Ice Queen

05Oct09

Hello darlings! Sunday started off innocently. It tried to fool me with its tranquil blue skies and false pretenses of being filled with nothing more than a workout, homework and grocery shopping. But did it ever have something up its sleeve.

I awoke to a sun-drenched room before my alarm sounded. Strolling into the kitchen to make coffee, I wondered why each day couldn’t be made of frivolous shopping trips. I suppose that would take a bottomless bank account. I snapped back to my real life and selected oats as the best Sunday breakfast. I microwaved them out of sheer laziness, and was not disappointed in the results:

Sweet potato peanut butter oats.

Sweet potato peanut butter oats.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, tons of cinnamon, few scoops of sweet potato puree, a squirt of agave and finished with a peanut butter swirl. Banana was excluded also because of sheer laziness. It didn’t make a significant difference, as this tasted like Christmas in a bowl:

Comfort and joy.

Comfort and joy.

After writing a lesson, I changed into gym attire and met Muffin for an elliptical session. We read October issues of Shape and Vogue while talking about incredibly exciting up-coming plans.

Muffin hopped off the elliptical earlier than I did in order to make it home and shower in time for a meeting. Alone, I read and ellipticized away. MamaJ called me on my last leg of my workout, announcing that a project for which I modeled was finally up and running.

After working on the abs, I flew out of the gym and into the library. I needed to see it immediately. Ladies and gentlemen, please click to see Kailey, the bikini-clad Avalanche Ice Queen. WHAT! I was shocked to see my nearly nude self on the ice company’s home page.

This added fuel to my fire, or snow to my baby snowball. I have made a decision. I will be going to Chicago on October 24 to audition for the Victoria’s Secret Runway Show. Call me crazy. Call me dumb. I don’t care. I’m 21, 5’10” and in my prime, and I’m not giving up on a wild dream. No matter what happens, it’s going to be a crazy experience that makes for great writing material, right?

Too excited to function, I strutted home to carry on with my present. A hot shower later, I fixed a cold plate for lunch:

Snack plate!

Snack plate!

On the plate: mushrooms, carrots, grapes and two Wasa’s smeared with not-Sabra hummus (which isn’t very good–I’m such a Sabra snob!) and topped with heirloom tomato slices and pepper. A bowl of salsa was eaten with this (used for dipping, of course). I followed this up with some hot Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea.

I tried my best to get some reading finished in the afternoon. In addition to reading one short story, I managed to read 20+ blog posts. Senioritis, there is no way you can be doing this to me already. Please don’t!

Muffin swung by my house at 6:30pm so we could grocery shop together. Walmart disappointed me today: no whole wheat wraps, no whole wheat pitas and no Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride. To prevent myself from falling into depression, I purchased Candy Cane Lane and Gingerbread Spice. Holiday paraphernalia, you get me every single time.

We sang a love song, and then went along, walking in a Walmart wonderland. And then we drove home, unpacked my groceries and separated. I threw together a quick salad for dinner component numero uno:

Stove-top salad.

Stove-top salad.

In the mix: baby lettuce, carrots, cucumber, banana peppers, chickpeas, salsa and balsamic vinaigrette. This blurry thing is obnoxious, sorry! For course numero due, I had something dessert-y:

Butternut squash fries alle cinnamon.

Butternut squash fries alle cinnamon.

Butternut squash is winning me over at the moment. Divine! I was full after this, but a new purchase was calling my name. I needed a Honeycrisp the way Anna Wintour needs her bob. I felt lost without it:

Wait a tick!

Wait a tick!

There was something wrong with this apple! It was juicy, sweet, gigantic, but it wasn’t a Honeycrisp. Jonagold, you’re OK, but you’re on the D-list when it comes to my apple ranking.

After consumption, I sipped Candy Cane Lane and wrote the latest blog post for College Green Tooth! Weigh in on a bossy New York Times article and family eating habits here!

Monday’s agenda consists of a workout, class and major projects. This ice queen will be fantasizing about future travels, both this coming weekend and the weekend of the 24th. Big things poppin’, and lil’ things stoppin’!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: What do you want to be when you grow up? What did your five-year-old self say, too?

Clearly, I want to be a writer and work in magazines. But I want to try so many other things, too! I thought I’d given up on modeling, but for some reason I can’t just yet. And eventually, I want to host my own show (crazy, I know). My five-year-old self would have said “pediatrician.” Not even kidding!

62 Responses to “Ice Queen”

  1. First of all, I love the Ice Pic (no pun intended). I heard about the VS Runway auditions on the radio andI seriously thought of you when I heard about them!! The ‘Nati needs an Angel! I am so excited for you!! I was also at WalMart today and resisted the tea purchasing urge but gave in to the Honeycrisp urge!

    • 2 snackface

      J @ Whole Body Love – I can’t believe you heard the commercial and thought of me! You’re a doll! I think you’re right about the Nati needing an Angel, too! Oh my gosh, you are a stronger woman than I to resist the holiday tea!

  2. 3 Sara

    Glad that pic of you as Ice Queen gave you the fire under your butt to audition for VS!! This is going to be SUCH an exciting journey to follow you on, Kailey!! ‘Twas also cool to see how they used your images after reading about your avalance ice modelling-for-free experience! Keep it up, you’re awesome.

  3. 4 hopeinpeanutbutterandoats

    say whaaa?!! that’s freakin SICKKKK girl! rock the audition and make us proud!

  4. I love your attitude! I definetley agree now or never ideal
    BTW
    You are looking Damn HOTT in that pic for avalanche ice!!!
    Definetly got some serious game girl..Im sure you will show VS wassup:)

    • 6 snackface

      Sherlock – Haha I love your comment. I’m going to try my best to let VS know that I’m the next Angel. Hahaha 🙂

  5. Yes I’m so happy you are doing the VS model search – your gunna kill it! Hmm I wanted to be a teacher or a figure skater when i was five. Now I’m planning on becoming a nurse then getting my master in public health and do some business there but the pages are still unwritten.

  6. 8 julia

    You look amazing in that picture, you can be so proud!
    Wish you’ll have a great week:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

    • 9 snackface

      julia – Thank you so much for checking out the picture, the sweet words AND the wishing for a great week. I hope you have a fabulous one, too!

  7. 10 Lindsey

    You’ll do sooo good!! how EXCITING:)

  8. 11 Gina G

    you go girl! wait to follow your dreams, were right behind supporting you Kailey! =)

  9. 12 Lizzy

    HOTTY momma right hurr! girl your ice princess photo is purely fab! 🙂 you knock my socks off, and VICTORIA SECRETS would be crazy to not want you as their next model! I’ll be cheering you on the whole way chica!

    when i was little i dont ever remember wanting to “do” one spacific thing. am i weird? hahah. my dreams i guess just came kinda late. cause as of now i want to be so many things. a writer, a fashion designer, a stay at home mom… the list is endless!

    Mucho love girl!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

    • 13 snackface

      Lizzy – Ahh! Thanks for the cheering, boo! It’s an intimidating task to audition with the masses, but I’ma do tha damn thang! I love your list of desirable futures– I say go for all of them! Designers who have children often pen articles for Vogue. Get it, girl!

  10. I see myself as a journalist.

    GOOD LUCK, GIRL!!! xo

  11. Seriously girl, you WILL win! You are stunning and I can just see you strutting your stuff down the catwalk.
    Hey and if your going to be in Chi-town…will you have enough time for a little blogger meet-up?! I could take the train into the city! 🙂

    • 16 snackface

      Shelby – Awwww you are the best!! We absolutely MUST find a way to meet up! I know that castings like this are enormous and take hours upon hours, so I have no idea what my schedule will be like. I hope we can work something out, though!

  12. 17 Yasmin

    You are one gutsy lady!! I hope you are the Victoria’s Secret girl so I can say I knew you back when…good luck!

  13. Awesome! I hope you have fun with this audition!

    When I was 5 I wanted to be a grocery store clerk. When I told this to my mom she was a little confused until I explained that they get to keep all the money that’s handed to them so it’s a good job. Ha!

  14. 19 muffin

    I am going to be a Kailey sugar mama ❤ After I get my MBA. We will be rich New Yorkers!

  15. Check you out!! Love it, you Ice Queen 🙂 You will ROCK the VS audition!

    Boo to the wanna-be hummus! If you can find Basha, try that out. That’s the kind I swear by! Why, oh, why must the holidays taste so damn delicious?! Cinnamon, peppermint, gingerbread, pumpkin, I want it all!

    WOOHOO for future travels!! I’m selfish though and wish the VS thing-a-ma-jig was in November because that’s when I’ll be gracing the Chi with my presence.

    My 5 year old self wanted to be a country singer. Then when I started school, I wanted to be a teacher. HAPPY MONDAY, LOVUH!

  16. I hope you get the deal, I mean I would try out, but they can’t handle all my 5 feet 4 inches of pure sass. Your amazingly beautiful all the way through and smart. I wanted to be an actresse and producer, yet I would love to have my own coffee/boutique house and offer clothes from local up and coming designers. I love business and art and I have a passion for food. Who knows, but good luck girl.

    • 22 snackface

      earthybrit – Wow! You are so amazingly sweet! Thank you so, so much for the insane compliments and the encouragement. As far as the job thang goes, I totally understand the dilemma! There are too many great things to aspire to be!

  17. 23 Kate

    I am SOOOO glad you are trying out for the VS Runway show because when you said that you weren’t trying out I was sad and yelled at the computer “You should!” so follow that dream, girl 🙂

  18. When you are famous, I’m gonna say ‘I knew ya when’, even if I don’t actually. You are gonna rock the audition, cause VS would be cray-cray not to pick you!

  19. congrats on the ICE pic girl, you look gorg! you are so luck going to the VS fashion show 🙂
    jenna

  20. look at you rocking that block of ice! how could victoria’s secret not want you rocking their runway?!? bitches are crazy if they don’t!

    when i was really little, i used to say i wanted to be a “library.” pretty sure i meant librarian, but just to be sure, i said the entire building.

    • 27 snackface

      Nellie – I’m in the library right now, and that comment has me rollin’! Hahaha. And thanks for the amazing support!

  21. 28 Brandi

    ooh la la, ice queen! So exciting!!! You should definitely try out the fashion show – how awesome would that be!?!?

    • 29 snackface

      Brandi – How awesome would that be? So awesome I might explode. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve DVR-ed the runway show and then watched it over and over, thinking to myself “hell, I could DO that!” Haha I’d be ridiculously happy! Thanks for the support, darling!

  22. all i have to say is YOU AND ME OCT 24 🙂 ahahhhahhaha git ready!! prepare ur liver 😉

    xoxo
    Lo

    • 31 snackface

      lora – O.M.G!!! How could I forget that my twinsie is in Chi-town! Ahhh!!! I’ll be on a pretty clean diet for the next two weeks, so the liver will be cleansed just in time to go out witchoo.

  23. YOU WOULD BE A PERFECT ANGEL! no effing joke! that is amazing and exciting and i am a firm believer in never giving up on dreams either. you just never know where life will take you, so you can’t rule anything out.

    i am crossing my fingers for you love – thanks for your sweet marathon comment. i am sitting on the couch, sore as hell and listening to kelis “bossy.” LOVE YOUUUUUUU!

    • 33 snackface

      Holly – Ahhh thanks, sugar! I think that even getting in front of the casting directors is a success in itself! More exposure can only lead to great things! I hope 🙂

  24. holy effffffffffffffin lord! If i didn’t have a crush on you before I’m damn near infatuated with you now — you look hawt as ech ee double hockey sticks, Snackie! I now have a new-found appreciate for ice 🙂

    shoot for the stars babygirl!! you have so much potential to be a model and VS would be LUCKY to have your sweet ass in their show! ❤

    love you dreamboat ❤

  25. I saw the ad on Brooke’s FB i was dying!! O man Kailey I feel like exhibit A of going out on a FREAKIN limb to follow your dream and take a HUGE RISKAY chance- and I wouldn’t change it for the world and I know you are making the best choice!!!! AND how freakin’ awesome will holiday time be in Chi-town!??? Good luck lovie!

  26. You look awesome!

    I see myself as a chef =)

    xo
    K

  27. How CRAZY would that be to walk down the victoria’s secret runway?!! Is this for their christmas show?! Oh my gosh, I would DIE! I’ve always been absolutely obsessed with the music, elaborate outfits and holiday themed shows, so so fun….i could totally see you rocking it!!! I’ve always wanted to walk it myself, but who knows if I have the strut and confidence like you do girllllll!

    please take a picture with the above lady or alessandra ambrosio for me? I have a girl crush on them. shameless!

    ps-how’d you like the candy lane tea??? i am soo ready for the seasonal teas!

    pps-you make me wanna try b-nut. you make me want a snack plate! done and done over my next visit home!!

    PPPPPPPPPS-i’d loooove to rock it at some PR firm/work as a publicist, while maybe working for a fab mag, like chu! Maybe we could work for sister companies? Or the same?! WHATEVS! 🙂 Oh, and my 5-year old self wanted to be a veterinarian, 100 % !
    love you!

  28. oops, above girl = marisa miller!! thought i included her in the comment, but guess not!

  29. I was going to write yesterday and say I hope you go for the VS — please do as it seems to continue to kick around in your mind. And here you are today announcing you will! You never know until you try. You’ll make us Ohioans proud. Good for you!

  30. 40 lowandbhold

    OMG love that you’re going for your dreams. You definitely have what it takes, plus you have a great attitude and confidence, which is KEY! I can’t wait to read about it and celebrate with you!

  31. KAILEY!

    You’re adorable and if anyone should be up there working it and getting PIZ-AID (um, that’s paid in english) by Victoria Secret, it should be you! Also, when you’re in Chicago, go to Sweet Cakes, and have one of the amazing vegan root beer mini-cupcakes! RIDICULOUS!!!

    xoxo
    Laura!

    • 42 snackface

      laura – AH!!! I almost peed myself when I saw that YOU commented! I miss you!!! Aww thanks for the VS confidence boost! AND for the killer cupcake advice. I’ll be the one model there, chillin’, waiting for my turn and eating cupcakes. I cannot wait. XOXOXOXOXO

  32. A friend of mine posted that link on my facebook and was like “Therese! You have to try out!”

    I may send in a video entrie, but I think you’d have a much better shot at it 😉

    • 44 snackface

      Therese – You should totally do it!!! That’s nonsense that I have a much better shot. No way! I think you should make a video and share with all!! 🙂

  33. 45 Alina

    hey Kailey!!!!! finally decided to comment – love your blog! i’ve got a story for ya, about month ago when i discovered your blog i went through some of your archive posts and stumbled upon the one you wrote about that ice shoot, it was a great read btw, anyway i decided to actually see the final photos so i googled that company and found those photos, and thought that for what looked kind of bad day at the shoot you did great anyway, and was kinda proud that you were on the home page. i find it quite funny that i saw those photos a month ago! someone should have told you about them before! does it makes me a stalker??????????!!!!!!! LOL! ha ha, hope you won’t get such an impression! good luck at chicago!
    hugs and kisses from Russia!

    • 46 snackface

      Alina – Thanks for de-lurking and commenting! I don’t think you’re a stalker at all! In fact, I love it. I also agree that someone should tell me where and when my photos are posted, but that’s how it goes with shoots sometimes! Additional thanks for the good luck! I hope you’ll get to read all about the journey!

  34. youre the shit. there. i said it. 🙂
    you are amazing! love the pic! SO happy you are goign to the VS auditions, you’ll rock it! LOVE YAAAAAA

  35. Hmmm…when I grow up I want to be a mom. Work in a bakery, too. I’ve done it before in high school, and I truly think it’s where I belong 🙂 WHen I was younger, I wanted to be a fashion designer, though : )

    I have a question may be you can answer: I made my first attempt at butternut squash fires last night, and they turned out kind of soggy. THey tasted fine, but I was a little disappointed in the texture.Any thoughts on what I did wrong? Thanks! xoxo

    • 49 snackface

      emily – Hi boo! OK, what technique did you use to make your fries? Also, how thinly did you slice them? For me, I use the same method I use for cheetahs, and I slice the squash into thicker chunks because it is a tad more liquid-y than taters.

      • Oh thank you! Yes, I think I sliced them a little on the small side, so they got kind of shrivelly. Also, I think there may be something wrong with the oven in my new house…but there’s nothign you can do about that 🙂 xoxo

  36. ha! i love the avalanche website, you are totally going to rock the VS audition no doubt!
    when i was younger i was dead set on becoming a teacher. i even created my own classroom in my basement where i forced my younger brother to learn to read. ha now its all business all the time, how things change 🙂
    & sweet potato in oats! very interesting i may be trying that very soon

  37. 52 Grace

    Best of luck to you at the audition!! 🙂 And the Avalanche pic is fantastic.

  38. dude, you try out for VS show and you will totally be in; how could they not, your gorgeous lady!!!!

    and love the ice pic…hoooootttt…or not, cause then you’d be sitting in a puddle of water. LOL.

  39. 54 iamallisont

    Rock the runway! You’ll be amazing!

    All you wonderful bloggers have inspired me to start my own blog – I’ll be repping Ohio (from Texas) with you now!

    • 55 snackface

      iamallisont – Aww thanks! Oh my goodness, welcome to the blog-writing world! You’re going to love it. Holla to Ohio!!!

  40. kailey,

    i know i just found your blog about a month ago but i agree with everyone else. you are going to ROCK that audition and VS would be totally out of their minds not to choose you.

    i will be prayin and crossing my fingers for you, here in so cal!!

  41. What a great ice picture!! Follow those dreams!!! Go for it!

  42. Why am I just now finding your blog!?! You’re awesome, I can’t wait to read more, subscribing right now!

  43. Hey, you’ve got the height, you’re obviously gorgeous, I say go for that Victoria Secret modeling!! I admire most of the Vic Secret models because they are REAL women, with boobs and hips and curves, I love it! And if I were tall, I be right there with ya 😉


  1. 1 Lucky | The Healthy Everythingtarian
  2. 2 flash coffee « Salad.Diva

Leave a Reply

