Freaking Out

08Oct09

Buongiorno! OMG. I am simply freaking out right now. I can barely function. I leave for NYC in less than 24 hours! GAHH!!! So I apologize for the speedy, spastic post you are about to encounter. Should be fun!

I set an alarm for 8am, rolled out of bed and was starving! Of the many ways to break the fast, I chose oatmeal yet again:

Koffee with peanut-buttery banana oatmeal!

Koffee with peanut-buttery banana oatmeal!

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, 1/2 banana (microwaved for 20 seconds because it wasn’t ripe enough for my taste), cinnamon, scoop of protein powder, scoop of flax and a drizzle of peanut butter. This was one of the most delicious bowls of oats I’ve had in a while. I think I like a single flavor profile in the oat base (AKA either banana or sweet potato, not both). Every bite was divine:

The peanut butter is luscious in this shot. Love.

The peanut butter is luscious in this shot. Love.

After blog reading and changing into gym attire, I dashed across campus for a workout. I wasn’t wearing nearly enough layers for the cold.

My workout consisted of 50 minutes of intervals on the elliptical and some serious ab work. The planks are less painful now, which I’m taking to be a great sign of improvement!

Choir was after the workout, and it was…the same a usual. I got to sing and dance. This always makes me happy.

I finally got to take a steamy shower at 1:20pm. Took way too long and was flustered by being off schedule. I blame the panic for this snack plate lunch (that was totally missing grainy goodness):

Apple size be killin' me.

Apple size be killin' me.

On the plate: huge Jonagold, cucumber slices, TJ’s balls, carrots, mustard and ketchup. Unpictured: bowl of salsa. In all honesty, I loved this SnackFace plate:

Plate of my favorite things. Especially the balls. Had a big craving for them.

Plate of my favorite things. Especially the balls. Had a big craving for them.

After singing “Flaws and All” in preparation for an audition 23 times, I skipped to Online Journalism for class. We were only in class for an hour today, and after I got to chat with my prof for a bit. Adore her.

Then I visited Muffin so we could squeal about NYC. There’s a lot of that going on. We made a game plan for the rest of the night, and I went uptown to run some errands.

I needed (and still need) a new memory card for my camera, so I selected an HP 4GB Secure Digital High Capacity Memory Card. When I got it home, I checked to see whether it was the same size as my current memory card. It was, so I popped it in there and this is the message I saw: “Memory card error.” WHAT! Basically, I wasted $20 on a memory card. I can’t return it because I opened the package. If you want this, please let me know! Giveaway, I guess! I chose not to get angry about this and just laughed. Not much else I can do!

There was something, however, I could do about my rumbling tummy:

Color!

Color!

In the mix: baby lettuce, orange pepper, banana peppers, chickpeas, salsa and balsamic vinaigrette. I’ve had this salad, what, four times this week? It’s that good. Almost as good as these beauts:

Cheetahs! Glory!

Cheetahs! Glory!

I thought that maybe I liked butternut squash more than sweet potatoes. Hell naw! Sweet potatoes reign supreme.

Once I’d digested and belted my audition song a few more times, I bolted to the music building. En route,Β  I fell in love with my neighbor’s lab puppy. She is the sweetest little baby and I want to steal her. I might because they leave her outside on a leash attached to the stair’s rails all day (preposition overload there- lo siento). It breaks my heart! (I tweeted about this…you should follow. Just saying…)

Anyway, I had to make a video audition tape for Tempo Tantrums, the a capella group of which I was a part last year. The auditions are this weekend and they were kind enough to accommodate my situation. Love those girls! Oh, and I think I rocked it.

Muffin picked me up after this! We spent the night packing, trying on outfits, painting our nails, etc. Now it’s 12:50 am and I’m not even tired. Wake-up call? 7am. Oh well!

Today I donned one of my favorite outfits of all time. It’s super comfortable:

Yes, that's a sweatshirt dress.

Yes, that's a sweatshirt dress.

This is a Free People gigantic hoodie dress that I layered over an off-white, printed waffle-ish shirt, leggings and boots. OK, the boots were killing me by the end of the day, but the rest of me was happy.

And now I shall stop torturing you with this crazy banter. I love you all and will update you when I return. I may be a changed woman. (Kidding. Maybe.)

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Would anyone like that memory card? aaand… What was your late-night snack tonight?

I would like a memory card that works for my camera! And I had a Z-bar at 9:30pm and Wasa’s with Sabra at 12:10am. And I’m still hungry. LOVE YOU!!!

73 Responses to “Freaking Out”

  1. 1 Sara

    Kailey! I’d take the memory card but I URGE you to try it again, or at least keep it ’til after NYC when your thoughts aren’t so rushed and you can go to the store and maybe they will let you exchange it or something!!
    ps – sweatshirt dress hilariousness i don’t think i could pull that one off but you look supa comfy!!

    • 2 snackface

      Sara – Thanks for the suggestion to wait with the card, but my camera isn’t that nice and I really don’t think it can handle this memory card. I’ve tried at least five times since I bought the card. The bookstore from which I purchased it is also really stingy about returns. It’s marked clearly on the package! Haha. So I am going to go ahead and give it away!

  2. 3 Sara

    PS have an AMAZINGGG, SAFE trip tomorrow!! Can’t wait to read/hear alll about it!

  3. 4 homegirlcaneat

    FREAKING DA SHIZ OUT HERE!!!! CAN’T SLEEP!!!! WE ARE GONNA BE IN THE SAME CITY AND STATE AND AREA CODE TOMORROW!!! BYE!!!! LOVE YOU!!! WE CRAZY BITCHES!!

  4. i cant sleep bc im stoked for you!!!!!!!!!! and i ate vegan dinner tonight and vegan carrot cake and thought of u…in fact i finished it for you too πŸ™‚

    xoxoxoxoxo,

    send my love to the ladies in the Big Vegan Apple πŸ™‚

    LoLo

  5. have fun in new york :]

  6. Have fun in NYC!!! Your are going to rip it up! That sucks about the memory car =( Your cheetahs look sooo mighty good.

  7. 8 sue

    late night snack: sabra and pita chips! have a great weekend!

  8. 9 lydia

    ew…not digging the sweater dress- looks kind of like a homeless man’s jacket!

    • 10 snackface

      lydia – Alright, this was the first comment I read this morning and it made me CRACK UP! Hahaha thanks for the honesty, and I can see the homeless thing.

      • 11 lydia

        hi snackface- i just re-read my comment and it is SO harsh! i am so sorry, it was first thing in the morning and i was in a crappy mood. please don’t think im an anonymous bitch, but you are very beautiful, and i think that your other outfits accentuate your beauty a bit better! again, SO sorry-i am such a bitch before 9 a.m and without coffee…:(

      • 12 snackface

        lydia – Oh honey, don’t even worry about it! I thought it was hilarious! Also, I think that when one is in her early twenties, that’s the time to experiment with fashion and have fun. Sometimes it’s crazy and sometimes it’s elegant. This is a little kooky, and that’s just what I was feeling yesterday. Again, don’t worry about it! I totally understand the no coffee before 9am thang!

  9. Good luck, have fun in NYC!!!

    (snack was toast with marmelade, toast with baba ghanoush and cookies!)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  10. Have fun in New York girly:)
    I busted open a new bag of pop chips! Yum

    P.S. Cute outfit..totally digging the freepeople hoodie/dress

    • 15 snackface

      Sherlock – Thanks for digging the outfit, boo! Oh a bag of Pop Chips sounds delicious. I’ve only had the individual serving size bags. Anything larger would be dangerous, as in, it would be gone in two seconds. I LOVE the Salt + Pepper ones!

  11. 16 fruitsveggieslife

    Oh my god! Have so, so much fun in NYC! You are going to have a BLAST. Can’t wait to see and hear about it. πŸ™‚

  12. Hang in there, girl and have a BLAST!! You must hit up One Lucky Duck and Pure Food & Wine, my favorites πŸ™‚

  13. Holla to the huge apples! I just finished off one and now I’m stuffed!

    Yeah I’m partial to sweet p’s myself. B-nuts are good but now the best.

    I never thought I could like a hoodie dress like that, but it looks super cute! I just can’t believe you’re in boots already. I’m still working my flip-flops until in snows! haha

  14. I think you should still take the memory card back! I mean you opened it and it was broken! If wherever you bought it has good customer service.. they’d give you a new one.

    • 20 snackface

      Katey – Thanks for the tip! I’m still not sure whether the card is broken or my camera just doesn’t like that type of memory card. And the place where I bought it has awful customer service, haha. But maybe I’ll try to finagle something!

  15. the eats look simply scrumptious today!! favorite late night snack is a bar or greek yogurt with cinnamon, flax, jelly, pb!

  16. Aw man sorry about that memory card! Mine has been acting up BEYOND belief lately. Hopefully yours will work soon!

    Love those boots…you are so tall and stunning and…ugh. *jealousy erupts* But I still love ya!

    Have so much fun in the city, bitty!

    ❀

  17. Have a fabulous trip!!

  18. I want to call the pet police on your neighbors. Poor puppy. Labs need lots of attention and love. I wonder if the apartment management would do something. F-ers.

  19. Looking forward to meeting you pretty girl! I had a LΓ€rabar as my late night snack tonight, I was up in my room studying and it was the first yummy hunger-reliever I could find πŸ™‚ safe travels!

  20. HAVE FUN IN NYCCCCCCCCCCCCCC πŸ™‚ youre going to LOVE it!
    i’d take that memory card if youre giving it awayyy πŸ™‚ lol

  21. 27 Brandi

    i hope you have a GREAT and safe trip to NY – can’t wait to see all the craziness πŸ™‚

    What a cute outfit – so comfy looking.

    nighttime snack last night was some bedtime tea and TJs dark chocolate wedge. yum.

  22. Ahhh I would LOVE a memory card!! Last week something went wrong with mine and now it only holds 10 pics! Not good for a blogger. So if you need someone to take it off your hands… πŸ˜‰

    My late night snack last night was gingersnap ben and jerry’s. It’s a limited edition flavor and it was freaking AMAZING!! Huuuuge chunks of soft gingersnap cookie.

    • 29 snackface

      Tina – You had the best late night snack of everyone! I’m so jealous! I haven’t had ice cream (non-dairy) in fo eva! Mmmm gingersnap!!

  23. BAH you are making me so jealyyyy with this spastic post! I want to go to the big apple witchuuuu and Brookie 😦 le sigh.

    pity party over.. adore that green sweatshirt.. I’m reppin’ a free people shirt today too! represent!! and that salad is almost as perdy as you — emphasis on the ALMOST πŸ™‚

    safe travels lemon drop! tell the girlies I said hello!!

    soooo much love to you SF! ❀ xo

  24. 31 Nicole

    Hey girl, so I just came across your blog and I LOVE IT! You are too much fun. I looove how you post your outfits!! I have an online basket full of Free People clothes that I want so badly.

    • 32 snackface

      Nicole – Awww, honeybun! Thanks so much for stopping by and enjoying! You’re too sweet! Free People clothes are incredible. I wish I could afford them on the regular! They mix so well with other elements one is likely to have in her wardrobe! Anyway, thanks again!

  25. Hey you – I’m SURE you can try and return the memory card. Electronics are hard because you can’t tell if they work until you open them! Most places are good about that. It’s worth a shot, right?! Fave late night snack is definitely hot chocolate, ice cream, or cereal πŸ™‚

    And HAVE FUN in NYC!!!!! So jeal’.

  26. 34 Lindsey

    yesss go back to the store from where you bought the card! I had that SAME thing happen to me (I purched from target) and they fixed it πŸ™‚

  27. that apple is HUGE!!! what a perfectly arranged snackface plate! loves it!

    ain’t no shame in a sweatshirt dress, i have one from urban and i would live in it during the fall if i could!

    i hope you have the most bitchin weekend ever!!!

  28. 36 Justine

    Hi Kailey!
    I recently discovered Snackface and I just wanted you to know that you are an inspiration to me! You provide me with motivation for several things including my weight loss (I have lost 40 lbs since April!), school (hearing about your daily grind really helps me to keep things in perspective and not get too overwhelmed) and of course, biggest of all, my lifestyle/food choices!! Thank you, thank you, thank you! You are awesome!
    Your new friend,
    Justine in Orlando πŸ™‚

    • 37 snackface

      Justine – I am utterly amazed right now. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Forty pounds is a lot to lose–You deserve all the credit, babe. You are the one who took control and made positive changes in your life. This is seriously the most touching comment I’ve ever received. Thank you so much for reading and gleaning some inspiration from the blog. I wish I were in Orlando to give you an enormous hug right now! Though I didn’t do anything, you are welcome. And YOU are awesome! Please keep me updated and feel free to email any time (kharless10@gmail.com)!

  29. Love that sweater dress, have one similar but rarely ever get to wear it down here in FL. Have a great time in NY! Its one of the greatest cities ever!

  30. I love the sweatshirt dress! I actually have something similar from Vikki Secret’s but its a tube sweatshirt dress/coverup πŸ™‚ LOVE anything VS

    Does microwaving an almost unripe banana actually work??? I made a Green monster yesterday and the flavor was just dank from a slightly green banana. Me no likey!

  31. Have fun in New York! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  32. Memory cards are really weird — I’ve had my share of issues with them!! I’m just wondering — does yours say SDHC on it? Because you mentioned that your camera isn’t that great, and if that’s the case, an SDHC card probably wouldn’t be compatible with it.

    LOVE the salad, by the way; such gorgeous colors!! πŸ™‚

    ❀ ❀

  33. LOVE the free peeps sweater dress! i have a huge hoodie from them that i absolutely j’adore. enjoy your NYC vacay….and you have every reason to be SO EXCITED! love you and your morning bowl of oatmeal goodness!

  34. I don’t eat late night snacks! Mostly because our dinner is usually around 8pm so that’s already pretty late. πŸ˜›
    That salad looks so good!

    • 46 snackface

      Diana – Dinner timing makes such a huge difference- agreed! Last night’s dinner was at 6pm, which was too early!

  35. LOL’ing! Your face is hilarious in the sweat shirt pic!! (But uh, not in a bad way. I’m not being rude, okay?)

    • 48 snackface

      Yum Yuck- Hahaha I’m not taking that offensively!I love it. Thanks for commenting! Just voted for you in Foodbuzz!

  36. SO exciting boo! it will be a blast for you and the homegirl’s fo sure πŸ™‚

    shoo, that memory card be trippin’. i recently had some major problems relating to my new camera… as in dropping it on the floor at a girl talk concert and now it won’t turn on ha! for some reason i should be more upset this, but instead i just jacked my bro’s cam. c’est la vie.

    the snack i was diggin’ tonight ’twas plain pb puffin’s, chocolate dipped in better n’pb and a glass of soy milk… as you can tell i’m a big believer in eating late. it’s how i do.
    have a good flight love!

  37. YES YES YES. COME HERE NOW.

  38. Ahhhh have SUCH an amazing time! I know you will. I love that we are both gallivanting off somewhere cool this weekend. Word, sister.

  39. love your snack platter for lunch!
    have fun in NYC!!
    jenna

  40. 53 elise

    sabra on the late night. girl, you are my long lost twin.

    i heart waffle tees. and oversized sweatshirts too. and you.

    see you sooooooooooooooon!!!!

  41. gah i cant believe you leave so soon! dont forget to pack me! the PBBO looks sooo baller. and I LOV HOODIE DRESSES! i love wearing them with slouchy boots and beanies, i am totally about the homeless man look. i am eyeballing the cutest RVCA one right now but it is sooo expensive. late night snack was popcorn at the moooovies with that one guy. HAVE A FANFREAKAAKAKAKKKINGTASTIC TIME! wish i was going for reals. love your face.

    oh and i just realized you reply to peoples comments here. just so you know, if you have ever replied to mine, i have never seen them. i am too scatterbrained to go back to posts.

    again, i love you.

    love.

    you.

    ok bye!

  42. hahaha um i just love lydia’s comment and subsequent apology πŸ˜€ I havent found a nordie’s in Bost- which would be the source of any free people gear! Thank goodness, cuz cb is broke as a joke..
    HAVE SO MUCHH fun this weekend ahhh eat delish food and dance and find chase crawford and tell him i love him! πŸ˜€

  43. love love freepeople (ah if only it wasn’t so expensive)!!
    have tons of fun in NYC i can’t wait for the recap i will totally be living vicariously through all of you NYC bound ladies!!

  44. 57 Maya

    The same thing happened to me with my camera one time with a memory card and all I had to do was format it and it worked perfectly. Insert your memory card and fiddle with your camera settings until you find something that says “Format”. (MAKE SURE you don’t have any photos on your camera first because it will delete them all when you select that). After that it should work fine! Unless it doesn’t of course, haha.

    Best of luck, and let me know if it works!

    -Maya
    http://perpetualmusings.wordpress.com

  45. Cute outfit girl! Can I borrow that dress? Looks super comfy πŸ˜‰

    Love the colorful eats!

    xo
    K

  46. My favorite late night snack? Hmmmmm a warm chocolate chip cookie! I’m simple πŸ™‚ Lovin the cheeta sweet potatoes!

    Maggie

  47. 60 risrocksout

    Loving the simple flavors – I always overcomplicate mine!
    The look is amazing (though I think you are probs one of very few people who can totally rock that dress) I’m totallytotally into layers so I dig.
    Have a total blastie in NYC!!!

    … and my late nights snacks have been anything hummus-involved of late!

  48. have an amazing trip πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  49. 62 Cameron

    Hi,
    I was just wondering if you keep track of how many calories you eat…Not to be rude or anything, but you consume VERY healthy foods, but it doesn’t seem to be enough calories…Do you know how much you eat a day? You’re pretty active and I don’t know if what you’re doing is completely healthy. Please don’t be offended…I’m just curious to see what your take on calories is….

    • 63 snackface

      Cameron – Hello! Cameron, thanks for your concern and question. I don’t take it offensively! Anyway, I do not count calories. I don’t believe in it. I go with what my body wants, and I should add that I rarely photograph everything I eat. It would be impossible, as I’m a true snacker, just grabbing things throughout the day. That being said, there are probably days I should amp up the eats, but I trust my body to let me know when to do so. For example, if I’m feeling anxious, a bit off or slightly hungry, I know it’s time to eat something (the same goes for lethargy, headaches, moodiness, nausea, hell–I always think food is the solution for any of my “off” feelings). Additionally, I don’t measure or count serving sizes – I think that’s a load of dookie. I eat what I want, however much I want and when I want. Eats that go unpictured throughout the day: palmfuls of trail mix, bowls/mugs of cereal with nut butter and almond milk, random fruits and veggies, Clif Z-Bars, crackers with hummus…the list goes on and I normally snack on all those things daily. I hope this is a sufficient answer! Please feel free to ask further questions if this isn’t adequate. I really appreciate the input!

      • 64 Cameron

        Hi! Thanks so much for your response. I know you stated that you weren’t offended, but I can’t help thinking that my comment did have some slight offense to it. I only asked because I am currently trying to eat healthier and cut out junk food and I just wanted to know what your take on calories was and if you ate only what was pictured since it seems little at times. You look incredibly healthy AND gorgeous and I take your blog as an inspiration since we’re around the same age (college!) and I’m trying hard to lose the freshmen 100000 I gained last year. So thanks again for your response and I truly hope to be able to balance my food intake and know what my body wants/craves without worrying about any silly calorie counting!

        Thanks again and sorry if I did sound a little rude with my last comment! I don’t know much about nutrition or healthy eating so I was just curious. =)

  50. late night snack: cinnamon sweets with chocolate covered pretzels!!!

  51. 66 Lizzy

    YAY YAY YAY YAY i can’t believe your in NYC! have a blast my love, and i can’t wait to see you via bloggie when you come back! LOVEEEEE U

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  52. Late Night Snacklette=PB 2 mixed with Stonyfield Vanilla Yogurt + banana +puffins

  53. Have a safe trip.

  54. mama!!!!!!!!! have so much fun in nyc!!

    i love all the snack plate actions and beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeautiful cheetahs!

    sweatshirt dresses are bomb! you look adorable!!

    take care and safe travels SF!

    Love,
    GC

  55. free peeps, anthro, urbn = same comp! love love! my dad’s in le businaaaassssty so i know a;; da DEETZ. yayuhhh!

    mwah mwah! n have fun in new yawk!!! ilyyyyyyyyy

  56. HAVE FUN IN NYC πŸ˜€
    one of the best cities ever!

    thank for the banana/sweet potato advice!!

  57. A big yay for NYC your going to have an amazing time! Oh and I love your outfit pictured here by the way – you have a great sense of style πŸ™‚


  1. 1 Breathe « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

