Muchas Gracias

30Oct09

KIDLETS!!! You are all so freaking amazing I can hardly stand it! Thank you so very much for the words of congratulations. I really don’t think any of this would be happening if it weren’t for all a y’all

Muffin and I successfully celebrated last night. I need to vent about something, though. Men across the world, please do not assume that you can kiss a woman–any part of her– merely because she is talking to you. What. The. Hell. I was talking to this guy whom I found to be highly amusing, as he needs to be on the next season of Tool Academy. Actually, that shall be his name now. Tool Academy poured his swagger on me with lines about how the first thing he looks at on a girl is her eyes. “Some guys are all about the boobs or a$$, but I’m all about the eyes.” I’m sure. Anyway, I spent the rest of the night trying to dodge contact. He got my cheek at least twice.

This morning I awoke desperately wanting coffee and oats. I got one of the two:

pumpkin pie oatz

Pumpkin pie oats and Vitaminwater 10, the next best thing to coffee.

This was the best bowl of the oat season I’ve had thus far. The trick? Add a spoon of TJ’s pumpkin butter to the oats just before they’re done cooking. Tasted like straight up pumpkin pie filling!

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, 1/3 C pumpkin, spoon of pumpkin butter and drizzle of sunflower seed butter. Luscious:

pumpkin pie oatz close

Look at the pools of butter. Mmmm.

I studied for a 12pm English exam and then dressed like a diva:

celeb fit

Who does she think she is?

I was practicing being Rachel Zoe in those hilariously enormous sunglasses. And I wore the other pair of cheap Forev 21 jeans MamaJ purchased for me over the weekend. In love.

The English exam was more challenging than the last. I think I crumbled on the third essay but got it together by the fourth. Not sure I’m looking forward to getting that one back.

I ate my lame but delicious lunch in the sunlight:

clif n apple

Honeycrisp and super chewy Clif.

I finally bought a coffee at this point, too.

We watched the other half of the Marlon Brando movie today, and I can say the ending was epic and moving. I’m sure audiences in 1954 were saying “shoooo.”

On my way home I passed four or five dogs, which totally made my day. Then I farted around on the computer and soon realized I was ready for dinna:

salad n balls

Salad and balls.

Normally I’d put the balls on the salad, but I was craving ketchup. Had to do tha damn thang. I hadn’t had a hugh jass in a while, so it was time:

colorzzzalad

Hello, lover. (Name that show! Should be easy.)

In the mix: spinach, orange pepper, chickpeas, banana peppers, salsa and balsamic vinaigrette. Exquisite, but I needed a lil’ sunthin’ sweet after:

pump wcw dessert

Thin with White Chocolate Wonderful and pumpkin butter.

And now I’m eating dark chocolate.

Sorry this has been a weak post! I am in a major rush because:
-class 7-8pm
-BUT dress rehearsal 7-10pm
-AND a capella practice 9-10pm

What to do?? I’m going to go figure it out!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Are/were you a class skipper? If so, how often do you skip? If not, why don’t you?

It’s probably obvious that I don’t skip class. I did have to skip class once this quarter to make the NYC flight in time, but that’s it. I think.

64 Responses to “Muchas Gracias”

  1. 1 rachel

    Ahhh Sex and the City!! I love that episode and those shoes!

    Your breakfast looks sinful!

  2. Umm, I’ve been known to skip class once or twice. But not more than 3 times, that just increases the risk of getting caught.

    Must. make. those. oats. SO GOOD!

  3. Oh jeez. I probably went to class like three times my senior year of high school! But then I got to college and learned that you actually MISS learning if you don’t go. LOL.

    I LIVe for huge-ormous sunglasses! HAWT!

  4. You know my heart pitter-pattered at the sight of your espanol post title, right? Your jeans are incredible; I was just at Forever and saw no such wonders. Boo.

    I was a verrrrrrry occasional class skipper in college; except for the classes I took pass/fail–for those, I was a verrrry frequent class skipper. Otherwise, I’d get too anxious about what I was missing. Cough, nerd, cough.

  5. 5 bambizzle

    I skip class all the time, oops. My friends always cover for me though, which is awesome.
    I love your outfit again, it’s adorable, I love the black and purple.
    Your breakfast and salad look very yummy! I need more salad.

    • 6 snackface

      bambizzle- Thanks for diggin the look! I think it just shows your confidence in your academic abilities for skipping class, right?

  6. Ha, ha ! Some guys can be so creepy but you should also be flattered. Who can resist you?! I must find me some pumpkin butter ASAP. This seems to be the new fall trend food in the blogworld. Yes, I admit I was a class skipper once in awhile especially on nasty weather days when I did not want to drag myself out there. Nothing wrong with that I say.

  7. I love cheap jeans that work…yours are hot. Your pumpkin oats are also hot. 🙂

    I skipped class almost never because I was always worried that I would miss something, and then fail a test. I’m kind of a freak.

  8. As Rachel Zoe would say, “I DIE” over those glasses 😉

    I skipped my first class this morning because it was the only class that I had today, and my professor said that we would just be watching a film. No worries 😀

  9. I skipped a lot in high school, but now that I’m in college I try to skip the least amount possible. Your oats and salad are making me hungry!! Congrats again on the job!

  10. You sure can rock those skinny jeans, girl! You look great. And ew – how big of a creeper is that guy??

  11. 12 Rebecca

    Lord. You are an excellent student…seriously, every proffie’s dream. Not only that, but you are achieving great things career-wise. Congrats! The college me was a definite slacker compared to you; when I was in college I skipped class as many times as was allowed before my grade was impacted (I went to a small Liberal Arts school, so they actually kept track in most classes). I never let it get in the way of the grade I wanted, but I wasn’t as good as you either! When I went to grad school, though, I never skipped. Too much pressure and competition to miss a class!

  12. Your breakfast looks amazing. I always sneak in a little bit of TJ’s pumpkin butter into my oats. They were made for each other.

    I used to skip the occasional class when I was a freshman, but then I got my act together and HATED skipping class!! I became a notorious note taker and question asker. Go me.

    Oh, and the quote is miss Carrie Bradshaw herself (love her)!

  13. I love big sunglasses!! I used to laugh at them… someone once told me they make perfectly attractive women look like big bugs. :p

    I was never really a class skipper. Probably because I’m a goody-goody at heart… hahaha.

    ❤ ❤

  14. i do not skip classes! that is a no no in my book. i feel like if i were to skip i would be sooo far behind and lost! i think i skipped maybe two classes alll last year and they were both for my 8:30 english class which i hated!
    pumpkin oats look delish! there are just sooo many yummy ways to make oatmeal!
    i love how you had to have the balls on the side so you could have ketchup, haha!
    i really want to try white chocolate wonderful pb, that is one flavor i have yet to try!
    jenna

  15. Honestly, I skip class all the time. A, a lot of the time it is a complete waste of my time to sit in Chem when he just confuses me and goes over the material in a way that doesn’t get into my head. B, I don’t have time. I actually meant to go to my 8:30 recitation this morning, but only because I wanted to get a test back, but I still managed to oversleep and missed out. Sometimes I think about all of the money that is being spent on classes that I don’t attend, but I realize that my time is worth something, my happiness is worth something, and sometimes class, especially stupid ones, just isn’t worth it. The ones that I like though, I do everything in my power to get there on time, participate, and really enjoy. After this semester I should have plenty more of those.

    I love your jacket, b-t-dubs.

  16. SATC of course!! Love the Rachel Zoe idea, I love costumes that don’t require a lot of prep and $.

    Good luck fitting all that in tonight, I used to skip a lot of classes my freshman year but got it together for the rest of my college career. I can’t believe it’s been over 2 years since then – time flies.

    Those oats look incredible. And I don’t even like pumpkin….

  17. Lovepie, I hope you forgive me that I was unable to comment on the last post but CONGRATZI, MAMA!!!

    Ew to the creepster! Why are some guys so weird?! No lies – love those big ass sunglasses! Once again we had the same lunch except mine was of the Oatmeal Raisin variety 🙂

    Good luck with your busy night!! I didn’t used to be a skipper at my old school but now I’m a MAY-JAH skipper. I figure that I can get away with it now but once I’m at my old school and in the program, those days won’t be allowed!

  18. I tried to post a “Congratulations Kailey” comment yesterday, but my internet connection went down and it wouldn’t post! SO CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU! YOU DEFINITELY DESERVE IT!!!
    What’s your favorite Vit10 flavor?
    Show: Sex and the city!
    Have a great day!
    Barbara

  19. 20 dorothy

    wow creeper to the max

    your oats look fab im gonna have to make em tmrw morning. can you believe i havent had oats OR oatbran in about three weeks?! hate busy school mornings

    lovee jeans that fit like leggings!

  20. ew, creepster.. no bueno. That’s what you get for being such a freakin’ stunner, lambchop!! can’t say I blame the dude, as toolish as he was.

    I’m so anal about skipping class .. I’m a self-proclaimed geek burger.

    <333 mi amo senorita!!

  21. Adding that pumpkin butter to the oats sounds divine!! I always think your pumpkin-y pb oats look delicious 🙂

    Definitely NOT a class skipper over here, if I’m not vomiting, I will show up…i feel so out of the loop just from skipping one, I can’t do it!

  22. 23 Lizzy

    my lovely lady, your outfit today is so fab! AFter i saw the first pair of jeans that MamaJ got you from Forever 21 i totally went on their site to check the scene! I love love them, so don’t be alarmed when you see them on me! 🙂

    I can’t believe men sometimes for reals. why do they think its ok to just kiss us like that and think its ok! ummph! wtf?

    Hope your having a fab night! love u!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  23. What a tool. Girl when I was in the scene, I used to have to literally run away sometimes to escape these fools. Subtle? Forget about it. Men can be so freakin dense that you have to hit them over the head with your drink for them to ummm clue in that you’re not interested. So sorry you had to deal. Bleach. Makes me shiver just thinking about the freakshow that is the dating world.

    You look hot in your jeans.

    And I love your salad balls.

    The oats look great too as I reread this. Got sidetracked from the dunce story.

    xoxo

  24. ohhh..i never skipped class, even when i was practically dead in bed!

  25. I didnt get to tell u earlier, but congrats! i live for new york and guess wha?? I am going there in December I think! AHHHHHH 🙂 We should meet up…a long lost twin reunion Oprah style.

    xoxo
    Lo

  26. Same! I just can’t skip class unless i’ve got to catch a flight or something, hahahah. I just feel too guilty/out of the loop, and i hate when that happens! plus, if i bomb a test but tried my hardest I can at least SAY that….but if i’ve been skipping classes then…no excuse, haha!

    And shooo, easy. You were totally referring to my girl carrie from SATC! Right??

    I loveee the outfit Kailey!! Good luck figuring yo’ shizz out tonight, I know you can do it!!

    love you boo!

    ps, that breakfast looks phenom. i want itttttt

    • 28 snackface

      Jesspie- We are so the same about class! I feel completely out of it and guilty if I miss it. And of course it’s ma/our girl Carrie!!! LOVE YOU!

  27. love the outfit girly! and congrats on the new york city gig 🙂

  28. 30 Mallory

    hi pretty lady! i’ve been a reader for a little while and just wanted to come out of the woodwork and say congrats on your fab internship! i am a new yorker myself (upper east side baby!), and would be more than happy to share my knowledge of good running routes/bars/restuarants….basically everything that matters haha

    • 31 snackface

      Mallory!!! Thanks for commenting and I’ma be hitting you up for all deets on the city!

  29. sex and the city!
    i usually don’t skip class b/c i take so many notes in my classes and would feel so behind if i missed!
    and i LOVE those sunglasses! i just bought myself a pair of oversize sunglasses specifically because rachel zoe wears them and she has fab style.

  30. When I started college in 2004, I was 18 and I skipped more than I attended class! This time around I do not miss class unless
    1. I am physically too ill to drive to Xavier
    2. Snuffy is too sick to go to the babysitter and Mallard can’t stay with her

    Regardless of the facts that I work more and have a child this time, my GPA is actually much higher…go figure.

  31. OMG, I was a total skipper in college. I took Meterology and showed up twice all semester: the first day and the day of the final. The professor was like 80 and I told him I had to miss all this class because of basketball and apparently he had a thing for athletes because I got an A. Lorrrrdy, I kind of hate myself now.

  32. 35 Ellen

    this is my first snackface comment! first, i loove your blog. i had to comment because your question was so pertinent–i’m in my senior year at NYU and studied this summer for 2 months (10 hours every day) for the MCAT, took that sh!t, applied to med school, and i’m waiting to interview/hear back!! so scary, i live in purgatory ………..anyhow i have finished taking classes for my major, so this semester i’m taking graduation requirements and i’m skipping class for the first time EVER. to be fair, it’s usually to do something productive (like lab work, volunteering….sleep?) but i feel SO guilty because NYU is super expensive! sorry mom and dad……..

    • 36 snackface

      Ellen- Ahhhh thanks for the comment! Your summer sounds insanely intense, but mad props for rocking that sh!t! I wish you the best of luck with all that biznass! You deserve to have a chill semester!

  33. First thing I look at on a girl is her heels. Then I switch to eyes, boobs, ass…etc 😉
    Nice blog btw

    Thomas

    • 38 snackface

      Thomas – I am loving you for commenting AND for the fact that you check heels first. I honestly don’t care what guys look at first. I mean, they’re going to look at all of it anyway, ya know?

  34. Even in university I would feel sooo guilty if I skipped a class. School is so expensive that I felt disrespectful to myself and the money that went into my tuition not to go. That doesn’t mean I didn’t sleep through a few morning classes by accident…but sleep is important too!

    Love the jacket in your outfit!

  35. Ive skipped class once this year, but i felt sick so I had a good reason :p My school really cracks down on skippers, you get a phone call home if you do it and if you skip x3 you get inschool probation :O stupid.
    Your outfit is lovee! You look a million times better then rachel zoe, girl!

    • 41 snackface

      Jenna- That is the craziest attendance policy ever!!! I cannot believe you get phone calls! Haha thanks for the Rachel Zoe compliment, too 🙂

  36. HUGE HUGE congrats Kmoneyyyyyyyy!! OMG OMG i am sooo happy for you that is so freakin awesome!!! Look at chu big gurrrl moving to NY! 😀 Are u missing school for that 6 weeks or is that your winter vacay? Anyway I’m so proud of you and happy for you, I can’t wait to hear about your adventchas! xoo

    • 43 snackface

      carolinebee – Awwww honay!! Thank you so much! OU has an enormous 6-week winter break, so that’s when I’ll be in da city!

  37. Funny that you ask that question! I never never skip class, but I skipped one yesterday! In my defense, it was a discussion where my T.A. just drones on about whatever we talked about in lecture with no assignments or readings ever. And I was tired 🙂

    All of your sunflower seed butter is making me want to get a jar of my own! I should probably finish off at least 1 of the four taking up space in my fridge right now though.

    Have a greeeat weekend!!

  38. that outfit is bananas! LOVES IT.

    ummm i never skipped class, mostly because i genuinely liked going to class. it was the tests and homework i could do without 🙂

    your morning bowl of oats looks slammin and sometimes, a girl just needs her balls on the side. ya know? hahahahaha…i made myself laugh out loud. oh dear, i need to wake up. have a faboosh weekend my love!

  39. 46 lowandbhold

    SATC! You’d be surprised how often I throw references out in my blog and ask people what it’s from and no one gets it. Breaks. My. Heart.

    Loving that outfit lady! I have some XXI jeans, but my short ass just can’t really pull them off. It’s a sad story.

    Glad to hear the Brando movie turned out well. I should watch that.

    Wow, those are some tough scheduling conflicts, but I’m sure you worked it out! I was a semi-class skipper in college, but only in classes where I knew I could get away with it. I actually had a dream last night that I was back in school and it was almost finals, but I had forgotten to go to class for the last month and couldn’t remember my course schedule. Nightmare.

    Have a good Friday love 🙂

    • 47 snackface

      lowandbhold – I realized recently that most of what I say and a lot of my gestures are thanks to hours and years of watching SatC. Best thing that ever happened to me. And as for the sched, I managed to go to all three! Woopwoop.

  40. I would skip class occasionally, but I always felt guilty when I did!
    Was it just me, or was Season 2 of The Rachel Zoe Project over before you knew it? I never really got into it this season!

    • 49 snackface

      Laura W- Season 2 was way too short! I feel like I missed half of it!

  41. Love that outfit!
    I’ve never had falafel balls, but I need to!

    I wasn’t a class skipper. I always felt too guilty!

  42. Cute outfit! Love the jacket 🙂

    And those oats look freaking amazinggg

  43. love love love the outfit 🙂 where is that fab jacket from?!?

    • 53 snackface

      Whitney – Ooh glad you like the jaqueta! I got it from H+M in Toronto a few years ago! There are a lot of similarly styled jackets out there now, though!

  44. Just found your blog and I love it! Your outfits are always too cute 🙂 I can’t believe you’re moving to NYC for a few months- I’m a sophomore at NYU and I absolutely love it! Living in the city is the most amazing experience ever, you’ll have so much fun and never want to leave!!

    I’ll admit I skip some classes quite a lot…8 am Econ and my gened required World Cultures class. Luckily, both have over a hundred people in them, so I’m never missed. I always go to my important classes, though…I have perfect attendance in both my others!

    Have an awesome day and get in touch if you need a friend in the city!

    • 55 snackface

      Gabriela- Welcome to the blog and thank you for the sweet words! I’ll actually be in NYC for only six weeks, but that’s plenty of time to do some damage. You’re right–I’m never going to want to leave! You best believe I’ll be getting in touch!

  45. Tool Academy is one of those awful shows I somehow find myself watching and not changing the channel. How any of those women take their tools back is beyond me!

  46. 57 rhodeygirltests

    I’m too old to have class 😦

    Class of 2005!

    But when I was in college I skipped a lot of classes that weren’t in my major, but barely 1 class that was. I seriously loved my Management and Italian classes but found convenient excuses not to go to other ones…

  47. kailey boo face, i just read about your intership!!! gahh so exciting! i love new york (welp, doesn’t everyone) and know that your sassy self with have the experience of a life time.

    oh by the way i’m in aussi right now typing this in a public library were some homeless-esque man is giving me the stink eye to get off the computer… ha!

  48. and by with i mean will, durr.

  49. 60 mycupofteas

    Congrats on the internship! Sounds like an AMAZING opportunity! 🙂 Also love your fovrever 21 jeans! This summer i bought the cutest jeans from there for 12.50 ! And they fit perfectly (which jeans rarely do for me)! Such a good deal!

  50. Men! Keep your dirty lips to yourself! Kailey might be mighty beautiful, but she is to admire, not to molest! >:-(

    Oh, and I skip classes. All the time. I skip my Monday and Wednesday history classes, and I sometimes skip my Wednesday film class, and my Friday film class. Yes, I feel guilty. But it’s better to get my work done in peace than go to class and doze off like I always do in those boring classes…(this is my lame-ass excuse)

  51. Catching up on posts here!! Congrats on your intern dear chica!!! That is awesome awesome news 🙂 So happy for you!

    You’re lookin’ bossy in your hot outfits! Love ’em 🙂

  52. so i had a dream last night. that we were
    hanging out. and i called you snackface at
    one point. and you FREAKED and told me i
    was not allowed to call you that because i
    never comment on your blog anymoreeee.

    anyways. heres your fecking comment. jeez.

    love you.

    also: i want pictures mrs officer. nooooooow.

  53. loveloveloveeeee your style! be my personal shopper? ha


Leave a Reply

