Borderline Costume?

22Oct09

Hello darlings! I was somewhat surprised that so many of you were also feeling the funk! All the talk about positive thinking must have done something, though, because today was drastically better. Even Mother Nature was feeling it.

I awoke after a 7.5-hour slumber to bursting sunshine and growing heat. Having consumed numerous bowls of cereal with peanut butter for late-night fuel, I wasn’t as ravenous as I normally am upon waking. Lighter fare was needed:

Z-Bar and an orange. Ate the orange before workout, Z-Bar after.

Z-Bar and an orange. Ate the orange before workout, Z-Bar after.

With hands that smelled of oranges and Christmas, I talked to MamaJ and walked my hiney to the gym. The elliptical session was as marvelous as usual, and the following intense weight lifting made me realize I can’t go a week without doing arm workouts. I could tell I lost some strength!

I skiddadled to the Scripps building post-workout to chat with my advisor. I need to complete 27 hours of coursework in order to graduate, which equals 13.5 hours per winter and spring quarters. Hollaaa!!!

Choir was extraordinary today for some reason. Everyone was focused and positive. Loved it.

When I made it home, I showered, dressed and made lunch for my shaky hands:

Wrapple wrepeat.

Wrapple wrepeat.

In the wrap: TJ‘s Mango Ginger chutney, TJ‘s Chile sauce, mustard, balls, mushrooms and spinach. So good I devoured it in three minutes. The chutney had enormous chunks of mango that totally made the wrap:

Look at that chunk oozing outta there. That sounds disgusting, sorry.

Look at that chunk oozing outta there. That sounds disgusting, sorry.

After eating and blog reading, I finished getting ready. This included layering on a jacket that I rarely wear, but happened to be stuck in my head today. Introducing my Jackie O look (maybe Barbie‘s version):

Glasses and pose to match.

Glasses and pose to match.

I bought this jacket in Toronto a few years ago, and it’s super bright and borderline costume-y, but it was too fun to resist! Nothing like this print to perk a girl right up:

Faux and real gold accessories, big red button, pink and red geo-floral print.

Faux and real gold accessories, big red button, pink and red geo-floral print.

Underneath, I donned a purple babydoll sweater-dress, leggings that zip at the ankle and flats. The back of the dress has an adorable bow and circle cut-out:

Note the jacket and sweatpants in the background.

Note the jacket and sweatpants in the background.

I wore this outfit to go to one class. That’s it. That was my only public appearance today, but I wore what made me happy. And to me, that’s what fashion’s about. I’ll ignore that my friend Patrick saw me on the street, smiled and said, “You don’t fit in here.” Thanks, Pattycake.

My one class was great because I learned about something I need to add to the blog (hello, follow me buttons!). Afterward, I visited Muffin at work, bought a Diet Pepsi from the student center and eventually walked home.

I farted around on my computer for a while and then hunger struck. I had to repeat Tuesday night’s salad:

Fiesta Salad and toasted pita half!

Fiesta Salad and toasted pita half!

In the mix: broccoli slaw, cucumber, orange bell pepper, cherry tomatoes, sweet corn, chickpeas, salsa and a huge glob of Sabra (the only serving size allowed). Here’s before mixing:

You can't even see the whole fiesta yet.

You can't even see the whole fiesta yet.

And after mixing (AKA glory):

Full-on fiesta.

Full-on fiesta.

I had a smattering of additional corn and chickpeas after I finished the above several cups of produce. Amazing.

I carried on my night with a little researching for my Film 201 paper that I still have to write and am semi freaking out about and a cup of Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea and a corner of this lovely:

Le Newman's

Le Newman's

I’ve been working on this bar of Newman’s Own Organics Orange Dark Chocolate for two weeks now. Just part of the late-night snacking I never photograph ;). I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: The Newman’s crew is unstoppable. Everything they create is amazing!

Now that I’ve sufficiently procrastinated writing this five to six-page paper, I’m going to head to a capella practice and then write into the wee small hours of the morning. The bright light at the end of the tunnel: I get to see my beautiful and hilarious family on Friday! Woopwoop!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Is today’s ‘fit borderline costumey? Speaking of, what are you being for Halloween? Or do you not do that?

Muffin and I have a bossy costume planned. It even beats last year’s:

Sam Ronson and Lindsey Lohan!

Sam Ronson and Lindsay Lohan!

Close-up:

Sexy. We went all out.

Sexy. We went all out.

59 Responses to “Borderline Costume?”

  1. No, no, no. Not borderline costumey. I ADORE that print. Jackieee O, we loved her sooooo. (Name that Spice Girls song.)

    Still haven’t figured out my Halloween costume! Last year I was a troll doll; this involved me going on a D.C. bar crawl in a nude unitard. Twas muy sexy.

    Good luck with your late/all-nighter, lovah

  2. a. I die everytime I see that picture of you and muffin. THE BEST costume ever.

    b. Work that coat. It’s faboosh. Didn’t the gay guy in Glee say something like “Every moment in life is just another opportunity to look fabulous?” Okay, prob got that quote all wrong, but you catch my drift.

    c. They put out the holiday teas and SUGAR COOKIE is not there!!!! I almost cried at Wegman’s today. Hope it’s not discontinued!

    XO

    • 3 snackface

      Lyss – Omg what episode of Glee was that? I want to re-watch it so I can write that quote down–I remember thinking it was amazing when he said it, but failed to peel myself out of bed to find pen and paper.

  3. I DIED at your costumes! You look so much like SamRo! Bahahah. Amazing! I have no idea what to be this year, I was Dorothy last year …kind of lame. I think me and my friend might be crayons.

  4. That jacket is super gorgeous! I love it! Not too costumey at all!

    You’ve been eating that chocolate for 2 weeks?! Mine only last like 3 days! I wish I had your self control! haha

    I LOVE that costume idea! I still have no ideas for myself! Any tips?

    • 6 snackface

      Shelby – When I say that I’ve been working on it for two weeks, I mean that it’s been open for two weeks. I probably got 3 or 4 servings from it, though! Haha too good! I’m currently pondering what you should be…hmmmm. Is there anything to which you’re opposed?

  5. that halloween costume is the best thing i have seen. the look on your face is absolutely priceless. i want a framed copy of this.

  6. I’m all over that Jackie O/Barbie look 😀 Rock it out!

  7. 9 elleneatsbeats

    The fiesta salad looks BOMB. I love red and gold together, such a classic, yet sooooooooooooooooo prettyy.

    I’ve been working on the same chocolate bar for about 2 weeks now too, although it got scarfed last night when some stonies came into mi cuarto!!

  8. 10 kittybubbles

    The best costume I have seen! Lol, hilarious!!!

  9. No you didn’t girlfriend. That Halloween costume of Lindsay and Sam is crazy fantastical.

    Love the coat…and huge hummus globs.

    Good luck with the paper, I am doing the same thing tonight about BPA in microwave safe containers…fun, I know.

    • 12 snackface

      Simone – Ah! How’d your paper go? Were you up crazy late? As entertaining as writing about BPA sounds, I fear that I’d want to fall asleep while writing.

  10. your lunch wrap looks sooo great 🙂
    funny costumes from last year!
    jenna

  11. haha great costumes! I’m still trying to decide what to be…

    and no way- that coat is superb! (Personally, I might have skipped the glasses- but you rock it!)

    • 15 snackface

      Freddie – Haha thanks! Yeah, the sunglasses are a bit much, but they’re the only shades I have (lost my stunna shades over the weekend), and I promise I only wore them outdoors!

  12. 16 Lizzy

    i love that jacket so so so much, that i want one of my own! crazy prints like that are so much fun, and you should wear and buy what makes you feel WONDERFUL!!!!!! sport that jacket more often girl! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  13. love the jacket 🙂 oranges always make me think of Christmas too! definitely the most nostalgic of fruits. I still have yet to decide on a Halloween costume for this year but I’m sure it will come to me soon. Good luck on your paper!

    • 18 snackface

      Steph – I am so happy you picked up on my orange+Christmas connection! My grandpa always gives us a huge box of Florida citrus around Christmas. I love it!

  14. I’m having a hard time imagining a costume that will top SamRo and LiLo. Can’t wait to see it!

  15. I don’t think it’s costumey at ALL – I like to think of those as outfits. Like, I have my j. crew outfit: turtleneck, skinny jeans, and ballet flats; my hipster outfit: leggings, tall boots, big slouchy boyfriend sweater; Vermont outfit: comfy jeans, cute flannel, puffy vest…this is getting embarrassing, but you get my drift. I like to pretend that I don’t try too hard, but getting dressed is just too much fun.

    http://lookthroughmyspecs.wordpress.com/

    • 21 snackface

      Anna – Honey, I do the same thing sometimes! It’s like some days we’re Sporty Spice, other times Posh. Just depends on the day 😉

  16. LOL love the costume!!!!! ahahaha too funny. And I love shirts with cute cut out backs. So sexay 😉 I’m being a gangster and maybe a pumpkin on our second night. Still have to finish up last minute details though!

  17. haha what an awesome costume 😀
    I am being a “desperate housewife” for halloween!

    your fiesta salad look bomb-diggity

  18. I love your outfit! I think its more Audrey Hepburn (my fave) than Jackie O. And I just knew that dressing up today would lift your spirits today! Reading this post definitely lifted mine.

    I knew right away that you were Sam and Lindsey. What have you got up your sleeve this year? I can’t wait to see!!!

  19. i can’t even believe that there would be a better costume than samro and lilo…need to see it!

  20. I won’t be dressing up but Snuffy will! She is going as Dorothy and Pedro will be Toto. I may recruit Peanut as a lion too!

  21. Sam n Lindsay, love it.

    And the tea too…Ive been meaning to try the Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride action…now I will!

    Dressing up…hmmmm. I think my days of dressing up like a total tramp are over and I am resigned to pass out candy like a good soccer mom would. But you never know 🙂

  22. Your outfits are gorgeous, and your eats look delicious!!

    🙂

    I think your blog is pretty awesome.

    Amy.

  23. Now, I know for sure Jackie would have looked drop-dead gorgeous blonde. Love that Jackie look!

    And I’m also slapping myself over the head for forgetting to get that TJ mango-ginger chutney!

    • 31 snackface

      burpexcuseme – I’m going to TJ’s this weekend and I’ll see if I can snag two jars- one for you and one for me!

  24. I absolutely love seeing all of your outfits, they give me inspiration on what to wear otherwise I just end up in a tshirt and jeans. Wow leggings are seriously comfy, I’m glad I tried them for once. But I don’t think of the outfit as costumey…
    I love your food, I need to eat porridge again, you make it look very yummy and not liquidy and weird like some people do.
    Chocolate rules!

    • 33 snackface

      Aisha – Ahh! Thanks for all the kindness! It’s awesome that you’re drawing inspiration from the pics! Haha you have to do porridge soon, perhaps even chocolate porridge… 😉

  25. I totally have an orange and a blueberry Z bar for my snack today.. good thinkin 🙂 Super cute coat btw 🙂

  26. Love you costumes..too funny for words! I need ideas for Halloween so shoot some my way 🙂

  27. haaaaaaaahahahaha i loveeeeeeeeeeee!

  28. 37 Brandi

    I LOVE that coat. I love items like that – everyone needs something that is borderline costumey to make your day more interesting 🙂

    what great costumes from last year – can’t wait to see how you top it!

  29. 38 Jennifer

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the jacket! It made me happy and I wish I had one like it. 🙂

    Hilarious costumes!

    I think this is my first post, but I love your blog and your happy attitude.

  30. 40 julie

    mmm! I’m lovin that fiesta in a bowl. recreating that is essential on my list of things to do.

    i lurrrv that jacket!

  31. Um. I am obsessed with your costume from last year. Soooo creative!! I need help coming up with something for this year, I’m not very creative in the costume department.

    Your salad looks sooo good, hummus is the best topper.

  32. 42 lowandbhold

    Hahahaha, those costumes made my life! Espesh your facial expressions. You nailed it!

    Loved your outfit! Nothin’ wrong with channeling a little Jackie O!

  33. 43 peanutbutterfingers

    that coat is amazing!

    your halloween costumes were awesome last year! too funny.

  34. 44 shell625

    that purple dress is cuuuute!

    xoxo,
    Shelley

  35. OMG I ♥ your costumes last year. You da best Sam Ronson EVAH!

    And in answer to your question, no the ‘fit is not too costumey. love the jacket.

  36. Hahaha – your costumes rock! My boyfriend and I still need to figure out what we’re doing, we’ve got two evenings of parties to attend next weekend.

    But LOL I literally laughed out loud! I hope that you guys win some prizes, awesome!

  37. Seriously LOVEDDDDDD (yes, that many d’s are necessary) muffin + your (um grammar?) costume last year! <<Okay, I'm done analyzing that sentence.

    Anyways, yes, I have my costume and I'm quite excited!! I love dressing up.

    I adore your outfit–classic and chic, but quite feminine. Not a costume at all. Pattycakes is silly 😀 I'd rather not fit in somewhere because of having GOOD STYLE than feeling out of place cause my clothes suck. Right?!?

    Have a good Thursday & yayaya for going home this weekend 😀 (me too!)

  38. Ohmigosh I LOVE the coat and LOVE the Jackie O theme. I basically LOVE her.

  39. ohmigawd.. can’t even HANDLE the jacket.. totes vintage.. totes gorgie.. totes want it!

    I love orange scented hands.. stays with ya all day! so much better than the everlasting onion breath.. stays with ya all week. no me gusta.

    bah! those pix are even better the second time around – can’t get over ’em!

    so much love snacko ❤

  40. 51 MamaJ

    I thought you were wearing your banana pants???????

  41. Oh man, that wrap is killing me! Anything that is oozing out has got to be good!

    You and Muffin crack me up! Those costumes are all sorts of genius!! This year’s will be a hit as well – I can feel it 🙂

    Hope you knocked out some of that paper!! You got it in the bag!

  42. hahah i LOVE the costumes! can’t wait to see what you have planned for this year!
    adore the jackie-o outfit. i’m trying to dress more “autumn kailey chic” this season 🙂
    hope you’re having a great week and good luck with all that school work craziness
    xoxo

  43. I need balls. For serial, a TJs run is in order just for them.
    And the trench is crazy amazy. Way to rock it, it looks awesome!
    Thinking thinking on creative halloween – your costumes were totally epic!

  44. LOVE the mango chutney from TJ’s it makes the wrap so tasty!

    amazing idea for the costume! you gals NAILED it! 🙂

  45. Hey! I have a leftover bag of broccoli slaw that is just BEGGING to be made into that salad! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    P.S. I love that coat, and I would even rock it here in Utah–way before I attempt the leggings! haha

  46. the outfit is DEF not costumey- LOVE the jacket! and anything purple this year is just amazing!

    i dieeee over your costume last year!!!! so amazing!!!! can’t wait to see what this years is 🙂

  47. OMG your costumes made me laugh–you girls look like your always having so much fun!


  1. 1 Sol y Café « THE FOODIE DIARIES

Leave a Reply

