Went and Saw

04Nov09

Hi beauties! I don’t think I can say this enough: you all are AMAZING. Your words were exactly what I needed to help me through a scratchy spot. Muffin and I both sincerely thank you.

Monday afternoon, MamaJ and I set out on our trip back to Athens. The sight of this glorious Starbucks cup made my spirits significantly brighter:

highlight del dia

Holiday cups! I'm all ova dat.

Have I mentioned that November makes me happy? Here’s why:
-I can listen to Christmas music non-stop.
-I can use/buy/wear holiday-related items with no shame.
-Cookies, baked goods of all sorts and truly delicious foods are plentiful.
-Fall quarter comes to a close.
-My birthday is November 18. I will be 22, which is merely a continuation of 21.
-Thanksgiving is tremendous. This year’s will be different, but oh well.
-I’ll be heading to NYC to start working on the 23!

That’s what that single red Starbucks cup reminded me. The rest of Monday’s eats were uninspired, as I was still in an emotionally uninspired place. Dinner was simple:

soup n bread

Veggie soup and potato rosemary bread with light Smart Balance.

I followed the TJ‘s soup with some TJ‘s trail mix:

trail mix

Nuts about Raspberries + Chocolate Trek Mix. Mmmm.

And then Muffin and I talked. I apologized for acting like a needy, jealous boyfriend among other things, she shared her side of the story and, as you all predicted, we are back to being the best of friends. Thank the sweet heavens above because I was a mess. I can now smile and mean it. Love my Muffin.

Tuesday morning I awoke to a room bursting in the sunlight. My morning class was canceled and I had major plans for the afternoon. In a chipper, excited mood, I showered and then enjoyed a gorgeous breakfast:

pumpkin oats

Luscious pumpkin oats drizzled with sunflower seed butter and sunshine.

In the mix: 1/3 C oats, 1/3 C pumpkin, 1 C water, 1 spoon of pumpkin butter and a drizzle of sunflower seed butter.

I spent the next hour organizing my bag, wardrobe, face and hair. I packed a car-friendly lunch:

car lunch

Honeycrisp, Clif and Vitaminwater10.

I received an email from my agency last week about a go-see for the next week. So today, I drove to Columbus to go see an agent from FORD New York. Major. This was an open call for everyone in my agency (I think). Either way, I thought the timing of the whole New York thing to be too crazy to pass up. Therefore, I went and saw.

I have no idea how it went. It was very brief and included the agent looking at my book and then taking a straight-on head shot, a profile shot and a full-body shot, all very standard. Of course, I’ll let you know if I here anything back!

I parked, naturally, at a food market. I’d been craving veg all day and bought some raw green beans to join the Honeycrisp and Clif:

green beans n directions

Directions, green beans, grandma black purse.

If you’re ever stressed while trying to find your way out of a city, green beans make for a fabulous outlet.

By the time I got back to Athens, I’d missed both afternoon classes. I can’t stand skipping class, but today was worth it. Because it was too late to make it to Film, I Krogered and restocked my produce.

I dropped off the goods at my house, parked Muffin’s car at her house (she let me borrow hers), handed her key to her and then hit up the gym! I had a sweat-tastic 50-minute session on the elliptical and followed it up with quick ab work.

On my way home, I talked to my Aunty Snooze, who is majorly helping me with finding places to stay while in NYC. If you know anyone in the area who wouldn’t mind a couch-crasher, subleaser or house sitter from November 22 through December 15, please let me know. Sistah needs help!

When I got home, I was a popsicle and my snot was quickly turning to icicles. Before doing anything about that, I popped a baby acorn squash in the oven at 450* F. Only then did I take care of my frozen bod. (Note to self: shorts are no longer acceptable this time of year. Sweatpants, kiddo.)

Post shower, I threw together a Christmas-colored salad:

green n red hugh jass

Ok, Christmas- and vomit-colored salad. Tasty, I swear.

I then challenged my intestines to a whole acorn squash, drizzled with TJ’s cranberry apple butter:

acorn squash

Can I please eat a whole squash every night? That would be great, thanks.

I tried not to eat the skin because I’ve made that mistake before. That cleaned me out better than the flu of 2003. Maybe I didn’t have a flu in 2003, but you get the idea. Moving on. I was so pleasantly full after this that I thought, “hey, maybe I won’t need snacks tonight!” Lies. I need chocolate and not just the chips that I picked out of the Nuts about Raspberries + Chocolate Trek Mix. And then I’ll probably need cereal. Yes need.

Alright kittens, I need to read 200+ pages of Peter Ho Davies’ The Welsh Girl. Thanks again for the undying support! Love you all more than hummus, peanut butter and cereal.

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: If you are in NYC, can I live with you from November 23 through December 15? OK, I’m halfΒ  kidding about that. Real Q: Are you ready for all the holiday spirit? How about November 18, National SnackFace Day?
A National SnackFace Day would be soooo bossy! Pita and hummus, cereal and So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage for all!


64 Responses to “Went and Saw”

  1. 1 Michaela

    I freakin’ love Starbucks’ holiday cups. They make me happy..unlike the rest of winter.

  2. i celebrate Snackface day ev day babycakes. hummus all da time…well today it was a giant cupcake for lunch πŸ™‚ im glad u and muffie patched thangs up! I was going to come down there and intervene so that my snackcake would be happier πŸ™‚ have a wonderful wednesday gorgey! ill be working so BOO. bother me, mucho k? lol

    xoxo
    Lo

  3. I’m so happy that life is good with the Muff and that Starbucks has gone all holiday on their cups!

    I’ve been eating entire squashes for the past few weeks. Delicious, but that’s all I’m going to say.

  4. YYYYYES!!! So glad that you and Muffin are a-okay πŸ™‚

    I’m sure you rocked out the go-see; and remember, I’ll be in NYC soon as well!

  5. 5 Tamara

    AHHHH! HOLIDAY STARBUCKS CUPS. That made me soo excited. I must journey there soon.

    I also wanted to say – big congrats on your internship and I’m so glad you and Muffin are two muffins in a muffin tin again (or something?). Heartwarming. I hate fighting, despise confrontation, and am too stubborn to apologize. It’s pretty pathetic.

    Oh, as for accomodations, you can stay in the fictional loft I created in my head in 7th grade on the Upper East Side. It’s pretty elaborate after 8 years of daydreams, but it’s all yours! Take care of my fictional Yorkies.

  6. I’m glad someone else gets just as excited about Christmas. No shame. Girly, I’d love it for you to stay with me but sadly my dorm has policies against that haha 😦 I know a lot of college-aged girls around here though so if I hear anything about people having open rooms, I’ll definitely let you know!

  7. 7 shell625

    i got starbucks today too and i was so pumped about the cups!! they’re adorable

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  8. glad you and muffin got things figured out!

    and hope you get a call back! how exciting!

  9. yay for the holiday cups!! that means the holidays are soon approaching!
    jenna

  10. Ok, I was grinning so HUGE when I read the ‘Muffin and I sincerely thank you.’ Because that means all is right in the world again! Muffin and Snackface are reunited and Starbucks has red cups.

    And so therefore, yes we here in Whitland declare November 18, National Snackface Day.

  11. I’m glad you were able to work things out with Muffin!

    I love the Starbucks holiday cups!

  12. 12 Aimee Rancer

    Have to admit, we missed you in class on Monday! I want to hear ALL about this casting call, girl. As a serious fashion lover, I am interesting in anything to do with either New York or fashion.

    With that said, I’ve never tried a Cliff bar…should I be daring and try one?

    πŸ™‚ See you in class tomorrow!

    • 13 snackface

      Aimee – I felt awful for not going to class! I just couldn’t make it back in time. Anyway, I’m bringing you a Clif bar tomorrow. You must try!

  13. yay for rebounding in style! is it coincidence we BOTH posted about starbucks holiday cups? i think not. more like fate.

    i am so glad you and muffin are good, soooo excited for this modeling stuff, crossing my fingers you find somewhere to stay (unfortunately, i gots nothing) and drooling over all your eats. that soup looks DEE-LISH.

    good luck reading mama!

  14. Glad you went and saw Muffin and made up! I eat squash skin all the time for nutrients, and yes, maybe a bit out of laziness. I always wash them, though! I’d rather not know how many pesticides remain regardless.

    A National Snackface day would be pretty bossy. I’d celebrate with plenty of Puffins.

  15. reunited and it feels so good! i’m sure that’s what you were mentally singing, my little glee princessa. glad you two are back on track, especially if that’ll send positive vibes toward any of that ford biznass. soo exciting !!

    Also I LOVE the full feeling of eating whole squash, but snacking is non-negotiable when youre a SNACKFACE–or a wannabe snackface… whatevs

    aaand lastly where are you looking in NYC?

    • 17 snackface

      The Foodie Diaries – Oh honay, I am looking anywhere in NYC. I really have no idea what’s near what, so I’m just searching for places that are available and affordable!

  16. 18 Kate

    Too funny…My boyfriend’s birthday is on November 18th, too! I love that entire week because the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show airs, then it’s the man’s bday and then I am hitting up the midnight showing of NEW MOON so, yes, I am a big dork but I am looking forward to that week! Best of luck finding a place to crash in The City πŸ™‚

    • 19 snackface

      Kate – Haha I love that you have that whole week down pat. It sounds like it’s going to be a fab one! Thanks for the luck, too!

  17. I love the holidays! After Thanksgiving, Christmas is fair game. For some reason, this year I am ready for Christmas Carols and Tree Decorating now!

  18. So glad you are back to your “bossy” self in this post! I wish I lived in NYC so you could live with me for a few weeks. Oh my lawd, that sounds creepy. But I will definitely be celebrating National Snackface day! I can’t wait to hear all about your went-ing and saw-ing! I’m sure you did fab!!!

  19. Yay Xmas music and holiday cups!!! Some of the best things EVER. πŸ˜€ I do not kid.
    LOL maybe you did have the flu in 2003. Love it. I’m glad things are better with you and Muffins. Things just fall back into place when they’re meant to be πŸ™‚

  20. My dad’s birthday is nov.18th so i will be sure to send you a nice big happy bday message! Sounds like november is going to be a fun/jammed packed month pour toi! Bon chance!

  21. 24 crazylittlethingneela

    you’re so gorgeous!! i’d love a national snackface day and i’d even celebrate it all the way over here in singapore πŸ˜‰
    glad all is well with you and your best friend!
    have a lovely day
    xoxo

    • 25 snackface

      crazylittlethingneela- Awww thanks for the sweet compliment! And yayyy for worldwide SnackFace day!!! Haha that’d be awesome.

  22. Horray for November! I’m so excited for the upcoming holidays..which means FOOD! haha

    I’m so glad you and Muffin made up, that makes me so happy!

    Ohh girllll, I bet you did AMAZING on the go-see!

  23. I am SO already in the holiday spirit! I was listening to Christmas music yesterday!

  24. Yay I’m so glad you’re coming to NYC!!! We must definitely meet up when you come, congrats again:)

  25. 29 Lizzy

    I new that you and Muffin would work things out! I’m so so so happy for you! πŸ™‚ I know that you probs have a HUGE smile plastered on that cute face of yours!

    I was informed yesterday as well that Starbies has introduced the red cup again and trust me i got giddy myself! I LOVE the holiday season, it just brings such cheer!

    I’m seriously crossing my fingers that you find a place to stay. trust me if i lived in NYC you would most DEF be living with me! πŸ™‚

    Have a great day (wednesday since i’m reading this today!) love u

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  26. CONGRATS and GOOD LUCK with your open call for Ford!! You best be SURE to update us, girly. So, I keep seeing acorn squashes appear on everyone’s blogs, I guess I should hop on the bandwagon and try it out πŸ™‚

    I hope you have a fabulous day and can enjoy this beautiful sunshine!
    rebecca

  27. Holiday cups!! It’s still a wee bit too early to start celebrating Christmas for me, because I totally immerse myself in it, and would probably get sick of it by the time Christmas gets here. But I still love the holidays:)

  28. I hope you get a call back!! That would be so exciting. And I’m glad you & Muffin are back to normal πŸ™‚

  29. I LOVEEE November as well.

    Reasons:
    -I’m turning 18 on Nov. 21st. FINALLY!
    -Thanksgiving is the best thing ever (next to Christmas)
    -Agree on the christmas music, wearing holiday items, and bundling up in sweaters
    -My mom’s birthday is exactly a week before mine, and it’s so special to share that with her!

    So excited for everything happening this month πŸ™‚ And in December. I could go on and on about how much I love the holidays haha.

    I don’t know why, but that soft, doughy bread that you had with your soup just sounds SO good right now. Oh boy.

    I’m glad you and Muffin are doing well!

  30. Ahhh I get like a kid on Christmas right once the holiday cups come out at Sbucks.. I cant wait for them to show up around here in CT. Thanksgiving is just around the corner and all I can think about is baking delish goods by the dozen too.

    Sooo happy everything with Miss Muffin was cleared up. Best friends can butt heads once in a while, but you two are best friends for reason and it so obviously shows which is awesomeee πŸ™‚

    One of my best girlfriends is a Ford model and it has opened SO many doors for her! I REALLY reallyyyy hope you get a callback! I’ll be rootin for ya ova here haha.. & I’d be way surprised if you didnt! Good Luck girly πŸ™‚

  31. glad to hear you and Muffin are back together πŸ™‚ it happens to the best of us!

  32. soo glad you and muffin are back together πŸ™‚ and yes i am moreee than excited about the holiday season- i LOVEEEE christmas music and the smell of xmas trees hah and yay for starbys cups- tres exciting!

  33. OMG!!! WE HAVE THE SAME BIRFDAY!! just sayin…
    it’s like having the same b-day as a celebrity!
    MA

  34. Hey! I forgot to mention this on my previous comment but you are totally welcome to crash at my apartment whenever you need to. You can come check it out first to see if you like it. I know that may sound weird considering I’ve never met you, but we do have an extra room and live next to a very convenient subway stop!

  35. 39 lowandbhold

    Sooooo glad you made up! Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay for the go see! You be so glamorous! Get it girl πŸ™‚

  36. I didn’t know you can eat raw green beans! (Okay, technically you can eat raw anything… but you know what I mean. :p)

    ❀ ❀

    • 41 snackface

      blueeyedheart- I actually prefer them raw! This stems from childhood when my parents would hold green bean-eating contests. In retrospect, that was probably a choking hazard, but we had a blast eating green beans.

  37. Your drizzly oats always look fantastic, I need to try sunflower seed butter soon.

    I can’t believe Christmas is coming up so soon, it feels like it was just summer… 😦 Looking forward to holiday cookies though!

    I know what you mean about eating the squash skin…yeaaaahhh.

  38. 43 Little Bookworm

    I’m glad you and Muffin are ok again. Hope the go-see went well. πŸ™‚

  39. 44 Lindsey

    i definitely go crazy every Nov.1 for my christmas music! I am such a sentimental sucker and have always been making Christmas last as long as possible.

    I wish desperately that Icould offer you my aunt’s apt. in NY! she lives in Greenwich right next to soho!

  40. yay i’m glad you and muffin made up. i was worried…but not really…cus you two are meant to be πŸ™‚

  41. YAY RED CUPS!! Now WFs and Panera need to get on track with their holiday thing-a-lings. I love November for the same reasons you do πŸ™‚

    So haps you and muffin have reunited! I knew you guys would work out your issues! I’ve got my fingers crossed for you, mamacita! Hope you hear back wonderful news from your go-see!

    I’m no help with NYC but if you ever need a place to crash in MI – you know where to look! HAPPY WENDESDAY BUG-A-BOO!!

  42. 47 Natalie

    well i just started reading your blog, i found it from http://www.fitnessista.com i am trying to eat better and thinking about becoming vegan. your blog is well put together and i really like the way you write. i love all the pictures as well! i was wondering though if you could help me understand a few things,,, these “balls” you put on salads.. what are they?? also, in your wraps, what the what? i feel like i am reading a different language! for instance, chutney.. i guess i could google it but i thought i would come to you first! other than that your blog is fab! and its def been added to my favorites! πŸ™‚ happy hump day!

    • 48 snackface

      Natalie – Welcome to SnackFace! Thanks so much for reading. I forget that people can’t read my mind on certain things or they haven’t been reading forever. So sorry about that! The “balls” are Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs, which I eat all the time. The chutney was another TJ’s product, and I’m not sure what makes chutney different from a jam, but the one I used was basically a chunky jam of mango, ginger and raisins. It’s divine! If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask!

  43. Aww Kailey, we are both NOVEMBER girls!! I turn 19 on nov. 12th!! I know, i know….SUCH a young sophie! But yayy, we must celebrate together in spirit πŸ˜‰ I’ll take a shot for you….you chug a beer for me.

    But ahh starbucks cup makes me so happy! I may just have to get something so that i can rep the holiday spirit!! I’m so excited that the holiday season is approaching πŸ™‚

    And a couple things: Tj’s trail mix is always bomb! Have you tried the tempting trail mix?! That one has PEANUT BUTTER and chocolate chips in it….ooooh so good. I still need to get on acorn squash. Jeany is so on top of it and has been eating it every night! Its her new dinner component of choice!!! Hahaha……

    Okay, I really should get to class soon! LOVE YOU! So glad the muff and snackface have reunited!
    But PS-where did that POTATO ROSEMARY bread come from!?!??! Gasm.

    And PPS-National Snackface Day sounds fab. I’ll never decline a day surrounded by hummus and cereal. Still gotta jump on that coconut milk though! LAST Q (i always seem to ask YOU questions in your comments, hahah)…have you ever tried SILK EGG NOG OR PUMPKIN SPICE MILK!?!! Ahhh buy it now. My mom discovered it last winter and it was my go-to for graham cracker-dipping, coffee and oats!!! Please buy it. So good. XOXOXO

    • 50 snackface

      Jessica – Oh how I love your novel-riffic comments. I miss them when they aren’t here πŸ™‚ I haven’t tried that trail mix and I think it’s because there’s milk or something in the chips. Huge bummer. The bread came from home! We had it with dinner and MamaJ told me to take the rest. And shooo, no I have not tried those Silk’s! I need to get my hands on ’em though! Love you πŸ™‚

  44. Novembz is so epic – not only is it the release of New Moon but it’s always Snackies birfday?! rejoice!

    hope you find a place to crashski pooks — if not you can just stay wid me and commute to the citay everyday. Totes worth the 2 hour drive if you ask me πŸ˜‰ we can cuddle!

    I wish every day was national snackface day.

    hope all is well with you and the muffin.

    Love you snookums! so many hugs and kisses for you πŸ™‚ xo

    • 52 snackface

      Jennay- A two-hour commute sounds totally reasonable! Worth it for the cuddles πŸ˜‰

  45. I just got back from NY and stayed at The Brandon residence- not sure if they have vacancies then, but it’s pretty awesome. I’ve stayed there a bunch of times for anything from 3 weeks – 8 months and it’s in a great location and pretty reasonably priced. Email me if you want more info on it πŸ™‚

  46. I am so glad to know that I am not the only person who thinks cranberries are a perfect topping for acorn squash!

  47. The Welsh Girl! I’m a Welsh girl! Well, my dad is so I am half welsh and half English. My name is Welsh though. I am saying ‘Welsh’ a lot but I am glad you are reading this book. The end.

    So glad you and Muffin are okay! Knew it would work out. Yay on listening to christmas music! Favourite! Mmmm and that soup looks soooo comforting and lovely right now.

  48. I cannot believe you just commented on my blog, that was like the best b-day present EVAHH!!

  49. Im the same way after a nice filling din din.. I always think wow, no need for snackies tonight then Im in the kitchen 2 hours later making myself a lil plate! πŸ™‚

  50. I agree whole-heartedly (and practice) most all of your “I’m so glad it’s November because” statements. Except for of course, I am not moving to NY and I don’t go to school and my bday is not in November, BUT everything else. To a tee.

    I’m glad things are better with Muffin! I hate fights with friends. Its like a part of you is missing (cheesy, but oh-so true). Good luck with your go see (so america’s next top model of you).

  51. 61 kelly

    Hi Kailey!
    I’m an avid reader, and I live in NYC! I recently graduated from college (i went to school in Ohio)…and i totally understand how difficult it is to find housing. Leave me your e-mail address, and i will email you lots of info. Talk to you soon!
    Kelly

  52. 62 Sara

    Kailey (ouch i wrote Hailey… H + K are way too close together but I prefer the K version :P). ANYWAY what did you wear to the go-see?! Anything special or just something to show your true self and your (amazing) figure?

    • 63 snackface

      Sara- I totally forgot to share that! We actually were asked to wear shorts and a black or white tank top and heels. I wore a white cami tucked into khaki Levi shorts, belted with a black belt and heeled it up with black, strappy four-inchers. We also were asked not to wear makeup, which was interesting. Thanks for the super sweet compliment, too πŸ™‚

      • 64 Sara

        hey snacky, I bet you did just fine without makeup! That is interesting but also makes sense, as does the outfit – which might not be what you wear on a regular day, but it’s all about how you pull it off despite the fact that everyone’s required to wear it! Your insights into the modelling world are so interesting! Please keep them up as a regular part of this blog… definitely what makes it unique compared to all the other food/fitness/health blogs! I love stepping into other peoples shoes and hearing about their insights!!


Leave a Reply

