H-Unit

28Sep09

Hey homies! Once again, I’m blown away by the positive responses to Snacktime! Thanks so much for watching, enjoying and saying the sweetest things! I’m also loving any questions that pop up!

Since I last updated, I’ve been spending quality time with the H-Unit. This is the nickname Matty Rich and I have given our family. Popsicle loves it when his whole family, or unit, is together, and our last name starts with “h”, so instead of G-Unit, we’re H-Unit. Long explanation for something ridiculous.

Let’s go back in time to Thursday, the long, class-filled day that ended with Snacktime and a short night out on the town. I awoke craving a Honeycrisp:

Honey with almond butter and coffee!

Honey with almond butter and coffee!

Class from 9am to 11 was a joy, and then I Olympian speed-walked it home to pack lunch and gather books for the second half of the day. I recall wanting to fall asleep between classes, but the hour break plus a 15-minute walk to and from my classes (respectively) would only allow 30 minutes for a snooze, lunch-packing and peeing. Therefore I ignored my body’s cry for sleep and packed this little lunch:

Wrap, green beans and pickle and a Mountain Mix Mojo.

Wrap, green beans and pickle and a Mountain Mix Mojo.

Clif Mojo’s are money. They are chewy, crunchy, salty, sweet– perfectly balanced. I’m not sure whether the nutritionals are perfectly balanced, but it worked for me. This beaut held me from 11:50 am to 2 pm, when I dove into the rest of my lunch. This wrap was devoured in two minutes:

Generously green.

Generously green.

In the lavash: avocado, pepper, TJ’s Chile sauce, cucumber, spinach and mustard. Delicious, but I was hungry by 3pm. This is why I was slightly enraged when the girl sitting next to me in History of Film was chowing her Quizno’s. It doesn’t matter that I wouldn’t choose to eat broccoli-cheddar soup followed by a large meat-filled sub, then rounded out with saltines. What matters is that I was jealous she was eating and I was not.

Immediately after class, I dashed home and chopped, microwaved and piled my dinner before I ate an arm:

Coconut curry tempeh salad with a cheesey Wasa.

Coconut curry tempeh salad with a cheesy Wasa.

In the mix: spinach, romaine, broccoli slaw, cherry toms, cucumber, mushrooms, tempeh, balsamic and Parma! The vegan cheese melted fairly well, but I do have to say it doesn’t taste like Monterey-Jack. Then again, I can’t remember the last time I had Monterey Jack, or if I’ve ever had it, so it may be spot-on. It was tasty enough for more than half of the 10-serving-sized block to be gone the day after I purchased it. Whoops.

After I ate, I dressed up for a night out and then…went to class. That’s right, I have a 7 to 8pm class. I suppose I shouldn’t be dressed and ready to go that early, but I head straight to wherever Muffin is as soon as that class is finito because it’s the freakin’ weekend.

We filmed Snacktime, then hit up Broney’s for College Dance Night. Unfortunately, we discovered that dance night has been changed to Friday nights from Thursdays. Bummer! We still enjoyed ourselves, but cut the night very short. We both just wanted to go home, eat and sleep. That’s why most of my vegan cheese is missing. And half my Wasa’s. And some Newman’s Own dark chocolate. Muhaha. I’m telling ya, I really am a SnackFace.

Friday consisted of the following: a workout, choir and a road trip to da Nati! I ate mostly raw fruits and veg in the morning and then in the car I had to bust into this:

Cranberry Orange Nut Bread Clif!

Cranberry Orange Nut Bread Clif!

Upon opening the wrapper, I was excited to find icing:

Stunna.

Stunna.

This lovely Clif was neither overly orangey nor cranberry-y. Though that’s a plus, it also wasn’t very nutty. I was expecting chunks of nuts and they were finely ground throughout. The flavor was luscious (Muffin commented that it tasted like orange zest cupcakes or muffins her grandmother makes), but it was a hair too sweet. Coming in at 23 grams of sugar, it’s clear as to why I found myself reaching for water after devouring this. But who am I kidding? I love sugar. This was delightful, but I probably won’t buy it again.

As soon as I made it home, I hugged the puppies, Matty Rich and then snacked on some pretzel thins with hummus that tasted like bacon. Not a bad thing at all. It was really roasted red pepper off-brand hummus that has a “smoked flavor” added to it. Mmmm. After a snack, I showered and headed back to the living room to chill with MamaJ and Matty Rich. It was at this point Popsicle called my cell, asking where I was.
“Dad, I’m in the living room. Where are you?”
“What? You’re here?”
“Yes!”
Enter stage left, through garage door: Popsicle.

He’s such a cutie. He had no idea I was home although we’d both been there for at least 30 minutes! We all had a good laugh, and then Mumsy and I groceried (making up words now) at the no-longer Kroghetto (nice remodeling!). We then returned home and cooked an H-Unit dinner. My veg-full plate:

Veggie burger, tomato, fresh whole-grain bread, salad and taters!

Veggie burger, tomato, fresh whole-grain bread, salad and taters!

MamaJ was kind enough to let me try the almost $6 Amy’s Texas burgers. You all are insane for spending that much on grain, soy and nut patties! Alright, maybe I’m being harsh. Despite the high price, these do not receive a high ranking from me. They were too sweet, oddly breaddy and just not my thang. This may be gross to some, but I prefer a classic vegan Boca. I love most Amy’s products that I’ve tried, so I’ll stick to the amazing soups!

MamaJ and I stayed up late Friday night watching So You Think You Can Dance and snacking on apples, spice cake (Mama) and croutons (me…I had some cake later, though!).

Saturday was banging! The H-Unit (minus hard-working Popsicle) headed to the mall. Nordstrom’s had its opening and the place was packed! I get to a point when shopping when I can’t take it if there are too many people. This was one of those days. MamaJ was slammed with compliments on some fab printed boots she donned (that I originally told her not to get–shows what I know), Matty Rich walked out of the mall with jeans and a jacket and I made it out with a pair of leggings that zip at the ankle. Clothing has been so uninspiring and colorless this season!

After a wonderful TJ’s trip, we drove home. All the shopping and mall gas made me dose off in the car ride, just like a five-year-old version of me would have. That goes to show that shopping takes it out of a human whether she’s five or about to turn 22 (OLD).

MamaJ and I had major plans for the night. She probably obliged because both our inner theater nerds never die, but we went to see Fame to feed my secret dream to become a Broadway star. Like the true nerds we are, Mumsy and I accidentally arrived 45 minutes early. We made good use of our time.

First, I ordered a medium $5 Coke Zero the size of my thigh (if my thigh never enjoyed carbs, that is):

Carol was too cute not to take a pic with. Oh, that's me in my sexy glasses.

Carol was too cute not to take a pic with. Oh, that's me in my sexy glasses.

Then we analyzed the crowd. Watching teens start to interact with the opposite sex is hilarious and adorable. Watching my mom check out a dimey dad is simply hilarious. We attempted to take photos:

The blurriness is thanks to my laughing.

The blurriness is thanks to my laughing.

And if you didn’t think we could get any creepier, I pretended to pose for a pic as my mom zoomed in:

Straddling action! MamaJ's freaky! (Come on, are you surprised?)

Straddling action! MamaJ's freaky! (Come on, are you surprised?)

MamaJ and I don’t need a movie for entertainment, apparently.

The movie itself was joyous. Whenever I see movies that have anything to do with “making it,” I always question what the hell I’m doing with my life. I’m a little lamb who’s lost in the wood… Not really.

I did eat Saturday, but I didn’t photograph: apples, pasta salad, cuke and tomato salad, half a breadstick, peanut butter Z-Bar (not a fan- tastes like Play-doh), Amy’s Texas burger, tomato, popcorn and bread with Earth Balance. Very snacky.

Sunday started off with a bang! I went to bed at 4am and awoke at 9am to get ready for the trip to Athens. With a dog and a mom on top of me, I begrudgingly rolled out of bed. After cleansing, packing and watching The Hills, I grabbed some fruit for the road:

Honeycrisp, banana, Peanut and my foot. It's time to transfer to dark nail polish.

Honeycrisp, banana, Peanut and my foot. It's time to transition to dark nail polish.

I ate the apple while waiting for Muffin to whisk me away, and then ate the banana in the car. In the midst of much chatting, I ate the crumbs of Muffin’s snack:

Pretzel dust.

Pretzel dust.

A couple hours later, I ate the other half of the White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Clif bar MamaJ didn’t enjoy (she crazy):

Mi favorito.

Mi favorito.

The trip to Athens was breezy, but I’m not feeling the environment at the moment. Being home is so relaxing and lovely! I’m sure I’ll be back to having fun in a snap. I hope.

After 24 hours of no computer, I re-connected with the Internet and worked on a snack plate:

The star of the plate: TJ's Garlic Chipotle Salsa. Buy it. Now.

The star of the plate: TJ's Garlic Chipotle Salsa. Buy it. Now.

Edible utensils: TJ’s Multi-grain crackers (Brooke– I almost forgot how good these are! Memories!), red bell pepper, green beans and celery. If a picture of this salsa’s packaging will help in your purchasing this, please let me know. It’s worthy.

I may have done some work here and there, and then I had to break into my loves:

Saltless peanut butter-filled pretzels.

Saltless peanut butter-filled pretzels.

Naturally, I had more than this. I will have one to five whenever I walk by the cabinet, as they are conveniently located on the outside with the open corner pointed toward me, begging to be eaten, and they are perfection.

At 5pm I galloped to the library to meet my partner for our presentation on–get this– “Tips for Blogging.” Shooo, I need someone to tell me, not the other way around!

When I made it home shortly after 7, I felt a hunger headache setting in. As my fave Sunday dinner components baked in the oven, I ate a salsa-coated spinach salad:

Spinach, chickpeas, salsa, balsamic and Parma! Gimme, gimme more.

Spinach, chickpeas, salsa, balsamic and Parma! Gimme, gimme more.

The stars were ready when I finished my greens:

En Vogue.

En Vogue.

I’m sure no one at Vogue eats a glamorous dinner of roasted brussels and cheetahs with ketchup. Too bad for them. This sweet tater was significantly smaller than ones I normally eat. Why I chose an inadequate size, I’ll never know. I still loved it, though:

Discs are just as fun as half moons. And just as pretty.

Discs are just as fun as half moons. And just as pretty.

Now I’m snacking on more peanut butter pretzels and preparing to dig into more homework. Oh college, I’m trying to stay positive about you!

I hope everyone had a bossy weekend! Here’s to the start of a glorious week that can take us anywhere. šŸ™‚

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: How have you welcomed the fall season?

I haven’t. Unless you include reading the September and October issues of Vogue and pulling out the snowman mug. I’m not ready to be permanently cold from October to April! However, I am ready for layering, sweaters and boots.

29 Responses to “H-Unit”

  1. Haha, love the story behind “H-Unit” šŸ˜€

    The cheetah/sprouts plate is gorgeous. Totally vogue.

    Good luck with your homework!!

    **How I’ve welcomed fall = roasted squash, baked, brought out the fall boots, sweaters, jackets…

  2. 2 Lizzy

    aw i love H-Unit!

    when i saw the pictures from the movie theater “close up on dad’s booty” i laughed so hard. You an MamaJ are so adorable! i love it!

    I don’t think i’ve welcomed fall, i’m sort of bitter due to the fact that i know that winter follows, and i agree, i’m not ready to be freezing šŸ˜¦

    hope your monday morning is fab!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. lol i love your fam!! so glad you spent some time with them!!

    night classes are harsh! im so glad to not have any this year!! skating and then being in class until 10pm was TERRIB.

    happy monday girl! how excited are we for the new seasons of the hills and the city?! can. not. wait!

  4. Hey girl! I just watched your Snacktime vid and I love. I loveeee. You are so fabulous and witty, it’s too much! And muffin is just the cutest…seems so sweet šŸ™‚

    Love the movie theatre entertainment…ahh yes, teens engaging in the elusive opposite sex interaction. Hilarious. My sisters in that phase now–priceless.

    Glad you had a good, family filled weekend!

  5. Look at all this gorg food, clif bar advertising and home-cookin’!!!

    I just wantttt that cheetah, roasted brussels and salad dinner!! It sounds incredibly delicious to me, at the moment.

    I’m so happy that you had such a great time at home!! School will excite you again, soon! I’d write more but we be g-chattin’ baby!!

    Ps-mamaj is my favorite person alive. I must meet this woman someday, love the fact that she snapped a photo of that man and his booooty too. PRICELESS!

  6. Well San Francisco’s hot in this season for at least 2 more weeks but after that I’m buying myself a nice and toasty winter/fall coat to get myself in the mood. Although, I’ll be going to NC for Thanksgiving it’s always nice to come home like a stunna wearing new clothes!

  7. i secretly want to be a broadway star too – literally, that is my dream job. that or host my own show on the travel channel. or have oprah’s job. or be on saturday night live.

    love you!

  8. I’ve been welcoming fall with lots and lots of squash! Ate half a butternut and half an acorn today. Wonderful. šŸ™‚

  9. Lovin all the tempeh and Clif representation in this post.
    I have welcomed fall already by enjoying acorn squash, pumpkin, and plenty of chili:)

  10. yess i have somewhat welcomed the fall! i love honeycrisp apples, they are my fav!
    i love how clif bars come out with seasonal flavors, they all look so yummy šŸ™‚
    jenna

  11. 11 Amanda

    Alwayyysss dream of being a broadway star. I even run to showtunes sometimes!!

    To prep for fall, I started buying canned pumpkin! Also went shopping for new jeans, leggings, and boots! And my normally pink nails are now a lovely dark red šŸ™‚ Bring it!

  12. I so want to see FAME! Won’t you fly to Oregon and watch it with me? I’ll buy you a gigando coke zero and you can take a picture of Chris’ ass. PUHLEEZ???

    Love this post…and YOU!

  13. 13 WholeBodyLove

    I welcomed the fall season with Pumpkin Oats and I hope to take Snuffy to an apple orchard soon! Do we have an apple orchard around here? I must google it!

  14. That sounds like a great weekend! I really wanna see Fame, it will be here in two weeks I believe…
    Your eats look so good again! And your toenails: leave the pink color, I love it!:) (secret: mine are pink too…ignoring the fall)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  15. I’m buying fall boots soon! That’s how I’m celebrating fall. My mom has also started to decorate the house with fall decorations…I love it!

  16. 16 Ellen (Peace in Motion)

    I totally haven’t welcomed fall because I’m skipping it this year šŸ˜¦ It’s heading into summer in Australia, so I’m getting ready to break out the bathing suits and sassy tanks. I’m going to miss spicy pumpkin EVERYTHING this year. Enjoy it for meeeeeee

  17. I haven’t been able to watch Snacktime yet but hopefully today I’ll be able to! H-unit = loves.

    Mmmm, mojo! That bar is, indeed, money. I boycotted Quizno’s for the longest time because of those STUPID rat commercials “we love de subssss!” Do you remember those? So freaking obnoxious! Oh Clif – why must you produce such delicious bars? I need to track down that flavah flav!

    $6 for Amy’s?! Mine’s usually around 4, maybe 5 if I go to Kroghetto (love the term you used so I had to steal it)! What kind of glasses do you have? I really like them! So haps you had a great weekend home!! Next time I think you should take I-75 north šŸ˜€

    Fall? I’ve already pulled out the skinnies, boots, and scarves! Adores!

    • 18 snackface

      ksgoodeats – Hi lovepie! Unfortunately, I do not remember said wretched Quizno’s commercial. However, I can tell you that my glasses are Versace! They were on clearance and fit perfectly. Thanks so much for compliment!

  18. 20 homegirlcaneat

    Hallo. I have had my coffee and already feel anxious again. This is bad and all I really want is a WF hotbar and a trilogy kombucha with you in the SF sun.

    I love how you and da Muff go out on the weekdays and then are little weekend trippers! Yay for uniting with the H-Unit. I know you love them and missed them so much ova da summa! And your pups. When are the tatts coming? Peanut and Marshmallow need to be permanent on your flawless skin!

    WCMN = BEST luna/clif flavor EVER.

    HUGEA$$ diet cokes are a MUST at a movie. I can’t survive without them.

    I am so already in da fall mood. I am in love with it because I was sick of all my summer clothes that I abused this summer/at the Blarney Stone. But boooooy do I miss it! And being tan.

    L0Ve y0u h0m3g!r1 4eva & @lwayz

  19. I am catching up on Snacktime as I write, lol! You girls are too funny!

  20. Hi!
    I’m a longtime reader but I haven’t commented before. Just wanted to say I noticed the exact same thing at the theatre when I saw Fame yesterday… ahhh young “love”. I also haven’t welcomed the fall season, I’m avoiding it for sure. If I could find some cute fall boots, however, it might be a different story!

  21. omg mama is sooo inapprop. she is totz my second mamma. i love getting coke zeros the size of my body. hmmmmm chemicals šŸ™‚

    xooxo
    lo

  22. that leather jacket is too fab — and look atchu in your glasses lookin’ all like a hota$$ librarian.. dannnnnnnnng homie, you fooine!

    is that an orange-cran and effin new cliffy flav or have I been living under a rock? either way I want!

    p.s. I have a question for you — though I don’t know if it’s snacktime material ’cause it’ll take literally .000000001 seconds to answer, but what brand of wraps do you use? they look so thick and sturdy (danggggg she’s a lucky beotch if twss)

    I’m embracing fall with pumpkin, apples, and scarves šŸ™‚

    love to you x’s 12! xo

    • 25 snackface

      Jenny – Hello lovepie! Thanks for the compliments on my pleather jacket (got it from Target three years ago!) and my librarian self! Onto the wraps, though! I use Joseph’s lavash wraps! I also LOVE Joseph’s pitas! They are supah soft and have the perfect texture. Love you x’s 12, too!

  23. Hells ya with the glasses, i heart mine so much šŸ˜€ AND i die that you use the word *ramekins* in your comment about my stolen good’s, I am obsessed with saying it now every time i use them šŸ™‚
    So glad u had fun at home, and omggg those cracker’s are ridic- I was just commenting to K that I open them on the subway ride home with a string cheese and just sit and crunch in joyous silence…creeeeper right!?!

  24. 100 calorie bags of pretzel crisps? Who knew!?

    Clif Mojos ARE money! Seriously!! šŸ˜€

    I just embraced fall last week with a Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte! Ohh lala!!

  25. Ohh you totally got me on the cheetah bandwagon and now your genius use of brussels makes me swoon!
    I welcome with boots! scarves! wearing clothes w an actual waist band since all summer I sported big flowy dresses!
    That pic w the Wild Thing melted my heart!!
    xo

  26. are you sick of me yet?! šŸ˜‰ honeycrisps are my all time fave apples. eva. yum. um what kind of bar calls itself cranberry orange nut but be none of the 3? fail. hahaha going back to read your posts was totes worth it thanks to that man butt episode. i love your momma! and you!


Leave a Reply

