Slight Change

20Oct09

Hi puddings! This is unrelated to anything, but I find it hilarious that I love terms of endearment such as honey, lovepies, puddings, muffins, etc., but MamaJ can’t stand them. Seeing that this post has started in a spastic matter, that’s probably sure to continue.

Monday morning brought sunshine to my life, which only made me miss my stunna shades more. After getting nine hours of sleep, though, I went on and brushed my shoulders off (ladies really is pimps, too), and tried not to be paranoid about getting crows feet.

To fuel up for a desperately needed gym session, I snacked on this:

Man hand holding the drippiest peanut butter and a banana. Ignore la computadora.

Man hand holding the drippiest peanut butter and a banana. Ignore la computadora.

I then walked 20 minutes to the gym, ellipticalled for 50 while reading September Vogue (behind, I know) and then did abbage. Planks still make me want to hurl. Child’s pose is the only solution post-plank.

Choir was standard, but I was starving the whole time. I rushed home afterward, showered, dressed and immediately made lunch:

Wrap + apple = wrapple.

Wrap + apple = wrapple.

In the wrap (La Tortilla Factory something that does not have the l-casein or whatever is in the others): TJ‘s Mango Ginger chutney, balls, salsa, shrooms and spinach. This was fabulous accompanied by the crisp Fuji apple doused with cinnamon.

For today’s look, I wanted to wear the most comfortable pants ever:

Bottom up: leopard flats, Gap pants, black belt, black waffle shirt, glasses.

Bottom up: leopard flats, Gap pants, black belt, black waffle shirt, glasses.

This goes from casual to prissy with a slight change:

Add H+M jacket and scarf from Italia.

Add H+M jacket and scarf from Italia.

Fully dressed, I strutted over to the Scripps building for Online Journalism. We discussed videos and linking, both with which I’ve been experimenting lately. This reminds me that Snacktime is WAY overdue. It’s on the schedule this week, though!

I visited Muffin after class, per usual, then headed to the library to do research for the paper I still have to write. I gathered magazines and found my favorite spot for reading and snacking:

Restaurant business mags, Z-Bar and coffee. Side of sad cell phone.

Restaurant business mags, Z-Bar and coffee. Side of sad cell phone.

There was a table of girls sitting near me, and their incessant chatter was driving me nutty. “Even if he doesn’t love me forever…” blah, blah, blah. The library is no place to ponder your love lives, ladies! I suppose it’s not a place for snacking, either, but I needed to be fed.

In fact, I needed to be fed so badly that I headed home at 6pm. Upon climbing the treacherous stairs to my place, I found the November+December issue of VegNews in the mailbox! AHHH!!!! This made my evening! I miss everyone there so much that I still talk about them all the time.

By 6:30 I was eating this beaut while waiting for my other dinner component:

Stovetop salad. Class.

Stovetop salad. Class.

In the mix: greens, cucumber, cherry toms, mushrooms, Sabra and balsamic vinaigrette. How did I forget that hummus makes for the best salad dressing?

Dinner component numba two was very…orange:

Chile and cinnamon-spiced cheetahs with a weiner. No way to make the ween look good.

Chile and cinnamon-spiced cheetahs with a wiener. No way to make the ween look good.

Tonight I have a boat load of work to do after Tempo Tantrums rehearsal, which is 9 to 10. Should be a late one!

I wanted to share that there’s been a slight change in plans. You’ve all been amazingly supportive of my decision to audition for the Victoria’s Secret Runway Show, and I couldn’t be more thankful. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to drive up to Chicago this weekend for the open casting. Instead, I’ma be making a video! It should be hilarious and make me cringe.

This weekend I’ll be going home to Cinci, and I cannot wait. I’ve been struck with a case of mild homesickness that only a huge hug from MamaJ, Popsicle and Matty Rich can resolve. And those sweet hairy faces of Peanut and Marshmallow… I need them.

Well, kidlets, I’m off to practice and a very late night!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: How do you cope with changes?

This is certainly something I’m working on. I tend to freak out for a bit, sit with it for a while and then carry on with an attempted positive attitude. It mostly works, especially in ridiculous cases such as the above-mentioned VS scenario. Like, really, what are the odds of getting it anyway? When it comes to serious life changes…well, we can save that for another time.

45 Responses to “Slight Change”

  1. Please please show us your stunna video when you’re done!

    I tend to cope with change the same way. Major freak out, calming down, accepting.

  2. OOHhhh changes- i know them well πŸ™‚ From what I’ve seen of little snackfacie thus far, you are all for embracing change and grabbing life by the meatless balls!!

    HA i just couldn’t resist..but seriously I think your spontaneous CA summer and all of your modeling gigs and auditions speak volumes about your bravery to try new things!! I am definitely getting BETTER at embracing change and adapting, but it’s still a challenge that I love! Exhibit A: SNOWYYY BOSTON!! YAY πŸ˜€ Being far away from the momz is hard as well, but she is always a bbm away. Have the best time at home this weekend lova girl!!! xo hugzz

    • 3 snackface

      carolinebee – Awww thank you for saying I grab life by the meatless balls! Hahaha that is the best quote ever! You, my friend, are certainly doing the same!

  3. I do’nt cope very well with changes at all, but I’m working on it. I believe in fate, so that helps a lot. Everything happens for a reason.

    I seriously need your closet! All of your outfits are so adorable!

    Mmm and I’m loving the cheetahs!

  4. I kind of freak out with changes too – but USUALLY (not always) get to a place where I can be positive about it. A nice weekend with a mom hug also has a way of straightening things out.

    Also – I love hummus on salads, and I forget about how perfect it is all the time. Thanks for the reminder. πŸ™‚

  5. ahh changes are totally my enemies. i’m working on accepting them, i take it one day at a time and surprisingly it gets easier (they were right when they said practice makes perfect, ah who knew!)
    have fun in the nati! ahh i wish i had my car at school, i’d be back in cincy in a minute!

  6. 7 Lizzy

    lovin today’s outfit girl! πŸ™‚

    Change for me used to be pretty hard, cause i like routine. But lately i’ve dealt with it pretty well. I just try and take each challenge as it comes and try not to stress about it! As long as you have your support group by your side, i feel like change is nothing!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. I cope(or not) with changes by freaking out….Sometimes I calm down afterwards. Other times….not so much :S
    I love your outfit. So cute and versatile!
    xox

    • 9 snackface

      Niamh – Thanks for diggin’ the outfit! I understand that every time we deal with change, we learn. Sometimes that means still freaking out!

  8. 11 MK

    Cute look today! Love those pants. I’m a college student too and I hate carrying a backpack because I feel like it can ruin an outfit, no matter how good looking it is. Do you carry a backpack too or do you have a more stylish solution?

    • 12 snackface

      MK – Thanks for the comment! I actually do carry a backpack, but it depends on the outfit and my class schedule. Today, for instance, when I wore the pictured outfit I carried a large black purse that could fit one notebook for my one class. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, however, I normally have to use a backpack. Then again, sometimes I stuff it into my larger purses. BUT I have been known to go out (as in to class and bars πŸ˜‰ ) with my backpack…so it depends on the day!

  9. You will STUN them in your vid. I’m sure of it πŸ™‚

  10. 14 homegirlcaneat

    OMG I can’t wait for VS ANGEL video! You will seriously knock them off their feet with your humor, personality, beauty, and leggies!!

    Oh how I miss cheetahs…. CHRISTMAS BREAK is gonna be insane in the kitchen in da CA. I miss you so much and can’t believe we basically LIVED together this summer! It feels like FOREV ago! 😦 OMG we had the best time together and I have no worries that anything will ever CHANGE because we gon see each other in Nov and SUMMER SUMMER SUMMER!!!!!!! ( unless you are modeling πŸ˜‰ )

    LOOOOVE YOU forever

  11. I’m definitely really similar with the freak out followed by talking myself down response. It works, yo.

    Also wrapple. I giggled.

    And “no way to make the ween look good”–TWSS material, chica. Tsk, tsk.

    Buenos nocheeeesssss amor

  12. i am secretly happy you aren’t going to chicago this weekend because i won’t be there either! mi familia is coming to visit me. anyways, they will be able to see the hilarious, gorge and fabulousness much better in a video anyways πŸ™‚

    *crossing my fingers for you*

    loves ya.

  13. Very cute casual chic outfit. What is going to be on your VS tape? Also, continuing on with the creepy questions, how tall are you?

    I want some cheeeeeetahs! They always look so delicious!

  14. changes? hate them. especially when they arent on my terms. But I generally just perk up, and keep going, trying to forget any changes are happening. If they are great changes, then I usually celebrate with a glass of wine πŸ™‚ I swear that wrap looks restaurant worthy. Make me one, pleasE? oh and no worries about chicago…u will be here some other time and u can get a new pair of stunna shades and wear them as i wear my hats. we are ghetto to the Xtreme.

    xoxo
    lo lo

  15. Okay I had a LOT to catch up on you with! You have had a killer week in my absence – love it! NYC looked so so so amazing. As it always does, but you and muffin did it up right. I have a very similar picture of me with coffee in hand grinning like a maniac because it was thanksgiving and i was in ny for the first time and with my bestie. Love,

    So good to see all your inspiring salads and what not. Cheetahs….hearts.

  16. I want your pants. Seriously.

    Every time I pick up Veg News I think of you. Same thing about every time I make cheetahs (like tonight). I think I’d always like my weiner on the side.

    Boy Victoria’s Secret doesn’t know what they’re missing πŸ™‚

  17. This: Planks still make me want to hurl. Child’s pose is the only solution post-plank.
    Girlfriend if you need any yoga advice, I’ve been a teacher for nearly 9 yrs. Holla!

    Your cinny spicy cheetahs look rockin.

    And I would love to watch you walk the VS runway! Can’t wait to see the video πŸ™‚

  18. Your wrap and apple looks like a super yum lunch!! Gottaaaa love the cheetas.. I have a ton of sweet potoes I need to use up.. good idea!

    I TOTALLY hate change.. I dont deal with it well. It takes me ahilw to adjust as I like “comfort”. When the hub and I moved to NC from PA.. I was a mess for like 3 months.. lol . I wish I wasn’t that insane, though.. change can be good!! πŸ™‚

  19. Can’t wait for the next SnackFace show!!! πŸ™‚

  20. Love those pants!!

    I definitely have had my fair share of “freak outs” when it comes to changes in plans, but I’m working on it. Practice makes perfect, I say. So each time I get a little better at coping with change…

  21. I think that’s absolutely amazing your trying out for the VS runway show!!! I can’t wait to see your video and the whole experience is worth it!
    Love your wrapple. I think that’s what I am going to make myself for lunch today.
    I just went through a major transitioning period in my life and it hurts and it’s painful, but change is what makes us grow, mature, and expand our surroundings. It’s good to not let yourself get to comfortable.
    Lately in my new place and living alone, when I catch myself about to have a breakdown I blast some music and start cleaning my apartment. It seems to help.

    • 26 snackface

      Coco – First off, thank you for the support. Secondly, thank you for sharing your experience with change. I know you’re going through a crazy time, but you’re managing beautifully. Blasting music is always my solution. Must be rap for me!

  22. I’m currently eating a banana and peanut butter. Best snack ever. Oh and I made sweet potatoes cheetah-style the other night. Except they didn’t turn as cheetah-esque as yours! Haha.

    With change I normally start out super stressed, but I think I cope pretty well with it. Obviously it depends on what’s changing. Moving to another state for school was definitelyyy hard. I miss my sisters especially everyday.

  23. mmm wrapple, even that word makes me hungry lol

  24. 29 lowandbhold

    Love love love your outfit. You look so classic.

    The wrapple and the ween made me giggle like a 5 year old, for different reasons.

    The video idea sounds spectacular! Can’t wait to see it!

  25. 30 Amanda

    Ahh changes! There have been many unexpected things that have happened to me in the last 1.5 years since I graduated college and started to live and work on my own. At first, I tend to freak out/pity myself, but I quickly come up with a plan to adapt and have shown myself that some optimism and an alternate route will get me through! Everything happens for a reason, even if it’s not easy to see when something drastic happens!!

  26. Whenever bloggers ask what our favorite yoga pose is, my answer is ALWAYS child’s pose. Best on created!!

    Your wrapple reminds me of grapples. Have you ever had those? I wonder what they taste like. I need to have cheetahs soon – I need some animal in me πŸ˜‰

    Your video is going to be filled with ridiculousness and shenanies – can’t wait! Your personality will just push you OVER the top above the other submitters. Good luck, dollface!! Can I have your autograph when you become the next Gisele!?

    • 32 snackface

      ksgoodeats – Ahhh!! You are amazing for the support! Thank you, twin! And I’ve never had a grapple, but I know exactly what you’re talking about!

  27. 33 Little Bookworm

    Love all the food in this post especially the cheetahs (and yay for Snacktime)! Good luck with the VS video. πŸ™‚

  28. Awww Kailey, POSITIVE thinking!! The modeling industry is ridiculously hard to penetrate, but you’ve got yourself in already. Never stop shooting for the stars and if VS is your goal, I bet that video is going to be BOMB ass. πŸ™‚ Just like your delish looking lunch!!!

  29. cute outfit, lovess it!
    and i like your lunch wrap and your dinner. i must try those sweet potato fries asap πŸ™‚
    jenna

  30. oh my – what are ‘cheetahs!!’ – it looks like squash or a sweet potatoe? haha sorry – it looks delish and i want it. I hate when i’m cooking dinner in the evening …and keep on snacking – while i’m cooking – i swear i eat another dinner on top of the one i’m cooking…and it’s usually not healthy either – like chocolate and stuff :(…but i do eat extra veggies …)…bad habits hard to break. love your blog!

    • 37 snackface

      eatmovelove – Welcome to SnackFace! Cheetahs have their own page at the top, next to “about,” but they are sweet potatoes! The method also works for butternut squash and kabocha! I don’t really snack while I’m cooking, and if I do it’s normally a component of the salad I’m eating. After dinner, however, is when I get my SnackFace on. Cereal is the snack of choice πŸ™‚

  31. shoot homie i miss you calling me pudding pop!! and damn i would kill for some cheetahs. miss youuu!!

    ps how the hell do you blog so regularly?!? before i started i never thought about it and now im so damn busy!!! it seems impossible!

    • 39 snackface

      britt likes beer – Pudding pop! I know, regular blogging can be crazy during college. For me, though, it’s a release from the rest of the day and I get anxiety if I skip a day or something (other than on weekends- I normally skip a couple days). I manage regular blogging + school stuff with not sleeping. Perhaps not so smart…

  32. 40 shell625

    Hi! I just wanted to introduce myself, I”m Shelley & I’m trying to get my own blog started πŸ™‚ I really like yours and think you have such cute outfits!!

    • 41 snackface

      shell625 – Hey Shelley! I’m a huge supporter of starting your own blog! It’s somewhat life-changing! And thanks so much for the compliments–you too sweet!

  33. 42 tessa

    ahh! so exciting about VS! your a stunna m’dear and will knock there socks off πŸ™‚
    oh by the way those cheetahs are making me drool right now.
    welp i gots to go catch a plane to aussi, and i will do my best to update.
    much love girl!

  34. I tried calling Gingie “sweetie pie” once.. yeah, he wasn’t a fan.

    ugh change is definitely one of my greatest demons in life. I am so anal about errything and when shizz doesn’t go my way I freak! I’m definitely on learning how to cope – so hopefully I can steal some advice from your comments πŸ˜‰ hope you don’t mind me veggin’ off ya!

    any chance we can see this VS vid? I have a feeling I’ll prob die at least a few times.

    ciao bella! loves you!

  35. Love the H&M jacket! Adore it, in fact. And I was thinking the same thing about bitties analyzing, in depth, their love lives on campus/in the library. Laughable !!!!

    ❀ I'm going home this weekend, too! Have a safe trip MISS.


  1. 1 Make Your Spirits Bright | The Healthy Everythingtarian

Leave a Reply

