New York Story

29Oct09

Buongiorno! This hump day has been very kind to me. It gets good at the end of this post…

This day allowed me to first get a full 8 hours of sleep and wake up recharged and ready for a workout. Janetha, what have you to say about my handling in this picture:

sunbutter banana bfast

Sunbutter banana breakfast.

Hump day allowed me to knock things off my to-do list before my workout. Printer fee, peace out.

This day also brought a sweatfest of a workout! Lawd, was I a hot mess. I also worked a ton on my arms, and now that I’m focusing on my core as well while I perform the moves (thanks again, GC!), it feels so intense. And that’s what I am, yo.

Wednesday, unfortunately, brought a near fainting spell in choir. I don’t know what it was, but I had to sit down. I couldn’t have been happier when we were handed Halloween candy bags as we walked out the door. Sweet, sweet sugar:

dots save the day

My version of Shock Blocks or whatever they're called.

The middle of the week presented me with a fabulous opportunity to make a truly tasty lunch:

thanksgiving sand

Honeycrisp, cherry toms and a special sandwich.

The Thanksgiving sandwich was the star:

thanksgiving sand close

Please give this a whirl. Look at those glorious layers!

Layered on the thin, bottom up: TJ‘s cranberry apple butter, slices of butternut squash, Yves vegan turkey slices, spinach, more cranapple butter and mustard. Oh divinity. The butternut squash slices were easy- just cut some off the squash and popped them into the micro for 90 seconds.

Wednesday offered me the chance to wear an outfit I dig:

zipper leggings

Fave zipper leggings. Obviously took this at night πŸ™‚

My one class on this fine day taught me how to make my own Google map the right way. I really needed the help!

After my class, the day allowed enough time to visit Muffin for a couple hours at her office, and also to enjoy a snack:

snack essentials

Essentials. Fab song, too.

Once home again, Wednesday reminded me that sometimes I don’t want a “real” dinner. I’m really just a SnackFace:

peps n humm

Eaten with unpictured pretzel crisps!

The second course was even better:

geo squash and trio butter

Geometric butternut squash with a trio of butters.

Ohmigawd. Butternut squash is magical when dipped into cranberry apple, pumpkin and sunflower seed butters. Do this. Then eat some dark chocolate after. OK, you don’t have to do that, but I did.

The most important thing that this wonderful Wednesday brought to me, though? A definite signal as to where I’m headed next in this little journey called life.

Do you recall a few weeks ago when I had “appointments” while in NYC? Well, one of them turned out the way I’d hoped. Starting on November 23, I will be interning at Food Arts magazine in, that’s right, New York City. I’ll be joining the team until the beginning of January. I still cannot believe this.

In high school, I always had lofty dreams of being a single, working gal inΒ  New York. Didn’t we all? It’s so out-of-this world when you know it’s actually going to happen, though. Sure, it’s only six weeks. But hell, it’s SIX weeks in the city about which I’ve dreamed for years, working at a magazine that features my favorite thing ever. As I type this, I’m shaking my head in disbelief.

And then I noticed a little something to the right of my desk: my vision board. Over a year or so ago, when I was trying desperately to turn my life into a happy, healthy one (not that it was anything too tragic), I pasted this little phrase on my board of hope:

ny story

New York Story with the ultimate New Yorker.

The other phrases I layered were “share the love”, “rise and shine”, “stay healthy”, “happiness”, “blithe spirit” and “be fearless.” Every single day I try to remind myself of these things and exhibit them within myself. It’s not a religion, but it’s certainly powerful in my life.

Had I never become happy and healthy, created my blog, had many positive, beautiful readers and commenters sending out loving vibes into the universe and had a loyal New York reader with a connection, I don’t know if I’d ever be able to write my own New York story. But I’m endlessly thankful that I get to do so.

Ciao for now…and barrels of love,

Kailey

P.S. My 9am class was canceled, so Muffin and I are going out to celebrate! Hollaaaa!

P.P.S. Megan S., you rock my world. THANK YOU!

69 Responses to “New York Story”

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! what wonderful news- so happy for you
    love the outfit as usual.. why are you so cute? i can’t wait for my boots to arrive so i feel more snackfacey πŸ˜€
    have a great night! ❀

  2. LOVE IT. LOVE YOU. MUAHZ MUAHZ.

    no for real, couldn’t be more proud of you. there’s no one more deserving than you!

  3. Congratz!!! I am sooo happy for you.Wow…that is exciting news you are going to have THE BEST TIME EVER!!

    I read your blog every day and your posts actually put me into a better mood πŸ™‚ Love it.

  4. MAJOR CONGRATULATIONS, MY DEAR!!

  5. Congrats! It sounds like a read dream come true. πŸ™‚

  6. 6 julie

    CONGRATULATIONS girl!! wooo hoo πŸ™‚ new yawk is zee best. you’ll fit right in. especially with that swagalicious outfit

  7. 7 homegirlcaneat

    OMG OMG OMG OMMMMGGGGGGGG I GET TO SEE YOU AGAIN!!!!!! AND WE CAN PROPERLY DO WHAT WE DO BEST FOR HOURS AND HOURS AKA 4 AM CUZ DAZ HOW NYC DOEZZZZ!!! SOOOO HAPPY FOR YOU MY LOVE~!@#$&

  8. Ms. Kailey–you legit brought a tear to my eye/the utmost giddiness to my heart with this post! It made me so happy that you’re going to have your NYC story. And, um, that I get access to you for SIX WHOLE WEEEEEEKS. I’m so, so proud of you my blooming foodie journalista. We will have to do much artsy eating to get you some solid writing material.

    Gah I’m so excited for you!!!!!!!!!

  9. Congratulations! It’s so fabulous to live your dreams πŸ™‚

    Speaking of fabulous, LOVE your outfit!

  10. yay for ncy girlie πŸ™‚
    your lunch sammie looks yummy!
    i love your snackface inspired dinner! that butternut squash sure does look great with THREE dipping sauces! lovess it. you have such great ideas!
    jenna

  11. 11 diane

    CONGRATS!! Thats such exciting news! And I love the outfit πŸ™‚

  12. I should start my own hope board too. Looks positive and powerful. Cute outfit…I wore my zippered leggings too today but probably did not pull it off as well as you did. Great food fuel for the day btw!

  13. 13 Lizzy

    omg omg omg omg! Congrats my dearest! ah i’m so unbelievably happy for you! Your new york story will be one for the bookS!! Kailey you are so inspiring to me and i hope to one day have my “new york story” love u grl!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  14. Congrats! I am so happy for you. You work so hard, and it really pays off πŸ™‚ AND I’m just being selfish because you’ll be SO close to ME! Yay. And close to so many vegan, delish, FABULOUS foodie places in nyc!

    LOVE.

  15. That is fantastic news! Way to grab life by the (TJs) balls!! Your lunch presentation is beautiful and that sandwich sounds epic.

  16. congrats!! what incredibly exciting news! your new york story will be so fab!!!

  17. 17 shell625

    i had a clif bar today too πŸ™‚ banana nut bread- it was so good! & congrats on new york

    xoxo,
    shelley
    findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  18. Wow, congrats!! What an adventure!

  19. 19 Megan

    So happy it all worked out!!!!!

  20. congrats kailey!! that’s awesome news!!

  21. aww Snackyface!! you are such a beautiful inspiration! staying positive, taking risks! Seriously. it is inspiring and truly wonderful. Thank you.

    I am so excited for your future!!

    Today’s food looked divine. All parts of it. Esp. that lunch plate! gdamn!

    thanks for the shout out too!! πŸ™‚

    you so sweeeeeeeeeeeeet.

  22. Congratulations! That is so awesome πŸ™‚

    ❀ ❀

  23. CONGRATS CONGRATS!! that is so spectacularly cool! I couldn’t be happier for you πŸ™‚ Celebrate big time tonight!

  24. That is such exciting news and definitely something to be totally proud of. NYC is great and is spectacular that time of year (though I could do without the cold weather). You will probably even be there for the Christmas tree lighting! That’s a definite go to thing. Even though it’s ridiculously packed, it’s still pretty cool and fun and cliche. If you’re there for New Years though, don’t spend too much $$ on tickets for an open bar at a seedy place. NYE can get expensive, especially in the city, so make sure it’s worth it! Congratulations again!

  25. Hooray! I am so excited for you! I have a vision board too, and many of my visions are also coming to fruition…isn’t growing up crazy!?

    Also, I MUST try the squash and cranberry apple butter. Must.

  26. AHHHH…CONGRATS MAMA! THAT IS SOOOO EXCITING! even though i am gchatting with you as i write this, i needed to congrats you once again. and again say how much i j’adore the gray sweater. and your snackface ways. those cheetahs with an array of nut butters look glorious. love youuuuuuuu

  27. congrats girl!!! that is awesome news and i’m so glad you get the opportunity to fulfill one of your dreams!!! i can’t wait to start hearing all about it!

  28. 28 dorothy

    omg CONGRATS!!! this seriously made me smile so much to know that you got EXACTLY what you wanted and deserved!

    i know youre gonna live it up in the city you seem to fit in here perf πŸ˜‰

    aaaah congrats again!

  29. 29 onefitfoodie

    congrats on the new position and NYC!! thats absolutely amazing!!! you better be going out tonight to celebrate AND your 9am is cancelled SAWWEETTTT

    AND not to mention your delicious eats, that sammie looks incred

    have fun tonight, girl you deserve the best!

  30. I’m so happy for you! Well, really jealous too, but so happy that you have this amazing opportunity!

  31. The butternut squash plate looks and sounds awesome!!

  32. You shall live in the city and then we will be blocks away and we can become the friends that I know we’re meant to be ;).

    Anyway, besides the fact that I’m a tad ridiculous, congratulations! I’m so glad that one of your awesome interviews went so well and pulled through for you. In all seriousness, we should most definitely make at least one meet-up happen. Enjoy tonight, you’ve got all the reason in the world to be celebrating Y-O-U!

  33. congrats girl! sounds like you will have another amazing intern experience! awesome looking sandwich as well. I will have to duplicate this in the near future πŸ˜‰

  34. 34 lowandbhold

    That is so awesome Kailey! CONGRATS! You looks so NY chic all the time, it would have been tragic if you never got to live there! I am soooo happy for you!!

  35. You are the Queen Of Awesome Internships.

  36. LOVE Lisbon, you’re lucky to live there! I was there in June…we rented bikes and took the ferry over to the other side of town, such a beautiful place!

    PS: Your guys’ mangos are SO good!

  37. I am SOOOOO excited and happy (and jealous WHAT? WHO WROTE THAT?) for you!!! It is so well deserved and I love that your vision board came to be! And I may just try to replicate your sandwich tomorrow!

  38. Snacky, snacky, snacky! [or should I say Kailey?] Whatev, this is so EXCITING! I’m so happy for you! πŸ˜€ Congrats, and you are gonna turn NYC upside down. True fact. Love ya!

  39. Congrats on the gig!!! You’re just like the girls on The City. Except cuter πŸ™‚ & nicer!

    Love Sunflower Seed butter too…fo sure!

    Congrats!!!!!!!!!

  40. 40 elleneatsbeats

    Congrats mamacita! I love just dipping the knife in a jar with a banana. Best way to eat them!

  41. Congrats! That’s so cool that you can post something like that on your board and then live the dream! Seize the day!

  42. CONGRATULATIONS SWEETIE!!! I am so happy and proud of you! You will be so fab in NYC!

    That song is my new favorite! My friends and I all have dance parties in the car when it comes on. Loves!

    Mmm and that thanksgiving sammy looks AMAZING! I had one last year after the holiday but I don’t think I can wait now!

  43. 43 Little Bookworm

    Congratulations! πŸ™‚

  44. so proud of youuuuuuuuuuu! you’ll be closeeee! we might have to do a meetup my girl! would loveeeeeeeee to hang πŸ™‚

  45. Wow, what a super opportunity.. congrats!! Not many pple could pull of zipper leggings btw.. looks cute!! πŸ™‚

  46. 46 Brandi

    ahhh…congrats!!!! That’s so exciting πŸ™‚

  47. 47 Jennifer

    Congrats!!!! I’m so so excited for you! You must be giddy. I was wondering if something like that was in the works after reading about your “appointments”. I can’t wait to read of all your exciting happenings while you’re there.

    NYC is one of my favorite places on this earth. There is just a vibe there, right? I’m sure with all your fab-u-lessness, the vibe will only be better.

  48. oh pie, there are no words to express how effin’ proud I am of you! you shall be so grand in the city — even better than sarah jessica parker.. and shall find your Mr. Big πŸ™‚ I know it!! AND perhaps the most exciting of all is I always go to the city in December so I will see your sweet sweet face in real life….I feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside and just the mere thought of it πŸ™‚

    again, so excited..so proud..so jeal.. and can’t wait to see you do WORK in the citaaaay bebe. Love you with every inch of my bod! ❀ xoxo

  49. 1) Holy tiny waist girl!! You are rocking the cinched look πŸ™‚

    2) Ahhh so excited for you and your internship!!! I have never even been to New York (I’m a Chicago kinda girl :)) but I can only imagine how insane it’s going to be.

    Congrats lady you’ve earned it!

  50. 50 Kelsey

    congrats kailey!!! im so excited for you!! this is such an amazing opportunity and i know you are going to be fab in the bug nyc :]
    love the outfit by the way. and are those leopard print flats? i think we would be friends in real life! ( i think i own like, 3746298346 leopard articles of clothing/shoes)

  51. Congratulations!!!! I definitely have dreams of being that girl in NYC too. It’ll happen one day! And I absolutely love the zipper leggings. I’ve wanted a pair for a while.

    Thanks for the idea of microwaving the bnut slices. That’s a great idea!!

  52. 52 Alina

    CONGRATULATIONS, HUN!!!! you reallllly deserve it! already can’t wait for your NY posts! just wonder what about college? will it be a part of your semester? and then next semester you’ll have usual classes? just want to know more about US university system…. πŸ™‚
    p.s. lovesss your flats!

  53. 53 SueP

    Congratulations on making another dream come true!

    Happy thoughts from a regular (old lady) reader!!

  54. 54 Justine

    Hi Kailey!!!
    CONGRATULATIONS! I am so proud! I cannot wait too see all of your NYC adventures on Snackface! πŸ™‚
    As usual, you look cute as can be!
    I also wanted to thank you for the INCREDIBLE response to my last comment about my recent weight loss. It just made my day to hear from you! Thanks again and keep on doing what you’re doing cuz you are an inspiration girl!
    Take care!
    Justine in Orlando, FL

  55. What awesome news! It’ll be cool to have you in my hometown πŸ™‚

  56. 56 Gina G

    Congrats Kailey! im so happy for you! =)

  57. Congrats! Loving the bright colors of your food lately! Delicious!

    Maggie

    MYBREAKFASTBLOG.COM

  58. You are SO lucky! Internship in SF, then NYC…how freaking awesome is that? how do you find these amazing internships? Wow! Remember us when you get famous, ok? lol.

  59. Woohoo!!! Congrats! That is so awesome. I can’t wait to “read all about it”! πŸ˜€

    LOVE the butternut squash trio with butters – MMM! I definitely need to make a Thanksgiving sandwich soon too!

  60. Congratulations!!!! That is so exciting! I hope you love both your internship and the city!
    Also, I love your vision board. What a fabulous way to keep your goals in mind–and awesome to look at as your dreams come true.

  61. Words cannot describe how excited and happy I am for you!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You are going to have such a fab, amazing time…living it up in NYC like Carrie Bradshaw in her younger years (minus the cigarettes, i’d hope)! πŸ™‚

    I just know that you’re going to adore central park, and everything else about the city!! It’s only drawback is the weather, except….you’re from ohio so you got that sh!t down!! I’ve only been once, when I was a sophomore in high school…but I loved every second of it and specifically remember watching SATC in the mornings while my brother was at work! Ooooh the food was so good too!! That gnocci picture on my “about me” page is from the NY trip! ‘gasm!

    love you, and loooove that snack platter. so incredibly jealous of your sunflower seed, cranberry apple & pumpkin butta possession. at least they’re (minus the cran, will change that) waiting at home for me πŸ™‚ XOXO

  62. That’s so awesome!! You are going to have such a great job when you graduate after these great internships.

  63. Ohhhh my Gahh what wonderful news!!! CONGRATS GIRL! You totally deserve it! πŸ™‚ cant wait to read about it once you start

  64. 64 fruitsveggieslife

    Kailey! That is fan-freaking-tastic! That is amazing. Incredible! You are going to have an amazing experience – I know it! And… you totally deserve it – you are such a hard worker, creative out the wazoo, and super fun on top of it all. That vision board has the right idea. πŸ™‚

    Love you so much!
    Emma

  65. I wish I had a TJ’s so I could get me somma that cranberry spread–sounds glorious!

    Omg such an amazing opportunity and I am sure you will have a once-and-a-lifetime experience! Is Muffin going to tag along, or at least visit!?

  66. 66 rhodeygirltests

    Congratulations!!!!! Also, love your outfit!

  67. Yum yum and yum! I’m somewhat of a snackface myself! haha

    Congrats girl!

  68. yeeee girl! congrats!! so excited for you πŸ™‚


  1. 1 Extra, Extra, Read all about it! « Fruits. Veggies. Life.

Leave a Reply

