Another Day, Another Announcement!

06Oct09

Hello sweet peas! I have another crazy announcement that I have been trying to keep secret for weeks now. But at the end of this post, I have to unveil some insane plans to you.

Before we can get to that, though, I have a gorgeous Monday to share!

Monday morning welcomed me with rays of sunshine and comfortable temperatures. I dressed for the gym and snacked on this perfect pair:

No need for a plate.

No need for a plate.

This really is the only way to eat an oatmeal-less banana with peanut butter:

The least phallic of the banana pictures I took.

The least phallic of the banana pictures I took.

I left my house by 9:40am and had a sunny 20-minute walk to the gym. En route, Muffin and I texted about our growing excitement for this weekend. We are going to burst.

The gym treated me well. I finally chose an elliptical whose resistance actually worked! Intervals of five and 12 resistance and crossramp actually felt like said intervals. My hiney can speak to that. It can also speak to the fact that this butt-blasting video works! I did it late Sunday night and let me just say, I didn’t know I had those muscles.

When I finished my cardio session, I headed to the weight machines where I proceeded to murder my arms on the row/ rear delts machine, among many other machines. It felt great to push myself on new machines, and I also worked to be more mindful of my core while performing the exercises. GC, thank you for the tips!

I cleansed in the restroom before heading to the library to catch up on emails. Wrapped in blogland, I lost track of time and was a minute late to choir. This is horribly rude, I know. We sang and danced (OK, maybe I’m often the only one who dances) and then I galloped home for a hot shower.

Starvation struck mid-choir, so I was ravenous by the time I made lunch. Without thought, I assembled this little diddy:

Please note the proportions of the apple and sandwich.

Please note the proportions of the apple and sandwich.

On the plate: a big apple, humball sandwich and carrots with mustard. The Honeycrisp was heaven, the carrots were crunchy and the sandwich was spectacular:

Humball sando. Love.

Humball sando. Love.

Layered between toasted Arnold Sandwich Thin halves were three balls, mustard, TJ’s Chile sauce, Sabra’s Roasted Pine Nut hummus and baby lettuce. I easily could have eaten two of these. Hell, I probably should have. And is that a hair I’m now spying on the plate in the above picture?

I also ran a hair behind to my Online Journalism class (sorry Professor Lovejoy!), but enjoyed 90 minutes of trying to learn how to make photo slideshows. I still have no idea, but will try my best.

Muffin and I hadn’t seen each other all day, so I had to stop by her office for a bit. We are very fortunate to be able to see each other whenever we want. She’s an immediate pick-me-up. Despite this, I bought a coffee with steamed soy after our chat session.

One of the library’s printers and I became close friends between 5pm and 6:30. I printed off several pages of documents and articles, for both personal and scholastic purposes. By 6:30, my stomach was telling me it was time to go home.

MamaJ walked me home via phone call, and when I arrived I thought I’d take a picture of today’s outfit. It was nothing stellar, so I switched up the pose. This position (maybe even the outfit?) is very Newport News:

Or is it very senior portrait? You decide.

Or is it very senior portrait? You decide.

And then I thought, “if I were a true model, would this pose best show off the outfit?” Probably not. I thought it best to stand:

My favorite thing about this picture is my sweats on the bed.

My favorite thing about this picture is my sweats on the bed.

Not every day is a fashionista day, but I still like to feel pulled together. Immediately after the shoot, I skipped into the kitchen.

Dinner’s first course was vibrant yellow and green:

Hugh Jass.

Hugh Jass.

In the mix: baby lettuce, whole yellow pepper, banana peppers, cucumber, chickpeas, salsa and balsamic vinaigrette. Can somebody please tell me why raw vegetables are so delicious? Wait a tick. Roasted veggies are pretty killer, too:

Same second course as Sunday. Couldn't resist!

Same second course as Sunday. Couldn't resist!

Sprinkled with cinnamon, the mere scent of these roasting transports me to Christmastime. Eating them is even better.

I worked on a project for a couple hours after dinner, and by the time I finished I was ready for a snack. Dessert was wonderful:

The Yum plate is right about what it's holding.

The Yum plate is right about what it's holding.

I popped a chocolate brownie Z-Bar topped with a dollop of White Chocolate Wonderful into the micro for 30 seconds. This seriously tasted like a brownie. Throw it in the microwave, kidlets! I’m sure you already do; I’m a little behind on this. Still feeling empty, I snacked on Archer Farm Raisins & Walnut trail mix an hour after enjoying the Z-Bar.

But none of this is as important as this coming weekend because…

I am going to NYC!!!!!!! Muffin and I are flying out Thursday night and will be spending our time exploring internship options (Muffin is bossy and has some arrangements), dining well, going out, doing everything we can to take in the city. Going to NYC is something I have dreamed about for years. Ask my mother, brother and father. They know this all too well. I still can’t believe I’m going there. Thank goodness I have the leggings for it.

The craziest part about this is that I know several amazing bloggers and blog readers who will be in or near the city. WHO WANTS TO MEET UP!?!?!

So this is why I will be a spastic, sleepless mess this week. There are simply too many amazing things happening to sleep:
-This weekend: NYC
-Next weekend: Homecoming
-Weekend of the 24th: Chicago
-I AM BURSTING WITH EXCITEMENT!

I have to try my best to focus on school work, but I’m very distracted at the moment. Anyway, I felt as though I couldn’t keep a secret from my friends (you all, obvs.) any longer! Back to trying to read for English…

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTIONS: Who is going to be in NYC this weekend? Who wants to meet up!?

What are you looking forward to this month? (Grammatically correct version: To what are you looking forward this month?)

67 Responses to “Another Day, Another Announcement!”

  1. oh hayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy see you in 5! <3333

  2. 2 Jaci

    I live right outside NYC and love your blog! You absolutely MUST go to Red Bamboo, Atlas Cafe, Zen Palate, etc! You’re going to be in vegan foodie heaven! Have fun!!

  3. hurray for nyc!!!
    i hope the tips helped!!!? i felt like I wasn’t at all, but oh well! Love you girl!!

    yay for nyccccccccccccccccc!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. I adore you, grammar queen! E-mail me NYC deets when you know what you’re doing!! I have familia visiting so I’ll be a little loco–but this city lives up to its rep and does not give a WHAT about sleep. Wooooooo hoooooo!

  5. ^&@%#&*@^#*!&^#*&$^*&^@ I AM SO FUCKING JEALOUS YALL ARE MEETING UP!!!!!!! AHHHHH sad days 😦 ill be depressed. at home. drinking my sorrows away.

    and that z bar looks KILLAHHH

  6. How exciting! New York is one of my favorite cities in the world. You’ll have a blast!!

    P.S. is that a tat on your stomach or a scarf reflection? I assume it’s a scarf reflection, but one never knows. 😉

    • 7 snackface

      Daria – Hahahaha I don’t have any tattoos, piercings or anything, so that’s definitely a reflection! I loved your comment, though!

  7. 8 sue

    ahh so jealous! you will have so much fun in nyc!! i kinda am and kinda not looking forward to my bday this month…

  8. I’m telling you this on gchat right now….BUT I’M SO DAMN ENVIOUS!!!!!!! Please call me when you are all together/seeing anyy of those fine ladies!

    The pb-topped banana IS one of my favorite things ever. I enjoy it aside my oatmeal most mornings (1/2 in, 1/2 of the side…obvs)

    Ah! I’m so excited to re-create your balls sandwich asap! And yes! i discovered the microwaved choc brownie zbar last winter (when i saw it all around the blogs), it’s fab, i know!

    LOVE YOU!

  9. yay for NY! i’d love to meet up!

  10. Girrrl I’ve never noticed your rug or the pretty colorful decorations on your wall. I LOVE them!! I loooove pink & orange so I’m diggin’ the rug. My favorite thing about your model pose is your face! And that sexaaay tat 🙂

    I wish I was in NYC! I’ve always wanted to go. Have funn!

  11. Gah SO jelous you are going to NYC!! HAVE A BLAST ! 🙂

    are you going to be blogging while in NYC?

    i love carrots and mustard.. and HUGE apples are the bomb.

    • 13 snackface

      Devan – I’ll be in NYC from Thursday night till Sunday morning (have to be at the airport at 4am!!!), so I won’t be blogging. But you can bet your sweet face I’ll have a killer recap!

  12. honey pie! i missed you and your snacky ways. looks like you have been eating well and dressing even better, you sekzy mama. so to tell you the truth i started to type sexy but i typed a k instead of an x and then i was like how can i make it sound like sexy without backspacing. now i realize it would have been easier to backspace and put the friggin x but whatevs, that is how i roll! so jealous of your NYC trip! ive never been, you are gonna have such a baller time! i hear there are a lot of delish vegan restaurants there so i am sure you will be in heaven. cant wait to hear about your adventures! annnd in the meantime, SO GLAD TO BE BACK! mwah!

  13. bahhh i want to chill in nyc this weekend! sure you don’t want to come to valdosta instead?! i can find you an internship in the art of cow whispering? hahaa
    have such a blasty my friend and awesome fall attire as usual 😉

  14. hey there! its my first time visiting your blog, and i just love it
    i cant wait to keep one reading

    love the foods! mmmmm

    i feel a midnight ish snack coming on hhaha

    • 17 snackface

      dee – Hello dear, and welcome to the blog! I am so happy you have enjoyed what you’ve read so far! And I hope you went for the midnight snack 🙂

  15. How fun! You are going to have a blasty I’m sure. Can’t wait for the recap!

  16. gurl u know my answer to that one: “getting crunckface with Kailey” 🙂

    why am i so inapprops to the ‘enth degree?

    ahhh so jelly of NYC…its my motherland. i miss it so much since I visited in july. Go to serendipity for sure! Frozen PB Hot Chocolate is da bomb. Its bossier than any peanut butter concoction I have ever had in ma life.

    night night,

    xoxo
    LO

  17. you can never go wrong with banana and peanut butter! and im lovin your outfit!

  18. Party in NYC this weekend! You, brooke, OHLIVIN and muffin are going to tear the town up! That salad looks mighty fine yum yum!

  19. WOW! I was so curious about this annoucement and I’m so happy for you! I’ve only been to NYC once and I loved it! You will have a great time there, you lucky girl!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  20. SO EXCITED YOU ARE COMING TO NYC!!! I live in the city and would LOVE to meet up with you and the infamous Muffin, hah!
    PS-you have to go to Bonobos, it’s my favorite vegan restaurant (has raw foods too) and isn’t totally out of line expensive…and their coconut chai drink is purely divine!!
    Anyways, hope to meet you this weekend!!

    • 24 snackface

      Simone – Ahhh!!!! OK, I know Muff and I have crazy schedules, but we have to work something out! I’ll be emailing everyone later today or tomorrow!

  21. 25 fruitsveggieslife

    Oh man – NYC, Chi-town, and homecoming all in 3 weeks! Amazing. 🙂 I know you’ll have a blast.

    And … a very belated YOU ARE GOING TO ROCK/GOOD LUCK for the audition! That’s pretty exciting. Also – Congrats on being an ‘Ice Queen’. That’s pretty fantastic. How did that happen?

    xo

    • 26 snackface

      fruitsveggielife – Wow, thanks for all the excitement and well wishes, honeybun! The ice photo shoot happened because I am represented by a talent agency in Cincinnati, so somehow I was cast in that little shoot!

  22. AHHHHHH TOTALLY AMAZE! NYC is one of my fave places eva, and i cannot wait for this recap. you and muffin are going to have so much fun alongside some other NYC bloggies, and wooooooo! yeah for exciting fun plansssssss!

    i only wish i could be there!!!

    anyways, that pose was very newport news of you and i appreciated it. love you and your killer sammies!

  23. I Lurve gigantic apples like that! I bought some from WF the other day and they were just pure heaven!

    Your outfit is adorable 🙂

    Aw, congrats on going to NY! I’ve never been but I am dying to go!

    • 29 snackface

      Shelby – Enormous apples are the only way to go! Aw thanks for the outfit compliments! I’ll be sure to try to give you as many details possible about NY, just to enrich your dreams 🙂 It’ll happen for you, I swear!

  24. 30 homegirlcaneat

    Hi Kailey.

    That sandwich looks divine and the warm ZBar looks off the chain. Oh you’re going to NYC? The funny thing about that is..

    @$#$%$%&^*#%@%@#%@#%@$^ I’M GOING TO NYC!!!!! !@#$%^&*(*&^%$#@!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sincerely,
    Brooke

    P.S. I LOVE YOU

  25. Wish we’d be in NYC at the same time – I’m not going this weekend though 😦

  26. Ahh have fun in NYC!! You’re coming to Chicago in a couple of weeks? I’m sorry I did not already know this – we should totally meet up, lady!

  27. 33 Yasmin

    I want to go to NYC and meet you! So sad I’m stuck in TX. You have lots to look forward to though in the next few weeks.

  28. 34 evan

    homegirl AND snackface in the city? aw hellz no. i’m a reader/nyu student and would loooove to meet up if there’s a reader get together!! 🙂 do let me know. i can show ya’ll around the NYU haunts!

  29. omg tha sammie on the sandwich thin looks amazing. I just got the thins for the first time cannot wait to make a killer sammie!

    you are going to have so much fun in NYC, tons to do everywhere and great for foodies!

    uhhmazin idea with the z-bar and the peanut butter 🙂 mouth.is.watering!

  30. ha, I love the Newport News reference, too funny 🙂

    I’ve NEVER been to NYC either!!!

  31. 37 Gabrielle

    I found your blog randomly through other veg blogs I look through daily, and your food looks delicious. I was noticing you were making Athens references, and I go to OU too. I believe I made the correct assumption, right? But I will definitely be using your oatmeal recipes, because they look fantastic. And same with the cheetahs!

    • 38 snackface

      Gabrielle – WHAT!?!?! You’re an Ohio University student?! This is amazing! I need more info! What year are you? Major? Anything? I am so excited you’re reading!

      • 39 Gabrielle

        hah yes. I’m a junior.. and Health Service Administration major. I actually just switched to it this summer, so I’m a little behind. But I love your blog. I’m a blog fanatic and spend way too much time reading them, but don’t have one of my own quite yet. You said you’re 21, are you a senior? I’m so jealous you’re going to New York this weekend. Ha I feel like such a creep knowing all this information when you actually live in town!

      • 40 snackface

        Gabrielle – I am loving this! I also don’t think it’s creepy you know this – it’s how the blog world works. And if we’re all creepers, so be it! You are correct, I am a senior magazine journalism major!

  32. NYC = LOVE LOVE LOVE
    you are never going to want to go back to silly little ohio, i can tell you that much.

    all i’m looking forward to at the moment is going home on thursday, ahh i can’t wait!

    & will you please come make me a salad sometime, yours make me drool 🙂

    • 42 snackface

      Emily – Haha I would love to make you a salad! The tips for salads you’ll want every night: buy your favorite produce (even if it’s pricey, it’s worth it because you know you’ll eat it), throw everything your heart (and tum) desires onto the salad, have fun flavor elements (salsa and banana peppers on that one) and dig in! Pretty tricky, I know.

  33. 43 peanutbutterfingers

    NY! I’m jealous! i’m glad i found your blog b/c it’s super cute!!! 🙂

    • 44 snackface

      peanutbutterfingers – OK, first off, “Peanutbutterfingers” is the cutest name ever! Secondly, thanks so much for stopping by SnackFace and enjoying!

  34. Sooo jealous about NYC!! I’m dying to go there. I’m just gonna bus it up there sometime soon 😀

    And your sandwiches always looks so good. I think I need to go and get those sandwich thins verrrry soon.

    • 46 snackface

      Tina – I highly recommend the sandwich thins! They are perfect when you want to be able to fully taste the goodies (AKA innards) of your sandwich, and they are also perfect when you want to grab a thin out of the bag to dunk in almond butter while blog reading. I mean… 🙂

  35. 47 lowandbhold

    Oh so exciting! I’ve never been to NYC and it’s def on my list of thangs to do! Can’t wait to hear how it all goes down.

    Love that your apple was bigger than you sandy!

  36. So exciting that you’re going to NYC! I love that place with all my little heart. It is the best city!!! Do you know where you’re staying? So many amazing food options!! Gaahhhh! You will have the best time!

    • 49 snackface

      Angharad – Is it awful that I don’t know the exact address of where we’re staying? I probably wouldn’t write it on here anyway, but still. FOODIE city might be one of the things I’m most pumped for. I hope I manage to dine in at least one killer hot spot!

  37. yeahh nyc is soo much fun, i love it there! i hope you have a blastie girlie 🙂
    that z bar with the pb looks omg delishhhh!
    jenna

  38. homegirl, that’s auhhhmazing your going to nyc! i got some serious green envy going on right now, i’m in love with it. after going this summer i got this real moral plan of selling my soul, if need be, to live there. i know you shall adore it too woman 🙂

    oh and per usual, bomb eats m’dear! specifically those roasted veggies, mmmhmmm.
    have a wonderful day lovely!

  39. 52 fembotsfactory

    I love NYC, in fact it’s going to be one of many stops on my east coast road trip honeymoon! Which, as I’m sure you can deduce, means that the thing I’m most looking forward to this month is getting married (October 24th)!

    I absolutely love the look of jeans + black sweater/top. It’s casual, pulled together, simple, and classy. Oh dang, maybe I feel like that because it’s the exact same outfit I’m wearing today! (Except the jeans are trouser cut which is more appropriate for work.)

    Have fun with your Muffin in the En Why See!

  40. for the sake of the blog ill pretend i didnt already know this…here was my previous response:

    YAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

  41. Aww I wish I was in NYC! Let me know if you’re a little closer to RI =)

    xo
    K

  42. My gosh I just saw your avalanche ice ad online!! AHHH how cool are you???
    By the way Ms. lovin’ soy milk, i’m hosting a zensoy giveaway, so stop by if you’re interested! 🙂

  43. Yay you’re coming to my city! This is so funny but there’s actually already a huge blogger meet-up planned for Friday night at a vegetarian restaurant if you’re interested….

  44. I will be home… near NYC 🙂 Email me! I’d love to meet you!

    • 58 snackface

      Danielle – Hi beauty!! OK, I’m working on compiling names and emailing. I have no idea what will be possible, but we have to make it work!

  45. Have a great weekend in NYC!

  46. Kaylay – not gonna lie .. in your ador. fashion pic I totes thought the shadow from your scarf on your tummy was a tattoo — what a craycray place to get one, no?

    thanks for the butt blasting vid – you know this biooootch can work on some pointers for her JLO bootay… or lack therof.

    ahhh I wish I was gonna be in this citay this weekend! next time you’re there holler at your girl! meeting you would be a dream come trueeeee 🙂

    love you always and forevvvv ❤

  47. Apples are the shizz–the bigger the better, I say. (TWSS)

    Gorgeous outfit! Thanks for all the fashion inspiration lately, I really need to get my lazy but in to some real clothes one of these days before everyone in class thinks I’m homeless 😉

    YAY NYC!! I’m super jealous!! My parents are planning a trip for this winter, but I wanna go NOW! I can’t wait to see all of your awesome blogger meet-ups that are for sure in store.

  48. 62 Lizzy

    NYC girl thats awesome! 🙂 i so wish i was in the city, i would meet up with you! 🙂 You and muffin are going to have so much fun!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  49. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

  50. P.S. wee ooo wee ooh wee wee ooh wee ooh wee wee ooh wee ooh wee

  51. 65 Megan

    Hey!! I am a huge fan of your blog and live in NYC. Would love to meet up, or help you with suggestions of things to do!

    Send me an email!

  52. 66 Kate

    I would love to meet up in NYC this weekend–let me know where you end up deciding to go!

  53. 67 Yasmin

    I gave you 2 awards today! Hope you’re having fun!


Leave a Reply

