Lesson Learned

22Sep09

Hello beauties! I am currently working off a little more than four hours of sleep, but I couldn’t resist catching everyone up on a SnackFace Monday. You know what that means. It’s time for a quickie.

I awoke not feeling quite human yet. It wasn’t anything a few dried apricots and a sweaty workout couldn’t fix! I did 50 minutes of intervals on the elliptical, then arms and abs with the weight machines. My body was undeniably grateful for this.

Choir was next on the agenda, where we sang “Ave Maria” and “Invocation.” Allow me to correct myself: “where we desperately tried to keep up with the notes of ‘Ave Maria’ and ‘Invocation.'” Thankfully I already know “Invocation.”

Eventually I made it home, showered the stale sweat away and made a breakfast of the few staples I had left:

Blooby oats and Koffee.

Blooby oats and Koffee.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, s-ton of cinnamon, 1 scoop protein powder, baby squirt of agave, frozen bloobs stirred in at end and topped with a teeny bit more agave and a pour of almond milk. Somehow this was the best bowl of oats I’ve had in a long time. I downed it in ten minutes:

Yum.

Yum.

I rushed off to the class for which I stayed up till 2am working on a project. This time around the procrastination didn’t bother me, as I just had to do a blog analysis from Technorati’s Top 100 list. I chose Perez Hilton, so it was a pleasure to complete.

What came after class, however, was drastically more stressful. I had been putting off writing a trend report about restaurant business magazines. I’d already done a lot of reading them/ reading about them, but I failed to realize that saving something that needed to be cited and intelligently written until last minute was a HORRIBLE idea. I rarely save projects for last minute, but the weekend’s glorious mood swayed me from my studious ways. I must say, I still think it was worth it.

Anyway, I was in the library from 5 pm to 6:30, until Muffin came to fetch me for grocery shopping. The trip to and from Walmart took a bit longer than an hour, and then I was starving because the only thing I’d eaten since breakfast was this:

A serving of trail mix and water in the library.

A serving of trail mix and water in the library.

Oh! The highlight of the Walmart trip: Celestial Seasoning’s holiday teas are now in stores! I gasped when I saw the display.

Back at the ranch I threw together a fast dinner:

Hugh Jass and Arnold's Sandwich Thin, one half topped with hummus, the other topped with reduced-sugar jelly.

Hugh Jass and Arnold's Sandwich Thin, one half topped with hummus, the other topped with reduced-sugar jelly.

In the mix: romaine, broccoli slaw, shrooms, cherry toms, cucumber, balls, sesame dressing and Parma! Shockingly, I had a hard time finishing this. I don’t know what was up!

And by 9 pm, I was back in the library. I’ll save you from the drama that was my computer freezing up and my frantically having to print off any work I’d completed by the time that floor of the library closed, and then running downstairs to finish it… Oh wait, no I didn’t spare you those deets. Whoops. At least Muffin visited me at midnight!

I walked home alone in the scary dark and finally dropped my backpack on my bedroom floor at 1am. Muffin stayed on the phone with me the whole way home to make sure I wasn’t assaulted. Then I stayed up until 2:30 am reading assignments, and finally tossed and turned all night.

My lesson learned? DON’T PROCRASTINATE EVEN IF YOU THINK YOU WORK WELL ON DEADLINES.

And now puddings, I must trek through the pouring rain to class. It’s going to be another long, interesting day!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: How are you with procrastination? Is that the norm?

I swear I’m not always this bad. It’s too stressful to wait last minute!

42 Responses to “Lesson Learned”

  1. 1 Anna

    I swear to God my school promotes procrastination. I attempted to do an assignment on Thursday that was due the following Tuesday, and the darn professor went and changed the reading and the assignment over the weekend. This wasn’t the first time it’s happened, so I’ve pretty much given up on planning ahead. If you have reasonable professors though, it’s amazing when you can do stuff without being crazy stressed out.

    Get plenty of sleep tonight!

  2. I can not even tell you how many times I’ve procrastinated and technology has reared it’s nasty head towards me and failed. Karmas a biotchhhh.

    Good luck with your work and rest up snackie! xo

  3. 3 muffin

    I was up until 5! Gross! At least we have Winter Break to look forward to!!! Have a great day 🙂

  4. I was such a procrastinator in college that I have no idea how I graduated. But I did and I’ve gotten much better about doing my work on time. Life is easier now. 😉

  5. 5 ClubVeg

    Awe, I’m glad everything worked out in the end!

    I am a ridiculous procrastinator. And honestly, I think it’s because I enjoy working in stressful environments. [correction: I enjoy succeeding in stressful environments] Have to work on it now that I’m a big girl!

  6. ugh, I’m such a bad procrasinator! I think I just do better with a little pressure/stress, so I’ve learned to deal with it 🙂

  7. ohhhh girl i think we have all been there – i am a procrastinator, but things happen – esp in college, i did that numerous times. love the comment by muffin up there!

    good luck today – rest up, don’t forget to eat and good luck love!

  8. 8 Peanut Butter Bliss

    procrastination actually really really stresses me out. Im the kind of girl who finishes papers a week before they are due.

    I hope you get some shut eye soon girlie 🙂
    loving the oats!

  9. Oh my gosh, procrastination seriously SHOULD be my middle name. I’m thinking of legally changing it, it would be all too fitting. I try (aka think about…) getting ahead of the game and getting things started in advance but it never quite works out as I want it to. And then there I am scrambling on the last day to get everything all finished up. Boo. I think I can only work under that pressure though, otherwise I just get sidetracked WAY too easily. Oh school….

    Hope the rest of your days this week are a bit more superb! 🙂

  10. I am a bit of a procrastinator, I’ll admit it. I will. also, it sucks.

  11. 11 bananaandchocolate

    I was horrible about putting stuff off in college. I swore that I worked best under pressure. Somehow I always managed to get everything done but looking back I would have been better off planning ahead a little.

  12. serious twinsie, procrastination is my middle name! haha, i totally had to turn in a paper yesterday and didnt even realize it until 3 hours past the due hour! I emailed the teach and explained I had computer issues, and I was saved….ahhh I think we thrive off of the adrenaline!

    xoxo
    Lo

  13. Procrastination nation, holler. I ALWAYS convince myself that I work better under pressure–but I think that’s only because I always end up finishing/being happy with my final product. Doesn’t mean it feels good to be finishing up RIGHT when something’s due. Good luck with your shiz, chica!

  14. I am going to try to make that oatmeal, hear you me.

    • 15 snackface

      Robin – Oooh hey girl, I highly recommend it! I’m not sure whether I’ve established this, but I always make oats stove-top–it’s the only way to go! Or I let ’em chill overnight. Let me know how it goes!

  15. Girl, procrastination is my middle name! I’ll work for like 15 minutes and then take a 30 minute break. This is always the day before the thing is due too. It works for me though because I like the pressure. I get it done faster.

    Don’t you hate it when you get a really good bowl of oats, then scarf it down too fast and instantly regret you didn’t savor it? Story of my life 😉

    Shh, don’t tell anyone…but I stayed home from school today because I wanted to sleep in. I can’t function with so little sleep and it was beginning to cause problems at school. I would be in a daze all day!

    • 17 snackface

      Shelby – Hey sweetcheeks! I give you a huge pat on the back (or really, a hug–that’s more my style) for staying home to sleep. I was totally dozing off during the first hour of my fiction class–I felt so bad! Only two more hours of film class left in my day…hmmm a pitch-black room with old films playing. Yeah, we’ll see about that.

  16. 18 angieinatlanta

    Hey, it happens to the best of us! I hate procrastinating because it stresses me out but at the same time, I work really well under pressure! I feel ridiculously focused!

    Be careful walking home in the dark! I’m glad Muffin was on the phone with you!

  17. hAHA I’m just like you! I;m always like, “I work best under pressure, I’ll just wait this out.” and then I crash and burn! I wish my Business Calc teacher would understand how my procrastinating brain works…..

  18. hi, i am janetha and i am addicted to procrastinating. i procrastinate anything i possibly can, and probably things that people usually didn’t even KNOW could be procrastinated. maybe i should just be considered a professional instead of an addict. it sounds classier. what have you been up to?! i have missed you so. sounds like you are helping your brain AND your muscles grow so that is good. there is a photo of marshy without pants on in my latest post 😛 love you!

    • 21 snackface

      janetha – AHHHH!!! I’ve missed you too! I’m running over to your pants-less post right now! Love you, darling!

  19. I love your half and half arnolds – I am never brave to do that!! And I always procrastinate and in law school is is just NOT OK!! Hang in there!

  20. 23 Kate

    I am so Type A that I never procrastinate and usually get things done well before the dead line so I always feel in control…but sometimes with college, things pile up and I notice that I do a lot of work for my “favorite” classes before the ones I abhor.

    • 24 snackface

      Kate – I soooo used to be type A. I don’t know what happened. But your comment has inspired me!

  21. I am a procranitaor fo sho.
    but sometimes.. after a yoga session, or something relaxing, and/or engergizing I sit at my desk and FINNISH what I started.. or need to get started.. haha 🙂

  22. Quickies can be so satisfying – yours was great!

    Ughhh I hate citations! I mean, I understand why they’re there and I can respect that. However, when you type a 12 page research paper, citations are just a huge pain the ass!

    I can definitely procrastinate! If it’s something I have zero interest in, I put it on the back burner FOREVAH!!! Hope you got some sleep, boo!

    Loves!!!

  23. I definitely like to get things done ahead of time…mostly. It gives me a good feeling to dwell in for awhile that it’s done, before the next big ass assignment pops up 😛

  24. I am a terrible, terrible procrastinator! Just awful! I always always always left essays til the last minute at university…my “classic” was getting up at 8am and working through til 10pm when I would finish and my housemates would hand me a bottle (yes, a bottle) of wine and I would get my glad rags on and out to the club. Essay would be handed in hungover the next morning. Seriously, I did this for almost every essay. Gah.
    I don’t work well unless there is major time pressure!

    And those oats do indeed look amazing love!

    • 29 lespetitspavots

      Hi! Just wanted to tell you that I have been reading your blog for some time, and it is great! Keep blogging and inspiring!
      And I do envy all of you american vegans! The supply of vegan food here in Sweden is so bad in comparison (especially if you don’t live in one of the three biggest cities..).
      These pictures gave the worst craving for nice blueberries now! I finished all in the freezer last week! There is not much better than blueberries straight out of the freezer..

  25. 30 Lizzy

    o girl, call me the queen of procrastination! Usually i try to record everything into my planner right at the beginning of the semester so i know whats to come in the coming weeks, but obvi “real” life always gets in the way…then at those times, i just take it as it is, and work my hardest to complete whatever it is and make the best of it! Get some reasy girly, you deserve it! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  26. 31 lowandbhold

    I was certainly a procrastinator in college, espesh when it came to writing research papers. Yep, many night with much the same drama as your described. I’m sorry you had to go through it.

    I hope you get some more sleep tonight!!

  27. yeahh i procrastinate sometimes! but everyone does!
    love your breaky 🙂
    jenna

  28. You are a trooper! You should feel proud for working that hard and staying up so late, and skimping on your sleep for school work (regardless of procrastination or not). Get some rest!!! Your salad looks really good!

  29. 34 elli

    hey, i was wondering why in the last few posts you haven’t eaten lunch? it seems like you aren’t eating that much during the day, jut wondering!

    • 35 snackface

      elli- Hi suga! You know what, you are absolutely right about calling me out on this! I really haven’t been meaning to skip lunch, but my Monday+Wed. schedules have been funky. Here’s the deal: I like to get up and go work out, then have to go immediately to class. The problem is that I can’t work out on a full stomach, as I burp it up the whole time, and I’m too sleep deprived to wake up earlier than I have to. Therefore, I normally have a small something before I work out and then a breakfast after I come home and shower. I also usually snack a lot later, which I haven’t been including. But I purchased a Clif Builder bar that I may try to have half before I work out, and half after. I just need to play around with it a bit more! Thanks for asking, though!

  30. I’m procrastinating right now! I tend to do thing morning of but if I have gotten a good night of sleep the night before (8+ hours) and give myself a few hours I can get it done no problem. So yea that works for me!

  31. I always wished I did choir! I don’t think I’m a very good singer though.

  32. 38 Sara

    Hey! I am LE procrastinator of the nation…. it’s all the living on the edge that does it to me! I was wondering why you don’t shower at the gym? I just hate being all stanky all day and waiting to go home, so how do you put up with sweatyface? thanks!

    • 39 snackface

      Sara – This is a great question! The truth is, I’m stanky for about an hour and a half to two hours before I shower at home. To me, this isn’t that long. I make sure to splash my face with water after a workout, but that’s about it. Being makeup-less and slightly sweaty in front of fellow students doesn’t bother me. If it’s an issue of not having confidence to rock the sweat, fill your mind with the amazing things you just did for your killa body! If it’s an issue of feeling dirty and sweaty, splash your face and bring a washcloth for other areas for a quick swipe. But honestly, one to two hours without showering post-workout is a-OK in my book!

  33. 40 randomlymikey

    i procrastinate on things i don’t really wanna do. especially housework. yuck! love the dinner, so much yummy-ness

  34. mmmmm love that oatmeal combo. blueberries and protein powder is by far the way to go!!!! I am such a procrastinator, but for some reason I’ve gotten over it a little bit. I think my schedule just moves so fast these days that I dont even have time to procrastinate.

  35. I just don’t procrastinate either….but when I do, i’m flustered and overwhelmed and stress-cityyy!!!!! I prefer to work on things gradually, so that it doesn’t all pile up on me at the last moment……which means I SHOULD be starting some homework right about now, so that I don’t have hours and hours of work to do tonight!! Hmm.

    That breakfast sounds absolutely delicious though and i’m glad you had a successful shopping trip with muffin! I see that you gave into the sandwich thins?! I remember seeing them towards the end of summer and thinking they’re were puny! But are they delicious?? 🙂

    G-messenger date later?! hope sooo!! xooo


Leave a Reply

