“His Chef Is Always On”

23Oct09

Hi kittens! Let’s all take a moment to celebrate–we’ve made it through the week in one piece (give or take a few bits like sanity and sleep)! Woopwoop!

I stayed up Wednesday night from 11pm to 2:30am, furiously writing my Film 201 paper. If you have any questions about A Trip to the Moon or The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, don’t hesitate to ask. I’ve done my research:

The makings of a college paper: Google, library books, DVDs, Diet Sunkist, tea, bowls of cereal and granola.

The makings of a college paper: Google, library books, DVDs, Diet Sunkist, tea, bowls of cereal and granola.

This doesn’t even show the texts I had strewn about the floor.

I crawled into bed, tried to read for a bit and turned off the lights at 3am. The lights, however, made their inevitable return at 7am. Thankfully, I had a delicious and warm breakfast to ease me into a day that followed a nearly sleepless night:

Banana coconut oats with coffee.

Banana coconut oats with coffee.

In the bowl: 1/2 C oats, 1/2 C So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage vanilla, 1/2 C water, 1/2 banana, cinnamon and TJ‘s peanut butter drizzle. I tested out the 1/2 cup of oats to see whether it kept me full longer. It did not.

I skipped to Business Magazine class in the glorious sunshine and had to stop to take a photo of this tree. I am a photographer by no means, but it was too gorgeous not to photograph:

Spectacular.

Spectacular.

Athens is breathtaking in the fall!

Class was informative, and afterward I galloped home, read for class and packed lunch:

Wrapple and obligatory carrots.

Wrapple and obligatory carrots.

English was particularly fascinating today. The professor was talking about gestures, and he used an example of a Top Chef contestant to fully relay his message. He said that one contestant was casually making a breakfast burrito and plated it in a manner that only a chef (or food blogger) would. “He can’t help but chef all the time,” my professor said. “His chef is always on.” This struck a chord in me. What can’t I turn off? What can’t I help but do all the time?

Still pondering this after class, I headed to la toilette and relieved myself. The stalls in the English building are covered with quotes, dramas and thoughts:

I hope you can read this!

I hope you can read this!

If you’re wondering whether I was actually sitting on the john while I snapped these, wonder no longer. I was.

Be sure to call that number for a good time.

Be sure to call that number for a good time.

I made my way over to my favorite outdoor lunch spot after the creepy bathroom-stall photo shoot and enjoyed my wrapple:

Wrap a doo.

Wrap a doo.

In the wrap: Sabra, TJ‘s Chile sauce, TJ‘s Mango Ginger chutney, mustard, cucumber and mushrooms. Delightful with a dose of sunshine.

An hour later, I found myself in a chilly auditorium watching the final scenes of Citizen Kane. Let’s just say I was let down by rosebud.

I met Muffin at work and hung around her office for a while. When she was finally released from her duties for an hour, we went to Jackie O’s, a favorite local brewery, for dinner. To accompany a home-brewed pumpkin ale, I ordered the hummus and cheese plate. Cheese, I know, but I really wanted pita and hummus:

Lots of pita, hummus, banana peppers and cheese.

Lots of pita, hummus, banana peppers and cheese.

To be completely honest, I did try some cheese. I was unimpressed, felt as though I was missing nothing (except for a bit of lost money) by not eating it and left it alone. Muffin enjoyed a drool-inducing pesto sandwich with french fries:

Mmm I was jealous.

Mmm I was jealous.

When we finished dinner, I had to attend the discussion hour for Film from 7pm to 8. The plus sides of this: a) turned in my paper and b) recieved last week’s major midterm. Snackie got an A, baybay!

To celebrate, I headed back to Muffin’s office to relax and chat with my love:

Banana pants and ma girl.

Banana pants and ma girl.

To give you a better glimpse of the outfit, I made avid SnackFace reader Wes take a picture with me:

Oh, don’t mind me. Just attacking Wes in front of the tower of garbage.

I’ve written this post on a lovely Mac in Muffin’s office and am considering heading home. An enormous headache has taken over my brain. Hmmm, I wonder if it could be those four hours of sleep I got last night… Thank goodness Muffin and I are driving to Cincinnati for the weekend! I hope everyone has a wondrous weekend as well!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Like Top Chef chefs, what do you feel that you just can’t turn off?Feel free to fill in the blank: My _____ is always on.

I truly feel that my writer is always on. I find myself narrating my days as they occur. I think, “Oooh, how can I word this for the blog? How can I make this interesting?” This only adds to the fact that I constantly evaluate grammar. I can’t help it. 🙂 Please share– I’m dying to know!

52 Responses to ““His Chef Is Always On””

  1. 1 katie

    As a ballet dancer for 10 years of my life, I constantly catch myself incorporating ballet steps into everyday life. Instead of standing at work, I catch myself in 5th position. Instead of reaching to a cupboard, I do an arabesque. My ballerina is always on. haha. It does make you feel delightedly feminine.

  2. girlfriend! your lunch wrap looks so good and so does muffin’s pesto sandwich, wow!
    i had a question. i have never had oatmeal before but i have some and i am willing to give it a try but i want to use a banana in it? do you smash the banana up and mix it with the oats before the micro? or place banana on top before micro? or place the banana on top after you micro the oats?! i am curious on your thoughts 🙂 thanks!
    jenna

    • 3 snackface

      Jenna! Ok, when I make oats, either in the micro or on stovetop (though I make mine stovetop 99% of the time), I chop the banana into very fine slivers, add it in with the oats, water, cinnamon and cook away! Adding it in at the beginning helps to sweeten the oats without extra sugars (although, a little agave/maple syrup/ sugar of choice is never a bad thing). If your banana isn’t ripe enough, slice and pop into the micro for 30 seconds. This really helps sweeten it! I hope this helps. Let me know how it goes!

  3. My FOODIE is always on. I’m always thinking about food, truly. But I think my writer is a close second. I, too, narrarate parts of my days and make up funny (to me, obvs) anecdotes in my head. I’m a special snowflake.

    Those pants are fierce! J’adore. Seid ihr sehr gelb!

    I want some of that effing sleigh ride tea you keep posting and I can’t find it D:

  4. I think it’s a tie between my writer and my foodie always being on. I feel like both of these intrinsic “brain cues” are always active; words and food FASCINATE me beyond any possible explanation. And I feel like I see the world through storytelling-inclined /next meal-pondering goggles.

    I love your broom photo shoot. Particularly fond of “Jesus <3s You," rebutted by "That's a lie. There is no Jesus." Harsh.

    Proud you got through your crazy workload, my little writer bee!

  5. hahah Kailey, I almost thought you were gonna say, “My camera is always on”! I love that you take not just food pictures, but pics of your life, the people, the environment…it makes your blog special and so near and dear to our little hearts.
    The banana pants are AWESOME. Only you can pull it off. hehehee

    Ummm…for me, the “food” region of my brain is always on. *sigh* it’s not so awesome sometimes.

  6. girl, diet sunkist is a necessity item in the wee morning hours of paper writing….that and eye drops…my eyes are about to fall out now as a matter of fact! i misssss you aka I miss ur comments on my posts..so therfore back to posting tomorrow and more frequently so we can be reunited 🙂

    xoxoxoxoxoxo to the moon and back,
    Lo

  7. love the banana pants. I’m not sure what’s ‘always on’ for me. it definitely depends on the day and my mood. have an awesome weekend 🙂

  8. My nutritional awareness is always on! There are times when I wish I DIDN’T know the ingredients in so many processed foods!

  9. Yup, I’m with you, I am writing and blogging all day in my head. A lot of what I write is spur of the moment, but a lot is something that has been written in my mind way in advance.

    I love the banana pants. Lulu is going as a banana for Halloween…care to join? Have a fabulous Friday, honey!

  10. I’d say my blogger is always on! I’m always thinking of how I can improve my posts, make them more interesting, and how I should write out what I’m going to say.

    I heart your banana pants!

  11. I’d right there with you, I’m writing in my head all day, too. I like your banana pants. 🙂

  12. Like you, my inner grammarian/nit-picker is always on. I can’t just read over a mistake– my crazy mind has to fix it. For example, today I read a blog entry in which the word “flaunt” was used incorrectly, so I stopped and said to myself “that’s wrong, flaunt should be used like this,” and only then could I continue reading. Misplaced apostrophes make me cringe. Is it really that hard to use them correctly? Is it?? Glad to know you’re feeling me :-).

    (I was tempted to write “your feeling me”, just to mess with you a bit, but decided it would just make me look like a hypocritical fool).

    • 14 snackface

      Marika – Hahaha we are the SAME! Some blogs drive me insane with grammatical errors, but I have to take a step back, correct it in my head, and try my hardest not to say anything to the author – not everyone is a grammarian freak. And I cringe whenever I make a grammatical error/typo that wasn’t intentional.

  13. My cell phone.

  14. Alright, I have to admit that I read your blog everyday and am so taken by your wording. Your writing style is so creative and engaging. I love your created words, and the nicknames you give to your friends. You rock! Just wanted to give you some kudos today!

    • 18 snackface

      joieandrileysmommy – WOW. Thank you, thank you, thank you. That is one of the most incredible compliments I have ever received. Seriously. It means more to me than you could know. Thank you so much!

  15. My mojo’s always on. Hehe no. I always have the urge to capture beauty on, whether it’s through writing, photography or tasting and experiencing. When I see something beautiful I want to share it.

    • 20 snackface

      Gillian – Hahaha mojo! That’s awesome. Capturing beauty through writing, photography, tasting and experiencing is beautiful in itself! Amazing answer!

  16. The stalls in the Carnegie Library are just as fascinating as those that you took a picture of. No lie, sometimes I linger in there a little longer than necessary to really read all of the actually quite witty poetry and nice looking pictures. Who knew the bathroom could be so inspirational?

    I think that the writing part of my brain is always on. If I have to write a paper, I’ll be planning it in my head, and if I have a blog post in mind, I’ll already be constructing it. I guess it’s a good thing I changed my major to something more word friendly!

  17. 22 Colleen

    I guess I would have to say my “funny” is always on. (That or my Google Reader – haha!) I always seem to be running into funny situations, and it’s fun for me to share them with my family and friends (pretty much on a daily basis). I’m a pretty shy person, but when it comes to family get-togethers (is that a word?), I’m usually the comedic performance with stories and/or impressions. 🙂

    • 23 snackface

      Colleen – Oh hell, my Google Reader is always on, fa sho. I love that your “funny” is always on! I try, but I don’t think I’m as good as you are. Get-togethers is a perfectly hyphenated word in my book, too.

  18. 24 lalyaaylal

    hi! i’ve been reading your blog for a little while now (love it!) and wanted to crawl out from the shadows.

    this is a bit embarrassing (well, to me) to admit, but i often feel like my “stage manager” is always on. by that i mean i’m always aware of what time it is, i get everywhere way early, i’m constantly making schedules, etc. ok, so maybe that’s just me being little ocd 😉 the two things are closely related

    • 25 snackface

      laylaaylal- Thank you for coming out of the shadows! I love it! And I think your stage manager tendencies are only the perfect combination of a touch of OCD and what you like to do 🙂

  19. my hottie radar ;D

    • 27 snackface

      carolinebee – Why am I not surprised? Oh, that’s because mine is always on, too. We have to be ready.

  20. My mind is always on (thinking of WHAT to blog about for my next meal) lol

    LOVING those pants, you rock em 🙂

  21. I agree with a lot of people–my “foodie” is always on. When I’m bored in class (or even if I’m not) I’m brainstorming awesome new meals. And I’ve totally been taking pictures of trees around my campus too. They are beeeautiful right now!

  22. No lies – your first picture made me cry a little bit. I do NOT miss writing papers!! I feel the same way with changing up how much oats I use. I get hungry at the same time no matter what!

    Thank you so very much for the bathroom pictures – there are some intellectuals out there! Oh yum to the pumpkin ale, hummus, and pita combinations!

    I’d have to say my inner-performer is always on. If I’m watching other people perform and they’re not doing something right, I get mad! I want to push them out of the way and take their place 😉

  23. my brain is always on. always thinking, working, creating, writing – EVERYTHANG!!! good work on all your academic achievements miss – i don’t miss those late night study sessions, that is for sure. how you imagine to look so cute the next day after getting 4 hours of sleep is BEYOND me 🙂

    happy weekend and safe travels home love!

  24. My hunger is always on!!!

    Cute pants! Not many chicas can pull those off but you look fab. 🙂

  25. bright yellow pants bright yellow pants! they make me smile! are those from forevs? if so I may or may no have the same ones in bright pink. Girl we should get together and wear ’em.. we’d totes look like a hot easter egg. Or we should just get together and wear no pants.. either/or.

    p.s. Wes totes picked out his tie to match your pantalones 😉 smooth!

    sorry you weren’t feeling rosebud! I know reel stupido for amping it up!

    Have a merry weekend Kaykaypie! Love you :)!!

  26. 35 elise

    hummusface? ok, i know thats not what you were going for, but oh well.

    i do tend to plate things (a bit more) now rather than just eat straight outta the package…well, kinda.

    you make me miss and not miss college all at once. have fun at home. smooches.

  27. 36 homegirlcaneat

    My (swag) is always on.

    THOSE BANANA PANTS MAKE ME MISS YOU SOOOOO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!

  28. FIrst off, love all the “skipping” and “galloping” you do 😉

    Second of all, love the stall photo shoot. Classy!

    Thirdly, the Rosebud climax was definitely faked on my part too. Loved the movie, but that was lame.

    Quatro, LOOOOVE the banana pants. Love love love.

    Ummm…. my CRAZY is alway on 😉 I did just do a post about talking to myself, haha!

  29. Oh, and apparently my 😉 is always on because I throw them faces up like woah.

  30. 39 Lizzy

    LOVE LOVE LOVE those pants girl! i’m thinkin i need a pair, and is that sweater from Gap!!!??

    Those bathroom pics made me laugh so so hard! I espeically love the one “call for a good time, Call for a good time” as if writing it the first time wasnt enough they had to write it again! o what goes through a person’s mind when sitting in the bathroom stalls. hahahaha

    love ya girl! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  31. I’ll say my dj’s always on. there is a soundtrack going on in my head at all times!

    love the pants! yellow is my favorite color but it doesn’t like my complexion. I could maybe work yellow pants though 🙂

    have a great weekend!

  32. I love college bathroom stalls! I forgot about the ramblings that happen there – so entertaining.

    I also feel like I write in my head ALL the time. Especially when I work out. I also feel like my “teach” is always on. I’m a 3rd grade teacher, and whenever I see kids outside of work (at the grocery store, restaurants, at the park, etc.) I want to talk to them, and tell them interesting things about life.

  33. 42 dorothy

    is it sad that i know exactly what scene in top chef your teach was talking about? it’s an obsession

  34. i love the banana pants. and you.

  35. Cute pants! Love the pastel yellow!
    Some of the scribbles on the loo wall cracked me up, others annoyed me a bit: “Jesus Loves you. –> That’s a lie, there is no Jesus.” WHAT?!

    Anyway. Hmm….I guess no matter what, my “writer” is always on. When I see or experience anything, I automatically start forming some kind of prose in my head. Oh, and my foodie is always on. When I see a recipe, I immediately think of ways to recreate that with my own twists.

  36. 45 randomlymikey

    you poor girl, you need more sleep! take care of yourself hun. but look all the hard work is paying off. congrats on the A- woot! that is a very interesting banana pants pic, lol.

  37. can I just say that I am obsessed with your snowman mug 🙂 makes me SO excited for the holidays.
    personally, I adore your banana pants 😀

  38. Imma be super original and say my foodie’s always on cause seriously, that’s all that’s always on lately. That and my student. But I’ve turned the latter off for the weekend. I think I’m in need of some new “ons” though, can those things be picked?! lol

    Bathroom stale writing always makes the visit that much more thrilling. I love the catty banter that goes back and forward too, who argues on a pee room stall?!

    Only you could totally rock banana pants, that’s mad impressive. I love em. Almost makes me want to go out and buy some but I know I would look completely ridic and get the dirtiest stares of life. Which almost makes me want to buy them MORE. I could soar to new fashion heights! Or maybe I’ll just leave that one up to you. Happy weekend girl! 😉

  39. Absolutely think you are A-dorable!!! With a CAPITOL A! Have not tried using the coconut milk in the oats. Must try immediately! Glad I found your blog!

  40. Oo shout out for Diet Sunkist–yummy! Speaking of which, I must buy some more 12-packs this week..I am getting low!

    Lets see…my cellphone is always on. Either that or my radio!

    Love the yellow banana pants 🙂

  41. ah glorious photo of the huge tree with color changed leaves! love autumn. haha.. i love that you were snapping photos while on the toilet. that’s my girl. hmmm.. my counting/number thing is always on. i am constantly counting things..and i can’t help it. sometimes it drives me completely batty! and my blogger is always on, probably like most of us!! xoxoxo love you and your banana pants sista!

  42. My writer is always on too! Ever since I was a little kid during the day as things are happening I will narrate them, sort of, figure out how I could explain a situation or capture a moment in words. Glad to know I”m not the only one!


  1. 1 The Best of the Best (well…The Best of My Friends) « Reporter's Notebook

Leave a Reply

