Independence Day Fiesta

17Sep09

Hi pudding pops! I’m so sorry I was MIA! Things have been fun here in Athens, as a dull Tuesday was turned into a spicy celebration

I kicked off a long Tuesday with a phenomenal, powerful breakfast. Here is something I’ll dub oatmeal pudding:

Oatmeal pudding with Koffee.

Oatmeal pudding with Koffee.

A reader recently noted she’d seen people soak chia seeds and what the difference is if you don’t. If you don’t, they remain crunchy, and if you do, they form a little coating of gel around each seed. These overnight oats are the perfect platform for chia seeds to get gellin’.

In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, scoop protein powder, 1 T chia seeds, cinnamon get it on all night. In the morning, they clothe their night with almond butter and a squirt of agave. Luscious:

Oatmeal pudding, I love you.

Oatmeal pudding, I love you.

Satisfied and happy, I galloped to Specialized Business Magazines, where we were sent on a mission to find everything we could about what’s happening in the hybrid car world. I was thrilled to be sent out of the classroom and off to compile information about something with which I’m sadly unacquainted. We presented our findings to the class and were free to leave.

Once home for an hour break, I threw together a kiddie lunch:

Crunchy and colorful.

Crunchy and colorful.

My produce supplies are dangerously low, so I worked with what I had. With no spinach to fill a lavash, I coated a wrap with hummus, folded it in half, sliced it into strips and then rolled them up for easy transportation. Alongside I had broccoli, celery and a carrot to dip into salsa. Other than the apple, everything was dippable and snacky, which you know I adore:

Cutie roll-ups.

Cutie roll-ups.

Critical Approaches to Fiction is one of my favorite classes this year. As a journalist and writer, I feel that reading fiction and analyzing intricate writing techniques gives me a breath of fresh air as to how I can approach non-fiction. The class is so exciting to me that I sit up straight the whole time, constantly wondering how these writers do it! OK, I’ll back off on geekdom for a bit.

During the hour I have between fiction and film, I snacked on my lunch and caught up on some readings. When I finished that, I headed to the arts building and was chilled to the core (in more ways than one– it was freezing in there) as we watched Birth of a Nation. D.W. Griffith, what an interesting perspective of history you have.

At 5pm, I walked to Muffin’s office to see how her day was. We were chatting away and realized we were both hungry. We also realized we needed to celebrate something: Mexico’s Independence Day. Though we were technically a day early, I think we’ve found a new tradition:

Chips, salsa and margaritas.

Chips, salsa and margaritas.

Are those not the biggest margaritas you’ve ever seen? They may qualify as fishbowls. Enormous, but delicious. To stabilize that icy treat, I tried my best to order something as close to vegan as I could get. I ordered the Santa Fe Chicken salad sans chicken, cheese and sour cream. They almost got it right:

Muffin is pointing to the sour cream. Scooped that out of the way immediately.

Muffin is pointing to the sour cream. Scooped that out of the way immediately.

Essentially, I ate veggies coated in a barbecue sauce served over shredded iceberg. It wasn’t that bad and it was supah spicy.

Not wanting to call it a night after dinner, Muffin and I headed out on the town. Ladies, to receive attention from men, you don’t need a hot dress or major heels. All you need is a backpack:

Ain't no shame in bringing the backpack out.

Ain't no shame in bringing the backpack out.

It was certainly a conversation-starter. Muffin and I didn’t last long in the above pictured location. We looked at each other and knew something was wrong. Heartburn!

We ran to BP and found Pepcid AC, berry flavor. Because just one, and heartburn’s done. They speak the truth! After popping one of those babies, I was able to stay out and dance with my roomie. We haven’t done that since our freshman year and we had an absolute blast!

Wednesday morning welcomed me with cloudy skies and a 9am wake-up call. I immediately changed into my workout gear, grabbed the other half of Monday’s Oatmeal Raisin Clif bar and speed-walked to the gym. Morning workouts are my favorite– no one is at the gym yet and I have tons of energy afterward.

Today’s workout was 50 minutes of intervals on the elliptical followed by weight machines. I used the twisty oblique machine, ab press (totally making these names up), shoulder press, incline press, dips, chest press and the frickin’ fly. The fly is killer because I’m learning I never use those muscles in day-to-day life.

With an extra hour before Women’s Chorale, I did homework in the library. The library is one of the most dreadful places because of the energy there, which is to say there isn’t any.

Choir was fabulous and the shower afterward felt even more fabulous. Choir women, I am so sorry you have to deal with my stank ass. Anyway, I whipped up breakfast/lunch/what have you at 1:30ish:

Banana oats with Koffee.

Banana oats with Koffee.

I was way too hot for oats, but I wanted them. In the bowl: 1/3 C oats, 1 C water, 1/2 banana warmed in microwave, spoonful of chia seeds, cinnamon, scoop of protein powder and topped with almond butter and agave. For some reason, this bowl tasted a bit like plastic. I can’t figure out why. They were still gorgeous:

Almond butter never fails me.

Almond butter never fails me.

Online Journalism Fundamentals was from 3pm to 4:30, and we had to share our RSS feeds and/or Google Reader. I enjoyed explaining to the class that my reader is filled with food blogs because I have one of my own, and I am obsessed with all other food blogs, too. My name is Kailey, and I’m a food-blog-aholic. Glad my whole class knows that now.

I visited Muffin for a bit after class, then left for CVS for even more supplies and then made it home. I didn’t know what to do with myself, so I cooked! I present to you a Southern meal with Indian flare:

Sweet potatoes, breaded chicken and collard greens.

Sweet potatoes, breaded chicken and collard greens.

While the cheetahs are self-explanatory, the other two components had a couple twists. The Gardein cutlet was coated in a ground flaxseed, chili powder and garam masala mixture, and the collards were simmered with 4 Tbps. light coconut milk, 2 Tbsp. raisins, cinnamon, garam masala and a teeny bit of agave. Honestly, I’d never had collards before, but was the only green in my house! Thanks to Kath’s creations, I’ve had a can stored in the cupboard for months. Cooked greens are not my favorite, but this worked in produce-less pinch. The flax coating was nutty and delicious, though:

Ketchup was essential for this dinner's success.

Ketchup was essential for this dinner's success.

Somehow, I wasn’t very full after that. I’m currently eating many mugfulls of Panda Puffs with almond milk. Much better.

Thursday is a long day of classes: 9-11am, 12pm-2, 3-5 and 7-8. I’m hoping to make it through painlessly, which means I must go do some homework now. Everyone have amazing Thursdays!

Ciao for now,

Kailey

QUESTION: Are there any interesting holidays you celebrate?
I don’t normally celebrate other holidays other than Halloween (is that really a holiday?), Thanksgiving, Christmas, Independence Day (US) and birthdays, but it makes life much more fun if you celebrate others as well. They supply fun themes to which it’d be a shame not to adhere. Chips, salsa and margaritas every September 16 from now on!

27 Responses to “Independence Day Fiesta”

  1. Mmm oatmeal pudding? Genious! I’ve been wondering what to do with my chia seeds. Now I know:)

    Love the backpack comment LOL too funny, girl!

  2. Haha being Chewish and all, I celebrate all ze Jewish holidays–with one coming up this weekend where you get to eat apples & honey! Mmmmm

    Anywho, I adore your geekdom and totally relate to admiring the creativity and craft behind fiction writing. As a non-fiction writer, especially when doing journalism pieces, I always try to pull some creative inspiration and flare from fiction writing to add a little oomf to the inverted pyramid πŸ˜‰

    Your classes sound fun and make me miss being a journ major!

    XO
    Sarah

  3. Love that you add protein to your oats. I always do that too since it gives them such great staying power. Topped with almond buttah and things are reallll good. Love that you went out with your backpack!! Hahah why the hell not!

  4. 4 Lizzy

    o kailey i love the early celebration! i believe everyday should be a celebration! hehe!

    You work that packpack girl! i’m lovin it! πŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  5. That oatmeal pudding looks delish!!!!!!!

  6. Margaritas are my FAVORITE drink!! Bigger the better…um, TWSS πŸ˜‰

    haha you in the bar, with a backpack…classic.

  7. 7 Megan

    LOVE the classy backpack while going out… so awesome! And chia seeds! I need to try those!!

  8. why do your breakfast oatmeals always look so yummy?!!! i am super jealous!
    jenna

  9. love the back pack, pretty breakfast, cheetah action, mexican food (ew sour cream is narst! agreed!), and adorable kiddy lunch!!

    gluck with your long day of classes!!!!!!!

  10. haha, I totally noticed that it was Mexico’s independence day this morning. Glad you celebrated the very special occasion πŸ˜‰ And I totally know what you mean about college library atmospheres. such a mix of depression and anxiety…to be avoided at all costs!

  11. 11 Katharina

    Lol the backpack is definitely not a shameful thing. Where I go to school.. everyone carries a backpack around to parties to transport their beers and 40’s.

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  12. 12 WholeBodyLove

    The oatmeal pudding looks awesome. I add vanilla hemp protein to my oats with blueberries but I have never used chia seeds in my oats.

  13. girl you crack me up!

  14. 14 julia

    I love that oatmeal pudding!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  15. Ay Ay Ay, Fiesta! haha
    I’m totally hyper right now, which is really wrong because it’s only 5:30am.

    I wish I could find the motivation to work out in the morning. I think I would if I had a gym membership. Right now I just workout in my room and seeing the bed so close and so comfy just makes me fall back into it.

    I don’t really celebrate any interesting holidays besides the usual ones. I need to make one up haha.

    Oh and I LOVE the backpack…sexayyy πŸ˜‰

  16. 16 ohsnapitsMegan

    My family celebrates Grandparents Day… It’s actually a national holiday, but no one I know seems to “celebrate” it other than my family. It was last weekend, and while the level of festivity wasn’t at it usual height I still got to chill with my super cute Grandma. Mark your calendar and celebrate next year, you’ll be glad you did!

    Also, good for you for waking up in the morning to work out. I miss college, our free gym and all the equipment. Keep taking advantage of it while you can!

    I’ll second the backpack statement above. It’s the must-have accessory of the year!

    Rock it girl!

  17. 17 Brandi

    i love the backpack look – good to know it’s coming back πŸ™‚

    I don’t celebrate any weird holidays or non-traditional ones, but maybe I should!

    hope you have a great day πŸ™‚

  18. thank you for making me 10000 million x’s more excited about my chia seeds. I had no idea what the heck to do with ’em.. but oatmeal pudding it is!

    p.s. i’ve been whipping out my back pack (napsack?) this semester too… I def. prefer looking that to walking around with a lopsesided carrying an adorable, yet uesless, large tote.

    mad lovez to ya! xo

  19. 19 eatolive

    cinvo de mayo is also a great excuse for some margaritaaaa’s! πŸ™‚

  20. 20 Rachel

    love me some margaritas! quick question- i LOVE your initial mug- where is it from? Every time I see it on the blog I’m reminded how cute it is and how much I need one!

    • 21 snackface

      Rachel- Hello darling! I received the mug as a gift a few years ago. It’s from Anthropologie, and I hope they still have them so you can get a fabby R!

  21. 22 lowandbhold

    Birth of a Nation is awful. Chilling to the max. The indian-flare in your dinnah sounds amazing! And glad you had fun dancing Tues. night.

    I celebrate Cinco de Mayo and Fat Tuesday and St. Patty’s day… basically all the holidays that call for drinking. Haha.

  22. There is a Fake St Patricks Day in Hoboken NJ that occurs a few weeks prior to the actual St Patricks Day. It’s just an excuse to participate in another day of redonk day drinkin.
    I totally concur re: the backpack being a mantrap. Every time my formerly a law student BFF would bring hers to a bar it was like white on rice!!!
    I also have to thank you for introducing the cheetah to my life. I have been eating them for months now and have never thanked you!!

  23. YUM MARGS!!!! πŸ™‚ glad youre having fun back at school!

  24. Dippable/snacky lunch – LOVES. That meal to go looks delicious!!

    Glad heartburn didn’t rain on your fiesta! Any holiday that involves a bowl full of alcohol is a worthy holiday in my book πŸ™‚

    Your Gardein (boobie) cutlet looks good! Don’t even get me started on the cheetahs – I’m so happy it’s cooler, I can justify my cheetah cravings now!

    Holidays: the usuals – Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, NYE!!!!!, and the best of all…4th of July πŸ˜€

  25. Embrace the back pack. πŸ™‚ You totally rocked it.

    Viva MΓ©xico! (I grew up in southern NM. Even in Ireland, I was all over this).

    Sorry for being a day behind. Maybe two. That’s what being sick and then having to catch up with things will do to you.

    Oh yes.

    *Stands up*

    My name is Emma, and I am a food-blog-oholic.

    FBA? I think so.

  26. mexican independence day is perhaps a great forgotten holiday: as long as the celebration involves chips, salsa and margaritas, why are we not celebrating it?

    love your stylin’ backpack and dancing – one of my fave things ever! the best nights of my life have been spent dancing with my friends, fo sho.

    your breakfast bowls are bee-you-ti-ful, and i am loving your kiddie lunch. have a good busy day my love – go show that town who is boss(y)!


Leave a Reply

