimes though. Obviously the tone of something that is said can change the meaning totally. That’s why I hate texting guys in the beginning! Oh, and definitely can’t stand when they only text instead of call…oh man.

  36. Yummy eats and ugh don’t get me started on guys and texting! I had a guy who texted me to talk about my ass for hours! Such a sweetie.

  37. That was some seriously good snackage lady! Um, can I just say that I LOVE Jules et Jim and that Bonnie and Clyde is one of my favourites? K, thanks. Studying film at university = so fun, is it not?!
    P.S. Mr Snarky needs to go.

  38. 50 Zaineb

    Personally, me no comprehendo texting-at least as a supplement for REAL CONVERSATION, cuz i learned u can’t really tell what a person is feeling in a text or how they r trying to say what they said
    Oh, and by the way, a guy who uses the word “homie” is not worth any stress, u feelin me homie? πŸ™‚

  39. ahhhh i LOVE your snack plate. and i would write a longer comment, but i am in the laundromat and some weirdo lady who looks like cruella de ville if she were homeless is eyeing up my laundry. gotta jet.

    LOVE YOU

  40. Boys are stupid! Just thought I would put that out there! : )

  41. 53 Tamara

    I LOVE those pretzel thins. The garlic ones are worth the stand-a-good-10-feet-away garlic breath they give you. Yummmm. Also, I think I’m going to try the dinner you posted, it looks scrumptious.

    In other news, it took me a good minute to figure out where the Arnold Thins were in that picture because I definitely thought those were pancakes and couldn’t see otherwise. Ahem.

    Lastly, this Italian fellow sounds like a dating fail. I’m glad you did not respond.

  42. 54 Hannah

    Maybe you’re so hungry because you worked out like 2 hours? I had butternut squash soup today too-it’s the best!

  43. “homie”.. really? really? dude obvi didn’t realize what a privelage he had to even have your numbie. Speaking of which, I fbooked you with my diggies a few weeks ago and never got yours back 😦 I can understand, I suppose, since I’m slightly obsessed with you and you fear for your life — but I promise I’ll only stalk you mondays wednesdays and fridays!

    all my love to you tootsie roll :)! xo

  44. i have had some awkward texts with an ex about his current ‘gal’ and he knows I am well in a serious relationship, he just took it one step too far so I just ignored…texting can certainly get wierd bc people tend to say everything on their mind when they are not face to face!

    your snacks look delicious! I LOVE those pretzel flats!! they are so good to dip in!

    happy weekend!


Leave a Reply

